oecdComing out of theย  G20 summit in London this week Barbados would have derived great satisfaction when the OECD published late last night (02 April 2009) its revised Tax Haven List. The List is divided into four categories:

1. The White List represents the centres which are regarded as largely compliant with the OECDโ€™s standard for tax information exchange agreements (TIEAs). Surprise surprise, Barbados made it all the way to the top! Correct us if we are wrong but Barbados is the ONLY island from this part of the world who made it to the big dance.
  2. The second list is branded Tax Havens: these are states which have agreed to be committed to the OECD standard but have not yet achieved the benchmark. Unfortunately many of our CSME/CARICOM partners now populate the Tax Haven List. This is unfortunate because as a region in the throes of progressing a common agreement ALL CARICOM countries should have adopted a harmonized regulatory approach a LONG time ago. This approach is relevant especially for our CARICOM partners with offshore jurisdictions.
  3. The third list is composed of Other Financial Centres which are regarded as committed but non-compliant. Asย  you can see some VERY developed countries have been deposited in this category e.g. Belgium, Luxemburg, Austria to name a few.
  4. Finally there is the List of Four Countries โ€“ not committed and non-compliant.

There has been a lot of dry talk regarding how G20 would have viewed Barbadosโ€™ compliance as an offshore jurisdiction. In recent times we have listened to the wonder boy Dr. Avinash Persaud, Dr. Don Marshall and others. We listened carefully to Mr. Kirton who is head of Invest Barbados and what he kept repeating made commonsense i.e. Barbados has completed several information exchange treaties with key jurisdictions and therefore stood a good chance of being highly regarded. The recent White List categorization gives truth to keeping a commonsense position.

Barbadosโ€™ current status was obviously not achieved by luck and chance. The work of former Prime Minister Owen Arthur, Lynette Eastmond and others has to be recognized. BU encourages that now more than ever we should adopt a bi-partisan approach to managing our key sectors.

1. Great News,

The work of the Arthur administation was not in vain. They were relentless in their efforts to ensure that Barbados remains a clean jurisdiction. They fought the OECD countries tooth and nail so that Our Offshore and Internation business sectors were not
    disadvantage.
    The Thompson administation is on a good wicket. Play on.

2. Under the Captioned: ‘Tax haven’ label returns,” the Nation newspaper of November 19, 2008 reported then Foreign Affair Minister Sinckler as saying that Barbados, which has had to fight off charges of being a “tax haven”, is bracing for another assault by the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) on its offshore business sector.

Within two days of him having said that, a public servant who is bright, was reported as having said that Barbados does not have to return to a 2001 position where it has to defend its position against charges of being a tax haven.

In fact the Director of International Business in the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Foreign Trade and International Business – the same Minister where Sinckler was the Minister – said that such a battle was fought, with significant progress being made by Barbados in its own defence.

Let us start here. Because it is at that point that we knew that the DLP did not have a clue!!!

3. This is nothing to celebrate. This just reinforces the fact that Barbados is nothing but a little compliant, slave state. How does that impact the reality that the ‘shit is hitting the fan’ big time and real peoples lives are being disrupted? And this criminal gang is now full speed ahead toward implementing their ONE WORLD ORDER. And in the meantime a gunman is has just taken out a few people in NY.

4. @Hopi

Knew this would be your reaction to this news. Not saying that you are wrong. All BU did was to present the news from a status quo angle. Were we wrong to do so? Are we being provocative? Take your pick.

What is clear is that the policing/compliance required which will visit developing questions especially maybe construes as more CONTROL by First World over the rest.

5. reality check Avatar

The international banking sytsem run largely through the Canadian Banks in Barbados has been quite rigorous for some time.

Its only the politicians and internal companies such as GEMS, Clico and others that have absolutely no transparency or accountability.

Who should take credit for this rating? The international Banks who have to tow the line or either of the last two parties who couldn’t balance a budget and haven’t producef proper audited statement on many crown companies for years.

The delusion continues.

6. Hopi // April 3, 2009 at 12:42 pm

This is nothing to celebrate.
    ………………………………

Who is celebrating!

