Submitted by Steven Kaszab

Wheat prices have tumbled from its peak when Russia had invaded the Ukraine, but one of the worlds most consumed items remains in short supply and that the global hunger crisis still remains. Much like oil, steel and beef, wheat shifts its price and availability in response to many complex factors such as geopolitics and the weather. Declining prices of wheat creates a challenge to our economies, one where low prices of wheat may not incentivise farmers to plant more wheat, thereby creating more scarcity of this product and its many off take products. A lower price for wheat does not deal with the ever increasing cost of energy, which affects the cost of running farm equipment, transportation and even the manufacturing  of needed fertilisers.  Hot, dry weather is also crimping the farmers style of crop growth. Our global economy is facing a potential situation where food prices could spiral out of control. 

Russia and the Ukraine account for 1/4 of global wheat exports. That is what war has affected. A man made crisis that may go into the long term. Adding global drought episodes and we are facing a combination of scarcity, corporate profiteering and ultimately food price gouging like not seen before. Wheat prices are at a level seen before the year began.  @ $7.75 per bushel jumped to over $13.00 right after Russia invaded Ukraine. The price stayed in double digit’s through this June and then began to fall to a $8.00 a bushel level. Winter Wheat stocks also brought the price down and a deal between Russia, Ukraine and the United Nations has allowed some wheat to ship to international markets. 

The cost of wheat and many other foods have been affected by the war between Russia and Ukraine, but the real factors that will affect the price of bread, cereal and other items will be climate change, the price of fuel and fertiliser.  Climate change is making crop growth highly unpredictable. Lack of rain, drought level micro climates and over harvesting of single crop items are limiting what can be grown and harvested each year. In Canada temperatures soared to record highs, making three fourths of the country’s 2021 agricultural land  abnormally dry. Canada’s wheat crop dropped to nearly 40% from 2020 to 2021, causing its exports to Latin America to decline by over three million tons.  Also, in 2020 wheat was about 30% cheaper then it is now. 

Because Russian fertiliser is so important to the global farm trade, it avoided international sanctions. Although high prices hurt countries that import wheat, low prices might dissuade farmers from planting extra crops this year. Over the past decade the number of farms closing production has increased. Family farms are becoming less and less, while corporate farms of thousands of acres specialise in the most profitable of crops, often no those crops that feed the nation. 

Like the stock exchange, food prices are on the move up and down, making money for some, and costing money for others. Whether the costs are artificially kept high, or there really is no controlling our food stuffs costs, the end consumer is in for a roller coaster ride, and their pocket books need to look out.

183 responses to “A ‘Glocal’ Food Crisis”

1. Scrolling, scrolling, scrolling….

2. I have no farmers in between me and the air coming from the sea but who knows what’s in the air. Or the rain, for that matter. All we can do is minimise toxins. We can never eliminate them.

Humans will get sick. Humans will age. Humans will die.

As long as we are still reproducing, we have to make room for new arrivals.

Also, I refuse to obsess to the point where I cannot enjoy a tasty meal. In fact, I’d rather be dead than eat tasteless “nutrients” that nobody even really KNOWS are the real deal.

Besides which, after I live to a ripe old age, I don’t think I’d want to stick around any longer.

People are too damn miserable! Can’t get rid of all of them, so I ‘ll be glad to go and leave them instead.

Just a few more decades and I’ll have had enough, I’m sure.

