image.png

We read a report in The Voice newspaper this evening about a cruise ship populated with homosexuals which intends to cruise the Caribbean next month and next year. Islands which are being reported on their itinerary are Grenada, Dominica and Barbados. According to the newspaper report, Grenadians have been making a hue and cry against the planned visit. Surprisingly we have not heard a similar protest from Barbadians. Does the silence in Barbados mean that we have accepted the idea of gay tourists visiting our island and displaying their lifestyle to all and sundry? Is it because the traditional media has not covered the matter?

It seems that the Grenadians are objecting to the homosexual tourists setting foot on the Spice Isle on ‘cultural and religious’ grounds. Grenadians had a similar visit last year and judging from their dissent, they do not want a repeat of what they saw. To quote the Voice: Many Grenadians were reportedly angered by the sight of crowds of gay visitors touring the island a couple of years ago, during a gay cruise.’ It is easy for people looking in from the outside to accuse the islands of being homophobic. To quote the Tourism Minister, Dr Clarice Modeste Cur-win: “We have to be careful not to get homophobic. Not to get paranoid.” However she said, “the display of intimacy on the streets is something I am very much against and I find it intolerable.

We look forward to hearing how Barbadians feel on this issue.

Related Stories

The Gay Agenda Threatens To Destablize Modern Societies

Gays Are People Too

41 responses to “Gay Tourists Coming”

1. CaesarThe Emperor Avatar
    CaesarThe Emperor

Oh come now!

Unless things have changed drastically in the year I’ve been gone, there is a well populated gay section of Barbadian society. There is nothing new about homosexuals in Barbados. I mean come on folks, this is 2007. Look around, it’s everywhere.

That said, it may be difficult (I know it is for me) to have to see public homosexual displays of affection etc.

But what is more important to us; to ‘take a stand’ against a perceived gay lifestyle invasion or to just grin and bear it for a day or two for the sake of our tourism industry?

2. ‘Caesar’, said: Look around, it’s everywhere.

So, is AIDS, rape and murder!

3. Adrian Loveridge Avatar

They are most welcome at Peach and Quiet.

4. Adrian Loveridge // November 19, 2007 at 9:28 am

——————–
    It’s all business, I would do the same.
    ===============================

It seems that the Grenadians are objecting to the homosexual tourists setting foot on the Spice Isle on ‘cultural and religious’ grounds. Grenadians had a similar visit last year and judging from their dissent, they do not want a repeat of what they saw. To quote the Voice: ‘Many Grenadians were reportedly angered by the sight of crowds of gay visitors touring the island a couple of years ago, during a gay cruise.’
    ——————————————
    Has our Deputy PM ever visited Grenada, or Jamaica in her official capacity? I think that if and when she does we will see the officials and these two countries as hyporcits. 😀
    BU says: Does the silence in Barbados mean that we have accepted the idea of gay tourists visiting our island and displaying their lifestyle to all and sundry? Could it be that the matter has not been covered by the traditional media?
    ——————————————-
    We have accepted our Deputy PM why not gay tourist? 😀
    ================================

5. Good point, Adrian. Perhaps we are hypocrites!

6. Just what the doctor ordered!

A load of wickers and chocolate channel boys.

Anything to boast numbers, eh Noel?

Adrian if they are welcome at you, they certainly are not welcome at me.

7. It is surprising that black West Indians are so homophobic when, two centuries ago, they benefited from compassion and understanding that freed them from slavery. You would think that blacks and gays would share a common bond of people that are persecuted for being themselves.

I really do not think that many Barbadians care about a person’s sexuality and would rather judge them on the strength of their character.

8. Please do not use strength and character in the same sentence when speaking of degenerates such as “gay” people.

9. Will Mia be serving……CONCH on board when this ship CUM a calling ?

10. Don’t use the words “strength” and “character” when speaking of degenerates such as so-called gay people.

11. The View From Here Avatar
    The View From Here

OH GET OVER IT ALREADY!

Homosexuality has existed from the beginning of time and is just as legitimate as heterosexuality.

Why is it anybody’s business who one sleeps with? Who cares if homosexuals hold hands or kiss in public? Love is a WONDERFUL thing!!!!