Not the BLP, whisch is forced to watch as everthing it built, is being dismantled. And certainly not those who are loosing thier jobs.

You must never ever forget what Mia, Owen, Prof. Persuad and Prof. Girvan have been saying for some time now.

That Barbados is no longer blacklisted – is something for which the BLP must be congratulated highly.

The DLP did nothing.

Again!!!

Credit must go to Prof. Persuad, Arthur and Lynette Eastmond, yet another bright one.

7. David…..Please don’t expect any herd mentality from me.

Dark Knight…….’That Barbados is no longer blacklisted – is something for which the BLP must be congratulated highly.’ So if wallowing in what ‘your side’ did isn’t celebratory, then what is? Why should Barbados comply with non-compliant criminals, at the helm of which is the biggest Terrorist Organization Worldwide i.e. the Federal Reserve, which is never audited, neither is it subjected to any Government control. It sucks the life out of the world economy as it pleases and there’s no G-20 summit to rein it in. You need to look at the bigger picture and stop settling for scraps.

8. @ Hopi,

Again, it must be noted that the Financial Services Sector is important to the Barbados economy.

This raises the folly of Mr. Thompsonโ€™s reckless statement that former BLP operatives have millions stashed in foreign bank accounts.

The Prime Minister of Barbados is yet to say in which country and which banks.

Every “Klown” know that Barbados has mutual legal assistance treaties with almost every country on the planet.

It is therefore careless statements like Thompsonโ€™s – that could pose tremendous harm to Barbadosโ€™ image as a clean jurisdiction.

The Barbados Labour Party must be congratulated.

Again, the BLP did the hard work and the DLP gets the credit.

Little wonder that Barbadians are coming to the realization โ€“ and correctly so too – that the DLP is poor-rakey.

Look Dopi,

Look what America did with Cuba since 1962?

Perhaps you could go to T&T and protest when the upcoming Summit is held there.

9. Dark Knight….. Whose knight or lapdog are you? The BLP’s? Is that why you’re here touting ya damn horn? And BTW you got that Dopi wrong… its Dopey, on which I think you are so friggin high. What has Barbados to gain by being put on a ‘White List’ by a bunch of criminal gangsters. You so damn happy with the crumbs that fall from whitey table, I bet you try to eat all of them yourself, while these criminals enjoy the whole pie. So when the Financial Sector is no longer important to the Barbados Economy, (which doesn’t seem too far off) how the hell is being on a ‘White List’ going to feed and shelter the people of Barbados? You are afraid of Barbados being placed in a position of Cuba? Maybe that or this impending doom will allow Bajans to look inward and stop accomodating their slavemasters. Or continue to remain a little, humble peon state, (with lapdog dark knight as the overseer) while the real criminals of this world enjoy the fruits of your labour.

10. Sorry Droopey, I mean Hopi,

You seem to have some serious anger management issue.

You debate is much too high for me.

I will stick to finance and economics, since I am not sound on the social side.

11. notesfromthemargin Avatar
    notesfromthemargin

Hopi, it is clear that you just don’t get it….

Like it or not the Financial sector is engaged in legitimate business and is the largest contributor of foreign exchange to the treasury after tourism. It will be important to the Barbados economy for a long time to come.

The offshore sector is a major contributor to the standard of life of the average Bajan, even if not directly employed, the bulk of the corporation taxes for the island come from this sector. Without it’s presence the availability of Government services such as health and education would be even more severely underfunded or the tax rate would be that much higher.

Being on a “white list” provides several opportunities for the marketing of Barbados as an international financial centre. Because we are considered to be a clean jurisdiction it means that we should be able to attract more business to our shores. It also means that we can continue to develop the sector without having to worry about the OECD pulling the rug from under us.

While Owen Arthur cannot claim credit for derailing the OECD’s “harmful tax competition” initiative. (We can thank Bush for that) Owen can rightfully claim a great deal of credit for Barbados being on the “white list”

12. Another view!

PARIS, France, April 3, 2009 – They’ve found themselves off the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) tax haven list for now, but some of the region’s countries aren’t completely off the OECD radar. According to the list published following the G20 Summit, there’s a literal grey area where 16 Caribbean counties fall, requiring them to take further action that
    would put them totally in the clear.

