Submitted by Steven Kaszab

Wheat prices have tumbled from its peak when Russia had invaded the Ukraine, but one of the worlds most consumed items remains in short supply and that the global hunger crisis still remains. Much like oil, steel and beef, wheat shifts its price and availability in response to many complex factors such as geopolitics and the weather. Declining prices of wheat creates a challenge to our economies, one where low prices of wheat may not incentivise farmers to plant more wheat, thereby creating more scarcity of this product and its many off take products. A lower price for wheat does not deal with the ever increasing cost of energy, which affects the cost of running farm equipment, transportation and even the manufacturing  of needed fertilisers.  Hot, dry weather is also crimping the farmers style of crop growth. Our global economy is facing a potential situation where food prices could spiral out of control. 

Russia and the Ukraine account for 1/4 of global wheat exports. That is what war has affected. A man made crisis that may go into the long term. Adding global drought episodes and we are facing a combination of scarcity, corporate profiteering and ultimately food price gouging like not seen before. Wheat prices are at a level seen before the year began.  @ $7.75 per bushel jumped to over $13.00 right after Russia invaded Ukraine. The price stayed in double digit’s through this June and then began to fall to a $8.00 a bushel level. Winter Wheat stocks also brought the price down and a deal between Russia, Ukraine and the United Nations has allowed some wheat to ship to international markets. 

The cost of wheat and many other foods have been affected by the war between Russia and Ukraine, but the real factors that will affect the price of bread, cereal and other items will be climate change, the price of fuel and fertiliser.  Climate change is making crop growth highly unpredictable. Lack of rain, drought level micro climates and over harvesting of single crop items are limiting what can be grown and harvested each year. In Canada temperatures soared to record highs, making three fourths of the country’s 2021 agricultural land  abnormally dry. Canada’s wheat crop dropped to nearly 40% from 2020 to 2021, causing its exports to Latin America to decline by over three million tons.  Also, in 2020 wheat was about 30% cheaper then it is now. 

Because Russian fertiliser is so important to the global farm trade, it avoided international sanctions. Although high prices hurt countries that import wheat, low prices might dissuade farmers from planting extra crops this year. Over the past decade the number of farms closing production has increased. Family farms are becoming less and less, while corporate farms of thousands of acres specialise in the most profitable of crops, often no those crops that feed the nation. 

Like the stock exchange, food prices are on the move up and down, making money for some, and costing money for others. Whether the costs are artificially kept high, or there really is no controlling our food stuffs costs, the end consumer is in for a roller coaster ride, and their pocket books need to look out.

183 responses to “A ‘Glocal’ Food Crisis”

1. TheOGazertsAugust 10, 2022 11:50 AM

“All hell would break loose if plantation owners pulled that stunt.”

You have added a next dimension here and you (are) may be correct. However, I suspect your arrived at your conclusion based on race.

You will state it sooner or later.

Also, why do you give the MMMM a pass as the same issue would exist. Is it because of how we look at marijuana

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Race does not enter it!!!

You are out of touch with land ownership in Barbados.

Barbados Farms owns most of the St. George Valley which in turn is owned by Sagicor.

St. John is mostly owned by CLICO.

St. Peter and St. James are more or less out of agriculture.

Much of St. Andrew is owned by the GOB.

2. CLICO is no more.

3. William SkinnerAugust 10, 2022 6:02 PM

Anybody with a knowledge of the development of agriculture in Bim will know how vibrant and productive the Ministry of Agriculture used to be .

What you will find is that most plantations were privately owned and operated and relied on skillful crop rotation to maintain soil productivity and enhance revenues.

I remember Colin Hudson had a graph of the falling sugar output vs involvement by GOB!!

A big problem farmers face is having cleared and cultivated land is keeping it clean.

Herbicides work but have undesired effects.

But how was it done when there were no herbicides?

Crop rotation.

Sugar Cane was grown on 80% of the land and the other 20% left fallow or used to generate cash crops.

Sugar Cane provided weed control.

Once you got reaped the first crop, the trash kept down most of the weeds.

Inter cropping was also used.

When you give a man an acre to farm there is no way he can control weeds in a wet season without help.

We really need to be back in sugar cane.

4. You could plant force backs in June and also root crops among the canes.

Start with yams in May.

In 3 months, potatoes would be ready, 6 months cassava and 9 months yam.

Obviously mechanical harvesting would be out of the question so there would be a need for labour.

We have plenty of people who turn up to pick cotton when it is ready.

Why not turn up to dig potatoes and yams, and pull cassava, plus get a little exercise?

The only sector which can provide employment growth is the agricultural sector.

