A timely reminder from long time BU family member Bentley that it is important to make sensible decisions about our diet.

Dietary Guidelines for the Brazilian population

Assuming the rights to health and healthy food as general assumptions, the Guide is an official document that addresses the principles and recommendations of a healthy diet for the Brazilian population, representing a tool to support food and nutrition educational activities in SUS and also in other sectors. Considering the multiple determinants of feeding practices and the complexity and challenges that are involved in the shaping of current food systems, the Food Guide reinforces the commitment of the Ministry of Health to contribute to the development of strategies for the promotion and realization of the human right to adequate food.

Ministry of Health of Brazil

27 responses to “Treat Your Body Like a Temple”

1. David
    Where’s the Guide?

2. See ir. 152 pages?

3. @ David
    It would be nice if you could update the title to:
    Treat Your Body Like a Shaolin Temple
    to reflect the Shaolin WuDe 武德 The Shaolin Virtues

There are many youtube resources by masters who can help speed up the learning process to set you on the path for knowledge wisdom and understanding or the Way of the Tao

THERE ARE TWO MISTAKES ALONG THE WAY TO MASTERY:
    NOT STARTING IT AND NOT GOING ALL THE WAY

五鬆 · Wu Song (5 Relaxation / Loosening / Releasing Methods)

五步拳 · Wu Bu Quan (5 Stances Beginner Form / 1. Section)

The virtues within the Shaolin Temple are deeply rooted in Buddhist ethics and morality. Besides the physical and mental development, it’s useful to watch the character in particular. Using this lifetime to develop! ☸️

4. @Pacha

It should be embedded in the blog.

5. @Pacha

Fee free to view the table of contents to satisfy your interest.

6. YOUR BODY IS INDEED A TEMPLE

Did you know that your body is a temple? That’s right — a veritable temple.

In fact, the apostle Paul comes right out and says so. In 1 Corinthians 6:19-20 (ESV), he asks, “Or do you not know that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit within you, whom you have from God? You are not your own, for you were bought with a price. So glorify God in your body.” The context of this astounding assertion pertains to the avoidance of sexual immorality. A main reason given is that it is a sin against one’s own body.

In spiritual terms, it often feels that we’re at war with our flesh. And, I’m not just talking about the battle of the bulge. Some religious and theological perspectives posit a stark dichotomy between the flesh and the spirit. God, however, proves once and for all that the flesh is not inherently bad or sinful by the incarnation of his Son. Jesus became flesh and dwelt among us (John 1:14).

God created our physical bodies, therefore making it good and precious from the start. Therefore, we need to learn to appreciate and embrace that which is our flesh, while not participating in that which is of the carnal nature (Gal 5:16; Eph. 2:3; 1 Pet. 2:11; 1 John 2:16).

We also need to learn to love and better care for our bodies, since God gives them to us for his glorious purposes. They ultimately belong to him.

It is interesting to read Paul’s statement in Ephesians 5:29-30 (ESV) that says, “For no one ever hated his own flesh, but nourishes and cherishes it, just as Christ does the church, because we are members of his body.” He makes the implicit assumption that we will naturally want to take care of our physical bodies. We will love them.

Unfortunately, we’re often guilty of taking our bodies for granted, abusing and/or neglecting them in various ways, and using them for evil purposes. This ought not to be so. Many of us fail to properly nourish our bodies through a healthy and well-balanced diet. We don’t take the time or effort to exercise like we should. Some people abuse their bodies through overeating, excessive consumption of alcohol, illicit drug usage, and even intentional self-harm. It’s a sad state of affairs.

Your stories live here.
    Fuel your hometown passion and plug into the stories that define it.
    Create Account
    Our bodies are intended to be holy instruments for God’s special usage. We are also supposed to enjoy our bodies and their remarkable functional capacities, but are kept from doing so often by our own irresponsible decisions and chronic neglect.