Barbados and the United States Virgin Islands are the only twoCaribbean countries on the OECD white list which gives credit to 40 jurisdictions that "have substantially implemented the
    internationally agreed tax standard". Full Article

13. Here is something significant to consider, Mr. Hopi, “anti american call-in-programme contributor, sound-alike”

Again with your permission BU – below is a transcribed version of the Estimates Reply of the Leader of the Opposition. Source BLP webpage: blp.org.bb:

“And Corporation Taxes, Mr. Speaker โ€“ Sir, Corporation Taxes โ€“ they projected, Corporation Taxes, Sir โ€“ at over $570 million.

Sir, would you believe that Corporation Taxes Sir โ€“ not only declined โ€“ they took in $44 million less, in Corporation Taxes, last year โ€“ than the Barbados labour Party took in for 2007?

Sir, it is the most serious problem this country faces in terms of its revenue! Because it speaks not just to revenue โ€“ it speaks to the non performance of the International Business Sector.

It speaks to the fact Sir that the International Business Sector normally makes up 65% of the Corporation Taxes.

And when you cross reference it Sir to the fees that they contemplated would be raised from the International Business Sector, last year they said they were to raise $3 million in fees. Sir they barely made $1.5 โ€“ almost a 50% reduction.

Sir when I look at the 50% reduction in International Business fees and then I look at the less than $100 million decrease Sir – of Corporation Taxes โ€“ I am of the belief Sir that the International Business Sector is serious trouble, in this country.

And that has nothing to do, with the word coming from Gordon Browne and America and Germany and France โ€“ as to what further pressure they intend to put in under, it is one of the most serious problem facing Barbados today.

And Sir โ€“ I say it all the time (it appears to be un-sexy) but you know what Sir, if we did not have the International Business Sector, contributing โ€“ 65% of our Corporation Taxes โ€“ the Member for St. Peter could not have undertaken the most ambitious tax reform programme in this country since Independence!

We could not have given Barbadians householders the first $150,000 off their Land Tax!

We could not Sir โ€“ have given Barbadian workers โ€“ the first $25,000 off their Income Taxes!

We could not have given Barbadian workers who do not pay Income taxes โ€“ a Reverse Tax Credit.

The buoyancy of the Corporation Tax and the VAT โ€“ gave him the comfort to undertake the most remarkable tax reform programme to ease Barbadians and give them more disposable income.

This government now canโ€™t even peep on them.

And instead, what do we have โ€“ two Minister of International Business in twelve months, and one now that is called International Business and International Transport and the only common denominator between them is the work โ€œInternational.โ€

Nothing else to do with one another!

But Invest Barbados now Sir โ€“ is under the Minister of Finance.

But then again all investment and all decision making and all licenses โ€“ you have to go the Member for St. John.”

Thank you BU.

14. dark knight/BLP lapdog…….how the hell can you divorce finance/economics from their impact on societies?

Notes from……..there isn’t a damn thing for me to get. Where is your guarantee that the financial sector will be important to the Barbados economy for a long time to come? When the criminal gangsters are ready to pull the damn rug out from under your arses what will you fall back on?

15. The BLP can take credit for fully developing the Offshore Industry.i.e. results= foreign exchange , jobs for Barbadians, improved standard of living etc….. But this issue goes beyond party political persausions. Note that the OECD countries not interested in us. They don’t think that the small developing states like Barbados should gain from the industry, so they set about to destroy by trying to damage the reputations of countries like Barbados. They envy the us. Yes they are behaving like colonial masters.

Therefore when President O’bama visits the Caribbean instead of trying to tag on to him, seeking to find similarites in style and resemblance, Caribbean leaders should remember he wants to take back the millions of jobs that have left the USA. He was very emphatic about in his pronouncements. We must rember that his first priority is The United States of America. We cannot fault him for that.

Therefore, the governments of the Caribbean should send one loud voice,
    that we in the Caribbean have the same rights and expectations as his country men and that we too expect our leaders to forcefully represent our case.