Construction is a dead end activity and retail and tourism are probably maxed out.

5. JOHN
    COLIN HUDSON WAS A GIANT
    HE NEW EVERYTHING ABOUT EVERY PLANTATION AND WHO PRODUCED WHAT AND WHENCE IT WENT
    IT WAS A JOY TO LISTEN TO HIM TALK ABOUT THESE MATTERS

6. DavidAugust 10, 2022 8:29 PM

CLICO is no more.

Really!!

7. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Yep…they are sketchy and people are wary of them, how could billion dollar bank accounts get separated from genuine account holders and all manner of documents disappear from secure vaults depriving estate owners of their properties and NO ONE CAN TRACE the disappeared bank accounts or the conveyances/deeds etc…….they just poof into thin air…..people must find alternatives…

“A recent photo in French daily Liberation hints at the Canadian Imperial Bank of Commerce’s role in facilitating tax avoidance, which is partly an outgrowth of Canadian banking prowess in the Caribbean and Ottawa’s role in shaping the region’s unsavoury financial sector.”

8. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“Obviously mechanical harvesting would be out of the question so there would be a need for labour.”

exactly…that’s why they need to put you LAZY ASS MINORITIES TO WORK THE SUGAR PLANTATIONS…..get some indentured servant memories back about what real work is all about , scamming and living off AFRIKAN LIVES for the last 100 years is not work…it’s thievery and scummy fraud…

9. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

TLSN….even worse, how could the KNOWN CROOKED LAWYERS on the island shift people’s bank accounts to places like Bermuda and Bahamas and across the diaspora without inside help in facilitating such MASSIVE THEFTS….

10. John is probably correct about tourism and retail being almost maxed out. Construction still has a little room, I think.

He is also correct about agriculture.

Properly managed agriculture. We need to get over the hang ups and get moving.

Kammie,

Don’t be too hard on the youngsters. As the ole Bajan would say, “Dum en accustom!” It takes a while to get used to agricultural labour.

First hurdle, they would have to get up real early so that most of the work could be done before the real hot sun hit. Nothing wrong with a “siesta”. Spanish people have the right idea. They were also smart with their sombreros.

Like the Spanish folk, they could do a bit more after 4.00p.m., like I do. I find many pests on my plants at that time and deal with them then.

You are indeed correct that they need to eat better in order to have stamina enough to work. These young people don’t eat right. If I left it to my son, he wouldn’t cook a veg or make a salad. I buy him Ensure to fill in when I don’t feel like cooking and he cooks instead.

A hint, lil marijuana does not stop you from working. It does not stop RASTA. It is the timing of its use that is critical.

The fellas also would need to keep hydrated.

Cuhdear, Kammie! You have to be patient with the youngsters and bring them along!

Handling youngsters is a skill. It is also rewarding.

11. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Afrikan youths do not need to work on BARBADOS’ SLAVE PLANTATIONS….there is so many other ways to create livelihoods than slaving away on Barbados crooked ass minorities land….let them work the land themselves….

all Afrikan descents are ENTITLED to have a piece of land to work for their survival….JUST LIKE IN SURINAME…each citizen gets a small piece to call their own, to supplement income and food security……they did that DECADES AGO…what’s holding them back is when corrupt politicians…suck all the money out of the economy with their bribery and create hardships like is happening there and all across the Caribbean…

12. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

*there are so many other ways to create livelihoods

13. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

It’s amazing that in the 21st CENTURY…..pushing Afrikan youths and others into generational low paying plantation slavery, where they cannot even get a pension because of greedy plantation owners…. is the only thing black people know and have as a suggestion for our generations when THERE ARE SO MANY OTHER ALTERNATIVES OUT THERE…

people are creating all types of opportunities for themselves and others…..no reason to be a plantation slave in this day and era while claiming “educated” status…

everyone should be ASPIRING to be self-sufficient, self-employed, INDEPENDENT and not wait for any wannabe slave masters in the minority crimunity or judas governments to turn you into a pauperized, generational slave to line their pockets……

14. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Many people have read this across the globe…can’t remember if i posted it here….but am sure the ones suggesting slave labor for Afrikan people would never want same for their children or future generations…..why black faces are SO DETERMINED to reenslave our youths and Afrikan people is not really a mystery but they do need a very rude awakening..

Editorial
    By Yolande Grant
    Enslavement, Addiction, Sickness & Death by Sugar Plantation
    The unbelievable madness and unabashed inhumanity people at the management level flaunt is a continuum of ruination for melanated people. In this age, and circumstances there is a recent plea for descents to make themselves available for sugar plantation work at world famous slave outlets built for the purpose of Afrikan human life reduction, that are centuries old and controversial was shown, in all its gruesomeness. The life expectancies of the kidnapped, involuntarily forced to work in killing fields were a mere 18 years old in times of enslavement. The deplorable structures still stand as testimony and horrific silent reminder of what our ancestors braved.