Now, of course, these fleshly tents (as Paul puts it in 2 Cor. 5:1-5) are not built to last forever. They eventually will wear out. They are a temporal structure that houses our soul and God’s Holy Spirit. But, that’s not an excuse to contribute to their premature demise. Our bodies are a stewardship from the Lord, a gift from above.

Our bodies are indeed amazing creations. Your nose has the capability of remembering 50,000 different scents. Your taste buds are replaced every 10 days. Your body sheds about 600,000 particles of skin every hour. There are 100,000 miles of blood vessels in an adult human body. Our ears and nose never stop growing.

While awake, the human brain produces enough electricity to power a light bulb. Human bones are ounce for ounce stronger than steel, though they are composed of 31 percent water. The human eye can distinguish about 10 million different colors. If uncoiled, the DNA in all the cells in your body would stretch 10 billion miles.

Your brain uses 20 percent of the total oxygen and blood in your body. In a lifetime, your brain’s long-term memory can hold as many as 1 quadrillion (1 million billion) separate bits of information.

Your heart will pump nearly 1.5 million barrels of blood during your lifetime, enough to fill 200 train tank cars. When you take one step you are using up to 200 muscles. There are over 650 named skeletal muscles in the human body (some figures suggest as many as 840).

Yes, your body is an amazing organism. It was made by and belongs to God. Therefore, take good care of it and use it for God’s purposes.

WATCH NOW WATCH

7. The phrase “your body is a temple” is widely used by both Christians and non-Christians. It has been used in both Christian and secular music in the past and in merchandising as well. So, what does it mean to say that our bodies are temples? As Christians, how should we honor that?

We can find the verse containing this phrase in 1 Corinthians 6:19-20,

Do you not know that your bodies are temples of the Holy Spirit, who is in you, whom you have received from God? You are not your own; you were bought at a price. Therefore honor God with your bodies.

This is one of the most well-known verses in the Bible, but it is frequently misunderstood. What does this imply? Why does temple imagery work so well with the bodies that God created for us? And more importantly, how can we consider our bodies as temples?

Our Bodies Are Like Sacred Temples
    First of all, to understand the phrase, let us define what a temple is. The temple was a sacred meeting place for the Israelites in the Old Testament. They went there to worship, make sacrifices, and make pleas to God.

Solomon’s tenure as king was the first time the Israelites had a temple, as stated in 1 Kings 3:1, “Solomon made an alliance with Pharaoh king of Egypt and married his daughter. He brought her to the City of David until he finished building his palace and the temple of the Lord, and the wall around Jerusalem.”

The Israelites had a tabernacle before they built a temple as we read in Exodus 25:8, “Then have them create a sanctuary for me, and I will dwell among them.” The tabernacle, however, was more than just a work of art. It was a holy place.

God struck and killed a man named Uzzah for his irreverence when he reached out to support the ark so it wouldn’t fall due to the animal, who carried the tabernacle, stumbled, as stated in 2 Samuel 6:7, “The Lord’s anger burned against Uzzah because of his irreverent act; therefore, God struck him down, and he died there beside the ark of God.”

When Jesus came, he did away with the need for a single-location temple. Instead, Christians became God’s temple, a dwelling place for the Holy Spirit. We can be regarded as pure and holy enough to have God’s Spirit live in us because of his blood that cleanses us.

Jesus created a bridge between heaven and earth, bringing people in to converse with God. What a blessing! Nothing impure or defiling should enter the presence of this hallowed home, which is now holy ground. To put it another way, no Christian should sin, including sexual immorality.

So, what does it mean when our bodies are compared to temples? The first is to refrain from succumbing to sin and temptations. Don’t let the devil get a stronghold in your life, as noted in Ephesians 4:27, “and do not give the devil a foothold.”

If your right eye is the source of your sins, you should metaphorically pull it out, as explicitly noted in Matthew 5:39, “But I tell you, do not resist an evil person. If anyone slaps you on the right cheek, turn to them the other cheek also.”

To put it another way, don’t put yourself in a situation where you’re more likely to engage in the area where you’re tempted.

