For decades the private transportation system has been inadequately regulated by government and public sector- the consequence is a sub culture developed that has negatively affected a generation of OUR children. In the absence of empirical data the blogmaster is prepared to say deviant behaviour by school children promulgated daily in the media is the result. 

In 2018 when the current administration was voted into office, one of the more high profile appointments was former banker and relative of the Prime Minister Ian Estwick as Chairman of the Transport Authority. Estwick’s mandate was to ensure the authority delivery on its mandate to regulate the transport sector. In less than a year it was clear the Transport Authority was another ‘toothless tiger’ and Estwick resigned having failed in his assignment.

In December 2022 we have another update. 

Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Transport Santia Bradshaw advised the country this week an amendment to the traffic laws designed to address the troublesome PSV sector is coming. In Bradshaw’s words the amendment will “give greater teeth” to the Transport Authority and is expected to be approved by Cabinet in the near future.

For the last 40 odd years government after government, whether DLP or BLP, refused to provide adequate leadership to the transport, as a consequence a sub culture has contributed to destabilizing a Barbados society that was once the envy of many. Wasn’t Barbados considered a model Black country way back when?

The blogmaster understands the ownership of buses in the PSV sector is a composition of The Who is Who in Barbados. There is the corruption element associated with how licenses are approved by principals at the Ministry of Transport- including successive ministers- and assigned to particular routes. These are not exhaustive observations.

Here it is on the eve of 2023, a majority Black educated tiny country has been unable to address an issue that continues to negatively impact the behaviour of citizens, especially our children. As adults we have usurped our primary responsibility to care for our children. In brings into question what is the Return on Education investment given the billions allocated to the national budget post independence. Then again there is the saying book smart is not street smart.

To be expected,we created the problem now we point fingers at the children, at the unruly PSV workers and others. We like it so.

74 responses to “Fighting, fighting, fighting – Actions have consequences”

1. | “Why are the youth so angry?”. It is a complex and wicked problem which I have spoken to on several occasions. I do this with full awareness that the issues cannot be fully addressed in this column.
    They are too complex. Too wicked.|

Sometimes listening is better than talking
    try asking the youths why they are so angry

2. Big Bout
    Round 1
    In Jolly Old UK there is the Megan Vs The Stuck Up Racist Brits and Media playing out, which breaks down slavery racism colonialism ism and schisms of Babylon System.

3. School head for searches BAPPS president also backs metal detectors
    by CARLOS ATWELL
    carlosatwell@nationnews.com
    IT IS TIME more schools conduct searches of students as well as look at using metal detectors to address the rising violence, says president of the Barbados Association of Principals of Public Secondary Schools (BAPPS) Stephen Jackman.
    However, he said such measures must be undertaken carefully as children still had to be treated as children.
    Two Fridays ago, a male student of Parkinson Memorial Secondary School stabbed
    another with a scissors following an altercation, causing the school to close. Last Thursday, a boy at Deighton Griffith Secondary School pulled a knife on another after the latter struck him.
    Jackman, who is principal of Frederick Smith Secondary School in Trents, St James, said it was time to institute detection measures.
    “Frederick Smith has been forced, for the last three years, to conduct searches every day, though we are the exception. Even so, [BAPPS] has always encouraged the use of random searches for the safety of schools. I am all for focused searches where there is clear evidence there is a problem.
    “However, I would prefer this than mandatory searches across the board. Where we have information something is brewing and there is suspicion, then targeted
    or random searches can be conducted on a frequent basis. We do get information something is brewing between particular students or districts; then you can [conduct] focused searches,” he said.
    As for metal detectors, the principal said BAPPS will also support their use, though in a limited capacity.
    “We are at the stage where we may well have to use metal detectors during random searches, but I don’t think we are ready for each student to have to pass through a metal detector upon entry to school [as is done overseas]. I think we can use hand-held detectors instead as an additional tool to enhance random searches,” he told the DAILY NATION.
    However, Jackman said that detection was useless without the backing of prevention measures, which was where the schools and parents had to come in.
    “We must increase the abilities of student services to do interventions. It doesn’t make any sense having the detection measures if you are not also putting preventative things in place to show students there are alternatives [to resorting to violence].”
    In this regard, he suggested a major increase in the number of secondary school counsellors. With six counsellors currently spread across 14 secondary schools, he wants to see two assigned to all 21 schools.
    The BAPPS head is urging parents to play their role as well as he said some of the messages coming
    from households were counterproductive.
    “Parenting has to also be an important part of the process. You hear parents talking about, ‘If somebody hits you, hit them back’ and that is only promoting the culture of violence. We are going to have to help parents learn alternatives as well and teach both the students and their parents how to resolve conflict without confrontation, which leads to escalation.
    “Many conflicts also start on social media. I know some schools have started to educate students on the Computer Misuse Act. We must also start to train peer mediators on how to de-escalate situations. Our focus must be on prevention.
    “The harsh reality is we are never going to be able to track all the weapons which are passing through our schools, so it must be all about increased security measures and increased education to prevent the move towards violence,” he said.
    Even so, Jackman said
    BAPPS will have to embark on a programme where it records the number of weapons confiscated in order to give a report, saying this was something they now had to take seriously as such information was not at hand.
    Following the two incidents, Barbados Union of Teachers president Rudy Lovell called for a meeting of the Ministry of Education and key stakeholders to address the spike in violence. He said students were now leaving home with weapons instead of stationery and asked parents to check their children’s bags.
    Lovell also called for greater psycho-social support for at-risk students and their parents, saying there was a need for more guidance counsellors, support services and safety officers, as well as additional psychologists. He said there was currently only one employed by the ministry to cater to the issues presented by students in more than 100 public schools.

