Submitted by Paula Sealy

In his column in the 14 April 2017 edition of the Daily Nation column, Clyde Mascoll begins paragraph 6 as follows: “The tax policy of the Government is a perfect example of arbitrariness.”

The fiscal policy decision to raise VAT from 15% to 17.5% has been maintained despite the BLP 2018 manifesto ‘pledge’ on page to return VAT to 15% within 18 months. The 25% withholding tax on Registered Retirement Saving Plans (RRSP) has been retained and Mascoll has also been retained in a prominent role as an economic advisor in the Mottley administration.

See Related: VAT Online Transactions

Now Barbadians feel the weight of the fuel tax at the pump, the Garbage and Sewage Contribution (GSC) whether or not their homes are connected to the sewage system, the Amazon tax and the online tax on foreign currency transactions. Is there any difference between being assaulted by thugs in red or thugs in blue?

Assault is assault even if you are colour blind.

69 responses to “Just beyond your imagination?”

1. The same staid, never-ending, nonsense which passes for political-economy discourse.

Laced with the real hypocrisy that Clyde Mascoll has or ever had anything of substance to say.

He has always acted like a man once known called Cox. Can’t remember his first name.

But he use to walk around with the biggest economics book available with the intention of convincing anybody he met that he is ‘bright’.

It’s way passed time to dispense with these childish games. For Bajans to stop referencing people like Mascoll with a sense of importance, a benchmark.

It’s time to go pass the bull shiiite of Mascoll to see what net benefit he’s contributed to national life. Beyond being another Coxal.

More broadly, nothing here is new, unexpected, unlikely to happen again. That it appears that this dictatorial regime has renigned on a promise or two is not particularly unique.

Given that this same dictatorship eschewed an entire manifesto previously. Democracy! De-mockery!

2. Wished these empty vessels would listen to technocrats elsewhere grappling with real issues.

Not trying to prove to be the dullest 11-plus boy there’s ever been.

Nor, ad infinitum, expecting something else, long hoped for, but NEVER delivered.

It’s time to declare this system incapable of anything else. That everybody who inhabits it to be like Mallick – the foolish man who always skinning he teet but can do nothing more.

3. We are an ageing society but love to tax the savings/pensions of the elderly. This is in an environment where there is uncertainty with the NIS and many of the elderly had their nest eggs cut in 2018.

4. Always are facile excuses to be rendered.

Was it to be a reality, that Barbados was long becoming an aging society when within the academic literature evidence of such was clear since the 1960s as happening in the leading Western countries long mimicked, before it needing addressing?

What about the sick excuse that Barbados is only a small open society as the perennial reason to explain every failure of imagination?

And what is to be said, that in spite of all these past failures, this present government, and the last one too, continue to exhibit the most startling absences of imagination there have been at an historical juncture most momentous in millennia.

What is it about the Bajan which makes him to complain as child but as society never taking responsibility for past mistakes. Never, with courage, embracing the future with the determination of bending it to his will.

Maybe you’ve got to have been in knowing of the ancient mystery systems to stop being childish.

5. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar
    Yolande Grant – African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved.

“Never, with courage, embracing the future with the determination of bending it to his will.”

They wont know anytjing about that, the ignorant, selfhating bullies are only interested in bending each other into their slavelike, childlike will of dependency, and as supporters/promoters of wholesale corruption….every ill in the society can be blamed on all of them and their dumminess.

They have devolved into the laughable….just as previously warned..

This is the area where they can transition to better, and still they cant see it let alone grab it….glad fuh dem…all they are capable of doing is devolving further, like the failures they are and always have been.

6. “What is it about the Bajan which makes him to complain as child but as society never taking responsibility for past mistakes. Never, with courage, embracing the future with the determination of bending it to his will.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Ya mean you STILL don’t grasp the concept of ‘Brass Bowl’…???

7. Waru

If we were to ask ANY policymaker or so-called academician in Barbados who are Sergei Glazyev and Alexander Gabuev, not one uh dem would have a clue.

These two men, and more, are at the center of reconstructing the entire global economic infrastructure and we, as a society, are not part of these discourses.

Instead, we are prepared to constantly revert to the empty well of ignorance as populated by small men with small minds intent on imposing dated concepts about a dying system on us all.

And those who should know better, but don’t, keep feeding us nonsense.

8. @Bush Tea

You prefer a Jamaican approach that is more aggressive for example? Is there a story f how our lineage has conditioned or more passive and conflict avoidance approach?

9. @Bush Tea

When the dust settles the leaders in Barbados come from the people. You may conclude what your commonsense spits out.