3. William Skinner Avatar

GOVERNMENT BACKBENCHER Trevor Prescod is warning that efforts to root out crop theft may result in povertystricken Barbadians being harshly penalised for simply trying to put food on the table in these tough times.
    The St Michael East representative is also against personnel from the Barbados Police Service and Barbados Defence Force being used to protect crops at large privately-owned plantations. He believes the owners should accept the responsibility of securing their farms.
    Prescod voiced his concerns yesterday as the House of Assembly debated the Protection of Agricultural Products Bill, 2022,
    which included increased fines for praedial larceny.
    The former minister was not convinced that stiffer penalties for crop theft would automatically result in a “fundamental” solution to the problem.
    However, he was more worried about the possible criminalisation of people who were seeking food to eat, and not trying to profit from the sale of stolen agricultural

produce.
    “As long as poverty exists in a society, especially at this critical point in our economy, when a man can’t find anything to eat the easiest place to go is in a [farm] ground,” he asserted.
    “I don’t even know if I should be… seeing this man as being involved in criminal activity. This is a case of survival…and we find ourselves in a situation where we have to find a balance, a balance that would not cause us to be responsible for the criminalisation of more and more black men.
    “So that the prison that used to be at 1 000 inmates at a time will move up to 1 500 as a result of any form of legislation we put in place,” he cautioned.
    Prescod also said he did not believe lawmen should be protecting plantations from crop thieves.
    “I think after a man goes to school and studies so hard and put on the police uniforms he should be walking around a plantation trying to protect to protect potatoes and yams. You have got a shortage of police officers in this country, and now we have got to take off the police officers and the Defence Force…to watch plantations,” he said.
    “These plantation owners that still own land must take responsibility for protecting the produce on their plantations

and don’t put the burden back on the state. I don’t know how this application of providing drones how far that responsibility falls on the state, they should be providing drones for themselves.”
    Prescod also said that in order for more Barbadians to get involved in agriculture, there was a need for more social programmes, including major land reform.
    “I would hope that we can put a number of social programmes in place. I would like to see that we come together and look [at] the subdivision of the land and more small farmers in Barbados can have if not ownership, possession [of agricultural land],” he recommended.
    “Lots of men would love to work agricultural land but they are not prepared to work agricultural land with the traditional plantocracy. That is the reality.”

4. Agri theft get-tough

Praedial larcenists could face $100 000 fine and jail
    STIFFER PENALTIES ARE COMING for theft of agricultural produce, with crop thieves facing fines as hefty as $100 000 and a prison term as long as five years.
    Government is getting tough with praedial larcenists, who are causing farmers thousands of dollars in losses in what Minister of Agriculture Indar Weir yesterday described as a “well-organised” business.
    Leading off debate on the Protection Of Agricultural Products Protection Bill, 2022, in the House of Assembly yesterday, he said crop thieves were going well prepared to confront owners of crops if challenged, possessed very modern vehicles for transport and had “proper storage facilities” for the stolen goods.
    Weir added that a consultation held with farmers and other interested parties revealed that the continuing prevalence of praedial larceny “implied that there was a ready market for the receipt of stolen produce by vendors and business people, including restaurants and supermarkets”.
    He said that group suggested that greater enforcement of the legislation was required and made several recommendations, including
    that a rapid response unit be established within the Barbados Police Service and that farmers install technology and security systems.
    Weir indicated drones were being contemplated for surveillance, as well as the use of ultraviolet particles on plants.
    He said Government had looked at the previous legislation, determined there must be “a better way of protecting the farmers” and made an effort to come up with “the right metric” to address the problem.
    “We had to look at repealing the Praedial Larceny Prevention Act Cap 142A, which was part of the 2017 legislation, and we then had to also repeal the Protection Of Agricultural Products and Livestock Bill 2017, to come up with legislation that would be more suitable.”
    The minister said Government agreed there must be “onfarm surveillance training and empowerment”; farmers must look out for each other and report unusual activity within farming districts, and “a serious public education regime” needed to be developed to create a consciousness among the people who would be purchasing stolen produce.
    Under the new legislation, anyone who steals any quantity of agricultural products is guilty of an offence and is liable on summary conviction
    to a fine of $100 000 (up from the previous $10 000) or to imprisonment for five years, or both.
    Similarly, anyone in possession of commercial quantities of agricultural products who fails to produce, at the request of a police officer, or within 24 hours of the date of that request, a receipt, delivery note or bill of lading, or proof of ownership or lawful possession of the agricultural products, is liable on summary conviction to a fine of $100 000 or five years’ imprisonment or both.
    Also, a police officer may, without a warrant, stop a vehicle and, upon informing the person in charge of the vehicle, search it or search any parcel or package of any kind found in the vehicle. Where the officer discovers commercial quantities of agricultural products inside, he or she may request the person in charge of the vehicle to produce a receipt, delivery note or bill of lading, or give other proof of ownership or of lawful possession.
    The legislation provides for the arrest of the driver who fails to satisfy the respective legal requirements.
    (GC)

