The quoted comment was posted to the blog From Private to Public – Cinnamon 88 to CLEARWATER BAY, a concern for taxpayers. It is a nugget of information – see blogmaster’s highlighted text – that has not registered in the BU space, however at this seemingly late stage it is a matter ripe for discussion. To be fair to government the amendment occurred in the light of day however …

The Government response has ‘promise’, and certain bodies, like the Accountant General have much on their plate. Of news to me, was “following the debt restructuring exercise in 2018, the Local Loans Act was amended to remove the 2% sinking fund requirement in respect of the restructured Series Bonds. The sinking funds were then transferred to the Consolidated Fund…”

This was yet another step to aid in the cash crunch, and gave the GoB cash. It also means there is no provision to periodically set aside money (sinking fund) for repayment of the ‘restructured Series Bonds’.

The common explanation for the purpose of a Sinking Fund is “a fund containing money set aside or saved to pay off a debt or bond. A company [government] that issues debt will need to pay that debt off in the future, and the sinking fund helps to soften the hardship of a large outlay of revenue. A sinking fund is established so the company can contribute to the fund in the years leading up to the bond’s maturity”.

The obvious explanation to which NorthernObserver alludes is that the government because it is broke ignored the importance of a good financial rule i.e. creating a sinking fund to make paying at maturity of the bonds easier. In other words to mitigate against a default. The biggest irony in this case is that a selected default by the Mottley government in 2018 must have informed the decision to jettison the sinking fund arrangement. Oh what a tangled weave when first we practice to …

The decision to do away with the sinking fund arrangement obviously had the approval of government’s banker. Four years later the government feels confident enough to issue bonds. In the prevailing climate stoked by NIS fear, 2018 restructure and a hostile economic climate, it will be a hard task for the government to convince the most patriotic Bajan to buy government bonds. There is the reminder every decision has consequences.

Here is a copy of the Local Loans (Amendment) Bill, 2018 passed in our parliament on the 24/10/2018.

172 responses to “Government Jettisoned Sinking Fund Arrangement for 2018 Restructured Bonds”

1. William Skinner Avatar

I find it strange that we comment on all these malpractices by the political class and we all fail to remember that these decisions really have their most devastating effect on one group: the poor Black working class.
    Each time money has to found to replace that which has been stolen, misplaced or badly managed it is this group that ultimately pays the price.
    And this is why we should ignore all the pretenders , who believe that they can continue to hide this reality.
    And until they can say this publicly without apology, they cannot earn the respect of those who speak this truth to the powers that be , regardless of whom they are or which political party they belong to.
    All of this corruption is destroying all the gains and by the poor Black masses and generations of sacrifice and survival.
    We should all be ashamed that we can actually believe there is any honor among these people who will play economic roulette with the lives of people that have done them no wrong.
    May they and their political apologists burn in the political hell .
    Peace

2. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“Each time money has to found to replace that which has been stolen, misplaced or badly managed it is this group that ultimately pays the price.
    And this is why we should ignore all the pretenders , who believe that they can continue to hide this reality.”

too MANY FRAUDS…

it’s very clear this is another sleight of hand move to COVER UP WHO BENEFITTED from those billion dollar THEFTS…and only their pimps, cult fowls and slaves can be FOOLED….and they KNOW THAT…

“All of this corruption is destroying all the gains and by the poor Black masses and generations of sacrifice and survival.”

that’s the whole point and end game….TRAP the Afrikan population in more generational bondage, oppression, suppression and their daily diet of nastiness from minorities…the original THIEVES..

.the traitors are about to deliver again…

BURN THEY ALL WILL…especially those who condone, support and promote these criminal acts..

3. “……yall SHOULD READ FIRST, then READ AGAIN, then do ya LIMITED BEST to analyze…..and reach a sensible conclusion…”
    ~~~~~~~~~~

I agree 100%.