4. What a set of brass bowls….
    Lovell can continue to seek guidance and help from Mia, Kaye and de Chief….

Isaiah 3..outlines the REAL problem.

9 The show of their countenance doth witness against them; and they declare their sin as Sodom, they hide it not. Woe unto their soul! for they have done evil unto themselves.
    10 Say ye of the righteous, that it shall be well with him; for they shall eat the fruit of their doings.
    11 Woe unto the wicked! it shall be ill with him; for what his hands have done shall be done unto him.
    12 As for my people, children are their oppressors (in schools and on the Blocks) , and women rule over them. O my people, they that lead thee cause thee to err, and destroy the way of thy paths. (borrowing for bling….)

(…so we donkeys are grass… Bushie 2022)

5. @Bush Tea

As long as humankind has existed haven’t we had non believers and those practicing usury?

6. @ David
    …and you said that to say…?

We also had honesty, truth, love and …wisdom.
    Part dem is now…?

7. The point Bush Tea is that we have never lived in a perfect world. All the human characteristics and behaviours have spanned the gamut.

8. African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2022. All Rights Reserved. Avatar
    African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2022. All Rights Reserved.

Bushman…ah wonder if anyone, the fowls, apologists.and enablers specifically, thought of what roles they will get in this new world order of a one world government, wuh i int see dem getting none, dah is the onliest ting that Hiel HitSchwab, Lord god Rothschild and i agree on. The useless breathers/eaters are taking up too much space and resources, and they are now extinct in my view and contribute nothing but utter shite, no developmental strategies that can actually work, no educational inputs only shite colonial politics that not even colonists are interested in anymore. But there they are trying to turn everyone into undereducated fowls and brainless political clowns like themselves. Just look at how many YEARS they wasted with that idiocy. They have nothing to offer in the way of independent critical thinking skills, wuh nuhbody int looking for no more slaves/slave minded, and apparently in de depopulators view they are definitely not needed, wuh i heard Hiel HitSchwanb seh so with my own two ears.. but their lying political masters int telling dem nutten cause they looking to save their own useless asses and to hell with the slave minded followers/supporters, bunch of idjits.

Anyone volunteering for the gas job?…send ya resumes and application forms to:

9. If the metal detectors are not installed in a short time it will not be knives but guns.

10. Concerned….
    Are we past the edge of the slippery slope?
    Lie detector (suggested by a US agent)
    Metal detectors
    Stop and search
    Continue to lie to yourself

11. African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2022. All Rights Reserved. Avatar
    African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2022. All Rights Reserved.

Anyone volunteering for the gas job?…send ya resumes and application forms to:

Ah forgot to add, don’t forget to start with the despicable lowlife fowls, imps and pimps first, hint, hint.

12. We need to give it more time before slapping on the back statements.

Ivy police outpost bearing fruit
    THERE HAS BEEN a reduction in reported crimes in The Ivy, St Michael since a police outpost was set up there.
    Superintendent Adrian Broomes, who has responsibility for the Bridgetown Division, gave that assessment this week.
    “Since our deployment in that district, no shooting or violent incidents have affected The Ivy area,” he said.
    Following a series of shootings which left many residents concerned about their safety and the safety of their loved ones, the Barbados Police Service placed a mobile unit in the area in October.
    Many residents had also called for a greater police presence and Broomes said they have been cooperating with the officers.
    “The residents are very receptive to the outpost being in their space.
    They feel safe, mostly due to the fact that our officers interface with them daily on a personal level. We also did a community concert with the assistance of the Police Service Band and community practitioners last month and the reviews were great,” he added.
    When the NATION team visited the area on Wednesday, some officers were seen interacting with residents. Some residents agreed that they did notice an improvement. They said they hoped it remained that way.
    “Everything is quiet and I am very grateful for that. I don’t hear of any shootings now like the ones we had a few weeks back,” one woman said.
    Another added: “We may have to knock on wood and pray to God that it stays this way but for right now I’m pleased.”
    (TG)

