Today is the scheduled NIS Town Hall for a concerned public to share feedback to the revelation our National Insurance Fund (NIF) needs another lifeline. In recent days the buzz is a concern the eligibility age for NIS pension will be extended to 72 years old.

The blogmaster is willing to bet Prime Minister Mottley being the political animal she is anticipated that NIS reform currently being contemplated will significantly deflate her popularity, she needs the time to implement reform and win back favour BEFORE the next general election, the perfect political gamble. Especially if she is serious about demitting office at that time. Therefore one of the reasons for an early general election call.

Follow the NIS town hall at Combermere School, Waterford at 6PM.

413 responses to “NIS Town Hall – The Golden Chip”

1. Thinking BIG is about the possibilities to improve efficiency and business facilitation in the country by feeding a central database with information. Hope this helps.

2. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Some are way too comfortable, accepting of and wallowing in never ending corruption

3. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Blame the vendors and others for a 56 MILLION NIS DEFICIT….and that does not include the BILLIONS GONE..

4. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David and @William there is definitely comedic cynicism in the progression (illogic really) in describing: 1) “If we did not have an historical competent public service, the country would have gone under water by the sheer weight of corruption and political interference, ever since” … and then in the same breath also asserting (2) “The bigger problem seems to be syncing information between relevant government departments about recent deaths…nothing that a easy process of exchanging an electronic file between the departments shouldn’t fix but how long will it take to do so is the question

That’s quite ‘risible’, as the former Dean would say!

Quite clearly both of you are right in some measure but by your own words also wrong about our Public Service competencies being ‘dulled’ by political corrupters … so on balance the scale shows nothing up, nothing down!

After all this time in lil Bim the matter of cleaning up the death records to ensure accurate voting data and the equally important NIS data base is couched in terms of “how long will it take to be done” and we are really debating competency or lack thereof of our govt departments or how literate we are or what are our lettered qualifications!

Alright den … onwards and upwards to NIS Town Hall meetings … nuff sterling competencies should be forthcoming AND MOST importantly they will be competently implemented in a TIMELY efficient manner.

Reminds me of the equally sterling Sir Henry Constitution Review Commission meetings … somerhing about timely implementation of awesome recommendations comes to mind … but heh … we sure were real competent and quite smart, tho!

We too sweet … 😎🤦🏾‍♂️🙏🏿

5. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

I see they have to resort to putting a survey out there…..but no one in their right minds would pay any attention to IT OR THEM……FRAUDS and their fraudulent supporters..

6. @David August 16, 2022 9:59 AM ‘Thinking BIG is about the possibilities to improve efficiency and business facilitation in the country by feeding a central database with information. Hope this helps.”

NOPE

7. @Dee Word

A good conversation to be had with the PS of some of these government departments?

8. “Sandra Squires said more should be done about non-contributors.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~

Interesting comments.

Is there is a law requiring Barbadians to
    contribute to the NIS?
    If not, then, those persons who choose not to pay NI wouldn’t receive pension.

But, what upsets me is the fact that we’ve had people who never contributed to the scheme, yet, they receive a non-contributory pension which is financed by a 2% deduction from an employed person’s salary/wages and 2% contribution by employers.

Both employers and employees contribute 0.50% to a ‘training levy.’
    Why?????
    What is the purpose of this levy and how is it utilized?

9. No surprise Simple Simon, we know there is a steely resolve to hold positions.

10. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

pay in more and we will TIEF LESS…good plan….nothwithstanding the BILLIONS MISSING ALREADY,,,

11. @Artax

You know the purpose of non contributory pension. From what is being said it is a relatively small amount with most of it funded by central government?

12. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Did anyone bother to explain where the multi-millions scammed to build the apes hill clubhouse and pool that the new owners dug up……that no longer EXISTS…….gone to….multimillions of NIS pensioners money down the drain…..

did anyone bother to ask…..

another write off….

13. Some MAD soundbites in a Bajan Stylee
    (also known as a BU ‘Holding Letter’)
    (you can type any old shit in a comment box)
    (also known as “Mental Health Issues Tissues”

“Government is ‘managing expectations’”
    “‘they’ rob and gone with all the money”
    “problem reaction solution paradigm”
    “new world order conspiracy theory”
    “working as a slave until ‘they’ push you to grave”

Global Warning

14. Listening to Brasstacks right now.

A real real Bajan lady made a good contribution to the program.

