Submitted by Kammie Holder
Over 2 million without electricity or phone service, 500,000 in Florida homeless, many may be forced to swim or drown, 20,000,000 written in words is twenty million which represents, the amount homeless in Pakistan after severe flooding. The aforementioned are but a few of the narratives coming from weather reports. Highest wind speed recorded of Hurricane Ian, was some 241 kilometers per hour just short of a category 5 hurricane.
Some will say in the most believable way, that god is Bajan, and Barbados, due to is location have nothing to worry about. I have news for those who believe, that to ignore what has a slim chance of occurring, prevents the eventuality. Super storms, and category 4 hurricanes, and above will become the norm as the earth heats up. Thus, is not if but when for Barbados.
For many years the major oil companies denied their flaring polluted or contributed to global warming. Only this week, a leaked document to the BBC, showed less than honest reporting from these oil giants. It’s my biased opinion, the industrialized world and multinationals mostly practicing capitalist,  could care less about the impact of global warming on Small Island Developing States.
Therefore,those who are building, must build homes that can at least withstand a Cat3 hurricane. It makes more sense to take a little longer and build a stronger house, rather than the nonsense I am seeing promoted, with walls made from concrete wood. Financial institutions will have to be flexible in their lending policies and terms, if they genuinely understand that good Corporate Social Responsibility, will not take from their supernormal profits but may actually enhance their bottom line.
Expect, reinsurers and insurance companies, to be more selective  in the type of property risk they will be willing to underwrite in the near future. Let me say, concrete board in the long run will cost you more, than a properly built wall structure with adequate shear walls and a concrete roof. A concrete roof, is much cheaper than a permaclad roof. Do not take my word for it, do your own calculations of materials and labor cost per sq ft.
My concern, is that too many botchers are masquerading as tradesmen and taking advantage of persons. When a house is poorly built, the cost goes up in terms of maintenance and remedial work. In addition, it’s a charge on the treasury when a government, as part of their sovereign social responsibility have to step in, when your poorly constructed structure is destroyed by a freak gust.
My humble request to the authorities. You can do several things, to mitigate chaos after a disaster, and reduce the risk exposure to the housing stock. Enforce a building code, and require all tradesmen men to be certified as well as registered by a set period in the future. Please, do not tell me any stupidity about the poor black man got to eat, for it’s the same poor black man giving another poor black man shoddy work. The cost of ignorance or indifference, is never shown as a financial charge to taxpayers, truth be told we all collectively pay.
What I also find comical, is that we continue to expand the QEH A&E in a flood prone area, next to one of the major water courses in Barbados called the Careenage. Did I also read somewhere, another hospital going up somewhere near Bayview?  If not to add insult to common sense, Town Planning still stuck in 2022 with an archaic law limiting the highest point of a residential home to 28 feet in the pan cake island Barbados. The popular dictum which has infected the brains of many in Barbados, is to never question the experts, just accept whatever is told to you and follow blindly. When the 1 in 100 year flood comes, we can all just throw our hands in the air, and beg the first world for assistance.
Perhaps we can learn something from Bermuda, and their mandatory roof specifications. Most of Barbados housing stock will not survive a cat2 hurricane. We need to focus on resilience and not on fancy looking wastefully designed roofs. For if we thought the Covid-19 pandemic set us back, we better pray god is indeed a Bajan for our luck will soon run out.  Those who want to follow the science blindly can do so at their own peril, not me.

26 responses to “Super Storms Coming”

1. re For many years the major oil companies denied their flaring polluted or contributed to global warming.

THIS IS CONCENTRATED BOVINE EXCREMENT
    ALL TRUE SCIENTISTS KNOW THAT CARBON DIOXIDE IS ONE OF THE MOST INERT COMPOUNDS ON EARTH.

ALL TRUE SCIENTISTS LEARNED THAT P1V1/TI IS EQUAL TO P2V2
    THIS EQUATION IS AS TRUE AS JOHN 3:16 AND IT IS PROVED DAILY WHEN WE PUT A POT ON THE STOVE.