What do you think is going to happen if the people who live in Barbados see gay tourists? Homosexuality is not a disease, nor is it contagious? It’s not a mark of character. It’s not a “lifestyle” any more than heterosexuality is a “lifestyle”.

If one doesn’t like homosexuality then don’t sleep with someone of the same sex, simple. But why persecute/reject/scorn/denigrate/exclude gay people? Why are they so threatening?

I though the main tenets of Christianity were, “Love God and love thy neighbour as thyself.”
    Why can’t Barbadians practice that?

I hope I live to see the day that Barbados and the rest of the Caribbean starts practicing enlightened behaviour which recognises that discriminating against people based on sexual orientation is just wrong.

ENOUGH ALREADY!!!!

12. What do you think is going to happen if the people who live in Barbados see gay tourists? Homosexuality is not a disease, nor is it contagious? It’s not a mark of character. It’s not a “lifestyle” any more than heterosexuality is a “lifestyle”.
    ……………………………………………………………………
    Fantastic point, a person should know how far left or far right they should go. Once someone admits to who/she is, it will make life better. Only if the closet homo would stop hiding and admit, we would be more comfortable. These are people too, with money to spend. Although I am against this type of behaviour, I must be realise that no body can stop someone from being what is inside them. Welcome them but you don’t have to be like them.

13. The View From Here~we are not sure if you are aware that the matter of homosexuality is set to split the Anglican Church. It is a topic which is heavily debated around the world. The point we want to make is, it is not a Barbados ONLY perspective. Recent news suggests that the Arch Bishop may not extend an invitation to known homosexual priests at the next Church Conference.

Why should Barbadians be made to feel that they should not debate the issue of Gay tourists on a boat visiting Barbados when other countries are currently debating the issue. It is only through discussion that we can identify and respond to the concerns/fears.

14. CaesarThe Emperor I am shocked at your comment
    “But what is more important to us; to ‘take a stand’ against a perceived gay lifestyle invasion or to just grin and bear it for a day or two for the sake of our tourism industry?”

Are u so lacking in testicular fortitude that you would put aside your values and beliefs for a few days for the almighty dollar or are you one of the closet gays? Cause only one of the two of these types would make such an idiotic comment

15. Tomorrow in Barbados is DECIMATION DAY!!!!

16. childish rubbish and no need to debate it either they r welcome in barbadoss any time

17. Barbadians should be encouraged to express their views regardless if the subject affects them directly or not. However, I don’t think the issue is about gays visiting the Island; it seems to be more about their (gays) openness, which cultures such as ours are not used to. Although there may be concerns based on the feedback from Grenada’s Minister of Tourism about gays displaying their intimacy on the streets while visiting the island, I don’t think it is only gays; it is the heterosexual visitors as well.

Since this type of behavior maybe allowed and/or tolerated on the streets of some countries, while Barbados and other Caribbean Islands are offended, these Ministries of Tourism should consider sending a notice to Cruise Liners. The notice should ask that they inform passengers before disembarking at a port that public displays of affection are frowned upon by its native population, being a conservation country, and to refrain from such activity. Ministries may consider going one step further by posting a sign, somewhere in public view as tourists leave the ship, that all public displays of affection are frown upon by our native population, being a conservative country. We discourage intimacy on our streets. This same notification could also be used at airports.

I don’t think people should be ostracized from visiting any country because of their lifestyle, unless it causes a pandemic.

18. CaesarTheEmperor Avatar

Alright Isabella. (the claws are really ‘coming out’ on this issue)

Let me first address the issue of my testicular fortitude. I’ve found the bit I’ve been blessed with to be quite sufficient and have never been asked to question it before now. You’ll be pleased to know that per your inquiry, I have checked thoroughly and am now pleased to announce my testicular fortitude is doing just fine.

As to whether or not I’m a closet gay; if indeed I were gay at all, my (now emphatically verified) testicular fortitude would ensure I’d be very open about it. I dare say I’d be the most flamboyant-testicularly-fortified homosexual you could meet.

As to the idiocy of my comment, if you see the sense in risking damage to our international reputation over something that is already embedded in our society. For Pete’s sake the country has been refered to as Bull-bados and there is the question of our deputy PM as was mentioned before.

