Submitted by James Bynoe,
International Cyber Security Leader 
Global Chief Information Security Officer
  1. (1) YOU CANT PROTECT WHAT YOU DON’T KNOW
  • Whether in the private/public sectors or a small village shop maintaining an accurate inventory of all your internet connected systems and services is critical to protecting your entire organization from international cyber criminals, hackers, hacktivist, script kiddies and many more attacker types. Today many publicly reported data breaches worldwide occur in part or whole due to poor asset and inventory control which often leads to poor management and updating of systems connected to the internet. These factors when combined create a perfect opportunity for compromise by malicious actors or cyber criminals. 

Key Question for Your IT Support Team or Yourself: 

• Do we have an up to date asset inventory of all systems and devices,  and are they running routinely updated operating systems? Additionally are you have a ‘good’ anti-virus and malware protection application running (free is not always good) on all computers and laptops which is also routinely updated?  
  1. (2) BE AWARE THAT YOU MAY ALREADY BE A CYBER VICTIM AND JUST DON’T KNOW IT

The average time for businesses to realize that they have been compromised or had a breach is close to 1 year.  In some parts of the world including the Caribbean it can be much longer.  If you are still using a Windows 2000 or XP computer at home or work you are probably more then likely already HACKED.

• Outdated or end of life computer operating systems are a ‘hackers dream’ as they already know all the weaknesses that can be exploited. 

Test question: Are you using an updated Windows or Mac devices with all the latest security updated installed (monthly if a windows systems)?

1. (3) GET YOUR ONLINE PORTALS & WEBSITES ROUTINELY PENETRATION TESTED AND THIS TESTING SHOULD NOT BE OPTIONAL IN 2023. 

When selling products or services online, or capturing/providing customer information online which invoices personal information (PI) it is critically important that platforms providing services and information be routinely penetration tested to proactively identify and fix vulnerabilities and weaknesses a hacker, hacktivist, or cyber criminals can exploit.  Penetration test should be conducted at least once annually or whenever a major change/update to your platform is made. They are local companies and cyber security professionals that can conduct a quality penetration test of your website, platform or office network.

Test question for IT technology and Business leaders (IT mangers, CTO’s, CEO’s, CISO’s) When was the last time your company online services or customer support platforms where penetration tested? 

1. (4) RANSOMWARE DEFENSE

The Caribbean has become a fertile playground from ransomware attacks a few of which have made the evening news in many Caribbean countries.  The best defense against ransomware attack is to deploy an endpoint detection & response application on your laptop or office computers.  However today’s ransomware attacks have reach a sophistication level that often bypasses many free or cheap anti virus solutions.  As such it is very important to select a quality end point detection and response solution not just based on price but it’s ability to stay updated on the most recent ransomware threats which can vary between solution. 

Test question: Do I have a quality (not free) EDR application solution running on my home and work computers?

1. (5) BOT DEFENSE & ITS HIDDEN OPPORTUNITY 

In 2023 a very large % of all internet traffic are bad bots seeking to steal personal information or intellectual website property or content.  These bad bots can be blocked automatically if a bot defense solution is in place to proactively protect your website and online customer services platform from a range of bot attacks. The intelligence maintained by bot solution providers is also key in stopping attack from known attackers automatically.  An interesting up side to improved bot management is quite simple to understand as by blocking bad bot traffic more highway to your site is available hence improving the your customer experience which on you still.  So in conclusion ROI in bot defense can exist.

Test question for IT managers: Do I have a bot defense solution in place? 

1. (6) PREPARE AND PLAN FOR COMPUTER SECURITY INCIDENTS

The steps to successfully recover from a computer security incident or breach are: identification, containment, remediation, recovery, and closed out with a postmortem review.  All businesses in 2023 should have a computer security incident response plan and a set of procedures to follow when an incident occurs.  Having to figure out what to do during an incident to limit damage can take up and waste valuable containment time. 

Test questions: Do people in my organization know how to report a potential virus or ransomware attack on there computer for support and guidance?

