This week Barbados will the host of a global fintech conference called Fintech Islands from October 5 to 7 welcoming 300 delegates from across the world and attracting sponsorship from prominent global players like Visa, MasterCard and Delta Capital Group. The government must be given credit for being the enabler by placing emphasis on the emerging fintech sector.  Some of the initiatives the Mottley government has spearheaded include:

• Rollout of the Regulatory sandbox in late 2019 which BU commenters will recall generated raucous discussion. 

The government has also moved quickly towards digitisation by executing the IDB Public Sector Digitisation Project which is being rolled out across all ministries at the back end, at the “front end” the rolling of the new National ID card which will have an accompanying optional Digital ID. The government must however do a better job communicating with the public about the New National ID card.   

A government’s job is to create the environment, legislative and otherwise to encourage private sector to drive economic activity. There is consensus our over-reliance on fickle tourism as a SIDs makes the economy more vulnerable to exogenous shocks. The 2007 global financial meltdown and recent experience arising from the pandemic is a sorry reminder. In 2016 late Prime Minister warned of the need for policymakers to introduce radical measures to add new earning sectors to the economy, instead the Central Bank was repurposed to be government’s ATM and as they say the rest is history after incurring 23 downgrades.

We live in a world that has transformed to digital cum services era, building new sectors to drive economic activity is not only about building physical factories. Rolling out fit for purpose regulation and other initiatives to improve business facilitation is the new alternative.

Barbados has built a reputation as an offshore financial hub, however, since the mid 2000s as Arthur mentioned in the above video, Barbados lost a lot of business to Cayman and has never fully recovered. It was one of the problems which plagued the Stuart government and as Arthur pointed out – from 2016 the country lost $259 million in foreign exchange and tax revenue which the then government sought to replace by imposing heavy domestic taxes on a shrinking economy and taxbase.  

One of the things the Mottley government seems to be trying to do is to reconfigure the business sector from which Barbados can offer modern services to replace the old tax haven model. The OECD has shown they have no problem shifting the rules of engagement ‘during the game’. It must be helpful that Barbados also added to its brand in the fintech space by being first to market with the Barbados Welcome Stamp program which allowed high net worth professionals many from the fintech world to work remotely during the pandemic.  

Quietly the Ghanaian fintech company Zeepay has setup in Barbados with plans to launch in Guyana next. Some have been asking are we there yet? This is a rhetorical question.

186 responses to “Barbados’ Fintech Push”

1. David

I believe you’re attempting to insult the little intelligence I have.
    The guy’s comments were clear. It just a matter of you agreeing with him.

I’m trying to understand where you’re going with the argument that people should plan their careers to suit the needs of the state.

You cannot in all reasonable fairness say, on one hand, “Managing a country is about optimizing the talent pool to sustain productivity and competitiveness.”
    And, then on the other suggest, “A sensible balance must be found between personal ambitions and the needs of the state.”

You’re essentially suggesting ‘government’ should manage its human resources, while citizens should neglect their ambitions to concentrate on the needs of the state.

My friend, as I mentioned previously, we’re not a dictatorship.
    And, perhaps that’s one of the reasons why, “We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with certain UNALIENABLE RIGHTS, that among these are Life, Liberty and the PURSUIT OF HAPPINESS,”…… is INCLUDED in the USA’s Declaration of Independence.

Some people set goals in life to charter a course towards the fulfillment of their personal ambitions, which, in many cases, were developed since childhood.

So, if your son, for example, had childhood dreams of becoming an electrical engineer, would you ask him to forget about his personal ambitions because Barbados ‘government’ is venturing into fintech, and encourage him to pursue studies in computer science instead?

However, similarly to how some people want to become, police, immigration, customs and fire officers, soldiers, politicians because they’re desirous of serving their country, people will find new areas interesting and seek to pursuing them as a career.

2. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Mr Blogmaster, you have been exceptionally succinct but also absolutely clear and purposeful re this matter of educational degrees outta UWI! …. I agree with your analysis ALTHOUGH the obvious point made by @Artax (“people have a fundamental right to CHOOSE …“) is a problem!

