Barbados is currently experiencing another crime wave and to be expected it is being politicized which is part of the problem. How does the crime problem get fixed if family members and friends protect the criminals? Same people who were responsible for giving birth to the very monsters terrorizing the country?

This is an oversimplification of the problem to make a bigger point – observations suggest traditional tactics supported by a slow justice system and ‘not fit for purpose laws’ are being used to tackle the crime challenge. Sensible people know the approach being undertaken by authorities will NOT arrest the problem.

From an enforcement angle BOLD measures have to be taken to send messages to the criminal element of a zero tolerance to crime, especially gun crime.

On the other side of the issue, parents and guardians have to also be held accountable. Many in our neck of the woods will not condone Rodrigo Duterte’s methods, it is bitter but it works based on Philippine’s crime index. The time has come and gone for creative crime fighting solutions to be implemented albeit Barbados’ once pristine reputation ican be found in the toilet.

Blogmaster

The following comment was posted by BU family member Artax to the Number of Murders On-track to Surpass 2021 blog.

Over the years, we’ve been having discussions on BU about the crime situation in Barbados.
And, there will obviously be attempts by some persons to politicize the situation.

I agree with AG Marshall “that the recent spate of killings resulted from gunmen in specific “groups” targeting each other,”…… and not “gangs,” as Trisha Tannis is suggesting.
Marshall would’ve obviously made his observations based on certain intelligence.

However, as I mentioned in an October 25th, 2020 12:28 PM contribution to another ‘crime thread,’…… “if one examines the gun crimes carefully, it is evident they were on the rise since 2014 and a gradual increase was expected.”

On November 11th, 2015, an ‘Updated Homicide Study’ by the Criminal Justice Research and Planning Unit revealed that 42% of the approximately 140 homicides recorded between 2010 and 2014, were as a result of guns…… ‘a trend observed as far back as 1992, and which continued to be the most common method used today.’

Evidence suggests that several persons who died as a result of shooting were not involved in ‘gangs,’ but died as a result of retaliation or revenge, petty ‘beefs’ involving women, drugs money, robberies etc.

For example, November 29th, 2014, 31 year old Ricardo Francois and other men were at bar in Danesbury, Black Rock, when some men got out of a car and started shooting.
Francois was found dead behind the shop, while four other individuals were injured…… one of whom was the son of Ricardo ‘Rick’ Bryan.
On September 1st, 2016, Ricardo ‘Rick’ Bryan, 46, of Black Rock, St Michael, was shot multiple times by three men as he exited his vehicle, outside the Lucky Horseshoe Saloon & Steakhouse in Warrens, St Michael.

Forty-four (44) year-old Jerome Oneal ‘Wild Geese’ Bovell of Spring Garden, Black Rock, St. Michael, was shot and killed in Goddings Road, St Stephen’s Hill, Black Rock, St Michael, on June 28th, 2017.
It is alleged Bovell was a ‘hit man’ and responsible for the death of Stephen Leonard Agard, 47 years of #10 Valley, St. George, who, on June 10th, 2017, was shot multiple times while standing outside his vehicle, which was parked on the compound of the old KFC building in Black Rock.

I’m sure everyone remembered when a man walked into Sheraton Center Mall, shot and killed 33 year old Damien Trotman, on March 22nd, 2019.

Another fact is, there are ‘hit men’ in Barbados. Men who are willing to kill anyone for cash or drugs.

Information and statistics about crime in Barbados is available to the public, enabling anyone desirous of having a rational discussion on the issue, to do so.

-Artax

98 responses to “Failing Recurring Crime Fighting Tactics”

1. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

I thought by now the BU “schooled” intelligentsia would be asking…..the next logical question…

WHAT OTHER WARRANTS from the 1800s ARE STILL IN FORCE…

but ah guess nuhbody int intristed…

if was sumbody bedroom, business they would be all over it..

2. @ Artax
    You are correct.
    However, a lot of this tardiness in the judicial process has to do with bad planning.
    Evidence collection is almost always a very detailed and lengthy process.
    We never plan for the future. As the society grew, it would have been obvious that crime would increase. We have a larger population but we kept the same process and approach to judicial management.
    It was obvious that the system would become clogged.
    It’s the same with the roads. We kept the same approach to traffic management that we had when there was horse and buggy on the streets , outside of the ABC highway , we are very poor with traffic management.
    When we sit calmly and connect the dots, the truth becomes obvious- we just don’t plan ahead and that’s why the speed of doing business is also at turtle pace.
    Needless to say the same approach has been used in the management of education.
    We built a new airport and did not make provision for the passengers to walk from the plane into the airport although air traffic was increasing because of tourism and other factors.
    Everything is now becoming clogged in one way or another. And if we look beyond our narrow political biases, we would realise the country needs more enlightened leadership in all sectors including the parasitical private sector.
    We can do better but we prefer to comfort ourselves with rose colored glasses. Time to take them off.

