Credit: FearPlay

169 responses to “Kingsland!”

1. @ John,
    I seem to recall that “Sir” Donville had a penchant for wearing black shades during his hay days. Almost like some Mafiosi figure. The last time I saw him he was swaggering along the main corridor at the government building in Warrens. He was dressed in a tight fitting colourful suit.

What an interesting home welcoming. One would have anticipated that he would have sneaked through the back door. So what can we learn from this episode? Barbados has no shame. Mia’s paws are all over this. It’s business as usual. Welcome back “Sir” Donville all is forgotten!

2. @John

The Deane family is related to you?

3. So what can we learn from this episode? Barbados has no shame.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Can say THAT again…!!!

The lesson to be learnt here is that wickedness is best gauged by the FRUIT that it produces.
    Many are upset when Bushie points out the brassbowlery of Bajans. But however you assess the RESULTS of our actions, inevitably our inherent nature of albino-centric greed, unholiness, and ungodliness stands out…

Ultimately, this is why our collective donkeys are up the creek,
    …why strangers own our fields and hills,
    …and why our children will be condemned to be plantation-type ‘workers’ for the Chinese, Trickidadians and the various albino ‘investors’ – for the foreseeable future.

There was a time when ordinary Bajans believed in RIGHT over WRONG. Now it seems that this ONLY bothers Caswell.

That there would be such a show of enthusiasm for this man – who has been convicted of bribe taking, and whose response initially was that ‘wuh eva body does do um’, … confirms Bushie’s stated position that the ONLY difference between the political / legal demons currently leading us to damnation, …and the brass bowl ‘victims’ who are being led, is that the common BBs are not in a position to do the same shiite.

BOTH groups have the same wicked, immoral nature. This is why when the avenging hand of God claps, BOTH the rich and the poor; the mighty and the meek; – whose disposition is inclined to EVIL, will share a common fate.

‘It a go be dread ina Babylon’.

4. John
    Well, think a better understanding is reached.

However, tell us what happened for these people to assume ownership or control of your family’s property.

What gives them such relative power or standing in same?

5. The man still git family , friends and people that he May have helped that May feel he is innocent . They are free to express their feelings

To condemn the whole of Barbados ………

6. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar
    Yolande Grant – African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved.

‘wuh eva body does do um’,

The retarded justification…..but evabody int serve 2 years did they…

7. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David, what’s the ‘scoop’ referring to above … 😎! Scoop, as in collecting or taking up lots of land quickly and/or surreptitiously or with a purposeful sleigh of hand … going BACK eons!😂🤣

I sorta empathize with @John simply because it’s always difficult to have others covet what’s yours and then use legal means to ‘unlawfully’ deprive you of it… but of course when the matter straddles racial and social status boundaries it gets even more emotional and problematic.

That said, I would ask … how did all that land become the property of the purported owners … yes, the scion here tells us how his ancestor, scrimped, contrived and worked diligently to expand his initial simple holdings to a formidable land acquisition even as he raised his family.

A real exciting story-line of grit and all that …

But ahem, there is obviously a lot, lt more to that local rags to riches story than such simplistic fairytales … and the current cesspool is surely an absolutely fitting continuation!

Peace out.

8. @David
    The Deane family is related to you?
    ++++++++
    I know that you are not serious, Didn’t John write that the late Ian Deane who wrote under the pseudonym “Black woman who writes “ is his cousin and unlike the recent family brawl in the cemetery over inheritance the monied class usually fight their battles in Court with the many attendant lawyers although it is alleged that John received a severe beating by folks associated with the other side.

9. What racist hate speech from the Don! Wow! Reminds me a lot of that white truck driver and his hate speech against black people. Here it’s the other way around, but the racial hatred is the same.

If he becomes the next PM, we are in danger of Zimbabwean conditions, i.e. pogroms against all businessmen and other respectable citizens. We will be left with the inflamed, impoverished masses with their machetes and drugs.

