Submitted by Head of Unity Workers Union, Caswell Franklyn

For some time I have been hearing a person on social media proclaiming that Barbados does not have a constitution. Normally, I would listen in amusement and take it for the comic relief that it provided but now it is no longer funny. It has potential to become dangerous and reckless as I am now hearing others expressing disrespect for the court system because they are also parroting the nonsense about this country not having a constitution. I am concerned that Government has not attempted to clarify the situation and has allowed this dangerous nonsense to take root.

In September 2021, Government brought a bill to Parliament entitled:

An Act to alter the Constitution in order

(a) to provide for Barbados to become a republic with a President who shall be Head of State of Barbados; and

(b) to provide for related matters.

It might have slipped pass many but one of the related matters was legislating, for the first in the Barbados Parliament, a constitution for this country. The original independence constitution of Barbados was never passed in our parliament, it was merely a schedule to an order in council, the Barbados Independence Order, made by Queen Elizabeth II.

When Government decided to rush headlong into republican status; it did so without doing any adequate preparatory work. In order to meet the deadline of November 30, 2021, Government took its usual shortcuts approach by obtaining parliamentary approval, without first consulting the people of this country. On September 29, 2021 the Constitution (Amendment) (No.2) Bill, 2021 was passed in the House of Assembly, and it passed the Senate on October 6, 2021, with only one dissenting vote.

The 1966 Barbados Constitution was a schedule to the Barbados Independence Order, made by Queen Elizabeth II. That order was revoked by subsection 4.(1) of Constitution (Amendment)(No.2) Act. Without more the Constitution would also have been revoked but that subsection went on to save the Constitution. For clarity, section 4 of the Constitution (Amendment)(No.2) Act states:

4.(1) The Independence Order is revoked; but the revocation of that Order shall not affect the validity of the Constitution set out in the Schedule to that Order.

(2) The Constitution referred to in subsection (1) shall be altered in accordance with the provisions of section 49 thereof in the manner and to the extent set out in this Act; and on the appointed day the Constitution so altered shall become the Constitution and supreme law of Barbados.

Admittedly, Government’s approach, to legislate the Constitution for the new republic of Barbados, was mediocre at best or even shameful but it was means to an end. It does not reflect the pride of which Barbadians boast but it is what it is; we do have a constitution.

146 responses to “Caswell Franklyn Speaks – Constitution or no Constitution?”

1. Here is the mighty Chalkdust explaining the concept more lucidly!!

There is no toilet like there is no Leader of the Opposition!!

2. MAD I/O Error ♾️ Infinite Loop Avatar
    MAD I/O Error ♾️ Infinite Loop

“No need to understand the concept of zero to understand that there is no Leader of the Opposition and that there can be no Parliament”

When the Opposition won zero seats there was no Leader of the Opposition and John Boy’s program just repeated itself stuck in an infinite loop (which is called a MAD I/O Error by System Support)

3. Ah… You guys sent me back to my years as a Mathematics student at Cave Hill. I struggle to remember which is more important, but I seem to recall that the ideA of (one, unity) was an important stepping stone in advancements in mathematics. Suddenly, all types of mathematical operation began to flourish. 0’s and 1’s will always be with us. My favorite number? ‘000’ (of course)

4. Talk wuh you like…
    If David EVER loosen admin rights to BU, Bushie will put a ban on your donkey forthwith….

i.e. your ass will be zeroed…!!!

get REAL!!
    Can any shiite man have INVENTED zero…?

5. MAD I/O Error ♾️ Infinite Loop on April 8, 2023 at 9:40 AM said:

“No need to understand the concept of zero to understand that there is no Leader of the Opposition and that there can be no Parliament”

When the Opposition won zero seats there was no Leader of the Opposition and John Boy’s program just repeated itself stuck in an infinite loop (which is called a MAD I/O Error by System Support)

Common sense would dictate if no constitutional Parliament can be formed that the electorate is once more polled!!