3. Critical Analyzer Avatar

@David September 7, 2022 11:24 AM

If the police prosecutor don’t have the accuracy of evidence to immediately start a trial, don’t bring the charge in the first place.

They want to rush and charge people while they still gathering evidence. That is violating people rights and miscarriage of justice.

4. Can somebody tell Gregory Nicholls to take Barbados Underground out of his mouth?

5. Who is he?

6. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

sounds like the dude who got promoted to some position in parliament recently after the Koochie Koo brouhaha…

7. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

someone may be able to confirm this.

8. “Can somebody tell Gregory Nicholls to take Barbados Underground out of his mouth?”

Gregory Nicholls take Barbados Underground out of your mouth! (bitch)

The Drums Pound The Earth

9. STARVATION IS COMING & God help those who have not fostered a supply chain of food & are dependent on their supermarket…. You think “CRIME” is bad? #StayTuned
    https://youtu.be/GdtWB8sE4q0

10. Our honourable government addressed the problem of murderers on the rampage two years ago. The judiciary, however, sabotages any attempt to curb crime by rejecting and simply not applying various laws.

In other words, the most honourable Lord Marshal Dale got everything right, the arrogant judiciary got everything wrong. Obviously, our honourable government and the judiciary are on different sides of the law when it comes to crime.

The families of the deceased should sue Judge Shona Griffith for punitive damages at the International Court of Human Rights or in the USA. There must be no judicial privilege for people who pervert their own profession.

11. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Somalia is already feeling A FULL FRONTAL FAMINE……they always wait until babies are dying by the THOUSANDS to call a famine and starvation what it really is….

Pacha…..the Sahel is very vulnerable due to lack of rainfall…..Somalia suffered 5 straight years of drought a recipe for death….dependency on the west for grain does not help…

even worse, if they don’t start planting food in any available receptacle…..and continue to depend on supermarkets, while still depending on tourism and the shithole system……….well, maybe they have no plan to survive this…all on them….

12. @ David re G N

Barbados Underground allows everyone the opportunity to express their opinions.

A lot of “problems” are ventilated here.

Some of us in the Diaspora appreciate BU.

13. GP - EX SCHOLAR Avatar
    GP – EX SCHOLAR

A LOT OF BIAS IS ALSO SHOWN TOO HANTS

IF YOU ARE AN APPROVED PROVIDER YOUR POSTS DONT GET TEK DUNG

A LOT OF FOLK WHO WILL APPROXIMATE THEIR LABIAE ORAE TO THE ADIPOSE TISSUE THAT OVERLAYS THE BLOG OWNERS GLUTEI ALSO COME HERE TOO HANTS .

NOTE HOW ACCURATELY AND CAREFULLY I ARTICULATE

Barbados Underground allows everyone the opportunity to express their opinions. IF THEY COINCIDE WITH THE PREVAILING NARRATIVE ON BU

APPROVED PROVIDERS CAN ATTEMPT TO MOCK BUT YUH CAN NOT PROVIDE BALANCE ON BU

FREE SPEECH HAS NOT YET BEEN DISALOWED YET IN BARBADOS EXCEPT ON BU

RE A lot of “problems” are ventilated here. AND ALSO A LOT OF RUBBISH ONCE THEY COINCIDE WITH THE PREVAILING NARRATIVE ON BU

THERE ARE AT LEAST TWO SIDES TO EVERY STORY

14. Thanks Hants.

Hanging Not the Answer-Don’t Blame Lawyers for Bail Say Attorneys https://starcomnetwork.net/blog/2022/09/07/hanging-not-the-answer-dont-blame-lawyers-for-bail-say-attorneys/

15. THE LIGHTS ARE GOING OUT ALL ACROSS EUROPE!!! WHO’S NEXT??? WHAT WILL BE THE IMPACT??? #MoreCrime??? #YouDecide
    https://youtu.be/Ay2L1OzRXqA

16. THIS IS VERY GOOD NEWS TO ESCHATOLOGISTS
    ALL THIS HAS BEEN PREDICTED IN THAT BOOK OF FABLES THAT IS SCORNED AND LAUGHED AT BY BU MORONS
    ALL THE PREDICTIONS ARE COMING TO PAST
    SEEMS THE CHICKENS ARE COMING HOME TO ROOST
    AINT THAT SWEET?

17. Critical Analyzer September 7, 2022 11:48 AM

Perhaps you should follow my example, by not engaging in discussions of which you’re unknowledgeable.

18. ‘bad black’
    There are ‘good blacks’
    and there is G P with his bible bibe
    who supports police brutality

19. Critical Analyzer Avatar

@Artax

I may not be knowledgeable but one thing I know is how bad the public feels seeing people they know are guilty of a crime walking about on the streets for years on end waiting for a trial.

Our justice system is not going to be a deterrent until we have a situation where the justice system is so speedy that the public is stunned at how fast they get convicted or released after the charge is laid instead of us having to search news archives to remember the details of the crime when the trial finally starts.