10. Pachamama on March 25, 2023 at 2:58 PM said:

John
    Well, think a better understanding is reached.

However, tell us what happened for these people to assume ownership or control of your family’s property.

What gives them such relative power or standing in same?

They got elected!!

Then they subverted the laws to deprive citizens of their rights.

It isn’t only my family that was robbed.

Many landowners large and small were robbed.

…. and when the availability of land to be stolen dwindled they started on the NIS.

That’s why our country is so screwed.

Every Bajan knows some Bajan who was robbed by the said very criminals they elected and who run the courts.

Don’t you?

11. de pedantic Dribbler on March 25, 2023 at 3:28 PM said:

That said, I would ask … how did all that land become the property of the purported owners …

Very simple, WWI!, told you already!

My Grandfather bought his first plantation, 287 acres, in 1939, heavily mortgaged.

The Germans, Russians and Japanese destroyed half the world’s sugar production by 1945.

Sugar price rose and demand soared.

By 1958 he and his family had 1,133 acres free and clear and employed upwards of 100 Bajans,

12. John

Uh wid yuh! Just wanted to be sure our thinking was right.

Yuh right as shiiite.

Donville Inniss was released last night and there are no differences between the psychology of the crimes being here discussed today and his insistence of innocence.

Even if innocent, which he is not, the people of Barbados, instead of him telling more lies, desire at least an apology, acceptance of his crimes and a show of contrition.

Instead, we have this ex-con coming back as if a hero. From the looks of it he may even be re-elected or even lead the party because there’s nobody there. This is where hero worshipping has gotten us.

Indeed, if we were a serious country, instead of a police escort, an arrest would have been made.

13. @Dee Word

As you and early BU family members are aware, this is a topic BU covered exhaustively back in the day deemed a family feud by many. How do you define family feud again?

14. John
    Yes, yes, yes! This writer knows several. However, lawyers working on legal transactions could have also been the point of thief. This writer has been so bitten three (3) times. There’s only one way to cure this.

15. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar
    Yolande Grant – African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved.

“This writer has been so bitten three (3) times. There’s only one way to cure this.”

But they are so proud of it and their despicable little followers champion it..

16. @Sargeant

Yes!

17. NorthernObserver Avatar

But at least some of your late mother’s brothers, or their heirs, had to agree to sell?
    I don’t see legal cases from the rest of them, or do they exist?
    Isn’t this part of your side’s argument, the other owners didn’t have the right to sell.

18. @NO

You observe John has been avoiding this line of questioning from the Blogmaster all day?

19. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

OK @David, I get that … but as you know ‘scoop’ in newspaper jargon means the original, first-time-in-the media revelations and to your exact point this particular saga is now long in the tooth!

The lady’s details on the current matter are fresh news, of course, but not a scoop surely! Just saying, brother.😎

20. @Dee Word

Scoop is just a word for SEO.

21. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Indeed @Mr Blogmaster, he has not been his expansive self on that line of query!🤷

This saga is of course quite amazing and there are many scandalous and maybe even criminal threads that would make for an exciting Netflix or even full scale Hollywood drama with Jennifer Lawrence playing a young Mrs. Cox and Helen Mirren completing the role of her elderly matriarch persona … in sum: big time stuff !!!😎

A good US southern affair with all it’s ‘good manners’, etiquette and all that … or said otherwise the denouement a la the Murdaugh family without all the death and mayhem!

But as I allude to above I am more interested in the BET Tyler Perry or OWN style version … you know the high-end classy production that pulls no punches on the Black side – like the cheap labour that builds the empire and how ‘beautifully they were all treated’ and all the other intrigue therein – of this messy family affair.

Heh, just to each their own joys!

22. NorthernObserver
    on March 25, 2023 at 6:00 PM said:

But at least some of your late mother’s brothers, or their heirs, had to agree to sell?
    I don’t see legal cases from the rest of them, or do they exist?
    Isn’t this part of your side’s argument, the other owners didn’t have the right to sell.