You and others like the Bushman Griot have been making the argument for some time that the gov’t of the day need to incentivize students towards science, comp. sci. and technical studies pursuits even as they de-emphasize humanities, law and such! It’s a blunt truism and yes it’s possible and can be achieved but requires purposeful intent from primary school right up.

And @Artax and @Skinner that’s one way to look at that request (re “teachers would ask us write an essay on the type of house in which you reside, the type of jobs your parents had….Or, on the summer vacation.”) … but there are other quite beneficial reasons too.

At that level we can more readily write on matters close to us and surely ‘family affairs’ is an explorative topic on which to open up the writing skillset. I too recall writing such vacation/family stories maybe 15 years prior to you and undoubtedly students at St. Stephens or Wesley Hall or Ebenezer still make their initial writing trials on those subjects … and now too “their sexuality, gender identity, substance use and abuse”!

Amazing and amusing that parents would NOT expect these areas of writing ‘introspection’ although their children so comprehensively consume them from dusk to dawn! Do we want them to write about Putin or Trump or Caricom or maybe the WI cricket woes ..of which they are not consumers!!!

We need to get a GRIP on reality here. As parents if we are NOT focused enough to talk to our children and tell them 1) that they can write about whatever they are keen about, or 2) whatever they have read about and as importantly 3) that they DO NOT have to write about very personal or private matters then the PROBLEM is us, in my view!

And oh BTW the really GOOD and practical teachers also use those family affairs essays to better understand their student as it puts very clearly into perspective the behaviors displayed in the class room. Based on the feedback I get from teaching friends they often need to sit with their more troubled students to discuss these family life issues IN ORDER to guide and help them navigate their school life issues.

There is often good where only bad may be perceived! … Anyhow, just saying.

3. Bread and Butter
    “These are 11-year-old students and some of these questions in my opinion, planted seeds in their heads.”
    Does anyone have a copy of the questionnaire?

4. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

William…..keep your eyes on this, there is a video where it was said by a professional that letters were sent across the region warning these criminals not to push this IPPF agenda, …since June…where the parents are totally excluded and they ignored them and only answered the letter in October by giving the children the test they were warned NOT TO…

……..now we are hearing that code.org said the test should not be administered to children UNDER 13…..but here is Slave society Barbados pushing this agenda on 11 and 12-year-olds….

….and it’s said they are selling their asses and the children for funding..

the frog in hot water analogy was brought up..

and also said that some pedophiles with agendas are planning to push these crimes on children from as young as 3 years old..

there is advocacy about this in Jamaica to stop this evil before it kills children across the region.

ABOMINATION…

5. @NO

It is a non point but Mottley’s globe trotting ways does not hurt the effort.

6. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

So glad to see the apologists and supporters are living to see the gates of hell swing WIDE OPEN….

…cahn wait to hear their spin..

let’s see if they can do better than lettered professionals..

ah take it, it was TOO LATE to jump our with a stammering press conference, but there is always tomorrow….ah cahn wait……this one should have cameras, lights and action…

7. @Artax

Is that what the blogmaster is suggesting? Let’s be clear to avoid the pedantry. Individuals can study what they want BUT the state has a responsibility to allocate resources that will incentivize citizens to acquire training that aligns with national goals. There must be leadership demonstrated therefore by government to ensure that while individuals have the opportunity to follow their passion, there is focus to encourage training in areas that facilitates the country being competitive. We have to eat and pay bills. What is so difficult to understand about the point?

8. @Dee Word

You nailed it.

There is also the elephant in the room.

Uwi has become a mill. Many young people grind out a soci degree to check that 1st degree box because it is an easy path to take. We have to be honest if we want to move the needle with education reform.

9. dpD

Some people look for conspiracies in every situation, even when it’s obvious there aren’t any.

Whether we agree or not, we’re living in societies where some men and women are identifying as female and male respectively.

Recall on September 5, 2019, officials at a private institution, Providence Secondary School, were accused of discriminating against a 14 year old transgender student.
    According to media reports, the Canadian mother of the male student, who identified as female, launched an online petition after the school insisted ‘he’ had to wear the male school uniform.

The Ministry of Education’s refusal to intervene in what it perceived to be a private matter, prompted Alexa Hoffman, who is male and also identifies as female, to warn ‘government’ it was not an isolated case.