5. Crop theft ‘must be rooted out’

CROP THEFT has the potential to jeopardise Barbados’ plans to achieve food and nutrition security, harm the country’s export objectives, and stall efforts to reduce the current high import bill.
    Minister in the Ministry of Finance Ryan Straughn stressed this yesterday in the House of Assembly as he contributed to debate on the Protection of Agricultural Products Bill, 2022.
    The Christ Church East Central representative also said it was important to encourage more young people to get into agriculture, as he lamented that Milton Lynch Primary School in his constituency had to spend $2 200 on barbed wire in an effort to deter crop thieves.
    Straughn said praedial larceny “is something that we need to root out in this country . . . so that we can as a country, starting at the community level, start to ensure that we can achieve food and nutritional security which is part of the mandate of the Ministry of Agriculture”.
    “And therefore yes we must teach our children and everybody those fundamental tenets of agricultural practice, but not those tenets that will see people come in . . . the middle of the night to steal
    the produce,” he said.
    “This piece of legislation is going to be, in my mind, critical for allowing us to be able to build a platform with respect to not just achieving food security but, equally, being able to ramp up production to such a level that we are capable of ensuring that we can meet any export targets orcontracts that we may have.”
    “And, therefore, this stealing that is taking place is really a hurdle, a disincentive, to us being able to achieve food security in the first instance, but, equally, being able to build a platform with respect to export of agricultural products in a very meaningful way,” he added.
    Straughn said creating an environment for agriculture to thrive “is not just about feeding ourselves, but we can also create a business climate that would allow for a reasonable return of investment to take place”.
    “But the only way that that could happen is that . . . we don’t deter the youngsters when they are at primary school from getting involved in this thing,” he said.
    “We need our young people to reconnect in a real sense to agricultural production in this country and this Government intends to support programmes
    that will facilitate that whilst at the same time putting the other structures in place not just to achieve food security, not just to achieve nutritional security but to put the Barbados economy on a sustainable path.”
    Straughn added: “Whereby the export potential, the agro processing potential, to reduce the imports that people keep talking about in the country, the only way that that happens is if people work collaboratively and cooperatively with the Ministry of Agriculture,…and people making these critical investments that allows them to know that in six weeks or 12 weeks, three months, whatever the time frame is, that they will be able to reap what they sow.” (SC)

6. RE CrusoeAugust 10, 2022 2:39 AM
    Further comments…
    Wuh loss, just as I was bout tuh axe Dr. GP eff de army from de eahst does be Xhina.
    CRUSOE, YOU ARE 100% CORRECT
    THE KINGS OF THE EAST IS INDEED CHINA
    THEY ARE THE ONLY NATION IN THE EAST WITH THE NUMBER OF SOLDIERS INDICATED BY THE PROPHESY TO WHICH YOU SEEM TO BE ALLUDING
    THIS HAS BEEN THE OPINION OF SOLID ESCHATOLOGISTS FOR A WHILE NOW

7. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

William…tiring isn’t it…we have heard the SAME REGURGITATION like clockwork for over 50 YEARS….and they are still gurgling the same shite, no changes, no leveling up…..just the usual talk-a-thon with their dummy supporters gushing how sweet they sound..

i don’t bother to read much of it..

people have already moved on to a POINT OF REAL ACTION for themselves and their families…

8. I understand where Prescod is coming for but I think cases of crop theft for reasons of pure hunger can be adequately dealt with by the judiciary. There must be some discretion to separate us from the officers in Les Miserables. (Insert yuh own damn accents. I too lazy tuh learn how.)