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Of course.

All of them except my mother agreed to sell!!

That was their right, but my mother also had the right of first refusal which she exercised.

She offered to buy according to the shares in accordance with the articles.

That’s should have been the end of it and no court was ever necessary,

They were bound to sell to her because of the way the company was set up.

The Privy Council had to rewrite the articles to make it possible for them to sell.

They found that Joseph Coleridge Armstrong, JCA, had made a mistake in the drafting in 1958 which is positively comedic.

JCA was the go to man for attorneys at law in Barbados one of whom told me those old conveyancers did not make mistakes majkng fun of the Privy Council.

I kid you not.

One of them even referred to him as the doyenne of the legal profession in Barbados.

An accountant told me he would have to advise many of his clients to change their articles because of the decision.

You see, Kingsland was set up using standard language taken directly from the Dictionary of Forms and Precedents in use at the time and control depends not only on shares but on an Undertaking.

The clients advised by the accountant had companies that were setup identically to Kingsland in the 50’s 60’s and 60’s.

Took a while for me to figure out why JCA’s advice in 1990 was “All must sell or none can sell!!”

23. If you add up the pages of the decisions in the High Court, Court of Appeal and Privy Council you get 103 pages in all.

JCA is no doubt laughing his head off because a barrage of Queens Counsels, Judges, consultants and legal luminaries missed the simplicity of his legal construction.

All must sell or none can sell.

24. Hants on March 25, 2023 at 6:29 PM said:

https://www.guardian.co.tt/article-6.2.398776.156daa1966 Lawrence Duprey: Looking for redemption

Having ripped off 10’s of thousands of people’s savings and destroyed their lives, the only redemption Duprey could expect is from God Almighty.

25. NorthernObserver Avatar

Ahhh.
    I was aware of what occured, not the HOW.
    This was a ‘standard challenge’, which @Bushie will appreciate, for it stops the sale because a rogue child, in-law or inheritor. A Mr.Joey special 😂
    It triggers a right of first refusal. Albeit at the price agreed with the external offering party, unless otherwise stated.
    Was this the case?
    What was the argument at the Privy Council to override the articles?

26. John
    At 7:33pm you stated, Inter alia, that your commercial enemies gained ownership or control rights because some family members wanted to sell. All except you mother.

Let’s leave the right of refusal held by your mother aside for the moment,

But earlier in the day you led this writer to believe that governmental malfeasance was causal, primary.

How do you square this circle of seeming contradictions? Are both truisms?

27. Pachamama on March 25, 2023 at 8:38 PM said:

But earlier in the day you led this writer to believe that governmental malfeasance was causal, primary..

Compulsory Acquisitions!!

By 2006, Government admitted it owed Kinsland $22 million for land it had compulsorily acquired at Kendal Hill in 1990 for a new Transport Board Headquarters.

That is straight forward theft, taking another person’s property with the intent to deprive the person of its use.

https://files.catbox.moe/9slh0j.PDF

28. John

Compulsory acquisition or imminent domain land seizures are fairly normal for public interest purposes.

But to use them as devices to pass lands on to others when the owners resisted selling is a different matter all together.

Was the Transport Board site acquisition merely part of a larger transfer?

29. Btw, your mother looks a lot like Veré Deane.

30. Just saw attachment

31. Pachamama on March 25, 2023 at 9:19 PM said:

John

Compulsory acquisition or imminent domain land seizures are fairly normal for public interest purposes.

But to use them as devices to pass lands on to others when the owners resisted selling is a different matter all together.

Was the Transport Board site acquisition merely part of a larger transfer?

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

The Transport Board Land acquisition was to provide an injection of taxpayer funds to Kingsland once ownership had passed to SBG with its principals as Government Ministers/Members of Parliament.

That would have paid off any debts of Kingsland (about $2 million at the time) and left its land free and clear.