TRUE SCIENTISTS IN THE SPECIALTY THAT DEALS WITH VOLCANOES KNOW WHERE ALL THE ACTIVE VOLCANOES ALL OVER THE WORLD, ARE LOCATED
    THEY ALSO KNOW WHERE MOST IF NOT ALL THE FUMAROLES ARE.
    ARE THEY NOT MANY IN THE DRIVE IN VOLCANO IN SIFRIERE, ST LUCIA?
    IS NOT THE BOILING LAKE IN DOMINICA ONE OF THE BIGGEST FUMAROLES IN THE WORLD
    IS THERE NOT A MASSIVE FUMAROLE AT THE SUMMIT OF MOUNT SOUFRIERE IN ST VINCENT
    IS IT NOT TRUE THAT THERE ARE AT LEAST 7000 FUMAROLES IN YELLOSTONE PARK ALONE

WHY DO MORONS UNIVERSALLY DONT SEE THAT INCREASING ACTIVITY IN FUMAROLES AND VOLACANOES ARE THE CAUSE OF ANY LOCAL HEAT THAT FOLK PERCIEVE

IF ALL THIS GLOBAL WARMING WAS SO WHY IS IT THAT MANY COUNTRIES STILL HAVE SEVERE WINTERS.
    THE KEY WORD IN THAT LAST SENTENCE IS “GLOBAL”

THE EXHAUSTS FROM THE BULLSHIT NOW TO BE EFFLUXED ON THE THREAD IS MORE LIKELY TO CAUSE GLOBAL WARMING THAN CARBON DIOXIDE EMMISSIONS UH LIE?

CAN ANYONE SHOW ME SCIENTIFICCALLY AND CHEMICALLY HOW AN INCREASE OF CARBON DIOXIDE ANYWHERE WILL CAUSE GLOBAL WARMING

THE MAJOR REACTION BY FAR IN WHICH CARBON DIOXIDE IS INVOLVED IS ITS COMBINATION WITH WATER UNDER THE INFLUENCE OF LIGHT IN PLANTS TO FORM CARBOHYDRATES, WITH THE ELIMINATION OF OXYGEN.

WILL SOME JACKASS GIVE ME SOME MIRTH BY CONTRADICTING THAT FACT?

DRIVE THROUGH RUSSIA GULLY IN ST JOSEPH—–IF ITS STILL FILLED WITH TREES- AND SEE FOR YOUR SELF

ALL IT TAKES IS FOR ONE IDIOT SOME WHERE IN THE WORLD TO UTTER SOME BIT OF RUBBISH, AND EVABODY IN BIMSHIRE DOES RUN WID IT…….IN THIER IGNORANCE WITHOUT CHECKING THE FACTS

NOW CARBON MONOXIDE WHICH IS LIBERATED IS MORE LIKELY TO BE HARMFULL BY CAUSING CARBON MONOXIDE POISONING. BUT WHEN DISSIPATED IN THE AIR, DOES IT DO THAT TO A MAJOR EXTENT?

BY THE WAY I LEARNED ALL THIS WHEN I WAS A SENIOR POLICY ANALYST AS PAR OF MY INDOCTRINATION IN AFRICAN HERITAGE STUDIES AND UTUBE VIDEOGRAPHY

DONT MIND GP YUH HEAR?

2. RE The popular dictum which has infected the brains of many in Barbados, is to never question the experts, just accept whatever is told to you and follow blindly.

MOST OF THE EXPERTS IN BARBADOS ARE MORE LIKELY TO BE ACCURATE THAN THE DIABOLICAL DEMON DR FALSE-Y………..BUT BARBADOS FOLLOWED HIS RUBBISH PROTOCOLS FOR CORONOVIRUS AND MANY TOOK INTO THIER BODIES A VACCINE THAT WAS ILL PREPARED BY A PROCESS THAT DISOBEYED THE LAW ENACTED IN, AND FOLLOWED SINCE 1961 THAT GOVERNS HOW DRUGS ARE DEVELOPED.