If what’s being SUGGESTED was ACTUALLY DONE, as it relates to the Trustee’s letter to update the claimants against the Estate of Harlequin Boutique Hotel Limited, Bankrupt……

……then, “of course the appallingly IGNORANT wouldn’t have jumped out to make several NONFACTUAL statements,” as a result of BLATANTLY MISREPRESENTING what was OUTLINED therein…..

…… which “only succeeded in making them look DUMB as USUAL.”

4. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

William…all they succeeded in doing is EXPOSING THEMSELVES AGAIN….apparently that’s their lot in life….going forward…KARMA

the blogs, which are MANY, and other platforms are ALIVE with this and there is NO TURNING BACK…

but am sure they are telling themselves they can get away AGAIN….

too arrogant and ego filled…..

as for their dummy supporters……being a pimp, cult fowl or slave to politicians does not give ya any instant superpowers… when ya dumb ya dumb and there is NO CURE FOR THAT…

5. LMAO! Surreal.

6. William Skinner Avatar

I have been reading Dr. Joseph for sometime, I think that he’s also getting a bit frustrated with what’s going on throughout the region.
    There will always be conflict between those grounded in philosophical and ideological beliefs and those who really have no beliefs in anything outside of their own survival or the survival of their particular political bias/ party.
    It’s really best to leave such people alone because they essentially exist in a fantasy world , they see everything as fantasy or unreal.
    Dr. Joseph is obviously dealing with the same problems that all progressive people do: the ever present roadblock of a collective , visionless leadership within the region.
    That is very real.

7. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

A very ugly scenario that people from COAST TO COAST have watched for a very long time and can only SHAKE THEIR HEADS in DISBELIEF…..that in THIS DAY and THIS AGE….this BACKWARDNESS and ignorance is posing as development and progress, while giddily and STUPIDLY spewing that they are punching above some nonexistent weight…

the poster child for AFRIKAN OPPRESSION….

8. “btw……..wunnah should be real glad that i HAVE NO SKIN in that NIS SCAM..…cause as a disabled person wunnah would be hearing all about it all like now and FOR AS LONG AS I BREATHE….”

Whaaat?

9. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

ya betta THANK YA LUCKY STARS AGAIN…

ya pulled the first prize in the lucky dip of stars….

all like now i would be making wunnah SHITE and putting all kinds of things out there that YA REALLY DON’T WANT OUT THERE…

ya don’t know how GODDAMN LUCKY ya political masters are, or ya would SAY A PRAYER…or even SEVERAL…

10. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

see how dazed yall are, i would have money contributed to MY FUTURE benefit and retirement and wunnah TIEF IT and am so meek and quiet….

but that’s the blighted plight of the limited in intellect…

11. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

ya can also relay that to the CEO or whatever he is at the FUND, am sure he will be THRILLED…

12. “Dr. Joseph is obviously dealing with the same problems that all progressive people do: the ever present roadblock of a collective, visionless leadership within the region.”

Mr. Skinner

I’m yet to hear anything that would qualify as progressive leadership coming from those young Prime Ministers recently elected in St. Lucia, Grenada, St. Kitts & Nevis…… or the Opposition Leaders in the region.

I was reading an article about West Indies cricket, in which Coach Phil Simmons said he can’t force players to represent the WI team. He was referring to cricketers such as Russell, Narine and a few others who prefer to play in worldwide T20 tournaments.
    Comments from Jamaicans on the article, suggests Russell should be selected; Trinidadians believe Darren Bravo and Narine should be in the team; whether he’s fit or not, Guyanese say Hetmeyer should be selected and WI management is only saying he’s unfit to keep him out of the team.
    There was a general view that the team has been unsuccessful because too many Bajans were selected…… that Simmons, Haynes and the other selectors should be ‘sacked.’
    One Antiguan guy said Bajans are too arrogant and more cricketers from the Windward Islands should be in the team.

I noticed there wasn’t any serious analysis done on cricket games. For example, a comparative analysis of the stats per player to justify the opinion Bajans were responsible for the team’s poor performances.

