Ian Walcott

Ian Walcott, (B. Sc., M.A., M.Sc.) lectures and consults with leading local and regional companies in the discipline of Project Management.

He is one of the founding members of the Barbados Chapter of the Project Management Institute. Mr. Walcott was also instrumental in conceptualizing the Caribbean & Latin American Conference on Project Management which has become the region’s leading forum on the discipline.

A former OAS research fellow in International Political Economy at the University of Brasilia, Brazil, Mr. Walcott also spent two years at the International University of Japan where he specialized in Comparative Business and Management. As a member of the International Association of Theatre Critics (IATC) he also dedicates his time to the development of the theatre arts in the Caribbean.

Source: Connect CP

We have now experienced a full year after the Cricket World Cup and some may still say it’s too early to make an assessment. But alas the people spoke and the grand CEO of that project, the then Prime Minister of Barbados, Owen Arthur, was fired from his job by his very own subjects. This is telling.

Anyone travelling throughout the Caribbean region during the Arthur era would have been proud to be Barbadian because on the regional scene he was so well admired. Today if we go through the region, our brothers and sisters are still at a loss for words to express their dismay as to why such a perceived good leader was fired by the Barbadian people. To this I say the answer is very simple. You simply cannot fast track development. When leaders move ahead of the pace of their people, the result is always the same, they fail.

A name that had the opportunity to go down in history will now probably be best remembered as an ego maniac who refused to listen to the voices of his people and who lost his way in the labyrinth of his own mindless dreams. The best example of this was his total buy-in of the Cricket World Cup and the support he was able to drum up from corporate Barbados. But were the people there with him? A drive pass the Kensington Oval white elephant will give us a clear answer. Millions of dollars in debt standing tall amidst urban squalor, neighborhoods with a still very high index of poverty, poor housing, lack of job opportunity, open drains, limited access to good health care and a sewerage system that stinks.

So the dream was to use the World Cup as a catalyst for development to fast track us into some kind of modern island-city with big highways, an efficient hospital and the list of pipe dreams went on. Good on paper, an excellent end of term essay but zero in execution and because you failed you were fired Mr. Arthur. But alas you are not alone. You are not the first or the last leader who believes that there’s a fast track to development. And this is because we’ve been sold on a paradigm of development that is twisted, distorted and illusory and only serves the purpose of the global economic elite.

A viewing of Spielberg’s recent movie, Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull, becomes instructive as to what true development is all about. The true El Dorado is not a city of gold but the quest for knowledge. This is why 20 odd years after his death, Errol Barrow was able to draw Barbadians from all walks of life and all generations to Independence Square to view the unveiling of his statue. In his wisdom he understood that development was first about people – liberate the mind, educate the people and anything else is possible after that. This advice was also echoed in the 1990s from the Japanese government to the then Malaysian Prime Minister, Dr. Mahathir Mohamed. Their advice was simple, double your number of university postgraduates in the next twenty years.

Professor Selwyn Ryan, in a recent article in the Trinidadian press, lamented the fact that the Manning administration is now taking a similar route of trying to fast track development and cash in quickly on the windfall derived from high oil prices. We are seeing similar patterns evolve in Trinidad as in the Brazilian city of Sao Paulo or Caracas, Venezuela in the 1970s. Everyday high rise buildings are erected and the basics of human existence are ignored. So it’s not difficult to foretell the future outcomes of such an exercise. Human behavior is very predictable, if large chunks of the population are left out of the economic pie, the human instinct to survive will kick in – man will become envious and if he’s hungry enough will kill, steal and plunder to survive. In other parlance some call it crime. This is the story of every American inner city and it will be no different here in the Caribbean.

So why not let us fast track development of the mind? Take care of people first! Errol Barrow understood this. With my own ears as a teenager too young to vote at the time, I heard him say in 1986 when he regained the government that his next big project was housing. Unfortunately he didn’t live long enough for this to be materialized. The men that followed him didn’t hear what I heard or they chose to ignore him; and instead they constructed buildings and wide highways and sold off the West Coast. In essence they did not listen to the Father of Independence. This is because they do not understand Independence. The Father understood that true development and true Independence are one of the same thing. So it was not a mere breaking away from the colonial masters but it was a freeing of the mind and uplifting of the human spirit and making a people believe in themselves to be capable of anything. After we have achieved this feat then the buildings and highways will come naturally, but if we try to fast track the cosmetics and ignore the basics, history will always be unkind to us.

So please don’t let our egos and our finite nature get in the way of true development. Listen to the people. The Barbadian people need the basics, better housing, excellent health care, job opportunities and education. Take care of these and the rest will happen organically. Master the basics and history will remember you for centuries to come as a true liberator.

94 responses to “Of Men, Their Egos And The True Nature Of Development”

1. Straight talk Avatar

Ian:
    I much prefer the tone of your latter two comments, and if other intellectuals can come here to engage the average man with expert analysis of current situations we will welcome them all.

