Tricia Watson – Attorney at law

There is a strident debate being waged by a group of citizens led by Tricia Watson to have the Electric Light and Power (Amendment) Bill 2022 withdrawn by the government of Barbados. At the root of the challenge is the surreptitious approach government through uncouth Minister Kerri Symmonds to introduce a Bill to evade early public scrutiny AND the lack of a robust documented procedure for making the application process to generate electricity transparent.

We have finally reached a point in Barbados where the liberalisation of the electricity supply affords the opportunity for government to ensure ordinary Barbadians are well positioned to be enfranchised by the limitless financial potential of an emerging sector. The eminently qualified Tricia Watson (and company) has been dogged in critiquing the Bill which to their credit forced the original draft to be amended to current text.

The blogmaster is not qualified to enter the weeds of the debate BUT knows a thing or two about the urgent need for improved governance and the need to create opportunities to distribute wealth on an island where a few control a disproportionate amount of the economic pie. As long as humankind exist there will be demand for electricity. It is important non traditional players are given a fair chance to secure an equitable stake in a sector about to boom

In 2022 we should not be having this type of conversation as it relates to empowering non traditional owners of capital. Here is another one of those opportunities where a majority passive citizenry can constructively engage by entering the debate posting to Barbados Parliament website, calling the talk shows, sending articles to traditional and social media, bombarding everywhere Kerri Symmonds has a social media presence to name a few.

You are encouraged to follow Tricia Watson’s Facebook account for informed updates.

https://www.facebook.com/tricia.watson.940

81 responses to “Electric Light and Power (Amendment) Bill 2022 – Citizens Fighting for an Equitable Stake in Ownership of New Sector”

1. Bajans continue to be Captive Consumers and a profit centre for the likes of Emera.

2. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Looks like new scams are DREAMED UP EVA NIGHT…

3. Bushie 07 43
    Is yours not what we estimated?

Can the leopards created by this criminal political culture not have spots?

And are those spots not the SAME all the brassbowl time?

How many more times must we approach these issues without a guillotine?

4. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

the way the criminal enterprise aka politicians are being DRAGGED on other forums…..and still they persist in the SCAMMING…

…because they believe they will win this…when they got EVATING TO LOSE…

5. David

“What about that modernized Bill In abeyance since 2019? What is the purpose of that proposed legislation?”

I haven’t a clue, ask an inside. But from what I see in the public sphere, both the PM and Minister made the point that the Act needs an overhaul. From my lil reading, the original bill made no mention of storage, distribution etc. It just said supply. Similarly, it set out no procedures for objecting. You remember Caswell’s position on the election of the President? These were addressed by amendments. Should the government put things on pause and await a new Act or make amendments where necessary until it is fully overhauled? All I am saying is I don’t think the amendment bars objectors or hides the identity of applicants as promoted by some on BU. Like I said before, there is always filtering and always an opportunity for an applicant to request that certain info be redacted. It is then up to the powers that be to decide whether it is justified. Reading BU one would believe that only BL&P licensed to generate current. You stand dey and be fooled.

6. @Enuff

The point you are trying to make will not be accepted if the promise that the 2019 bill is almost ready. Why not put all the energy into making that draft legislation fit for purpose and circulate to stakeholders post haste. Let us do the thing properly. Rogers is an SME and should have ensure the draft has relevant content.

7. @ Pacha
    Boss, time to upgrade your weapons.
    Your guillotine can no longer cut it…. Too many heads have to roll for the lotta brassbowlery

…any ideas?

8. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Bushman…these are committing ritual hari-kari without the disembowelment sword………and don’t even know it…all their own doing…

….Pacha’s guillotine is just symbolic..

they have OUTDONE themselves for too many decades…

9. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Pacha…they are still not getting it, but dah iz dem bidness..

..no one got the time to explain anything, we spent way too many years on that already…

10. @John August 18, 2022 1:40 AM “Obama was voted into office by white people!!! He turned out to be an utter failure.”

So can you explain why these white people voted him into office for the second time, since according you he was an utter failure?

11. For maybe 50 or 60 years, if not more, Barbados was out there on solar power, mainly water heating systems, as if we really needed them.

This industry has since grown massively, globally, but there is no such development arc for this industry in Barbados – deep and wide.

Now again a government is talking bout storage. Pray tell, what has happened in these many years?

Are the local brainiacs in control of any of the industrial processes or patents in this area?

Or should we again expect to be that open reservoir for the importation of whatever the Chinese will send us, from A to Z?

These technologies are not that difficult to master. Could we therefore assume that high school students are graduating based on frontier discoveries in solar energy, or other forms from renewable sources.

Did we not miss an opportunity to apply brain power, which we’re told is abundant, to the mercantile pursuits of people like Husbands to build out expertise, innovation?

Are we forever destined to be vulnerable to the constraints of size, location and cowardice?

All this as we cry about balance of payment deficits and the insufficiency of foreign reserves, debt service ratios.

Maybe, it is misguided to ever expect any small island, open economy, anywhere to so do. Escape the role designed for us!

12. Wasn’t the Oliver Headley’s research taken over by Mosley at UWI, Cave Hill?

We should be ashamed.

