In yesterday’s press there was a reminder of Richard ‘Johnny’ Cheltenham’s appointment as Chairman of the Parliamentary Reform Commission (PRC). The mandate of the PRC according to Attorney General Dale Marshall at a recent press conference is to review the structure and function of parliament. 

The other news of interest was the Barbados Bar Association (BBA) calling for action from government to address “issues affecting the rights of persons in police custody…protocols governing the conduct of attorney’s confidential communication with accused persons’ (Nation newspaper 13/02/2023). The BBA was reacting to the discovery of a cellphone in recording mode found in the interview room where attorneys at law interview clients.

The Barbados Labour Party (BLP) in its 2018 Covenant of Hope states at item number 3, ‘The Barbados Labour Party stands for good and transparent governance’. Similarly under Aims and Objects item (g) of the Guidelines of the Barbados Bar Association (Chapter 363) it states- ‘To settle questions of professional conduct, discipline and etiquette’

The two news items should given Barbadians cause to pause. It is over 50 years the two main political parties have been promising Barbadians to enact transparency laws i.e. integrity and freedom of information legislation. Two committees of parliament, the Public Accounts Committee (PAC) and Committee of Privileges have always predictably failed to bring matters tabled to a head. Is there any reason the public is apathetic about governance matters and as a consequence unwilling to participate in government the essence of which is required to maintain a relevant democracy?

The same ineffectiveness can be attributed to the BBA and its complementary entity the Disciplinary Committee (DC). Barbadians have rightly been resigned to complaints raised before the two entities – mandated in law to serve the public – being willfully frustrated. Attorney after attorney rotate through the job of president of the BBA in the hunt for two letters – QC, KC, SC take your pick. The letters confer seniority and priority how the conferee does business in the court system and importantly the ability to charge larger fees to the public. It is a system that continues to be manipulated by the legal fraternity to the disadvantage of members of the public. 

Barbados Underground has posted several blogs supported by documents to expose a matter which involves attorney at law Richard ‘Johnny’ Cheltenham. For the purpose of this blog the same matter requires Cheltenham to present himself at a Disciplinary Committee meeting. From all reports he has refused to appear AND the DC seems powerless to resolve the matter. The continued manipulation of justice by the BBA and DC with the support of government translates to ordinary citizens being chafed. Now we have the news a government that promised ‘good and transparent governance’ has appointed Cheltenham as Chairman of the PRC, another example of the political class laughing at we.

See a few relevant links:

Prime Minister Mottley and members of her government can continue to deliver the pretty talk, however, as long as citizens continue to be frustrated while seeking justice, it is all a pappyshow forcing chickens to come home to roost. Are we there yet? The President of the BBA can issue pretty statements, however, as long as citizens are frustrated in the hunt for justice, it is all a pappyshow forcing the chickens to come home to roost. Are we there yet?

63 responses to “Politicians and lawyers continue to laugh at we”

1. Yes we can if we work towards it
    never say never despite the hardship
    just be strong we can all get along
    no need to be heartless

2. African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar
    African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved.

“WTF !?🤯🤯
    Zoophilia pride march in Germany.”

Pacha…the poor animals who have no way to consent are being roped into to psychotic evil…animals do their thing one way or the next naturally…they need no crazy human inputs….this is now way out of control….and showcases the depths of depravity involved…

Only emptyheaded, brainless idiots will try to justify any of this as it regards children and now animals…

3. African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar

2 words….death penalty.

Some extremely long prison sentences for the minions who assassinated a sitting president for some stupid list of names…another bunch of losers , dozens, in prison Haiti. How do men get caught up in these types of life ending events.

“Haiti President Assassination: Four Arrested In Florida

Four men – Colombian national Arcangel Pretel Ortiz and US citizens Antonio Intriago, Walter Veintemilla, and Frederick Bergmann – have been charged with the assassination of Haitian President Jovenel Moise in 2021, Miami-Dade federal officials announced.

Ortiz and Intriago are accused of hiring over 20 Colombian ex-soldiers, who denied knowledge of the plot’s basic details, insisting they thought they were providing security for a presidential candidate.

Bergmann has been charged with conspiracy to commit murder by illicitly importing bullet-proof vests for the alleged mercenaries. There are now 11 defendants in US custody over the case.”

4. African Queens: Njinga Avatar
    African Queens: Njinga

There is an interesting documentary series on Netflix called African Queens, the first series is about Njinga

5. With two more international tours scheduled to be hosted in the coming months, an executive member of the Barbados Polo Club believes the sport has the potential to help revive the country’s tourism sector and generate significant foreign exchange.

That assertion by Monique Archer follows the conclusion of the international polo series between Barbados and the USA, which climaxed at the Holder’s Hill polo field last weekend.

It was the first polo series on the island since 2019 as the COVID-19 pandemic had initially resulted in the curtailing of sporting activity.

In an interview with Barbados TODAY, Archer said the just-concluded series, which Barbados won 2-1, was a success and she estimated that the crowd on hand for the final game last Saturday was the largest ever for that particular series.