I do agree that plantation owners should be responsible for their own security as other businesses are up to a point but only up to a point.

Police patrol neighbourhoods. I interacted with the police on patrol at two o’ clock one morning as they wondered what the mad woman was doing outside her house. Nothing wrong with regular police patrols for all who pay taxes.

9. William Skinner Avatar

@ WARU
    Philosophically, it is certainly one of Comrade Prescod’s most enlightening presentations.
    Like I have always said people who have certain ideological and philosophical attributes will always present positions that do not necessarily sit well with those who believe the status quo can remain the same while everything else is supposed to change.
    While their positions may not be perfect they see the socio economic state of the country from deeply held beliefs that are somewhat misunderstood. And that is where the difference remains.
    Comrade Prescod’s speech when compared with that of the minister clearly demonstrates the difference in thinking.

10. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

William…..problem is nothing changes and no one protests rigorously on a POINT OF PRINCIPLE……everyone just collects their taxpayer salaries meekly until the next time such topics come up and they air their views…..or until the VOTERS KICK THEM OUT…

wash, rinse, repeat..

11. I agree with Trevor Prescod that plantation owners “must take responsibility for protecting the produce on their plantations.”

Businesses owned by the descendants of former plantation owners have been capitalizing on state funds for years.

PLANTATIONS OWNERS want state funded security, i.e. police officers and soldiers, to provide protection for their produce.
    They want the state to compensate them, whenever they lose crops as a result of drought or excess rain.

HOTELIERS in Barbados, many of whom are local and foreign white people, want to be ‘bailed out,’ compensated or provided with loans funded by the Treasury, whenever hotel occupancy levels decrease as a result of recessions, natural or man made disasters.
    In April 2020, for example, ‘government’ established a $200M Barbados Tourism Fund Facility, “which was designed to provide urgent working capital, investment loans, and where possible blended finance for the upgrade of Barbadian hotels and tourism businesses,” under the condition hoteliers “hold on to as much staff and jobs as possible.”
    Yet, we often read in the press one hotel or the other, having not received suitable applicants for a particular vacancy, whether it is an ‘executive’ general manager, food and beverage manager, maître d’, chef, sous chef, pastry chef, housekeeper or any position bearing the title ‘executive,’….. they intend to apply for a work permit to employ a non-national.
    Although Sandy Lane is the most noticeable, it is not the only hotel engaging in this practice.
    And, recently, we’ve heard that some hotel owners took advantage of accessing funds, but have refused to repay.
    ‘Government’ must establish policies that would result in filling hotel rooms, while the owners are allowed to overlook Barbadians for jobs, marginalize beach vendors and systematically privatise the beaches.

White owned businesses, such as BS&T, M.E.R. Bourne, Collins, Simpson Motors, SOL Oil Company, have been sold to either Trinidadian or international business interests, while those remaining have employed expatriate CEOs.

Construction companies are given the bulk of government projects, while they subcontract ‘small contractors,’ that are usually businesses owned by their relatives and friends.
    Then, similarly to Black Bess Quarry and Construction Ltd., file for bankruptcy…… leaving employees wondering about their severance payments.

Other than a ‘little hand out here and there,’ those companies do not make any significant contributions to urban or rural community development.
    Or sports, similarly to how they would invest in horse racing, polo, water polo, motor sports and the Yacht Club.
    Athletics, cricket, football, basketball and netball are sports suffering in Barbados.

12. Yes Prescod showed us his true colours for sure. So we must allow stealing by the less fortunate as long as its for personal consumption then Pressy? Maybe Pressy we should make legal the first 10 lbs of stolen potatoes as personal use then? Plus you can’t eat dry food so let’s legalise stealing of a 6 pack of beer and 1 pint and half of rum while we at it for personal use Pressy what you think? Plus a poor person got to dress so let we legalise the tiefing of 1 shirt and I pants too while we at it Pressy.

