Former Minister Donville Inniss

The blogmaster couldn’t avoid the noise generated in the local newsfeed covering the return of former member of parliament Donville Inniss. Inniss was incarcerated in the United States for breaking money laundering laws and suffered the embarrassment of being deported last weekend.

Inniss served his time and is free to continue with his endeavours in idyllic Barbados, UNLESS, local authorities intend to prosecute a matter that originated in Barbados. There is a good chance local authorities will allow the Inniss matter to die in the spirit of a few protecting the many which is the mantra of the political directorate.

The blogmaster will not judge the Don except to say many are not as convinced of his innocence as he is.. It would be in the interest of local authorities to give Donville his day in a local court so that he can expose the lies of the ‘pale face people and house niggas’ he referred to in his home coming media orchestrating. 

Barbadians should keep in memory that another local, Alex Tasker has an extradition matter pending – if successful – has the potential to shed additional light on the matter as it relates to how local actors assisted in the crime Inniss was convicted in the USA. The fight against extradition by Alex Tasker a former local employee of ICBL and Ingrid Innes former CEO domiciled in Canada have the potential to keep Inniss in the unfavourable glare of the public for some time. 

Commonsense suggests the political ambition of Donville Inniss has been extinguished. However, the blogmaster joins with concerned Barbadians to fuss against the inability of the political establishment to materially commit to rooting white collar corruption. Do not bother to refer to Barbados’s standing on the Transparency Index, a measure based on a perception shaped by players who are mainly responsible for the current state of affair.

On a related note the blogmaster read about the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) meeting advertised, a joint zonal meeting today (26 March 2023) with former candidates Michael Lashley, David Estwick and Neil Marshall promoted to speak. Sometimes so much more can be conveyed by simply making and observation without commenting.

In God we trust!

322 responses to “Donville Inniss Victim or Criminal?”

1. rehabilitated criminal Avatar
    rehabilitated criminal

Donville is allegedly a rehabilitated criminal who served his time
    but prison is said to be a University for Crime
    with many specialists who have many contacts on the darkside

2. Criminal and member of the crime family. A family which is not limited to the 30 in but the broader mafioso.

3. A crook, bribe taker and let-down for decent black people….
    CONVICTED!!

We need black leaders who are prepared to be convicted for STANDING UP FOR right – not for doing albino-centric shiite.

4. @ David,

What happened to the March 8th 2023 etradition hearing ?

5. @Hants

What do you expect, rescheduled.

6. This was forwarded to me this morning.

Caswell Franklyn posted this on fb:

To Donville Inniss and his supporters truth and facts seem to be irrelevant. Okay, let’s ask: Did Donville receive money from the Insurance Corporation of Barbados Limited? And if so, on what basis did he receive those funds? Was he an employee or agent of that company? And if he were not so employed, again the question is, on what basis did he receive those funds? Were those funds a gift? If the answer is in the affirmative then why would a Minister of the Crown be receiving undeclared funds from a company in Barbados?. If those funds were legitimately paid to Mr. Inniss, why would he engage in such elaborate means to have that money paid to a dental company in New York.The facts seem to be very clear, Donville Inniss was paid a bribe by person or persons at the Insurance Corporation of Barbados Limited, and that he caused that bribe money to be transported across the borders of another state. If you receive a bribe as a Minister of the Crown that is illegal. And if that money is transported to another country that is also illegal. So on what basis is Mr. Inniss declaring his innocence?This declaration of innocence on the part of Mr. Inniss could only come from a mind that believes its own facts, despite conclusive evidence to the contrary. Did Mr. Inniss somehow believe that because he was a government minister that he was above the law. Or, is it simply that he had an unreasonably high sense of his own importance, believing that no criminal activity could be attached to him no matter what he did.I would urge his supporters not to buy into Mr. Inniss’ narcissism and call a spade a spade. It would be a far better thing to do for him to acknowledge his crime and apologise to the people of this country rather than insist on his own truth. Man-up Donville, you were caught with your hand in the cookie jar and no amount of protesting your innocence will change that.Finally, whether or not people of this country want to acknowledge it, we owe the United States law enforcement agencies a debt of gratitude. We can no longer bury our heads in the sand and pretend that there is no political corruption in Barbados. Thanks Uncle Sam.Caswell Franklyn

7. A case of the King is wearing no clothes.

8. It has been said that this type of thing is the norm
    and is how things get done for Government contracts
    how contract bids are made awarded and approved
    it greases the wheels to make things proceed quickly

