Barbados is currently experiencing another crime wave and to be expected it is being politicized which is part of the problem. How does the crime problem get fixed if family members and friends protect the criminals? Same people who were responsible for giving birth to the very monsters terrorizing the country?

This is an oversimplification of the problem to make a bigger point – observations suggest traditional tactics supported by a slow justice system and ‘not fit for purpose laws’ are being used to tackle the crime challenge. Sensible people know the approach being undertaken by authorities will NOT arrest the problem.

From an enforcement angle BOLD measures have to be taken to send messages to the criminal element of a zero tolerance to crime, especially gun crime.

On the other side of the issue, parents and guardians have to also be held accountable. Many in our neck of the woods will not condone Rodrigo Duterte’s methods, it is bitter but it works based on Philippine’s crime index. The time has come and gone for creative crime fighting solutions to be implemented albeit Barbados’ once pristine reputation ican be found in the toilet.

Blogmaster

The following comment was posted by BU family member Artax to the Number of Murders On-track to Surpass 2021 blog.

Over the years, we’ve been having discussions on BU about the crime situation in Barbados.
And, there will obviously be attempts by some persons to politicize the situation.

I agree with AG Marshall “that the recent spate of killings resulted from gunmen in specific “groups” targeting each other,”…… and not “gangs,” as Trisha Tannis is suggesting.
Marshall would’ve obviously made his observations based on certain intelligence.

However, as I mentioned in an October 25th, 2020 12:28 PM contribution to another ‘crime thread,’…… “if one examines the gun crimes carefully, it is evident they were on the rise since 2014 and a gradual increase was expected.”

On November 11th, 2015, an ‘Updated Homicide Study’ by the Criminal Justice Research and Planning Unit revealed that 42% of the approximately 140 homicides recorded between 2010 and 2014, were as a result of guns…… ‘a trend observed as far back as 1992, and which continued to be the most common method used today.’

Evidence suggests that several persons who died as a result of shooting were not involved in ‘gangs,’ but died as a result of retaliation or revenge, petty ‘beefs’ involving women, drugs money, robberies etc.

For example, November 29th, 2014, 31 year old Ricardo Francois and other men were at bar in Danesbury, Black Rock, when some men got out of a car and started shooting.
Francois was found dead behind the shop, while four other individuals were injured…… one of whom was the son of Ricardo ‘Rick’ Bryan.
On September 1st, 2016, Ricardo ‘Rick’ Bryan, 46, of Black Rock, St Michael, was shot multiple times by three men as he exited his vehicle, outside the Lucky Horseshoe Saloon & Steakhouse in Warrens, St Michael.

Forty-four (44) year-old Jerome Oneal ‘Wild Geese’ Bovell of Spring Garden, Black Rock, St. Michael, was shot and killed in Goddings Road, St Stephen’s Hill, Black Rock, St Michael, on June 28th, 2017.
It is alleged Bovell was a ‘hit man’ and responsible for the death of Stephen Leonard Agard, 47 years of #10 Valley, St. George, who, on June 10th, 2017, was shot multiple times while standing outside his vehicle, which was parked on the compound of the old KFC building in Black Rock.

I’m sure everyone remembered when a man walked into Sheraton Center Mall, shot and killed 33 year old Damien Trotman, on March 22nd, 2019.

Another fact is, there are ‘hit men’ in Barbados. Men who are willing to kill anyone for cash or drugs.

Information and statistics about crime in Barbados is available to the public, enabling anyone desirous of having a rational discussion on the issue, to do so.

-Artax

98 responses to “Failing Recurring Crime Fighting Tactics”

1. @ David

The discussion about ‘hitmen’ isn’t anything new.

Former CoP Griffith was reported by the October 9, 2016 edition of the ‘Nation’ as having said, ‘he has no evidence of hitmen being hired to commit murders in Barbados,’

The Thursday, November 19th, 2015 edition of the ‘Nation’ published an article from Jamaica, entitled, “Rise in Contract Killings,” in which that island’s Commissioner of Police, Dr. Carl Williams, expressed concern about the increasing number of murders being carried out by ‘hitmen.’
    He revealed police were seeing a new class of hitmen, “who are carrying out contract killings on behalf of persons seeking to get rid of others with whom they have disagreements.”

Interestingly, the authorities in Trinidad and Guyana expressed similar concerns about ‘hitmen’ as well.

In July 2020, then National Security Minister, Senator Hermangild Francis, confirmed murder-for-hire was active in St. Lucia.
    A situation, which according to him, was ‘very worrying.’
    And, while not new, the problem of ‘hitmen’ on island was becoming more significant.

