The following extracted from Facebook Group Speak Out Barbados posted on 1 April 2015

IF THIS IS NOT AN APRIL FOOL’S JOKE….

“Owen Moseley, a Customs guard at the Bridgetown Port, has complained to authorities about what he described as intimidatory gestures from Constable Everton Gittens.

The alleged incident is said to have occurred on Tuesday when Gittens and two other plain-clothed policemen in an unmarked police vehicle entered the port where Moseley was on duty.” WAAIIIITTTTT!!! WHAT????

Let’s recap briefly, so this chap was the male officer implicated in the notorious ‘Myrie case’ where Jamaican Shanique Myrie was violated while in custody of police officers at our airport. The CCJ found his testimony to be deficient in several areas including veracity.

Next thing we heard of him was that he triggered a strike with his allegedly wrongful arrest of a customs guard. The guard was subsequently released and not charged with any office.

Last month he gunned down a well-loved civilian in the middle of the street at high noon in a quiet neighborhood while he was off-duty.

I thought…well now he’s going to at least be suspended and investigated, surely? But nooo I was informed that he was relegated to ‘desk duty’ while the investigation into the death of Blues was ongoing. Ok.

WHY WAS THIS MAN IN A POLICE VEHICLE IN THE PORT? OMG. Unmarked police vehicles are now outfitted with desks? Is this a new trend in policing?

225 responses to “Everton Gittens – Police Killing”

1. TURD WORLD …… What the _ uck do you expect, POLICE are the second only to Politicians for corruption and lawlessness.

2. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Totally Unbelievable. This must be a nightmare. It can’t be Barbados, a country that used to have high moral standards! We have already arrived into the Banana Republic that Freundel announced recently. No need to proclaim it.

3. Is he only a constable? I thought this powerful individual had stripes!!! My heart goes out to “Mrs. Blues”…..it broke my heart watching her in the news clip on Saturday night. We must pray for this family!

4. Is there anybody in Barbados concerned with justice and truth?
    What is the purpose of the government? Simply to impose and collect taxes?

Developed country by 2020? Democratic Banana Republic of Barbados by 2016…

5. Colonel Buggy Avatar

If the Caribbean does not go to Africa then Africa will come to the Caribbean. We sure are making those Nigerians up at Mrs Ram feel truly at home. This killer’s day will come. Remember Starsky Jemmott? And on his death bed I heard that Lionman was in turmoil. Policemen retire at around 60 years of age, and many of them have to run off and seek safe haven in New York.
    In this society,and in the right circles, a Constabull may outrank a gazetted officer.

6. We sat back and allowed this ugly, in every way , sick curse PM and his bloody mindless Ministers to appoint the GG, CJ, acting COP , judges , moved around top policemen of their liking that can be control , now all we can do is PRAY and hope that our God is with us, because the DLP has to paid back the Devil ,the dead king dry up , the MOF will be the next to dry up , the rest of Ministers already losing their minds , PM ,MOH, some morning don’t know where they are ,Lord put a hand

7. This is simply ridiculous,this story sounds like the man is a rogue cop.I see the newspapers in Guyana,Trinidad,Jamaica,the U.S. and the UK expose them.It’s an abuse of authority or power and there is the example of politicians and the Clico band of corrupt businessmen and some corrupt lawyers who think that their deeds will go unpunished,so that the likes of this constable feels emboldened by the misdeeds of higher ups in the country.Is there no one to speak out,loudly and clearly about the effect this skulduggery will have on the youth of Barbados.

8. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Some time ago I went to represent the same customs guard at a meeting with the acting Comptroller of Customs. This meeting came about as a result of an encounter with this same policeman. When they thought that they had a case against the guard, they hurried him to this meeting within days of the incident. I complained that the policeman had pulled a gun on the guard and the acting Comptroller was not pursuing the matter but was harassing the guard with another set of nonsense from the same policeman.