There was some chatter on Bu prime time before the trial and sentence
    that Don would snitch like a bitch and say where all the bodies were buried as a plea deal confidential informant

keep moving there is nothing to see here

9. David BU i agree with Mr Franklyn no amout of grandstanding from Mr Inniss will chang e the facts.I heard one of his supporters a dem telling Mr Wilkinson on friday, s brasstacks that the government should clean up the country for Mr Inniss return.I assumed she was joking as no one could be thsy stupid.The fanfare i heard on starcom from his supporters at the airport i thought the the Us President or some celebrity had artived not an ex Minister fpunf huilty in court of bribery.Starcom, standards has really fallenThe brasstacks progrsmme might as well be broadcast from George Street with the amount of politicsl rubbish i hear on there dsily from the same 10 or so callers aided and abetted by the moderators and the producers in my view.There is no balance whatsoever.It will be interesting to see if Mr Inniss becomes involve in politics again and where that leaves Dr Yearwood.My prediction is Dr Yearwood will find himself in no man, land.I gone.

10. @Lorenzo

What is the latest with Rodney Wilkinson?

11. @ David

I would be surprised if Canada deports Innes.

She just made a little mistake and deserves a break.

Have to defend those of a lighter shade of pale.

12. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar
    Yolande Grant – African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved.

Pacha…local stays local no forward movement, improvement or progress…always 50 years behind.

Check out the financial crisis thread, multipolarity on the move.

Do you think those who love to prance around knows what’s happening in their likkle local world…or how it is likely to be shaken up.

13. If Canada will not do it then it may be too much to expect the same for Tasker.

14. Is there not a picture of this man in handcuffs?

Or prison garbs?Or actually behind bars.

For surely that 36K cannot be the only money stolen, bribed, etc.

He might have even been somebody’s girlfriend in prison.

Donville will now proceed to show that a Bajan politician could be an ex convict and still impose himself on the country, watch it!

The leader of the opposition in Belize, Shynne Barrow, the former rapper, too is a convicted criminal as well.

Any man who always smiling so has to be a con man. Do people not realize that these people are laughing at those who they think they smarter than.

Well done boys!

15. Even as one of the major players in the cement market has announced cuts at its plant, another is looking to expand.

16. @Hants

Does Rock Hard manufacturer cement to compare with Arawak?

17. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David, the crucial matter here or to use your words … the crux of this affair is whether the US conviction disqualifies Inniss from being a MP or Bajan government official.

I have no precise awareness of the law on this but as the reference to the current Belize oppo leader clearly suggests there is no disqualification.

In sum, Inniss’ future as a politician will be determined of course by the electorate and if we use the relevant examples – Belize – and like the US with Santos it’s quite likely that he can continue to be a successful elected official.

Politicians have no shame and ambitious folks like him can ride this supposed ‘injustice’ all the way to the top!

18. @ David

That is a Hard question for me to answer. lol

19. @Dee Word

Apparently it does not. Peter Wickam posted article in today’s Nation with his advice to his friend Donville which includes the requirement for running.

20. 2 655 Welcome Stamp applications approved.

Hope PLT is getting credit for his idea.

21. Don should defer to the BLP. So did Big Sinck.

Only those who bow down before our Supreme Leader can hope for rehabilitation.

Tron
    Herald of the New Order of the Republic

22. In defence of the Don

Somehow I understand the Don’s anger. As president, Trump has simply pocketed gifts from foreign heads of state for himself, the Russian political elite receives hundreds of billions in bribes, while the Don has to spend two years hopping around in an orange sack for a handful of dollars.

This seems somehow disproportionate to any neutral observer.

Tron
    Always neutral and impartial

23. Hants on March 26, 2023 at 9:05 PM said:

2 655 Welcome Stamp applications approved.

Hope PLT is getting credit for his idea.

So, how long before we hit the 185K?

24. Hants on March 26, 2023 at 7:48 PM said:

Even as one of the major players in the cement market has announced cuts at its plant, another is looking to expand.

The Cement Plant was a bad idea in a country which is tiny and water scarce.

Only of any use if it can export a competitively priced product.

Construction in Barbados is a dead end.

25. Always bullshit.
    The Feds wanted a conviction. What was Donville gunna snitch on? A bunch of Bajans pols and business people without the hard evidence and paper trail tying them to laundering. His only value to them was a conviction.

26. “Always bullshit.
    The Feds wanted a conviction. What was Donville gunna snitch on? A bunch of Bajans pols and business people without the hard evidence and paper trail tying them to laundering. His only value to them was a conviction.”

Small Fish are used to catch Bigger Fish and Fat Cats.
    Any Intel on guns and drugs juggling or political corruption could have been traded. DLP crooks must be relieved he didn’t rat on them and owe him big time.