I bet the trial for the Sheraton Center killing has not started yet and that is a slam dunk case.

20. Critical Analyzer Avatar

@Artax

Speedy court trials followed by immediate incarceration has always been the only solution for the crime situation.

The men on bail for murder crimes already expecting to get convicted when the case is finally called so they have nothing to lose if they continue killing during the time it takes to start their trial.

21. Police say the prime suspect in a mass stabbing incident in Saskatchewan has been taken into custody.

https://regina.ctvnews.ca/myles-sanderson-located-taken-into-custody-rcmp-1.6058299

22. @ CA
    Speedy court trials followed by immediate incarceration has always been the only solution for the crime situation.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Basic common sense.
    …but where do we get THAT from Boss?

“Hanging not the answer”…
    ..say two typical Bajan lawyers who have demonstrated that they don’t know one shiite about PRODUCING SUCCESSFUL OUTCOMES.

One exposed for bribing potential voters with borrowed money (because everybody else does it…)
    …and the next one a complete failure as BAR association president in changing ANY of the shiite known to be endemic there…. and now championing the rights of criminals.
    In terms of giving advice to solve NATIONAL failures, those two are even worse than Petra Wicky (who at least may benefit from the guidance of his Frenchie husband)

Here we have key beneficiaries of the crime business being invited on Brass Tacks to give us advice on how to respond to REDUCE their livelihood.
    Did you think that they would support ‘hanging’, …or serious bail conditions?

Of a similar ilk are those Judges who are blaming police about shiite matters like checking addresses or facilitating phone calls . Those are ADMINISTRATIVE matters to be dealt with quietly during trials with consequences to the police officers responsible. NOT matters to talk shiite in the press about.
    What the Judges SHOULD be talking publicly about is how they allow the damn lawyers to make mock sport with ridiculous delays and petty distractions to delay justice…. and them claim that the undue delays prejudiced their crooked clients.

What a set of BB losers…!

23. @Bush Tea

Actually one of the lawyers is also a commissioner on the Constitutional Review Commission.

Regarding the incorrect address on court filings, you are the only that picked up the sarcasm.

24. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Hants….looks like he became very considerate and saved the taxpayers a bundle..

https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2022/9/7/10-people-killed-in-canadian-stabbing-rampage-identified

“Canada stabbing spree suspect reportedly dies in custody
    Myles Sanderson reportedly died from self-inflicted wounds after he was taken into custody for the deaths of 10 people in Saskatchewan stabbing spree.”

25. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

any bets on if island atoll leaders on islets see the WRITING ON THE WALL YET…..don’t know how they can miss them…

fat lady sung out..

Pacha,……watch muh nuh….

“Hamilton – The Bermuda government said it will push on with its flagship legislation to legalise the use and consumption of cannabis in this British overseas territory after Governor Rena Lalgie announced on Tuesday that she had been instructed by London not to give it the royal assent.”

26. Critical Analyzer September 7, 2022 6:46 PM #: “Speedy court trials followed by immediate incarceration has always been the only solution for the crime situation.”

Please INDICATE WHERE in any of my contributions I MENTIONED ANYTHING that would SUGGEST OTHERWISE?

27. When system fail completely, there is often the cry to ‘try something’.

For us, this something is hanging. I am doubtful if hanging would be enough of a deterrent to stop these shooters. We may have to up our game and try…. the guillotine. The kind use to cut paper.

I am certain that one of those who wish for hangings will volunteer to be the executioner.

28. No mass exodus of cops!

Police Service ‘still unable to recruit desired numbers’
    by MARIA BRADSHAW mariabradshaw@nationnews.com
    WHILE JUST ABOUT 30 police officers leave the Barbados Police Service annually, the president of the Police Association says there is no mass exodus of cops.
    However, Detective Constable, Mervin Grace, told the DAILY NATION that the Police Service was still unable to recruit the desired 300 officers it needed in order for the force to be at its optimum number.
    Responding to the circulation of text messages which suggested that police officers were frustrated and a high number was planning to leave, Grace said: “We know that every year we have an exodus of people leaving – people would leave the organisation. But for someone to go and exaggerate, is like trying to say we in shambles and we are not in shambles yet.”
    He noted: “Some leave to go and take up employment other places, some leave to go and study, some leave just for the sake of leaving because they are fed up with the conditions
    of the organisation.
    “I can almost say we probably lose about 30 persons each year but I know this year will be a little more than that. We do have a lot of people that left already and we know there are some more that are planning to go and we know a lot of them are retirees. You can’t stop retires and you can’t stop people from getting ill.”
    Grace, a forensics expert, said this was the reason why the police service had two recruitment courses each year but he revealed that the recruitment level remained low.
    “That would normally help, however, we are not getting the numbers we require to fill those vacancies at this time, so if you are short of 300 people and we get 30 you are still at square one. Our shortage is in excess of 300 persons so right now each police officer is doing the work of at least three officers because the work still has to be done.”
    He confirmed that recently the Police Association met with Attorney General Dale Marshall and Commissioner of Police, Richard Boyce and he said one of the issues discussed was the state of some of the police stations.
    Still renovations to be done
    “The condition at some stations that is still a sore point within the organisation. We are not 100 per cent happy with all the plants right now but we are working on them slowly but surely. We are getting some traction with them as you would recognise we had some renovations at District B. The Attorney General also mentioned that plant but as I told him a visit we had there showed that there was work that still needed to be done.
    “You have some termite infestations at some of the stations and we are looking into those things at present. We had discussions at our executive level yesterday and our chairman of building committees is already on top of it.”
    In terms of reports that some police officers were awaiting outstanding allowances since 2011, Grace said he was not sure about that time period but indicated that the matter of outstanding payments had been brought to the attention of the Commissioner.
    “That is being looked at by the administration. It speaks to allowances not being paid to some persons and that is something the Commissioner is looking into to rectify,” Grace said.