SVG Police reported that, in the early morning hours of August 7th, 2018, acting on information received, police officers from the Special Patrol and Narcotics Units, conducted a joint operation at a guest house in Lowmans, Leeward, where a Barbadian male, identified as former BDF soldier, Timothy Bancroft, was taken into custody.
    The information, which Police believed to be credible, indicated Bancroft visited the island ‘to do a hit,’ but was apprehended before he could commit the crime.
    However, the former soldier claimed he was in SVG to buy drugs to return to Barbados.
    Bancroft was subsequently charged for conspiracy to commit drug trafficking, to which he pleaded guilty, and was fined EC$4,000 forthwith.

2. @Artax

Nothing is new however yhe danger is the degree of this activity now compared to years ago. The crime landscape is deteriorating.

3. @ David

Another thing…… contrary to popular belief, similarly to how ordinary Barbadians who are aware of known criminals involved in illegal activities, because they ‘have ears on the ground’ or heard the ‘word on the streets,’ the police are ALSO AWARE.

They are police officers whose specific duties involve the gathering of intelligence, while others are responsible for its compilation.

Some of those same persons who have their ‘ears on the ground,’ are police informants.
    Covert human intelligence sources, surveillance, questioning persons who are suspected of committing crimes or police officers going into certain districts to get information, are some of the methods used to gather intelligence.

Bear in mind, although intelligence is derived from information, there is a significant difference between both terms.
    Whereas ‘information’ may be simply defined as unevaluated, unverified or unanalyzed data gathered from several sources……
    …… ‘intelligence,’ is basically analyzed, evaluated or contexualized data, usually gathered from trusted sources.

I don’t know if you remember, but, a few years ago, the identity of the person who won ‘Police Officer of the Year’ award, at that time, had to be withheld from publication due to the nature of his duties.

Also, I know of a situation involving two officers who protested when they were transferred from performing particular duties to uniformed duties, because they feared being recognized as policemen would’ve placed their lives in jeopardy.

But, the answer to the question, with all the sources of gathering information, ‘why nuh big boys don’t get lock up,’…… is a topic for another discussion.

4. @Artax

You are correct of course. The blogmaster is aware of police officers working undercover as hotel workers for example. The police force has been intelligence gathering, the issue seems to be the inability to convert to a charge.

5. The Police are part of the criminal problem.

NTSH

6. “The Police are part of the criminal problem.
    NTSH….”
    ~~~~~~~~~~

True.

And, so too are persons, who, rather than fulfill their civic duties, would prefer to blame the police, while ‘turning a blind eye,’ and ‘say,’ “NTSH.”

7. I would make Tannis the CoP

From BT
    “As a country, they have told us that we have invested in scanners at ports of entry. It is difficult to think that in an island of 166 square miles that we [don’t] have intelligence that tells us where the issues are, and to our minds the only issue we have is one of accountability.

“We simply have to take action on the intelligence that we have. It would not be easy to convince me that we do not know where the smoking gun is, no pun intended. And we have to get to a stage where regardless of where the smoke is coming from, who it is pointing to, regardless of what sphere of society they may be, we have got to take action,” Tannis insisted during an interview on the Down to Brass Tacks call-in programme on VOB on Monday.

8. Tannis for AG

I am no lawyer. I am probably what some would call a ‘bleeding heart liberal’ but I would put my intuition about what is fair and respectful up against the AG law degree any day. The AG is an ass.

From BT
    “In May 2021, High Court judge Madame Justice Shona Griffith ruled as “unconstitutional”, a section of the Bail (Amendment) Act 2019 that forces the courts to remand persons charged with murder or serious firearm offences for 24 months before they can qualify for bail. The Office of the Attorney General has filed an appeal against that ruling and that matter is still pending.’

9. The desire to remand people ‘for 24 months before they can qualify for bail’
    Is a sign of incompetence. Not convince that they can close the deal, they would seek to punish before going to trial.

10. You understand the request to remand for 24 months was an attempt to prevent people on bail from committing crimes? It is no secret much of the current unrest/murders involve idiots on bail.

11. One would think getting money from a lawyer would take a few days, but it can take years or never happens.

Have a trial within a reasonable time and depending on the outcome.. release or jail. Time to stop crying about the slow wheel of injustice. Fix it. We have this expression ‘cut bait or fish’.

12. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Theo….don’t hold your breath,,,,they can’t change course..

these beasts just disenfranchised the entire region’s children and before anyone could,, publicly protest jumped in the media AND LIED ON THE CHILDREN they dienfranchised..

they are ALL FRAUDS….andcan’tt be or do anything except for what they are doing running EVERYTHING INTO THE GROUND…..that’s all they are good for next to what they are known best for….. ….none of it any good…

13. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

befire anyone could……publicly protest they jumped in the media AND LIED ON THE CHILDREN they disenfranchised..

and can’t be or do anything except for what they are doing ….running EVERYTHING INTO THE GROUND

the quicker the people move out of their dangerous corrupt orbit…the better off they will be….

