Submitted by Adrian Loveridge

Dennis Tull, Chairman of the Intimate Hotels of Barbados, – Credit: The Advocate

I read with interest some of the many comments attributed to the long serving chairman of the Intimate Hotels of Barbados at the organisation’s AGM recently. Frankly, I agree with most of them, but sadly, I have heard most of them before over prolonged periods of time and until there is a fundamental change in thinking, I doubt little will change.

Regrettably, consecutive Governments have not recognised the contribution made by our more than 120 small hotels. Yes! the Intimate Hotel Group was established under a previous Government and is given substantial annual grant assistance. But in reality, a staggering 29%, or nearly one in three of their members do not even meet our national legal definition of what a hotel should be.

1. Around 70 of our small hotels do not fall under any national marketing policy at all, and you really only have to ask one simple question. What proportion of the annual budget (around BDS$90 million) allocated to the Barbados Tourism Authority is spent on promoting our small hotels?
  2. To highlight this almost indifference to the small hotel sector is who is representing them on the current BTA/Ministry of Tourism delegation to China?
  3. What are we really saying here?

Our policymakers consider China is an economically justifiable potential market for the future, enough to tempt some of the more than one Billion Chinese to endure the minimum flight duration of eighteen hours.

But none of this massive market will stay in our small hotels?

Over the last few years we have started to see niche markets develop within the sub-sector that include truly boutique hotels and high quality guest houses. Collectively these offer tremendous brand and destination opportunities to jointly promote in all our existing and developing markets.

I was reminded by a senior advertising agency executive recently that YouTube now gets more daily visits (around 100 million) than watch the combined television networks of the United States. But go on to YouTube, type in Barbados and what do you get?

One or two professionally produced videos, but largely just a bunch of well intentioned, but amateur postings. This is a classic example of how we could better drive demand, higher occupancy levels (especially in the softer eight summer months) and more direct full rate revenue to the country.

Some of the BDS$90 million budget could be used to produce a high quality, high definition film to collectively market these small properties on all the social websites as well as other mediums like visitbarbados.org and at every travel event. $50,000 spent on a state-or-the-art video, only needs to fill 250 room nights to be cost effective.

Government must also wake up to the reality that while some of our small hotels do not attract room rates that match our upscale properties, overwhelmingly, a larger financial proportion of the mainly direct bookings remains within our shores. Higher occupancy, increased VAT collection and a trickle down benefit to all the other tourism partners!

Get the picture?

Mr. Tull also repeated for the umpteen time that his grouping should be represented on the Board of the Barbados Tourism Authority. In my option, he is right, but so should the other 70 plus small hotels.

24 responses to “Whither Our Small Hotels?”

1. 70 plus small hotels each contributing $1000 per year can create and maintain their own website. IntimateBarbados.com. or CozyinBarbados.com

Then ask the BTA to help you with financing trips to the major travel shows. Rent a Booth and two 42″ lcd monitors with internet hook ups.

Make sure you have really great looking women in the booth. Leah marville and
    three more looking like her and wann hotels soon full up.

Help yuhselves and de BTA wud help yuh too.

2. ‘Help yuhselves and the de BTA wud help yuh too.
    Or as Hartley Henry put it………”I take my hat off to Mrs Ram Merchandani and her team at Casa Grande……………………”

3. Please carry out research on the evolution of the Intimate Hotels of Barbados, futhermore the technical assistance given to this segment of the accommodation sector by successive Governments. Why with is it with 900 room inventory, and with several young, capable leaders managing these small hotels is the same person year after year, leading the IHB. While I am at it, the BTA is not the policy arm of Government as I heard on the news last night. There is a need to be clear on the role of Government in tourism development ( Ministry and the BTA) – the former is responsible for planning and policy formulation among other things, the latter is the marketing arm).

4. Mr.Tull has a point but I recall the days of Pat Nehall, Patrick Hinds, Peter Morgan to name a few who spareheaded the BTA and I believe few complained. In these days where technology has taken the frontline there seems to be all sorts of economic downturns. I would not for one moment try Mrs.Ram’s brand of marketing.Bajans seem to have forgotten a club which she owned called The Night Shift. How about URSA Travel Agency? Anyway, whatever happens, hotel owners are duly responsible for their ultimate success.Tourism is our business lets play our part.

5. Dear David: Please correct the headline. Whither, NOT wither. Thanks.

6. Thanks J!

7. Is it not amazing that for a mature industry and one that we are so dependant this would be where we are at as far as small hotels are concerned?

8. No David, it is not amazing at all, if you really understand the dynamics of everything that is anything in Barbados! You might have said that it is “amusing” on the basis that the situation affecting the IHOB like most current socio-economic issues is fatal, but not serious. Having spent the last fifty years of my life believing that there is a viable small society development paradigm, I wonder if the bark of our trees is worse than the bite of our dogs. And to think that I have a wife with two doggies, who we both love dearly…

9. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

J and David,

WITHER – ‘fall into decay or DECLINE’

WHITHER – ‘to what place or state’

Oxford ENGLISH Dictionary

I opted for the first choice, so no need to change in my humble opinion.