29. No to hangings
    Article by
    Barbados Today
    Published on
    September 8, 2022

https://barbadostoday.bb/wp-content/uploads/2020/12/Andrew-Pilgrim-copy-730×456.jpg

A resumption of hangings is not the right response to the recent spike in murders in Barbados, two prominent lawyers declared on Wednesday.

Past president of the Barbados Bar Association Andrew Pilgrim, Q.C. and fellow attorney-at-law Senator Gregory Nicholls rejected the idea of capital punishment as a deterrent while discussing constitutional reform on VOB’s Down to Brasstacks call-in programme.

There have been no state executions in Barbados in almost four decades, and the death penalty was removed as automatic punishment for murder in 2019, a year after the Caribbean Court of Justice (CCJ) ruled that the mandatory death sentence was unconstitutional. However, High Court judges still have the discretion to impose that sentence for the capital offence.

Responding to a caller who raised the issue in light of gun killings in recent weeks, Pilgrim categorically rejected the idea that the courts should go that route, saying that such a move would be abhorrent.

“The idea of a state premeditatedly killing people is something that I abhor and that is because I believe in life, I don’t believe in death. I don’t believe in killing people deliberately by the way of planning, and there is nothing that can be more corrupt than a state planning to kill its own citizenry,” the Queen’s Counsel said.

“I am very wary of these types of things because in every system [globally] where people are killed regularly as a result of prosecution, it’s the poorest people in society who are killed…. Worldwide, that demographic is true. People who can afford good lawyers do not get the death penalty, people who can wield certain levels of power don’t get the death penalty. People who are enemies of the state get the death penalty, people who are poor get the death penalty.”

Also expressing his disagreement with any return to capital punishment, Nicholls pointed out that there have been cases where after a person is executed by the state new evidence comes to light that has cleared those individuals of wrongdoing.

“We get it wrong sometimes. The court system will not always get it right and we have seen time and time again people exonerated long after they have been executed by the state. Evidence turns up, a witness was telling lies and these things happen…. How then can you repay a life that the state took away in those circumstances?” he contended.

“I feel that when somebody kills somebody they should go to prison for a long time, not 12 years for manslaughter as the guidelines would tell you.”

Against the background of concern about people charged with murder and other violent crimes being granted bail by the courts, Pilgrim also addressed allegations that lawyers were often to blame for repeated adjournments in cases.

He said nothing could be further from the truth and lamented that the wheels of justice were still moving far too slowly in getting defendants to trial.

“Lawyers cannot be [at] fault if cases are being adjourned for years and years. I am not saying that a lawyer can’t get two and three adjournments but a lawyer cannot get five years’ worth of adjournments,” Pilgrim insisted.

“So that when you find a case in which a person is on bail for murder – in other words, I sit in prison for three years waiting on my trial for murder, three years later I get bail – what would be the priority of the DPP’s [Director of Public Prosecution’s] Office… not to get me tried?” he questioned.

shamarblunt@barbadostoday.bb

Source: Barbados Today

30. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Too busy setting up the Afrikan population for oppression, poverty and disenfranchisement over decades while bending their traitor asses in half to promote, support and glorify Drs. Drugs, Guns, Money Laundering, Racist Wannabe Slave masters within their inner circle groups of frauds and crooks……dah iz wuh haunting dem now..

“One economist is blaming the former Freundel Stuart and current Mia Mottley administrations for the crisis facing the island’s pension scheme, chiding them for not carrying out needed reforms and hence contributing to the impairment of the fund.

Barbados-born economist Carlos Forte, who is based in Canada, said the NIS board did not set social security policy and therefore any attempt by anyone to blame the former or current NIS boards for the “pending pension crisis” was nothing but “a smoke screen and a diversion”.”

31. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

““Hamilton – The Bermuda government said it will push on with its flagship legislation to legalise the use and consumption of cannabis in this British overseas territory after Governor Rena Lalgie announced on Tuesday that she had been instructed by London not to give it the royal assent.””

not a peep from those who “pretend ignorance.”