27. Dr. Yearwood leader of the DLP maybe forced to make some hard decisions if Donville were a successful making a smooth reentry to the local scene. The blogmaster is certain he remains opportunistic given the dearth of political talent floating around. We are in a dark place as far as leadership in all facets of our society.

28. No, but it is owned by Bajans FOR A CHANGE, so the value of providing some opportunities for employment – rather than just what is in the FINANCIAL interest of FOREIGN strangers is a factor.
    ANY SET of brass bowls who are happy to have their national assets managed by strangers, FULLY deserve to be screwed.

29. Don will have to retire in Barbados now and set up shop to make some bread as he probably lost his US citizenship and residency rights and would be restricted from traveling to Canada or UK due to his criminal record. Politics is the best hustle available or he could become a consultant in the fight against corruption implementing Integrity legislation as he has inside knowledge of hacking into the system of political deal making process.

30. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar
    Yolande Grant – African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved.

“The Cement Plant was a bad idea in a country which is tiny and water scarce.”

Dont forget, that land was ALSO stolen from beneficiaries, right along with a sizeable and very impressive bank account…right along with setting up the beneficiary to be wrongfully extradited in the Hawkesworth affair that failed, but Hawkesworth is dead, right along with setting up a foreign agency to get trapped in that scam and now they too, the Feds…not the same as Fed from the Reserve, are being sued….

as is the MO of “respectable” THIEVES……covetousness again, put them in that situation. Am sure a lawsuit about that is somewhere on the horizon..

31. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar

John..many of the same names, crooks extraordinnaire, on your Kingsland documents…also got their criminal fingerprints, signatures, and DNA all over that one as well.

They can’t escape…if it’s not one theft and the evil associated, it’s the other that will bring them to their knees…because the amount of thefts/crimes are COUNTLESS..

When ya digging graves for others, always dig TWO…

32. Stop it! Stop it!
    I will not attempt to refute what is being said about Donville Inniss, but let’s face it… at $35,000 the man is no master thief. And to have it deposited in a US bank, the man is no brains either.

I find it amazing that with a system that has probably leaked more than a billion dollars, Barbadians are full focused on the man who attempted to Hijack a measly $35,000.

Th attempted Maloney Scam could was in the tens of million of dollars but we seem to have forgotten that item. What about the $500,000 for a useless slogan, we seem to have forgotten that. What about the port scammers, wher we don’t know if the price was in US or Barbados $currency? What about White Hoa?

How can we see the mote in this brother eye, but are unable to see the beams and gigantic oaks tree that are strewn across our financial landscape.
    Damn you! Stop it. Our courts are tough on petty criminals and lenient to on the big fishes.. Is this a national trait.

Stop the fake outrage. Stop the crocodile tears! I know you have the memories.

33. Typo Monday.. But I know you get the message.

34. Your comment is simplistic. Donville was a minister of the Cabinet of Barbados. It does not take much to accept why the integrity of public servants and policymakers occupying the highest office in the land should be subjected to the highest scrutiny. In this case is it the amount or the underlying behaviour being questioned. To repeat, we should give him his day in our local courts to clear his name.

Jesus!

35. Simplistic it is?
    Clear what name?
    There is nothing that he can do to clear his name in the minds of the average Barbadian. The fact that he spent time in a US jail would trump any verdict that does not give him local time in jail. He will always be guilty.

What is even more simplistic is the pretense that we have a clean ‘house’ and only Donville is dirty. Here we are chasing what is in fact a ‘petty’ criminal. Let’s dig into that big ‘red bag’.

36. You may have the last word. This conversation is of nuisance value.

37. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar

Theo…ICBL ADMITTED to bribing a sitting government official and PAID A FINE in the US…either 12K or 12 million, exact amount escapes me now, …comparative with a percentage of the profit the contract scam would have generated…it’s all documented but ya done know short memory syndrome can also get convenient…

Of course top management of ICBL were never charged in Barbados and the grapevine reported that barriers were put in place by the same pretenders to give them the time to leave the island without accountability…just as was the case with the German owner of the Kings Beach hotel in the 80s, he too had help escaping from paying his dues ..that’s what they do, it’s a pattern decades old..

38. Thinking of a master plan.. Avatar
    Thinking of a master plan..

“at $35,000 the man is no master thief. And to have it deposited in a US bank, the man is no brains either.”

He should have robbed at least $350,000 and set up a Bajan laundrette business.