Anything which can lessen the disconnect between government action and grassroot feelings of alienation from the decision making process can only be good for the country…… and makes blogging a more worthwhile experience.

Thank you.

2. Dr. Banned Again From BFP Avatar
    Dr. Banned Again From BFP

Micro-Mock Engineer,
    Does it not make more sense having the proposed fly-overs on the ABC run transverse to the ABC as opposed to the single lane fly over in the same direction to accommodate the 60% flow thru? After all, this open ended fiasco that is referred to as a project (that incidentally introduced another roundabout that is nuff stress) can still accommodate a little input from the micro level… yeh

3. So then David, my question is this.

Who, if not the Project Manager, is responsible for ensuring that planned project are successfully executed from the perspective of the paying customer?

If I am building a home, it is not very helpful to me, to know that the plumber has done a fantastic job with his part of the home, if at the same time the structure is all wrong and the roof leaks.

As a taxpayer, I am not really happy to learn that Chris Decaires and his team ‘did their part well’, in a situation where the overall project is a bummer.

….and don’t tell me any junk about OSA and his circle – cause they certainly do not claim to be qualified ‘project managers’…. not when sober.

…so WHO WOULD HAVE BEEN THE OVERALL PROJECT ENGINEER?

This is the level of ‘project management’ that we all want to analyse at this stage.

Don’t tell me that we hire highly qualified persons, like Ian, to manage selected parts of these mega projects and can’t identify a single person with OVERALL technical responsibility…

..or is that the problem?

4. Mr. Bush tea why you interrogating us so rough? We are not the PM expert here! Anyway our short answer is Ian and his team would have been contracted by the Project Champion, in this case the LOC? Maybe the LOC would have been put in place by the Project Sponsor maybe the government?

So to answer your question the Project Sponsor is ultimate responsible to have the resources HR and financial to ensure there is a satisfied customer i.e. taxpayer.

Anyway over to you Ian!

5. Gabriel the Horn Blower Avatar
    Gabriel the Horn Blower

Did Mr Walcott have anything actually to do with CWC?

He should turn our attention to the National Cultural Foundation where he was last employed as a “Business Development Officer”.

It would be interesting to read about the projects he was involved with at NCF, the outcome and some analysis as to how these projects contributed to the provision of the basics i.e. ” better housing, excellent health care, job opportunities and education.”

6. To the blogger, Dr. Banned Again From BFP

The People’s Democratic Congress (PDC) is exceedingly happy to have witnessed on the CBC TV 7.00 pm news – about an hour and 3/4 ago – that the house that had belonged to the late composer of Barbados National Anthem – Mr. Roland Edwards, is no longer to be destroyed as planned by a contractor engaged by the Environmental Protection Department to do so.

It was while in the process of preparing, on line, an article that was to be placed on this blog, dealing with this hitherto dreaded and scandalous affair, that we would have got this very pleasing news. So, naturally, we would have had to restructure the submission from one based on severely denouncing the EPD for what it had intended to do and the very unseemly consequences that would have resulted from any such destruction, to one based on properly commending the family – including Mr. Randolph “Woodie” Woodroffe – who is a friend of our party leader – for being so steadfast and strong in the face of such violent and reckless intentions by the Environmental Protection Department. We must also express gratitude to the Nation Newspaper for having dutifully brought, and in such a forceful and dramatic way NOT previously observed by us re similar antecedents of attempts to destroy buildings of great importance to the country, the plight of the family of the late Mr. Edwards to the public’s attention.

We would also like to thank Professor Henry Fraser for the very brilliant and concise analysis and arguments that he was reported as having made in today’s Sunday Sun, for saving this house, a house which he has asserted to be of “architectural, historical and cultural importance”. Furthermore, with regard to Janette Layne-Clark, we must give her a beautiful bouquet for seeing it fit to use her column in today Sunday Sun, too, to argue so convincingly, and in a very trenchant and passionate tone and style that only she could have delivered, for this piece of Barbadiana to be preserved in our memory of this late composer. And last but NOT least this article is based on conveying heartfelt thanks to one of the most socially and politically progressive and shrewd activist lawyers in Barbados today, Mr. Douglas Trotman, for having moved with haste and at the same time for having made those very cogent arguments that were necessary to get the court, we believe too, to assist the family in its fight against the EPD.

Finally, the reasons reportedly adduced by the said EPD for intending to destroy this still solid stone house were so frivilous and vexatious that they could NEVER EVER have come any way near the arguments that could have any time been presented for keeping it so that the historical, cultural and other benefits would be accrued to this country for having this landmark structure restored and outfitted and then marketed as a place of national importance. And, of course, with the state’s assistance. How ironic!!

So there you are, Dr Banned Again from BFP.

7. Mr D, I picking on you because you have answers…. You are a man of means, David – and besides, you seem to have a resourceful household.

…anyway, seriously – and I am not picking on Ian here- But it seems to me that there is something fundamentally wrong with our macro planning approach. Successive governments seem to think that being elected automatically qualifies ministers as technical experts.