Members of the LGBTQ community all over the world, are fighting for their civil rights to live openly without discrimination and enjoy equal rights, personal autonomy, and freedom of expression and association.
    LGBT people are regularly subjected to discrimination and violence in Barbados.

The following excerpt was taken from Amnesty International Submission to the UN Universal Periodic Review, January-February 2013:

“In this submission, prepared for the UN Universal Periodic Review (UPR) of Barbados in January-February 2013, Amnesty International comments on the response of the Barbadian government to recommendations made to it during its previous review.
    Particular attention is paid to recommendations regarding international standards, children, and lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender (LGBT) people.”
    “Additionally, Amnesty International notes concerns about the entrenchment of discrimination against LGBT people in Barbadian law. The organization expresses its concern about the criminalization of same sex relations and its effect on the LGBT community’s reluctance to access health services and treatment.”

Taking the above information into consideration, for someone who has, on several occasions, ‘talked’ about human rights in this forum, to suggest the questionnaire was prepared by pedophiles, is a ‘monstrous perversion of commonsense.’

10. David

Let’s agree to disagree.

11. @Artax
    What qualifies you to determine (UWI) Management graduates are “USELESS?”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    How about the fact that they don’t ‘manage’ one shiite in Barbados…?!
    …but instead look for work from foreigners who simply went into the family business after O’ levels in Trinidad or China?

12. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Artax and @The Blogmaster; it’s quite surprising that this govt is taking a hands-off approach to the bothersome transgender issue … shocking even.

How can the PM and her Education Ministry perceive such “to be a private matter”. This is not an issue that will diminish over time …. rather just the opposite, so avoiding it is nonsensical.

In the US particularly but in UK, Canada, Europe and certainly in Russia, Australia et al this is a massive social issue and is leading to the type of civil unrest that causes deaths… In US, it pits parents at PTA meetings against each and of course is leading to some draconian legislation, books bans, teacher law suits and the like.

All of that will not happen here in lil Bim but surely there will be some serious problems nonetheless. Why
    should our proudly out PM and folks like her senior adviser Dr. Walcott be avoiding this issue ???

One does not have to agree with the choices people make but we do have to respect them. School officials may be rightly concerned that a biological male using the facilities for females at the school could be a cause for concern but making her/him use the rest-rooms for the boys is just as problematic.

The ministry (and or the courts) needs to settle these matters locally if Barbados does not intend to follow the international standards … as none of us have the magical wand to wish these problems away!

13. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

LOL … for the grammarians out there …. just reread “none of us have” and said OMG … that’s wrong!

It should be_ “none of us has”_.

But, in keeping with accepted social media and modern customs read the plural form although it should be singular … it’s like this modern thing called ‘Alternative Facts’: See it and accept it for what’s its not!🤣😎

14. Bush Tea October 5, 2022 10:30 PM

What TOOK you so LONG?

Knowing certain NAMES are involved, I was actually EXPECTING you to ‘show up’ SEVERAL HOURS ago…… and anticipated your comments as well.

However, yuh done know a light weight like me ain’t want nuttun wid de members of BU’s intelligentsia.

But, are you suggesting management degrees from universities OTHER than UWI are USEFUL?

And, persons receiving those degrees, for example, from St George’s University in Grenada, University of Guyana, University of the Southern Caribbean – St. Lucia Campus…… or from foreign universities in countries such a America, Australia, Britain, Canada or China….. whether online or ‘face to face’……

…… are GIVEN the OPPORTUNITY to “manage EVERY shiite in Barbados?”

That they are FORTUNATE to “look for work from foreigners who simply went into the family business after completing UNDERGRADUATE and GRADUATE DEGREE programs in Trinidad or China?”

Or, from Barbadians, especially minorities, who simply went into the family business after O’ levels from Presentation College, St. Winifred’s or Al Falah الفلاح School in Passage Road?”

15. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

William……they are pulling the survey AFTER the children answered these sleazy questions, these dangerous questions….what does a bank have any right setting out this for minor children, underage children EVEN AFTER the ministries across the Caribbean WERE WARNED since June by educators, professionals….NOT TO PROCEED WITH THOSE QUESTIONS on minors, not only are they inappropriate for 11 and 12-year-olds, but ILLEGAL, code.org CANNOT LEGALLY determine that 13 years meet the criteria for sexual consent…..

can’t hear anything about this from the cowardly, yellow bellied frauds who have talk for everyone…

these children have no one but their parents to protect them from PEDOPHILES……..remove the power of parents and the SLEAZY DISGUSTING lowlifes hiding amongst populations will be in control of their lives to do whatever when these world stage runners want attention and money..

and just check out WHO the SPONSORS of code.org are…

MAY the WRATH OF RA come DOWN ON THEM.

MAY FIRE and BRIMSTONE RAIN DOWN on EVERYONE OF THEM AND NEVER END.

“The Inter-American Development Bank (IDB) has accepted full responsibility for the controversial Computer Science test that was recently taken by first form students.

←→
    5 / 6

The parents of some of the students who took the test on Monday told Barbados TODAY that their children were subjected to “distasteful and invasive” questions in the Computer Science pre-test, including some that quizzed them on their sexuality, gender identity, substance use and abuse as well as personal information about their parents.

Below is the full statement from the Inter-American Development Bank

The Inter-American Development Bank expresses regret that a survey administered by the
    Bank to children in the Barbados secondary school system has offended many Barbadians.
    The Bank sincerely apologises, but stresses that no offence was intended.

The questions at the centre of concern, to which the Ministry of Education had objected prior to the administering of
    the survey and which were inadvertently left in the paper, have been removed.”

16. @NO

Note the last sentence in the article.

PM: Look out for vulnerable in fintech

COMPANIES SEEKING ENTRANCE into Barbados’ fintech (financial technology) market are being put on notice that it is not going to be a space where anything goes.
    This position was made clear by Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley yesterday, who said while Barbados stands ready to welcome all players, there must be rules to protect the most vulnerable smaller and less financially literate investors in the sector.
    However, at the same time, she gave the assurance that all regulations will be in accordance with the level of risk associated, promising there would be no profiling of businesses under her watch. She also promised that Government will not be going the route of adopting rigid rules to govern the sector, instead stating that a principle-based approach offered the flexibility to regulate in accordance with the changing needs of the market.
    Delivering remarks at the opening Fintech Island Conference at Hilton Barbados, Mottley pointed out that given the complexities of the relatively new digital finance market, Government also had a duty to look out for those who might be just learning the ropes of the sector. She reminded those in attendance of the 1928 Great Depression, during which many people lost their life savings during a crash of the stock markets in the United States.
    “The public space exists not to maximise profit. Rather, we exist to help you maximise profit. However, we also exist to protect the vulnerable and we also exist to protect those who cannot themselves be in a position to advise themselves. This is why the protection of the vulnerable remains one
    of the key aspects of our approach. Regulation could either be rules-based or it can be principles-based,” she said.
    “When it is rules-based, then people will tell you that you can’t do X and you can’t do Y because the rules say so . . . . What matters most in all of this is the principles because it is in this approach that we find what is fair to you and what is fair to those with whom you are seeking to do business. If we follow that principlebased approach as a regulator, then we would be in a far better position to answer questions driven by innovation that nobody thought of.”
    The Prime Minister said her administration was excited about the prospects of leveraging financial technology to address a number of issues as it related to the threats of unbanking that faced several sectors. Among those mentioned was the burgeoning cannabis sector and gambling.
    “My Government is, therefore, looking at how we can put a regulatory framework in place, recognising that the very people who we say are risky are placed more at risk because of the blanket ban. At the same time, we have to ensure that we don’t believe that things must happen as a right and that there can be no regulation whatsoever in the systems we are putting in place to support Fintech,” said Mottley, who emphasised her point with the analogy of the anarchy that existed in the Hollywood depiction of the Wild West.
    More than 300 delegates from across the globe and varying sectors within the fintech industry are expected for the three-day event, the first global fintech conference in the Caribbean.