1. (7) KEY CYBER SECURITY THINGS EVERY COMPANY OR ORGANIZATION SHOULD HAVE:

In order for a private or public sector business to NOT become a victim of cyber crime they are a few fundamental components they MUST have in simply and short terms, these are: 

• A IT strategy and plan
  • A cyber security strategy and plan 
  • An accurate and current asset and systems inventory
  • A set of IT and Cyber Security Policies and related guidance and procedures in place .  
  • Enough staff to effectively implement and manage the items above.  
  • Regular vulnerability scanning and penetration testing to identify and fix systems weaknesses.
  • Annual cyber security awareness training for all

If you are missing one of these you organization is at risk of compromise, breach or exploitation.

Test question: Do I have all of these requirements in my organization and to what level of accuracy and maturity. Additionally to you have the right number of support staff in your organization 

1. (8) VENDOR & PARTNER PROVIDER SECURITY 

Many major globally report company data breaches involve a third party support vendor of the business or organization.  With this reality is has become even more critical that businesses and organizations establish a vendor security assessment program to ensure they are supported by vendors that take cyber security seriously and have measures and controls in place to prove that commitment. 

1. (9) SECURITY EVENTS AND INCIDENT MONITORING 

Most systems have security logs that can tell a systems admin what events and activities are occurring on a device requiring further investigation.  It is important that not only these activities be captured in a log management solution they must also be monitored in order to identify malicious, criminal or fraudulent activities and behaviors for action or investigation. 

1. (10)LEADERSHIP PLEASE TAKE CYBER SECURITY IN YOUR BUSINESS OR ORG SERIOUSLY AS ROI IN SECURITY DOES EXIST 

Brace yourself and with no ‘disrespect’ they are many leaders in the private and public sector that in spite of the data breaches we often here of in the caribbean and worldwide news still do not take the cyber threat seriously. 

As a result that are many under staffed private and public sector organizations that simply do not have enough staff to address the cyber threat comprehensively.  There is a sense that only a major data breach will move them into action often after serious repetitional and finance damage has occurred, making the cost of doing nothing much higher that doing something. 

And 11 … 

1. (11) CYBER SECURITY TRAINING & AWARENESS FOR ALL – IS A MUST

One of the complexities in cyber security is that everyone from the CEO to the office secretary plays a role in protecting both private and public sector organized from a range of cyber threats (I.e email phishing attacks). As such it is critically important that an annual cyber security training program is implemented for large and small organizations.  Keeping your staff aware of the evolving and growing cyber threat landscape can be key in preventing a cyber security data breach or major security incident. 

86 responses to “2023 Top 11 Cyber Security Tips For The Caribbean”

1. @Artax

You are aware though the colour coding will go away with the new ID?

2. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar
    Yolande Grant – African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved.

So who did not know that people born in other countries, country by country..the last digits of their id ..signifies that status…in some cases, the background color of the photo plays a part, wuh it happens everywhere…must have been a secret for dummies only…..

Look how they exposed and embarrassed themselves without any help…how did it reach to this….no answer necessary, i was right here.

3. “Yo” wins again ‘n again w. ill logic aka woman’s logic

4. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar
    Yolande Grant – African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved.

The people are aware they have to be very careful…100 years of scamming 4 generations of the vulnerable will do that….

the vaccine scam was the straw that broke the camel’s back, so rush and hurry to drop new digital IDs with no security features (who does that?) is a gigantic red flag looking very much like another scam on the people….trying to sneak in another one….but they are getting a good dose of “watch muh nuh”..cahn get wey wit nutten.

5. “You are aware though the colour coding will go away with the new ID?”

Yes, I am aware.

I read information pertaining to the new ID cards, in addition to concerns raised by IT specialists such as Neil Harper and ‘shiite talk’ I heard or read ‘floating around’ on social media.

Unlike a particular clown in this forum, my approach is to ‘separate fact from fiction,’ rather than go with the information that satisfies my specific biases.