BY THE WAY I LEARNED ALL THIS WHEN I WAS A SENIOR POLICY ANALYST AS PART OF MY INDOCTRINATION IN AFRICAN HERITAGE STUDIES AND UTUBE VIDEOGRAPHY

DONT MIND GP YUH HEAR?

3. RE the industrialized world and multinationals mostly practicing capitalist, could care less about the impact of global warming on Small Island Developing States.

WHO DO YOU THINK THAT REALLY CONTROLS global warming ?

I JUST ASKED AN EXPERT IN INSURANCE FOR 44 YEARS, AND SHE GAVE ME THE CORRECT ANSWER…IMMEDIATELY.
    COME ON JOKERS INCLUDING ALL SENIOR POLICY ANALYSTS …….. BRING ON THE MIRTH
    FRIENDS I MISSED MY CALLING OR ELSE I’D HAVE RETIRED AFTER HAVING A BIG JOB……AND I NEVER SHOULDA GIVE UP BEING A PRIZE WINNING PHOTOGRAPHER.
    WATCH SOMEBODY FROM A RURAL AREA COME AND SAY DAT IN TRUE TOO. LOL

4. RE ALL THE GOD IS A BAJAN FOOLISH TALK CONSIDER THE REAL TRUTH OF THE MATTER IN
    Ecclesiastes 8:11, WHICH ASSERTS THUS=>
    Because sentence against an evil work is not executed speedily, therefore the heart of the sons of men is fully set in them to do evil.
    I HAVE THAN MY PART IN GETTING THE WANNABEES AND OTHERS GOING HEY TO BARK BRIMBLE AND BRAY AND PROVIDE ME WITH SOME MIRTH

5. YES INDEED SUPER STORMS ARE COMING SOON IN THE FORM OF THE ANTICHRIST ———AFTER THE RAPTURE OF THE CHURCH OF COURSE.

6. ALL TRUE SCIENTISTS LEARNED THAT P1V1/TI IS EQUAL TO P2V2
    THIS EQUATION IS AS TRUE AS JOHN 3:16 AND IT IS PROVED DAILY WHEN WE PUT A POT ON THE STOVE.

LMAO. well this is embarrassing. You just exposed yourself (also forgot the T2). I don’t think you understand the ideal gas law beyond memorising it, to explain it effectively.
    The pot on the stove is the worst example ever, it involves two states of matter. The better example is pumping a bicycle tyre.

7. LMAO. well this is embarrassing. You just exposed yourself (also forgot the T2).
    INDEED
    I SET UP YOU A MORON TO COME OUT OF THE BUSHES, AND HERE YOU ARE. ON CUE.
    I don’t think you understand the ideal gas law beyond memorising it, to explain it effectively.
    “I don’t think””
    REALLY ? WHAT DID YOU THINK WITH?
    RE The pot on the stove is the worst example ever, it involves two states of matter.
    EXACTLY.? WHY SO? AND SO DOES YOUR BRAIN DOESNT IT? ARE YOU A SENIOR POLICY ANAYST TOO? OR A PSEUDO PSYCHOLOGIST? WHICH?
    The better example is pumping a bicycle tyre. EXPLAIN THIS IN TERMS OF T V P
    YOU HAVE NOT HEARD MY EXPLANATION RE THE POT ON THE STOVE AND YOU HAVE GONE LMAO AND YOU ARE THINKING ABOUT WHAT YOU TINK I CAN DO USING YOUR ECTOPIC RECTAL MUCOSA.
    I AM NOT LMAO I AMD SADLY SHAKING MY HEAD AS I INCREASEE THE COUNT FOR THIS BLOG BY ANOTHER MORON LIKE YOU.

