6 responses to “Paying the Price”

1. Truth is hard for fools Avatar
    Truth is hard for fools

The Cost of the Price

2. I was under the impression that the e 3-card Brag men,were removed from the Streets of Bridgetown by the police. Yesterday it was reported in the Nation that one of these villains is operating bold as brass, in St George Street, under the name of Courts Barbados Limited . How else can one describe the action of this company which sent out “cheques” for $500-$1000, to previous customers, only for them to discover ,on attempting to cash these “cheque”, at the various branches of the store, as instructed, to find that this scam was an enticement, a carrot , to obtain to loan of $500-$1000, payable in 6-months, at an interest of 2.4%. Or, used this $500-$1000 to purchase items in the store, or used as part payment in a Hire Purchase Agreement, in which case in addition to the 2.4% interest, the high HP interest of will have to be contended with.
    I do hope that the office of Fair Trading and the Central Bank look into this piece of deceptive ,unethical dealing at a time when most Barbadians are most vulnerable.
    But it appears as if Courts Barbados has waited and taken its cue from the Government of Barbados, as the imposition of a Municipal Solid Waste Tax, on already beleaguered property owners, is not much different to what Courts is pushing on what it refers to as its loyal Customers.
    “The Best Government Barbados Ever Had”

3. There are cases where people were brought in to do these jobs, and the said employees who were overlooked were asked to train these people.

4. why cant I find anything about the solid waste tax.

5. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

musa | June 28, 2014 at 11:08 AM |

why cant I find anything about the solid waste tax@

The only solid waste in Barbados is the DBLP government , that is a tax for those crooks to pay , not you,

6. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Mr Raymond,

In reading your article you carried me back many years to primer school and the “common denominator” a concept that got me beaten many a day at the Brumley that I attended, licks like peas, man I was as Dumpcy then as I am now, the only diffference was that i could run fast and get way from de teacher…now i gots to sit and suffer under the hands of the new massa..politicians

It would appear that irrespective of where one goes on this planet that we are besieged by this graft and people lining their pockets with kickbacks and pernicious taxes levied from the public, but what seems of peculiar interesting is the graft that is common to these CARICOM states.

We all note that the independence concept promoted by our respected leaders/visionaries seems to have been shared among a few.

And with the departure of these visionaries, these Barrow and Williamses, a special indigenous “species” has inherited the earth, one that was neither colonist strain nor colony derived. Something aberrant has come into being.

I have come to believe that what the region is collectively suffering from “this aberration” is part of the makeup of the spirit and does not depend on the body (colour) or the (intellectual achievement of the) mind.

Furthermore, it act as if it were a generational curse, one that is able to migrate across spermatozoa and to manifest itself, irrespective of the distance between cuntries, as a common denominator graft, mamaguy and picong or whatever we want to call if.

For were it not so how does it obtain that within the space of 50 years every island in the region, after the noble vision of independence, has come to this “common point of departure” where ALL of our colony/states/republics are besieged by the same mentality of abuse of state funds, robbing the coffers of the crown and fiduciary infelicities!!

Here is the mantra that is ubiquitous across our Caribbean islands “acquire land under the guise of the need of the crown, sorry, i got lost for a second, let me begin again”.

“Tell your friends where and when land is to be acquired by the crown, have them buy the land and then, by ministerial order, acquire that land at higher than commercial value from your friends, then use BOLTS (not Hussein though them does do it fast like Hussein) to establish pernicious agreements with overseas companies that I as minister am a silent partner in

Of course when my family wants a lease/house, I, rather my ministry, lease/sell them the property at less than the established rate.

Men like you are hated more than feared because you stand in the path of that “wave when you stand to say “it is wrong, for this and this reason” and while theirs is a logical fear that some judicial system will affirm your statement and effect what is the right thing, hatred against what you are, and what you represent and how you might lead a counterwave to overcome their constant warfare, festers even more than their fear.

As a seasoned warrior i am sure that you already guard against how their hatred knows no bounds