Barbados General Election Watch

The coming General Election constitutionally due early next year promises to be one of the most interesting in our history.

Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart despite a feeble challenge to his leadership manifested by the effort of the Eager 11 and baring no further attempts is expected to lead the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) into the next general election.

Leader of the Opposition Owen Arthur who relinquished the leadership of the party to Mia Mottley after the election defeat in 2008 is back after winning support from his parliamentary colleagues.He too is expected to lead the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) into the next election.

The other political parties – People Empowerment Party (PEP) and People Democratic Congress) PDC – have not been able to offer a credible third party option.

1. @ David

What hell of thing of PM Stuart has walked away and left Sinckler around the neck of Barbadians as Prime Minister, imagine that. I know in some things a certain sense of recklessness is good but good God suppose Sinckler PM of Barbados.

2. old onion bags Avatar

@ DVE
    You feel ….as in your suppose…Donville will let Chris be PM ? …..NEVER..you forgetting poodle..where is he in the spoke of things ?Or even Jonesing……..oh my rastafari..REAL cat piss n pepper..lol. Least we forget Lashley..the tall one…all like Brutus

3. @DVE

Why is a Chris Sinckler led DLP such a bad thing?

4. @ David

Why is a Chris Sinckler led DLP not such a good thing?

Is he a DLP or a BLP? Seems willing to bat for both sides.

5. Evidence? Sinckler’s tongue!!

6. Sinckler was hoping to get PM Stuart trapped by him (PM) admitting (lying) that there was no such thing as desention in his Cabinet, aka the Eager 11, and thereafter Sinckler would have sealed his fate by admitting that there was desention and implying by extension that the PM was a liar. That planned was hatched by and involved senior member of the opposition. Go figure.

7. @ DVE
    You soon run out of straws!!! The story changes every 3 weeks.

8. Observing (and polling) Avatar
    Observing (and polling)

@dve
    I’m having difficulty following your logic and coherence. If that was the intention, well done.

Rest assured though, the DLP are currently behind and no amount of “june sweets” can change the flow of the tide. Damage control and gaining vote stability needs to be the order of the day.

9. We have to be careful that Stuart don’t turn up the day after the next general elections, after the DLP is soundly whipped, and think he is still PRIME MINISTER. The reason, he might have been too slow to realise that the party he led is not in charge anymore.

10. I see the P.M is ready to break the law again, in an effort to gain votes. Here he is going to change a law that was passed since 1975 to put more money into the hands of pensioners.This was not his fault that these persons were overpaid, if he amend the act, he is looking fortrouble. All those who were NOT paid the extra money can now claim theirs and it can amount to millions of dollars. It is simple, he can’t let those who were overpaid to benefit from a flaw in the system, while others who were paid the right amount becomes victims.

11. Scout; So what would you have him do? Looks like he might be between the devil and the deep blue sea. Perhaps he might be taking the best political and legal course of action if what you say above is so.

12. Scout,
    If he changed the law to be able to appoint the CJ, do you think he would have any qualms about changing the law for this? He may be looking for votes!

13. @all
    I came across an interesting election related situation today.
    The 11 plus students of a St Michael Primary School were bussed to and from a games day at a popular Hotel near the airport. Guess who footed the bill? Looks like one of the DLP’s senior politicians is thinking outside the box.

14. I forgot to mention above;

Could it be that the elections are imminent? Those children can’t vote and their parents might have forgotten the largesse of the Minister if the elections were to be held 11 months from now and the money spent now might not bring the returns desired at that time.

15. @Checkitout
    Tell me you got this information wrong. No one can come in to a school and take out children without the permission of the Principal. Politicians do not run schools who ever they may be.If what you report is true there is a need for some investigation as pupils would have left the premises without the proper reason.and not under the care of the authoritiers Think on these things

16. True to form;

Whoa!!! I believe that the students were properly supervised.
    The politician might only have covered the expenses of the trip to Casa Grande and perhaps some incidentals there if my information is true.

Nobody came into a school and took the children without the permission of the principal. In any case I suspect that most principals are looking for activities to keep the students who have just come out of the common entrance “ordeal” positively engaged until the end of term.