That’s why the statement “There shall be a Leader of the Opposition” exists.

I am assuming that the single objective of elections is the creation of a Prime Minister and a Leader of the Opposition who can bring into this world. with the help of the GG (midwife) a Constitutional Parliament.

These last two elections produced a single mule each time, incapable of producing offspring on its own.

So, we have an unconstitutional Parliament and anything it does is like the prior unconstitutional Parliament, null void and of no effect..

6. Grasshopper

One won’t work.

However 11 will.

That’s 3 in case your memory has deserted you.

Need 3 to get a Leader proposed and seconded by the group in opposition.

10 (2) won’t work either.

Thompson and Kellman were members of an unconstitutional Parliament.

Best they could get is a proposer and seconder of a phantom candidate.

… and one of them was a lawyer!!

7. … well two ,f you include the phantom candidate.

8. Johnny
    The number zero was invented in Kemet. Thousands of years before there was Mesopotamia.

And you don’t have to be an historian or Egyptologist to know this. The pyramids are said be as much as 40, 000 years old, even more.

Your preferred accounts, long overthrown in academia, centrally aim at the establishment of a 6000 years creationist myth, still.

How would it have been possible to gain such mathematical accuracy unless there was a zero.

Or, have Whitey not found Afrikan peoples everywhere on earth they’ve have socalled discovered.

The historiography, you prefer, though long discredited, is the legacy of your ilk, not being an ancient people yourselves, attempting still to lie about the Aboriginal peoples of Earth.

And for this, a divine judgement cometh!

9. We R the Rainbow Children (Eyes 2 the Skies Mixx) Avatar
    We R the Rainbow Children (Eyes 2 the Skies Mixx)

I Am the Αα-Ωω Alpha to Omega
    · The Prince of Dance Music · eLBee BaD
    (Ω _ Ω)
    Time for some Church
    once upon a time Αα Alpha…

I AM WHO I AM ◄ Exodus 3:14 ►
    “I am the Alpha and the Omega,” says the Lord God, “who is, and who was, and who is to come, the Almighty.” ◄ Revelation 1:8 ►
    I am the Alpha and the Omega, the First and the Last, the Beginning and the End. ◄ Revelation 22:13 ►

… The End Ωω Omega
    and they all lived happily ever after

10. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar
    Yolande Grant – African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved.

“As a result, we imagine that everybody looking to “The One” and “The One” doing likewise🤣”

Hilarious isnt it…

Beg, borrow depend…dont need any brainpower for that…so it will be a constant for generations to come as that is all they want to know..i refuse to blame anyone else BUT THEM for their challenges and numerous handicaps..

Pacha…i really thought given my longhaul experiences that nothing could shock me anymore…i was wrong, even though it was the best line to pursue based on recent reveals..and felt sure i was on the right track…2nd time between March and April….i was still taken aback..

11. Pachamama on April 8, 2023 at 10:14 AM said:

Johnny
    The number zero was invented in Kemet. Thousands of years before there was Mesopotamia.

Do you think there were no toilets in Kemet (I presume you mean Kehmet, Egypt) and that residents would not have been familiar with the concept of “no toilet”?

After the flood there was the tower of Babel and 70 groups ended up speaking different languages and neither one understood the other.

These 70 language groups spread from Babel in Mesopotamia and today all the languages in the world have been shown to have their roots in these 70 language groups.

Same spread is evident in genetics!!

Every person alive today has a common ancestor, Noah and Noah is descended from Adam.

Your hypotheses is a nullity, just like the last two elections!!

12. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar
    Yolande Grant – African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved.

John…your nonsense is based on fraud and fairytales…there is no ancient ancestral land called Egypt….a gang of grave robbers always digging up our ancient ancestors are OCCUPYING our ancient lands of KEMET…Land of the Blacks…the descents of grave robbers have acknowkedged that 7 thousand years ago, our Afrikan ancestors populated all that area..until invaders, now grave robbers arrived..it’s all well documented..

13. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved.. Avatar
    Yolande Grant – African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved..

Further, i see on the newest thread another fraudulent fairytale perpetrated in the form of a posted comment..

…an offlimit topic for me anyway.

Pacha…dont know how with all the available documentation on the continent and elsewhere. Not to mention that the REAL BIBLE written by our Afrikan ancestors…is still very much in existence today..YES, IT IS, but these historical lies and fairytales are still repeated..

14. Not only is evidence of the flood found in the spread of languages from Babel and genetics in modern day humans, it is also found in the fossil and the geological record.

You could follow this advice from the Book of Job

7“But now ask the beasts, and they will teach you;
    And the birds of the air, and they will tell you;
    8Or speak to the earth, and it will teach you;
    And the fish of the sea will explain to you.
    9Who among all these does not know
    That the hand of the Lord has done this,
    10In whose hand is the [c]life of every living thing,
    And the breath of all mankind?

… or you could try and explain how a constitutional parliament can exist in the absence of a leader of the opposition as required by the Constitution.

15. If you are able to walk and chew gum at the same time maybe you could do both!!

16. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar

If the Afrikan original people documented EVERYTHING…and later visitors came around, copied everything THE ORIGINAL PEOPLE created….tief a lot of it, believed they destroyed all the ancient information, but were SO WRONG….then twisted it into pure SHIT..brainwashed and indoctrinated everyone..

Then Karma came around thousands of years later with ANCIENT TRUTHS…

Whose version will you believe…i would go with the original people because they were HERE FIRST…and have receipts….while the visitors have nothing but the lies they framed….lies only live for so long before the truth…steam rolls it.

17. @Rabbit,
    I was not entering the conversation centred on the illegality of the government.

I was here contemplating the beauty of 0 and 1. I almost recalled a lecture from 50 years in the past when a discussion of 0 and 1 fascinated me.

Every now and then there can be fragments in the conversation that can stir some old memories
    –x–
    On the legality of government.. it does not matter as you will end with a den of thieves.

It would have been amusing if position were created for 11assistants, then we could talk of ‘Mama Mia and her 40 thieves’, but it looks as if she needs more hands than Ali Baba needed.

I lost count of the many hands. When you add ministers, consultants, assistants, acting and duplicates, they will make light work of sharing the fatted calf.
    🍗🍹

18. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar

Pacha…just saw where Parisiens stormed the investment firm Blackrock.

19. Details Matter Avatar
    Details Matter

the firm is called BlackRock not Blackrock

20. Yolande Grant – African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. on April 8, 2023 at 11:34 AM said:

John…your nonsense is based on fraud and fairytales…there is no ancient ancestral land called Egypt….

I always thought that Joseph was sold into slavery in Egypt and ~400 years later Moses at God’s command and with his direction led the Hebrew nation out of bondage in Egypt to the land He had promised them.

That is pretty ancient documented history.

21. As Christians celebrate Easter, Jews celebrate the Passover, this year at the same time.

22. Details Matter on April 8, 2023 at 1:46 PM said:

Details Matter
    the firm is called BlackRock not Blackrock

No doubt after the Quaker owned plantation called Black Rock now known as Holders.

23. Beyond The Mind Avatar
    Beyond The Mind

I am a philosopher
    I think very deeply..
    This may be too deep for rookies

24. @Pachamama on April 7, 2023 at 6:20 PM

What parody?

Our Supreme Leader already has a son: her foster son Khaleel Kothdiwala. K2 will rule over our naive masses in 10 years at the latest. One country, one party, one new leader. K2 already proved as a speaker at the Nelson riots three years ago that he knows how to channel the hatred of the masses and use it for his own purposes. I think he is smart enough to continue on this path.

Let us be a mentor for K2!

25. If you believe google “The Egyptians called their country Kemet, literally the “Black Land” (kem meant “black” in ancient Egyptian). The name derived from the colour of the rich and fertile black soil which was due to the annually occurring Nile inundation. So Kemet was the cultivated area along the Nile valley.”

