Prime Minister Mia Mottley

November is recognised as the month those who lost lives in the First World War are honoured. Also, it is the month Barbados celebrates its independence from England on 30 November 1966. During this month the blogmaster will welcome our usually loquacious Prime Minister to take a pause from her international schedule to include what some in this forum consider important updates in her Independence Day message.

It seems to the blogmaster that in the last four years with the country lurching from from crisis to crisis and indicator on the misery index doing poorly, we have a people who need to get the mojo back. How do our leaders both political and other in civil society work to restore the confidence of a people?

A good place to begin is to make sure project 1, project 2, project 3, policy 1, policy 2, policy 3 are well researched with relevant information gathered to guarantee efficient implementation. During the process Barbadians – all groups in civil society – must be adequately consulted and treated with respect in the process.

Using the KISS principle (keep it simple stupid) Mottley and her large Cabinet need to mash breaks, identify two or three projects that can be implemented without the usual muck up and hopefully it will eliminate the opportunity for continuing discord in the country. Unfortunately we have become a polarised nation, the great man must be doing backflips in the great beyond.

Few things will tug at the sensibilities of Barbadians more than matters related to social security (NIS) and education. In November our government should make it a priority to address the two matters head on by sharing what is the high level plan to restructure the National Insurance Scheme, a relevant Education Plan including the political football 11+ AND Energy Plan. Now more than every in the country’s short history effective leadership at ALL levels of society is needed.

There is a reason billions have been invested to educate Barbadians. It isn’t an accident the individual considered the father of independence introduced a social security system and free secondary education. What is the legacy of politicians post 80s? What is the legacy of non government actors post 80s? Despite the enormous sums allocated to education we find ourselves battling a crisis of leadership at many level in Barbados. This subject matter has been discussed many times in this forum and unfortunately there seems to be no light at the end of the tunnel. Almost all of what use to be our best businesses that symbolised the best of Barbados are owned by non Barbadians. The result is we have no control to be craftsmen of our fate. Is it too late to chart a new path? The blogmaster known to be an eternal optimist in the past shouted YES, these days the yes is muted.

A topic one can be prolix but it is not necessary. Our leaders in all areas of society have to find ways to fire the collective will of Barbadians. The public outcry to changing the name Independence Day to Barbados National Day- if for the wrong reasons in many cases – supports the view hope may spring eternal after all.

67 responses to “Time to mash brakes”

1. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Theo,…there is an article going around couple days now with Bushman’s friend Petra Wickie starring .. along with other well known public nuisances …this is not the exact text of the heading but you will get the message that goes like this:

“the wickedness of petra wickie and Dominica the new bajan colony”

and can be found @ dominicapatriot.com

don’t let them fool you, they are famous far and wide and not in any positive way..don’t let your heart be troubled they will be no better than what they are, and are just as manufactured by experts.

2. That is exactly what they thought they could carry into Africa with all the problems the continent already has…they wanted to be the add ons.

let them keep that WICKEDNESS in the Slave societies that they are polluting and destroying with their small time corruption.

it’s only since that old article surfaced ya hearing about a snap election.

3. I happen to be staying in an adjacent island. I took this as an opportunity to look at what is happening in St Vincent, St Lucia and Dominica.

Like Barbados, the election gimmicks, second class citizens and tourism dependency appear to be an integral part of their national fabric. Different ships with different captains but all on the same course.

However, it would appear that the contributors to various online news has a little more fire in teir belly than their Bajan counterparts
    https://www.stvincenttimes.com/tourists-better-than-we-says-former-lecturer-shefflorn-ballantyne/
    “In other words, unvaccinated Vincentians are restricted in our own country by protocols that are not binding on foreigners entering the islands. We are required to agree to weekly testing, masking up at all times and physical distancing or we cannot enter a classroom to teach. As to foreign tourists – no such restrictions exist. This discrimination reflects the unscientific thinking of this government at a time when the science dictates that all covid protocols should be abolished.

Prime Minister Gonsalves often says that the highest office in the land is that of citizenship. Where is this reflected in his policies? It is clearly not the official position of his Government.”

Light the truth. Burn, baby burn.

4. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

So while the dumb and foolish are basking in false pride and fake glory, the truth is making the rounds of the globe, DAYS NOW.

dem too love to fool demselves tho…

5. Mottley, Ali in talks to strengthen Africa ties
    THE CARIBBEAN AND AFRICA are making more moves to deepen their partnership, with meetings being held yesterday to commence a pharmaceutical bridge involving the region and Rwanda.
    Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley; President of Guyana, Dr Irfaan Ali; and President of Rwanda, Paul Kagame, met in Sharm El-Sheikh in Egypt on the sidelines of the ongoing United Nations Climate Change Conference (COP27) to discuss the furthering of pharmaceutical equity for global public health.
    The three held talks with president of the European Commission, Ursula von der Leyen, and director general of the World Health Organisation (WHO), Dr Tedros Ghebreyesus.
    The key recommendation from the meeting was an inter-governmental South-South cooperation initiative aiming at the development and manufacturing of 60 per cent of all essential,
    contemporary pharmaceuticals for the populations of Latin America, the Caribbean and Africa within their respective continents by 2040.
    Initially, the intention is to focus on nextgeneration oncological drugs, preventive and therapeutic vaccines, as well as modalities for women’s health. It is also stipulated that all manufacturing sites related to the endeavour will be in full compliance with the relevant stipulations of the COP21 Paris Agreement.
    The leaders of the countries and organisations have emphasised that all interested countries in the Caribbean, Latin America and African region are invited to join.
    “Today is a truly historic moment as with a great sense of urgency and understanding, South-South cooperation rose to the fore to address matters of global public health,” Mottley said.
    “I want to dearly thank President Ali, President
    Kagame and president von der Leyen for recognising the importance of this venture, and congratulate all stakeholders who have been instrumental in developing this pharmaceutical transatlantic bridge between Africa and Latin America and the Caribbean.”
    Ali said he was glad to be part of the historic venture. “From the outset, I congratulate my colleague Mia Amor Mottley, Prime Minister of Barbados, for stewarding this cause, and to President Paul Kagame for his role in advancing this partnership that would provide the opportunity for the peoples of Africa, Latin America and the Caribbean to have access to pharmaceuticals developed within their own regions.” (BA/PR)

6. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

For those who don’t keep up with real world news.

Tthe COP27 Mules and Ponies Road Show feature fraud countries, many of which are preaching climate change fight blah, blah blah, but have imprisoned all their climate change activists…a detail they will never mention at the Mules and Ponies Road Show, but real news media are publishing their lies and hypocrisy.

btw….no intelligent people would ever trust any medicines coming from any of these frauds ever again, especially the criminal wannabe slave masters and colonizers in black face.

7. @TheO
    “It bothers on amusing that we cannot get organizations for regional cooperation to work, but yet we can hastily borrow the election tricks and gimmicks of our neighbors”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    It bothers Bushie pass amusing, that we have a set of regional jackasses – who have been unable to get as simple a matter as a Caribbean Court, or Airline, or Ferry service, or even shiite cricket to work …
    BUT who can somehow visualize high level Global relationships with
    “inter-governmental South-South cooperation initiative aiming at the development and manufacturing of 60 per cent of all essential,
    contemporary pharmaceuticals for the populations of Latin America, the Caribbean and Africa within their respective continents by 2040.”

Steupsss…
    There should be a law restricting politicians from talking such OBVIOUS shiite- and indeed, from talking PERIOD, unless the damn speech is first vetted by at least a CXC student.

8. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“It bothers Bushie pass amusing, that we have a set of regional jackasses – who have been unable to get as simple a matter as a Caribbean Court, or Airline, or Ferry service, or even shiite cricket to work …
    BUT who can somehow visualize high level Global relationships ”

they are the latest favorite dressed up monkeys with extremely evil histories and track records trotted out by the usual suspects to fool the people, big mistake, this time around, only imps, fowls, pimps and Slaves would believe anything any of them say, and they are in the minoritiy…the majority carry more intelligence.

am surprised they have not decked them out in capes.

“There should be a law restricting politicians from talking such OBVIOUS shiite- and indeed, from talking PERIOD, unless the damn speech is first vetted by at least a CXC student.”

all obviously a setup by van der SLIME now under criminal investigation in Europe.

am all for cutting out their LYING TONGUES…oh what a challenge for politicians attempting to tell the next lie and can only GRUNT….the perfect punishment.

9. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

So Bushman….wuh do yuh tink?