10. @Pachmama is spot-on…”EMPTY VESSELS”!!!!! Little imagination … when they need money???? Simple solution…TAX, TAX, TAX!

Both Parties are the same …… pay themselves & cronies big salaries, elected or not.

Doubt they ever think of reducing their ‘perks’ as a partial solution! As we Pensioners age, they squeeze us more…. the sponge will soon be dry!

Little incentives for the youth , just talk, talk, talk, no action.

We are slowly imploding and our “leaders’ continue to live well while our cost-of-living keep increasing…… depressing society!

Problems in every pillar of society …. Judicary, Education, Policing, Commerce, Roads, Inter-island travel, etc.

We are in one helluva mess!!!

11. Ten-point Template/Flowchart of a Politician in Barbados:
    1. Make Promises
    2. Get Elected
    3. Celebrate
    4. Reward stooges
    5. Raise personal Salaries & Perks
    6. Buy new Suits & a Mercedes or BMW
    7. Stall on elected Promises
    8. Increase Taxes
    9. Talk, talk, talk but No action
    10. Relax & Travel

12. The issue of our inability in the region to chart a different path is complicated and anchored to a heavy cultural penetration that has become mainstream thinking. An example,the minds of our children are polluted by the empty messages from TV with a Black billionaire leading the charge to name one, the owner of BET. We can try but there is an inevitability to where we will land.

13. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) All Rights Reserved. Avatar
    Yolande Grant – African Online Publishing Copyright (c) All Rights Reserved.

“If we were to ask ANY policymaker or so-called academician in Barbados who are Sergei Glazyev and Alexander Gabuev, not one uh dem would have a clue.”

Of course they wont, these clowns still parrot and belch out Greek MYTHology….what would any of them know about shapers of a new economic system or what that portends…if ya really want some laughs ask them to design one…while they still cant draft a republic constitution……..

“Instead, we are prepared to constantly revert to the empty well of ignorance as populated by small men with small minds intent on imposing dated concepts about a dying system on us all.”

Trying to tief a slave system so they can mimic many more of Massa’s actions, adding vile twists of their own from their rancid, uninformed treacherous minds, while still begging, borrowing and dependant..

BET was sold to Jewish interests sometime in the late 90s to early 00s…it stopped being Black billionare owned nearly 2 decades now..

14. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar
    Yolande Grant – African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved.

Here it is…sold in the 00s

“Since BET sold to Viacom in 2000, the number of Black-owned media companies has fallen sharply, said Jeffrey Blevins, a professor at the University of Cincinnati who has researched the subject.”

Pacha…there is no recovery for these, they have to leave…the vast majority want them gone, they have nothing useful, progressive or anything in the way of Black development and generational wealth creating to offer, they are therefore NOT NEEDED…

..who the hell wants to continue voting in beggars, borrowers and dependants permanently, who dont have an iota of intelligence to do otherwise….only the Slaves would be that DIM.

15. Boss…
    Why tempteth thou Bushie? 🙂

What Jamaicans what??!!
    Jamaicans are even worse off than Bajan Brass Bowls

Bet you did not know that Jamaicans are ACTUALLY the descendants of the HOLY PRIESTHOOD of old…

What a place!! – EVEN MORE BLESSED than brassbados – and what??!! same brassbowlery….

To whom much is given….

…and where did you get this idea that Bushie singles out the politicians, lawyers, ( and other leaders) ONLY for ‘brassbowlery excellence’?

It is a BAJAN thing boss…. and prior to his ‘adoption’, Bushie was a boss bajan brass bowl too …. and so is FULLY aware of the condition.

It is just SO AMAZING that, ….DESPITE ongoing FAILURE, down-grades, increasing DEBT, poor services, more taxes, increased arrogance from the jokers at the wheel, and a clearly FADING future…. so many (including your honorable self), can continue on the SAME brass bowl path in ‘hope’….

Have you ever though of ‘adopting’ a new ethos…?

16. NorthernObserver Avatar

So Google now who is trying to buy BET from Paramount Global (the newer name of CBSViacom)

17. NorthernObserver Avatar

I am somewhat surprised you would put “Sergei Glazyev and Alexander Gabuev” in the same league?

18. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar

This is pretty recent Northern, just this month… It never should have left Black hands…but ya cant tell owners what to do…let’s see how this sale goes, the bidding should interesting, 2 powerhouses…can’t believe it’s nearly quarter century since that sale…I see it’s trading on Nasdaq..didnt know about the name change, standard though.

“Media moguls Tyler Perry and Byron Allen are vying to purchase a majority stake of BET Media Group amid reports that owner Paramount Global is exploring a sale of the asset.