15. NorthernObserver Avatar

Given the known (suspected?) state of the NIS, why would the self employed see any benefit in contributing?
    The challenge here is much wider than the NIS. The nation of Barbados has consistently (past decade) SPENT considerably more than it COLLECTS. This is why the controllers of GoB went dipping into social security monies to fund Central Government. (Unadvisedly or not)
    And when those cupboards were empty, they withheld NIS contributions deducted from their employees. (Monies replaced with a Series J Bond)
    The island has an EXPENSE challenge.
    Today, they continue to ‘print money’ to get the money to run the island (as is)
    The ultimate solution is bankruptcy?
    I will suggest several of these issues which have become ‘suddenly current’ (but have been festering for a while) are related to the imminent IMF decision.
    Despite the pleasantries between the IMF and GoB, they ARE issues. And they haven’t ‘gone away’.
    And despite all the talk about “more people”, they are costs associated with this. Where is the revenue coming from? Or are all these ‘new citizens’ bringing buckets of money to spend in their new home.
    Nobody said governing was easy.

16. @NO

If self employed people do not see the sense to contribute the state will have to pick up the tab later anyway via welfare department?

17. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“Given the known (suspected?) state of the NIS, why would the self employed see any benefit in contributing?
    The challenge here is much wider than the NIS.”

indeed, have a young relative as a self-employed wondering what the hell is going on and don’t want to contribute tens of thousands only to hear later…..there is a replay….and then left in the cold..

18. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

What i don’t understand is why no one wants to ANSWER the HARD QUESTIONS….and seem only interested in GLOSSING OVER REALITY….to reel in the gullible and weak..

trying to PRETEND that the THEFT of PENSIONER’S MONEY….just like the THEFT OF VAT…….DID NOT HAPPEN.

19. Bushie
    You know I’m good, damn good. You need the Mottley reference to invalidate me. Others the million dollar errand boy. Up to now wunna can’t win a ting. Everyday like stuck records.

20. William Skinner Avatar

@ DPD
    Are you suggesting that a screw up with pensions being paid to dead people is enough reason to deny that we have had an historical competent public service.
    Do you know the number of promises made to restructure or reform the public service that did not see the light of day?
    Do you know the failure to computerize and bring modern technology , as a priority, into the public service was an act of gross incompetence by both administrations?
    Are you unaware that most high ranking public servants on retirement are swallowed up by the private sector.?
    Do you not understand that the professional lives of public servants are almost at the mercy of egotistical, don’t know a damn thing politicians.
    I stand by my word. Many here apparently only started to examine the public service recently and decided to blame them for every mess up made by their political masters.
    I am not saying that there all public servants are competent but to beat up the service to protect political leaders is pure ignorance.
    Please tell me the name (s)of the public servant responsible for Greenland; Cahill and refinancing / restructuring the national debt , that cost the NIS to lose one billion dollars just so.

21. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

William…you will be going around and around while smoke and mirrors are thrown up to distract you…….good news….they no longer work..

the people have to UNDERSTAND THE POWER THEY NOW HAVE IN THEIR HANDS….or they will be ROBBED and trapped in bondage, oppressed, suppressed and every lowlife minority these could find would walk all over them…they have to choose..

22. NorthernObserver Avatar

@WS
    The issue with ‘senior’ public employees is largely restricted to CBL.
    And appreciate had it not been for ICIJ dump of CAIPO records, it would not be public knowledge THEY were the sole directors of CBL.
    The circumstances around their nomination and tenure is not known. However, while the announcement of CBL (Act?) was laid in the House, not one RH since.
    Subsequently, without official facts at any point in it’s life thereafter, we now get mixed messages.
    The one which seems totally accurate, is the taxpayers of Barbados are currently out of pocket BDD$124M +++. Nobody is denying this.
    And subsequently some feel betrayed by these employees, who as Directors,
    “Under the fiduciary duty of loyalty, directors and officers are to act impartially and place the interests of the corporation first”, there is no public information this occured. Not that it did not occur, but nothing is publicly available.

23. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

I must have torn out a WHOLE NERVE…

Northern…..these are very cheeky…and their supporters, there are no words to describe them…..mysterious why they keep overreaching, no one with commonsense will entertain them or their backward trajectory..

24. @NO

There many examples where public officers do crap. The blogmaster can cite the educational system and decisions to transfer teachers and principals in the system who committed egregious acts.
    If William continues with his head in the sand the blogmaster a willing to resurrect blogs sleeping in the BU Archives.

25. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

No @William I am NOT suggesting “that a screw up with pensions being paid to dead people is enough reason to deny that we have had an historical competent public service”.

I am bluntly saying that the act of cross referencing deaths with NIS disbursements is one of the minimalist and most basic aspects of data base management … thus this NOT a recent “screw up” brother Skinner but fundamental, incompetent indifference.