14. Our Supreme Leader must finally crack down on the judiciary, which is part of the crime problem. Justice Shona Griffith has abused her power. Our Supreme Leader MUST act now and take her out.

We do not want criminal conditions like in the other pepper islands and all the hellholes in South America, Asia and Africa.

Soon the remaining tourists run away from us because the natives slaughter each other like animals. Justice Shona Griffith bears FULL responsibility for this dramatic situation!

15. How does the Barbados Police Service need to win the public’s confidence? This does not help.

Cops told: Get the basics right

by HEATHER-LYNN EVANSON
    heatherlynevanson@nationnews.com
    LESS THAN A WEEK after Magistrate Kim Butcher chastised lawmen for failing to give an accused his constitutionally due telephone call while in custody, police have once again been admonished.
    This time it is by Chief Magistrate Ian Weekes, who has urged police to not only allow accused those phone calls but also verify the addresses of people in their custody. “These are the standards that are to be met. And I am saying this too. The Barbados Police Service isn’t just accountable to me. It’s about your international standing and ranking and whether you will meet the criteria established by the international agencies,” Chief Magistrate Weekes declared yesterday.
    “This is 2022, nearly 2023. We can’t be doing these things now. You all see all the lawsuits that are happening? These are straightforward things that can easily be addressed.”
    The Chief Magistrate’s comments came as Renison Isaiah Prince appeared before him in the District “A” Magistrates’ Court.
    A week ago, when Prince appeared before the District “A” Traffic Court on a theft charge and signed his bond, his address was given as Callenders, Christ Church.
    Yesterday, when he appeared on a criminal damage offence, his charge sheet indicated he lived at Thornbury Hill.
    Mix-up
    “That means somebody was
    mixing up the information from day one,” Prince said, adding that he lived with his father at Thornbury Hill.
    “I mussee sign and didn’t read what I was signing,” he said.
    Weekes then asked if any of the lawmen who had dealt with Prince had verified his address.
    “I read with great interest that my sister [Magistrate Kim Butcher] spoke about not giving people a call when in custody,” Weekes said.
    “And I was glad to read that because the police don’t understand that when a man is in custody, there has to be transparency.
    “You got to give a man a call. When there is no objection to bail, you cannot have the man coming up here and the man ain’t get nobody or get no call to sign bail,” he noted.
    The Chief Magistrate then questioned whether police had spoken to the accused man’s father and what was the basis for putting down that address.
    “People keep coming in here on charge sheets saying they have no fixed place of abode. Then the man would tell you he live at his aunt and nobody is in a position from the Barbados Police Service to say we spoke to his aunt to confirm he does not live there, he used to live there and ‘I put him out’,” he said.
    Phone call
    He then asked Prince if he had been granted a phone call while in custody. Prince replied he had not.
    “These are basic and routine. If he was offered the right to an attorney, the law does not require a police officer to rattle off that big,
    long statement about his right to an attorney.
    “All you have to do is tell a man in a language he understands,” he said.
    The court was then informed that police had not verified the accused man’s address.
    Weekes also bemoaned the lack of specificity in addresses, saying charge sheets sometimes had general addresses like St Patrick’s, Christ Church.
    “There are now developments in St Patrick’s. So the question is where exactly in St Patrick’s does the man live. Some basic things that they are not getting right.”
    It was last Thursday that Traffic Court Magistrate Butcher had expressed displeasure with lawmen who do not give accused their constitutionally due telephone calls while in custody.
    “Are we not tired of matters being thrown out when they get to the High Court and damages being paid?” she had asked.

16. What is a middle aged security guard expected to do?

BUT calls for beefed-up security at schools
    GOVERNMENT IS BEING URGED to increase security at schools as soon as possible.
    President of the Barbados Union of Teachers (BUT), Rudy Lovell, made that plea yesterday as he raised concern about the recent spike in gun violence.
    “While the COVID-19 pandemic and its effect on the teaching and learning process remains foremost in the minds of all educators, the BUT is worried about the escalating crime and violence in Barbados. This is especially so given that schools are a microcosm of society.
    “We note that some primary schools are without security guards, and students and teachers at these schools are exposed to various uncertainties. There have been instances reported by members and even on record in the media of
    violent crimes perpetrated in close proximity to schools,” Lovell said in a statement.
    So far, there have been 29 murders this year, and most of the victims were fatally shot.
    Although concerned about safety, the BUT made it clear that its members were ready to return to the classroom but needed that concern addressed.
    “At a recently held meeting, the BUT membership indicated they are ready to return to the classroom, amidst a few concerns regarding the proposed structure outlined by the Ministry of Education.
    “These concerns do not diminish their commitment to the teaching and learning process as the union continues to discuss these issues with the Ministry of Education, Technological and Vocational Training. However, it is against this backdrop
    that we urge those in authority to be proactive and not wait until something happens to respond to this issue. We hope that the problem of a lack of security guards at some schools can be speedily rectified,” he added. (TG)