Variety has confirmed that Perry is in talks to acquire the network, while a spokesperson for Allen stated that the Allen Media Group founder is also “interested in buying BET, and he will be pursuing the acquisition of the network.”

19. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar

Something very strange is happening, saw some footage from 2 months ago with lakes and rivers suddenly appearing in the Saudi dessert……and let’s not start on the terrible weather patterns taking out houses and whole towns in the west and just about most everywhere else…..sign of the times.

20. NorthernObserver Avatar

You missed P.Diddy, who has past relations with Paramount companies.

21. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar

“You missed P.Diddy, who has past relations with Paramount companies.”

Didn’t notice, but he is an old established billionare so am sure he and others will join the lineup for the bid..

22. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar

Just saw a public notice where all the telephone libes to police stations are down….out of service.

23. It cant be beyond one’s imagination that there is a cancer at the very centre of the Collective West.

That Donald Trump is now an indicted felon, like a cancer, it has already metastasized from the political, economic, social, technological, environmental and legal. The whole culture.

Indeed, and given the centrifugal forces imposed, we would expect a political theatre for a trial with Trump as the star boy. Maybe his opus magnum.

Maybe he’ll be joined in the dock by Joe Biden and his son Hunter. For if one thought Trump was a criminal, like he undoubtedly is, and worse. The Biden crime family represents the real McCoy. They should give us a double-header

These are the ultimate representatives of Western democracy. The people in whose hands the fortunes of the world’s citizens have long been located.

If this particular case of Trump, the indicted criminal, does not hasten the cause for a panicked retreat from any and all relations with these criminals all, nothing ever will.

Thousands of years from now when our skeletons are being unearthed the anthropologists will have much to do in reconstructing the mentalities of the current humanoids.

24. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar

Pacha…this is truly frightening….and did not happen overnight.

“Child Crime in Germany Spikes on an ‘Appalling Scale’

The number of suspects under 14 leapt to over 93,000 in 2022, a 35.5% increase on the previous year, official statistics revealed, with theft, assault, property damage and drug-related crimes being the most frequently committed.”

25. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar

Told them off too, while he was at it…lol

“Trump Responds to Indictment Announcement: ‘Blatant Election Interference’

“This is political persecution and election interference,” the former President told ABC. “They are trying to impact an election.”

A statement by a Trump spokesperson claimed that Trump “will be re-elected in the greatest landslide in American history, and together we will all make America Great Again.”

Meanwhile, Political Director of ABC News stated that the indictment will not “disqualify Donald Trump from running for office.”

26. Waru
    There we go!

Trump is best performed as comedy.

The best political comedy imaginable.

That a larger and larger number of the population takes him seriously will result in no better outcomes than last time this clown show came to town..

What makes things worst is that the population acts as extras in theatre. They too are clowns!

Giving us the prospect of a convicted criminal being elected from prison.

Such productions with this level of comedic value can’t be made up!

Or another Alheizmers criminal, Biden, pissing and shitting himself all the time, even in the company ot the Pope, as the option.

In public Biden has no sense of awareness. He’s looking to walk off stages and fall many feet. Has to be directed as if an imbecile. And on and on.

But the neoconservatives appear so desperate, like in Ukraine, they are prepared to sacrifice all to achieve their sinister goals, both at home and abroad.

Trump’s up next!

Of course, they are even looking to jettison the Affirmative Action hire, Kamilla Harris, a proven fool who has failed at every assignment given.

What a cast of characters!

Remind us! Is this what world Ieadership has come to?

Empire’s theatre being a pappyshow!

27. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar

Pacha…whole world is a stage, with nothing but actors, a circus…as we heard all along…

We can only watch the show as comic relief…and protect ourselves in the process. Whoever wants to join the act, is free to partake…

These days am putting great distance between myself and the whole thing, as everything takes a turn for the worse..we see, we know.

There has not been a better time to throw up barriers and boundaries, draw some lines in the sand, that must not be crossed without consequences…the hardest thing is to know.

28. It is a wonderful day in Barbados at the moment as morning in breaking.

https://youtu.be/xV5aSmQ9iIc

29. Notorious, Can't Dis Rasta - Notorious Pt. II Avatar
    Notorious, Can’t Dis Rasta – Notorious Pt. II

Ban the Klan

30. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar

Pacha…get all your writing devices ready, this is one for the ages, must be passed on, and properly recorded.

These opportunities dont come around for scribes but every millennia..