13. David
    Agreed. This is a national disgrace. We are all to blame. Beyond party, beyond government!

14. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“Maybe, it is misguided to ever expect any small island, open economy, anywhere to so do. Escape the role designed for us!”

slave education don’t get ya very far when ya got 4 and 5 different masters to answer to and ya REFUSE to do right by the Afrikan population WHO ELECTED YOU…

15. Sometimes Pacha things have to go bust to achieve that phoenix rising from the ashes moment a la NIS scenario. It is most frustrating what is happening. That said we have to stay positive and hopeful that we can do this.

16. David
    Based on what? What are the consequences? BU just talks eh. Who here looking to get piece ah de pie? Wunna continue to be fooled. Sounding like licenses now start.

17. @ Enuff
    “Based on what? What are the consequences?
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    RU4 real?
    What is your mirror image for Barbados and Bajans?
    …or are you too ashamed of what you see when you stand in front of one?

Are you happy with having thousands of our bright young people cutting bush and weeding the gutters for lack of better?
    Are you happy to see EVERYTHING of value in Barbados being exploited by strangers? who push their own FOREIGN interests…while our children sit idly on the blocks after more than a DECADE of FREE education?

Do you R E A L L Y see no ‘consequences’ of continuing along the same shiite path…?
    SMH…
    Bushie had HIGH hopes that you would use your influence to bring some positive CHANGE for ordinary folks…
    HAD!!!

18. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“Bushie had HIGH hopes that you would use your influence to bring some positive CHANGE for ordinary folks…”

really?????

a fool who wanted HIS PEOPLE to depend on a tief like dead cow….a liar like dead cow….a stinking racist like dead cow….

what hopes where…

19. Bushie
    Stop being a Drama Queen and answer the RH question if that’s your intent. Obfuscation and melodrama don’t work with me.

20. Salemite
    Geez who put you so? Woman you need a forest bath. Pray tell how I am now being accused of wanting my people to depend on Cow? Go get help.🤔

21. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

The archive int gone anywhere….

if i had time to waste, would repost all the shite ya talked after dead cow used Ryan Brathwaite or was it Obadele, yall are such frauds can’t remember which fraud ya perpetrate at any fiven time…. to get change of use for THE LAND HE STOLE and then refused to give him the promised lot after he won the medal…

yall are useless breathers and if i had my way would DEPOPULATE YA USELESS ASSES…ya are serving NO PURPOSE on the earth, other than enabling parasites to rob ya people…

Pacha… just saw a document relating to just that…

22. @ Enuff
    Drama Queen shiite!!
    You KNOW EXACTLY what Bushie is talking about.

About your ‘question’…
    Bushie is A messenger, ….but NOT Enuff’s messenger… Have any questions about the BIG Boss? 🙂

Perhaps your people need to review the cuntsultants that wunna have engaged to provide such answers, and put some more emphasis on QUALITY – rather than on conformance to party dogma.

23. Salemite
    It was Ryan Brathwaite. Go dig up the archives.

24. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

if i had time to waste, would repost all the shite ya talked after dead cow used Ryan Brathwaite or was it Obadele, yall are such frauds can’t remember which fraud ya perpetrate at any given time….

read twice…..i don’t have time to archive dive….but the information is right there….ya little williams boy…

big things a gwaan and am going to leave MY BUSINESS to go dig up shite you posted when those who were RIGHT THERE….including Miller…would remember it s well..

25. Sigh! Tales as usual.

26. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

ah know yall OUTBALANCED THESE DAYS….

ya can’t find a foothold…

and the people are AFTER YOU for the MISSING BILLIONS……..🤣🤣🤣🤣😜

that is called KARMA…

and the BEST PART….ya can no longer use me as a BU distraction….THAT SCAM RAN OUT OF GAS….

27. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

oops *OFFBALANCED THESE DAYS….

28. The use of renewable energy is accelerating

But still not quickly enough to offset the use of fossil fuels

GLOBAL ENERGY demand tumbled by 4% in 2020, as flights were grounded, factories idled and commuters locked down at home. One part of the world’s electricity markets, however, continued to grow. Renewable-energy generation grew at its fastest rate in two decades, according to a new report by the International Energy Agency (IEA), an intergovernmental forecaster. New renewable-energy capacity grew by 45% last year, adding an extra 280GW to the world supply—more than the entire energy-generation capacity of Germany.

The surge was partly because of a sudden scramble to install additional renewable capacity in America, China and Vietnam before government subsidies expired. Because of such schemes, twice as much renewable-energy capacity was added in the fourth quarter of 2020 than in the last three months of 2019 (see chart). Most of these gains went to new wind and solar installations, though hydro-electric capacity also expanded markedly. China accounted for 80% of new solar and onshore wind …

https://www.economist.com/graphic-detail/2021/05/11/the-use-of-renewable-energy-is-accelerating

29. David bu can you post the link or the speech made by Mr Kerry Symmonds as i did not hear it.I would like to judge it for myself.If he attacked Ms Watson for being political i agree with his view.Thanks in advance David Bu.I gone.

30. @Lorenzo

Listen from the minute 25:

https://youtu.be/ByDz2due1rM