You can blame the political masters surely but to absolve professional, expert technocrats is not rational!

Obviously our Public Service has performed well over the years but realistically THEY have also screwed up … often under the misguided belief that they are achieving desired “good” results for their political masters or otherwise … Thus I am NOT as sanguine as you are in dropping all the weight on one side of the scale.

Re your substantive notes:
    “Do you know the failure to computerize and bring modern technology.”

Sorry bro, but that’s a red herring. I recall visiting the old Data Processing office in Fairchild street and learing first hand about the I-O bytes and bits punch card tech … YEP, that long ago … JUST before the advent of the integrated chip mainframe technology and the related PC seismic shift.

Thus, I know how IBM (under CEO Castilho) and BBM (under owner/CEO Barnes, if memory serves well) were at the forefront in sales pitches to update the govt departments with the new tech!

Yes we can assert that systems were likely implemented with “gross incompetence [corruption] by both administrations” but THAT does NOT mean that simply operational processes should be so deficient today.

Thus for us to be debating in 2022 the proper use of basic database development tools/data management across depts. is RIDICULOUS…

“Are you unaware that most high ranking public servants on retirement are swallowed up by the private sector.?”

Yep, happens all the time … they are skilled in how to manage the systems and they then go over at excellent wages and help the corporate chieftains to best benefit from said systems.

“Do you not understand that the professional lives of public servants are almost at the mercy of egotistical, don’t know a damn thing politicians”

And absolutely yes again … but does that mean that cross checking deaths to avoid erroneous disbursements is being mercilessly mandated from on high!

I GET your point brother … but I am simply saying that these are basic elements of the professionals’ work and such failures REFLECT badly on THEM (their incompetence or fraud), not their political masters!

26. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Thought we were discussing all the MISSING ……and unaccounted for MONEY….from the Auditor General’s report…so yall saying it’s the civil servants responsible…

they better come forward and clear their names if they are not guilty….wait…they can’t talk under the official secrets act..

27. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

William….what did i tell you only hours ago..

28. William Skinner Avatar

@ WARU
    Apparently the NIS losing one billion just so is of no concern. Employers refusing to honor $56 million is of no concern.
    We are just looking to give the corrupt political class, the green light to do whatever it pleases.
    No surprises here at all. Business as usual.
    The Duopoly rules supreme.
    Peace

29. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“We are just looking to give the corrupt political class, the green light to do whatever it pleases.”

once they do it to THEM ONLY….and don’t believe they can pull their next scam on everyone else….weeee have no problem at all with that..

everyone, except for those who could actually SEE are dancing all around the subject of the MISSING MONEY…and apparently expect everyone to just FALL IN LINE….wonder who led them to believe they had that much power.

30. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

So are the World Food Program trucks on the island…asking for a friend…….just saw some photos..

31. “…… and such failures REFLECT badly on THEM (their incompetence or fraud), not their political masters!”

@ dpD

Employees have been fired from the NI Department after it was discovered they used ‘creative methods’ to facilitate the payment to themselves, of deceased people’s pensions.

Who is responsible for granting ‘unapproved duty free concessions’ to their relatives and friends, who either pass through the airport with luggage or import goods through the seaport?

…… or, the reported theft of over $850,000 from the NIS……
    …… the theft of over $1M from the Psychiatric Hospital……
    …… thousands of dollars stolen as a result of dead people being included on the QEH payroll……
    …… the unreported theft of approximately $800,000 from Inland Revenue……

…… officers from the BRA filing income and corporation tax returns for relatives, friends and other persons to prevent them from paying income and corporation taxes?

All of which, although just a few examples, if calculated in their totality…… over an extended period of time, would clearly indicate a significant LOSS of government revenue as well.

This is not an attempt to “beat up on the service to protect political leaders,” but, the reality is, whether or not we want to admit it, corruption in ‘government’ is perpetrated by BOTH public sector employees and politicians.

32. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

First time in over 100 YEARS years, post emancipation, the PEOPLE FINALLY HAVE THE UPPER HAND…they better make very good use of the opportunity….

33. This is not an attempt to “beat up on the service to protect political leaders,” but, the reality is, whether or not we want to admit it, corruption in ‘government’ is perpetrated by BOTH public sector employees and politicians.

“Xxxxxxx

1000 PERCENT

34. Come on, let’s be realistic.

A politician does not have access to the bank accounts of any department, statutory or quasi government organization falling under his/her portfolio.
    Nor, do they complete or sign expenditure vouchers, approve payments or sign payable orders and cheques.

