Submit your suggestions for discussion.

117 responses to “Suggestion Box”

1. here is a king size story for you to ponder,
    it has been proven that feeding the green turtles ,the garbage they are fed daily by catamarans and other boats that actually hit them with their propellers.
    possibly now would be the time to really look at what you are doing in barbados.putting up a front about caring about turtles .because the stupid tourist want to swim with them.or face the truth.
    which is–https://www.facebook.com/notes/barbados-sea-turtle-project/swimming-with-turtles-in-barbados/233500173375352

and further to that —-Adam Hanlon Interesting video. I really don’t like the behaviour here-of the turtles and the people feeding them. Whilst I am not against feeding per se, this seems like a very unnatural event.
    about an hour ago · Like · 1
    Barbados Kayakjack but the other tours feed them scrap with bones.i use soft jacks bait.
    about an hour ago · Like
    Barbados Kayakjack i am the one with the cross on and no shirt.
    about an hour ago · Like
    Adam Hanlon Whilst I am glad you are feeding them with a better bait, you are still changing their behaviour by feeding and interacting with them so vigorously. It does not sit well with me, but then others may find it acceptable…
    about an hour ago · Like · 1
    Barbados Kayakjack in barbados they sometimes have hundred people grabbing at them tourist.i only take 6 people at a time and wait till the crowds are gone.
    about an hour ago · Like
    Adam Hanlon So are you a tour operator offering these feeding sessions? If so, the fact that others may well not behave as well as you do, doesn’t change the fact that you are altering these turtles behavior (arguably to their detriment) for your commercial benefit..
    about an hour ago · Edited · Unlike · 1
    Barbados Kayakjack it is big industry big boats with big propellers but i use kayaks .here is a link to what you are saying but in barbados they were hunted to be eaten and their until about 15 years ago-https://www.facebook.com/…/swimming…/233500173375352
    Swimming With Turtles in Barbados
    In a recent BBC Wildlife Article (see image below), the Barbados Sea Turtle Proj…See More
    By: Barbados Sea Turtle Project
    about an hour ago · Like · Remove Preview
    Adam Hanlon Once again, the fact that other people are doing it badly, and that they were seen historically as a food source, does not really excuse you exploiting them…I am all for interaction, and as I said above am not against feeding per se, but prefer to see interaction when the animal chooses it.
    about an hour ago · Edited · Like
    Barbados Kayakjack it is huge business in barbados
    Barbados Kayakjack’s photo.
    about an hour ago · Like
    Barbados Kayakjack i agree with you Adam of course,sometimes i have to chase the africans from running through them with jet skies.96%African Barbadians. not ingenious.
    Barbados Kayakjack’s photo.
    59 minutes ago · Like
    Adam Hanlon Well if you weren’t encouraging them to aggregate in big groups by feeding them (in order for you to make money from them), they would not be there in big groups for people to run through on jet skis. The fact that this is happening shows that the feeding is having a negative effect at some level.
    56 minutes ago · Like
    Barbados Kayakjack yes but the africans do not care about anything but money
    54 minutes ago · Like
    Barbados Kayakjack i am a tiny part of it.everyday during the winter season over 1000 tourist will try to touch them from catamarans that carry 60 to 80 people each twice a day x20 catamarans.
    52 minutes ago · Like
    Barbados Kayakjack i have tried.but it is 3rd world country.i would get shot,lol
    51 minutes ago · Like
    Barbados Kayakjack all best wishes to all
    51 minutes ago · Like
    Adam Hanlon How does that defend your behavior? Whilst you feed these animals, you are as guilty of chasing the dollar as anyone else? I don’t think that scale is an issue, you are either part of the problem or part of the solution?
    50 minutes ago · Edited · Like
    Barbados Kayakjack agreed
    50 minutes ago · Like
    Barbados Kayakjack
    Write a comment…

2. turtle project allows Barbadian businesses to still feed and cause harm to
    the turtles everyday . and yet hide behind saving the sea turtles.
    what a crock.

3. @ David

Extraordinary search for missing woman.maybe this should be done for all “persons who go missing”

Froma commenter on BarbadosToday “But for one little whitewoman who , by the way didn’t feel like going home and decided to chill out by somebody’s house – YOU SEND OUT POLICE, ARMY, RSS, ROVING RESPONSE TEAM, SCORES OF CIVILIANS,DRONES, DOGS AND HORSES ! OH AND WHATSAPP MESSAGES”

4. interesting Hants, will follow the debate raging on FB. There is a reality BU family is aware. We have to del with it.