A Healthy Body Both Physically and Spiritually
    Another meaning of being a body compared to a temple is that we should be physically and spiritually healthy. Exodus 20:8-11 reveals God’s great concern about our health,

Remember the Sabbath day by keeping it holy. Six days you shall labor and do all your work, but the seventh day is a sabbath to the Lord your God. On it, you shall not do any work, neither you, nor your son or daughter, nor your male or female servant, nor your animals, nor any foreigner residing in your towns. In six days, the Lord made the heavens and the earth, the sea, and all that is in them, but he rested on the seventh day. Therefore the Lord blessed the Sabbath day and made it holy.

This means we should labor, but then we should also take rest, as also stated in Colossians 3:23, “Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not for human masters.”

This being said, spiritual health is emphasized in the verses. We should always give our day of Sabbath to worshipping God and not thinking of anything else that bothers us during this day, and we should always pray so that we can communicate with Him our concerns and praises.

Love What God Has Given
    Another meaning of making our bodies like a temple is to always love what God has given us, including what our bodies look like. Society frequently promotes unrealistic beauty and youthful standards.

When we discover that our bodies don’t match a specific template, or that we have wrinkles and grey hairs, or that we don’t have the same muscle volume as a sports star, we may begin to perceive our bodies as lesser than. We must remember that we were created in God’s image and are fearfully and wonderfully crafted.

Satan will use insecurities about weight, beauty, or age to divert us from our mission to share the gospel. However, we can resist this distraction from our calling and purpose on earth if we regard our bodies as the creation of the highest God.

A Body Clear of Sexual Impurity
    Lastly, when we are like temples, our bodies should be clear of sexual impurities. In 1 Corinthians 6:19, it is stated, “Do you not know that your bodies are temples of the Holy Spirit, who is in you, whom you have received from God? You are not your own.”

This means that our bodies are not our own but of God, and that is why it should be clear and pure of unnecessary impurities. Paul encourages us to remember that our bodies do not belong to us but to God in this letter.

We don’t have the right to abandon them to sin because they were purchased at a price by Jesus Christ’s death and resurrection.

As a result, we should focus our eyes on the things above rather than succumbing to fleshly temptations. We give up our right to do whatever we want with our bodies when we embrace Jesus as our Savior.

So, what does the phrase “your body is a temple” mean? This phrase compares us to a temple, which is holy ground in the past as well as in the present.

That being said, we should refrain from succumbing to temptations, live a healthy life both physically and spiritually, love our bodies for it is God-given, and be clear of sexual impurity.

We should avoid temptations and anything that pollute our bodies because we are like temples, sacred beings made by God.

8. QUESTION

What does it mean that the body is the temple of the Holy Spirit?

ANSWER

Instructing the Christians in Corinth to flee from sexual immorality, the apostle Paul exhorted, “Do you not know that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit, who is in you, whom you have received from God? You are not your own; you were bought at a price. Therefore honor God with your body” (1 Corinthians 6:19-20). Indeed, God the Father created our bodies, God the Son redeemed them, and God the Holy Spirit indwells them. This makes our body the very temple of the Holy Spirit of God.

Those who do not belong to Christ do not have the Spirit of Christ residing in them (Romans 8:9). Thus, their bodies are not a temple of the Holy Spirit. Clearly, then, the greatest thing we can do for our bodies is to make them into a temple for God’s Spirit. And we do this by placing our trust and faith in Jesus Christ as our Savior. The moment we do this, the indwelling of God’s Spirit takes place (1 Corinthians 12:13). Our salvation is then sealed and guaranteed (Ephesians 1:13-14). The Holy Spirit will then be with us forever (John 14:16), given by God as His pledge of the believer’s future inheritance in glory (2 Corinthians 1:21-22).

As the Holy Spirit resides in us, therefore, we are to honor God with our bodies as they “are not [our] own,” as Paul said. We have indeed been bought with a price. And it was not gold or silver or other perishable things by which we were redeemed; it was with the precious, unblemished blood of Jesus Christ (1 Peter 1:18-19). Ordained by God before the foundation of the world (Acts 2:23), Christ’s blood purchased us out of the slavery of sin and set us free forever. And as Christian’s bodies are God’s temple, we are to use them to glorify God.