17. Stray bullet fear for the innocent

FIVE LIVES IN five days!
    Let me just say at the outset that I would not want to trade places with the Commissioner of Police Richard Boyce.
    That seat must not only be uncomfortable right now but hot.
    With five gun-related murders recorded in a week, Barbadians across the length and breadth of this country have been vocal on the issue of crime.
    Let’s face it, many people are uncomfortable and some feel a little jittery – and rightfully so.
    And while I respect the facts that came out of the recently held police press conference, especially the point that all of those who died at the hands of a gun last week (the fifth murder had not occurred at the time of the press conference) were associated with groups which have been warring among themselves, I am sure I speak for a number of Barbadians that this does not make the situation any more palatable.
    Lest our officials forget, there is such a thing as a stray bullet, and there is also a saying about being in the wrong place at the wrong time.
    It is all too possible for innocent people to be caught in the crossfire of those who are fighting against each other.
    I am not here to tear down the work of police officers, but people are very concerned about the state of crime in the country, myself included. We have heard your reassurances that you have it under control. We also appreciate the fact that all the details surrounding these investigations cannot be put in the public domain due to national security.
    We just want these crimes to stop. It is the one issue that dominated headlines last week and had many looking over their shoulders in fear, especially those living in the areas where the shootings took place.
    And, how can you blame them? It cannot be easy for these residents to put their heads down at night and sleep peacefully, not knowing if more gunshots will ring out and claim the life of someone they know.
    Years ago, too, some areas were tainted and marked as being “bad” because of the widespread crimes that occurred. This cannot be said today.
    Attorney General Dale Marshall also attended the press conference and disclosed that one of the four men gunned down was being investigated for at least three murders.
    Different road
    This could take me down a totally different road, albeit still related. Repeated calls have been made about individuals committing serious crimes and being out on bail. That is a column for another time.
    Marshall also said all of the men (again, up to the day of the press conference) who died were also known to the police.
    Boyce said the men were also known to each other.
    Another interesting fact that came out at that press conference was that 14 of the 21 people gunned down this year were on bail for various serious offences, including murder, use of a firearm, possession of a firearm and serious bodily harm.
    We need to arrest this problem, and fast, not only as we look to protect our citizens but also to protect those who will be spending big bucks to vacation here, especially as we approach our winter season.
    I also want to quickly touch on the ease in protocols.
    I am still not too keen on people coming too close to me, three-foot distance protocol in effect or not.
    As far as I am concerned, COVID-19 is still around.
    It was incredible to witness on my vacation in North America that there were countless people not wearing masks. In fact, I was in the minority.
    Fortunately for me on the plane ride up, I was seated next to an older couple who had their masks on, only taking them off for a quick nibble.
    On my return trip, I was beside another older couple, on their way to Barbados for the first time, who also wore masks. Theirs only came off as they drank their complimentary beverages.
    The captain on the plane took pains to point out in an announcement that masks were not required and passengers must respect those who choose not to wear masks.
    I was happy that I lucked out on both occasions to be seated next to individuals who opted to keep their masks on.
    When I landed at Grantley Adams International Airport, officials were also not playing around and each and every passenger had to put on their masks while coming through Customs.
    I get that we still have to live comfortably and that life is resuming to some normalcy, but we still have to be responsible for our own safety and health.
    So just because there has been an ease whereby the three-foot physical distance rule is no longer in effect, it doesn’t mean we should totally drop our guard.
    Many of us still have loved ones at home who we need to protect.
    There has been some concern expressed already about the number of elderly people dying of COVID-19.
    Life must go on, yes, but we must still exercise a level of caution and not throw caution to the wind. We still have to protect ourselves, those we love and the elderly.