You maybe wondering ‘where I’m going with this,’ but, your vision of an integrated region came to mind.
    Unfortunately, insularity is a factor that will play an important role in delaying any successful attempts at regional integration.
    The new PMs and Opposition Leaders have been noticeably silent on the issue.

If current and prospective leaders are using using ‘the pulse of the people’ to formulate their campaign strategies, and voters in the respective islands are against Caribbean unity, then, it may be a while before that objective will be achieved.

13. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Artax, using the analogy or the valid reality of WI cricket to analyze CARICOM unity is frankly as good as any other more scientific detailed review 👌and just as simply one can theorize that if the WI team is dominant and performing well then the insular howls for change will be significantly less meaningful or impactful … re CARICOM unity.

The problem is and will always be that we do NOT have all the self replenishing resources to be dominant CONTINUALLY nor can we safeguard or manage those resources – from exploitation by others.

Thus to your point “voters in the respective islands” will always be baying about some players or other and similarly about being disenfranchised by some CARICOM policy or other, so the leaders will NEVER reach “that objective” that gives the benefits of a purposeful West Indian political union if they remain focused on the cricket style ‘pulse of the people’.

Leaders need to LEAD forcibly from the front … with a clear vision of the maximum benefits for their followers.

Now if we want to discuss Russell or Narine playing for their home nation (WI) or an alleged unfit Hetmayer or Evin Lewis or Darren Bravo or even Holder’s somewhat incomprehensible use in the sides recently that’s a whole udder extensive blog😎😂

I gone

14. William Skinner Avatar

@ Artax
    Unfortunately cricket , once a vital ingredient to regional unity, has found itself with the same problems, as you have correctly stated.
    It is very interesting that PM Mottley has quickly emerged as the most popular leader in the region.
    However, you are absolutely correct that none of them can be seriously deemed progressive.
    I consider Mottley an astute politician but I don’t see her as progressive.
    When I observe what has happened to Gonsalves and the embarrassing behavior of Gaston Browne, I can’t honestly say that we are making headway with regional unity as was the hope of leaders long ago.
    However, recent global efforts have taught us the necessity to band together.
    And that is why , at this stage , I will give critical support to efforts Mottley is making with Guyana.

15. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@William, you are a student and more importantly a practioner of politics so I am caught with an “oh really” surprise by your comments above so just before I drop off a few queries …

Why is it that “very interesting that PM Mottley has quickly emerged as the most popular leader in the region.”
    She is effectively one of the ‘wisest, old heads’ operators of this current crop of leaders having been involved with the nitty gritty of Caribbean politics for well over 45 years now since she was a ‘yout’, not so!

Not taking anything away from folks like Dr. Rowley or the same Dr. Gonzalez who are also very long steeped in the political game but she is more vibrant, very modern day-social-media ready photogenic and as you rightly noted astutely sharp as a razor! The fact that she is also an LGBT dynamic female leader also ‘trumps’ them all, not so!

And when you say “When I observe what has happened to Gonsalves …” exactly what do you mean?

Has the ‘comrade’ not done EXACTLY as all politicians of his ilk … he was a very vibrant, intelligent voice when on the outside trying to get in; he battled loudly with Adams and was eventually unceremoniously dismissed due to that continuous harangue; and then he got on the inside and voila he worked for his people and then morphed into just another leader who wants to stay in power ‘by all means necessary’ and trampled on the civil rights of many Vincentians just as he had complained about back years ago!

Respectfully brother but what has Gonzalez done that Coard, Burnham or any of the very positively progressive minded socialist across Eastern Europe and Latin America did not do previously!

Just rhetorically wondering, good sir.

Lata.