Hants,

Individually its almost impossible for the small hotels to participate in most of the BTA organised events, thats why we need a plan.

10. @Adrian

Thanks for the clarification and you are correct that they are both valid definitions. BU changed to whither because of the use of the question mark.

11. When will we realise that the boutique and family-owned hotels are what make Barbados stand out as a tourism destination? We have never marketed this factor properly, taking a scatter-gun approach to promotion, and thereby confusing our message. We have several tourism brands that each require their own brand management and marketing. This is not rocket science, but we literally do not seem to be able organise a booze-up in a brewery. I see real potential in the Brazilian market, but China?! That is quite plainly ridiculous and a total waste of resources at this time.

12. @Hants

Couldn’t agree more. They ought to form some kind of organization that can structure alternative forms of advertising . The government can only do so much and it is only fair that BTA would funnel its money where the response would be of greater profit financially to the tourist industry.

13. “70 plus small hotels each contributing $1000 per year”.

That is what I wrote Adrian. You clearly did not understand that I am suggesting a collective effort.

70 x 1000 is $70,000 to promote as a group.

14. It will never happen Hants, you want to guess why?

15. Hants,

I do understand, but as David says, it isn’t going to happen.
    To successfully establish and build a brand there has to be a standard, plus a will to make it happen!

16. It would be one of the most beneficial things at this time where people many of whom are from our leading source markets are taking more inventive approaches to vacationing across the world, with so much emphasis on being eco-friendly. There is nothing more attractive to these tourists than staying in places that are sophisticatedly modest minimising the negative impact of waste on the environment and wastage of resources, energy, water etc. Would this mean less money… not necessarily as this is simply a different type of traveller for the one that would stay in a large resort, it therefore translates to more money, if marketed correctly. Given the low cost- wide reach of social internet marketing ( social sites, social video sites, forums just like this and much more) all it takes is the time and professionalism to establish a brand to embrace the quaint, small and unique offerings of these places, highlighting that they are different of and in themselves. This might sound crazy, but to develop this particular type of brand, the brand may need to be built on this understanding where by no one is held to anyone elses standards but that these properties are just what they are a unique and individual experience.

17. Mia,

Do not think I could have said it any better myself!

Spot On! (in my humble opinion)

You only have to go onto TripAdvisor and see that
    the highest ratings are consistently and overwhelming given to SMALL hotels.

This means that you are attracting the most loyal, most likely to re-visit (the property and destination) and best possible ambassadors for both.

I strongly believe this ‘niche’ approach is the way Barbados has to go to maximise our tourism potential.

Boutique Hotels, worldclass Guest Houses and Plantation Inns.

The pile it high and sell it cheap approach will NEVER work for Barbados in the middle to long term.

The closure of 30 plus hotels over the last 15 years has to tell us all something.

18. Comment removed by Snow White.

19. On my last trip to Jamaica I stayed in three small hotels. Two of these had 15 rooms or less and the other had only 30. It was one of the best vacations I have had. They have a web site advertising these small intimate places as guest houses. The landlords live in the building or on site and they have all the amenities of the large hotels but a more friendly atmosphere. You meet all the other guests at breakfast and discuss your activities for the day. Sometimes, we even joined up for trips or to eat out.

A jointly funded website for these small places makes lots of sense. I booked all of mine on-line after viewing the pictures and reading the literature.

20. AIR PASSENGER DUTY (APD).

Mr Loveridge may not look too timidly… that should be kindly… on the people from the East, but you see the people from the West do not think to timdly… that should be kindly about you either.. no…?

21. Interesting to note the composition of the new Board of the Intimate Group of Hotels. Are they no White people on the Board of Directors Adrian?

Jeff Kinch – Chairman

Anthony Maughn – Deputy Chairman

Mrs. Z. Ann Smith – Secretary

Denis Tull – Director

Gloria Maynard Director

Roy Browne – Director

22. David,

You may not recall that my wife and I were denied membership of the Small Hotels of Barbados Inc t/a Intimate Hotels because we were not considered INDIGENOUS. It became the FIRST trade association on Barbados since 1966 (Independence) to deny Permanent Residents the right of association and membership, therefore contrary to the lands of the Land.

BAFBFP,

I am totally against the APD tax, but we must not try and impose double standards here. Currently, the UK does NOT levy VAT on air travel. Barbados DOES, and we also charge one of the highest departure taxes of any country in the region.
    IF Governemnt was genuinely concerned about the cost of travel, tehn it would reduce or eliminate the departure tax.

23. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

Sorry,

Last posting was mine and should read ‘then’
    Some computer challenges.

24. Comrade Loveridge

(You have interesting name… In the East our name have specific meaning… your name be sexy … no..?)

I think you could have said “IF Government was genuinely concerned about the cost of travel, then it would reduce or eliminate the departure tax to ENGLISHMEN”…. no? We from the East not crazy about free ride to Yanks…no!