On Sun, Mar 1, 2015 at 2:45 PM, Barbados Underground wrote:

5. A MEMBER OF THE NATION news team covering the search for St George woman Karen Harris was last night verbally abused by some members of the private search party. – See more at: http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/64200/nation-photographer-verbally-abused#sthash.ssBL64mS.dpuf

6. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Hants March 1, 2015 at 1:50 PM #

A MEMBER OF THE NATION news team covering the search for St George woman Karen Harris was last night verbally abused by some members of the private search party. – See more at:
    …………………………………………………………………………………………
    Served them right. When a black person,especially a female goes missing, the same media is quick to use some of the following descriptions her as :-
    Having broad shoulders. Thick lips .Broad mouth. A long head. Protruding forehead . Full breasted. Knock knees. Small eyes etc etc

7. It is interesting how minorities in Barbados close ranks around their own [interest].

8. Stetson Babb

Family of woman who went missing issues statement about her disappearance: "We are aware of the interest surrounding the details of Karen being found at 18.43 yesterday (Saturday 28th).

Once again we want to offer our sincere gratitude to all involved in the search for Karen.

We want to clarify a number of points relating to the period she was missing and until she was found.

She confirmed that she left for a run on Friday 27th; she is unsure of the exact route that she took.

She spent the night disoriented and dehydrated in a cane field.

She had not been physically hurt.

Having found her way to a house in Moonshine, St. George, late on Saturday evening she was able to give the occupants (who were not known to her or her family) her husband’s phone number. The occupants recognised her from the Missing Person Flyers that had been widely distributed.

Her family were immediately contacted (18.32) and police were also informed of her location. They went directly to the location and the family was reunited.

She has been given medical attention and is resting.

She had not been in contact with anybody since going missing at 17.00 Friday 27th February.

We appreciate the overwhelming support and assistance from the Barbadian public, the Barbados Police Force, the Barbados Defence Force, the Roving Response team, the media and corporate Barbados during this difficult time."

9. Colonel Buggy Avatar

David March 1, 2015 at 4:45 PM #

It is interesting how minorities in Barbados close ranks around their own [interest].
    ……………………………………………………………………………………………………..
    And for that they must be commended . Some years ago, while in a bus approaching the Queens Park gate, a large crowd in the road impeded the progress of the bus. A woman, suffering from a bout of fits was lying in the road, and not one of those persons crowding the poor lady, offered a hand to help her. A Bridgetown merchant in his Austin Westminster pulled up and asked, “Has any one called an ambulance?”
    Duhhhhhhh!!!!! No one had thought of doing such. Closing ranks or uniting in any way is foreign to us We are still in that “everyman brekking fer himself mode.”

Last week a mother in the Belle area was still lamenting the loss of her son, who disappeared in the Belle area and has apparently turned into a ganga tree, cause that what the police and soldiers found, thus closing the case.

10. Why does it happen Colonel Buggy? Is it because we have so many more Blacks than Whites?

11. Massa day ent done yet.

A MAN who was chased down on Friday night by three Caucasian men searching for missing woman Karen Harris, said he did not appreciate how he was treated by the group. – See more at: http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/64269/search-fright#sthash.mVOHdhuW.dpuf

12. Sure ent – as a watchman, he should be armed to protect the property against intruders at that time of the night – not wait until the intruders are upon him. Hopefully he will be able to make to legal issue of it and be properly compensated.

13. What are the requirements to be a tutor/Language teacher at Pom Marine.
    As a bajan I cannot see myself speaking the language like a local in a short time when the classes these days are so big.
    I am sure when some children fail a subject you the teacher should ask yourself ” did I do everything to help my student succeed or did I fill the road with challenges to help with failure.
    Check yuh self you may have a problem with caring about the children you teach

14. Dear BU:

When the political frenzy really begins….soon ….. I would suggest BU put the ‘regular columns’ by Jeff, Caswell, George, the Tourism-man, etc….. on hiatus. No one will be interested in their articles during that time and it will free-up more space for the yardfowls & hot-heads.