13. In related news.

Dottin heading Anti-Corruption Agency

FORMER COMMISSIONER of Police, Darwin Dottin, has been appointed director of the Anti-Corruption and Anti-Terrorism Agency.
    He was appointed Monday by President The Most Honourable Dame Sandra Mason. The appointment is for three years.
    “I acknowledge the confidence that has been placed in me and the responsibilities that go with the job. Corruption and terrorism and their related activities are regarded across nations – both developed and developing – as matters that affect national security and also facilitate the misuse of public resources,” the former top cop said of the appointment.
    “I, therefore, look forward to working with strategic partners in Barbados and also with regional and international
    agencies to carry out the legislative aims of the Anti-Corruption and Anti-Terrorism Act.”
    The Anti-Corruption and Anti-Terrorism Act 2021-5 makes provision for the establishment of an Anti-Corruption and Anti-Terrorism Agency to investigate acts of corruption and terrorism and related matters. In addition, the Act provides for the appointment of a director to administer the agency.
    The duties of the director include day-today administration and operation of the agency; carrying out efficient and effective activities to combat corruption and terrorism in collaboration with named strategic partners and law enforcement agencies; implementing measures for the prevention, detection, reduction and mitigation
    of the consequences of corruption and terrorism, and receiving complaints in relation to alleged or suspected acts involving corruption and terrorism.
    (PR)

14. Judge Greaves has always shown he has a finger on the pulse of the nation.

Judge: Bajans angry over little things
    WHY ARE Barbadians so angry?
    Justice Carlisle Greaves posed this question after he dealt with a brother who confessed to killing his brother over the playing of loud music.
    “Why does it take such little unimportant things to trigger us to curse and abuse people, to threaten people with violence?” the judge asked.
    “We are so angry. For what? Over little things. Here we have a case where one is disturbed from sleep, where one doesn’t act with consideration for the other and the next thing it escalates and a brother is dead and everybody is left to suffer.”
    And he urged Barbadians to say a prayer and to be grateful for what they have.
    “For years I have preached that we must take time and breathe deeply and, rather than complain, we must give thanks,” he said.
    The judge was speaking as Jaron O’Neal Dottin was back before him in the No. 3 Supreme Court yesterday. He later released Dottin on time served.
    Dottin, 22, a landscaper, of Dukes Tenantry, St Thomas, was originally arraigned with murdering his brother Jamon Lewis on April 13, 2020.
    He denied that offence but pleaded guilty to manslaughter.
    Senior State Counsel Neville Watson appeared for the prosecution, while attorney Safiya Moore represented the manslayer.
    Sorry for pain caused
    “I want to start by saying it’s been hard going not only for my family but for me. I am sorry for
    the circumstances and for putting my family through pain,” Dottin said.
    “I just want to move forward with my life. I just want to do something productive,” he said.
    Justice Greaves later called the case “sad and unfortunate”.
    “If anything, it demonstrates how easy it is for us to go from zero to 100; how we can go from one moment of peace to a state of war and misery; how within a split second we can go from a good lawful citizen to a conviction for a serious crime,” the judge noted.
    “We in this community have to train ourselves to live in a state of peace, quietness and humility. If we do we might be able to reduce the violence we have in our community, both verbally and physically,” Justice Greaves said, as he urged Barbadians to thank God for what they had received and for their health.
    The judge went on to say he had considered the aggravating and mitigating factors, as well as submissions from both counsel.
    He said he had considered that five years or 60 months was an appropriate starting point for Dottin’s sentence.
    He then deducted one-third for Dottin’s guilty plea and 11 months for mitigating features.
    He noted Dottin had spent 32 months on remand and deemed that he had served his time.
    Take care of daughter
    “Go home and take care of that little girl (Dottin’s brother’s daughter). You must now be her father,” Justice Greaves told Dottin.
    Senior State Counsel Watson, in outlining the facts, said Dottin was home in his bedroom when he was awakened by his brother, Lewis, who was cleaning his room and
    making a loud noise. Dottin got up and went to his brother. There was a heated exchange which escalated into an argument.
    The two ended up outside in the road. Dottin went next door to get his mother so she could calm the situation.
    As Dottin was walking back to his home, he saw his brother standing with a bottle in each hand.
    Their sister intervened, as did their mother. However, the deceased threw the bottles at Dottin, who dodged them. The deceased then took up another bottle and was about to throw it when Dottin picked up a piece of wood and struck his brother once in the head.
    However, when Dottin realised that Lewis had been knocked unconscious, he ran next door to his employer to get transport to the Queen Elizabeth Hospital.
    However, an ambulance arrived shortly.
    Lewis was taken to the Surgical Intensive Care Department but succumbed to his injuries days later.
    The autopsy determined Lewis had suffered a fractured skull and bleeding on the brain. Death was attributed to traumatic head injuries.