16. William Skinner Avatar

@ DPD
    On Mottley: my interaction with some brothers and sisters were very interesting in that they, particularly Jamaicans and Trinidadians , seemed to suggest a very deep disappointment with their leaders.
    It seems that Mottley’s high profile presence on the international stage was the main reason. I found that interesting.
    On Gonsalves along the way he became an inferior run of the mill PM. He seems to have abandoned all the principles he once had. Nobody is perfect but Gonsalves is a big disappointment.
    Coard’s failure was that as an extreme Marxist , he perhaps misread the popularity of Comrade Bishop. It was just a revolution that went wrong.
    As for Burnham fighting racism coupled with authoritarian tendencies were his downfall. There are many Black Guyanese who still hold him in high esteem.
    His major crime involved the murder of Walter Rodney.
    BTW you’re one of the first persons to publicly recognize the influence of Mottley’s LGBT on her politics. I have never heard Mottley declare any connection to the LGBT personally or otherwise.

17. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@William, re “BTW you’re one of the first persons to publicly recognize the influence of Mottley’s LGBT on her politics. I have never heard Mottley declare any connection to the LGBT personally or otherwise.”

Fah trute … I’ll take that with a smile … every serious BUer knows of the many snide remarks made about Ms Mottley and “biting” and so on and realistically there can be no Bajan adult who follows politics who is not fully aware of of her sexual preferences.

But that said, I don’t know that any of her the success on international stage is attributable to her LGBT moorings … then again it would be inconceivable that a journalist like Christiane Amanpour would not 1) know that as part of her background research and 2) find that more interesting and more captivating for her audience that any profile on the leading men in the region!

Anyhow, I am just stating the obvious. Others may not say it out loud because perhaps it’s no longer significant in political life today and yes Mottley surely has never worn the LGBT sash as it’s not a provocative political endorsement around the islands!

Lata.

18. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

William….am sorry but the so-called pan afrikanists on the island in NO WAY IMPRESS ME….they are weak and do not have the intestinal or testicular fortitude to ISSUE IN the education that Afrikan descents need……

all ya get is EMPTY TALK…..that goes NOWHERE….mouthpieces..

and ya know they are mostly frauds……interested only in promoting themselves with big salaries….

still waiting for one to emerge that has what it takes, none of the exisiting ones do….ya stand a fighting chance with the writers….but the so called pan afrikanists are not inspiring, once you know a whole lot more than they do or are willing to share..

19. Africa I see you have photo shopped your ten cats out of your selfie

20. William Skinner Avatar

@ WARU
    Well, I have no problem with your position. I was very shocked when an attempt was made by some to actually compare Mia with Fidel Castro.
    But, as you know, in democracies, the Comrades like everybody else, can support whomever they choose.

21. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

They love to play pappy show with their corrupt heros = ZEROS….and align them with anyone that could push up their stock…these hypocrites and LIARS..

..they would love to erase the FACT that their zero just sent young people to the UK and Europe as strawberry slaves….but those videos are their reminder…..

…….if we don’t tell the younger generations the truth, they will fill up their heads with endless LIES and misdirection ….William….but they will NOT GET AWAY WITH IT THIS TIME…

Lawson….hoping to replace them with dogs…let’s see how that works out..

22. I’m still processing the Salemite’s declaration that she’s a member of the disabled community. I hope this is not one of her stories to make the blog interesting.

23. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

i typed stupid ass twice, removed it once……why do you think i had an 11-YEAR-OLD PERSONAL INJURY CASE IN YOUR SUPREME COURT of tears and misery for Afrikan people…

ya think i was fighting yall NOTORIOUS COURT just because i could.

….all this time you were bullying, you FRAUDS, a disabled person…i get around but still suffer from injury and have for 12 YEARS…ya should check with your masters, apparently they keep a lot from you…don’t know why you bother pimp for them….when ya not even in their inner circle…you and a lot more on here.

24. William Skinner August 25, 2022 5:05 PM #: “I was very shocked when an attempt was made by some to actually compare Mia with Fidel Castro.”