18. News items that make you go hmmmm.

Mayor: Police, parents have jobs to do
    by TONY BEST WITH DEADLY GUN VIOLENCE unnerving residents of New York and Barbados, New York City’s new mayor, Eric Adams, seemingly has a prescription for the problem in both places.
    It is: let the police, courts, parents and others get on with their jobs of helping to fight crime and raise God-fearing children who know right from wrong.
    Asked in Brooklyn about the recent spate of cases involving the deadly use of guns in the two jurisdictions – New York and Barbados – Adams told the MIDWEEK NATION he wasn’t rushing to second-guess parents and law enforcement agencies as they seek to battle lawbreakers.
    “It’s a combination of factors,” said the former police captain in the Big Apple, who later became a New York State senator in Albany, the state capital, before being elected the first black borough president of Brooklyn, and eight years later, New York City’s chief executive.
    “The police officers have their jobs to do. Parents have their jobs to do – the shooters are becoming younger and younger and the victims are also becoming younger and younger. Our judges [and the courts] must do their jobs after letting out people who are dangerous. The courts must do their jobs. Lawmakers [in the legislature of New York and Parliament in Barbados and the rest of the Caribbean] must also do their jobs,” Adams said.
    “People everywhere were passing laws to protect people who commit crimes. We need to pass laws to protect people who are victims of crime,” added the mayor, who assumed duties last January after being elected to the top job at City Hall last November.
    Victims
    “I support people who are victims. I do not support those who continue to commit violence and otherwise break criminal laws.”
    A few months ago, Adams expressed concern about the steady flow of American-made guns into New York City and Caribbean island-nations and said he wanted to work alongside Caribbean communities in and out of New York to help stem the tide of deadly weapons and violence.
    “We want to open up a relationship with the Caribbean community [in New York] because the problems you are finding back home [in the Caribbean], many of them were being fed by this country (US),” he told a predominantly West Indian immigrant audience at Gracie Mansion, the mayor’s official residence.
    “Gun violence that is born here (US) finds its way to Trinidad and Tobago, Jamaica, Haiti, St Vincent [and Barbados]. We are talking about ending gun violence. We are talking about guns that are manufactured in America and find their way to your home island and your home country.”
    Carnival
    Adams made his more recent comments on Monday shortly before heading down the West Indian Carnival parade route of Eastern Parkway in Brooklyn to celebrate the return of the colourful cultural festival that routinely attracts more than a million revellers and spectators.
    He was quick to draw attention to the fact that there weren’t any incidents of violence along the Brooklyn thoroughfare.

19. Missing from all the debate is how do WE intend to change the increasing crime trend.The same old will not work. Drastic measures need to be taken – this is a fight all of us must enter for the greater good.

Gang crime worry
    Economists fear further setback to economy
    by COLVILLE MOUNSEY
    colvillemounsey@nationnews.com

WITH THE WINTER TOURIST season just two months away, one economist is warning that Barbados cannot afford to have gun violence derail what he believes will be a make-orbreak season in terms of the country’s economic recovery.
    Professor Emeritus Michael Howard of the University of the West Indies said the revelation of what by all accounts is an ensuing “gang war” had the potential to be another spoke in the wheel of a sector beset by challenges for the last three years.
    ‘Dangerous ground’
    “I can tell you from an economic perspective that we are treading on dangerous ground. I note that the police are referring to them as groups attacking each other, but we all know what these groups are.
    “All it takes is one international headline and a travel advisory and we are looking at a serious problem. No one wants to be the victim of a stray bullet; a number of the vicious acts have been caught on camera and it is clear that these persons are not concerned with reducing collateral damage. The fact that our statistics are not at the level of Trinidad or Jamaica does not mean that our reputation won’t be just as bad,” Howard said.
    He added: “It does not help trying to paint a picture that this is just groups of people fighting among each other and therefore the rest of society is not affected. The effects of this are far-reaching because right now there is a pervading sense of fear and fear keeps people away.”
    Fellow economist Jeremy Stephen said based on his academic research six years ago, the current economic conditions, especially the ongoing cost of living crunch, tend to provide
    the perfect conditions for an increase in the power base of gang leaders.
    Stephen said he was not surprised by the current state of affairs. He contended that his research showed that while gangs tend to be prevalent even within the best of economic times, territorial fights tend to intensify during lean times.
    “Economies that are flourishing can have gang violence, but the underlying issues tend to differ from those that are struggling. Even in developed economies like Barbados, you would find different areas where opportunities tend to miss a lot of people typically and therefore when the wider economy itself struggles, those persons are the most vulnerable.
    Criminal activity
    “You would therefore expect that any garrisons that form, any influential persons within those communities that lend themselves to criminal activity, will find even more impetus for criminal activity to flourish,” Stephen explained.
    Stephen, a former banking and finance lecturer at the UWI, Cave Hill Campus, pointed out that economic activity, albeit criminal in nature, tend to pick up in these vulnerable areas, as the wider economy struggles.
    “As things worsen in the wider economy you tend to find that things in these underprivileged zones become a little more heated and economic activity in those zones pick up because more people are drawn to it. As a result, people tend to become more territorial, and the balance is fickle.
    “You tend to find that things that might normally go unnoticed, now tend to have very aggressive responses, especially during hard times. Based on the research I did six years ago, these gang leaders tend to keep their communities balanced, and around these hard times they become even more influential.”
    During a press conference last Friday, Commissioner of Police Richard Boyce said the already alarming murder rate of 29 deaths
    so far for the year could have been higher if police had not placed some targets in protective custody.
    Acting Assistant Commissioner of Police David Griffith further disclosed: “From our investigation, it is very clear to us the majority of these murders are persons affiliated with these groups and they are exacting their own vengeance.”
    Griffith did not disclose the areas where these groups exist, but noted that they were not new, and the warring was confined to within these particular groups.