6. See wuh I tell yuh?

“Ya cahn help yaself, you will be back..”

Imagine that!!!

“Look (how) YOU EXPOSED and EMBARRASSED yourself without any help…how did it reach to this?”

An IMMATURE, EASILY provoked to anger 65 year old elderly woman, “on an ANONYMOUS BLOG,”…… who claims to be an author…… superior in intellect, knowledge and education (but is actually a BLUFFER, FRAUD and LIAR) ……

…… FAILING MISERABLY in her ATTEMPTS, to denigrate and belittle someone she called a ‘slave-minded clown’ who made “no progress, no upgrades, (and has) nothing new to teach anyone”…… that “we are not in the same category or at the same level in anything.”

I definitely ‘know how to push your buttons.’

7. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Vopyright (c) 29w3. All Rights Reserved. Avatar
    Yolande Grant – African Online Publishing Vopyright (c) 29w3. All Rights Reserved.

BU and its clique of clowns have long been recognized as supporting, enabling and promoting these types of political scams against the people, admiring it and attacking anyone who speaks out against the trash who only know how to scam…people have known for YEARS, it’s no secret.
    …there is no cleaning up and trying to pretend like they cared the cards have NO SECURITY FEATURES, they made it very clear from the very beginning yesterday, that no security features is no big deal, and tried their level best to sell that crime, which blew up on them…….they are now flat out LYING that they did not support this latest scam against the people….millions wasted and now the cards have to be recalled..people would be foolish to use them.

No one was surpised…and this was actually expected from the BU cult..

The black man has reduced himself to setting up attacks for African women, now we see how easy it was to feminize them, got them wearing dresses, high heels and silky underwear…the weak black man…but you MFs will take real licks from a REAL AFRICAN WOMAN..

8. The Energy of The Room Avatar
    The Energy of The Room

God Was In The Speakers
    Buddhist philosophy is life goes around in circles and repeats itself over many lifetimes and there is no time. To cause change and break the cycles you have to chant mantras such as Nam Myōhō Renge Kyō as the central practice to attain perfect and complete awakening.

9. Seems as though the SILLY, IMMATURE, SCIOLISTIC, IRASCIBLE woman (???) went to SLEEP with Barbados Underground ‘ON HER MIND.’

Because, rather than GIVING THANKS for life and beind able to experience the blessings this NEW DAY brings forth……

…… she WOKE UP at 4:56 AM this MORNING to CONTINUE her ‘ranting, raving’ and verbal abuse from YESTERDAY.

She comes to this forum on a DAILY BASIS, similarly to “our adversary the devil, as a roaring lion, walketh about, seeking whom she may devour,”……

…… “REDUCING herself to ‘PICKING FIGHTS’…… setting up attacks for African women,” while VERBALLY ABUSING men, describing them as ‘ignorant, uneducated, wusses, imps, pimps, fowls and slave minded clowns.’

And, further EMBARRASSING herself by ‘dropping snide remarks’ and ENGAGING in a CONTINUATION of OLD arguments, days, weeks…… even months AFTER the INITIAL encounter.

BEHAVIOUR that isn’t TYPICAL of “a REAL AFRICAN WOMAN.”

She is a TRIBADE. Now we see how easy it is to MASCULINIZE her, got her wearing sneakers…… jeans below the waist, exposing her dingy boxer shorts.

10. Change (Todd Terry Club Mix) Avatar
    Change (Todd Terry Club Mix)

Repetition is your friend
    Not huge jumping
    It is the repetition of things
    That starts to embody something inside of you
    Inspiring change
    So instead of making huge plans with huge steps
    Better to think how to structure your 24 hours
    and put a little bit of what you want to develop there
    inside that day
    because instead of huge steps
    what we are using as a method
    is continuity
    that one is your friend
    repetition is your friend
    if you have a goal
    and you know what type of skills
    which tools you are going to need
    make this goal become true
    I do think you need to figure out
    how you are going to get to those skills
    first of all and then make a plan
    and invest in them
    some skills they come after years of training
    you may feel the benefits of a certain skill very soon
    but ultimately it is repetition
    of course you can have self affirmations
    and use this as a method to push yourself
    because you want to achieve something
    but from time to time it is really necessary to test yourself
    you talk to yourself
    you give positive feedback
    you give affirmations to yourself
    you can create an image of yourself
    and then from time to time you need to make the test
    if what you imagine to be is who you are
    that is the important step
    because if you do not do the testing
    then it is pretty easy sometime you are going to get lost
    lost in the world of your thoughts
    that sometimes have nothing anymore
    to do with how life for you really is

11. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar

When ya make ya dirty bed with dirty politicians, both you and them gotta sleep in it….now it’s a BURNING BED…

.Douglas Trotman was so right…RIP.

12. You know, every now and then
    I think you might like to hear something from us
    Nice and easy but there’s just one thing
    You see, we never ever do nothing nice and easy
    We always do it nice and rough
    So we’re going to take the beginning of this song
    And do it easy
    Then we’re going to do the finish rough
    This is the way we do You know, every now and then
    I think you might like to hear something from us
    Nice and easy but there’s just one thing
    You see, we never ever do nothing nice and easy
    We always do it nice and rough
    So we’re going to take the beginning of this song
    And do it easy
    Then we’re going to do the finish rough
    This is the way we do ‘Proud Mary’

[as a side note:
    Tony Blair and William Hague are two pasty faced white boys (who we call cunt face) warmongers using every dirty trick in their book of hook and crook who follow the the shenanigans of NWO OWG MO of the Western Hemisphere, and cannot be trusted as far as you can spit at them, so their chat about ID shit must be nipped in the bud]

13. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David and @Artax, although I have not read any recent details of the new Bim ID I too was exposed to the social media humbug blather about the new document being used for all types of ‘big-brother government’ nefarious and privacy stealing purposes …

It’s simply the price we pay for the ready access to data … our fore-fathers used to label this behaviour as: ‘monkey handling gun’. In short … most fools monkeying with the gun will actually point and shoot with deadly inaccuracy as they know NOT of what they are handling!

EVERY new citizen’s doc is expected to be significantly advanced from it’s replacement and as such will incorporate new advanced features of security and technology to (attempt to) prevent fraud/theft … whether it’s (newish fangled) QR codes, the now old IC with super new security algorithms and the even older method of security threads, and holographic overlays also with new fangled updates.

Given that reality every person who buys into conspiracy theories will meritlessly consider any new ID doc as compromised by big-tech for whatever incomprehensible reason. (Our own version of Venezuela modified ballot counting machines!)

When for example folks claimed that the IC of the new ID card would give folk access to the card holder’s banking info that was a perfect example of aiming a loaded gun with crazed inaccuracy … it made little sense truly but because the govt had put word into the wind that an app could be placed on the chip to allow non-banked folks to be ‘serviced’ it allowed that gun to be recklessly aimed … and BOOM…death to commonsense!

It’s impossible to debate realities with such ‘gun handlers’!

14. Every day, when one would think that we have reached the nadir of idiocy, Bushie becomes aware of new excavations by the usual suspects.

@ Dribbler
    Bushie fully understands your stand on the new ID card. You are 99% sure that it is designed for the expressed purpose of making all the fancy new technologies available for the benefit of masses (or brasses depending on your ‘bushie-ness’).

…but then again – you also ‘knew’ that the Covid19 injection prevented infection, protected the old from transmission, and was the salvation of mankind…
    It is hard (for Bushie) to grasp that, right after being universally scammed by Fauci, Gates and the Pharma demons, so many BBs are ready to jump on to the digital bandwagon, where there will be centralized control of your info, money, travel and even thoughts….

The most frightening aspect of the whole shiite, is the UNCANNY accuracy of the Bible, and of the prophets, about this universal idiocy…

Boss, this shiite world is currently under demonic management.