MAN ITS BETTER HAVING THE MUSIC VIDEOS AND THE WOMAN THAT POSTS ALL DAY THAT CANT GET A BLACK MAN AND HAD TO SETTLE FOR ONE OF HER WHITE SLAVE MASTERS

8. Dance to your music!!

“MAY GOD DELIVER US FROM THE IGNORANT RELIGIOUS MORONS AND HYPOCRITES THAT APPEAR ON BU, PROFESSING TO KNOW.”

Xxx

Your doctoring?

9. Oh!!

“MAN ITS BETTER HAVING THE MUSIC VIDEOS AND THE WOMAN THAT POSTS ALL DAY THAT CANT GET A BLACK MAN AND HAD TO SETTLE FOR ONE OF HER WHITE SLAVE MASTERS”

Xxxx

= Swahili

10. GP STILL TRAINED MEDICAL DOCTOR BUT NO LONGER BU RESIDENT DR Avatar
    GP STILL TRAINED MEDICAL DOCTOR BUT NO LONGER BU RESIDENT DR

“MAY GOD DELIVER US FROM THE IGNORANT RELIGIOUS MORONS AND HYPOCRITES THAT APPEAR ON BU, PROFESSING TO KNOW.”

I – THE GREEK WORD HYPOCRITES MEANS TWO FACES – YOU WILL FIND THAT I AM CONSTANT IN THE POSITIONS I TAKE
    2 I DONT PROFESS TO KNOW ANYTHING. I SPEAK WITH AUTHORITY ABOUT THAT WHICH I KNOW, AND EITHER ASK QUESTIONS ABOUT WHAT I DO NOT KNOW OR KEEP SILENT
    3 THE LATIN WORD IGNORO FROM WHICH IGNORANT IS DERIVED MEANS NOT TO KNOW—AND I MOST CERTAINLY KNOW ABOUT WHAT EVER I HAVE SAID ON BU. I AMD DEFINITELY COGNIZANT ( DERIVED FROM COGNOSCO)
    4 I AM NOT RELIGIOUS AT ALL. I BELIEVE THE BIBLE, HOWEVER AND SEEK TO LIVE BY ITS TENETS, EVEN IF IMPERFECTLY, AND I HAVE STUDIED IT FOR MANY YEARS AND STILL STUDY IT AND I DO NOT APOLOGIZE FOR CITING IT ON BU
    5 THAT I AM A DAMN GOOD AND WELL TRAINED CAN NOT BE DISPUTED BY ANY OF THE MEDICAL ILLITERATES WHO VISIT THIS RUM SHOP.

THANKS FOR THE MIRTH IN YOUR POST
    RUN IN AND TRY AGAIN

11. I have to alliterate that kammie likes the sound of his own voice!…. This is about him trying to get business. people can put on what kind of roof on their house nothing about follow the science. You have a way of trying to force your opinion on all but nobody is listening to you because it’s all about you. This man is a bold face narcissist

12. How to build your house or roof shouldn’t be a subjective exercise, this is why the building code should be enforced.

13. WHEREAS A BUILDING CODE MUST BE ENFORCED THIS DOES NOT PRECLUDE SUBJECTIVE CHOICES IN STYLE

GOOD PRACTICE DOES NOT MEAN THAT CODES SHOULD ERADICATE SUBJECTIVENESS

SURELY BOTH CAN BE SIMULTANEOSLY ATTAINED AS IS DONE BY DISCERNING ARCHTECTS PERENNIALLY, UH LIE?

14. Kammie, a narcissist?????? My sniffer must be out of order! OPINIONATED, yes. Narcissist, no. I see here that he has offered an opinion and attempted to influence policy to reduce the pull on the public purse strings to which he contributes. Nothing wrong with that, though I have heard opposing views that a building code would stop a lil poor black man from housing himself. If so, we must bear this in mind and find ways to mitigate.

I too, think that we should build more resilient homes and buildings. The weather patterns have changed dramatically as has the “normal” path of the hurricanes that used NOT to threaten us with any seriousness.