Our internal party persausions here in Bardados should not matter in this case.

Hope that the governments of the Caribbean will not be apologetic about our rights to decent living and good jobs that we have fought to develop .This matter should be high on the Caribbean’s agenda.

After all this is a bread and butter issue for us. Our survival is at stake.

16. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@Hopi

Amongst the more annoying things are high blown statements that have no basis in fact on which a house is built. Such as your “the Federal Reserve, which is never audited, neither is it subjected to any Government control”.

The Fed is relatively independent so that it can make monetary and financial policy free from government interference, often seen as a desirable objective for all central banks (http://www.federalreserve.gov/aboutthefed/fract.htm). Congress designed the Fed that way, and gives some oversight.

The Federal Reserve IS audited (see http://www.newyorkfed.org/aboutthefed/fedpoint/fed35.html). One can perhaps take issue with auditing, but at least get a fact straight.

17. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

I see some ‘anger management’ control may be needed here.

I will let those whom I know were working behind the scenes in London and elsewhere recently to move the focus to tax and banking secrecy (where Bim is a ‘good citizen’) and get the definitions of the lists framed so that Bim would not be classed as a tax haven claim their own credit. I know that they help both local parties frame ideas.

18. Living…….the Federal Reserve is neither Federal nor Reserve. It answers no one but the private clique that owns it. Contrary to what you may believe it does not answer to the Congress nor the President.

19. Even Hopi must agree that given how the Barbados economy is currently constituted the government couldn’t possible walk away from this sector without bringing tremendous hardship to the country. For us the bigger concern and maybe this is what Hopi is suggesting, our 1 and 2 top earning sectors both rely on significant external factors i.e.tourism and offshore services. Going forward if Barbados wants to manage this major risk of its two key sectors being controlled by external players we should have a serious rethink.

20. And David….These two sectors are not controlled by the BLP/DLP nor their lapdogs. Look at what happened when the same forces that are pillaging the world’s economy now, also levelled the twin towers. Wasn’t Barbados negatively affected? How can Barbados control these external factors? If Barbados wants to continue fishing in a drying pond she’s doing so at her own risk. That G-20 summit was a poppycock show. You haven’t seen the real ‘power’ on the world stage and you’ll never see them. All you see are the stooges and marionettes.

@Livingin……Don’t worry bout the anger management, there’s something called venting for that but for your kind there won’t be enough Zoloft nor Prozac when’ reality’ kicks in.

21. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@Hopi and David
    Maybe ‘venting’ should have its own space. Venting is the letting out of hot air, or vigorous or emotional expression of frustration (according to Webster’s Dictionary).

I don’t recall mentioning that the Fed ‘answers to’ anyone. I mentioned only some oversight by Congress and relative independence. No straw men, please.

But trying to be constructive, could ‘Hopi’ paint a picture of what the desired Barbadian/Caribbean economy and its ‘good jobs’ would look like.

22. Hopi is blissfully unencumbered by reality!

23. Hopi has a problem with his inner beast…

24. @Livingin…….’The Fed is relatively independent so that it can make monetary and financial policy free from government interference, often seen as a desirable objective for all central banks’ You cannot blow smoke in my eyes with this bit of putrid, because this is NOT the Federal Reserve that you are writing of. Rothschild said he does not care who writes the law as long as he has control over the money. I’ll repeat it again the Federal Reserve does not answer to BaRat, Nancy Pelosi nor any other government agency. The Feds control the President and the Congress.

25. @Living…..Neglected to answer your latter on these’good jobs’. For starters people like you and that other member from the barnyard stock one ‘darkknight’ won’t be around to pimp off the Bajans and I’d ensure that Barbados is divorced from such entities like the IMF, the World Bank and the United Nations, (all bloodsuckers). Of utmost importance is to teach the children the importance of feeding themselves healthy food by taking them to the field and teaching them the abcs of crop cultivation. (This would start when they first enter ‘prima standard.’ Then I can go on about how I’d exclude the peckawood and start dealing with my motherland, just to get the monkey off our backs. But then again you and your ilk don’t want to hear that so I’ll leave it there for now. BTW, the Federal Reserve is a PRIVATE entity. Have yaself a good knight!