39. Let the record show ICBL disgorged $93k. There is no need to embellish if the facts are available.

Steuspe

https://barbadosunderground.net/2018/08/27/icbl-receives-declination-with-disgorgement/comment-page-1/

40. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Actually @David, no it’s not. The chat is quite indicative of society as it always has been but now we are at a very elevated stage of ‘outrage’ … whether ‘faux’ or ‘réalité’, non!

Clearly the debate is – as you suggest – not about the amount but “the underlying behaviour”. Yet although any reasonable person who favors one side or other wilI understand the punishment they will also reflexively and naturally seek sanctions against the other side.

And oh re “we should give him his day in our local courts to clear his name” … come now, that’s quite risible as the Dean often said.

The blogger @Theo is right on that… how would that local ‘clear the air’ work, bro … you are being quite transparently cynical there and just hoping for some real bacchanal.🤣🥳

41. @Dee Word

You have continually shown an ability to read between tongue and cheek comments. Who will bell the cat. Do you understand now? Will we have to wait for a tipping point?

42. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved Avatar
    Yolande Grant – African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved

“Theo…ICBL ADMITTED to bribing a sitting government official and PAID A FINE in the US…either 12K or 12 million, exact amount escapes me now, ”

What i said was very clear..i did not stutter, the amount escapes me….still does…

..the point i was trying to make, ICBL CONFESSED to bribing a sitting government official…it was not about the amount paid, that’s IRRELEVANT… but the FACT that they PAID A FINE FOR BRIBERY..

43. Steuspe

44. I vaguely recall Real Badd Geezer wrote an article in Barbados Today about Corruption and Money Laundering or some such. There is another new BT article stating he probably won’t reenter politics for a short while..

NUH MAN NUH BADDA DAN
    NO MAN

Business don’t mind paying the Bribe Tax as Government contracts are a license to print money and invoices can easily be marked up to recoup the money that went into the minister’s and wifey’s pockets

45. @ David

The ‘slogan’ could be justifiably placed in a category similar to that of a lawyer charging CBL $766,855.24 as legal fees to give an opinion on a loan.

Or another lawyer receiving $1.5M to review the BWA Headquarters agreement.

And yet, another lawyer charged BIDC $706,450 for providing legal services relative to “the $32M sale of a BIDC at Lot A1 Newton Business Park, Christ Church to Gildan Activewear Properties (BVI) Inc. in 2010, while asking ‘government’ to pay the BRA on his behalf, $92,146 VAT incurred.

What about building a new $29M five-storey office building for the SSA at Vaucluse, St Thomas, which has remained empty since its completion in 2016?

I’m sure you’ll agree, especially under such circumstances, the “system (government????) has probably leaked more than a billion dollars,” which should be of grave concern to all Barbadian tax payers.

However, the only person scammed in the vaccine debacle, was Mark Maloney…… NOT the Treasury.

And, in all fairness to Donville, the guy did not steal any money. The fact remains that, as a Minister of the Crown, he was offered and accepted an inducement from a private entity, which was meant to entice or persuade him into taking a certain course of action.

Therein lies the difference.

46. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar

Ah cahn help wunna…i doan know what to say anymore…maybe spending less time trying to discredit me which has caused the blog to look questionable and got people asking more and more questions years now, about its authenticity, maybe the answer…

Friendly advice, it’s free and cant take a thing off me…or ya wont get it….whatever was plotted has FAILED…should not need anymore info than that to see the writing and the wall are about to fall and hit plotters in the head.

47. @Artax

Succinctly and concisely put.

48. Is anybody watching what’s happening in the Zionist state.

A criminal, more profound that Donville, is holding the country ransom in order to stay out of prison. Only that no sitting politician in Barbados has ever been so threatened!

Like Barbados the ignorant Zionists recently elected him, like the Bajans elected a dictator twice.

So many internal contradictions!

First, the same Zionists who have for 80 years denied Palestinians any semblance of socalled democracy or human rights now have the unmitigated gall to suppose that Netanyahu intends to deny them the same by become an elected dictator like rasssoul Mia Mottley.

Then there are startling contradictions that stinking christians and bible-reading +unts would maintain that this Zionist colonial project has anything to do with the sacred as first conceived.

More widely, and as the very existence of Israel enters great doubts, and as the very people who set them up, sustain them, arm them, gave them nuclear weapons, are themselves on the brink of destruction, and as the neighbouring countries find a new unity, its merely a matter of time before these interlopers are reduced to being refugees from a land stolen, by a set of people unknown to history before the 6th century AD. 1400 years ago!

And we may continue ad infinitum!

With these clear “signs of the times” all around us no room is left for the woke-ists, the pragmatist-nationalists, those who seek to be conservators of an irrational sameness. We say off with their heads!

Leave a Reply to PachamamaCancel reply