I said to the acting Comptroller that they would wait until the policeman killed somebody before they do something about him. I did not know that I was being prophetic back then. The only thing is that I thought that the victim would have been a customs officer or a guard.

9. What a thing!! An innocent man gone to his grave before his time and a son with bullets in him! Dont worry justice will come!

10. another “hunch” gone wrong…those who forget the past is doomed to repeat it, the height of recklessness, too much power corrupts absolutely.memories of myrie ,, who needs to be reminded this co should have been striped of his badge seems to one bad cop and totally out of control.

11. It would seem that the “policeman” needs an extended visit to Jenkins.

12. MR. Parris put this Barbados in this position by allowing the dead king to thief clico policyholders money and we know what that money did, be as it is, now Mr. Parris and the evil that be , shall be the down fall of this DLP watch and see

13. Where is the COP in all of this…….? When I was in Bim I had a few friends who were policemen and they used to say “we 600” as that was the number of policemen back then and they stuck together like 600 musketeers “one for all and all for one”. So nothing to see here folks move along quietly before we cart yuh ass up to Dodds with a detour along some deserted cart track.

14. @ ACs
    We know a puppy eyes open in 9 days ,but at last yours opening, are you seeing the write up of the last days of the DLP yet, or you feeling it, up there in St.John

15. watchman April 6, 2015 at 8:27 PM #

….. , now all we can do is PRAY and hope that our God is with us,
    ………………………………………………………………………………………..
    Pray? They also have some of the clerics under their control.

16. Caswell Franklyn April 6, 2015 at 9:10 PM #

I said to the acting Comptroller that they would wait until the policeman killed somebody before they do something about him. I did not know that I was being prophetic back then. The only thing is that I thought that the victim would have been a customs officer or a guard.
    ……………………………………………………………………………………….
    There is still hope. He is not just a loose a cannon, but more of a loose Glock. One day he might very well blow some holes in the very people who are now protecting him. I have a list!!

17. I am surprised that this shooting incident was not highlighted in the British Daily Mail, to scare visitors away.

18. Hants April 6, 2015 at 9:56 PM #

It would seem that the “policeman” needs an extended visit to Jenkins
    ……………………………………………………………………………………………….
    You letting him off the hook too easily. Dodds is where he needs to be,although there is a part of it he will enjoy.

19. @Caswell
    The only thing is that I thought that the victim would have been a customs officer or a guard
    ++++++++++++
    Wasn’t the victim a retired employee of the Port? The policeman getting close to home… PORT, CUSTOMS whatever….. In light of your recent comments I hope you have the RBPF on speed dial….Oh shite what am I saying… Quis custodiet ipsos custodes?

20. @Colonel Baggy
    You right ,one time a policeman went to a cleric,. about a case, big up in
    the DLP, he end up dead by the police bullet , bullers again, in D Loving Party

21. If these things continue the citizenry will meet out their own justice. Well this lawlessness started with the corrupt politicians now spreading to the desperate boys and gals on blocks. Evertonn Gittens is a treasure trove of intelligence on drugs and corruptionbin Barbados thus he must be protected. All he has to do is remain silent and his friends in high places will handle the restless

22. @”The CCJ found his testimony to be deficient in several areas including veracity.”

I wonder what would have happened if the Caribbean Court of Justice had found this policeman to be a blasted liar.

23. I am beginning to wonder if this policeman is the boyfriend or girlfriend of one or more big-ups?

24. Bajan Yankee April 6, 2015 at 11:06 PM #

Show me a Bajan , except the Prime Minister, who is good at keeping his/her mouth shut . The fact that he knows a lot , will one day be his lot.

25. Simple Simon April 6, 2015 at 11:12 PM #

I am beginning to wonder if this policeman is the boyfriend or girlfriend of one or more big-ups?
    ………………………………………………………………………….
    Along with that he may be some big up’s outside son.