“We are very happy to have had a very successful first tour with the USA team here and it went really, really well. The BTMI [Barbados Tourism Marketing Inc.] assisted with bringing some great entertainment that the visitors and locals certainly loved – the tuk bands and stilt walkers as well as people in Crop Over costumes – it was our biggest crowd ever that we’ve seen at a USA final, so that was phenomenal,” Archer said.

6. African Online Publishing. Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar
    African Online Publishing. Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved.

Pacha…i had taken a few days off and only just saw all of this happening in the Sahel.

“France, the former colonial master in the Sahel, is receiving a series of blows as its foothold shrinks on the back of growing anti-French sentiment and increasing Russian incursions.

After their retreat from Mali following a ten-year failure to eradicate Jihadist groups, now Burkina Faso asked France to withdraw its troops from the country within a month.”

7. African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar

Bushman…earlier this afternoon someone brought to my attention that the people who were refused the right to vote in Barbados last year because of the covid scam….were not told that they could have voted by PROXY….meaning they could have sent an agent to vote in their place…check it out and confirm…i think there were at least 3,000 who could not vote, given a lying covid excuse…you have an illegitimate government as John said all along..

Is that really the type of nasty government wunna got who would deliberately withhold that type of human rights violating information from the people??? And deliberately withheld their constitutilnal rights out of maliciousness, stinkness and evilmindedness …is that the type of nasty government wunna want???

Ah want the fowls to come fuh muh fly out and jump out…come out fowls or Slaves or whatever wunna is dese days..

8. THERE IS A GOOD REASON WHY BOTH THE BLP AND DLP BAND OF ALIBABA AND THE 40 THIEVES INCLUDING MARK MALONEY, DAVID SHOREY AND OTHERS DON’T WANT NO INTEGRITY COMMISSION ON THE 2 X 3 ISLAND WITH TEETH.

IN JAMAICA THE INTEGRITY COMMISSION JUST HANDED OVER PRIME MINISTER ANDREW HOLNESS TO DPP FOR CRIMINAL CHARGES FOR DOING UNDERHANDED BUSINESS WITH AN CLOSE ASSOCIATE WHEN HE WAS EDUCATION MINISTER MORE THAN 10 YEARS AGO.

9. Jamaica PM strongly rejects conflict of interest allegation
    -after Integrity Commission refers report to director of corruption prosecution

(Jamaica Gleaner) Jamaican Prime Minister Andrew Holness has rebuffed allegations of wrongdoing in the awarding of millions of dollars in government contracts to the company of a business associate.

The Integrity Commis-sion has referred a report implicating Holness to the director of corruption prosecution after it concluded that he may have influenced the awarding of the contracts.

The recommendation was made in a 107-page report which contains details of an investigation into the award of government contracts to Westcon Construction Limited between 2006 and 2009.

The report said the company’s directors, Robert Garvin and Donovan Simpson, are known to Holness for more than 20 years.

Contracts were awarded through the Ministry of Education, Youth and Information (MOEYI), when Holness served as portfolio minister, the Social Development Com-mission (SDC), and the National Works Agency (NWA).

In a statement last evening, Holness rejected allegations of impropriety.

“I strongly reject any suggestion or insinuation of wrongdoing and I will do all in my power to ensure that the truth is known,” he declared, noting that he has referred the matter to his lawyers.

Full Statement

I have just completed my preliminary review of the integrity Commission Report.

Please note my initial comments:

1. The matter covered in the report of the OCG/ Integrity Commission (concerns) the award of contracts as far back as 2006-2009, over 14-17 years ago.

2. The failure of agencies to comply with various procurement rules cannot be attributed to me in any capacity and we note that the report does not make such a conclusion.

3. In my response to the Integrity Commission queries of these dated matters, I made it absolutely clear that at no time have I ever exercised influence on any process for the award of contracts.

4. I strongly disagree with the findings of the Integrity Commission regarding conflict of interest based on mere association.

5. It has been the longstanding practice that Members of Parliament are asked to recommend local contractors to undertake works in their constituencies as a practical matter. This practice was introduced during the 1990s and has continued across multiple administrations since. Furthermore, it is also the practice that Con-stituency Project Officers for the Constituency Deve-lopment Fund (CDF) are recommended by the Member of Parliament. It is not unusual that CDF Projects Officers are persons who are already working in the constituency organisation and are associated with the MP. I am certain that a review of local works and CDF Projects Officers will find that MP recommendations feature significantly in a vast number of them, and this has never been cited as exercising undue influence.

6. The Integrity Com-mission’s report also ignores the circumstances of an emergency, where in 2008, 15 years ago the ‘Christmas Work’ programme was late in starting and workers faced a high probability of not being paid. I was asked to recommend an entity to facilitate payment of the ‘Christmas Work Program-me’ before the close of business for the Christmas holidays. This was done in good faith. To see this being targeted and made into something it is not, is gravely disappointing.

7. I strongly disagree with some of the findings of the report and have referred it to my lawyers. I strongly reject any suggestion or insinuation of wrongdoing and I will do all in my power to ensure that the truth is known.