17. I asked on another thread, who is paying for all of this largesse. See what I am saying, the Dems have turned this country into a free bee society and a party hearty nation. The people now have a fete mentality. On the St Andrew thread, we have a spin doctor touting the DLP candidate as helping to put on a carnival. Fete away our lives while Barbados burns!!

18. We have updated a General Election Picks Page.

No doubt it will generate healthy discussion to assist the candidates who are peeking at the comments.

http://bajan.wordpress.com/general-election-watch/bu-general-election-picks/

19. Prodigal Son and True to Form; re. day trip to Casa Grande hotel by 11 plus students of primary schools in Chris Sinckler’s constituency, the Nation reported today that the visit was financed by businesses in the community and that the children were adequately supervised by teachers.

20. In all the General Elections held in Barbados, LEADERSHIP has always played a key role:it cannot be downplayed. This D.L.P. will lose badly for a number of reasons, given of course that the B.L.P. hopefuls work they buts off; 1. Too many broken promises
    2. Bad handling of the Economy
    3. The P.M. is a gentleman, but does not have a clue
    4. Promised that Heads will Roll; Coup or no Coup, and has taken no Action.
    5. The CLICO debacle .
    6. After promising that COST of LIVING would be priority no. 1,2,3, has failed miserably in trying to address the issue.
    The Dems will be lucky to win 6 seats.

21. old onion bags Avatar

Hey David
    How about a mini elections ?.Surely we have about 1080 viewers potential voters coming in here …..How about each voting for their representative ONLY. ?..not on party this time, by not voting ..no prob (security allowing only one) …..So far your Polls were spot on with CADRES….How about it ? But I wont want to work you too hard ….your call

22. @Onions

When all the candidates are in place your suggestion will be updated.

BU has wondered why the architect of the recent CADRES poll did not request, head to head polling also the swing at this time.

23. WHAT Bio what ?
    WHO needs a Bio ?
    DE BIO thing is crap
    A man running in a constituency should know the people , people know him as an individual not as no Bio or BIOS or whatever crap .
    I dont believe in this Bio thing or Bico either

24. @Just Asking

Dont you think it is time for you begin to contibute value to this blog? It pains me that you do not contibute anything of value to stimulate the brain cells, perhaps mot of your brain cells need a massage to bring them back alive.

25. @onions

How will David able to exclude contamination . That is some bloggers on here have two computers in their homes, using two different handles. He woul have to decide on a margin of error for contamination.

26. WHY dont you go and wash yuh bad smelling backside and leave me alone you vermin ??
    Ah mean you Blogger2012
    WHY wunnah like to pick pon other commenters ?
    Man just leave me nuh
    I trouble you
    I attack you
    You does see me attacking other commenters
    I see a lot of shite and I dont attack another commenter.
    I ask questions to get answers
    WHAT de phuck wrong wid you
    I have never said anything to you
    Leave me alone you flea infested mongrel
    Go an wash yuh stinking mout do yuh old ass slut !

27. @Check it out

For chldren to go on tours, parental consent is needed? I am not surprised of your lack of knowledge of how a school is managed. By the way, if you cant understand somethingnas simple as that it tells a lot about your cranium capacity.

28. Blogger2012;
    Yuh drinking or something?

Did I ever say at anytime that the children did or did not receive parental consent to go on the tour. Read the posts again! as far as my limited cranium capacity recalls. I responded to someone who made a suggestion similar to the one you now make above (2 weeks later) by indicating that the bus tour of itself was most likely above board but wondered if the tour could be interpreted as another indication that elections were just around the corner?

The poll getting to yuh?
    Yuh getting on like easy boy!

29. old onion bags Avatar

Some going lose their wool…….as no more fatted calf or sheep

30. David (not BU) Avatar
    David (not BU)

JUST ASKING i notice the same, Blogger2012 is only here to attack persons who don’t agree with him.