Pacha….and the one thing i will not do is enlighten anyone about what will come next going forward or at any time, am sure they already know….none of it seem nearly as important to them as other people’s private lives…they seem detached and UNBOTHERED…

..they don’t want to know what other ROYAL WARRANTS are out there, although it concerns them their families and FUTURE GENERATIONS….am sure they are equally uninterested in the marking out of OWNED TERRITORY…….

.wuh if i had territory i would have upgraded that blueprint at least 25 YEARS AGO…..but that’s just me..

…their welfare, wellbeing, security and quality of life are CLEARLY NOT IMPORTANT TO THEM….not at the level needed to come out and address it….but they ALWAYS GOT TALK FOR US…

32. “No to hangings”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Even if true, coming from someone who makes his money BECAUSE of the high rate of crime, it cannot resonate with stinking Bushie.
    Bushie may be a Bajan brass bowl, …but he is NOT a shiite.

If we start being REALLY tough on these shiite criminals, and have LAW ABIDING citizens set the tone for what we will accept in our society, then what the Hell will Pilgrim, Lashley and the other bottom dwelling lawyers do for living? …. join the ‘Client fee’ class of extortionists? that field is over subscribed….

Taking advice from Pilgrim on ‘managing crime’ is much like taking advice from TheO or Dribbles on how to deal with albino-centric brassbowlery that has confounded our world.
    ….or from Pfizer on the benefits of taking Covid ‘vaccines’.

33. Please, don’t “enlighten” us!

Thanking you in advance.

Steupse!

34. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“and the one thing i will not do is enlighten anyone about what will come next going forward or at any time,”

read twice for clarity and understanding…….

and especially NOT TO YOU or for you to benefit in any way..

35. 🌍 Magnificent a.k.a Magno – Yu Heard Formula: C₂₁H₃₀O₂ IUPAC ID: (−)-(6aR,10aR)-6,6,9-trimethyl- 3-pentyl-6a,7,8,10a-tetrahydro- 6H-benzo[c]chromen-1-ol [[[ONE LOVE ONE WORLD ♡ ♥💕❤😘 🌍]]] Avatar
    🌍 Magnificent a.k.a Magno – Yu Heard Formula: C₂₁H₃₀O₂ IUPAC ID: (−)-(6aR,10aR)-6,6,9-trimethyl- 3-pentyl-6a,7,8,10a-tetrahydro- 6H-benzo[c]chromen-1-ol [[[ONE LOVE ONE WORLD ♡ ♥💕❤😘 🌍]]]

I will enlighten all
    with knowledge wisdom understanding
    message in the music
    Every type of Gun is a Big Bad One
    Big Bad Guns

Black Jesus

36. @ David September 8, 2022 5:38 AM

Enemies of the people like Pilgrim are responsible for the high crime rate on our island, not our honorable government.

Our Supreme Leader is called upon to finally clean up the legal profession and take various elements into protective custody!

p.s. Pilgrim and others constantly and implicitly invoke a supposed privilege that murders are part of the cultural DNA of the Caribbean. In doing so, he promotes racism against black men like himself.