One would not believe any of it when hearing so called experts expounding on the “glorious past” of our ancestor’s misery and torture in feel good articles of dismay. Despite our rotating out of the 16th and 18th points in history so long ago into modern times, the idea that this cruelty is thought of as reformed and determinedly reintroduced again in 2022 to enrich private investors who fancy themselves slave masters, given the track records of those who infest the island, is a bitter pill to swallow: where it appears some have not moved on and now enticing our people to revert to humiliation instead of switching up the people dynamic if they see people as slaves in the 21st century: why revert to those who are descended from the enslaved, while there are others available within minority groups who are also quite capable of performing the same tasks of growing sugarcane and working acreage to plant food.

The lack of care and disregard attached angered those who know instinctively this does not bode well for another generation of Afrikans seen as only fit for lifelong servitude and inflating the bank accounts of lazy and greedy nonblacks . There is insult and ancestral injury associated with using the tax money of descendants of the enslaved to subsidize and boast about a slavery sugar industry over the last 50 years. The backward thinking prompted a response and reasonable suggestion from the Vice Chancellor of the University of the West Indies in April: advising the government to instead use the available plantation lands for agriculture forthwith as a national emergency. There were at least 1,000 such estates in existence over a 400-year timeline that has since halved, so the nonavailability of land is not the issue. A process of food security which everyone, except the elected, knows once adopted is instrumental in staving off approaching crisis’s that already placed the people of many countries on the road to poverty, starvation and under extreme economic stress, due to external shocks, and that is just the beginning. This demeaning plot and callous behavior does not begin to describe how ignoring the fact: food production and distribution are much more important and healthier than cultivating and harvesting sugarcane for addictive consumption.

Evidence is available outlining the sugar fixation introduced to the population over multiple epochs that has medically devastated Black families. The end result is reportedly half the senior citizens 60 years and older grapple with high incidences of hypertension, diabetes, and additional myriad non-communicable lifestyle diseases (NCDs). With the ages for diabetics and hypertensives dropping lower, impacting younger people when passed on generationally as a legacy and unnecessarily burdening the healthcare system. In June of 2022, a well-known pediatrician on the island asked for legislative action to control “the escalating childhood obesity epidemic affecting the island” and further asserted that as reported 31 per cent of the children in Barbados are considered overweight and obese, and 8 in 10 deaths related to this disease signifies, while stressing that “NCDs are killing us early.” Therefore, ending unhealthy practices is of great imperative. The island has the unenviable acclaim as the largest group with ailments found anywhere, often referred to as the number one “amputation capital” due to its astronomical percentages, out of all the others found around the earth: and mentioned by the Vice Chancellor as the “sickest people in the world.”

With no innovative leadership in place, descendants remain at a distinct disadvantage and must exercise vigilance for those who carry oppressive tendencies and the dishonesty of their willing helpers who have no scruples, ethics, or loyalty to our ancestry. The injustice cannot continue or revive through stealth and sleight of hand, and if this latest episode from the visionless is miraculously retracted, because of the outrage and backlash that is likely to occur, the damage is already done. The shiftless investors, with fantasies of grandeur of Afrikans as their underlings feeding, enriching them with free labor, for little pay, and no accrued benefits; while they busily weaponize false promises for another hundred years to achieve an inheritance for their equally feckless descents, are due for a well-deserved and pronounced rude awakening with worldwide exposure.
    Concretized in place, are many instances of alleged employer discrimination and unfair practices in every sector that carries its own endowment: but treacherously including the contemptuous discourtesy of resuscitating the sugar industry as a back-breaking, low paying profession for Afrikan people only, and attempting to advertise it as a miracle to save the economy, is a crime worthy of prison time and attributed to the subterranean level thought processes oozing out of wild beasts. More horrifying to imagine, that aged workers from plantations are allegedly denied pensions, although armed with a court judgement in hand for interim payments and ignored for many years by civil servants responsible for paying salaries and social security. The majority group, for their security, health, and financial wellbeing of families, should at all times avoid, at all costs, slave plantations aligned with the manufacturing of sugar.

15. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

And as far as am concerned and ESPECIALLY SINCE THEY REFUSE TO LEGALIZE THE MEDICAL MARIJUANA and made a mess of it with their arrogance……..but boasting about how they sold 9 licenses split between to 2 marijuana cultivators for 1.5 million dollars.

