In much the same way successive governments have struggled to implement a ‘fit for purpose’ economic strategy- so too have successive Attorney Generals and Commissioners of Police failed to effectively stop violent crime. 

It is accepted that an important strand to defining good leadership is the ‘ability to organize in an effective and efficient manner’. It has become evident after years of a business as usual approach by the hierarchy of the police and government that the two key have surrendered to serving narrow interest. 

During the last decade there was an underground buzz about questionable characters like Bounty Killer courted by ministers in government. On the 2018 campaign trail there is the dramatic video of Mia Mottley in the company of questionable characters as well.

Mia Mottley in the company of…

Let us switch focus to a member of parliament reported to having brandished a gun within the precinct of parliament. The matter predictably died when parliament was prorogued- See We Expect Better Behaviour From Public Officials.

When the events highlighted – not an exhaustive list – are threaded, it translates to a case of what monkey see, monkey do. 

Leadership is the influencing word, the forthright movement in the right direction, the ability to make decisions and be followed. Leadership is your decision-making, the way you communicate, and your ethical values.

Greatworklife.com

See Amit’s analysis over @caribbeansignal.com –  Barbados Murder Statistics January to December 2022

Leaders must lead by example. If our political leaders, commissioners of police et al renege on the responsibility handed them the deterioration in society will continue.

28 responses to “Politicians Must Stop Fraternizing with Underworld Characters”

1. This was a little ‘bolder’ than I thought it would be. I was expecting to see an article without one name and was surprise to be wrong.

Perhaps, this could be the spark that is needed. One fellow raising his head above the parapet and speaking out about what ails Barbados
    👍🏿David👍🏿

2. We can expect that Kiki will now post tons of shaving cream on this thread to illuminate the process.

3. No he will not Bush Tea.

4. In the Dust / The 2 Live Crew Avatar
    In the Dust / The 2 Live Crew

Some people make some dumb connections in their reasoning

Here’s an example, you have never seen
    A black man come into Miami
    With pounds and pounds of marijuana
    Pounds and pounds of cocaine

You have never seen a black man drop off
    A kilo load of cocaine out of a plane, you have never seen this
    But yet it is still is in our community everyday
    And we’re the ones going to jail for it

The system is designed to lead us to stray
    So we turn to drugs and guns for our pay
    It’s the sign of the times
    I gotta get mine all I live is a life of crime

I come up hard from the ran down ghetto
    You talk your ass off but tell me what a nigga know
    All I see is a lot of neighborhood drama
    Babies crying, I wonder where’s the mama

C.O.D. and got rushed to trauma
    A dealer had to deal to make a fast buck
    She was just a patient, what the fuck?
    His back’s against the wall and his dick’s in the dust

5. Bounty Killer [Chorus:].. [Verse 3:].. Avatar
    Bounty Killer [Chorus:].. [Verse 3:]..

[Chorus:]
    A guy a spy dat fi die coppa shot inna dem
    Heart or inna dem eye Kiki seh!
    From you a spy yuh fi die
    Wi suspect seh yuh work fi FBI tru ah

[Verse 3:]
    Weh wi si wi nuh talk and weh wi hear wi nuh seh
    From a guy a informa that must dead today
    Shot in a him face a weh junglist seh
    Wi nuh inna carry go bring come and hear seh
    Nuh waan nuh password yuh nuh have to set it
    Shot that inna station or any weh
    From a guy a informa that must dead today yeah!

6. African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar
    African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved.

Bushman…keep your ears really close to the ground. It’s very clear these have no clue what is really going on. Amazing there is no mention, but not totally surprising.

A few people who kept reminding us got it right over the years. This will be seen only by certain people and definitely will not be televised.

What a a time and space.

7. Somtimes the devil get inside of me..
    “Bushman…keep your ears really close to the ground.”
    ** My ears are actually on the ground

“It’s very clear these have no clue what is really going on.…”
    I don’t have a clue either. Please tell us

” This will be seen only by certain people and definitely will not be televised.”
    ** what will be seen?
    where will it be seen?
    when will it be seen?
    Should the Bushman ears be on the ground or should his eyes be in the sky?
    Who are these people?

I am not in the loop, but I wanna join in.

8. What about the socalled underworld characters like Joseph Biden who along with his son, and he acting as the “top man” was as underworldly as can be, or Kigame who was recently hosted in Barbados and fetted. or a criminal “moderate’, ‘pragmatic’ “democratic” imperial system which lives off the life’s blood of the nations of the earth?

These half-baked and perennial notions seem never to advance beyond the puerile stage. As if time had stood still. How could it be possible for people to continue all these years with such a static level of awareness? What is that deep fear represented in this inability to interrogate the systemic, at it’s core?

Of course, some underworld characters, even amongst the local misleadership class, are easy pickings. But what are the underlying causative reasons these mere symptoms constantly present?

9. African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar

Theo…these are things we spoke about thousands of times over the years on BU and got cussed, just replay all the many attacks and ya got ya answers. This why we are at the information on those topics has completely dried up stage, they werent appreciated when given freely, so now the price for not knowing must be paid…. weeee tried our best and must now look after us…first priority.

Pacha…the whys may not even matter anymore, all indicators are pointing to that.

Given certain things now unfolding at warp speed that we did not think would happen in our lifetimes, the die is cast. The misleadership literally got their work cut out for them, but dont yet understand the magnitude. We can now gauge performances for documenting later.