These nouveau technocrats (you see how GR rubbing off 😉 ) then feel that they are able to undertake the planning of billion dollar projects.

They then pay highly trained, and highly paid, experts to execute comparatively minor aspects of the overall project. These REAL experts then wash their hands of responsibility and point to their narrow terms of reference.

You see that ABC project? – case in point.

Gline Clarke jump on TV announcing that ‘flyovers will be up by year-end’ (don’t know how many; where; costs; or any such minor details -or even WHICH year end)
    After committing the country to a massive mis- project – he calls in the technical people to ‘project manage’. No wonder there is such a mess.

…by the way, do you note that we spent millions placing jersey barriers everywhere – EXCEPT ALONG THE BERMUDA TRIANGLE?

Politicians should decide ONLY policy. There should then be a requirement for such projects to be planned, engineered and administered by a pool of nonpartisan experts comprised of engineers, project managers and other specialists.

These should be held professionally and ethically responsible for the OVERALL technical success of the project.

8. Dr. George Reid Avatar
    Dr. George Reid

ROBOT // May 25, 2008 at 7:16 pm

wait !

george reid got very much mout now !

where was george all this time

in the garden hiding ?

hiding from owen ?
    I was a public officer from April 1963 until my retirement in August 1996. Between July 1996 and June 2000 I held a position in which I represented a number of CARICOM governments on the Board of Executive Directors of a Washington DC-based multilateral institution. During the mentioned periods, I conformed to the expected norms of behaviour regarding public statements. (PICK SENSE OUTTA DAT!)

In my public service career I made sure that every political leader with whom I interacted was aware of my professional opinion. In October 2001 I delivered an address on economic and social development in Barbados to a DLP forum, in which I reflected on my experiences as an economic and social planner. (BU has been given a copy of that paper and has published extracts from it). Owen Arthur responded with his usual “muscular ” nonsense.

I am currently working on a publication that will bring together my analyses of social and economic issues over the years. Anyone who knows me well will realise that I have always followed the norms that distinguish between private and public behaviour. THIS WILL BE MY ONLY RESPONSE TO PEOPLE LIKE ROBOT WHO MAKE AD HOMINEM COMMENTS UNDER A NOMME DE PLUME!!

9. Micro-Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro-Mock Engineer

Banned Again From BFP, uh see you got yuh PhD now… (P)ermanent (h)ead (D)amage 🙂

Where you get your Central Bank figures from? You off by about 30 million my fren… the building including the 500 seat concert hall actually cost 60 million… but your comment highlights the important issue of form versus function… for me, function should always be the predominant consideration. But unfortunately with big, important and EXPENSIVE projects form generally trumps… after all, the architect has to contemplate the dilemma of substantial proportions that adversely affects the space flow continuity of the contours and the absolute existence of the surrounding aesthetical hyperbolic curves within the universal constraints of the feasibilities studies 🙂

…as fuh de flyovers, I leffin dat fuh de Real-Real-Engineers… and experts like David an Bush tea.

10. Dr. Banned Again From BFP Avatar
    Dr. Banned Again From BFP

Lawyers, Tourises and the Descendants of the Settled Class do not take kindly to Socialist idealism in Government policy in the former colonies. Guyana in the 60’s and 70’s should be a sufficient example. In fact at one point the country was invaded and occupied by the same country where a lot of the tourises come from. I ain’saying to stifle idealism, just don’t be so obvious ‘bout it.

Micro-Mock Engineer,
    Man you rough me up man
    Actually the PHD is for Pine Hill Dairy. Non-alcaholic.. And yes when you bring the 60 mil dollars it took to build the Central forward the ten or so years to the period when the New National Insurance Building was built., 90 mil would be a fair estimate don’t you think? But you are fair with the assesment of the approach to “important and EXPENSIVE projects”, only that what you contribute to the thinking of the architect, I attribute to the leadership of the BLP over the years.

David and Bush Tea ain; soun’ like nah real engineers.

11. GR…do u have a pubisher for your book?

12. I ‘ve read the foregoing comments and must ask you David, are we simply blogging simply for political ego’s sake? While ordered reflection and discussion is beneficial, in the absence of a common purpose to harvest the ideas, the power of the creative mind is being wasted. Ian, project managent is necessary but not sufficient. There are scores of projects that have been efficiently and effectively constructed yet added no financial or other value to all concerned andvice versa. Kensington Oval Upgrade is an asset that is currently a threat. The wise thing to do would be to explore possible multi purpose use be it as part of the training circuit for European and British Football teams, international triangular cricket tournaments etc, our joint tours with neighboring islands that has similar facilities. It is to be regretted that the political capital that can be gained from “Corruption” often discourages government from risking certain necessary developmental projects. It is also unfortunate that with the increased expectation and involvement of politics, the scale of our planning and thinking has been reduced to four years. The strategic planning that Reid alludes to needs time, correlation and continuity. I have said it before and will say it again. While I do not advocate complacency, anyone who have lived overseas knows that Barbados is not the cesspool that some of the bloggers would want to make it out to be.
    If the structure of the bird or animal kingdom is any guide, the pyramid is the most stable structure. What this tells me is that there will always be the rich( top of pyramid-few) and less rich( majority – bottom of the pyramid ) The same is true of education. I view elite as those persons by virtue of effort has reached the threshold of their field and by such acknowledgement shares with the society. This is distinct from the ” snob.” It is interesting to observerve that many of the HC graduates of the fifty and sixties and who left HC having completed at least two years of University in certain subjects eventually worked in the public service, social services or entered politics. The role a social government is simply to keep raising the pyramid such that while individual positions may change, the relative shape remains. Now that most of the traditional political motivators like communism, colonialism, adult suffrage, feminism etc have lost their savor we must resist turning on ourselves. Maybe we have reached the point where we need clearly defined Labour and Conservative Political Parties.