37. It takes a village to fight crime

By Tony Best

It’s not simply a job for the police in Barbados but it’s “a whole society challenge”.
    That’s what a key Caribbean scholar and leading security expert in North America believes Barbados is facing as the world’s newest republic grapples for the first time in decades with a deadly upsurge in violent and criminal behaviour that has resulted in the deaths of at least 25 victims who were gunned down so far this year. In a recent seven-day period, five Bajans were shot to death.
    Dr Ivelaw Griffith, author of several books and scholarly papers on criminality across the Caribbean, warned Barbados against expecting its police department to solve the problem alone or overnight.
    “Prepare for the long-haul in Barbados,” Griffith told the Weekend Nation
    during a conversation from his Long Island New York suburban home.
    Stark reality
    “The Caribbean for a while now has been facing the stark reality of crime and violence, significant to which has been the use of weapons, [guns]” most of them made in the United States, said Professor Griffith, a former vice chancellor of the University of Guyana who at one-time served as president of Fort Valley State University in Georgia.
    “The use of weapons and the incidence of crime and violence are not amendable to quick fixes. It is also important to say at the get-go that not only the police or the police by itself can be involved. This is what I would call a whole society challenge.”
    “It is a challenge that can be traced directly
    to the home, including the schools.
    Barbados has a strong religious community which needs to get [even more] involved.”
    As he saw it, the church shouldn’t simply be concerned about the “after-life”. It must consider getting involved, for instance, in a gun “buy-back” campaign that would get more guns off the streets and it should extend the teaching and preaching about the value of respect for human life, he said.
    According to Griffith, a Guyanese with Bajan roots, if “Bajans see something” they should “say something” to law enforcement in a confidential manner.
    That national strategy was widely employed in the US, encouraging Americans to step forward with information, and it has worked, he said. “This is not a matter that only the police can solve,” he warned.
    Griffith, who is also a former senior academician and administrator at Florida International University and Bradford University in Virginia and a former senior vice president and provost at York College of the City University of New York, recommended other anti-gun strategies, including closer collaboration between Barbados and the US.
    “The level of collaboration between Barbados and the US must be stepped up.
    After all, the US is a significant source of the guns,” Griffith said.
    Another “strategy” was greater “involvement of the family” in the campaign to take illegal guns and ammunition out of the hands of young people and others who shouldn’t have them in the first place.
    “Families have got to instil the values of the home by disciplining their children, getting them to take responsibility for their actions. It is often said that it takes a village to raise a child. Now it takes a village to maintain and establish a violence-free [neighbourhood]. Communities have to be involved on a collective basis, not just looking to the police to solve the problem. Families have to be intimately involved in this,” he said.
    Another measure was “community policing,” a long-standing scientific strategy used by police departments in North America to link communities with cops in a mutual and beneficial effort.
    “I don’t know that Barbados has been consistent in the practice of community police,” Griffith said. It has been used successfully in the US and in Jamaica. The problem is that in the case of Jamaica it has not been sustained. It needs to be employed with consistency.”
    The Association of Caribbean Commissioners of Police was a major proponent of community policing but securing funding for it “was always a challenge”.
    “Caribbean Governments just didn’t have the money to finance it adequately. Businesses often [helped] to foot the bill. The fact is that community policing has not been tried consistently in Barbados,” Griffith said. “Now is the time for the country to take a (another) look at it. Community policing and ‘buy back’ gun campaigns go hand in hand,” he said.
    He added that closely monitoring the ports of entry should be high on the agenda.
    “Rising crime has a cost
    to it and the private sector of Barbados, like those of other countries, has a vested interest in creating opportunities that minimise costs to them by curbing crime and violence,” argued Griffith, who is writing another book on Caribbean security and challenges.

38. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

regurgitating a whole pile of bullshit…..

when they pick up the CRIMINALS THEY ENABLE AND PROTECT….THE IMPORTERS OF CONTAINERS OF DRUGS AND GUNS…which has NOTHING to do with the home……..then the violence will STOP…

when they STOP DISENFRANCHISING YOUNG BLACK PEOPLE from the DAY THEY ARE BORN……the poverty will end..

WHEN THEY STOP TIEFING FROM THE TREASURY, VAT AND PENSION FUND……the island will suffer less from socio economic external and internal shocks…

put the blame where it belongs…

39. 🌍 Magnificent a.k.a Magno – Yu Heard Formula: C₂₁H₃₀O₂ IUPAC ID: (−)-(6aR,10aR)-6,6,9-trimethyl- 3-pentyl-6a,7,8,10a-tetrahydro- 6H-benzo[c]chromen-1-ol [[[ONE LOVE ONE WORLD ♡ ♥ 💕 ❤ 😘 🌍]]] Avatar
    🌍 Magnificent a.k.a Magno – Yu Heard Formula: C₂₁H₃₀O₂ IUPAC ID: (−)-(6aR,10aR)-6,6,9-trimethyl- 3-pentyl-6a,7,8,10a-tetrahydro- 6H-benzo[c]chromen-1-ol [[[ONE LOVE ONE WORLD ♡ ♥ 💕 ❤ 😘 🌍]]]

Da Africa Deep & Dj Kid – Who Are You

40. There are unconfirmed media reports that police intercepted an attempted drug landing on Thursday off the west coast of Barbados.

Starcom Network reported that police were seeking suspects after a boat was intercepted off Barbados by the police marine unit and drug squad.

Gunfire was exchanged between the police and the suspects following a chase, which ended when the boat landed on the beach in Weston, St James, according to the radio report.

A video rapidly of the operation has made the rounds on social media showing a large number of police vehicles arriving on the scene.

