Submitted by Steven Kaszab

The authorities have told us that while covid-19 is still with us for the near future, that the economy and our lives should return to some normality. Yes, we see hundreds and thousands of our neighbors gather in sporting and entertainment events daily. Oh well, ce la vie. What will be, will be.

The bad old habits we had pre-pandemic, many of them illegal have shown their faces again. What particularly disturbs me is the bad habits of the roadway, such as texting and talking on the phone while driving, doing other things that you often did while at home, such as doing your hair, eating a bowl of cereal, not paying attention to the road and their fellow travelers. Not that we are the only ones carrying out such antics. Was driving yesterday on a main road and pulled over by the side of a police officers while driving. He was driving, looking at his computer beside him with a cellular phone in his hand. We waved and lifted our phones towards him with a shrug, and thankfully he took it as a humorous prank. 

Habits are difficult to develop and also to change taking time to develop. The years we are in the pandemic will certainly allow us to develop some interesting habits. Wearing of masks, standing away from strangers, shopping wisely in an economy that is stagnating. 

Seems we are all living in our own insulated worlds, and we often cut the outside world out, separating what we want and need from our community and the roads we travel. This summer I witnessed many a beer can thrown from a moving vehicle, multiple alcohol bottles and cans strewn the sides of our roadways. Walked through a development being built in my community. The number of alcohol bottles was very high, especially in an area where professional contractors were building new homes and using machinery. 

There are so many bad habits, but these concern me. It is often stressful to drive to and from my work place, and knowing someone will cut me off, drive wildly on the highway, or perhaps is under the influence only makes these journeys more stress filled. The hold our cellphones have on us is incredible. Rogers, Bell and other Tele-Com firms have such an incredible hold upon us. The day Rogers service was lost for a day, there were more accidents on our roads than any other day of this year. 

The pandemic has made our public protectors, The Police either lazy or very introspective, and the laws they should be applying to the roadway and community seem to have been set aside. Perhaps because the pandemic has affected so many of us, or perhaps they simply do not want to do paper-work. Who knows. Something seems out of place or different in 2022. How we acted three years ago has changed in some way. Back then our neighbors began to honor the rules of the road and the police enforced them too. Texting while driving was way down. Not now. Perhaps our law enforcement officers feel sorry for us and are holding back on their legal retribution. 

Remember the words of Gandhi who mentioned “Your beliefs become your thoughts, your thoughts become your words, your words become your actions, your actions become your habits, your habits become your values and your values become your destiny”. Let’s pay attention out there, be diligent, aware and alert for our families, friends and community.

10 responses to “Habits become Your Values”

1. No politics here.

You know… time has a way of moving quickly and catching you unaware of the passing years.
    It seems just yesterday that I was young and embarking on my new life. Yet in a way, it seems like eons ago, and I wonder where all the years went. I know that I lived them all. I have glimpses of how it was back then and of all my hopes and dreams.

But, here it is… the last quarter of my life and it catches me by surprise… How did I get here so fast? Where did the years go and where did my youth go?

I remember well seeing older people through the years and thinking that those older people were years away from me and that I was only on the first quarter and the fourth quarter was so far off that I could not visualise it or imagine fully what it would be like.

But, here it is… my friends are retired and getting gray… they move slower and I see an older person now. Some are in better and some worse shape than me… but, I see the great change. Not like the ones that I remember who were young and vibrant.. but, like me, their age is beginning to show and we are now those older folks that we used to see and never thought we’d become.

Each day now, I find that just getting a shower is a real target for the day! And taking a nap is not a treat anymore… it’s mandatory! Cause if I don’t on my own free will… I fall asleep where I sit!

And so… now I enter into this new season of my life unprepared for all the aches and pains and the loss of strength and ability to go and do things that I wish I had done but never did!! But, at least I know, though I’m on the last quarter and I’m not sure how long it will last… this I know, that when it’s over on this earth… it’s over. A new adventure will begin!

Yes, I have regrets. There are things I wish I hadn’t done… things I should have done, but indeed, there are many things I’m happy to have done. It’s all in a lifetime.

So, if you’re not on the last quarter yet.. let me remind you, that it will be here faster than you think. So, whatever you would like to accomplish in your life do it quickly! Don’t put things off too long!! Life goes by quickly. So, do what you can today, as you can never be sure whether you’re on the last quarter or not!

You have no promise that you will see all the seasons of your life…. so, live for today and say all the things that you want your loved ones to remember.. and hope that they appreciate and love you for all the things that you have done for them in all the years past!

“Life” is a gift to you. The way you live your life is your gift to those who come after. Make it a fantastic one.
    LIVE IT WELL! ENJOY TODAY!
    DO SOMETHING FUN! BE HAPPY!
    HAVE A GREAT DAY!

Remember “It is health that is real wealth and not pieces of gold and silver.
    LASTLY, CONSIDER THIS:

~ Going out is good…

Coming home is better!

~ You forget names….
    But it’s OK because some people forgot they even knew you!!!

~ You realize you’re never going to be really good at anything like golf.

~ The things you used to care to do, you aren’t as interested in anymore, but you really don’t care that you aren’t as interested.