Who was the Minister of Transport in 1990 who would have needed a new Transpor Board Headquarters for the proper and efficient operation of the Ministry he was charged with administering for the benefit of the citizens of Barbados?

The Right Honourable Sir Philip Marlowe Greaves, Deputy Prime Minister, Minister of Transport and Works and leader of Government Business/

… the G in SBG!!

32. The question is where are the spanking new Transport Board Headquarters the then Minister of Transport and Works envisioned tor the benefit of all citizens and visitors who pay taxes?

The answer of course is there are none.

Yet here is the Assent in the Official Gazette on 6 December 1990.

“The acquisition for public purposes of the parcel of land described in the Schedule hereto with the appurtenances having been decided on by the
    Minister responsible for Lands with the approval of both Houses of Parliament, it is hereby declared in pursuance of Section 5 of the Land Acquisition Act, Cap. 228 hat the said parcel of land has been acquired for the construction of the Transport Board Headquarters. ”

The Resolution was all properly passed in Parliament of which there were 30 members beside the then Minister of Transport and Works and 21 Senators.

Did any vote nay to this acquisition?

https://files.catbox.moe/m134dm.pdf

33. Worth a look

34. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar

“Compulsory acquisition or imminent domain land seizures are fairly normal for public interest purposes.

But to use them as devices to pass lands on to others when the owners resisted selling is a different matter all together.”

And that’s the simple reality some are missing in their quest to cover for thieves.

35. So how did Kooyman end up on the land at Kendal Hill?

What sleight of hand allowed this to happen?

36. Here is an opinion in 2002 from Lennie St. Hill a former Chief Town Planner and Land Consultant on Compulsory Land Acquisition.

There are time limits.

https://files.catbox.moe/jp8a8d.pdf

37. Wait!!!
    So is Bushie to believe that this all comes as a surprise to BU family members??!!
    Wunna serious?!!!

Wuh John is being circumspect and careful – as he probably needs to be.

The level of wickedness, nastiness and greed that has defined black politicians in brassbados is nothing short of disgraceful, ESPECIALLY given our history.
    This is why that ‘show of jubilation’ (even by family) on the return of the ONLY ONE who has EVER been brought to some degree of justice (by a foreign, albino-centric, crooked country itself) is particularly galling.

Wunna brass bowls feel dat wunna mek wunna selves, and that this kinda shaving cream can go on and on…. BUT THERE IS A JUDGE ABOVE.

His court will SHORTLY go into session with great fear and trembling – and there will be no mercy for the merciless lawyers and politicians …or for their brass bowl enablers in the Public Service, or supporters in the shiite public.

There is also the issue of the lady related to Kensington Oval…..
    …and Bushie is STILL awaiting two prominent counsels to explain their part in the death of a certain ‘Mrs Smith’….

Snakes and BB vipers…!!!

38. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2923. All Rights Reserved. Avatar
    Yolande Grant – African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2923. All Rights Reserved.

“Wunna brass bowls feel dat wunna mek wunna selves, and that this kinda shaving cream can go on and on…. BUT THERE IS A JUDGE ABOVE.”

Above or below, those greedy, covetous MFs int getting away….so those who support and admire their evil because they tell themselves they got crumbs to get, …sit back and enjoy the show…

“There is also the issue of the lady related to Kensington Oval…..
    …and Bushie is STILL awaiting two prominent counsels to explain their part in the death of a certain ‘Mrs Smith’….”

And the laundry list of others they RoBbed – Karma and Retribution walk hand in hand…

39. Beat Down The Fence Avatar
    Beat Down The Fence

21st Century Sound Clash
    Spiritual Law
    the 12 universal laws:
    Law of Divine Oneness.
    Law of Vibration.
    Law of Correspondence.
    Law of Attraction.
    Law of Inspired Action.
    Law of Perpetual Transmutation of Energy.
    Law of Cause and Effect.
    Law of Compensation.