13. Dr. George Reid Avatar
    Dr. George Reid

thinkbajan:

Thanks for trying to bring some balance to the discussion by pointing out some relevant facts about social structure. Those who rail against “elitism” seem to be seeking only the dumbing down of Barbadian intelligence.

While it is useful to have comments which argue for a second look at many of our cherished ideas, I feel that many of us who have used their best efforts to make something of this benighted little island can be justifiably chagrined at the remarks of those who have done nothing, but have a lot to say about it.

Ian, I am NOT looking for a publisher for anything I may choose to write.

14. A future PDC Government shall make sure, et al, the following:

1) The Abolition of TAXATION,

2) The Abolition of INTEREST RATES,

3) The Abolition of MOTOR VEHICLE INSURANCE,

4) The Abolition of ALL EXCHANGE RATES PARITIES with the Barbados Dollar,

5) The Setting up of a Hire Purchase Relief Fund

6) The establishment of a financial regime whereby Institutional Loans for Productive Purposes shall become Non-repayable,

7) The establishment of a regime whereby Imports of Goods and Services into the country shall be zero-“priced” at ALL points of entry,

8) The creation of a system whereby Exports of Goods and Services from Barbados shall be paid for in local currency/”prices”,

9) The institution of a regime whereby land spaces in Barbados shall only be “bought”, “sold”, or “leased” at nominal/administrative costs, and whereby there shall be the Abolition of LAND RENT,

10) The establishment of a dispensation under the above regime, (8), whereby ONLY Barbadians and other Barbadian entities shall be able “to own” the land spaces of Barbados, and whereas Non-Barbadians and other Foreign entities shall ONLY be able “to lease” such lands,

11) The bringing about of a dispensation under the above system, (8), whereby Barbadians and other Barbadian entities shall be reasonably limited to a maximum number of acres of land they can “own”, and with such a dispensation also applying too to the number of acres of lands and buildings that Non-Barbadians and other foreign entities can lease and own, respectively, in Barbados,

12) The creation of a regime of rent control for residential, community, commercial and industrial buildings in Barbados,

13) The maximization of the potential of the agriculture, agro-processing, manufacturing, construction, tourism, and other important sectors in Barbados,

14) The introduction of a system of national state and private sector PARTNERSHIPS,

15) The introduction of a railway system for Barbados, from the Grantley Adams International Airport to Warrens to the Deepwater Harbour, and from Warrens to St. Peter (Replacing the ABC Highway),

16) The specialization of existing secondary schools into Natural Sciences, Social Sciences, Technical and Vocational, Technological, Languages, and Arts and Culture based Academies in Barbados, with their own branches. The Abolition of the Common Entrance Exam. It will be replaced by a system of National Continuous Assesment,

17) The contruction of a ultra modern hospital in the north of the country,

18) The introduction of Trial on the Spot/Offences Courts in Barbados,

19) The ushering in of Republicanism for Barbados. Abolition of the British Monarchy as Head of State of Barbados. The Direct Election of the Cabinet, and then later the Direct Election of the President and Vice President and the Cabinet,

20) The creation of a system of Constituency Assemblies (30) whereby Constituents shall debate and pass the laws of the country,

21) The systematic tracking and monitoring of certain immigrants into Barbados. Birth of children of immigrants in Barbados will NO LONGER guarantee automatic citizenship of Barbados.

15. Gentlemen, what is the bottom line of all of this analysis? Where are we as a ‘Nation’ heading?

Everything has to have a proper ‘foundation’ in order to stand and survive, history is replete with ancient civilizations, that ‘ALL’ crumbled, because they scoffed at the ‘One’ true and living God, and created their own ‘gods’ to their eternal peril.

Barbados is NOT a Christian nation, believing in God, going to Church, even helping the poor, does NOT put anyone into a right relationship with God. We are trying to educate and philosophize away our fundamenat problems, which in essense, are ‘SPIRITUAL’ it simply can’t work!

“Unless the Lord builds the house, (nation) They labour in vain who build it. Unless the Lord guards the city. The watchman stays awake in vain.” (Psa. 127:1).