If God meant simply to convey the idea that the Spirit lives within the believer, He could well have used words such as “home,” “house,” or “residence.” But by choosing the word “temple” to describe the Spirit’s dwelling, He conveys the idea that our bodies are the shrine, or the sacred place, in which the Spirit not only lives, but is worshiped, revered, and honored. Therefore, how we behave, think and speak, and what we let into the temple through our eyes and ears becomes critically important as well, for every thought, word and deed is in His view. Even though He will never leave us, it is entirely possible to grieve the Holy Spirit (Ephesians 4: 30). Instructing the Ephesians to not grieve the Spirit, Paul told them to “get rid of all bitterness, rage and anger, brawling and slander, along with every form of malice. Be kind and compassionate to one another, forgiving each other, just as in Christ God forgave you” (Ephesians 4:31-32). When we live by the Spirit, we will no longer gratify the desires of the sinful nature (Galatians 5:16).

9. NOW CAN ANYONE WHO FREQUENTS BU HAVE THE BIOCHEMISTRY KNOWLEDGE ( WHICH IS THE BASIS OF THE SCIENCE OF NIUTRITION) TO DISCUSS ANYTHING IN THE 152 BOOK POSTED ABOVE?

CAN I HAVE SOME MIRTH HERE THE TEST MATCH IS BORING AND THE EX ENGLISH PLAYERS ARE NOT GROANING AND MOANING TODAY BECAUSE ENGLAND IS ON TOP

10. To the Junior politics debate team
    There is nothing to stop Africans owning shops if they have the willingness to do so
    There are risks and hard work will be required
    People are individuals not races

People are the same and different
    Blacks are the best athletes in the world
    Asians are more academical
    Whites are in between

11. Jesus said the body was a temple for God
    and was not interested in Churches and Temples

This means that the presence of the Spirit of God is within you

12. When is somebody going to arrest this Porgie of a Georgie on charges of conducting war against The Ntr.

13. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Pacha…..a ton of handcuffs need passing around, these are lucky that i have personal knowledge of the wicked and malicious oppression of Afrikan descents on the island specifically for the last 4 generations and they, and only they, DESERVE TO KNOW WHAT IS DIRECTLY AHEAD OF THEM…

or the others would now only be GUESSING what would happen to them next…..and am sure their empty heads will still be UP IN THE CLOUDS believing themselves special….and important..

14. Loks like the BLP smartened up. In the past they would give you rushed and flawed legislation.
    Now , there is no legislation, just flawed talk.,
    Ronni O from downtown
    https://barbadostoday.bb/2022/08/26/flawed-policy/

15. https://barbadostoday.bb/2022/08/26/diversify-or-die/
    “Authorities in Barbados and the rest of the region are being advised to stop putting all their eggs in the tourism basket and diversify their economies in line with global changes if they want to survive>”

There is a saying “Don’t put all your eggs in one basket”. Bit what you are going to do if you have just one basket.

Do you remember this. Googling but cannot find it

“lawd. de bucket has a hole in de center
    If you think I telling lies, push your finger”

16. Grown-up music time.
    Keep up the clean-up man out of your business

17. Time for adults to take the stage
    Grown-up music

18. Grown music 3
    This song makes me sad. I was never in this situation, but the very thought of it brings me to a low point

19. Grown 4
    Enjoy the evening and keep it simple.

20. o lawd me bucket got a hole in de center

and if yuh think i tell a lie put yuh finger.

21. An excerpt from “The Forgotten Side of Medicine”

Archie Kalokerinos

Archie Kalokerinos MD, was a young Australian doctor, who after graduation elected to pursue advanced medical training in England and returned to Australia in 1957. Uncomfortable with the profit driven mindset he found had taken over the direction of medicine in his brief time away, he requested to be transferred from the wealthy urban parts of the country and assigned to care for the neglected rural Aboriginal communities. For context, the Aboriginal people have been subjected to the worst of colonialism for over a century, which included terrible social and physical living conditions.