@ Mr. Skinner

I think it was during the 2003 election campaign, the DEMS altered or ‘Photoshopped’ images of Owen Arthur, making him appear to be dressed similarly to Fidel Castro…… for the sole purpose of depicting him as a ‘communist dictator.’

It essentially indicated what they actually thought about Castro, but still accepted health care from Cuba and facilitated a joint coaching program between the National Sports Council and Cuban coaches.

How many regional leaders have ever addressed the issue of racism in Cuba?

25. @ Enuff

The only reason ‘government’ would ‘keep tabs on’ an ordinary citizen, is if he/she is perceived to be a threat to national security.

So, ‘any body could jump up and holler fuh murdah and talk shiite, to give the impression dat dem is a big maguffy.’

But, bear in mind, the Special Branch has the resources to ‘separate the sheep from the goats;’ and, to determine whose ‘bark is worse than their bite;’ or, ‘who is more froth than beer.’

26. William Skinner Avatar

@ Artax
    I think I remembered something like that. However, when they threw their weight behind her in 2016, one of them did mention, she was the new Castro.
    I was shocked because I don’t see her as near Castro in my form or fashion.
    As far as racism in Cuba being addressed by regional leaders, it is apparently general accepted that they were quite happy with the social and economic policies and chose not to raise that topic.
    That’s just my opinion.

27. Artax commentated, “How many regional leaders have ever addressed the issue of racism in Cuba?”.

Our entire region is riddled in racism. Guyana, Trinidad, Central America, South America, and Panama to name but a few.

Given what we know of the dire situation of our black populations within these regions. Why is Mia engaging with these regions and more to the point why is she proposing emigration to our island from groups who for centuries have injected policies to “whiten” their populations?

https://www.aljazeera.com/program/witness/2022/8/23/miss-panama-how-a-black-woman-made-history-in-panama

28. GP would be pleased with this story. I believe that both Marcus and Stokeley were both banned from visiting Barbados for their views on civil rights.

https://www.nationnews.com/2022/08/26/apostle-leaders-repent-90-days/

29. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“Authorities in Barbados and the rest of the region are being advised to stop putting all their eggs in the tourism basket and diversify their economies in line with global changes if they want to survive.”

William…TLSN>……these BACKWARD, MALICIOUS, greedy, conniving politicians are well on their way to a genocide charge…

“United States (US) representative Mark Green has warned Barbados and other Caribbean countries that accepting investment opportunities from economic powerhouse China would come at a price.”

so why did US take SO LONG to issue this warning, is it not more than a little too late now, all these nuisance small island pretenders are already all wrapped up with China trying to replace what they STOLE, so what good is a late warning now..

30. Artax
    The only reason ‘government’ would ‘keep tabs on’ an ordinary citizen, is if he/she is perceived to be a threat to national security.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    LOL ha ha ha
    Oh Shiirt!!!
    Boss…you does type some shiite sometimes hear??!!
    You may be reading too many fairy tales yuh…

31. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

TLSN…not only did they BAN but also SET UP THEN ROBBED Marcus Garvey in their patented generational criminal style….same as they set up Clement Payne and all the REAL local Pan Afrikanists….and that is what WILL ALWAYS HAUNT them..

..the traitor negros who TRAPPED their people in generational poverty and oppression for 100 YEARS and STILL ARE…..coveting to be part of the colonial crowd, wonder how that is working out now…

https://barbadostoday.bb/2022/08/26/diversify-or-die/

look at the WORD THEY HATE….”diversify or die”…the tourism PIMPS…DEPENDENCY is all they know….or want to…

32. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“You may be reading too many fairy tales yuh…”

steupse….didn’t even realize that STUPID had an extra level…

William….how many times…..THOUSANDS….myself and others called the word DIVERSIFY to these clowns and what did they do….send their little pimps, fowls and slaves to attack us….

wuh looka KARMA now..

33. Bush Tea August 26, 2022 6:53 AM #: “Boss…you does type some shiite sometimes hear??!!”

Bush Tea

I guess we are in ‘the same boat.”