8. I, and the government I lead, remain strongly committed to tackling corruption in our country. The processes of doing so must, however, be practical, balanced, and fair to all concerned

End of statement

The report said 10 contracts were awarded to Westcon Construction through the MOEYI totalling $21.8 million. Five were reported to the Office of the Contractor General by way of the MOEYI’s quarterly contract award (QCA) reports for the period.

The report said that Garvin is “personally” known to Holness and had been employed both in his St Andrew West Central constituency and his personal business.

Garvin was also a director in the Positive Jamaica Foundation Limited, where Holness remains a director.

Garvin, Finance Minister Dr Nigel Clarke and Warren Vernon were noted as ceased directors as at November 1, 2016.

Both Holness and Garvin were also listed as directors of the company Sunshine Mobile Company, for which the core business activity was the provision of transportation consultancy.

Garvin was also listed as a ceased director as at November 1, 2016, in the company West Central Saint Andrew Trust, for which Holness was listed as a director.

Both Garvin and Juliet Holness, the member of parliament for St Andrew East Rural and the prime minister’s wife, were listed as directors of the company Omega Bridge Finance, for which the core business activity recorded was investments.

The prime minister ceased being a director in that company in September 2007 and is listed as a shareholder together with Garvin.

The report said Westcon Construction Limited was recommended in a letter which was dated December 20, 2007, and authored by Holness for the award of contract in the amount of $1,450,000 for works in St Andrew West Central relating to the 2007 Christ-mas Work Programme.

The NWA awarded 34 contracts to the company totalling $33.7 million. The report said 26 fell within the value threshold which required the NWA to submit particulars of the contracts to the then contractor general by way of its QCA reports. Only six were reported.

Two contracts were awarded through the SDC to Westcon totalling $370,000 and $1.4 million. Both were reported to the OCG but there was no evidence of the SDC utilising formal tender procedures for the procurement, the report said.

In relation to the contract that was awarded by the SDC to Westcon Construction, Holness wrote to the SDC, in a letter dated September 23, 2009, and advised that Garvin was employed as the project manager under the Constituency Development Fund in St Andrew West Central. Subsequent invoices were provided to the SDC requiring that payment be made to Garvin in care of Westcon Construction Limited.

“The matter concerning the potential conflict of interest which arose in relation to the recommendation which was made by the Most Hon Andrew Holness is being referred to the director of corruption prosecution for consideration with respect to breaches of the Contractor General Act, the Public Sector Procurement Regulations 2008, the Corruption (Prevention) Act and/or any other applicable law,” the report said.

https://www.stabroeknews.com/2023/02/16/news/regional/jamaica-pm-strongly-rejects-conflict-of-interest-allegation/

10. African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar

Pacha, William, TLSN etc evabody, this one i know of personally. The island is in deep crisis, so what are the self-proclaimed boastingly proud PATRIOTS on BU going to do about it….wuh if ya int do nutten, ya only a PRETEND PATRIOT…

“Barbadians! I had a conversation with an attorney at law, this attorney reached out to me, having read 📚 the information that I posted on the Facebook page.

Barbadians! This attorney confirmed to me, along with 8 more attorneys at law, that, having followed my research, they are of the opinion that this country does not have a Constitution.

Barbadians! I asked the attorney, who shall remain nameless, why are you, and, your colleagues afraid to come forward and settle this vexing issue once and for all, I was then told, they fear victimization.

Barbadians! I was further told by the attorney that too many of the attorneys have business enterprises as their clients, therefore, they cannot, and, will not come forward to address this issue.

Barbadians! Lawyers are uncomfortable with what is happening in Barbados 🇧🇧, over 60 lawyers has reached out to me so far on the constitutional crisis that has taken place in this country, they told me that they are vey upset with the Attorney General and Mia Mottley.”

11. African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved Avatar
    African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved

Pacha…ya dont want to be anywhere near the vacinity when these boys are playing…this need to be reinforced for small island wannabes…lawd..

“Killnet Founder Vows Future Attacks on NATO Servers

“It’s no small feat to make Stoltenberg squeal and it means we hit the right target,” KillMilk said about the Killnet DDoS attacks that disrupted NATO websites.”

12. African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar

Fake leaders have done a very good job of making the region very unstable and volatile..with their lies, corruption and disrespect for the people who vote them to political power.

Expectedly, the story behind this is disturbing.

https://fb.watch/iLrxR8PDS4/?mibextid=RUbZ1f

13. I visited Oistins, earlier this week to check out the government buildings that are been threatened with demolition. It has been suggested that they will be replaced with A.N.OTHER hotel development. The current structures are historical and are clear markers of our development as a people. They are in strategic location, accessible and facilitate community interaction.

I spotted a plantation style house which was in need of complete refurbishment and another building which appeared to have no roof on it, which was in the same location as the above. I could not help but notice the prevalence of litter.

There is a case for the introduction of cultural public buildings which enhances the life’s of Oistin’s local community. The existing plantation house could be transformed into a library, café, cultural space with decent public toilets. The beech front restaurants within the vicinity should be demolished and upgraded. This area should be given a new lease of life.

The current day Oistins still has a lot of charm. It still has that local feel. It would be a pity if this bone headed idea of introducing, yet another, hotel becomes a reality.

Leave a Reply to African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. A Rights Reserved.Cancel reply