Submitted by Stanton Carter – Brand Caribbean Inc

THE NEED FOR CHANGE

A shared article on a well-known social media platform on May 11/2022 respecting Barbados and the Caribbean tourism recovery progress brought back memories of a posting in the March 23 /2020 edition of Barbados Underground under the caption “We need a new game to promote Tourism”. Both articles offered opinionated suggestions on the development of various sectors of the tourism industry but neither one embodied a program for the way forward. Recommendations appeared to be relying on the induced demand strategy for generating visitor arrivals, but this approach might not produce desired results.

In the post pandemic period, digital technology will be the axle tourism officials will utilize to drive and operate tourism industries. Competition between Caribbean states for tourism receipts will be fierce. To survive, tourism dependent destinations will have to create and implement tourism master plans that are innovative and futuristic.

If a change is necessary, a business model should be put in place that (1) will modernize and keep destination programming abreast of industry technology and (2) develop and introduce diverse collaborative marketing campaigns that are consumer and travel trade oriented. Product distribution and tourism revenue generating initiatives should be incorporated in the program as they will be a Force Majeure in the new era tourism.

THE NEW BUSINESS MODEL

One of the non-publicised benefits Covid-19 provided Caribbean destinations dependent on tourism revenue, was the opportunity to review and upgrade their Modus Operandi. The chance to recalibrate and improve destination programming was apparently passed over as tourism authorities appeared to favour a return to pre covid marketing strategies.

The new model would necessitate upgrading and expanding current business strategies to include rebranding, monetizing tourism activities, product distribution, concentrating on community programming, and depending on resources, the establishment of a” National Destination Tour Company” with Internet Booking Engine (IBE) functionality.

BENEFITS OF A NEW MODEL

1 – Reduced dependence on international tour operators, foreign carriers and their tour companies, wholesalers, and hotels reps for generating visitor traffic

2 – Building a better working relationship between Public and Private sectors in marketing and promoting destination

3 – Establishment of national destination tour company branches in overseas markets

4 – Generate tourism revenue and eliminate need for government subsidies

5 – Better management, control, and distribution of tourism product

6 -The building a tourism industry that is not susceptible to industry partners

“High and Low Season” marketing activities

NATIONAL DESTINATION TOUR COMPANY

The incorporation of a national tour company with a booking engine in a destination’s tourism authority infrastructure will not only level the playing field but lessen third-party involvement. It will reduce marketing and promotional expenditures, open new avenues for generating revenues, create employment opportunities, provide effective industry management, and year-round competitive programming. Moreover, it will generate visitor arrivals.

The internet booking engine concept is also not new. It is an updated, upgraded digitalized version of the reservation/sales function which appointed travel product wholesalers in overseas markets performed for Caribbean destinations in the 1960-1970’s prior to the evolution of tour companies. The booking engine would enable direct destination bookings and revenue earned remains in country.

There is also the precedent of the successful and productive use of the above-type business model in support of a popular Caribbean Island for approximately 30 years. Some tangible destination project benefits include (a) a dedicated airline service, (b) premium marketing campaigns, (c) an out of country licensed sales facility, (d) affordable tourism/hospitality holiday packages, and (e) excellent working relationships with international airlines, travel trade professionals and tour operators. Estimated arrivals at this destination in 2022, approximately 2.5 million visitors.

If Caribbean destinations are seeking solutions for a robust recovery of their tourism industries, an adaptation of this model could be the resolve.

DIVERSE COLLABORATIVE PROGRAMMING

Most Caribbean destinations experienced major tourism revenue losses due to Covid-19. To attempt to rebuild tourism industries in the post pandemic era, programmers will have to create and offer value laden affordable holiday packages “chock-a-block with authentic enjoyable experiences” that are superior to other programs in the marketplace.

To enlighten persons not familiar with tourism programming, the following is a draft blueprint of a diverse collaborative master plan that could be utilized by any Caribbean destination.

A SWEET FUH SO HOLIDAY PACKAGE

1 – Tourism and Hotel Association officials should convene a meeting to discuss the creation of a Public – Private Sector Collaborative “Sweet Fuh So Holiday Program.”

2- Meeting participants should include Tourism and Hotel Association executives, local and international airlines, their tour companies, overseas and local tour operators, wholesalers, travel professionals and destination stakeholders. The probability of including cruise lines should be considered.

3-The appointment of a Special Marketing Task Force Committee to work on the rebuilding project.

4-The Holiday Package components, to mention a few, should include – Visitor Arrival Receptions, Airfares, Accommodation, Culinary & Gastronomy Outings, Entertainment, Water Sports, Exceptional Events, and other memorable Experiences, that would make the destination the paramount location for exciting year-round “Sweet Fuh So Holidays”.