I think we are way past the “God is a Bajan” mindset. But financial constraints and the instant gratification mindset may yet deter us from taking the sensible path.

I leave the causes of climate change to others. There is very little that I (or the average Barbadian) can do to influence that outcome regardless of who is causing it – God or man. Such arguments in the Barbadian context therefore, are a distraction from the fact that the climate has changed and that we must prepare as best we can for weather unusual.

15. @David
    Climatologists, earth scientists, climate change proponents & meteorologists have been going backward & forward – round & round to no avail over this issue… Now we are witnessing the weaponization of climate science resembling an AR-15 in the hands of those with the most rounds of pseudo-scientific ammo… After 13 years of cartwheeling, evidence points to a #ClimateHoaxAgenda & the proliferation of a form of mass formation psychosis around whether the structure of a “PUBIC HAIR” is really a pubic hair…
    https://youtu.be/2lHzjXO49eE

16. In the last 13 years, some knew that there was skulduggery going on over the idea of global warming and the debate has now reached mass hysterics – where a new study by Britain’s Law Society pushes for the adoption of legal rights for animals, trees and rivers, with laws being passed that makes it a crime to hurt, kill or damage “NON-HUMAN ENTITIES”… Welcome to “BRAVE NEW WORLD” of King Charles III…
    https://youtu.be/ZiXYMjXtRBE

17. A pivotal question is being asked in this documentary: “HOW LONG DO WE HUMANS HAVE (ON THIS GOD-FORSDAKEN PLANET)? In “Planet of the Humans” – we see how the “GREEN ENERGY SCAM” is making fools out of the masses while an “ELITE” make “BILLIONS” – laughing all the way to their offshore haven… Believe at your own peril!!!
    https://youtu.be/3ZsXyDkyrCk

18. @ Terence
    Boss, this whole Earth shiite is as simple as you could wish.

Life on Earth is nothing more than a TEMPORARY project that has been set up to achieve VERY SPECIFIC objectives in a very specific timeframe.
    -That timeframe will eventually come to an end.
    -The objectives will eventually be met
    -The project WILL terminate as planned

Whether Brass bowls call it ‘climate change’, ‘global warming’ or ‘end times’ is about as relevant as their various underlying theories for the causes…

‘WISDOM’ is all about coming to understand the raison d’être for the project in the FIRST place, and positioning oneself to grasp and gain from the bigger picture.

Brassbowlery is essentially everything else…..

19. AFTER ALL THE BARKING AND BRAYING ABOVE LET ME SAY ONCE MORE THAT NIETHER CARBON DIOXIDE OR CARBON MONOXIDE EMISSIONS ARE CAUSING OR CAN CAUSE GLOBAL WARMING

CARBON DIOXIDE IS A FAIRLY INERT GAS BECAUSE ITS COMPONENT MOLECULES HAVE ALL THEIR “OCTETS” SATISFIED .
    THE CARBON ATOM IS SHARING ITS FOUR ELECTRONS AND THE TWO OXYGEN ATOMS ARE BOTH SHARING THE TWO ELECTRONS IN ITS OUTER SHELL.

CARBON DIOXIDE EMMISSIONS TEND TO CAUSE OXYGEN GENERATION IN THE PRESENCE OF WATER OR WATER VAPOUR, LIGHT AND PLANTS. JUST AS DESIGNED BY GOD AND PRONOUNCED IN THE GENESIS RECORD, AND SUPPORTED BY THE WELL KNOWN BIOCHEMISTRY OF PHOTOSYNTHESIS TO THOSE WHO HAVE STUDIED IT

CARBON MONOXIDE EMISSIONS CAUSE CARBON MONOXIDE POISONING IF THE CO IS RELEASED IN CONFINED SPACES., BECAUSE CO INHIBITS OXIDATIVE PHOSPHORYLATION

THIS IS SOUND DOCTRINE THAT CAN NOT BE REFUTED EVEN BY SENIOR POLICY ANALYSTS. I PLAN TO TRAIN FOR A FORMAL POSITION THUS
    MURDER, AFTER I MASTER THE COMBINED GAS LAWS BY PUMPING UP MY BICYCLE TYRE

20. NorthernObserver Avatar

I’ve been retired a few years, is ‘concrete wood’ a new product. Or does it refer to making concrete with some amount of wood fibre.
    Is concrete board and cement board the same thing?
    I take it Permaclad is a brand name referring to some form of metal sheets, what does concrete roof mean? A roof made using a concrete slab? Or do various tiles made of a cementitious ingredients refer to a concrete roof?