Look if you can’t find nothing intelligent to say hush u tail do!

13. William Skinner Avatar

@ WARU
    One of the strategies held by progressive s going back to the late 60s and 70s, was that since the country was not taking black nationalist politics seriously, it would have been better to try and effect change from within the two major parties. That failed and from all indications , it would have failed in the NDP as well.
    Those who come here believing they can actually be taken seriously know nothing about others who have strenuously tried to change this society for the benefit of the masses.
    That is why, it is still instructive that Comrade Prescod , could still make such a speech as the one quoted.
    As you have correctly stated nothing is expected to change but it is a reminder that there are those who are capable of seeing the big picture.

14. Don’t worry the FBI had done what no man could bo for Trump. They have brought solidarity to his party and given him the perfect launch pad for his next political run.

15. William Skinner Avatar

@ John A
    You need to read what was written carefully. Nobody is promoting the stealing of anybody’s crops.
    Rather than throw such a red herring in what Comrade Prescod has said or my clear response to his presentation, you should have at least read more carefully.
    Kindly point out where any
    thing about stealing crops was promoted by quoting the evidence from within anything that has been written or quoted here by anybody so far.
    Peace

16. @William

What is clearly implied is that the increased fines may affect the poorer person who is simply stealing to feed himself. My point is that if you take that to its obvious conclusion where does one then end up?

I am no farmer but I do know several who have gotten out the business due to Tiefing. Left out the fancy name for it.

17. Also it is not only the plantations that grow food. I go in the market on a Saturday and the people I support are not plantation owners but small land owners who make a living from their plots. Are they too not deserving of protection from the thieves?

18. My father and I advocate free food for the mind and body,
    There are many rooms in my Father’s house. I would not tell you this if it were not true. I am going there to prepare a place for you.
    So put that in your pipe and smoke it AC Angela Cox Mariposa DLP Bitch

Genesis 1:29 Then God said, “Behold, I have given you every seed …

I have given you every seed-bearing plant that grows throughout the earth, along with every tree that grows seed-bearing fruit. They will produce your food. What a crazy 80 bar tsunami
    Sorry Not Sorry Big $ilky

19. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“was that since the country was not taking black nationalist politics seriously, it would have been better to try and effect change from within the two major parties. That failed and from all indications , it would have failed in the NDP as well.”

impossible…ONE OF TWO WORDS I RARELY USE….. within a neocolonialism SETUP…because that is what it is and since those who carry such noble thoughts are not the ORIGINAL ENGINEERS…they cannot remove what they did not create..

..it must BE ABANDONED – Bob Marley

..there is not a colonial government of Afrikan ancestry can make those changes WITHOUT REMOVING THEMSELVES AND ALL AFRIKANS FROM THIS MILLENNIA OLD CRIME SCENE…..again, it is a crime scene…

..and of course, the greedy, corrupt black ones you have would not want to, once there is steal and bribery to be had………even though there may be one or two members in their ranks wishing they could…it just WILL NEVER HAPPEN…another word i rarely use..

William…that’s just the reality…and only the fault of those who continue to perpetrate an evil, criminal system devised by slave masters on Afrikan people..

Afrikan nationalist HAVE TO TAKE A STAND TO REMOVE THEMSELVES or complain for another 20 generations OR MORE…

20. Genesis 1:29 Then God said, “Behold, I have given you every seed …
    I have given you every seed-bearing plant that grows throughout the earth, along with every tree that grows seed-bearing fruit. They will produce your food. What a crazy 80 bar tsunami
    My father and I advocate free food for the mind and body.
    There are many rooms in my Father’s house. I would not tell you this if it were not true. I am going there to prepare a place for you.

Sorry Not Sorry Big $ilky

21. @John A

We need people like Prescod who is steeped in an abundance of socialist ideology even if impractical to implement. It helps to balance the scale to what is practical and pragmatic.