Wake up ‘Barbados’ from our slumber of ‘PRIDE’ the first word in our coat of arms; which according to God’s Word, is akin to ‘arrogance’ a haughty spirit, and permeates our land, from the destitute to the rich, as it has knows no class, colour or creed, and is the underlying cause of all SIN, it will ultimately destroy us as a people! REPENT, all of us, and turn our hearts and lives to THE LORD JESUS CHRIST, for ‘HE’ is the only answer!

16. very well said Ian.

17. …by the way, do you note that we spent millions placing jersey barriers everywhere – EXCEPT ALONG THE BERMUDA TRIANGLE?
    ………………………………………………………………………………………….
    I notice the same thing BT. We give OSA, Mia, Liz, Clyde, Muscle Mary, Payne etc real lashes but the most inept and dumb of that crowd has to be Glyne Clarke. How did he get to be a minister? The man apppears unable to read or understand the simplest words. He promised so many things and delivered zero. I too recall he said jersey barriers were going to bermuda triangle and highway widening would be finished by world cup. Our “finest hour” came and went and none of super incompetent Glyne Clarkes projects came to fruition. Why is he still in the House.? Spencer trust me you would be a much superior representative for Georgeians.

18. Carlos:

If you must quote the Bible, why not Psalm 19, American Standard Version:

1The heavens declare the glory of God;

And the firmament showeth his handiwork.

2Day unto day uttereth speech,

And night unto night showeth knowledge.

3There is no speech nor language;

Their voice is not heard.

4Their line is gone out through all the earth,

And their words to the end of the world.

In them hath he set a tabernacle for the sun,

5Which is as a bridegroom coming out of his chamber,

And rejoiceth as a strong man to run his course.

6His going forth is from the end of the heavens,

And his circuit unto the ends of it;

And there is nothing hid from the heat thereof.

7The law of Jehovah is perfect, restoring the soul:

The testimony of Jehovah is sure, making wise the simple.

8The precepts of Jehovah are right, rejoicing the heart:

The commandment of Jehovah is pure, enlightening the eyes.

9The fear of Jehovah is clean, enduring for ever:

The ordinances of Jehovah are true, and righteous altogether.

10More to be desired are they than gold, yea, than much fine gold;

Sweeter also than honey and the droppings of the honeycomb.

11Moreover by them is thy servant warned:

In keeping them there is great reward.

12Who can discern his errors?

Clear thou me from hidden faults.

13Keep back thy servant also from presumptuous sins;

Let them not have dominion over me:

Then shall I be upright,

And I shall be clear from great transgression.

14Let the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart

Be acceptable in thy sight,

O Jehovah, my rock, and my redeemer.

For those who are religious, doesn’t the above contain a fitting comment on all plans and projects?

19. Thanks JR…
    So I guess u r missin out on the CSA in San Andres, eh? I had to send my regrets as well…
    Hit me up on Facebook…

20. Now you see why Barbados is in so much trouble? We have, lawyers, Politicians, Economist, and now Project Managers that think there is some success of note, in the Kensington redevelopment project.
    There is a world beyond project management, and like many other vocational degree holders in Barbados, the world must be filtered via the narrow confined of the books they have studied for 3,4,6 years, and must reflect on the paper thropy they parade as indicative of a learnt person. This isn’t about Barbados it hardly ever is, this is about the person who believes they are smart because they have a degree to prove it.
    All that i have gathered from the Leading article in this thread, is that the author thinks that there are best demonstrated practices that can be taken from the construction process of Kensington oval and brought to bare on all other projects in Barbados. This could have been said in one paragraph, and now that i am aware that this is the hidden message in the “Gladstone Holder” like article, i am like others in the belief that it does not go far enough. Feasibility, cost, and Project management must be brought, together, not one or two, but all, to bare on future projects, and there must not be any illegal workers, or workers brought in under de table, and paid 10 dollars a day, in any future projects, also persons must not call others at 3 0’clock in the morning to demand that a report be written on the project be particular way. A successful project should define as such from it’s feasibility, it’s development process, and it’s final cost.

21. JR…what’s the outcome on the exchange program witht the Brazilian universities? U got my contact email…hit me up…I have a direct contact with the International Office at UnB…and I know they had a very vibrant program with UWI, St. Augustine.

22. hey dr.george

man i not attacking yuh man !

i admired yuh man !
    dont feel nuh way !
    i love yuh man (brotherly love)

but when yuh make statements like :

“Owen Arthur responded with his usual “muscular ” nonsense.”

it makes me chuckle a bit
    seems like owen seymour arthur -OSA-
    stuck in yuh craw

23. The Barbados Institute of Architects and the Central Bank of Barbados invites you to ‘A Modernist Endeavour: the Architecture of Mervyn Awon’
    Mervyn Awon discusses his design concepts and the challenges of his modern style of Architecture at the Frank Collymore Hall on May 27th 2008 at 7pm-10pm.
    All are welcome.
    Dress: Elegant

24. PDC: I am aware of the process whereby if you say something often enough you can believe it even it was initially false. After reading that a future PDC Government shall make sure, et al,
    (I refer to first the first four items below) I can only conclude that your government believes either that one can get something for nothing or government would be a turnstile with redistribution as its core philosophy. The first defies the laws of nature and science. The latter ignores the concept of the path of least resistance and that water Always finds it own level.