Open your eyes! We already have a ton of gays and we haven’t swallowed by the earth (well, other than that Britons Hill incident but I’m sure there were no gays responsible for that.)

Morally right or not, if you want to damage our lifeblood industry by making us out to look intolerant when in realty we are obviously not, then dear I don’t think it’s my idiocy on trial here.

19. “Homosexuality has existed from the beginning of time ”

Not true!

In the Garden of Eden God created Adam and Eve for each other.

Not Adam and Steve.
    Not Eve and Mary.

20. The Devils Advocate Avatar
    The Devils Advocate

Is it that we are, homophobic? Most Barbadians are uncomfortable with public displays of affection even by heterosexual couples!!! Our island unfortunately (or fortunately) has a reputation for being prudish in public but uninhibited about the private. It is not so much a problem with gayness but a problem with a particular type of ‘gayness’. People do not like the Queer Eye kind of gayness which lets it all hang out, even the most liberal of us do not like ‘overtly’ gay people. I believe that any visitor to our shores should conduct themselves with decorum regardless of sexual orientation. We do not allow tourists to walk around bridgetown in their bathing suits. Culturally we have not yet become as liberal as the USA and I think that when you visit a country the sensitivities of your hosts should be respected. I do not believe that these same men would go to a Muslim state and expect them to accept overt displays of their sexuality. We allow them to visit as long as they understand that they are not at home and whether they like it our not we do not have to accept what makes us uncomfortable to avoid the label homophobic. I do not think that the majority of us are homophobic per se we just do not like certain behaviors displayed in public. I do not think that the way to change people’s perception of gay people is to allow ‘openly gay’ foreigners to let it all hang out in Bridgetown. An act like that might just cause more people to start agreeing with the real homophobes and then we will have a situation like Jamaica, where gay people have requested asylum in the USA.
    (I don’t know if the asylum was granted)

21. YUM YUM I like it! Avatar
    YUM YUM I like it!

Another BU gay-bashing article – no surprise there then! As always their brand of ‘soft’ homophobia will illicit many comments and raise readership levels, whilst unfortunately sustaining (and condoning) the ‘backwards’ attitude that most Caribbean people have towards homosexuals!!

If Barbados doesn’t want the ‘pink pound’ or ‘pink dollar’ there are plenty of places that will be happy to take it! Remember that gay couples have FAR higher levels of disposable income than their hetero counterparts! AND with Noel Lynch talking about ‘spend per tourist’, this would be worth thinking about!

I hope they bring in thousands of them all year round so that all the homophobic bigots will be choking on their puddin and souse!!!!

Live and let live!

22. Wait, it seems to need a gay agenda to get you on line YUM YUM…. You still running from my BBE theory?

…anyway, while gays are people too and while it may seem logical to take a live and let live attitude; spiritually, the practice of homosexuality represents a barometer of righteousness (or lack thereof)

The Bible indicates that, just as unclean and unhygienic behaviors result in increased incidence of disease, infections and sickness, so too does unholy and wicked behaviors result in increases incidences of Homosexuality and other undesirable results.

Actually another result of this spiritual consequence (law) pointed out on numerous occasions in the bible is that refusal to abide by laws of honesty, truth, justice and righteousness would result in ‘women being forced to become leaders in society’ and inexperienced children disrespecting the ‘wisdom’ of experienced men…

Maybe you should tell me if you think that these laws appear to really work…

so while these gays may not be personally deserving of our hatred and contempt, there are reasons for us to be concerned about their proliferation….

…now how do you rate Hilary’s chances next year?!?

23. Adrian Loveridge // November 19, 2007 at 9:28 am

Would you still want this person to be your PM/MP????

I don’t think so!!!!

24. Sapidillo

Quite right. Barbados already has rules in place which tourists should respect, such as not going topless, not wearing camouflage design clothes. Gays should respect local feeling and not flaunt the public behaviour which might offend, even though in other countries it might be acceptable. If they don’t like the culture in barbados they should stay away.

25. Adrian Loveridge Avatar

Just to clarify, ANY previous comments on this subject under MY name have NOT been posted by me.