20. The G Story (title of my next book)
    Put a Criminal or Gangster in Jail..
    … and,
    … they will come out a better Criminal Gangster …

21. Didn’t read the last (4:42 a.m) post. It started with some ‘tourist’ stuff and my mind got foggy.

This and one of the post above appear to be more concerned about the tourists than the locals and citizens.

And that is where they get it wrong. Everyone knows that the tourist is a heavily protected species. Mess with a tourist and the crime gets solved and people get jailed.

Place emphasis on combating crime against citizens. Put the same or more effort into protecting your citizens.

Tired of hearing “what if a tourist is a victim”.

BTW: Crime happens in good times, in bad times, in good neighborhoods, in bad neighborhoods, in the wrong places, at the wrong time……

22. @4:38 a.m.
    “We need to arrest this problem, and fast, not only as we look to protect our citizens but also to protect those who will be spending big bucks to vacation here, especially as we approach our winter season.”

This two-part article. Is just a regurgitation of what you see here on BU about the crime situation. The second part is about the journey of a face mask to New York and back.

23. Critical Analyzer Avatar

The problem starts and ends with the court system.

All cases involving gun possession, assault or killings using guns, cutlass or knives or otherwise pose a danger to society MUST have their trials started within 2-4 weeks after charges are brought by the police.

24. @CA

How is what you suggest possible if we are to believe Chief Magistrate Weekes the BPS is often not bothered to validate the address of those charged or allow them a one phone call?

25. On another note the blogmaster tuned in for a few minutes yesterday to the callin show in time to listen to the moderator (a lawyer) cautioning callers the danger in suggesting changes to existing laws that would offend the rights of the many because of the few.

A bit of feedback to the moderator- will the majority want to maintain their liberties while the society is going to hell in a hand basket?

26. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“Mess with a tourist and the crime gets solved and people get jailed.

Place emphasis on combating crime against citizens. Put the same or more effort into protecting your citizens.

Tired of hearing “what if a tourist is a victim”.

again….don’t hold your breath….they have NO CONNECTION to the big picture or the reality BEARING DOWN ON THEM………still relying on information from the 17-1800s to trap the people indefinitely in soci0-economic bondage…

everything is tits up and ass backwards…the above the weight punching…..that will NEVER work out….or benefit the majority…

27. https://barbadostoday.bb/2022/08/23/jail-jackman/
    Only the very last sentence is important “Jackman is expected to know his fate on November 9”.

Why not hold him on remand for two years and let him know the sentence afterwards.

The injustice system can be deliberately slow when it wants to be. It can turn on a dime for some petty crimes,but can also become an ocean liner making a turn.

Two schools of thought
    (1) Nothing works or
    (2) Things work as they are supposed to.
    and both are right.

28. Isn’t Earnest Jackman on remand?

29. Did I say “have a great day”
    “And whatever your labors and aspirations, in the noisy confusion of life, keep peace in your soul. With all its sham, drudgery and broken dreams, it is still a beautiful world. Be cheerful. Strive to be happy”.

It is indeed a beautiful world. Our goal should be to make it even more beautiful.
    Have a great day, Barbados.

30. Isn’t Earnest Jackman on remand?👍
    You caught me there. Sent me searching BT for his tstus.

“Jackman, who is from St Philip, has been on remand at Dodds prison since May 31 pending sentencing following his conviction by jury for stealing and using over half a million dollars of a client’s money..”

Will assume he is still on remand and not walking the streets, Let’s cut that November 9 to September 9 and just give the man the 8 or 99 years that he deserves.

—x—

I was tempted to do the usual BU thing and shift the goal post.

🙂 It would have gone something like this
    You tell me if he is and whilst you are at it tell me why CH is or isn’t on remand. Why is he entitled to a “get out of jail free card? That should concern you more. 🙂

But on my way out and will play fair.