If you are going to abolished taxation( your broad brush) where will revenue come from? I am sure that at least one of your leaders know this statement: Render under to Caesar the things that are Caesars…

I presume that with the abolition of interest rates and ALL EXCHANGE RATES PARITIES with the Barbados Dollar, the concept of banking will become a myth.

It is one of those attitudes – something for nothing – that currently hinders the growth of sport and culture in the island in that some of us will buy and expensive TV or shoes, but will not pull our pockets to watch cricket or buy a music CD.

Adrian: The issue is not so much the label. Every society needs different kinds of thinkers and skills if it is to develop. The problem is that buy into the education label alone and either ignore or under value other experiences. We may soon rediscover that a sound primary educational system as we once knew is the most important stage. The path after that should be without prejudice and by choice. There are many shopkeepers, huskers, fish sellers who developed their own accounting and managements systems and were able to send their children to school, build a house and a piece of land. Through no fault of their own, the expectations of students have been raised and many of them are unfortunately suited for teaching and management-areas where jobs are fewer.

REID:
    Thanks. I have learnt that we rob ourselves of the truth every time we choose to see the glass as half full of half empty. To choose one is to deny the other. In the same way we often see the behavior of peoples crabs in a barrel – climbing over each other to get out – without acknowledging that when people put crabs in a barrel it is because they don’t want them to get out. Because of that I prefer to compliment the crabs for at least trying by creating human frail ladder. It is for that reason -limited view – that I would us to Think Bajan -those values that have been good to us – and not confine our thinking to the 166 square miles we call Barbados.
    I am also convinced that many of us came to school with a first class honors degree from the village and the backyard andit was theEnglish brothers like Hammond and Pope that learnt from us . If you doubt me consider the education that is involved in picking a bread fruit?

25. Straight talk Avatar

I’d love to listen to some architect espousing his vision of modern architecture, but unfortunately I’ve lost the will, and the wardrobe, to “dress elegant”, so it looks like I’m excluded from the privileged audience.
    What say you, George about this Covent Garden elitism.
    Is it really non-existent in Barbados?

26. Banned Again From BFP Avatar
    Banned Again From BFP

Mervyn Awon discusses his design concepts and the challenges of his modern style of Architecture at the Frank Collymore Hall on May 27th 2008 at 7pm-10pm.

If I go I plan to be first in line to show disgust at the $ waste in design of the Central bank, Law faculty and LOB buildings. Construction costs foreign exchange, real foreign exchange that has to be found somewhere. Designers have to be responsible not airy-fairy. Sorry functionality first before flair.

Ian,
    If you and your friend do not necessarily have to travel, stop home and save some foreign exchange. Show some responsibility in these trying times nuh…

Adrian Hinds

I liked Gladstone Holder, but I also like you Englishman. Can’ get it onstan’.

27. Banned Again From BFP Avatar
    Banned Again From BFP

De ‘ting bout architects is that they get a sizeable percentage of the project price (more than lawyers), unlike Directors in a film production who is paid a fixed wage. It pays an architect to go for broke particularly when public funds are concerned.

28. Architect – the ideal job.

Use the clients money to build your own ego.

The more of the client’s money you use, the higher your commission.

….what a vocation.

29. Went to many of the World Cup Games. Enjoyed myself too and so did my 13 year old. But I am still wondering “did we have to spend so much money for what were essentially one day games?” Would not a more modest refurbishment of Kensigton have done the job? With perhaps much more temporary seating?

And how come this year our children were scrambing about this athletics season for performance space and could not use Kensington Oval? Is Kensington Oval which will be paid for by our children too good for our children to use? When I was young and the technology was old fashioned Kensington was used sucessfully for both athletics and cricket in the same year, and the Windies won their games too. What has happened to change things?

What will this fancy new stadium do for our Windies team and what will it do for our young athletes?

Please expalin in a way that I can show and tell and explain to my 14 year old whose taxes will pay for Kensington?

I cannot help wondering what if we had spent half as much on Kensington/World Cup? and spent the other half on the hospital? or on helping young families to buy their own houses. Again I need an explanation that a 14 year old who will be paying for Kensington/World Cup and who has to use a delapidated QEH and who despairs of a home of their own can understand?

Help me please. Much thanks.

30. Banned Again From BFP Avatar
    Banned Again From BFP

J
    see w’a Bush tea say.