..Afrikan youths and the general population….SHOULD NOT WORK ON ANY MARIJUANA SLAVE PLANTATIONS EITHER…no one should…there are much better alternatives available, ya only need a WORKING BRAIN to figure it out…

16. Africa ….so your saying you dont have an answer lol

17. This morning in my home town I went to breakfast with two friends , two eggs bacon home fries toast and peanut butter marmalade or jam for 3 ….two medium coffees one large tea…..clean airconditioned place cost me $ 23.10. for everything. either its govt tax or greed but somebody is making money on the island

18. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“Africa ….so your saying you dont have an answer lol”

I actually have answers but will NOT give them any, remember they are the SCHOOLED, they know evating about evating…..so i don’t understand WHY they keep FAILING…lol

“either its govt tax or greed but somebody is making money on the island”

it’s nothing by GREED and WICKEDNESS…remember people go to the island like yourself and can compare prices….someone close to me is currently in Vancouver….on your Pacific side and can still affort breakfast, lunch and dinner, AND A PLACE TO STAY…and won’t have to dip into savings just to survive a few weeks…

19. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

*but
    *afford

20. Coconut farmer Mahmood Patel is calling for the Scotland District to be used as a hub for growing coconuts.
    He said coconuts needed water, and the Scotland District got a lot more water when compared to the flat area of St George or St Philip.

21. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

The warnings are getting more and more serious….let the game players continue playing their political games…and when they hear that knock, knock, shouldn’t have to ask who is there.

William….despite YEARS AND YEARS of warnings, they cared nothing about food security, only interested in talking about importing and in the very next breath complaining about the 700,000 dollar food import bill….while claiming it’s cheaper to import……..during their usual feat of talking out of both sides of their mouths at the same time…so let’s see how taking out three sides of their mouths work out for them now that there is a new player in place…HIGH ENERGY COSTS…

“Soaring Energy Prices Bring Europe-Wide Food Poverty (report)

Food producers tackling increased production costs are passing on the increases to hard-up consumers, causing a domino effect – which is driving up food poverty across the continent. (Bloomberg).

The Bank of England-cited report claimed that 10% of income will be eaten up by energy costs – that’s as former UK PM Gordon Brown estimates more than 7 million British kids will “be in families that have to forgo material necessities”.

To make matters worse, food factories could be forced to shut down as winter energy rationing looms, Bloomberg warned. “

22. For the record, I made no suggestion that we should return to work for any minority massa on any plantation.

23. @Lawson August 11, 2022 12:19 PM “This morning in my home town I went to breakfast with two friends , two eggs bacon home fries toast and peanut butter marmalade or jam for 3 ….two medium coffees one large tea…..clean airconditioned place cost me $ 23.10. for everything.”

If you had bought those meals in a far north Canadian town would it have cost $23.10

24. right cudhear not in barbados two coffeeand a biscuit costs that how can the regular guy survive.

25. Plea for stronger breed of Black Belly

FOR BARBADOS’ BLACK BELLY SHEEP industry to be profitable, there needs to be a significant increase and strengthening of the animal.
    So says president of the Barbados Sheep Farmers Incorporated, Maurice Grant, who believes a cross-breeding programme is required.
    During a press conference at the Barbados Agricultural Society (BAS) at The Grotto, St Michael, yesterday, Grant suggested an American model could be followed.
    “They cross-bred the Barbadian Black Belly sheep with an American sheep and the end result was a much larger sheep which has horns. I think every farmer should keep Black Belly sheep because there are persons who want it because it is not fatty and they have a taste for it. However, I think the time has come for us to look at effectively creating another animal that is going to make the farm profitable.
    “We need to import a very large animal that we can cross successfully with the Black Belly sheep. We don’t need to start from scratch because we tried it about three times. I am not aware as to what the focus was those times, but they did not yield anything along the lines that would help us with the size of the sheep. However, the Americans crossed it with an American horn sheep and developed an animal that is twice of our sheep. Unless the meat is poor, I see no reason why we shouldn’t look at that,” he said.
    Grant said that according to a survey carried out by the Ministry of Agriculture in 2021, there were about 11 000 Black Belly sheep in Barbados.
    Estimating that the number could be closer to 15 000, he said that was still not enough to build out an industry.
    “We estimated about 15 000 because it is difficult to find every household in the country that may own a few Black Belly sheep. However, that is still far too small a number to say we have
    an industry because you cannot even supply your local market with lamb even on a reproductive basis with that number of sheep.”
    The president said many farmers stopped rearing them because it was not worth it.
    “While we pride ourselves on the quality of the meat, the Black Belly sheep is not a very profitable animal for a farmer. If a Black Belly sheep in good condition is killed, the backs are not broad enough to get lamb chops, and the lamb and rib racks are not meaty so it’s sold as soup meat rather than for a premium price, and if you price the back legs too high, to try and offset it, it probably won’t sell.
    “Therefore, it does not make a great deal of sense to the farmer and that was probably why farmers who had as many as 3 000 got out of the market because they could not make it work.” (TG)