~ You sleep better on a lounge chair with the TV ‘ON’ than in bed. It’s called “pre-sleep”.

~ You miss the days when everything worked with just an “ON” and “OFF” switch..

~ You tend to use more 4 letter words .. “what?”…”when?”.. ???

~ You have lots of clothes
    in your wardrobe, more than half of which. you will never wear.

~ But Old is good in some things: Old Songs,
    Old movies,
    and best of all,
    OLD FRIENDS!!

Stay well, “OLD FRIEND!”
    Send this on to other “Old Friends!” and let them laugh in AGREEMENT!!! It’s Not What You Gather, But What You Scatter That Tells What Kind Of Life You Have Lived.

Be happy!!!

2. Bu is a habit
    and there are many Bu addicks
    but I never understood a single word they say
    Take Me Deeper
    (Spoken Word Edit)
    (Soul Afrika Crew Dirty West Mix)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_CwHjXBvdP8

Jeremiah was a bullfrog
    Was a good friend of mine
    I never understood a single word he said
    But I helped him a-drink his wine
    And he always had some mighty fine wine

Singin’ joy to the world
    All the boys and girls now
    Joy to the fishes in the deep blue sea
    Joy to you and me

And if I were the king of the world
    Tell you what I’d do
    I’d throw away the cars and the bars and the war
    Make sweet love to you

Sing it now, joy to the world
    All the boys and girls
    Joy to you and me

You know I love the ladies
    Love to have my fun
    I’m a high life flyer and a rainbow rider
    A straight shootin’ son-of-a-gun
    I said a straight shootin’ son-of-a-gun

Joy to the world
    All the boys and girls
    Joy to you and me

Joy to the world
    All the boys and girls
    Joy to the world
    Joy to you and me

Joy to the world
    All the boys and girls
    Joy to you and me

Joy to the world
    Joy to you and me
    Joy to the world
    All the boys and girls now
    Joy to you and me

Joy to the world
    All the boys and girls
    Joy to you and me

Joy to the world
    All the boys and girls

3. Bu is a habit and there are many Bu addicks but I never understood a single word they say (Quote)

Man, you and Waru are de TWO BIGGEST BU ADDICTS.
    Wuh um is dat does motivate you to come pun de blog posting bare YouTube videos a whole day to EVERY blog dat doan even mek nuh sense to wuh people talking bout?

De ting dat got me is that you doan when to quit, when to tell yuh self enough is enough and um is time to tek a break because yuh mekking yuh self a nuisance.

You and de other got BU real boring. Man, tek a lil vacation nuh.

time to tek a break and tell yuh self enough i

4. ❝ Man, you and Waru are de TWO BIGGEST BU ADDICTS.
    Wuh um is dat does motivate you to come pun de blog posting bare YouTube videos a whole day to EVERY blog dat doan even mek nuh sense to wuh people talking bout?

De ting dat got me is that you doan when to quit, when to tell yuh self enough is enough and um is time to tek a break because yuh mekking yuh self a nuisance•

You and de other got BU real boring. Man, tek a lil vacation nuh•

time to tek a break and tell yuh self enough i ❞

OK Frankie your wish is granted.
    I will take my thermos flask
    And that’s all I need too.
    I don’t need one other thing, not one…
    I need this. – The paddle game and the chair, and the remote control, and the matches for sure.
    Heartbeat

And Beyond

5. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

The ones who CONTRIBUTE THE LEAST….complain the most and have NOTHING TO SHOW FOR IT…lol

6. The ones who CONTRIBUTE THE LEAST….complain the most and have NOTHING TO SHOW FOR IT…lol (Quote)

LESS IS MORE!!!!

😂 😂 😂

7. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

less is more for those who don’t contribute but always looking for shite to pick…shitpickers….noncontributors, but ya can only do that on here….time wasters..

fyi …i spend more time on my two sites than on BU, spend more time with my book and magazine than on BU………..which is just a click away, click from one page to the other, make a comment, move on….it’s not rocket science…though it may be to some..who have nothing that anyone would want to read…

8. “Was driving yesterday on a main road and pulled over by the side of a police officers while driving. He was driving, looking at his computer beside him with a cellular phone in his hand. We waved and lifted our phones towards him with a shrug, and thankfully he took it as a humorous prank.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~

If I’m not mistaken, as long as police officers are on duty and operating an official police vehicle, they are exempt from laws that prohibit the use of mobile phones and similar devices while driving.

9. As an abstract artist, my sons are always looking over my shoulders saying “Dad, less is more” they can’t see what I’m creating until the theme is completed.

I have 2 paintings that didn’t move base on my son’s persuasiveness.

In their eyes they see a finish product in my first 20 minutes on canvas. That’s from their Perspective.

Less is more???

10. Word!!

“Bu is a habit
    and there are many Bu addicks
    but I never understood a single word they say”

Xxx

My brothers developed a game called “stretch the word”. Example (pne) pneumonoultramicroscopicsilicovolcanoconioses is the longest word entered in the most trusted English dictionaries. The definition is “a lung disease caused by inhalation of very fine silicate or quartz dust.” (Note that it is not entered in the Learner’s Dictionary–it is considered too specialized of a term to qualify for entry in this type of dictionary.)