31. What a cast of characters!
    Remind us! Is this what world Ieadership has come to?
    Empire’s theatre being a pappyshow!
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    “Quos Deus vult perdere prius dementat”

32. @Bush Tea

Life is a struggle, as it always has been through the ages. While you wait for doomsday whenever it comes others are dancing in the streets.

33. @ David

St. Vincent Times – March 30, 2023

Antigua seeks to pay EC $10-M in severance to former LIAT employees

The Government of Antigua and Barbuda has reportedly proposed giving a 32% severance payment to former LIAT employees.

In a note from yesterday’s cabinet meeting, it was stated: “The Government of Antigua and Barbuda owned a 32% stake in LIAT (1974 Ltd) and could not reasonably be expected to shoulder a larger portion of the burden than it may be legally obligated to contribute, had the airline owned sufficient assets to meet its debt obligations.”

The government estimates that the severance payout will cost $10 million EC.

Antigua and Barbuda first provided workers with a severance package consisting of land, bonds, and the chance to attend the University of the West Indies, Five Islands campus to acquire new skills.

The latest offer follows the decision by the Barbadian government to compensate 89 nationals who were employed by the defunct LIAT (1974) Ltd.

In January, the government of Saint Lucia also compensated former LIAT employees with bond certificates.

34. @Artax

Btw NIS in record LIAT shareholder governments have a moral duty to pay severance? The question will be who has the legal responsibility. Especially in a situation where most governments in the region are Steu to cover off budget deficits.

35. Doomsday comes mainly because idiots spend their time ‘dancing in the streets’ instead of making sound arrangements for a safe and secure tomorrow…
    Others who should be guiding those idiots are more focused on their bribes and short-term perks, than on looking down the road at the consequences,
    Yet others, who should be sounding the alarm, are busy making excuses why we should accept the status quo – warped and failed as it is…

The original David K understood this failure, and created BU….

Bushie is here to point out that WHEN NOTHING MAKES SENSE, and WHEN we keep doing the SAME shiite that we KNOW has ALWAYS failed in the past – EXPECTING THAT SOMEHOW THIS TIME WILL BE BETTER….
    ..this is the clearest sign of the madness that precedes self-induced destruction.

“Quos Deus vult perdere prius dementat” is therefore a self-evident maxim.

BTW
    Bushie is NOT awaiting ‘doomsday’..
    …but the DAY OF SALVATION from brassbowlery.

36. Yolande Grant - Aftican Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar
    Yolande Grant – Aftican Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved.

Bushman…you are on the right side of history…always were…despite them attacking and tormenting you too…

When ya see people’s memories can easily be jogged to a recen most evil, dangerous lie, and i quote:

“If the vaccine kill you we can help you, but if Covid kills you, we can’t.”

All caught on video..and spread across continents…

I take it that was in anticipation of over 50% dying from vaccine intake…but the curtain WILL BE brought down on local orchestrators….tick tock..

37. Bushie
    Why settle for the low hanging fruit.

We would have thought that such a personage as you, would have has a much higher purpose. Just keeping noise is not enough. Any brassbowl could no that, does that.

It therefore appears to this writer that your stated mission is based on the idiocy of others and therefore is in and of itself reinforcement of the foolishness it purports to abhor.

So is this wasteful talk about some salvation. What is that? When has it happened previously? Is that mere bible talk?

So is the eurocentric fiction about a Doomsday. There are no sets of forces, known or unknown, which could or have not already tested Pachamama. And She has proven Her infinite abilities to reconstitute Herself five times before.

We trust that this temporary humanoid trespass has not succeeded in confusing you about what is Infinite and what is purely ephemeral. Like braasbowl often are😇😇😇😇😇😇😇

38. Pacha
    As bright as you clearly are, the mysteries of the Creator continues to elude you. …as clearly explained (to those with eyes to see) by the original Boss Bushman, when he was moved to exclaim…

“I praise you, Father, Lord of heaven and earth, because you have hidden these things from the wise and learned, and revealed them to little children and stinking bushmen”.
    Who knows..? Perhaps this is perhaps why it is IMPORTANT to ’suffer the little children and stinking bushmen… FOR OF SUCH (to whom wisdom is revealed) is the kingdom of heaven’

As to Bushie’s ongoing ‘shiite talk’ and your assumed ‘higher purpose’, …those with ears to hear would know that the “Father, Lord in heaven” referred to above, has a LONG HISTORY of warning Brass Bowls in advance of their self destruction, so that they have NO EXCUSE of ignorance…

That has ALWAYS been the ROLE of the ‘prophets’….
    Have you ACTUALLY listened to the message that have been spread across the length and breadth of the Globe …by a large number of reggae artists…?

Think on these things…..

39. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David, your blog is now a few days old but knowing how ‘astute’ you are I will give you props for that apropos headline as the indictment of #45 is absolutely “Beyond [Y] our Imagination” … or if one may americanize that Bajan tagline as ‘Beyond Their Exceptionalism’!😒😎

Not to take away from the Bajan focus on economic affairs etc but this is sorta big news simply because a former US President has been indicted … but as in everything we manage in world politics this is really about noisy LOCAL political BS than it is about any US exceptionalism.

There was a well presented NY Times article – which reminded all who needed to be – that well apart from places like Nicaragua or Brazil or Peru where political leaders were indicted and some convicted there have been so called first-world countries like Israel, Italy and France that ALSO had their former leaders convicted.

The point is simple: whether a tagline about ‘Beyond Imagination’ or one that seeks to impress US ‘exceptionalism’ life must adjust to reality.

This man has always behaved exceptionally badly and he brought that same tawdry arrogance to his political life … he is now being held accountable for breaking laws for which his co-conspirator has already been convicted … and the vaunted US constitution quite precisely notes that any former president can be held liable for crimes just like any other US citizen!

So no wonder, for example, that Mr. Netanyahu is trying to aggressively change legislation to ensure he is not legally affected by pending investigations … and no wonder why he so aggressively returned to lead his party … if Americans allow this man to do the same and return to power then we can FINALLY condemn them as exceptionally corrupt hypocrites!

40. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved Avatar
    Yolande Grant – African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved

Pacha…on the Kingsland thread…ya will see that the corrupt judiciary is allegedly brazenly allowing people to be threatened….seems like an escalation…they finally reached the point of no return, never heard of that in any court where a real judge is in control.

It’s certainly comes as no surprise, but expected…and reinforces the point that wannabes should NEVER be anywhere the seats of any kind of power, not even to oversee wild animals…

41. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved Avatar
    Yolande Grant – African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved

Pacha..post got removed, but others are sharing everywhere else.

42. @ David

Taxing pensions is not only the reason why many of the older Bajans are suffering, kindly do not forget the debt restructuring sir. Many old people believed Bajan paper was bulletproof and as a result many have seen their return on retirement investment basically dry up. The pensioner that had $100,000 in state paper earning $7000 a year in interest, is now receiving only $1000 annually roughly. Millions have been removed from the economy yearly with that restructuring.

Secondly as for VAT here is another reality no one speaks about. I will keep my example simple here. When an item sold for say $10 prevat the vat on that sale due the state was $1.75. With inflation that item say has now moved to $14 prevat, meaning the state on the said coffee now collects $2.45, an increase of 40 percent! You see no one wants to discuss any of this as its “uncomfortable.” The truth is VAT feeds off of inflation, thereby weakening the liquidity of the consumer. Our whole tax system is flawed and full of leakage, hence we increase the burden on those who can least afford it.

43. All is not about doom Bush Tea, some of us are able to discern positives.

44. @John A

There is an argument that because bond holders number less than 2500 there is no significant impact to assess by the policy makers.

45. Odd Mob - LEFT TO RIGHT (Extended Mix) Avatar
    Odd Mob – LEFT TO RIGHT (Extended Mix)

For many, of course, it will be very exciting to see Trump winning votes again, albeit from the majority of a Manhattan grand jury. According to reports, his surrender to the authorities is expected on Tuesday. Once in custody, Trump will get the chance to pucker his anus-like mouth for the cameras taking his mugshot, then to offer his tiny fingers for prints. This process will be followed by a court appearance for his arraignment.

46. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar

Well…they always want to be seen and heard, they got nuff nuff things headed their way to be seen and heard about….there was never a better time…

47. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar

Pacha….the warnings are coming in and very clear.

“Artificial Intelligence Researcher Issues Stark Warning For Humanity

A leading researcher has argued that AI is progressing too quickly and could have dire consequences for the human race. Writing in an op-ed for Time magazine, Eliezer Yudkowsky was clear about our prospects should artificial intelligence pass a certain threshold.

“If somebody builds a too-powerful AI, under present conditions, I expect that every single member of the human species and all biological life on Earth dies shortly thereafter,” wrote Yudkowsky. He also said that the open letter published this week by Elon Musk and others, calling for a temporary halt to AI research, “is understating the seriousness of the situation and asking for too little to solve it.”

“We are not ready,” he concludes. “We are not on track to be significantly readier in the foreseeable future. If we go ahead on this, everyone will die, including children who did not choose this and did not do anything wrong.”

Leave a Reply to Yolande Grant – African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved.Cancel reply