31. BTW: I just convinced myself that to use CH’s name in the way we often do is not fair.
    I truly believe he got away with something, but we use him as a blanket to cover up flaws in some of our arguments. or as target practice.

32. Words to remove from my vocabulary
    CH
    KK
    migrant
    black

Did you see how I set that piece of bait.
    Will be later to see if I caught anything.
    Enjoy your day.

33. What about LP?

Is he still on $1.5M bail since 2020?

“Is he entitled to a “get out of jail free card” as well?

Or, as someone ‘said,’ perhaps LP is being treated unfairly because he “did not go to Harrison College or get a Barbados Scholarship,”…… or originated from the upper echelons of society.

34. Very familiar
    A former AG: there no gangs , just wayward youth Maurice King ( AG DLP)
    No gangs but groups of people. Dale Marshall ( AG BLP)

Very interesting
    Overheard:
    “There goes that gang that shoots people”
    @That’s no gang it’s a group”

35. TheOGazerts on Failing
    Recurring Crime
    Fighting Tactics

Words to remove from my
    vocabulary CH KK migrant black
    90,000 80,000 Did you see how I
    set that piece…

You did mention those words
    subconscious
    CH KK migrant black 90,000 80,000 are responsible for black on black crime

36. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“No gangs but groups of people. Dale Marshall ( AG BLP)”

so where did these “fellas carrying out hits on each other and have to be put in protective custody” come from….

37. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

William…people are noticing that these “hits” assassinations of Afrikan people were PLANNED AND COORDINATED TO COINCIDE with the AfriCaribbean conference…

but all it did was SHOWCASE THE LEVEL OF CORRUPTION, OPPRESSION, SUPPRESSION, DISENFRANCHISEMENT and POVERTY that leads to CRIMES…

even that SCAM failed…

38. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David, the word ‘start’ must be considered in its most basic of meanings…

I don’t know the background of your response re “How is what you suggest possible if we are to believe Chief Magistrate Weekes the BPS is often not bothered to validate the address of those charged or allow them a one phone call?” … but common sense says that it’s very difficult to get fully ‘loaded’ to start within 2-4 weeks a criminal case for murder, assault and such UNLESS you catch the perpetrators in the act or develop immediate positive evidence that links them to the crime.

The need for a speedy trail or rather promptly solving ‘capital cases’ is understood but its insane to expect all the evidence gathering, witness depositions and lawyering matters etc ad nauseum to be completed withing a month …. to move the matter fully onto the docket!

At best you get evidence of a possible suspect in that time and can START by making an arrest and can move to the preliminary hearing but then it’s quite a tad longer to fully build the case for prosecution, not so!

Why this impractical palaver!

39. Affirmation
    Energy Level 12

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p184Z3LYAbY
    I am more than my physical body, because I am more than physical matter I can perceive that which is greater than the physical world.
    Therefore I deeply desire to expand experience know understand to control to use such greater energies and energy systems as may be beneficial and constructive to me to those that follow me.
    Also, I deeply desire the help the cooperation the assistance the understanding of those individuals who’s wisdom development and experience are equal or greater than my own.
    I ask their guidance and protection from any influence or any source that might provide me with less than my stated desires.

40. Those are my abracadabra words.
    Very powerful stuff. Like rubbing a bottle to summon a genie.
    Watch them work again
    KK
    migrant
    Black

41. “William…people are noticing that these “hits” assassinations of Afrikan people were PLANNED AND COORDINATED TO COINCIDE with the AfriCaribbean conference…”

I got out my truth meter (TheOmeter) and that registered a 0.

But it could be that the meter needs recalibrating. Ya think so?

42. Original Murder Murderer Instrumental
    Warm up before Exercising, Tai Chi Strokes
    Taking over the Takeover in the Area Murderer
    Black Beats Brainwashing Vibes

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QNwQAGM2RJc

43. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“But it could be that the meter needs recalibrating. Ya think so?”

you have to know the 100-year-old playbill….do you remember CATS……..the trend that never ended.

44. McKinley ‘Mac’ Phipps Jr was convicted of murder despite no physical evidence linking him to the crime. Prosecutors used his rap lyrics

Murder Murder
    M.A.C.