Any expectation that these global initiatives are in your best interest is only understandable if, (as GP is wont to pronounce,) the ‘top dog’ (whose monument we recently erected at the Garrison,) is your father.

So carry on smartly if you must…
    But why not have a look back at your Covid19 convictions in the light to hindsight, before placing so much faith in the benefits of global digitization …?

15. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyrught (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar
    Yolande Grant – African Online Publishing Copyrught (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved.

“The most frightening aspect of the whole shiite, is the UNCANNY accuracy of the Bible, and of the prophets, about this universal idiocy…”

The 13-25% that are true, are TRULY THE FRIGHTENING PARTS…but wait…hold that bus…there is more…let the year run, soon come…ya may start by perusing the most frightening parts to get some hints..

“but then again – you also ‘knew’ that the Covid19 injection prevented infection, protected the old from transmission, and was the salvation of mankind…”

Some are just destined, it’s their fate…written in the stars..every scam not created by them, they immediately jump on board..and using many times the misery loves company bully tactics to trap others….but their favorite vaccine now got them worrying if they are next…morgues and hospitals are full…healthcare systems about to crash.

Never follow like sheep…but we done know they wont listen…so why bother.

16. @ Bush Tea

You surprise me. You’re essentially contradicting yourself.

On one hand, you ‘said,’ “It is hard (for Bushie) to grasp that, right after being universally scammed by Fauci, Gates and the Pharma demons, so many BBs are ready to jump on to the digital bandwagon, where there will be centralized control of your info, money, travel and even thoughts”……

…… but, on the other hand, “The most frightening aspect of the whole shiite, is the UNCANNY accuracy of the Bible, and of the prophets, about this universal idiocy…”

If the Bible PREDICTS “this universal idiocy” will OCCUR, then, there isn’t ANYTHING you, me or the man on the ‘Cream of Wheat’ box can DO to PREVENT it from OCCURING.

Perhaps that’s the REASON why “this shiite world is currently under demonic management” and ‘the monument was recently erected at the Garrison.’

To facilitate the occurrence of the events ultimately leading to the ‘end times’ you so often mention on BU.

So, why “kick against the pricks”…… persist in USELESS resistance or protest at events YOU CANNOT CHANGE.

Even if YOU REFUSE to apply for the new digital ID card.

17. I happen to like BU and I come here often.
    People making comments have me wondering if I am some kind of an idiot; reading how contributors are described often leads me sad and feeling low.

My only consolation is that the guy who has provided us with this avenue of expressing ourselves and has generously given his time and effort to this project must be an even greater idiot than I am. I do not know if I should encourage him or beg him to stop and so I whisper ‘Thank you. You, go David’

18. Americans are full of crazy saying. I think they are beautiful and one that I like is
    “Don’t piss in the pot that you are drinking your coffee from”.

You would have thought that there would be no need to give that advice.

19. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar

Dont let idiots who never met the people they describe bother you with their historical and famous ignorance…imps and pimps gotta work for their meagre pay…

Right now their political masters are out of sorts, a lot going on, and not only on the island so the demon slaves are unleashed…to get CRUSHED…

20. Artax
    Prophesy is NOT about the Bible MANDATING a particular outcome which then becomes inevitable.
    It is about ADVISING about a future that will have resulted from the actions of brass bowls.

If we were smart enough to change our actions accordingly, then the outcomes – and hence the results (and the prophecy) would have been quite different.

21. “Prophesy is NOT about the Bible MANDATING a particular outcome which then becomes inevitable.”

if you are not being moody as per form or snitching calling sercurity to put me on double secret probation which is why I call you stush..
    .. perhaps you could sit down and reason why white Christians who used to be pagans are not following Jesus teachings taken from Buddhist and Jainist philosophy of ahimsa the tradition of respect for all living things and avoidance of violence towards others..
    .. it seems that they are deliberately acting as catalysts for the end of world prophecies and reincarnation of the son of man
    .. but I am speaking rhetorically in parables doing my father’s work

22. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar

Kiki…see what division by groups cause. Dont worry we know exactly who partitioned the 2 countries in 1941 and caused heightened hatred.