26. Feed plan

Article by
    Barbados Today
    Published on
    August 18, 2022

https://barbadostoday.bb/wp-content/uploads/2022/08/Minister-of-Agriculture-Indar-Weir-conversing-with-Surinames-Minister-of-Agriculture-Parmanand-Sewdien–730×456.jpg

A plan by Barbados and Suriname to strengthen ties in agriculture could see animal feed prices falling here.

Minister of Agriculture Indar Weir made the disclosure on Wednesday following a meeting with his Surinamese counterpart Parmanand Sewdien and his contingent, at Pelican Village, The City.

Weir, who was accompanied by other local agriculture officials, said the countries were in the process of renewing the Brokopondo Programme for Cooperation (2018-2021), under which Barbados would grow some of the inputs – which are currently imported – for making feed.

“That is the whole objective – for us to look at other sources or markets for us to access the inputs for the production of feed so that we can see how we can bring the prices down . . . . Coming out of what we can do with Suriname, we are putting ourselves in a position where we can source the grains for feed and help to reduce the cost of producing feed and the retail price for feed to farmers,” he said.

The updated agreement would create a framework for projects such as a Blackbelly sheep expansion initiative, growing crops such as corn and guinea corn, hosting a joint expo showcasing livestock and produce, the development of laboratories, and providing Barbados with assistance in developing sanitary and phytosanitary legislation in pursuit of its goal to export fish to the European Union.

Weir said some local farmers had expressed interest in operating in Suriname and discussion to finalise the arrangements would take place on Thursday when Prime Minister Mia Mottley and Guyana’s President Irfaan Ali meet in Trinidad and Tobago.

Sewdien said the renewed Brokopondo Programme for Cooperation augured well for the Caribbean Community’s (CARICOM’s) goal of reducing food imports to the region by 25 per cent within three years.

He said that target could only be achieved if there was greater trade and private sector participation among member states.

The Surinamese Minister of Agriculture said each state would reap significant benefits.

As it relates to land, Sewdien said about one million hectares were available for agricultural use and the areas for the programme would be identified.

sheriabrathwaite@barbadostoday.bb

Source: Barbados Today

27. @ David
    We should refer to this government as the ‘Nero Administration’.
    Lotta shiite!!
    They are ‘fiddling while Bridgetown burns’.

Every other week we are hearing of some esoteric plan to work ‘jointly’ with some other misguided country, to solve our problems in agriculture.
    Shiite man!! how did this get to be so hard?

Same way that they could mobilize hundreds of young people to weed the roads – knowing that the weeds will simply grow back after the next rain, why not mobilize the SAME resources to get into PRODUCTIVE businesses, under the guidance of KNOWN experts in the various fields?

Send 500 to work with our BEST farmers for the next six month, with the understanding that each program will be extended for another six months, if it breaks even.

Send 200 to the NCC specifically to clean up, beautify, and maintain Bridgetown. Remove derelict junk, uplift properties at the owners expense where possible, and level fines on those owners that breech building codes.

Assign 400 to the Disciplinary forces as apprentice support staff that can perform basic duties and free regular staff for other needed duties.

But, Instead of creative initiatives, all we get are these shiite schemes that involve traveling overseas and handing out taxpayers money to questionable characters.

Let them keep on fiddling…..
    BBs!!!

28. @Bush Tea

In other words borrow froM Fidel Castro’s handbook? It would fit nicely with the Mottley’s mantra many hands make light work.

29. Is it not just plain common sense David?

EVERYTHING points to a coming food crisis.
    We now know that supply chain disruptions can create havoc with even very basic commodities, and that it would only take a moment of madness to precipitate a massive global supply chain blockage.

What would ANY sensible preemptive response look like?

The Basics are simple:
    Food, energy, water, security.

30. @Bush Tea

It is also a wholesome national strategic imperative every boy, girl, man and woman will be able to identify.

31. @Bush Tea

As you know the buzz thing out of the MBA handbook is about building strategic alliances. Seems this is what is guiding the academic bounded personnel leading us.

32. @ David
    MBA Handbook?
    Manufacturing Brassbowls in Abundance … fuh de damn place.
    Murda!!