In these communities, diseases such as pneumonias, severe ear infections, severe infant irritability and a frequent inability to feed afflicted the children, and the infant mortality rate was over 10%, an unprecedented figure that greatly exceeded the 2% death rate found in the surrounding white communities. The poor health of the community in turn was written off by the local medical community as simply being a result of poor child rearing habits by their uncivilized parents and the widespread filthy living conditions.

Kalokerinos became driven to address this problem, broke from his peers, and eventually discovered each of these issues primarily arose from severe vitamin C deficiencies (colonial powers often destroy the diets of native populations), and in many cases saw infants on the verge of death recovering minutes after vitamin C injections (he also found their inability to feed was due to zinc deficiency rather than poor parenting alongside other issues arising from missing B vitamins). Initially Kalokerinos faced significant opposition to this perspective, but after igniting a media firestorm to defend a woman accused of murdering her child (as the bruising that occurs from vitamin C deficiency was assumed in that case to have resulted from child abuse), the vitamin C approach was proven, accepted, and when implemented profoundly improved the childhood diseases that had plagued the Aboriginal communities.

Having already observed that vitamin C levels would often be depleted during viral infections (which sometimes caused the symptoms of severe vitamin C deficiency to emerge), Kalokerinos then witnessed the infant death rate in one Aboriginal community reach 50% (yes 50%) after an immunization campaign and realized that the same process occurred following vaccination. Kalokerinos was able to prove that widespread vitamin deficiencies existed in the aboriginal community and postulated that vitamin C deficiency was likely why so many cases of infant diseases and deaths following vaccination campaigns. Kalokerinos was later able to obtain proof in an animal model that vitamin C supplementation prevented the animal deaths commonly seen after vaccination and eventually convinced the local medical authorities hear his case that the vaccines could be causing unintended deaths.

https://amidwesterndoctor.substack.com/p/a-century-of-evidence-has-accumulated?utm_source=email