Now this generation will pay for the criminal actions of long dead trouble makers.

https://www.bbc.com/news/world-asia-india-64740767

23. You should never put people in boxes
    people are people who make people

Caste systems slavery and servitude are wrong
    but most racist cling on to that trope
    to denigrate stereotype stigmatise

East St. Louis Gospelettes-Watch Me

24. “Prophesy is NOT about the Bible MANDATING a particular outcome which then becomes inevitable.”
    “If we were smart enough to change our actions accordingly, then the outcomes – and hence the results (and the prophecy) would have been quite different.”

@ Bushie

Come on Bushie. I don’t beleive you wrote the above comments ‘with a straight face.’

According to the Bible, a series of events are prophesied to occur before the second coming of Christ.

You are essentially suggesting “if we (are) smart enough to change our actions accordingly,” and do what is “right in the eyes of the Lord,” the outcome will be quite different.

Let’s use King Ahab and Jezebel as an example. 1 Kings 16-22: 38.

Nabot rejected Ahab’s offer to purchase his vineyard. And, it came to pass that Jezebel and Ahab, King of Israel, conspired to kill Naboth so as to take take possession of his property.

Elijah the Tishbite PREDICTED the death of Ahab and his wife Jezebel when he confronted him in Naboth’s vineyard.
    “Thus saith the Lord, In the place where dogs licked the blood of Naboth shall dogs lick thy blood, even thine.”

Recall Ahab asked Jehoshaphat, king of Judah, to accompany him in fighting the Syrians. Jehoshaphat said he would do so, only upon advice from the prophets.
    A lying spirit entered into the mouths of the prophets and they prophesied that Ahab should proceed and prosper.

Ahab told Jehoshaphat, “There is yet one man, Micaiah the son of Imlah, by whom we may enquire of the Lord: but I hate him; for he doth not prophesy good concerning me, but evil.”

Ahab went into battle, incognito.

“And a certain man drew a bow at a VENTURE, and SMOTE the king of Israel between the joints of the harness……”

“And one washed the chariot in the pool of Samaria; and the dogs licked up his blood; and they washed his armour; ACCORDING unto the WORD of the Lord which he SPAKE.”

25. “Dont let idiots who never met the people they describe bother you….”

“…… with their historical and famous ignorance…imps and pimps gotta work for their meagre pay…”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I’m sure YOU HAVEN’T MET the people you so often DESCRIBE as “imps and pimps with their historical and famous ignorance” either.

And, as such, YOU’RE AN IDIOT who we shouldn’t alow to bother us as well.

26. “People making comments have me wondering if I am some kind of an idiot; reading how contributors are described often leads me sad and feeling low.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I remember a particular individual who, without provocation, would describe contributors as ‘appallingly ignorant semi-litterate buffoons, mealy-mouthed keyboard warriors, BU idiots, Williams, wild beast and predators that should be in the jungle, wild barking dogs, slimy pigs, hyenas and buzzing flies.’

Rather than condemn such behaviour, we conveniently ignored it…… to exhalt and bestow the title of “brilliant” upon him instead….. and expressed “sadness and feeling low” at his departure.

“Who the cat likes……”

27. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved Avatar
    Yolande Grant – African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved

But there is SUPPORTING EVIDENCE PROVING that you are imps and pimps…misleading the people……am not the one who spent years compiling evidence on you liars and pretenders…but it ended up in my hands….and in that of MANY OTHERS…..so though you believe wholeheartedly that you are anonymous and can hide behind fraudulent monikers to attack me and others…you unknowingly lost that battle long time… years now..and always get laughed at by many…

May Douglas Trotman…RIP he was phenomenal…if he was still with us you would be able to ask…WHO HIRED HIM…to expose you.

All these hints i have been giving and the dimwitted still cant see..but one day….

28. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar

Wuh looka dis shite..so dis was de plan….dem gotta pause it anyway…wuh um int got no security features…and it gine got ya wuh…fingerprint?…did someone else say banking information??…etc, etc, and NO SECURITY FEATURES????… not only are these not ready, they never will be..

“Put digital ID on pause’ – by Sandy Deane March 2, 2021
    A University of the West Indies law lecturer Monday called for Government to put the brakes on the Barbados National Digital ID set to roll out soon and rethink the bill governing it, claiming it is an intrusive government’s “assault on liberty”.

Dr Ronnie Yearwood argued that the national identity register proposed under the Barbados Identity Management Bill “looks like an assault on liberty, and an unnecessary instruction by the government in the collection and use of personal data.”

Last Tuesday, Attorney General Dale Marshall in tabling the bill in the House of Assembly said: “A computer chip containing an individual’s fingerprint, driver’s licence and other personal data are to be included in the pending Barbados Digital ID and National ID Card.

Marshall gave an assurance that the data on the chip would be protected and would only be shared with whom the holder allows to access the information.

But Yearwood, also an attorney-at-law, said he found the bill “troubling” on several grounds.

He first took issue with the AG’s disclosure that the card could have one’s fingerprint if so desired.”

29. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reaerved. Avatar
    Yolande Grant – African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reaerved.

“Marshall gave an assurance that the data on the chip would be protected and would only be shared with whom the holder allows to access the information..”

So where are the security features….lol..murdahhh!

30. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar

Jamaicans are flat out refusing to comply with these minion governments digital scam..

31. Govt set to launch cybersecurity team
    With the recent cyberattack on the Queen Elizabeth Hospital (QEH) serving as an urgent call to action, steps are being taken to ramp up protection of this country’s digital infrastructure.
    Minister of Industry, Innovation, Science and Technology, Davidson Ishmael, disclosed yesterday that Government was putting the finishing touches in preparation for the launch of a Cyber Incident Response Team (CIRT).
    Delivering the feature remarks at the closing ceremony of the Regional Security System’s Cybersecurity Training Programme at Paragon, Christ Church, he said that team, which has been approved by Cabinet, will be responsible for preempting and investigating cyberattacks.
    “This CIRT will serve as a focal point for any cybersecurity-related occurrence, to be responsible for monitoring and detecting any potential threats that may arise within our island,” Ishmael said.
    Last December the QEH reported it was investigating a cybersecurity
    incident, impacting several departments which resulted in a number of disruptions and delays. Those affected included the radiology section, pharmacy and Medical Records.
    Ishmael said Government is not taking such threats lightly and is doing all in its power to prevent a recurrence.
    “The implementation of this CIRT constitutes a noteworthy accomplishment for us and it demonstrates our unwavering commitment to maintaining a high standard of security. We recognise the significance of securing our systems and data, and the CIRT will play an essential role in accomplishing this objective.
    “With its proficient personnel, advanced technology and expeditious response capabilities, the CIRT will furnish us with a dependable and effective mechanism for addressing cyber threats and assuring that our systems remain safeguarded and secured at all times,” he said.
    Ishmael also revealed that Cabinet has approved
    the National Cybersecurity Strategy for Barbados, a plan which will add yet another layer of security to the country’s cyber infrastructure. He added that the much-anticipated cybercrime statute, which will replace the 2005 Computer Misuse Act, is almost ready to be laid in Parliament.
    “This strategy will be the overarching policy and strategy document that guides how we treat to cybersecurity as a Government and as a nation going forward. The strategy speaks to the creation of key cybersecurity posts and roles within the very structure of Government.
    “It places a heavy emphasis on local, regional and international partnerships to ensure that we have a well-rounded and effective approach to both proactive and reactive initiatives within the cybersecurity domain,” he said.
    (CLM)

32. Sensible speculation
    I believe that the full story of the QEH cyber breach has not been told. Given the amount of time it took or is taking to resolve this solution it is possible that the QEH records were held for ransom. Cyber thieves locked GoRoB out of the records and demanded a payment for the release.

The speed of fixing that problem is dependent on how quickly the ransom was/is paid.