“Ms Mottley had a meeting with European Commission Ursula von der Leyen (who is currently under criminal investigation by the European Prosecutor), and Director-General of the World Health Organization (WHO) Dr Tedros Adhanom Ghebreyesus (who’s home country accuses him of misconduct among other) to bring pharmaceutical manufacturing into our country/ries.

Did anyone ask us ?”

10. Ronnie O in BT
    “We do not have a republic constitution. We still have a 1966 independence Constitution. The constitution has not fundamentally been changed in any way. The biggest change in the constitution has been the appointment process of the president,” said Yearwood.

Given 400 questions to answer in 2 hours, the best approach would be to speed read and spend the least amount of time on a question. Try to identify the easy questions…

For practice
    Which is the easier
    i) create a constitution for the new republic
    ii) do nothing -keep the old

Which is faster
    i) identify a new day to celebrate becoming a republic
    ii) do nothing – act like a cuckoo and lay your eggs in Barrow’s nest

Answer key ii, ii

11. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“Mrs. 4.5 BILLION DOSES”….is in quite the pickle.

wait until her people start hunting her….lawd..

12. I saw an article where the DLP is asking Mia to tell them of the benefits of her travel to Barbados

https://www.nationnews.com/2022/11/15/dlp-mottley-tell-us-benefits/

It is good to see the DLP waking up.

I think the funding of these trips need to be fully explained. It is no stretch of the imagination to think of a world agency paying some costs and our government being billed at the same time. In this case, where there is double payment, is the treasury or the appropriate government agency being refunded or is it the second being diverted to a next person’s pocket?

That is a dream job… you interview for a UN or some other higher position and two groups pick up the tab for the interview

Where the hell is that truck that things used to fall off of?

13. https://barbadostoday.bb/2022/11/15/500-berry/

It was years ago when we had a Vincentian come to Barbados to cut canes. We were friendly to him but I believe that our pride and prejudices showed. This cause him to tell us “You guys can’t catch me. You are using wind and I am using steam”. We found his remark funny, but he was guarded (cautious) when interacting with us.

Once again Mia is steaming ahead and around those who would oppose her.
    This $500 may be a game-changer. Is it possible that this payment could change the view of the NUPW in the eyes of some members.

A story worth following.

14. Which one are you celebrating?
    Independence Day?
    National Day?
    Republic Day?
    Well, I have divided my Day into three parts and will be celebrating all three.
    Lorenzo, enuff and J2 get an invite to the Republic (6:00- 7:00) and National (7:00-12:00) Day celebration.

The Independence Day party starts at 1500 hours and goes to midnight.

15. Still in love

Dearest Mia,
    We got this wrong :“Strict guardian of our heritage, firm craftsmen of our fate”

My Dearest, I am proposing that phrase be changed to ‘strict craftsmen of our future, firm guardians of our fate”.

It is our heritage, but it is an ugly heritage that was forced on us and one that we should abandon. We see now how some moaned and groaned when we wanted to move the statue of Nelson. They saw themselves as guardians of the heritage created by slavery and oppression. They were locked in the past and could not imagine a future where we shredded yokes of the past. And even as you sought to move us to a new future, to that of a Republic, and to remove some of the shackles of the past, again they talked of insurance policy and other nonsense. Their vision of the future is our nation hobbling along fully in the grips of all the chokes in our heritage

Sweetest, for those two action I am grateful. Now one more task remains. We must change that phrase in our national anthem. We must focus on, protect and craft the future for our island; we must be continually be on guard to ensure that we are masters of our own fate.

Sweetest Mia, as you can see I have not fully given up on you. I believe that you will come to understand the full power of 30-0 and set our nation on an enlightened past as you abandon the heritage of B & D politics.

Dearest Mia, you are writing your name on our History’s page but you are falling well below our great expectations. We urge you now to abandon the “for you years” and end your 30-0 leadership with a “for the nation” phase.

A sincere admirer.
    –x–
    Our relationship is like a man who got a bad horn but still deeply in love with the woman. 🙂

16. Oh! Oh!
    https://barbadostoday.bb/2022/11/23/pm-says-pledges-made-to-monitorconsult-on-bert-2-0-will-be-kept/
    This woman consults only when ugly brown stuff is headed for the fan. I am stepping away from the fan.

Leave a Reply to TheOGazertsCancel reply