22. Oh one final thing.

I would like a clause added to the new law for crop thieves as well based on the below if you really want to help farmers.

50 PERCENT OF ALL FINES COLLECTED MUST TO PAID TO THE AGGRIEVED FARMER PROVIDING THE SUM DOES NOT EXCEED THE VALUE OF THE GOODS STOLEN.

Yes I am serious when produce that is stolen is confiscated it becomes evidence hence making it unsaleable by the farmer. If we are to keep the farmer in business then the state can not expect to keep the full fine. By reimbursing the farmer as outlined he can at least have some money to again buy seed, fertiliser and pay for water all over again.

23. @John A

You are correct that a significant amount of agriculture produce is being produced by black farmers.

24. @ David

Well we are all entitled to our opinion but a law is only a law when it applies to all.

What we should stop and think about is all of those small farmers who can also be seen as poor, who still try to bring produce to market even when half of their field is stolen the night before.

25. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David, no worries there … the discussion devolved to the blogger’s animus and distaste for truth so there ican be no rational movement of fact and counter-fact reasonableness.

But don’t get blinkered … all these topics are linked! … US politics is not as abstract or removed from food concerns and even local praedial larceny as may appear.😇

And on that point, I am unimpressed with MP Prescod’s blather … what about all the small farmers who ‘slave’ to grow their crops and are then attacked by these vagabonds!

We are past the point that coddling bad behaviour under the guise that the perpetrators are ‘down trodden poor Black men’ is socially or legitimately acceptable.

Many of those so called downntroden and poor have chosen that path by NOT taking advantage of their many opportunities or making poor life choices … there is a small percentage who are desperately poor from other circumstances and they can be assisted by welfare programs. They should be no mealy mouth parliamentarian palaver as heard from Prescod validating Black men robbing other Black men even as they are stealing also from Massa!

26. @Dee Word

The blogmaster has not problem a tangential point being made, it is when it goes on and on for rsl years and to use your words, devolves to short pants behaviour. Let us be mature to match our earth years.

27. Two things.
    (1) a small point. Plantations used to have watchmen. Is this a thing of the past.

(2) Not a lawyer, but I know a bad law or one that can be easily twisted to suit some other purpose.
    Is this the vehicular equivalent of stop and search?
    How much is ‘a commercial quantity’?
    Is the whole island now a suspect?

“Also, a police officer may, without a warrant, stop a vehicle and, upon informing the person in charge of the vehicle, search it or search any parcel or package of any kind found in the vehicle. Where the officer discovers commercial quantities of agricultural products inside, he or she may request the person in charge of the vehicle to produce a receipt, delivery note or bill of lading, or give other proof of ownership or of lawful possession. The legislation provides for the arrest of the driver who fails to satisfy the respective legal requirements.”

28. John A,

Too far east will always be west.

If a man steals a loaf of bread or a stick of cassava from pure hunger, the magistrate should have some discretion in sentencing. This is all that a justice system can do for a thief. Any other help would have to come through some other entity.

I remember reading that the Jews had to leave some of their crops by the wayside for hungry travellers. I don’t know how true, causin’ I read dat in de Bible.

But these people loading up trucks with people’s produce and moving, no law can be made to protect them, no matter how hungry they are.

If we want to blow off the plantation owners, we would have to do a Mugabe. Other than that, we cannot ignore their reports of crop theft. Of course, we don’t have to try too hard to apprehend the perpetrators. lol

There is a better way to empower our black Barbadians to feed themselves. And that is where our focus should be.

Artax,

And the excuse is that they employ people, or in the case of the hoteliers, they bring in foreign exchange. These unscrupulous people use that to ignore even their water bills.

P.S. You forgot the Abed’s uniform purchase. Only good thing is that the schools could then sell the uniforms at cost. I hope that de guvment purchased them at cost.