41. PM taking aim at gun crime
    Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley has announced changes to gun laws, as she says “Barbados is too small to entertain” the level of crime and violence occurring in recent times.
    Speaking at a media conference at Ilaro Court yesterday, Mottley said she was “happy that this week seems to have quietened down” and that, as Attorney General Dale Marshall said recently, the problem would not be solved overnight or by Government alone but through a whole nation approach.
    The Prime Minister said the country has “a number of things that we have to confront” and just as Government, the police, and law courts have their role, so too did families and communities.
    “We cannot divorce ourselves from what is happening globally either. We have a problem with the level of guns that have been made available regrettably in the last decade or two and that has included and extended to automatic
    weapons,” she said, adding they were being used “when people want to resolve conflict” thus resulting in serious injury or loss of life.
    “I therefore want to be able to speak to Bajans now directly, and to families, and to communities, because it is us who will take care of one another. And if we don’t speak to those who want to risk our lives by gun play, or by keeping guns, then we’re going to find that the people who they love and we love are going to be the biggest victims of all,” said Mottley.
    Funding
    She further said the “system” had suffered from the COVID-19 pandemic and without jury trials “for the better part of two years” there was a buildup of cases again despite the appointment of five additional judges and posts within the Office of the Director of Public Prosecutions to help clear the backlog.
    The Prime Minister said Government would not only continue to provide funding to the police but was “prepared to entertain an increase in the numbers because there are a number of vacancies still” and
    “if necessary, to even increase some temporary judges to remove this backlog especially given the damage COVID put in it again through no fault of anyone’s”.
    She cautioned however, that doing those things would still “not be enough because what we’re dealing with is a value system that has changed and accessibility to weapons that regrettably are being too readily available throughout the world and particularly throughout the Americas”.
    Mottley also said there will be a change to the Firearms Act.
    “There is an amendment that will come, that will correct the section of the Firearms Act that struck down the mandatory sentencing. And that amendment pretty much, we believe, can follow that which is being done in the United Kingdom, in Turks and Caicos, and in other countries where the sentence of imprisonment for possession of guns will be mandatory unless there are exceptional circumstances that the judge is satisfied that can be there. That amendment must come to the House now and the AG will bring that shortly.” ( GBM)

42. COP’S PHONE CALL
    Lawmen want access to devices to help crack cases
    Police want to gain access to information on people’s phones and other devices to help them crack crime.
    They are therefore agitating for a change in laws that could mean service providers must hand over recordings, visual and other evidence.
    They are also still pushing to fill hundreds of vacant spots in key departments of the Barbados Police Service (BPS) including the Criminal Investigation Division.
    Divisional Commander of the CID Acting Superintendent Mark White said they believed pushing for those changes could help make the service more efficient.
    “Contemporary legal issues confronting law enforcement agencies have forced us to look outside mere confessions by accused persons and find other supporting evidence such as forensic and digital, audio and visual data to strengthen our cases and secure conviction.
    “Almost every crime has a cybercomponent and to this, we have to agitate for legislative changes to make service providers provide the information to the police to assist in the investigations,” White said.
    He made those comments
    yesterday at the Regional Police Training Centre, Christ Church, during the closing ceremony of the Court Prosecutors Course and the Enhanced Development Course.
    In a follow-up interview with reporters, White said he would not seek to predict what the response to such a change would be, but said he was hopeful the relevant stakeholders would come on board.
    “I am not sure what the response would be, but we have to look and see what the responses will be, because we know people don’t like change and they resist it. However, we are trusting that they will come on board and assist in getting that vital forensic evidence that we need to prosecute cases successfully,” he said.
    During his address, he said the BPS was short by 300 and although his division comprised of 170, he said they were also under pressure.
    “There is a small cadre of officers that deal with the number of crimes and it’s been taking a toll on them. They have been going beyond the call of duty and putting in a really big effort and I am looking to address some of the staffing needs to see if we can get more to come and join the division,” White said.
    He also acknowledged that they might have to look at increasing salaries to attract young talent. “Because of attrition,
    retirement we have been struggling to deal with the shortfall, but this is a whole different generation, the crime climate is different and that is a big deterrent to people wanting to join our ranks.
    “When you talk to people about joining the service the first thing they ask you is ‘how much you’re paying’, and when you look at remunerations, they say ‘not for the risk’, so we have been trying to see how we can promote the service and to attract the numbers right now. That is a policy decision and I think right now there is a proposal for increased allowances in the service so we are hoping we get some favourable responses,” he added. (TG)

43. Gov’t revisiting mandatory jail for gun offences

Article by Anesta Henry
    Published on
    September 10, 2022

Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley has called on families and communities to play a greater role in helping law enforcement officials to fight crime, as she announced plans to amend the Firearms Act to restore mandatory imprisonment for persons found with illegal guns.

As the recent spate of gun violence and murders spark public outrage throughout the country, PM Mottley at press conference on Friday underscored a national approach is needed to arrest the problem.

“This is not about Government alone, cannot be, has never been, but Government has an essential role to play with the provision of policies and legislation for law enforcement. There is an amendment that will come that will correct the section of the Firearms Act that struck down the mandatory sentencing.

“That amendment pretty much we believe, can follow that which is being done in the United Kingdom, in Turks and Caicos and in other countries, where the sentence and imprisonment for possession of guns would be mandatory unless there are exceptional circumstances that the judge is satisfied can be there,” Mottley said. She added that Attorney General Dale Marshall will present the amendment to Parliament shortly.

Stressing that Barbadians must treat the issue of violence as one people and one nation, Prime Minister Mottley said the country cannot divorce itself from what has been happening internationally with the level of guns, including automatic weapons, being made available regrettably in the last two decades.

She said that while the police has been doing a good job to restrict the number of firearms coming into the island, with the assistance of scanners and improved security systems at the ports of entry, the reality is that guns are in the communities.

“I therefore now want to speak to Bajans directly and to families and to communities because it is us who will take care of one another. And if we don’t speak to those who want to risk our lives by gunplay, or by keeping guns, then we are going to find that the people who they love and we love are going to be the biggest victims of all,” she said.