26. @Colonel Buggy April 6, 2015 at 10:33 PM “One day he might very well blow some holes in the very people who are now protecting him.”

Or he might do us all (except for his mommy) a favour by blowing some holes in himself…since one way or another he seems to have a fondness for holes.

27. So who is Constable Everton Gittens’ father? A senior policeman? A senior politician? Because we al know that a lotta, lotta ‘o dem have nuff, nuff outside children.

And sometimes the children of big-ups are nothing but over privileged bastards.

28. Ormond Mayers Avatar

It does occur to me, the rule of law, no longer exist, to members of the Barbados Police Force.We are progressively, moving towards a police State. Blues an innocent man ,in the pursuit of  a deviant ,who stole his  property, gunned down in theStreets by a policeman who is still at large,  at liberty to engage in more lawless acts. Then turn his brutal , vicious act  in his hunger for more blood, on Blues son who went to his father assistance. To add insult to injury, after being released from Hospital, Blues son taken to the police Station, and givena prepared Statement , which was rejected, to sign  indicating what had transpired at Bank Hall. The police is not the law. Like other State entities, they role and function is to enforce the law. However,how can the police effectively enforce the law, if they fail to uphold the same law?. Bring PC Gittens to justice

29. It would seem it is advantages to keep him around, maybe to draw attention away from what else is happening on the force a lightning rod of sorts , It is great to see AC upset ..maybe her govt will do something about it. Was he carrying a gun would be a question that I would ask, why wasn’t he relieved of duty and put on paid leave till a full outside investigation is done, Has there been a trip to a shrink which I think happens in any shooting incident to make sure he is mentally okay.

30. Oh how we cry those tears when it seems that WE may be next on this list of the “innocents” caught in the police line of fire!!! Nothing will happen to this man!! Just wait and see!!!

31. Was Michael Carrington told to stand down? All will be reaped in the whirl wind.

32. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David April 7, 2015 at 7:10 AM
    “Was Michael Carrington told to stand down? All will be reaped in the whirl wind.”

Good point there, David!

The police man has not been charged or found guilty for any unlawful killing or causing grievous body harm so, like Speaker Carrington, why should he be suspended. Maybe the CoP should advise the junior officer to get lawyer.

It’s all part of the new justice dispensation in Fumble’s banana republic.
    Don’t be surprise if the police officer has similar status to Leroy Parris; an untouchable leper and a pal of the PM and his associated big boys.

33. WHAT WERE THEY THINKING

Gittens was accused of Rape a crime punishable to life imprisonment.society were the ones who were made to pay for his crime…Yet authorities allowed this man to carry out duties in an institution designed to practice law and order. Madness!

34. What the Hell…..
    AC …is that you???!!

…ya got new tablets? 🙂

35. @David/Miller
    Was Michael Carrington told to stand down? All will be reaped in the whirl wind.”
    When did two wrongs make a right? At least in the Carrington case he was judged in a Court of Law and sanctions applied and the victim received restitution. Right or wrong there has always been a distinction between white collar crimes and other criminal matters. In this situation there is no justification for this man to be still on duty until a full examination of all the facts have been completed. He shot two people under dubious circumstances and should have been relieved of his badge, instead he has been free to wander around and intimidate other people.

We are being informed that he has been involved in other troubling incidents so he could be one of the RBPF’s ticking time bombs. Are we approaching the era of extra judicial killings?

36. We appointed a prime minister who turned out to be locked into multiple relationships with the biggest thief and crook in recent memory.

We inherited a PM who is tight friends with the same non-leper and “estimable gentleman”.

Between them, these also appointed a CJ of questionable credentials.

They also appointed an acting COP in questionable circumstances …one who did NOT EVEN APPLY FOR THE POST…

Why are we surprised that high level crime now appears to be socially acceptable?

Wunna thought we could plant river tamarind and reap sugar???