29. Some of you have an unrealistic view of how things have progressed in Barbados. What can a watchman, usually a pensioner, do to challenge thieves sometimes armed with guns and other weapons?

30. @ Theo

A law is not just a law as it appears.

Ask yourself this how many farmers or sellers in the market give receipts now? Yep none.

When this law passes you will be able to request a receipt and hence start a paper trail that will eventually end up at BRA for all those with undisclosed income. LOL

31. TheO,

I think you are over-reacting here. Something has to be done to keep the proceeds of labour with those who have laboured. They say they have consulted with the stakeholders to craft this legislation. I will await an outcry from them to the contrary. Until then I will ASSUME that vendors were in the mix.

For the rest of us, like those who dig their own potatoes at the plantations, all we need is a damn receipt.

A minor inconvenience to secure our agricultural viability.

Something has to give.

32. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

And to further the point about : “Also, a police officer may, without a warrant, stop a vehicle and, upon informing the person in charge of the vehicle, search it or search any parcel or package of any kind found in the vehicle. Where the officer discovers commercial quantities of agricultural products inside, he or she may request the person…” … Whooo!

Maybe this warrantless stop and search was always on our books but I was unaware until now.

That is a law ostensibly linked to agricultural theft but it’s rather (deliberate mis-wording) gives the police a very wide latitude to cause mischief.

Talking about too far East … that’s going to another damn galaxy at warp speed!

What’s really afoot here!

33. Once again, you rush in to rubbish and missed the main point.

No doubt, plantation owners used to pay the watchmen.
    So too can they pay, watchmen/guards/security guards.
    I am certain that they can obtain approval to have armed guards.

Will the marijuana estates be waiting on police/soldiers to secure their premises?

Have banks evolved to having arm guards?

Don’t make it rocket science. It isn’t.

34. Oh shirt! De ole watchman! USELESS in today’s environment!

Yuh sure yuh mean tuh say “PROGRESSED”?

35. I thought Bajans were the biggest drama queens but Americans are even bigger

“In New York City tonight. Seeing racist NYS Attorney General tomorrow, for a continuation of the greatest Witch Hunt in US history!”
    Witch Hunt

“I once asked, “If you’re innocent, why are you taking the Fifth Amendment?” Now I know the answer to that question. When your family, your company, and all the people in your orbit have become the targets of an unfounded, politically motivated Witch Hunt supported by lawyers, prosecutors, and the Fake News Media, you have no choice. If there was any question in my mind, the raid of my home, Mar-a-Lago, on Monday by the FBI, just two days prior to this deposition, wiped out any uncertainty. I have absolutely no choice because the current Administration and many prosecutors in this Country have lost all moral and ethical bounds of decency.

Accordingly, under the advice of my counsel and for all of the above reasons, I declined to answer the questions under the rights and privileges afforded to every citizen under the United States Constitution.”

36. Listen wunna alright MIA got to get these laws on the books before the marijuana growing start! Plus you could bet them growers going got serious private security on the job too!
    So when the tiefing turn from lettuce to weed the laws got to be ready!!

37. @Donna
    “They say they have consulted with the stakeholders to craft this legislation.”

I have no doubt this is true.
    My concern is (1) a man on the way home in the early morning getting stopped and searched on the pretext of some vague law and
    (2) [being trivial here]
    a police stopping his horner man early in the morning.

Get input from all. We had examples of where the current administration had to amend rushed legislation.

38. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Those who are enlightened and not slave minded should see right about now where they need to GET THE HELL AWAY FROM Slave Society Babylon……by any means necessary…there are NO OPTIONS HERE…

39. @John A 11:20

You may have said this in jest, but it isa good explanation for what may be rushed legislation.

Let the mystery medical marijuana magnates pay for protecting their fields.

40. Plantations had watchmen from the days of slavery as an examination of any slave return from 1817 onwards would show.

Praedial larceny, or any larceny has always been a fact of life in Barbados.