As a consequence the architect that designed the oval that your daughter will pay for recently won an award for the best designed stadium in the world or something like that. Dey could ‘a give a bajan company lead on this project at the very least give them an opportunity to acquire some needed international recognition. No, the Great O&A, project leader, forced Alleyne’s hand and he had no choice but to seek the Commonwealth Secretariat’s advice with the time-frame he was given, and of course he was duly directed to an English (of Indian stock) architect.

31. To the blogger, thinkbajan

There is absolutely NOTHING false about what we have long been proposing in relationship to the fact that a future PDC Government shall Abolish ALL Taxation; shall Abolish Interest Rates; shall Abolish Motor Vehicle Insurance; and shall Abolish All Exchange Rates Parities with the Barbados Dollar.

To the contrary, a serious, dispassionate and truthful analysis of the similar and different causes, functions and effects of these four systems, in addition to the Repayment of Institutional Loans for Productive Purposes system in Barbados, will show that they are in and of themselves some of most evil, destructive and inimical social political legal financial systems to have ever been put in place by particular colonial-era rulers, overlords and massas, and in that particular epoch when colonialism was totally cruel, inhuman and degrading esp. to black people in the Caribbean. However, what is not surprising to us is that they have been dastardly and unwisely kept in place, and in some cases made worse, by some shameless, backward and intellectually bankrupt post-independence BLP and DLP Governments, esp, to wickedly and demonically ensure as much as possible the further overall dehumanization, marginalization and dedevelopment of the general masses and middle classes of people of Barbados. For, such governments must be seen as operating primarily in the interests of foreign masters lurking somewhere in the dark shadows of this earth!! Too, what would have been seen all the while the above would have been happening is that, in contrast to the above, these systems would long have been established and kept in place to make sure that the old immoral colonial and post-colonial states and elites as much as possible did and still do continue to exercise unworthy dominance and dictatorship over the said masses and middle classes, while at the same time too accumulating greater wealth, income and status over the said suffering and impoverished masses and middle classes of people of Barbados.

Finally, sir/madam (thinkbajan), in the case of The Abolition of Taxation, a future PDC Government shall, at the same time of doing so, put appropriate strategies in place that will ensure that the state, et al, earns its own revenues and pays its own bills, without violating the income and property rights of people and other entities in Barbados .

And, in the case of the Abolition of Interest Rates and the Abolition of Exchange Rates Parities with the Barbados Dollar, such a government shall make sure – in the case of the former – that the financial cost to individuals, businesses and other entities in Barbados successfully accessing money/value within the banking sector and within the wider financial sector is totally lessened. Also, such a government shall ensure that, at the same time, far greater amounts of money/value are circulated to meet the demands of the masses/middle classes of people in the country, and shall ensure too that money/value is greater made to serve the purpose of being used as a means of exchange, and, on top of those things, that, by the same measure, social divisions and relations and disparities in wealth and income in this country will be helped realigned in such a way as to be made more equal, equalized and integrated throughout the country.

And, in so far as the latter proposition is concerned, whereas people, businesses and other entities importing goods and services into Barbados will NOT have, under a PDC regime, to any longer contend with the wholly artificial but tremendously realized costs associated with the so-called converting of, say, US Dollars into Barbados Dollars, at the time of sending payment to the overseas suppliers of such goods and services, and which is a situation that is totally aggravated when, say, at the ports of entry in Barbados the state greatly robs such local importers of portions of their incomes (TAXES) based on the converted costs, a situation therefore shall only be left to emerge in this country whereby those persons or other entities in Barbados generally in need of foreign currency for purposes of doing personal business/trade/investment overseas, shall be certainly truly relieved that they WILL NO longer be seen carrying the excessive financial burdens associated with or arising from the Barbados Dollar being tied to esp. those internationally tradeable foreign currencies that, in turn, are themselves so much tied to and that are themselves so much valued based on the more complex, far more substantial political, productive, trading, currency and financial activites of bigger so-called economies. As well, such persons and entities shall NO longer be seen as carrying the excessive financial burdens associated with or arising from the Barbados Dollar being tied to internationally tradeable foreign currencies that are wildly fluctuating against other foreign currencies because of certain domestic and international circumstances!!

Too, whereas people, businesses and other entities importing goods and services into Barbados will have to go to the National Curency Board ( NCB) to get foreign currency to pay for such goods and services imported into the country in the currencies that they are denominated in, they shall be surely relieved that payment for such goods and services shall, at the particular time, be based on the Barbados’ foreign currency stock and the foreign currency flows into and out of the country, and NOT based on – as is the case now – what they individually could afford to have or not have in foreign currency, and esp. at the going rates of exchange in Barbados. And, too, whereas people, businesses and other entities that are exporting goods and services overseas, or that are simply doing non-commercial business or that are simply receiving monetary benefits from overseas, will have to put whatever foreign exchange they would have derived from their commercial or personal business into the NCB, in the final analysis they shall be relieved that the said NCB shall, in exchange for the foreign exchange earned by them, NOT only reimburse them equal to the cost of what such goods and services/benefits are valued here in Barbados, BUT shall also give to them premiums, in Barbados Dollars, for earning such foreign exchange for the country’s benefit. Thinkbajan, and finally, finally, finally, A future PDC Government’s Abolishing Exchange Rates Parities with the Barbados Dollar will NOT mean that there will NOT be allowed to continue the system whereby foreign currencies are exchanged for other foreign currencies in Barbados at the going exchange rates.