26. It is so disappointing that there can be had persons on this blog seeking to glorify Barbados’ being reportedly placed at the top of an OECD’s list of states that are seen as compliant with some so-called OECD tax information exchange information standard.

Indeed, it is so amazing!! The fact that TAXATION is so wicked evil and demonic ( It is theft/Robbery of the relevant incomes of persons, businesses and others by the state) is all the more shuddering when it is seen that these same persons seem to support such an OECD standard that is clearly in anticipation of or in consequence of the violation of the income and property rights of the relevant individuals, businesses and others across the world – such murderous violations other wise called TAXATION.

How could these persons really gloat at Barbados’ high placing on a supposed list of states complying with the particular TAX standard of the OECD, while NOT deprecating or condemning the evil associated with TAXATION? How could such persons seek to score useless political points in regard of their alluding to what Arthur did in the late 90s, which was really to make Barbados more subjected to the OECD, when in truth and in fact they have NOT started to debate the demonism associated with TAXATION?

And what is even more galling about such persons is that they do NOT even know about the nature terms and conditions of these types of so-called tax information exchange agreements that Barbados has entered into with the relevant jurisdictions. What is there really to applaud?? Where does the sovereign power of the people of Barbados lie?

The facts are that the last Prime Minister and his BLP Government starkly failed to stop the OECD – a body with no sovereign status – from trampling on the sovereignty of the people of Barbados and threatening the existence of the offshore financial sector of the country.

Finally, it is demonstrably clear that Mr. Arthur, Miss Mottley and Mr. Thompson are, in political parlance, the damned Jerkyls and Hydes who – on one hand – are absolutely responsible for a wicked state apparatus that continuously hellishly steals, robs and plunders the relevant incomes, of the relevant persons, businesses and others in this country, but who – on the other hand, treacherously seek to more and more attract more foreigners to this country’s shores by NOT TAXING them so much.

But then there is bound to be serious conflict between these said joke leaders Arthur, Mottley and Thompson and some more bigger more powerful state leaders who are too inflicting greater burdens on the relevant portions of the incomes of throngs of their own citizenries, businesses and others, but who will NOT sit down idly and let smaller fish take away any more of their dinner without threatening the smaller fish to behave or else. So, there you have it the struggle between such state actors in the international arena for proceeds that these states have stolen!!

A future PDC Government shall surely ABOLISH ALL TAXATION in Barbados.

27. Seeing Nobamma on TV trying to convince Europeans that the “war on terror” is real and that Europe is being threatened is one of the most embarrassing moments in history for Black people…! I looking for some white paint tomorrow… I gotta change dis colour that I carrying ’round. 199 HELP MAH!

28. Along with a renewed focus on agriculture and niche manufacturing these two sectors should really be complementing intellectual property development. As a small country we have taken a strategic decision to invest significant resources % wise of the budget pie. It is not enough to say that we are 90% literate as a country, we need to move to the next step and harness the learning to create GDP value.

29. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@Hopi

Another day, another dawn.

I now have an idea of the country/region you desire. Thanks for clarification.

I too enjoy my cultivation and would gladly share what my father taught and I learned my self about farming. Barbados does not have the same natural resources as Jamaica, but with commitment and hard work, we can all do much to get things out of the ground.

If the ‘motherland’ you have in mind is Africa, especially west Africa, again I can gladly share my experiences from living and working there the past four years. I can even arrange trips and educational tours, and help with communication in French, if that is needed. I still have many contacts on both sides of that Continent.

Meanwhile, share with us more of the vision of the new Caribbean/Barbados.

30. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@PDC
    Re. “A future PDC Government shall surely ABOLISH ALL TAXATION in Barbados.”

When your government has abolished ALL taxes, I presume that the government will then resign. Or is there some other source of income that will be coming in to pay for the services that you will provide. Or, will public services also be done away with? Good to let the people know. Looking forward to the clarification.

31. I am a niche market manufacturer and I don’t ornstan’ a word David BU sayin’. Too hi-bred I suppose.

I know that when it comes to intellectual property, like land registration and fishing man rights the people upstairs across the region continue to separately do their own thing.