17. Delta Services takes over Massy Card

MASSY CARD (BARBADOS) LIMITED (MCBL) has sold its credit card portfolio to Delta Payments Services (Barbados) Ltd.
    Delta, a fintech company incorporated in Barbados, is wholly owned by the private equity firm, Delta Capital Partners Ltd.
    A release yesterday stated customers will shortly receive letters from MCBL with the relevant information regarding their accounts with the company, but there will be a transition period when things will look the same to customers and partners.
    This period will allow the two companies time to execute a smooth handover. Essentially, MCBL will continue to service and support the credit card portfolio in its current form during that time and critical elements of the business will not change.
    The Massy brand and cards will continue to be used during the transition
    period and all current marketing promotions, as well as reward programmes, will continue as at present, the release added.
    The Massy Loyalty Card, which shares the same brand mark as the Massy Credit Card, will continue to operate as normal during the transition period.
    Going into greater detail about the venture during the opening of Fintech Islands Conference at Hilton Barbados yesterday, chief executive officer of Delta, Ivan Carter, said that the company intends to add several additional services to the platform. He also revealed that the card will be eventually rebranded as a Mastercard under the name Delta Pay. Once this transition takes place, the company will be branching into areas such as microfinancing, he added.
    “At the right time we will introduce a number of other products such as digital currencies, US dollar currencies, digital cards, digital
    gift cards. One of our strengths is the use of digital technology to solve issues,” he said. (CLM)

18. IDB apologises
    by MARIA BRADSHAW mariabradshaw@nationnews.com

THE INTER-AMERICAN DEVELOPMENT BANK (IDB) has apologised for a survey it administered to schoolchildren that offended many Barbadians.
    The survey, part of the Code Caribbean project was administered by a United States-based organisation code.org which promotes the learning of computer science in schools. It was given to first formers on Monday at three secondary schools, which parents said contained inappropriate and invasive questions.
    It asked questions such as: Do you think about sex a lot? Do you purposely try to harm yourself? Do you think about killing yourself? and Do you do drugs?
    A release from the IDB last night stated: “The bank sincerely apologises, but stresses that no offence was intended. The questions at the centre of concern, to which the Ministry of Education had objected prior to the administering of the survey and which were inadvertently left in the paper, have been removed.
    “The IDB recognises its position as a development partner with the Government of Barbados, with a long and mutually respectful relationship, and assures Barbadians it would not deliberately engage in
    any practice that would harm that relationship.”
    Up to press time the ministry had not publicly addressed the controversial test. It is understood officials were locked in meetings yesterday and efforts to reach Minister Kay McConney and Chief Education Officer Dr Ramona Archer-Bradshaw were futile.
    An upset parent told the DAILY NATION yesterday that another parent reported that when she called the ministry’s offices at Constitution Road, St Michael, an official informed her that the ministry had nothing to do with administration of the test.
    “Nobody has responded to our queries. We have not heard anything official from the Ministry of Education. How can they say that the ministry is not involved when the memo stated that the test was sanctioned by the Ministry of Education?”
    In the memo which was sent to all teaching staff on September 29, by a principal of one of the schools involved, it noted: “Please be informed that all first formers will take the pre-test in computer science organised by code.org. The proposed date is Monday, October 3rd, 2022, at 9:30 a.m. This session will run for two hours.
    “This process has been sanctioned by the Ministry of Education, Technological and Vocational Training and code.org will provide the personnel to supervise the examination.”
    BUT wants answers
    Yesterday, president of the Barbados Union of
    Teachers Rudy Lovell called on the ministry to explain the rationale behind the test.
    “Today I have been inundated with phone calls and messages on this issue. I have not seen the test, I am going by what was reported in the media. The report suggest that some of the questions were inappropriate and it would be good to know the rationale for the questions and information from this cohort of students. The Ministry of Education . . . needs to clear the air on this administered test. As a parent I understand the frustration of those aggrieved parents and I do hope that their concerns can be speedily addressed,” he said.
    The test was also a hot talking point yesterday across social media platforms, on several blogs and school WhatsApp groups.
    In one school group a teacher wrote that she queried the appropriateness of the questions and asked that some of them be pulled, but this did not happen.
    Reports also indicate that some students told an invigilator they felt uncomfortable about answering some of the questions but were assured it was confidential and their parents would not know their answers.
    However, a parent charged that the test could not be confidential when children had to write their names on the exam.
    It is understood that a principal at one of the schools involved has organised a meeting with the parents to shed light on the situation.