22. On the lighter side.

23. The abundance of the Scotland District
    By Peter Laurie What forces have shaped us as a people?
    History. A brutal narrative of displacement, exile, indentureship and enslavement, and, yes, lest we forget, resistance, resilience and creativity.
    Culture. The English, as a by-product of extracting vast wealth from our land and people, imparted language, the common law, education, public administration, trade unionism, parliament, and, yes, lest we forget, cricket.
    Colonial exploitation also inflicted a virulent white racism, and an unsuccessful attempt to inculcate a soul-snatching sense of inferiority.
    Africa bequeathed us music, dance, song, art, diction, spirituality, mouthwatering cuisine, laughter, hope, love, and rhythm – the rhythm of life. Praise God.
    Seascape and landscape. The most undervalued part of our heritage if you consider how we have ill-treated our environment.
    The sea: a pervasive influence, literal and imaginative. What can we say about the sea half as eloquently as Frank Collymore put it?
    Always, always the encircling sea … Her lullaby, her singing, her moaning; on sand, On shingle, on breakwater, and on rock; By sunlight, starlight, moonlight, darkness: I must always be remembering the sea.
    Our beloved Rock to which we cling, whose soul is the Scotland District, the unpromised land. When will it become a UNESCO World Heritage site?
    It’s a unique geological phenomenon: the only part of an extensive submerged mountain range in the eastern Caribbean that, millions of years ago, like a Caribbean Aphrodite, emerged from the foaming waves, smilingly shook her salt-laden locks, and scattered shards of broken beauty around her: hills, forests, streams, springs, waterfalls, gullies, cliffs, and crags. Her cries of delight at what she created were fossilised in the “Music Rocks” that grace the beautiful boulder-strewn brown beach of the east coast.
    This piece of Eden has so much to offer, if only we learn to treat it with love and respect.
    What lack of foresight and madness induced us to abandon the railway that ran from Belleplaine
    to Bridgetown? Answer: because it originated in St Andrew, whose second name is “neglect”.
    The Scotland District affords the best running, mountain biking, hiking, and cycling on the island, with challenging hills, including the short but steep Pot House Hill and the long, winding ascent from the beach to the top of Horse Hill.
    Or you can climb to the peak of Chalky Mount, where you will find a cross erected in memory of a fallen warrior. There, if you go just before dawn, you may listen in reverent silence to the rustling of manacled bones in the surf and witness the eternal baptism of our land, as the sun, shaking free of the sea and casting wide its net of light, restores certitude and colour to the earth with a palette dazzling bright.
    As for other recreational activities, you can paraglide, fish, surf, ride horses or just go for long, meditative walks on the secluded beach. Or scramble childlike over the sand dunes gleefully eating fat porks. For the more adventurous and lithe in limb, you can walk up Joe’s River from the beach, or go crabbing on moonlight nights beside the streams at Bath or Consett Bay.
    Endless possibilities
    When it comes to tourism, there is no locale that offers more possibilities of ecological and wellness community tourism than the National East Coast Park, that stretches from St John to St Lucy. The possibilities of inter-connected ecologically sound developments are endless. However, when thinking of building in this area, think small scale and wood: a light footprint. Also, think signage and public toilets.
    At the epicentre is Bathsheba (for visitors, pronounced Baáa-shuhbuh) with its two bays, one of which is the famous surfing “soup bowl”, and the neighbouring Atlantis Hotel, where our literary superstar, George Lamming, spent many years.
    To understand Bathsheba, please read Paule Marshall’s The Chosen Place, the Timeless People and Theo Williams’ collection of stories,
    Facing North.
    We should celebrate Bathsheba with an annual week-long festival on the twin themes of Art & Heritage (Amerindian) and Environment & Sports to coincide with surfing and fishing competitions.
    What about Hackleton’s
    Cliff with its panoramic view of the coast from Ragged Point to Pico Tenerife?
    Or an artists’ colony at Chalky Mount centred on the remnants of the once thriving potteries?
    Let’s redesign Farley Hill Park, using the demolished remnants of the house as material throughout the park to keep the architectural theme of a classic great house ruin, with an appropriate amphitheatre for concerts of all kinds.
    Other unique attractions include Morgan Lewis Mill, Codrington College, Bath beach, St John’s Church, Andromeda Gardens, Long Pond, and one of my favourites, Little Bay, an eerily gnarled bit of lunar landscape. Not to mention the privately owned St Nicholas Abbey, Flower Forest, Coco Hill Forest (a gem of regenerative agroforestry), the Wild Life Reserve, and Hunte’s Gardens.
    And don’t talk about rum shops! I’ll mention only three: De Garage in Tent Bay, The Sand Dunes on the East Coast Road just past Long Pond, and the Bay Lounge in Cambridge, from which you have a majestic view of Cattlewash.
    The Scotland District is a fertile source of food of all kinds from bananas and coconuts to mangoes and breadfruit. But, alas, we have traditionally associated agriculture with pesticides and fertilisers galore.
    Let’s face it: though my brother, Keith, may shudder in his grave, sugar cane was a curse as well as a blessing. A blessing, because without it we would not have had rum, and a curse because, apart from the enslaved labour force it entailed, it despoiled our environment.
    Let’s move on to technologically sophisticated, organic agroforestry.
    You flatlanders to the west are welcome to visit. Just show nuff respect and love.
    Peter Laurie is a former head of the Barbados Foreign Service and author of several books.

24. Pfizer Get PROTECTION From UK Legal Action – I gather in case anyone might be tempted to sue over its guaranteed “safe and effective” product not exactly living up to the sales pitch used to market the product to consumers.

https://youtu.be/gQIgJxYEYqI

25. this is a load

exercise will prevent and cure cancer? and polycystic ovarian disease? and Parkinsons disease inter alia?

where is the Biochemical and Physiological evidence?

exercise by all means but It is written in 1 Timothy 4:8 For bodily exercise profiteth little……..what is meant here?

watch now…….watch.