15. @David

With the elevation of Corey Lane as Associate AG (my title) there were too many cooks in the AG Office thus a make work job was created for Darwin Dottin, he is now Anti Corruption Anti Terrorism Czar…..

And wunnah think Santa Claus isn’t real

All I want for Christmas is a…..

16. @Sargeant

It was Bertie vs Darwin when the Dees were in office. Dees were behind Bertie and Darwin was Bee. Whether B or D in office, work must be found for the boys.

17. Qualified.

Dottin was awarded a Bachelor of Laws Degree from The University of the West Indies; the Legal Education Certificate from the Hugh Wooding Law School; a Postgraduate Diploma in Applied Criminology and Police Studies from Cambridge University, and the MSc in Security and Risk Management, with Merit, from the University of Leicester.

He is a graduate of the National Academy of the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) and the Police Staff College, Bramshill, United Kingdom. (BT/BGIS)

18. “Whether B or D in office, work must be found for the boys.”

You are correct.

Remember, after Bertie Hinds officially retired from the RBPF in January 2013, he was subsequently appointed Deputy Executive Director of the Regional Security System (RSS).

Hinds holds a Bachelor’s degree in History and Law from UWI and a Master’s in Criminology. He was also a part-time lecturer in criminal justice and criminology at UWI Cave Hill.

19. PSV sector should be treated like public utility:
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    He mean we should sell it to the Canadians?
    Steupsss
    The problem is not with the PSV sector…
    it is with the Political Sector..

…and that bunch CANNOT heal themselves…

20. The public is warned to avoid the most dangerous person in Barbados.

Police profilers have indicated the person is a male PSV driver who is a parent. We are warned to exercise extreme caution when he is accompanied by his two teenage children.

Meanwhile, at the port a container of …

21. https://barbadostoday.bb/2022/12/16/psv-body-rejects-notion-of-regulating-routes-salaries-in-the-sector/

Now these things are above my paygrade, so do not expect a well-reasoned argument from me.

When you start talking about regulating salaries, I can see jealousy and envy operating.

These guys may need more regulations and more policing. Please do so.

When you start talking about regulating worker salaries, it enters a dimension other than bad behavior. Some of these guys “without CXCs” (that’s and expression (unknot your knickers) … sum of dese guys “wdout CXCs” mekking mo money dan me and my degree. We gotta stop dat.” Can you handle the truth???

22. RE: “When you start talking about regulating worker salaries, it enters a dimension other than bad behavior. Some of these guys “without CXCs” (that’s and expression (unknot your knickers) …”

Come on, my friend. Your line of reasoning is a bit unfair and disappointing as well. I know you can do much better than this.

“Regulating PSV operators’ salaries” has been a topic of discussion for several years.

A few years ago, some PSV owners, especially the Indians:
    (1). paid their drivers and conductors 25¢ and 5¢ (30%) ‘out of every $1’ respectively.
    (2). ‘leased’ the ZR, whereby the drivers were required to give the owner $500 per day, fill the vehicle with diesel, with the remaining fare collected being proportionally divided between the driver and conductor.

It is reasonable to assume there was a proportional increase in those rates relative to the increase in bus fare (now at $3.50).

Using the OLD RATES above, a ZR driver would have to collect $500 in bus fares to earn $125 per day.

200 passengers @ $2.50 = $500.

A ZR is licensed to carry at least 14 passengers.

Bear in mind, there are routes, such as Wansted (3), Fairy Valley (3D), Jackson (3Y), Deacons (4), Bush Hall (6) and Silver Sands (11), where the number of ZRs are in excess of what would be reasonably required to provide adequate service.

Those methods of payments CREATED problems such as overloading; going ‘off route’ to get ahead of competitors; speeding; ‘dragging,’ which prevents the free flow of traffic; music to attract passengers and a general non-compliance with traffic and civil laws.

Why???? Because the guys are FORCED to ‘HUSTLE’ to earn decent wages.

RE: “sum of dese guys “wdout CXCs” mekking mo money dan me and my degree. We gotta stop dat.” Can you handle the truth???”

Please note, Transport Board bus drivers’ wages are ‘REGULATED.’ And, they can earn over $1,200 per week with overtime…… “wdout CXCs.”

Leave a Reply to African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2022. All Rights Reserved.Cancel reply