19. Steuspe

20. “The questions at the centre of concern, to which the Ministry of Education had objected prior to the administering of
    the survey and which were inadvertently left in the paper, have been removed.”

Min Ed should try to get copies of the test in all formats that they exist and destroy them.

Min Ed needs to be firm and in control, don’t just object on item like these, firmly state if tests should be administered or not.

21. I think the problem may be that people are talking about IT but do not know IT
    so it just talking parrots trying to sound clever by repeating others
    Nowadays off the shelf packages and apps are implemented for business purposes

Pa’ Monte
    Do not go up

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xdcUKVOhj8Q

22. There are some ads on youtube
    that say “Are you Gay”
    take this test to find out
    they are many unnecessary apps

23. It would be useful and transparent if we could see a copy of the survey / questionnaire. But an escape clause would be to claim some kind of proprietary rights prevents sharing of the questionnaire.

What became of those trucks that things used to fall off of? Even the trucks are partisan 😄

We should hear in mind controls in the US or Europe are open weakened when outside of those regions. For those who like to point out it happen elsewhere add this to your mantra ‘if it can’t happen there, it shouldn’t happen here’

24. Don’t water down the discussion.
    This involves the Min of Ed.
    It’s more than a Google search or random app.

You are going down the click avenue..
    Less may be more. Too great a knowledge of IT may make a person lose contact with the bread and butter issue.

25. “300 questions”
    That’s a lot of questions to give to 11-year old children.
    A good reporter would ask the following:
    (1) Were the question asked identical to those seen by the Min Ed
    (2) What area of ‘society’ was explored by these questions
    (3) Who will see the responses and the final report. GoRoB police officers (insert conspiracy here) or CIA officers in the US Embassy.
    (4) How long will this information be kept.
    (5) What was the (true) purposes of these questions and what will they be used for.

26. The computer decides
    My brother completed some ESTA forms online for his family to travel to USA
    but inadvertently checked the wrong box for his daughter on the question
    “Are you a terrorist” and she was denied entry to USA so they had to cancel their trip
    They later went to an interview to US Embassy where a person asked her if she was a terrorist
    so she confirmed “No” and the interviewer smiled a little and then validated her application

27. Have you noticed that I have not touched the Fintech issue. I have to wait and see what comes out of the meetings.

28. I would pay to see those questions.
    Have a great day y’all.

29. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

They could dance around with ENDLESS LIES as much as they want…..but the EVIDENCE is very clear…

if you as a ministry of MISEDUCATION objected to a CRIMINAL survey that came VIA A BANK and directed at the region’s children….and YOU STILL ADMINISTER the perverted test to 11 and 12-year-olds VOLUNTARILY while knowing that it’s legally and MORALLY WRONG…

..hello, you are EQUALLY as culpable, complicit and IN COLLUSION against the island and region’s children..in that CONSPIRACY…

30. @Kiki

A good observation. It is very disrespectful because of the frequency. Because of the repetitive nature of some commenters. On an on …

31. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Theo…trust me, you DO NOT WANT TO SEE THOSE QUESTIONS if you have children or grandchildren…

the sample was EVIL PERSONIFIED…

the ministry of miseducation should tell the PUBLIC…why they “objected” to the survey in the first place, but proceeded with the PERVERTED PEDOPHILE TEST anyway….

but, please do not hold your breath THAT THESE well known LIARS and PRETENDERS WILL EVER ADMIT TO ANYTHING…especially now they were caught red-handed and OUTED everywhere….and the usual frauds could not jump out with another LYING coverup press conference…..they were trapped with their HOT POTATO burning holes in them and did the only thing they could….throw it right back at the source/conduit in hopes they could stop the fallout…that is what they should have done BEFORE when they claimed they “objected” but the greedy bitches could only see paper money…..prostituting children..

AND they ALL GOT BURNT ANY WAY.

32. “Don’t water down the discussion.
    This involves the Min of Ed.”