32. Miss Obamma put she Black han’ pun de Queen.. an’ she din wearin’ nah gloves…!

AAAAAAAAAAghhhhhhhhhhhhhh

33. But hold on, doesnโ€™t Hopi have a point as far as the long term interest of Barbados is concern? If we become a willing puppet of the regime of the establishment and continue to build our economy on tourism and offshore services (external determinants) are we not setting the country up to have to go with the flow?

To borrow livinginbarbadosโ€™ word, we have the conundrum of Obama forcing the General Motors CEO from office but the CEOs of the leading banks in America arguably responsible for the financial meltdown which has triggers a world collapse continue to go to work untouched.

Another conundrum: how can you fire the head of a car company because his sales continue to tank in an economy which has no end market confidence?

34. @David…..Obama has to do as told. What an empty suit! Check how he almost choked when he told the european audience that the terrorist will/could attack there next.
    The automotive industry is ‘blue collar’ unlike the ‘white collar’ banking industry which is controlled by the (beast) the Federal Reserve. One of the aims of this beast is to make everyone their slaves….condense the upper, middle and lower classes into one class…the slave class. So you end up with slaves and overlords. They are still transferring job overseas and the amerikkkans are now left on the breadline or on the homicide line. Stay tuned.

@Livingin…….#2. I would teach the children about the greatness of their ancestors and have YOU finance a trip to Kmt to show them the works of their fore-parents and by doing this instill some wholesome dignity within them and turn them away from all ideologies of the white man that has continuously failed us. #3. I’d start to teach them at a very early age mathematics, architecture, the sciences and the languages of their fore parents.. the Mdw Ntr (down with french and spanish and latin – all languages of the coloniser which keeps our minds enslave. Then I’d teach them how to build a cohesive society of longevity where every discipline compliments each other. And also teach them how to preserve that society. I’d teach them to look inward, to find POWER within themselves and NEVER teach them the peckawood’s enslaving religion about a Jesus Christ. NO CHURCHES ALLOWED! All this I would start at a very early age.

35. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@Hopi
    It’s an ambitous agenda. I note that you wrote in English (a language of a colonizer) and would prefer if we could continue in one of the major languages of our forefathers. We can do that in Fulani or Malinke with you if you like. If you need instruction, I have a teacher at my house.

As animism is still strong in the Caribbean, your desire on religion may be easier to achieve than some of the other aspects. But, I wish you well.

“N’djarama” (in Fulani) or “Alunike” (in Malinke), as you prefer, or Thanks (in plain English).

36. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@ALL
    The lists make intersting reading. I will need to probe more. But the G20 members do not all feature in the ‘top’ grade (Brazil, India, Indonesia, Saudi Arabia, South Korea, all missing). Why?

Not all EU members feature on the list and certainly not all in the top class: and there is an internal war going on there with the likes of Belgium and Luxembourg. On the EU fringe, Austrian and Switzerland will need to swing some lead.

What should a country like Jamaica make of their non inclusion in any list? Admitted, it does not have low taxes.

It’s a funny mix of fish and fowl.
    Just more grist to various mills.

37. backra johnny Avatar

@PDC

โ€œWe are all born ignorant, but one must work hard to remain stupid.โ€

Wah happen ?? Ya went to school regular but not often??

38. @Livingin…….Can’t throw out the baby with the bath water yet and remember that change is incremental.
    Hotep.

@backward johnny…..’we were all born ignorant……’ Nonsense. You’d be surprise to know how much information we bring to this planet via our DNA.

39. Hopi
    You either got a lotta energy to waste or you just enjoy sparring with nincumpoops..!

40. I took a beak but am back to lift the standard of the debate.

As expected, Hopi did not add anything.

It was reported on page 9 of the Weekend Nations that PM Thompson is taking steps to ensure Barbados becomes “a more efficient and welcoming” domicile for offshore business in light of the global financial crisis.”

The article went on to say that Thompson cited Immigration, Customs and Town Planning as three major departments in need of “significant improvement..”

Good idea, but it is not Thompson’s.