Shades of Legal Poo Poo
    Man-made law is law that is made by humans, usually considered in opposition to concepts like natural law or divine law.
    “The Law Way” is an up in the air abstract concept and is not a brick wall or a fence that separates right from wrong and is open to interpretation and can also be applied disproportionately depending on factors such as race or balance of power.

There are two types of laws :
    one you can get away with and another which you can’t.
    sometimes you get away with it but later can be get got.

Governments have power and can act extra-judicial as needs must
    Courts have an inherent right to rule that actions against Government fail.

Perhaps this can be another one of those Bu threads that John Boy of Kingsland Mountain can debate and post by himself for his own reference with the tag line hook..
    “This is interesting!” for click bait

or he can sing some bob
    Get up, stand up, stand up for your right · Preacher man don’t tell me heaven is under the earth · It’s not all that glitter is gold · Half the story has never …

As a side note ramble, it is noted that colonial captured lands have white and black or brown citizens and many shades in between. In-between mixes tend to be snobby and think they are better than the darker shade of black or brown people

Beat Down The Fence

40. @Bush Tea

A few diehard supporters, family members show up to support Inniss and a couple of the usual talking heads in media on his return and it is enough to broadly conclude it is the view of the majority?

41. So let’s go through the public record leading up to the appearance of the Assent of the Governer General at the end of 1990, December 6th.

Once Government has decided to pursue a Compulsory Acquisition of Land under the Act, it must first advertise its intention to do so.

So when did the ad appear in the press?

It appeared on 20th June 1990 the day after the newspapers carried an article sourced from a Government official of the intention of Government and its reasoning.
    “The Government official pointed out that the present headquarters offered little or no opportunity for expansion offered little or no opportunity for expansion and contributed to congestion in the City”.

The article pointed out that the contract for the design of the new Headquarters had been awarded to Selby Rose and Mapp, a local firm of architects.

If there had been an award of a contract, then the project had been in the works well before June 1990.

So what was SBG doing at that time and are its deeds on the public record for us to peruse 23 years later?

https://files.catbox.moe/wbexxz.pdf

42. SBG entered into the public record on 28 May 1990, 32 days before the Government’s ad in the press, when Member of Parliament for St. Thomas, The Right Honourable Sir David Anthony Cathcart Simmons acting as its attorney at law, filed an application for a name reservation.

https://files.catbox.moe/94dy58.pdf

On 1 June 1990, 2 days later, SBG made an offer to purchase all of the issued shares of Kingsland.

https://files.catbox.moe/a6itm9.pdf

Technically speaking SBG did not exist until 7 March 1991, the following year when the Registrar of Companies issued an Incorporation Certificate.

That would have been about three months after the Governor General assented to the acquisition.

43. … the S in SBG!!

44. Side note:
    We had a mysterious acronym appear in some recent business , but we were provided with no explanation of the cast of characters in the company.

I am quite certain it contained the letters S and B, but I think the third letter was a W as I thought then of EWB. Are these entities “SWB??” and SBG related?

45. The BU family is aware of the collusion and white collar corruption that exist. However, it does not change the fact the crux of this matter is about a family disagreement how prime lands should be carved up.

46. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Avatar
    Yolande Grant – African Online Publishing

Pacha…lots more coming down ON THEM…their evil actions against the people who voted for them cyclically and especially in the last 3 years where they just had to show the world how indifferent they are to the majority population’s best interests, dont care what they think or how they feel….is about blow up on them tick tock.

47. Yolande Grant -African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved Avatar
    Yolande Grant -African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved

This one is definitely Karma squared.

48. NorthernObserver Avatar

Is that the crux?
    I think the crux goes back to the sale of Kingsland itself.
    Why wasn’t the late Mrs Knox suing her brothers? For one or more of them had to sign off on documents, giving them the authority to represent Kingsland, all the while knowing Kingsland did not have the required shareholder approval.
    Or were the Kingsland bylaws altered to permit the sale.

Leave a Reply to Yolande Grant – African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved.Cancel reply