You cannot, in all seriousness, blame a politician for the discrepancies in VAT receipts or missing funds from government departments the Auditor General mentioned in his reports.

A politician could order the Chairman of a statutory corporation, for example, to direct the Board of directors to approve a tender submitted by one of his mates….. and receive a ‘draw back’ for his efforts.
    I’m sure BU remembers when Michael Lashley and Denis Lowe were Ministers of Transport and Environment respectively…… Transport Board buses and SSA trucks were being sent to Trans-Tech Inc. for repairs.
    And, the owner of Trans-Tech subsequently admitted the SUV’s driven by both gentlemen, where registered under his business.

We’ve also heard of a particular insurance company that was given the contract to insure TB buses, at a time when government vehicles were insured by the then state owned ICB.
    The company had full sized advertisement on the TB’s 2004 Mercedes-Benz Marcopolo Torino omnibus, BM124.

There are also cases where the approval to provide goods and services was granted to businesses that were actually owned by politicians, but using a ‘front man.’

I can’t remember if it was ever mentioned in any of his reports, but, some time during the late 1980s, the Auditor General complained about a statutory corporation outsourcing its accounting duties to a private firm named Brian Griffith & Company, which was also contracted to conduct audits for a number years…… at $50,000 per year.

35. Who signed off on the contract with Hadley Byer to faulty supply water metres? Was it a politician or public servant. The blogmaster rest, those who have eyes will see.

36. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Bushman…how yuh quiet so…

37. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

So if the public servants running things without oversight…

.wuh yuh need politicians for….

38. If a Minister is responsible for directing government policy and making decisions relative to national issues and presenting bills and proposed laws from departments and statutory corporations falling under their portfolio, for example……

…… then, commonsense would indicate they are NOT RESPONSIBLE for micromanagement of public sector employees, especially if it is taken into consideration that each Ministry has a Permanent Secretary, while each department has a ‘Chief’ or Head of Department (e.g Chief Welfare Officer, Chief Environmental Officer, Chief Librarian etc)……

…… and SOE’s are either managed by a Director (CBC, NAB, NCC, UDC and RDC); or CEO (Enterprise Growth Fund, Transport Board, NCF).

Payments for goods, services, personal emoluments, travel etc, are approved by the Departments’ Accountant and funds disbursed by the Treasury.

Payments are approved and disbursed by the SOE’s Accounting Sections.

39. William Skinner August 16, 2022 3:43 PM #: “Apparently the NIS losing one billion just so is of no concern. Employers refusing to honor $56 million is of no concern.”

Mr. Skinner

Any reasonable Barbadian would be concerned about “employers refusing to honour $56M.”

NIS should confiscate and auction the properties of those business owners who are indebted to the fund.

But, who are responsible for allowing the payments to accumulate, especially when NI Department has a Compliance Section?

We’ve had situations in Barbados where the rents at some NHC units were $75 per week and some tenants who were gainfully employed, had accumulated over $8,000 in rent arrears.

Could you imagine the rent for stalls in Golden Square Market was only FIFTY (50) DOLLARS per month…… and some vendors accumulated as much as $7,000 in arrears?

People are indebted to the Students’ Revolving Loan Fund, because they benefited from loans they have refused to repay.

Those same people would make an effort to pay Consolidated Finance or Simpson Finance for their vehicles…… or make alternative payment arrangements if their accounts fall into arrears, simply because those institutions have aggressive collection and repossession policies.

40. William Skinner Avatar

Apparently the politicians know nothing ; see nothing and do nothing and are responsible for nothing.
    Here we are discussing the wreckage of the NIS and suddenly we are zeroing on corrupt public servants .
    Who wrecked the NIS ?
    Who with a stroke of a pen cost the NIS to lose one billion dollars just so?
    Those public servants who engage in corruption and who are caught , end up before the courts; or even get fired.
    Nobody ever argued that all public servants were honest . Of course there are corrupt public servants .
    All I have stated is the fact that we have had an historically competent public service.
    These red herrings designed to deflect from the activities of mismanagement by elected politicians are laughable.
    Every time our political masters wreck anything with their poor and visionless leadership, we come here with one objective : protect them at all costs ; hold our noses and try to convince ourselves that the stench is coming from elsewhere.
    The question remains:
    Who wrecked the NIS ?
    Who cost the NIS one billion ?
    Peace

41. @Artax

If you followed the town hall last night you heard an admission by CEO Kim Tudor they want to get the NIS Inspectorate functioning again like back in the day.

42. William you are so one dimensional and blinkered it is not funny. What if some of these PSs grew balls, many of the transgressions by the political class would see the light of day. In any system there must be checks and balances. There is a reason the public service in our setup is designed in theory to be independent of the executive. If we have the tail wagging the dog what are we to do?

43. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

All government departments should have OVERSIGHT…..

it’s a NOBRAINER…

is that not what the Auditor General keeps ASKING FOR… and the SAME POLITICIANS IGNORE HIM..

so if they can’t implement that function for the people……what do yall need them for…it’s seems only the weak need them to tell lies and talk shite so they can admire it…

44. William Skinner Avatar

Stick to the script and not the “ what ifs”. Now you are asking the top civil servants to be police. Really.
    Let the Governor of the Central Bank tell any Finance Minister, he’s not following government policy and see what happens.
    Imagine a public servant calling in the police to arrest or charge a politician with corruption.
    You need to get through your head that the guards are guarding themselves.
    The main person to get rid or bring corruption exposure might be the PM in our system.
    Imagine you. want the PS to be an enforcer.

45. @ Mr. Skinner

You are being VERY DISINGENUOUS.

EVERYONE who has been discussing the plight of the NIS over the past few years, from John A, NorthernObserver to Bush Tea, has ACKNOWLEDGED the FACT that SUCCESSIVE BLP and DLP administrations “wrecked the NIS,” and the current administration’s debt restructuring “cost the fund one billion dollars.”

WHO in this forum has DENIED those facts?

Also, you have been consistently and conveniently giving the impression that many of the financial improprieties outlined in the Auditor General’s Reports are the fault of politicians.
    Hence, contributors have responded accordingly.

As I have mentioned on several previous occasions, it seems as though certain contributors developed a set of ‘rules and guidelines’ to criticise politicians, which they believe everyone must adhere to, otherwise they’re accused of protecting and defending politicians.

All one has to do is share ideological and philosophical similarities…… repeat the same shiite every day with monotonous regularity…… and you’ll automatically become a member of the ‘club.’

I prefer to ‘call things as I see them.’

I’m not here to ‘sing in the choirs’ of certain individuals, while being deceitful in remaining silent anytime they attempt to mislead BU……

…… or, immediately come out to admonish and condemn non choir members for engaging in similar practices.

What I also find interesting is the fact that some people often criticise what they refer to as the ‘duopoly,’ yet, their criticisms are always concentrated in the direction of a particular political party and its supporters.

The level of deceitfulness exhibited by some persons in this forum is simply amazing.

46. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@William,I wouldn’t say you are being one dimensional as your bud the Blogmaster opined but you surely can be blinkered tho 🤣.

We ALL agree that the politicians run tings and thus they absolutely effect greater ‘divestment’ of corruption 😎 but we also must accept that our society is unfortunately extensively corrupt … thus WE also have our hands in the till.

I am making no grand pronouncement beyond what has been said here many times: corrupt politicians come from amongst US, they are not from Mars or Jupiter. We are inherently as honest and dishonest as they are.

So yes you can have your duopoly narrative to your heart’s content but until people from Saturn start to vote in Barbados I am at a lost to understand why your view that the political class are THE culprits is more viable than the fundamental issue that we are all COMPLICIT in this malaise!

47. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Anyone got any ideas WHERE DE BILLION DOLLARS GONE..how come no one at NIS can account for it……………..and that does not even take into account all the rest of money still missing…..which am sure is much more than what’s being said…

William…I don’t know of anyone on BU responsible for those THEFTS….unless others know something we don’t…

48. ….the fundamental issue that we are all COMPLICIT in this malaise!
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    You can say that again Dribbles.

In fact, Bushie posits that one of the reasons that ordinary Bajans literally worship politicians, is that most of us ENVY the opportunity that this presents to ‘thief some BIG money’.

Do you know that plenty Bajans actually SCORN any politician that allowed HONESTY to get in the way of his or her ‘political opportunities’?

The WHOLE damn society is lost….
    Those crooks in Parliament REPRESENT us …in more ways that one….

49. “Let the Governor of the Central Bank tell any Finance Minister, he’s not following government policy and see what happens.
    Imagine a public servant calling in the police to arrest or charge a politician with corruption.”

Hmmmmm…… interesting.

Some time ago, I mentioned that the Director of a SOE where I worked, on orders from the Board of Directors, instructed me to deposit the funds remaining from the previous financial year, to the Consolidated Fund.

I complied with the instructions.

Caswell Franklyn ‘said’ I didn’t know what I was doing…… subsequently supported by Bush Tea and de pedantic Dribbler.

Similarly, what would’ve happened to me if I had told the Director, Board and Minister they weren’t following accepted policy…… and refused to proceed as instructed?

Leave a Reply to John2Cancel reply