This is warm over cold soup having been first regurgitated by the so-called team of experts, thompson assembled to come up with a war plan.

But they succeeded only in extrating from Arthur’s Financial Policy Statement.

The idea which thompson claims credit for, is arthur’s.

Thompson and the DLP are therefore lost and are merely implementing superior BLP policies badly.

In my next post, I will tell you who is the biggest threat to our financial services sector.

41. “break”

42. Hopi’s right on one thing. Fact….the Fed is neither “federal” or “reserve”. Major share holders include CitiGroup & JP Morgan Chase….who’s interest do you think they are looking after?

43. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@Hopi

Not sure of the context or import of “change is incremental”, but it does remind us (from another thread) of being able to undestand things in mathematical terms. Whether the change is linear or exponential, we shall see. Looking at the delta means more than sitting idly by the river bank.

44. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@Hopi and The Reserve
    If the question of ownership had come up a few months ago, my answer would have been clear. Now, I have to think a little. With more of the banks effectively under the control of the Federal Government, one has to wonder if it is indeed ‘private’ or ‘public’ interests that drive the agenda. This is not a trivial change, so ought to be given due consideration.

45. Under the caption: โ€œBarbadosโ€™ Image Must Remain Clean,โ€ Prime Minister Thompson was quoted in the Advocate of Sunday, April 5, 2009 as having said:

โ€œSo our job really is to constantly provide the international community with information on Barbados as a reputable financial service centre which has tax and information exchange agreements with countries, and that we are not a secretive domicile or a domicile that conspires with others to allow people to avoid taxation.โ€

Having read that article, the question is, did David Thompson โ€œLIEโ€ when he told a gathering in Canada that former BLP operatives have million stashed in foreign bank accounts, especially since he now admits that Barbados has mutual legal assistance treaties with countries around the world.

That Thompson lied – is the reason why Barbados is now on the white-list!!!

But it never occurred to Thompson that Canada plays a leading role in Barbados financial services sector.

Still, his comments are a threat to Barbados being viewed as a clean financial services domicile.

The second point is:

David Thompson recently added a new layer to the government bureaucracy by implementing his hand-picked Constituency Councils.

It must be noted that persons who serve on these Councils will not have to disclose their assets.

The third threat is the refusal of the dlp to introduce integrity legislation, which requires – declaration of assets.

We now know about the recent IDB Report and the evidence of corruption in 2008.

Now, let us wait for the Auditor Generalโ€™s Report, which would tell us what happened in 2008, under this so-called: โ€œsqueaky clean,โ€ dlp administration

46. @Livingin……’If the question of ownership had come up a few months ago, my answer would have been clear.’
    A few month ago, a few years ago, or 50 years ago the answer would have still been the SAME.

47. Living in Barbados Avatar
    Living in Barbados

@Hopi
    With due respect, mon ami, it’s my answer, not yours. That your answer might never have changed is your business.

48. @Livingin…….This is a public forum not your personal diary and your reply speaks volumes to your ‘knowledge’ or lack thereof, so stop fronting.

49. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@Hopi
    Indeed it is a public forum and I express my views, rather than having them expressed for me. If we disagree, that is part of the discussion. It is not a class room with teachers hoping that the other children will sit quietly and only speak if spoken to. Your views, no matter how stridently made and no matter how wedded you are to them, personally, are just your views. Let us speak as we feel free and fit to do.

50. Yes!

Barbados is now on the white list – thanks to Arthur, Lynette Eastmond and the BLP, but what next?

It is time for the Governement to reactivate the International Trade & Investment Organisation to keep up the pressure on the G20 for equity when dealing with developed and developing financial centres.

It is certainly not the time to adopt the wait and see attitude that has characterized Mr. Thomsonโ€™s approach to financial matters thus far.

Small nation states must take the fight to the worldโ€™s capitals or be forever marginalized.

The ball is now in Thompson’s and the DLP’s court. They have been given a perfect batting wicket by the BLP.

The DLP therefore cannot use the excuse that it has “mess” to clean-up here and therefore cannot bluff anymore.

Let us see what it will do now!!!!

I already know the answer!!!