You sound scolding

the thread is about fin tech
    the questionnaire with questionable questions is a tangent

My first comment today on 6th was about the former
    My second comment was about the latter

USA has some weird rules in IT recruitment selection where nerds are required
    Emotion and Logic are separated

Banana Freak Out

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CcuD9rq1XVU

33. “Don’t water down the discussion.
    This involves the Min of Ed.”

You sound scolding

the thread is about fin tech
    the questionnaire with questionable questions is a tangent

My first comment today on 6th was about the former
    My second comment was about the latter

USA has some weird rules in IT recruitment selection where nerds are required
    Emotion and Logic are separated

Banana Freak Out

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CcuD9rq1XVU

34. The blogmaster saw some of the questions and agree they are inappropriate for young children. The intent of the survey may have been honourable but one must be culturally sensitive. The MoE should have intervened and they say they did but the original format was released anyway.

35. Let us move on now.

36. Hierba Buena (Good Grass)

37. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“The blogmaster saw some of the questions and agree they are appropriate for young children. ”

you really want to hold that position.

38. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Am being fair and believe it’s a typo i make them all the time..

39. @ Artax
    Bushie is just keeping you on your toes until ac comes back to put the real licks in your donkey..

40. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

are yall even trying to understand what’s going on in the REAL WORLD YET….the fantasy island fake paradise shit IS OVER…

“Customers Storm At Least Four Lebanese Banks Demanding Money

After a week-long closure of banks ended Tuesday, enraged depositors stormed at least four banks in Lebanon demanding full access to their funds as partial withdrawal limits remain.

The World Bank calls the current economic crisis – which has plunged three-quarters of the population into poverty – as one of the worst in over a century as the Lebanese pound has lost 90% of its value to the US dollar.

One of the bank raiders, a former police officer, is heard in footage he recorded shouting “count the money, before one of you dies” as he demanded $24,000-worth of savings, having reportedly tried to sell his own kidney previously.”

41. There are gays in IT
    people in the autism spectrum
    disabled people
    drug users in Silicon Valley
    people with social issues
    minorities
    women
    people from all social classes
    Convicted Hackers
    Asians are assumed more mathematical
    In the West IT development work has been replaced by India which is deemed much cheaper
    and better, some work has also been outsourced to eastern Europe
    Lazy Boogaloo

42. @Bush Tea
    “@ Artax
    Bushie is just keeping you on your toes until ac comes back to put the real licks in your donkey..”

I miss that part of BU. where ac was just throwing stuff on the wall. Sometimes it stuck.

–xx–
    Tha actual quote used the word ‘inappropriate,’

43. “It is not that the degree is useless”

Having a degree is better than not having one and you are a person with a degree
    When you have a degree no one can take it away from you

In the work environment old people see young people and foreigners as a threat as everyone is dispensable and replaceable, Companies prefer younger workers who have more energy and ambition.

Qualifications are always necessary for minorities to get a foot in the door
    In the West whites do not need qualifications and are fast tracked to management
    Minorities are the workers whites are Managers who get the credit for the workers being productive

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=akq4zHC69qY

44. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

William…Theo……guidance counselors are advising that they had this same sex test forced on the children earlier in the year, so this is NOT THE FIRST TIME…. so the miseducation FRAUD MINISTRY IS LYING…

the ministry is a co-consipirator..

this is NOT OVER…

45. NorthernObserver Avatar

A promising turnout for a first time event.
    I am somewhat ignorant of the overall Fintech space, yet the speakers/panel participants suggest ‘disruptive’, meaning few ‘traditional players’.
    There are many angles to play ‘Fintech’.

46. @NO

Barbados is not there yet. The government will have to lead the transformation given it owns a large bloc of the way business is done in Barbados. The Blogmaster expects to see many PPPs and MOUs to give impetus to the new sector. We have to continue to intertwine our strategies with traditional, new, emerging and nascent.

47. “William….i saw a sample of the questions…TOTALLY INAPPROPRIATE.”

Really? Please tell BU how you saw a sample of the questions and give us an example of some you saw.🤣

48. Enuff October 6, 2022 10:15 AM

Don’t hold your breath.

49. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

ya int got nimbles to pick off you..

Leave a Reply to African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights ReservedCancel reply