There is a simple reason, very little cash circulated and people had to eat.

One friend asked some years ago “dey got someting a Bajan won’t steal?”

The problem today is that the praedial larcenists are heavily armed!!

The marijuana farmers have no problem, you come in their territory to steal you are shot!!

All hell would break loose if plantation owners pulled that stunt.

41. Theo is quite right. Stop and search of vehicles should be limited to cases where probable cause is evident.

Too much power in the hands….

On the issue of farmers protecting their own lands. I do agree. But allow them to have the needed weapons.

Barbados has sea all around and sharks off the North.

No need for lotta long talk.

The man stealing a lil bit for his family is easily distinguished from the fellow loading a whole van (like dat lawyer some years back) tiefing to sell.

Murdah in de Rumshop….hahaha.

42. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

“All hell would break loose if plantation owners pulled that stunt.”

One would think … should be added.

When the teenager was shot and killed for breaking a few stalks of cane not enough hell was let loose on dat plantation owner/operator as far I know!

He suffered not one day on indictment or confinement.

But yea things have changed since those 50 some years ago!

43. “All hell would break loose if plantation owners pulled that stunt.”

You have added a next dimension here and you (are) may be correct. However, I suspect your arrived at your conclusion based on race.

You will state it sooner or later.

Also, why do you give the MMMM a pass as the same issue would exist. Is it because of how we look at marijuana

44. I advocate free weed the way Jah planned it

Don’t listen to the inferior reasoning of smart ass squares who don’t know the herb

In the good old days weed freely grew everywhere and Black Man Indian Man Syrian Man White Man smoked it.
    When Moses inhaled the burning bush he heard a voice speak the voice from the bush (who later self-discloses as Yahweh) reveals that he is “the God of Abraham, the God of Isaac, and the God of Jacob.”

Ganja Crop

45. I disagree with Comrade Prescod.

The Welfare department and NI office should have food vouchers, only redeemable on the basket of essential items.

That way, everyone gets to eat properly.

The onliest problem is that food vouchers might find their way to some who have no need for them.

The reason I mention NI. They can check against earnings to ensure those asking actually qualify for assistance.

This is the right thing to do and avoids a farmer having to ask a thief if he is just a family man or a big tief.

Saves time and bullets.

46. Everyone wants to go to heaven but …

47. This is a non point.

48. @ David

Although it maybe true “that a significant amount of agriculture produce is being produced by black farmers,” to be FAIR, it is important to note Trevor Prescod spoke about “PRIVATELY-OWNED PLANTATIONS.’
    And, that was the BASIS of my comments.

How many “black farmers” OWN plantations in Barbados?

As it relates to Mr. Prescod’s controversial comment, he essentially said any effort “to root out crop theft,” may result in the criminalisation of poverty stricken Barbadians who are “simply trying to put food on the table in these tough times.”
    Can’t agree with that type of thinking.
    We have to be careful about ‘setting certain precedents,’ whereby a Court ruling on a matter in favour of an accused committing an offence under circumstances similar to those outlined by Mr. Prescod, could be used as basis for acquittal, for example, by someone charged for stealing food from a village shop, or from Monica’s wayside food canteen…… because he/she “is simply trying to put food on the table in these tough times.”

Reminds me of the usual ‘go to’ argument about the guy who jailed for stealing a ‘salt bread,’…… the purveyors of which purposely ignored the fact that, by breaking and entering the victim’s house and stealing her property, he breached a bond previously imposed by the Court and suffered the accompanying consequences thereafter.

However, what about Mr. Prescod’s recommendations relative to major land reform and subdivision of land so as to facilitate more Barbadians to become involved in agriculture?

Worth discussing as well.

49. Thanks Donna.

50. @Artax

There is too much emotion here and we understand why. Most countries including developed subsidize and protect strategic sectors. Nothing new here. There is an important link to the strategic development of the country to ensure sustainability.

Leave a Reply to ArtaxCancel reply