II may be wrong, but I doubt it.

33. @John
    Is it possible that your get was given a head fake.
    News of an indictment was leaked to him and he rallied ‘his base’ with a focus on Tuesday. They became excited and angry but Tuesday came and nothing happened. Your hero looked just like Chicken Little when he claimed the sky was falling.

Thursday, they dropped the hammer on him and there is lot of wind but no real fury. America’s smartest man was outsmarted.

34. DB to examine QEH’s operations
    by SHAWN CUMBERBATCH shawncumberbatch@nationnews.com
    THE QUEEN ELIZABETH HOSPITAL (QEH) is to undergo an operational health check ahead of a planned major digital transformation programme there.
    Patients’ experiences throughout their stay at the facility, an examination of the efficiency and time management of medical personnel, and Barbadians who have non-communicable diseases (NCD) being hospitalised, will be studied by experts from the Inter-American Development Bank (IDB).
    Speaking from the well of the House of Assembly during the recent Estimates Debate, Minister of Health and Wellness Senator The Most Honourable Jerome Walcott said the QEH would benefit from upgrades and expansion of its facilities over the 2023-2024 financial year, which started on Saturday.
    The minister also spoke of plans to strengthen the hospital’s information technology system to create a more cyber-resilient system and protect against cyber attacks like the one that recently hurt the hospital’s ability to function fully.
    The IDB has outlined in a document on the $250 000 Technical Support for Monitoring and Evaluation of the Digital Transformation of the Queen Elizabeth Hospital, that the overall effort being backed by a European Union grant, would “fund activities such as an electronic health record system, cybersecurity, and change management to improve quality and efficiency of the hospital’s services”.
    Before then, however, a number of studies will be carried out to monitor and evaluate the digital transformation needs of the QEH, and to explore linkages between primary and hospital care.
    Technical cooperation
    The first component of the technical cooperation “will fund a study of the experience of patients admitted to QEH and a study of the time use of hospital/clinic staff”.
    “The first study will examine how the digital transformation project changes the patient journey and the patient flow through patient journey studies – also called ‘patient shadowing’ – in which trained enumerators accompany patients from admission to discharge at QEH,” the IDB said.
    The work, to be led by a team headed by the bank’s principal health economist Dr Sebastian Bauhoff, will also include a study of “time-andmotion studies of hospital personnel”. In such studies the time aspect focus on how long it takes to complete a task, while motion relates to most efficient way to do it.
    The second component of the project will be a study to quantify the prevelance of ambulatory care sensitive conditions (ACSC). These are NCDs for which outpatient care usually help to reduce the risks of hospitalisation.
    This, the IDB staff explained, was to “to understand why patients with ACSC experience acute events that lead to hospitalisation at QEH [and] the product will be a short report describing the context and drivers of such hospitalisations, along with suggestions for reducing them”.
    They said it was now “unclear what changes to the primary care system may be needed to reduce avoidable hospitalisations”.
    “Improved management of NCDs may require improved processes and protocols at primary care clinics, and possibly additional staff or training,” the technical cooperation document stated.
    “There may also be scope for staff and patients to make use of new digital tools to facilitate management and self-management of NCDs, including integrated electronic medical records
    (also linked to hospital records), patient-facing apps for behaviour change and selfmonitoring, and improved systems for renewing prescriptions and scheduling routine visits.”
    The IDB said the planned studies at the QEH were critical “due to the lack of information in developing countries on digital health to inform the correct implementation of such projects”.
    “There is little evidence on digital transformation of hospitals in Latin American and the Caribbean and, specifically, on how such transformation impacts the experience of patients and staff,” it explained.
    “There is also little evidence on how much hospital-level care could be avoided with better primary care. This is particularly important for countries such as Barbados that have a high burden of NCDs and have limited capacity for hospital care. Improved management of NCDs could improve patient agency and health, reduce unnecessary and costly hospitalisations, and free up capacity at QEH.”

Leave a Reply to Bush TeaCancel reply