37. @bush sh..te

shhooo fly don,t bother

:-(;;;;;;;;;,,,,,;;,,;;;::;;;;;;;;;;;;”””””””!””””””””)

leave it miller to invoke cockeyed logic. There are times when one should plead the fifth instead of braying like a jack ass

38. @bush shite

what a hypocrite .yet u see nothing wrong and unprinciple having policies that are flaw by creating language which deny people compensation for labour

39. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ The Venerable Bush Tea

Lately I have not be been blogging too much.

I have two reasons.

One is the fact that the “Feed My Sheep” campaign has been expanded, them got me all over the place sharing out food to the increasing sheeple that Fumble and Stinkliar have created.

The ole man wukking overtime in the “byways and hedges”.

Our honourable Blogmaster David [BU] comments wisely that “if we sow the wind we will reap the whirlwind”

“Long May He Live” becausing, when he passes, as we all wil, this “electronic window of social commentary” may go

You append his comment with those that speak to the incredulity of a man sowing one item and expecting another crop.

Which brings de ole man to the second reason

The absolute futility of all this effort to say and more importantly DO, the right thing and encourage others to DO the right thing in the face of defeat.

When we see these incidents, locally regionally and internationally, all converging towards the final and only lobical conclusion which you always advocate “One GOD, invisible and indivisible”

It would seem that we are so imbued with this “sin gene” that these extrajudicial killings are now expected of us, to be robbers, rapists, paedophiles, lepers, insurance ponzi schemers, lawyers who misappropriate client funds, doctors who kill our patients through neglect but the hospital will cover up while we continue to practice, educators who sleep with students while practicing a perverted version of “teaching them life skills”

http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/p02nlzjl speaks to a travesty of justice that is equally heinous elsewhere in this world and truth be told there are so many examples of what we are to our brothers that it make you disconsolate just thinking of this madness – “Anthony Ray Hinton was released from prison in Alabama on Friday after THIRTY YEARS ON DEATH ROW for a crime HE DID NOT COMMIT”

“Injustice anywhere is a threat to justice everywhere.” if we don’t stand up to these incidences of injustice we are as guilty as their perpetrators

GOD, do hurry and come back for your world cause we, left to our own devices, will truly destroy it…

40. Dee Ingrunt Word Avatar
    Dee Ingrunt Word

@pieceuhderockyeahrightat 10:08 AM…. “Injustice anywhere is a threat to justice everywhere.” if we don’t stand up to these incidences of injustice we are as guilty as their perpetrators=============

And “if we sow the wind…”, a la the CLICO political shenanigans and the on- going blind eye ethics of the DPP and related authorities

“…we will reap the whirlwind” LIKE: “A businessman yesterday endured a horrifying two-and-a-half hours at the hands of armed bandits… Reports indicate that a group of men …got out of their car and rushed at him with guns …They demanded money [and] they ordered him to take them to his home, saying they were sure he would have cash there.”

In little ole Barbados.

When the ACs and also those on the other side of the aisle get up and defend the indefensible I always wonder what they will really think when lawlessness and anarchy are displayed by those defiant ones who ‘want some too’.

We have two examples of lawlessness in the case of Everton Gittens and in St. Phillip.

To hear AC condemn so strongly the PO based on his alleged abuse of a drug suspect is shocking. How is this different to the situation when another officer of the law so blatantly disregarded rules and regulations?

Sexual abuse is abhorrent but the psychological rape of breaking a bond of fiduciary and human trust between lawyer and client/friend is acceptable and couched is all manner of ‘innocent until proven guilty’.

When teachers demand more money but are comparatively silent on teacher/student abuse; we react with platitudes.

But when that child is our own kith and kin then what?

When our own non-luxury car gets stopped by the thugs, then what?

Do we see the whirlwind approaching.

To paraphrase the Bushman: I hope we all got we tablets. Nuff medication gine be needed wid all this BS. NUFF.