An example of your “shiite” can be found on the ‘Rap Browne” blog.

You wrote “shiite” and attempted to defend or justified it with more “shiite.”

LOL ha ha ha”
    “Oh Shiirt!!!”

34. Artax
    So your defense is that Bushie talks shiite too…?!!

But Boss… Bushie ADMITS to talking nuff shiite… brass bowls are free to judge for themselves about brassbowlery and the consequences thereof…

But you mean that you SERIOUSLY believe that “The only reason ‘government’ would ‘keep tabs on’ an ordinary citizen, is if he/she is perceived to be a threat to national security.”???????

35. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

but……maybe now they will believe it seeing as it’s coming DIRECTLY from a WHITE MAN…

HOW IRONIC!!!!!

…and not the many alphabet AGENCIES. including IMF who gave multiple warnings…

agencies whom they PAID with taxpayer’s money and WHO ADVISED THEM TO DIVERSIFY MANY, MANY YEARS AGO…..including the LAST FOUR YEARS…

in case CROOKS who have solid and filled pockets and bank accounts while the people suffer….OPT TO PASS BLAME TO EACH OTHER..

36. “steupse….didn’t even realize that STUPID had an extra level…”
    ~~~~~~~~~~

I’ll give TWO examples.

A particular ‘know it all’ lady ARGUING that a man was the DULY ELECTED REPRESENTATIVE for a constituency, BASED SOLELY on the fact that he had a billboard bearing his photograph in the said constituency……

…… and, when presented with an overwhelming amount of evidence he was NOT, she CONTINUED ARGUING he was indeed the representative because, according to her, people living in the constituency TOLD her he was.

Someone CLAIMING to be an AUTHOR and a RESEARCHER, MISREPRESENTED the FACTS outlined in an ENTIRE letter, he/she supposedly read.
    And, when corrected, proceeded to argue more shiite.

37. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

the ignorant can be ignored today……no NEW MATERIAL…

38. “..the traitor negros who TRAPPED their people in generational poverty and oppression for 100 YEARS and STILL ARE…..coveting to be part of the colonial crowd, wonder how that is working out now…”

Black people in Africa and Caribbean were calling for self-rule in their fights for rights
    Criticism of Black leaders is what the Devil white man wants to hear

39. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“Criticism of Black leaders is what the Devil white man wants to hear.”

PURE SHITE TALK….these MALICIOIUS FRAUDS WANT TO BE THE WHITE MAN….or they would NEVER sellout Afrikan people at that level…

40. Criticism of minorities is what the Devil white man wants to hear as it comes from their book of dirty tricks chapter one divide to rule

Q Narongwate

Down For It (This Is We Dance) (Original Mix)

Down For It (This Is We Dance) (Yuichi Inoue Remix) –

41. It has been rumoured you love up and married the Devil White Man
    The moral of any fairy tale is don’t fight evil resist evils and don’t do evil

Wherever We Go (Original Mix)

Wherever We Go (Dub Mix)

42. Wherever We Go (Luyo Remix)

43. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

William….was checking those in my family eligible for pensions, disability benefits etc and noticing that all the elderly in their 70s, 80s, 90s have all passed already and only those in my age group still around, but mostly off island……

so these should REALLY THANK the gods of lucky stars that not even my relatives have skin in the NIS SCAM…

44. The Ekception Remix
    Objection overruled
    and point sustained

It may seem like a low blow to mention posters life partners, but in the case of justifying the point that one is always giving the Devil White Man a free pass this point is permissible for psychometric analysis of mindsets for subconscious and conscious patterns of bias

Like A Flame

Like A Flame (Ekception Remix)

45. Like A Flame (Juan Mejia Remix)

Like A Flame (Juan Mejia Instrumental)

46. Salemite
    I honestly don’t recall you having a 12-yr battle with a personal injury case. But even if I did, a personal injury case doesn’t automatically mean disabled. So I maintain that this is the first time I’m hearing you’re disabled.