So much for that exposition, thinkbajan

32. Dr. George Reid Avatar
    Dr. George Reid

Banned Again From BFP // May 26, 2008 at 6:21 pm

If I go I plan to be first in line to show disgust at the $ waste in design of the Central bank, Law faculty and LOB buildings. Construction costs foreign exchange, real foreign exchange that has to be found somewhere. Designers have to be responsible not airy-fairy. Sorry functionality first before flair.

Before the GoB started building primary schools, in the 1980s, under the World Bank supported education project every primary school that was constructed was a monument to the headmaster/Minister of Education/other prominent official of the time.

A simple concept that the WB project inculcated in the planning psyche (sorry Bush Tea) was that there was no direct relationship between the cost incurred in providing the school and the education that was imparted. I learned a lot, on a good day, under the tamarind tree at the old St. Leonard’s Boys School, and my father did too! Perhaps, the ready-to-hand availability of tamarind rods helped!

What may have escaped Ian (I don’t mean vented from!) is the psychological dimension of project planning. Political leaders like to pass drawings around the conference table, even though they don’t understand head nor tail about them. Maybe, it is because before they reach their lofty status, most political leaders lacked the resources to build anything of their own. Using the people’s money provides the opportunity to wax large. I think that some architects understand this yearning very well, and exploit. One should not discount the role of Courtney Blackman in the design of the CBB building, and Tom Adams, who allowed the construction of an edifice that Errol Barrow refused to grace with his presence. It was after my time, but I understand that the RHOSA’s interventions contributed significantly to the escalation in the cost of the government building behind Super Centre in Warrens!

I gone!!

33. Black-Scholes Avatar

WHERE WAS IAN WALCOTT THE PAST 2 YRS OF THE BAJAN BLOG SCENE??
    WHY ALL OF A SUDDEN HE HAS SO MUCH TO ‘ADD’?
    WHY THE SUDDEN INCREASE IN LOQUACITY?

IAN WHAT IS YOUR AGENDA?

34. He coulda been using a pseudonym before and now decide to “come out”.

35. Banned Again From BFP Avatar
    Banned Again From BFP

RHOSA’s

Rt Hon O$A’s ..

Had me going there for a while

36. Straight talk // May 26, 2008 at 6:04 pm

I’d love to listen to some architect espousing his vision of modern architecture, but unfortunately I’ve lost the will, and the wardrobe, to “dress elegant”, so it looks like I’m excluded from the privileged audience.
    What say you, George about this Covent Garden elitism.
    Is it really non-existent in Barbados?
    =================================

MIT SUES famed architect for flaws in stata Center. The Stata center reminds me of Barbados NIS building on Fairchild street. Who designed that?

http://www.boston.com/news/local/articles/2007/11/06/mit_sues_gehry_citing_leaks_in_300m_complex/

37. Dr. George Reid Avatar
    Dr. George Reid

Does anyone think that a RHOSA by any other name would still smell? I think that we may have to ask the Barbs of the Rock for an answer.

38. PDC: Your desire to make a contribution should not prevent alteranative realities. Exchange rate parities is not done in isolation nor necessary act against the island’s interest. for years the net difference in telephone traffic between Barbados and the USA, because of the exchange rate parity resulted in significnat foreign earnings for Barbados. There will also be issues in settling debt etc. My question is your claim that Barbados is so bad that it requires radical social measures that have no experiential foundation. What ever name you give it, it is still a tax. I can’t imagine the type of society which you want to create where people feel that they can get something for nothing.

39. A True Believer Avatar
    A True Believer

This walcott fellow is write a lot of fancy sounding words but it dont make no sense to me. I may not have a uwi certificate but i aint so foolish.

40. Straight talk Avatar

Thanks for the tip Doc.

I have a silverback Barb on that rock, maybe I should ask him to poke around.

41. Banned Again From BFP Avatar
    Banned Again From BFP

A True Believer

Your tax dollars at work……

42. Doc Reid,
    A simple concept that the WB project inculcated in the planning psyche (sorry Bush Tea)

What sorry what Doc?

…man you have now inculcated into Bush tea a desire to extrapolate his vocabulary, that would bless the heart of my former english teacher (bless her patient soul).

I hereby sincerely apologize for any previous protestations and unreservedly confess to having become enamored by your linguistic perambulations.

Thank you Doc.

43. Dr. George Reid Avatar
    Dr. George Reid

Why, thanks, Bush Tea. I entirely reciprocate your encomiums, and will defer any inclination to take a verbal enema, for the time being.

44. classist and elitist rubbish from you two
    indicating therefore a state of perpetual slavery–mental slavery–

we will get no where with these silly displays

you anger me !