26. I wonder which activity by gays crosses the line in terms of public displays of affection. Is holding hands acceptable? I would be curious to see how the Grenada law is worded. Is it acceptable for a father and son (or other family members) to hold hands, to hug or kiss each other on the cheek, as is the custom in some cultures (French). It is funny how homophobes try to legitimise their hate by referring to laws that are completely outdated and probably would not stand up in a modern court.

27. And it’s funny how homofones try to legitimise their filth by making all manner of excuses.

28. Wow. All the hypocrites come out to play. Bajans and their opinions.
    The View From Here, you hit the nail on the head. Enough already! We all need to look in the mirror and ask the reflection there what it/he/she can do to make the world a better place. And then do it! (That excludes murder folks)

29. To the BU bashers (especially YUM YUM) we want to say yet again that the perception of homosexuals in Barbados is one which we have to discuss. We will repeat this until it is understood.

Here is a link to an article which confirms that this is not only a problem which Barbadians are battling.

30. David, why do you bother? You should know that many of the detractors are ONLY interested in PROMOTING homosexuality either because they’re homosexual themselves or have leanings in that direction. No amount of logical argument would make any difference to their opinion. Let’s not waste our time with the filth!

31. Bimbro
    Actually, the reverse is true. Many homophobes are so because they fear their own sexuality. When you KNOW that you’re not gay, then gays are much easier to accept.

32. David you REALLY love to stir up a hornets’ nest.

Anyway I realise how obsessed with bul… homoesexuals bajans are and I wonder why. The fact is, we have gay tourists coming to these shores all the time. I have seen a few of them in the city but I have never seen any public displays of affection.

Furthermore, I was reading up on it and the tourists are given advisories on the social attitude towards homosexuality. Now, I can understand how on the one hand we don’t necessarily want to give people a green light to… how do I put this… ‘be themselves’ but on the other hand it seems like we want people to continue waiting til the sun sets to sh ow their true colours and forgo things like safety and protection.

33. peltdownman // November 22, 2007 at 7:20 Bimbro
    Actually, the reverse is true. Many homophobes are so because they fear their own sexuality. When you KNOW that you’re not gay, then gays are much easier to accept.

Peltdownman, I’m ashamed and disappointed in you for reiterating the usual garbage which the homos spew in order to make us feel guilty, for being normal. I don’t need to be abnormal to feel sick and those filth make me feel sick.

I’m perfectly, normal and perfectly, happy to be heterosexual. No hetero-sexual-bashing, homosexual is going to make me feel guilty for being normal, as much as they’d like to. You’re not gay by any chance, are you????

What also, interests me is the allegation of ‘the effeminacy of Barbadian men’ referred to by the african poster in the ‘Nigerians in Bim’ topic. I doan live day, so I doan know, but if it’s true I’m staying well away from there!!!!

I was approaced by one of them over here recenty, and I could swear he was a Bajan. I run way real fast!!!! Lord!!!!

34. Ah wonder if Muscle Mary would join this cruise ?

35. I’m curious as to how a particular bias shows through, if it were a ship of wife beaters a different set of people would be crying out, a ship of drunkards or thieves then the lines might be a little clearer.

All sorts of scum walk our streets, grace our public offices and warm our pews. For all you bible thumpers out there on the Sodom and Gomorrah kick, why is it that the heterosexuals weren’t spared when the proverbial destruction came down? maybe they got on their high horses about the gays and forgot the pet sins hanging around their necks. As for you gay inclined, how dare you try to lump your choices in with civil rights of blacks, was there some gay continent you were plucked from, forced to do all sorts of heterosexual labor, was the babysitter or relative or priest that molested you, just showing you your true inclination? don’t piss down my back and tell me its raining!
    Now for you tourism louses, if you want to get paid so that the national debt can fall from ludicrous to manageable you get money, and you get it where and when you can.
    A country that puts all its eggs in a tourism basket and wants to pick and chose markets is as absurd as a picky whore. The clients you don’t want are the ones willing to spend the money.