Hell of a time to be a witness. Hell of a time to have reconnected.

10. African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar

“How could it be possible for people to continue all these years with such a static level of awareness? What is that deep fear represented in this inability to interrogate the systemic, at it’s core?”

the ones who have not gotten a full grasp on the reality as others have, can’t be helped. There has been too much time wastage, not figuratively but literally. Time has caught up. Of course most will echo Theo’s sentiments of not seeing or knowing because of the invisibility that not even i thought would be this concentrated.

To Theo:

Not that i dont want to tell you but it will do no good at this late stage. We all just have to watch things play out particularly those who did not listen and therefore put no protections in placd.

11. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

But @David, if “shaving cream” best illuminates this or any other post then what’s wrong with the cream!😎

Let’s not get all esoteric and pouty again into 2023 but your suggestion that “During the last decade there was an underground buzz about questionable characters like Bounty Killer courted by ministers in government” is DEFINITELY prejudiced based on race, ethnicity and class!

Based on the evidence of historical records – as you allude to – it is clear that dramatic photos of EWB, Tom, Bree or Owen Seymour with their associated ‘over-world’ bag men and women of PROVEN ‘questionable character’ (some were indicted locally) undeniably tell us that our politicians CANNOT operate without these type of characters!

Who provides the boats for the late night deep sea trips to feed the fish or grill some ‘sole’ on a turgid spit😒; who offers the planes for the escapades overseas; who massages the books at Health or NIS that gets us spectacle of a $3Mil cheques or millions of $$ lost for covid vaccines!

So yes brother David, we can all agree that “It has become evident after years of a business as usual approach by the hierarchy [that our leaders] have surrendered to serving narrow interest” !

It’s now just a different type of “interests” showing as large and in charge!

As your Griot Bushman always say: our ass is grass!

12. @Dee Word

Reluctantly the blogmaster has to agree with some that a culture of corruption has become ensconced in the Barbados landscape. We may have reached the tipping point and to correct will call for draconian reforms.

13. no no no David. We are not near that tipping point yet. But, good thread. Let those who want to keep their heads in the sand continue to do so.

14. NorthernObserver Avatar

Lol…tipping means…one side is ‘more weighty’ than the other? The tipping done. The appropriate term is entrenched.

15. @NO

The tipping point is about an awakening in the citizenry to force change from the establishment. Are we there yet?

16. BIG Stupessss

17. @1:58 PM
    Should this make us feel comfortable that The QE hacked will be untangled by local IT experts?

18. Politicians must stop what?!
    Which whom then, would birds of a feather flock…?

19. African Online Publishong Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar
    African Online Publishong Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved.

Bushman….horrifying but not surprising that the blind led the blind into the darkest corner they could find from which there are no exits, save for the next 3-4 generations in the future maybe, if those are not like these. These have no clue and can only sit in their dependent state as socialized.

I said that to follow up with stark reality in another year or two.

And that’s why i dont follow groups or join cliques.

20. Perhaps, this could be the spark that is needed. One fellow raising his head above the parapet and speaking out about what ails Barbados

Xxxxxxcc cx

YOU GUYS ARE REAL FULL OF SHIT.

WHEN THESE THINGS WERE PREVIOUSLY EXPOSED AND ACCUSATIONS OF THROW A SHADE CREW OR OVERSEAS.

I HOPE MIA AND HER POLITICAL BUDDIES ALONG WITH MARK MALONEY KEEP BULLING THE 2X3 ISLAND WITH HER LARGE VIBRATOR WITHOUT VASELINE.

WUNNA LIKE IT SO.

21. Prophets of Rage Avatar
    Prophets of Rage

Don’t believe the hype
    Bajans love to portray themselves as the prophets of shit
    but God’s prophets are the singers and players of instruments

22. NorthernObserver Avatar

David, I suspect the truthful answer is who knows. It takes an event, which in itself may not be earth shattering, to capture the citizenry. Then, in hindsight it will be said, the foundation was there, the signs were there.

23. African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar

“YOU GUYS ARE REAL FULL OF SHIT.

WHEN THESE THINGS WERE PREVIOUSLY EXPOSED AND ACCUSATIONS OF THROW A SHADE CREW OR OVERSEAS.”

Drenched in it. Despite many years of warnings, they allowed themselves to be misled by fraudulent story lines from those with a cowardly weakness for whiteness and sadistic admiration for white crimes committed against their people. There is no recovery from that, not when you allowed yaself to be swept along with all the other sheeple.

24. The Murder Tracker on the BU Sidebar has begun the 2023 journey.

25. Donks, Gripe,and Josh Avatar
    Donks, Gripe,and Josh

An elephant in the room on this burning issue is the companion of our latest national hero. Every true Bajan is super proud of our new hero’s achievements. When one looks closely at her most recent boyfriend the father of her child it gives reason for pause.

From all reports the national hero’s child father is on charges related to gun possession and the shooting of another man. These are incredibly serious charges. In light of the issue under discussion how are our young people interpreting the company being kept by our young national hero.

The new national hero deserves the massive respect which she earned spectacularly through dedicated hard work.

On the other hand, the question cannot be avoided of the effect the national hero’s relationship with an alleged gun man have on the impressionable minds of our young people.

Regrettably it is segments of our youth causing havoc in our communities with gun play.

The elephant in the room needs answers before it will go away.

Leave a Reply to HantsCancel reply