47. Getting soft Enuff?
    Sounds like yuh feeling guilty for having beaten up on a member of the disabled community… 🙂

How come there is no guilt from your party for raining down licks on the THOUSANDS of others who are ‘disabled with brassbowlery’…?

Suffering from:
    ..Radical scams
    ..North-West Chinese jigSaw puzzle houses
    ..NIS $Billion dollar write off
    ..Four Seasons /Clearwater money gone…

…or don’t you recall these multi-year battles Bajan brass bowls have had to endure either?

You DO HAVE a conscience Boss…. So help the BBs nuh!!!

48. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Bushman….don’t know why there would be any guilt…..am quite sure knowing would have made absolutely NO DIFFERENCE..

.wuh they ROB THE DISABLED ON THE ISLAND……as a stock-in-trade…..pretend they don’t exist or have special needs that should be respected…….they are still talking 60 YEARS behind everyone else….about acknowledging, one of these centuries, the rights of the disabled which they STILL VIOLATE…

thankfully i need none of them to take care of mine..

49. TLSN August 26, 2022 1:05 AM

I believe in the ‘old saying,’ ‘when I doubt, ask.’

RE: “Our entire region is riddled in racism. Guyana, Trinidad, Central America, South America, and Panama to name but a few.
    Given what we know of the dire situation of our black populations within these regions. Why is Mia engaging with these regions……”

I understand your concerns, especially relating to Central and South America.
    However, Trinidad and Guyana are members of CARICOM while there is a thriving community of Barbadian descendants or Barbadians of Panamanian descent, in Panama…… who, over the years, have sought to identify their Bajan ancestry.

Please note, this DOES NOT mean I’m CONDONING racism in the TNT, GUY or PTY.

Are you suggesting the current GoB should ignore the various CARICOM treaties signed over the years, relative to free trade and movement of persons across the Caribbean region?
    To be more precise, do you believe the current BLP administration should ‘cut all ties’ with TNT and GUY even if it means withdrawing BGI as a member of CARICOM?

Shouldn’t the issue of racism in TNT and GUY be COLLECTIVELY ADDRESSED by ALL member states of CARICOM?

There are issues of racism in countries such as Canada, USA, UK Europe, Australia, New Zealand, India, China……
    ….. WHAT ARE YOUR THOUGHTS as it relates to successive administrations “engaging with those regions?”

I’m trying to understand where you’re going with this?
    ~~~~~~~~~~

RE: “…… and more to the point why is she proposing emigration to our island from groups who for centuries have injected policies to “whiten” their populations?”

I’ve heard the proposal to increase Barbados’ population by members of both BLP and DLP administrations.
    Yet, I’ve NEVER HEARD anyone articulate, proposed…… or even suggested, from which countries people would be ‘invited to the island.’

Perhaps you may be privy to information, which is otherwise unavailable to us lessor mortals.
    In the interest of clarity, could you please provide the forum with evidence that Mottley nade a definitive statement relative to identifying those “groups who for centuries have injected policies to “whiten” their populations,” she is “proposing emigration to our island?”

Or, is this just another one of your ‘Mia things?’

50. William Skinner Avatar

@ WARU
    Once more we are being told that the NIS will be just fine. I have been listening to Brasstacks and this issue is psychologically affecting citizens because there is nobody who wants to work for decades and then discover they have nothing to sustain them.
    Of course, the party hacks on both sides will believe that all they have to say is that it will be fixed and both of them are responsible for the abuse of the fund.
    They are already justifying Mottley’s irresponsible behaviour with Sinckler’s
    mismanagement of the fund.
    So, in their fossilized minds it is a “ wash”.
    This is supposed to be of comfort to the people who are now having nightmares of what will happen to them in their retirement.
    It is useless replying to these clowns ; they should just be left alone rather than reply to their repetitive party line bull shit.

Leave a Reply to 555dubstreetCancel reply