26. So much for that.

Can you or anyone else explain how it is possible to get a Constitutional Parliament without a Leader of the Opposition?

27. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar

Post shite, no one, at least not me cares…weeee have our original and REAL story…and dont care who is misled. That is what it has boiled down to..

..they deserve to be fooled…the awake already moved on…doubtful the rest will ever catch up….no one is waiting or looking back..

…assured progress vs mutually assured destruction aka MAD.

28. proof is in the pudding Avatar
    proof is in the pudding

“… or you could try and explain how a constitutional parliament can exist in the absence of a leader of the opposition as required by the Constitution.”

“Can you or anyone else explain how it is possible to get a Constitutional Parliament without a Leader of the Opposition?”

The proof is in the pudding

2022 Barbadian general election
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2022_Barbadian_general_election

29. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar

Pacha….wuhloss, someone read an article in an audio clip…wuh dese with their long term dreams of taking over Empire already sit on some chair at the world bank..like who cares, certainly not me….not concerned over Empire’s employees….

..so the question begs…wuh the hell they tried so many times to kill me for when they already realized their dream…..as an employee…at least 27 years later…that status will remain for another 27 years…wuh i cahn unnerstan wuh is dem problem…wuh de hell dem really want…

Btw….It’s a co-article with a former world bank employee…they said it’s on the foreign affairs website..

30. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar

The analysis is on that article..

An educator gave it an F = Fail and says it’s boring…because it does NOT present solutions…..only criticisms, those are not my words…

If ya going to criticize at least have intelligent and viable solutions. That people can say, yes, they know what they are speaking about cause look, they actually brought something to the table other than empty words……..

.bearing in mind the article was co-written.

My take on what i heard…they are too desperate to take over the people’s Empire and are dripping with that desperation…..it must be quite frustrating and exhausting,you can hear it in every word…

….and can still get nothing right on the island, no matter how basic…same old go nowhere patterns.

Maybe they should not wear so many hats when muddling their way through working for taxpayers…

Pacha ya really gotta read the article..i only heard the audio.

31. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar

So sad. Carifta games started and the young athletes are dropping, bodies cant handle the injuries. Parents want answers. Some were wheeled away in wheelchairs.

The saddest one i saw recently had an overseas scholarship and had to return with a dangerous illness..

32. Look at the “Defender of the Faith”!!

An adulterer to boot!!

At loggerheads with the Church of England.

https://www.msn.com/en-gb/news/uknews/charles-at-odds-with-church-over-role-of-other-faiths-in-coronation/ar-AA19Dp1c?ocid=msedgdhp&pc=W069&cvid=9bab889227094eaf81b96748b23f0a3c&ei=11

He needs to give up the throne and let his son, William become K of E.

It will be interesting to see what happens.

Either one can be the anti-christ!!

33. Interesting book with an interesting theory!!

Check it out at Amazon

“The AntiChrist and a Cup of Tea” by Tim Cohen is superbly researched and a great time to read the book, published in 1998, as the British monarchy unravels in 2021. There are names and quotes that cannot be denied. Most of the book is fact and almost no conjecture. I particularly enjoyed the section on homeopathy and Prince Charles’ impact. Author Cohen does note that good can come from homeopathy. Prince Charles was one of the first to push Climate Change via the U.N. He also meddled in Israel and Palestinian peace talks. It’s his mother Queen Elizabeth II who seems to run the world by using those in her club the Committee of 300. Oh and then there’s the Vatican. You must read this book. Only time will tell what is the truth.

34. I wish our great government a Happy Easter!

In the past few days I have travelled through our flourishing country. The great plantation houses and fortifications are shining in splendour, the roads newly made, the people polite and peaceful, the food prices so high that we don’t attract refugees and stay nice and slim.

That’s how I imagine paradise in the Bible.

35. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar

Shameful that desperation is on display and has become such an embarrassing spectacle….

Professional employees would know if they have suggestions for their employers to send an INTERNAL memo..but that’s only if ya capable of creating viable solutions…

Not public rants for attention.

How did they reach to this…

36. Midwest Maniac Avatar
    Midwest Maniac

@Tron
    It was good to read your short blurb.
    After seeing Rabbit focusing on giants and king Charles, I was losing my energy on this beautiful and glorious Sunday morning, but then I saw you description of life on the island and my spirits soared again. The fight against obesity must be pursued even more vigorously.

37. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar

John…what did i tell ya about the Blackrock spelling .why yall like to make up ya own shit and enabled in it is beyond me….but again, who cares…the lack of credibilty is long established.

“This case was last updated from U.S. Bankruptcy Courts on 03/12/2022 at 08:06:06 (UTC).
    Blackrock International, Inc.
    Case Summary

On 01/11/2022 Blackrock International, Inc was filed as a Bankruptcy – Chapter 11 lawsuit. This case was filed in U.S. Bankruptcy Courts, Louisiana Western Bankruptcy. The Judge overseeing this case is John W. Kolwe. The case status is Pending – Other Pending.

38. Midwest Maniac Avatar
    Midwest Maniac

The lack of Bajan items to discuss gives an understand of why we focus on international issues.

Having solved problems of the FTC, BL&P and island wide blackouts, seeing banks buying BOSS bonds, solving the problem of homelessness, a spanking new constitution, now having a cabinet with enough tentacles to make light work and solving the obesity problem, we now turn our eyes to other world matters

39. Steuspe

40. Midwest analyst Avatar
    Midwest analyst

Are Blackrock International and BlackRock the same company
    BlackRock International Limited operates as an investment management firm. The Company provides risk management, strategic advisory, and enterprise investment system services. BlackRock International serves clients worldwide.

BlackRock, Inc. is an American multi-national investment company based in New York City. Founded in 1988, initially as an enterprise risk management and fixed income institutional asset manager, BlackRock is the world’s largest asset manager, with US$8.6 trillion in assets under management as of December 31,

I believe the answer is a solid NO. I think you are doing the same thing as Patrick King and would cause a run on BlackRock funds 🙂

41. Midwest Analyst Avatar
    Midwest Analyst

If it was possible BlackRock would fall in the category of too big to fail.

Here we are talking of a company that has trillions 1 trillion=1,000,000,000,000 – one thousand billion) of dollars of investor funds.

I think Silicon Valley Bank value was less that 200 billion dollars

42. Towers of Dub Avatar

Is BlackRock the same Company as Blackrock International, Inc.
    what do these Businesses do
    who owns them

.. so called protestors do not comprehend Custody Banks hold stocks for Clients

Security!
    Hello, is that reception, London Weekend Television?
    No, this is security, reception has gone off duty, sir
    Oh I see, uh I am supposed to meet somebody in reception, and I wanted to know if they were there waiting…
    What is the name of the person you are supposed to meet?
    Haile Selassie
    Hallie…
    Selassie
    Is there a Haile Selassie here? …no
    Could you possibly… if he does… he will come in very shortly; would you tell him that Marcus Garvey phoned?
    Uh huh…
    And that I will meet him, well it’s, meet him in Babylon and Ting?
    When Marcus comes in… right?
    Yeah
    And you are supposed to be waiting for him to come in…
    Is that Haile Selassie?
    No, it wasn’t him, it was a cab
    He’s a black gentleman
    But he when he comes in… you’re gonna meet him at… where was it? I’ll make a note of this…
    Babylon and Ting
    Ba-by-lon and Ting
    That’s it
    Right you are! Thank you!
    God Bless You

43. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar

Pacha….feel the energy..

44. …ban the damn pest nuh….

45. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar

Indepth information circulating on who is foreign agent..

Well made burning bed.

Leave a Reply to Yolande Grant – African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved.Cancel reply