So my beef with the lot of you is all this wishy-washy stances on things. A man gets drunk every weekend, he needs no excuse, another one abuses his children, he needs no excuse, a woman wants to smoke cigarettes as often as she can, she needs no excuse. Mia does her thing, whats her excuse, Owen does his but the bar man doesn’t turn him away.
    If you are a homophobic BE a homophobic, if you are gay then be gay. If you hate gays then hate them, if you love them then love them. If you are, what you are, then why are you wasting time with excuses? if you are unwilling to live with the consequences of your choices then you have a problem that only you alone can fix, if you would rather bully people into your point of view to feel better, then you can join the line of hypocrites that this society seems to be composed of. For one that likes pork but hates pigs is in a unique conundrum, so is one that makes tourist money but only deals with the socially (relative to which society) acceptable tourists. If you’re going to be a whore, be a whore if not then get out of the business and spare us your whining.

36. Everyday we interact with people while having little knowledge of their life style or background. The difference with these tourist is that we know they have same sex relationship in their private lives. So the major question is why does this make a difference once no laws are broken and no one is personal harmed in any way?

Come to think of it some of the tourist will be easy to spot as gay and others you will not have a clue… Does it really make a difference if they come on a cruise ship for a day when we already have gay people living here or flying here for vacation already???

As mentioned in Sapidillo post and I agree our culture does have problems with certain level and types of displays of public affection but Superlative1 is right that most cruises give their passengers info on the destination they are about to disembark on and this could be easily done for this cruise.

I not here to campion any causes because I think everyone is entitled to their view and opinion and I’m not got to loose sleep trying to changing anyone view point, all I can do is voice my view and you pick what you want from it if anything at all. I’m not here to judge another soul I leave the to the most high, all I’m here to do is be the best me in this life…

Bimbro // November 19, 2007 at 8:18 am

‘Caesar’, said: Look around, it’s everywhere.

So, is AIDS, rape and murder!

Reply to Bimbro

The difference AIDS, rape and murder is that its something that is done to or giving to a person by another person; I’m being careful what I say here… in most cases no one can make you gay by being gay.

· Adrian Hinds // November 19, 2007 at 9:43 am

We have accepted our Deputy PM why not gay tourist?

Reply to Adrian

I don’t think we have accepted anything we just in true Bajan style don’t talk about it in a public forum even if it’s a topic discuss openly.

The View From Here // November 19, 2007 at 10:59 am

If one doesn’t like homosexuality then don’t sleep with someone of the same sex, simple. But why persecute/reject/scorn/denigrate/exclude gay people? Why are they so threatening?

Reply to The View From Here

Your whole post doesn’t only address Barbados but I think anyone or anywhere in the world this topic is an issue.

I personally do not view gay rights movement in the same light as the civil rights movement.

37. anonymous this is one time i totally agree wid u, like i said before if govts around de world usta keep de same laws as before de world would not be so corrupt

who feel gays need rights read leviticus 20:13

any man who lie in bed wid another man should be put to death

man mek fuh woman, woman mek fuh man

its a crime to have sex wid animals but not de same sex, deze tings i duz cant understand, u feel men who duz stick dum tool in a shite hole shud be mingling bout wid people who stick dem wuns in oil tanks, for once i doing something like bush, i gine after de oil.

real men seek oil, only women produce oil, why ya think de earth is known as mother nature, simply because she produce and she full uh oil.

38. Thanks for the link Adrian. Will Barbados do the same? Maybe there has been negotiations behind the scenes telling the organizers of the Gay cruise what the expectations of Bajans will be.

39. Wishing in Vain Avatar

This type of cruise must put a big smile on many of those in cabinet, if you know what I mean, in particular Jerome Walcott, Rommel Marshall,Noeless Lynch.
    I wonder if Lynch will meet and greet the passageners from these ships in the hope of doing his job well and meeting them personally.

40. Wishing in Vain Avatar

I understand that there is a known program of gatherings of the mottley type at one time it was Little Bentley but I am hearing now the venue has changed I believe, and I will check and revert with the current location.

But these are full blown Lesbian and some Gay fest
    with mottley, Moe, Leacock, Hughes et al perform in gay abandon where anything goes and it is ok.

41. Wishing in Vain Avatar

Saturdays were the preferred day.