31. old onion bags Avatar

What is to be made of this Mystery Concert.. featuring Jay Zee and Rhianna…..planned for August September….I say a preamble to General Elections…Min. Lashley ( Culture) denies any knowledge of it, Adrian Elcock in the news saying BTA….has no involvement…..why are local musicians and performers crying otherwise ? Words for the wise…

32. old onion bags Avatar

snip
    calmer waters have soothed the nerves of the DLP passengers on board, certainly those who have remained. Some would argue that the nation has welcomed the tranquility of the political landscape which has been visited on us in these times.
    This was but 4 12 years ago…..on a blog ..on a article..somebody got annda body balls to squeeze……see why we shouldn’t brag

33. It appears a strategy by the BLP is to attack the captain, Stuart and important team player, Kellman. There is a Facebook campaign raging against kellman ‘removekemmanfromstlucy’ and there is a political meeting planned by the Bees in St. Michael South on Saturday in Beckles Road.

34. Observing (and learningl) Avatar
    Observing (and learningl)

Why do anything else? In the game of political strategy the current DLP crop are so far behind the curve it ain’t funny. Mind you, Noel Lynch has little to no currency working with, but the balls to show up this early kinda reminds me of Nicholls a few weeks ago.

Appearances and “reported crowd numbers” will be the intention…Hit em where it hurts….at home….with a heavy hammer…national popularity (or lack of).

Politically sever the dangling head and the body will scatter.

The choice of this weekend is a shot across the bow of the FS SMS camp. Let’s see how he/they/they all respond.

35. @observing

This is the problem some have with the government, they are behind in the polls but continue to be reactive in the strategy playing out.

36. old onion bags Avatar

DLP will lose this elections hands down….we see 22-8 with Stuart ,Donville and Suckoo gone.The middle class got her ass kicked proper…YES we all remember ..then for you now to come with two sweeties bag…like they feeding kids…(gasoline and diesel gone down by 16c) is but laughable…..TIME of fooling the electorate dun you DEMS…..is trash-bone time in wanna ASSES good….WE SHALL NOT FORGET SO EASILY. (.X )going hurt ya fa real..and we go B loving it !
    The middle class and the undecided, will do you in …..PROPER
    (buy your tissues early…..time drawth nye) for time to make back an interesting Parliament once more and send those Jack Bennys to the door

37. Observing (and learningl) Avatar
    Observing (and learningl)

As an old (now ex) girlfriend used to tell me. Don’t only fight for me when things get too rough and I decide to walk through the door, fight for me every day. It was a lesson well learnt.

The government seldom feels like it’s fighting for its people. I don’t feel as if I’m in a “relationship” with them.

38. old onion bags Avatar

Well said Observing
    We were to taste all the bottom of their shoes during their 4.5 yrs stinct…”suck their salt”…everything up at will n fancy ..ALL AT ONCE..light gone up ..water, telep.,land tax, gasoline, bottle gas, prof.fees,duties,drug surch,medicines,veh. registration, driver licenses,new fees on ascertaining once free documents….just calling out a few…..NOW the GIRLFRIEND LEAVING…DEM begging or wanna FIGHT….TOOOOOO LATE…. and lowering the price of petrol aint Go bring she back neither …lol

39. The global price of oil has lowered a few months ago, most, if not all, the regional countries have lowered theirs for a while now, Barbados has now reach that stage, every thing about this government is SLOW. Watch it there is going to be a drastic drop in many food items soon; why now? this should have happened many years ago as promised. As i’ve said, the DLP seems to have now awaken and realise they are in government and made these promises. After all 14 years of sleeping MUST cause brain damage.

40. @the Scout

You need to keep up with what is happening. BU addressed this matter a long time ago, the government did a hedge and got caught when the price of oil trended down. It is a chance it took and was caught our, it happens.

41. Observing (and learning) Avatar
    Observing (and learning)

@Scout
    we shouldn’t underestimate the “psychological and political” damage that 14 years in opposition can do to an institution. Collective self efficacy, confidence and coherence in strategy and implementation all now have to be rebuilt for governing. Toss in October 2010 and you can “reasonably” see why it’s been tough for these guys. The problem for them is though,

1) admittance or acknowledgement of this “deficiency”
    2) arrogance in some cases at such too early a stage
    3) continued errors without “self correction” and
    4) poor communication on the whole.

