The following was submitted by Amit from caribbeansignal.com. The number of murders increased from 26 to 28 since the submission – Blogmaster

Richard Ricardo Jordan, 51, charged with the July murder of 86-year-old Gloria Leacock (Image Source: Barbados Today)

There have been at least 26 murders between January and August 2022. The steps involved in the following analysis are similar to my 2020 analysis.

Read full report @caribbeansignal.com

169 responses to “Number of Murders On-track to Surpass 2021”

1. @ Donna,

As far as I am concerned, an unmarried woman is a whole human being and in your case a potential future prospect given your age. lol

I would live in Barbados and do the best to protect myself. Two dogs and a licenced firearm and hope for the best.

2. […] following comment was posted by BU family member Artax to the Number of Murders On-track to Surpass 2021 […]

3. @ Artax
    A reading of the BU archives pre 2018 elections, clearly shows how the crime situation was politicize. bees wanted the then AG to be fired . Then murders increased and the Dees want the present AG to be fired.
    Bees said AG Brathwaite did not know what he was doing. Now the Dees saying AG Marshall do not know what he is doing.
    It’s all there in the BU archives.
    What informs you that it would be any different now.
    Plant potatoes reap potatoes.
    The same stick that lick Peter……….
    And that’s the problem with every single issue in our country.

4. How is your non point suppose to move the narrative? It was done before so it should continue right William? There shouldn’t be a point we draw a line in the sand? One must shake head. No wonder things remain the same.

#politics!

5. @ David
    You are missing my point. @ Artax said that some will want to politicize the current crime situation. Be honest , the present AG called on his predecessor to resign when he ( Brathwaite) was incapable of curbing the gun violence.
    In other words while we may not want it to be politicized, it’s already politicized.
    You seem incapable of accepting that we can’t plant okra and reap corn.
    Yes there has to be a line drawn and we need to move pass this nonsense but we also have to recognize that political one upmanship is not the answer.

6. William Skinner September 6, 2022 10:37 AM #: “A reading of the BU archives pre 2018 elections, clearly shows how the crime situation was politicize. bees wanted the then AG to be fired . Then murders increased and the Dees want the present AG to be fired.”

@ Mr. Skinner

In my October 25th, 2020, 12:28 PM contribution I alluded to previously, I mentioned the following:

“We continue to ‘discuss’ crime along the same lines each time the topic is brought up on BU.
    Crime is ALWAYS politicized.
    The BEES said former AG Brathwaite and PM Stuart did not do anything to address the crime situation during their ten year tenure………and the DEMS responded with, ‘at least it wasn’t bad then as it is now,’ because there is an increase in murders under the current AG Marshall and PM Mottley….. and they aren’t saying or doing anything about it.”

I ‘asked’ certain individuals who are known political operatives in this forum, what policies former AG Brathwaite could’ve…… or current AG Marshall should have…… implemented to prevent, for example, murders resulting from ‘crimes of passion,’ where reaction to a situation is immediate and not based on any premeditated motives, such as one person killing another during an altercation; a man/woman ‘catching’ his/her spouse/partner with another individual; or someone ‘defending life and property.’

The problem is, we seem to be more interested in following the usual narrative of politicizing crime, rather than having a rational discussion about the issue.
    And, noticeably absent are suggestions on how the authorities should go about addressing the problem of crime in the island.

7. @William

The argument needs to move to what measures can be implemented now to arrest the problem. We need to move away from unproductive narratives m.

8. ” Posted Aug 10, 2022, 11:10AM EDT.Last Updated Aug 10, 2022, 12:08PM EDT.
    York regional police say they’ve dismantled a criminal network that was smuggling guns from the United States into Canada and dealing copious amounts of drugs.

Twenty-two people are facing more than 400 charges in what police have dubbed Project Monarch — a 10-month joint-forces investigation.”

9. William Skinner September 6, 2022 10:59 AM #: “You are missing my point. @ Artax said that some will want to politicize the current crime situation.”

Mr. Skinner

Just re-read your comments.

‘Point of CORRECTION.’

Please note, I NEVER mentioned ANYTHING about “some will want to politicize the CURRENT crime situation.”

I was VERY CAREFUL to BEGIN my comments with:
    “OVER the YEARS we’ve been having discussions on BU about the crime situation in Barbados,”
    …… which clearly INDICATE I’m not CONFINING the ‘discussion’ to ANY SPECIFIC PERIOD.

Then, I went on to state:
    “And, there will obviously be attempts by some persons to politicise the situation.”

10. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

The good news, the names of those who ARE NEVER PUT UNDER POLICE SURVELLIENCE although it’s well known of their guns, drugs and money laundering ambitions……their NAMES ARE ALL NOW OUT THERE AND CIRCULATING…..

told yall that they people will SEE that’s the only way to fight the corrupt establishment protecting the CORRUPT..

11. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

and all kinda tings are coming OUT…

ya can hide and buy land….but cahn hide and wuk um…

12. Side note
    ‘The A guy’ beginning to remind me of Ronnie O.
    No double promotions
    One per year.

13. @TheOGazerts

Hi Amit,
    If I could make a few comments
    (1) Perhaps you could try to introduce a search function on you page
    (2) Perhaps you could have section on your page (crime, gas prices …).
    (3) I like your August figure. Excellent. Just fantastic. Suggest having both end-of year 2021 figure and 2022 figures side by side.
    Just tossing some thoughts out there.

@TheOGazerts

Appreciate the feedback and suggestions.

Done – Added to the side bar.
    Let me know what you think of the Tags. These are displayed on the side bar.
    Appreciate the feedback.

Kind regards,
    Amit Uttamchandani
    http://www.caribbeansignal.com
    http://www.opendatabarbados.org

14. @ Artax
    Then, I (Artax) went on to state:
    “And, there will obviously be attempts by some persons to politicise the situation.”( @ Artax)

“You ( @ David) are missing my point. @ Artax said that some will want to politicize the current crime situation.”( William Skinner)

My brother I really don’t see the difference in what you said and how I referenced it.
    My major point is we tend to politicize everything and this current debate on crime will head down the same road.
    The same way the Dees defended their AG the Bees are now defending theirs.
    The archives on BU are there and anybody can read them.
    The country needs another two or three hundred police in order to fight crime effectively.
    Politics has invaded and literally taken over the force. The force is as infested with politics with the party in power as it was infested with previous administration.
    Policing , once considered a career is now hampered because politicians, from both parties, intercept and interfere with police work.
    The next step maybe to import not only police but a Commissioner of Police as well. And unite frankly , I don’t think that will work any better.

15. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“Politics has invaded and literally taken over the force. The force is as infested with politics with the party in power as it was infested with previous administration.
    Policing , once considered a career is now hampered because politicians, from both parties, intercept and interfere with police work.”

politics…which in and of itself is CORRUPT has POISONED EVERYTHING on the island and EVERYWHERE ELSE….that’s why young people want no part of the police force….they know…

and since the real reason for politicians and their LIES AND DECEIT have become public knowledge only their fowls, imps and pimps would want anything to do with any of them…

16. Mr. Skinner

Come on, my friend.

“Current crime situation” and “current debate,” which you alluded to in your 3:21 PM contribution, are two DIFFERENT issues.

By mentioning, “the CURRENT crime situation,” you are essentially IMPLYING I’m REFERRING SPECIFICALLY to what is OCCURRING PRESENTLY……

…… which is a blatant misrepresentation of my original comment.

Remember, it was prefaced by a reference to the discussion on BU “over the years.”
    You failed to analyse my entire comment in terms of the words surrounding it.

However, I agree with you that “Politics has invaded and literally taken over the force.”
    This was clearly evident when Dottin was appointed CoP ahead of Bertie Hinds, who was said to be a DLP supporter.
    And, the current administration appointing Richard Boyce as CoP, instead of Erwin Boyce.
    Appointing Tyrone Griffith as CoP and Erwin Boyce as Dep. CoP ahead of Oral Williams was another political manuever…… as well as DLP operative, Guyson Mayers, as Chairman of the Police Services Commission (PSC), overturning several promotion recommendations made by former CoP Dottin and subsequently recommending his retirement “in the public interest,” are a few examples.

There are person who were born in Jamaica, St. Lucia, SVG, Dominica and other Caribbean islands who are members of the Barbados Police Service.
    I believe “importing a Commissioner of Police” would be, for want of a better word, counterproductive.

I remember a Caribbean island’s response to rising crime was to ‘bring in’ a Commissioner and Deputy Commissioner from the UK.
    It did not work.

The Jamaica Constabulary Force has been experimenting with appointing former soldiers as CoP.
    The current Commissioner is Major General Antony Anderson, who was the Chief of Defence Staff of the Jamaica Defence Force and served as Jamaica’s first National Security Advisor.

The reality is, policing in Barbados is not currently an attractive profession.
    Salaries are a contributing factor.

17. @ Artax
    Point taken. I respect your representation / response. As we say in Bim : yuh got muh on dat one. Apologies are in order. Kindly accept.
    Peace

18. @Donna
    Very concerned about T&T, but I have to be open and not selfish.

” and in your case a potential future prospect given your age. lol”

Is it over with Glennis Grace?
    https://youtu.be/czofEWontRw

19. @ TheOGazerts,

Glennis is still “the one” but unattainable.

Therefore I am open to more real possibilities.

Before you retire to Barbados or Trinidad you could get some lessons on self defence.