41. Another piece of injustice that’s going on in Barbados which I cannot understand. The Water authority decided to put in SMART Meters, which mind you they did not train anyone to read them. This morning there was a bill in my mail box telling me because they foul up, and had no one to read the meters correctly, we were billed$18: 60 lower than we should. This was from September 2014 to April 2015. We are both pensioners no other outside income, so now do the maths; and we can go to any Customer Service Centre to make the necessary payment. Why in the first place these meter was put in with out any one being able to read them? Can any one please tell me what is going on in these peoples mind? Does this sound for real? Did any one else in Barbados get a similar letter? Can some one please do something with these our service provider, and politicians.

42. @ Pieceuhderock
    Man what venerable Bush Tea what…?!! did you not check with ac before jumping to such conclusions?
    …Bushie is a mere whacker-welding-bush-cutter who is adapt at spotting shiite bush and weeds, …and putting the nylon in its tail…. 🙂
    You, on the other hand, as exemplified in your 10:08 post, share the wisdom that only comes with experience, thoughtful observation and logical analysis.

Long may you dish out food to the victims of Froon and company’s idiocy…. both by Nelson’s statue and here on BU…..

Peace be unto you Piece…

43. Dee Ingrunt Word Avatar
    Dee Ingrunt Word

The rest of the Caribbean must be sitting back some in shock; many in glee and most with that ‘dem always thought they did so high and mighty; de hypocrites’ smirk on their faces.

The Little country that could…no longer hitting above its weight.

Oh good lawd!

44. Hear that Parris now walking ’bout hey’ with a security guard by his side. Maybe now he’ll also need police outriders when he drives to Cost-U-Less. Wonder who’ll be payin’….

45. Colonel Buggy Avatar

That’s a good start, make the bastard look over his shoulder at every step.

46. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ just Asking

All I can say to you Mr. JA (hope that you are no relation to the other JA – AC) is do not even think of going to the Fear Trading Commission.

They are a true waste of time.

WASTE FOOPS

Unless you are going to seek to buy them off with some sort of bribe or kick back like how LIME has given a few of them some S5’s for themselves and family members for the next few years in lieu of permission to merge with Flow, you will be wasting your time.

“‘Then when Judas, who had betrayed Him, saw that He had been condemned, he felt remorse and returned the thirty pieces of silver to the chief priests and elders…’

30 pieces of silver for Judas, 30 roubles for Sonia in Crime and Punishment and (it is said) 30 S5 cell phones free for 30 months (or five years) for the FTC crew.

Thirty does seem to be of some significance in there.

I was trying to add up your $18.60 but all I got was 15 (1+8+6) but the ole man cant link what 1/2 of 30 means…

47. John Hanson 1781-1782, I SERVE 1788-1792 BARBADOES, Avatar
    John Hanson 1781-1782, I SERVE 1788-1792 BARBADOES,

just asking April 7, 2015 at 12:12 PM #

Well , bit by bit we all will pay for land fraud, nipping at every bill they can. Things will get a lot worse before it gets better,

First we all or most have to admit the wrongs,Keep an eye on that bills and all bill for this year and fuel creeping back up and oil prices drop.

More to come ,,, maybe soon they will have to sign a new Magna Carta in BIM

48. John Hanson 1781-1782, I SERVE 1788-1792 BARBADOES, Avatar
    John Hanson 1781-1782, I SERVE 1788-1792 BARBADOES,

Bush Tea April 7, 2015 at 9:12 AM #

We appointed a prime minister who turned out to be locked into multiple relationships with the biggest thief and crook in recent memory.@

With you writing we have more time to do other things, We need not repeat your words, Some still just dont want to get it as yet, More Pain to come ,

49. Colonel Buggy Avatar

The Prime Minister, The Chief Justice, The Attorney-General, The Director of Public Prosecution and the Commissioner of Police (ag) should all hang their heads in shame over this blatant disregard of justice.