All is not lost, but a loss may not be far away.

42. @onions

Try to be coherent. The government’s policy is to pass thru changes to oil price and not rely on the policy of the BLP to subsidise via BNOC. We can disagree with this policy but it is what separates the two parties. To be frank, to subsidise consumption behaviour is ridiculous. However the government needs to give incentives and preferential treatment to business, especially SMEs to allow them to manage input cost better.

43. old onion bags Avatar

Differences indeed….that merry go rund….was but just that…big men telling you diesel gone down by a 1c…what manner of man ( shi#e) would be so arrogant as to put out such a memorandum (even if it was so)? They took their CHANCES…and as wid LOTTO….they lose…..now expect the on coming…..pay back time…enuff is enuff…..a first year student Econ from Cave Hill ….could conceptualize better….Ince deserves nought (o).

44. The DLP we know is sole owner of CLICO but the Barbados Water Authority problems totaling 13 years were inherited from Arthur and the BLP. The Barbados Water Authority, a government corporation in 2009 was near bankrupcy. Arthur and the BLP apparently paid no attention to the Barbados Water Authority, didn’t care or thought to wonder WHAT’S GOING ON in the Barbados Water Authority house. Al Barrack also was inherited from Arthur and the BLP. Arthur and the BLP gave birth to the Al Barrack mess. Now, according to Arthur, “the REDjet Airlines might still be flying if the Barbados Government had honored its financial commitment to the collapsed airline”. Al Barrack is linked to both Barbados government parties, the BLP and the DLP. It, however, was born in 2006, Arthur’s era. If the government during Arthur’s era had honored its financial commitment to Contractor Al Barrack, Barbados NOW would not owe him seventy five million. The BLP government under leadership of Owen Arthur and Mia Mottley awarded Al Barrack Construction Company a thirty six million dollor contract “without tender”. Al Barrack has possession of a court ordered judgement, REDjet Airlines does not. Bajans owe REDjet Airlines nothing, absolutely nothing. They, however, owe Al Barrack seventy five million. Barrack in 2008 received 2.5 million from the Thompson administration. The 2.5 million demonistrated effort not even considered by Arthur and his cronies. Arthur in 2006 invested 2.4 million dollors into a Nigerian Solar Water Heater project. No solar water heaters were produced and the 2.4 million dollars were lost and or unaccounted for. The BLP in this matter does not examplify SOUND JUDGEMENT. Certainly sound judgement would apply if the 2.4 million dollars were surrendered to Al Barrack. If the 2.4 million were surrendered to Al Barrack, Bajans in 2006 would have owned him 2.4 million dollars less.

Bajans and the DLP before 2008 general election were extremly close friends. The DLP campaign almost five years ago called for change, but nothing changed. The DLP and David Thompson, while campaigning promised Bajans cake and ice cream. Thompson said he would implement a Ministerial Code of Conduct “immediately” upon forming a government and would introduce Integrity Legislation and Freedom of Information within the first 100 days. The DLP is close to completing its five year term. The cake and ice cream sad to say NEVER showed up, a Ministerial Code of Conduct, the Integrity Legislation or Freedom of Information. The DLP made promises it did not keep. It also entertained friends but the wrong ones, Leroy Parris and Lawrence Duprey. The result was a CLICO disaster. Bajans and the DLP are now no longer best friends. The BLP knowing this is making every effort to befriend them in place of the DLP.

Bajans possibly will give the BLP back their power with Owen at the helm. Surely, this would cause them to enter a DANGER ZONE. Owen we know is alive and kicking, but with notable signs of demencia. He is forgetting things, walks slow and

45. There appears to be an edge to the DLP presentations during the budget debate. Battle lines are being drawn.

46. Peter Wickham’s name keeps cropping up everywhere. Perhaps an interest article would be his alleged role in the E11 affair. Also there is rumour that a constituency poll was done. Was it?

47. David (not BU) Avatar
    David (not BU)

of course a constituency poll was done. how could you do a national poll and not do a constituency poll at the same time but the powers that be don’t want the results out there. yet!

Leave a Reply to Fractured BLPCancel reply