Murda, Murda, Kill, Kill / Mac
    4x: mmm mmmmmm

Soldier rag on my eye, soldier fit on my frame
    I scream, “whoa” when I come through makin that mac-11 sang
    If I’m dyin bad, don’t tell my folks, I wasn’t no joke when I blasted
    Wrap me up in camoflauge, and put that tank on my casket
    That nigga was hip hop, that nigga was gangsta
    That nigga was tall, that nigga was slim
    That nigga was shell shocked, you wouldn’t want fuck with him
    I hung with killas, I hung with soldiers, I hung with gs
    I hung with thugs, I hung with them niggas who probably wanted to murder
    Me
    Fuckas, I cross my heart and pull the trigger
    Dear God if I die, let me see the eyes of my killa, so I can haunt that
    Nigga
    Poppa shot me through the rubber
    He knew that I would be a young bad muthafucka
    When i

Kill, kill (kill, kill)
    Shit’s real (shit’s real)
    On the battlefield (on the battlefield)

I said I’m sick and tired of tellin you niggas I’m not that nigga to
    Play with
    They thinkin that they can tell me whatever they want and I ain’t gon
    Say shit
    I guess I’m supposed to be lettin you call me bitches and hoes to my
    Face
    Just look at ya, let ya fuck over me, ignore ya, then go by my way
    Cut it out, stop that, unless ya got that feelin
    However, wherever, whenever ya ready, I’m that nigga
    You said, “fuck no limit” then the next thing you heard was (*@$#%)
    “ow!”
    That was me whippin the fuck out that bitch in the ? waffle house?
    Look at you now, I’m warnin you nigga wherever you fuck up right there
    I’m shuttin you down, I’m tellin you if we don’t know you don’t come
    Round that tank
    Or no limit gon clown, I fuck over yo ass balls as big as godzilla
    Here lizard, lizard, lizard, I’m comin to get ya
    When I catch ya, you can betcha, blood gon spill
    Murder, murder, murder, kill, kill, kill

Kill, kill (kill, kill)

I was born a soldier, mama will tell ya I never was fake, I was real
    I’m camouflaged and never die, it been that way since I was l’il
    Murder, murder, murder, murder, kill, kill, it’s real
    You cross me wrong, don’t think I forgot ya, just waitin on you to chill
    You started beef with the assassin, when you see me you gotta be blastin
    Ain’t no love for the other side, cause I get all up in the ass and
    Operation uptown, ghetto niggas shell shocked
    Camoflauged down, soldier rebound, straight off the block
    What?

45. Talking about crime. Economic crimes make imminent economic Armageddon

46. de pedantic Dribble September 7, 2022 9:26 AM #: “Why this impractical palaver!”

@ dpD

I was going to comment, but subsequently changed my mind. But, since you addressed the issue, I decided to ‘say something.’

Although understand the point Critical Analyzer is trying to make, he can’t, in all seriousness suggest trials for those cases, as he outlined, should begin “within 2-4 weeks after charges are brought by the police.”

But, bear in mind, investigations do ‘automatically come to an end’ when a suspect is arrested and charged for committing a crime.

A guy is charged for shooting someone, but, at the time of his arrest, police cannot locate the firearm.

Sometimes the period of investigating some crimes go beyond 4 weeks after the suspect has been arrested, which may included gathering further evidence, looking for an accomplice in the crime or witnesses, awaiting forensic reports from the lab, autopsy report etc.

The process is not as simple as what is depicted in ‘CSI Miami’ or ‘Law & Order: Criminal Intent.’

47. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Pacha…so who is surprised that the SUGARCANE SLAVERY bondage was recently being tested via SCUM traitor politicians…..to see if the Afrikan population is STILL ACCEPTING…

“The Sugar Agreement between Barbados and Tate & Lyle UK is – in my opinion – more political than anything else and once again we have the Old Boys Club being supported.
    Tate & Lyle has held a Royal Warrant from Queen Elizabeth II since 1955.
    The Tate family own a home in Barbados. The relationship is over 100 years old.”

48. When Barbados was a royal colony, we had safe streets and places. The problem started in 1966 and with the relapse into the savage behaviour of times past.

Look at the crime trends in Jamaica and Singapore. Before independence, each had a medium-high murder rate, then sharply declining in Singapore and world-record highs in Jamaica.

It’s as clear as day to anyone who doesn’t smoke WOKE weed all the time that cultural differences are responsible.

Our Supreme Leader should finally declare martial law, suspend constitutional rights and crack down on gangs, the judiciary and the police!

49. Critical Analyzer Avatar

@David September 7, 2022 6:59 AM

Not having a valid address for the person does not matter. I can give a valid address now and go in hiding. That is what the bail surety and marshals are for. The judge and defense attorney would deal with the other breach of rights. Look at the man that recently got money out the government for his murder case.

Let me put it more simply. We need speedy trials. The BPS should not be charging anyone with a crime until they have gathered enough evidence to proceed with the Trial hence all trials should be started within a month after the person was charged.

50. @CA

It may not matter to you but in matters of court trials the accuracy of evidence and information regarding the the case is paramount.

The bigger issue is it exposes the integrity of the process.

Leave a Reply to DavidCancel reply