21. @BushTea
    TOUCHE!!!

22. I don’t think the theory is that CO2 reacts with anything to cause global warming. Not sure then what part being inert plays.

I just rechecked and it speaks of the capacity to absorb and emit infrared rays from the sun. This is what they call the Greenhouse Effect.

However, I haven’t studied physics since O level nor chemistry since A level, therefore I stand to be corrected.

From what I have also read, I think the term “global warming” is unfortunate. Reminds me of the slogan “defund the police” which leads to misunderstandings and misrepresentations.

I think the theory is that the rise in temperature sets a cycle in motion that can also lead to more extreme weather events at both ends of the spectrum, including colder winters.

How they explain that is something I would not attempt to relate, not having fully grasped it myself today. This after reading it yet again, as I have done over the course of a few years.

The brain is apparently not as good at retaining information as it used to be.

Of course, even if I did remember, I couldn’t argue the point.

It is all too complex for a non-scientist of the climate and weather kind.

23. I just rechecked and it speaks of the capacity to absorb and emit infrared rays from the sun.

INDEED
    THAT IS WHAT HAPPENS IN THE VERY COMPLEX PROCESS CALLED PHOTOSYNTHESIS WHICH AS YOU MIGHT KNOW NEEDS ANY LIGHT SOURCE ………..THE REASON WHY WEED MAY BE GROWN INDOORS

ABSORBING infrared rays from the sun. OR LIGHT SOURCES MAY PARTIALLY BE EXPLAINED BY KINETIC THEORY (though not by pumping up bicycle tires as the moron Redguard would likely say)

re I think the theory is that the rise in temperature sets a cycle in motion that can also lead to more extreme weather events at both ends of the spectrum, including colder winters.

EVERY SUMMER HERE IN CENTRAL FLORIDA ON AFTERNOONS the rise in temperature sets a cycle in motion that WARMS THE SEA ON BOTH SIDES OF THE PENINSULA, AS WELL AS THE WATER IN THE RETENTION PONDS AND LAKES. AND THE WATER RISES AND EVENTUALLY PRECIPITATES IN HEAVY RAIN (CONVECTIONAL RAIN I THINK IT IS CALLED) WITH THUNDER AND LIGHTNING SOMETIMES.

YOU SEEM TO BE SMARTER THAN SOME OF THE SCIENCE ILLITERATES I HEAR IN CHURCH TALKING ABOUT the Greenhouse Effect, AND Greenhouse GASES AND OTHER SUCH MORONIC MOUTHINGS, WITHOUT EVEN PONDERING OR POSTULATING ON THE CONCEPTS OF WEATHER CYCLES AND HYDROLOGY SCIENCE DESCRIBED IN ECCLESIASTES INTER ALIA

YOU ARE WISE NOT TO SPEAK A BOUT THINGS YOU DO NOT KNOW.
    I AM JUST WAITING TO GET SOME MIRTH WHEN NEXT I LOOK IN FROM ONE OF THE BU KNOW IT ALLS OR ONE OF THE SENIOR PROJECT ANALYSTS.

24. Dear Colin, sorry you feel that way, unfortunately your opinion is your right.
    Please do not let the hate worsen your health issues for the negative energy is really bad for you heart.

PS: If the reading the strong opinions of others upset you, go and live underneath a rock or disconnect your self from the world and grow some #gonads..

Leave a Reply to GPCancel reply