Pointing out that the judicial system has suffered for two years as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic, Mottley said there has been a buildup of cases, in addition to a situation “where judges totally following the law will tell you that you can’t keep a person in custody for beyond x-amount of time without it being a breach of their rights”.

“In addition to that, I can’t help but reflect on this and I got the data from the Attorney General only this week again – we have a list of murder cases that quite frankly, 80 per cent of them that are now to be heard before the courts still pre-date this Government coming into office.

“And that is in spite of the fact that we have created another five judges and that we have also created additional posts for the DPP [Director of Public Prosecution]. As I said, I get it because obviously during COVID you know what was shut down, you know what couldn’t happen and therefore that has retarded things a bit,” she said.

According to the records, 80 per cent of the gun cases before the law courts were there before the current administration came to office, Mottley explained, adding that she was not making an excuse for the current situation.

“Bottom line is, if you are encouraging persons by letting them believe that it is okay to get away, then we have a problem. And that’s why I say that this has to be a whole of nation approach. By the same token, the Government will continue, as has happened, to provide the funding to the police.

“I have indicated to the police at the last security council meeting, but I did it publicly when the Cabinet was sworn in in January, that we are prepared to entertain an increase in the numbers because there are still a number of vacancies,” Mottley said.

She added: “We are prepared, I told the AG again if necessary, to even increase some temporary judges to remove this backlog, especially given the damage that COVID put in it again through to no fault of anyone. But if we can do those things, that still will not be enough because what we are dealing with is a value system that has changed and accessibility to weapons that regrettably are being too readily available throughout the world and particularly throughout the Americas”.

anestahenry@barbadostoday.bb

Source: Barbados Today

44. Call was offered by police
    I WISH TO PROVIDE some perspective from the Barbados Police Service with regard to a recent news article (Cops Told Get The Basics Right) that appeared in your MIDWEEK NATION newspaper on Page 3 of the September 7, 2022 edition.
    The author referenced comments made by Magistrate Kim Butcher as chastising lawmen for failing to give an accused his constitutionally due telephone call while in custody.
    Reference was also made to further admonishment of police by Chief Magistrate Ian Weekes “to not only allow accused those phone calls but also verify the addresses of people in their custody”.
    The Barbados Police Service totally agrees with the requirements of the law as stated by both judicial officers and as a matter of concern did an internal investigation into the mentioned matters.
    Our investigations revealed that the accused in the mentioned news article was in fact notified of his rights as a prisoner and was indeed offered the opportunity for telephone calls, which he refused.
    Evidence of this was officially recorded in the Station Daily Diary.
    The Barbados Police Service is an accredited police service and proud to be the first in the Caribbean and South America; with such status, there is the requirement to satisfy several international law enforcement standards and best practices.
    One of these standards is the requirement to have a Notice to Prisoners. This Notice MUST be displayed in all police stations in the plain view and attention of all persons coming into the custody of the police.
    It speaks to communication with barrister, solicitor or friend and also refreshments – supply of meals and inspection of meals.
    Another such Notice to Prisoners speaks to access to medical attention. The Barbados Police Service seeks to comply with all standards of professional policing and in doing so treat all persons with the highest level of dignity, respect and service.
    – INSPECTOR RODNEY INNISS (AG.), communications and public affairs officer, Barbados Police Service

45. https://barbadostoday.bb/2022/10/04/complainant-declines-to-pursue-case/

From BT
    “Two men had serious charges against them dismissed today after the complainant, who now resides overseas, indicated he was no longer interested in continuing the matter.

Madame Justice Laurie-Ann Smith-Bovell dismissed the matters against Jacobi Germain and Leon Lawrence when they reappeared in the No. 4 Supreme Court.

Germain of 8th Avenue, New Orleans, St Michael and Lawrence of Cane Vale, Christ Church had been charged with causing serious bodily harm to Anderson Trotman with intent to do him serious bodily harm or to maim, disfigure, or disable him on February 29, 2016.

They were also charged with unlawfully and maliciously inflicting serious bodily harm on Trotman on the same date. The complainant had been summoned to attend court today but was not present.”

I will resist giving you adetaile analysis, but it seems to me as if the victim said..” I am alive. I am out of there. Going to keep it that way”

46. Was this fake new?
    Did you hear the story of the guy who escaped with his life as he fled from a man with a Glock and laser. who was attempting to hold him up? He called the police and was asked “so what are we supposed to do about it”

A next couple got hijacked at the same spot by the same method. They tried to stop a police van a few minutes later after the hijacking and the police did not stop.

The big joke is that much later we heard that the police was investigating and looking for information. I hope the criminals waited around to get caught by RoBPF.

Police smart yeah.

47. Why do some people highlight the negative?

Are they blowing up the negative or merely reporting what is happening?

I challenge you to report the positive.

Leave a Reply to African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights ReservedCancel reply