5-Packkage amenities should be chosen by the Special Task Force Committee.

6-Destination Stakeholders should be a combination of Tourism and Hotel Association officials, hotels, tour companies, entertainers, restaurants, taxi drivers, water sports operators, artists, immigration, customs, and police departments.

7-Marketing strategies should utilize social media and traditional platforms

to target market Cultural, Foodies, Weddings and Honeymooners, Diaspora, Snowbirds, Millennials, LGBTQ2+, etc.

8-A Public Relations campaign should be launched to notify consumers the destination is open for business.

9-Training seminars should be conducted by destination’s overseas offices in respective markets to educate travel professionals in small groups of 25-30 on the new program.

10-Planned destination educational visitations for travel agents, overseas journalists, travel writers and travel press should be an integral part of the program.

11-The Holiday package should be available for immediate implementation in the event the pandemic comes to a quick end.

Not all the components of the tourism master plan are listed in this draft document. One such item involves “Incentives”. If incorporated in the program, a three-year platinum incentive promotional campaign could be developed that would enhance the destination’s brand globally.

As most Caribbean islands are airline dependent destinations, they will require air connectivity from carriers, preferably those who own and operate tour companies, to kick start their tourism industries. These partnerships could generate a variety of visitors – package holiday’s vacationers, F.I.T travellers, M.I.C.E, and Sports groups – that would result in better utilization of the destination’s hotel rooms inventory. Negotiating such support services is another feature of the plan.

Project success and results will depend upon a destination’s Private and Public sectors joint efforts to develop effective collaborative programming. Willingness to discard yesterday’s marketing techniques, in favour of utilizing innovative digital solutions, would make the recovery resilient. To facilitate planning and development of strategies for future master plans, Caribbean destinations should consider establishing permanent Private and Public sectors tourism marketing committees. In the digital era, the Caribbean needs to transition to the new technology or continue to experience declines in visitor arrivals.

96 responses to “Tourism Programming in Digital Era”

1. Think too…the high value Bim brand is to be perteckted and wunna giving visas to evabody and evvybody.

Yuh think de high value people ent goibg feel exposed?

Think!

And mekking tingsxeasier fuh tourists, but a Bajan still gotta fill out 865 forms to open a snocone cart and related bank account?

Loss Maisie. Stupse.

2. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“Visa waiver…Honduras…included. Looka chubble.”

notice i have nothing to say about that….too busy bozie…lol..would not waste that energy..

am more concerned about who pick up their tiefing, scamming criminal selves and and open doors for their criminal partners to our ancestral lands to rob it and burn all the bridges for our current and future generations than who floods the little go nowhere slave society with more and more social and financial destruction… that will always remain that way…they can have it as far as am concerned, and am sure they will too…….

since our ancestors built it for free, were never recognized and their descents disenfranchised/robbed and oppressed in thanks, so i could care less about it….

3. I am going to say flat out.

I do not like this move at all.

Waivers should have defined parameters for a country firstly, then specifically for individuals.

As far as I am concerned, Honduras is an exanple of a country that no way could meet any rational parameters for a waiver program.

Do not even have to look at others. That alone tells me of the lack of thought on this matter.

4. Crusoe
    “but a Bajan still gotta fill out 865 forms to open a snocone cart and related bank account?”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Boss, just to deposit the likkle shiite money from welfare in the church Credit Union, we got to walk with birth certificate, telephone bill and nuff forms of ID….
    …but ANY and EVERY damn goon from Timbuktu can walk into the damn brothel and do as dem like.

You think um could be the something from the paint in the Parliament building that got them bewitched…?
    …or are you in agreement with the bushman that the Devil gotta be in their donkeys…?

5. @Crusoe

Recognizing your concerns the text of the communiqué suggests this is a business facilitation move and not related to tourism. Your thoughts?

6. @Bush Tea

You are fully aware more weight is given to foreign exchange creation opportunities.

7. @Bushie,

I agree with you. This one has befuddled and concerned.

@David,

There must be limits to which a country should go to attract business.

Where the business partner appears to have significant concerning factors, methinks caution is the better part of valour.

To coin Bushie’s gist, we appear to be prostrating ourselves for a quick trick.

Unless of course, that is the point of the business facilitation…new sources of ahem…..resources, to enhance the tourism offering.

Ninety day visas does sound about right for that.

But as Bushie says, appropriate measures should be taken to protect against “social ills” …or “ills from socials”, whichever phrase suits.

8. @Crusoe

Some will say some of the biggest criminals are the hegemonists we have been doing business for the last century.

9. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Crusoe…i see your concern….Honduras and others….ha…

“Honduras has a Corruption Perception Index score of 26 out of 100, which is directly reflected in the fear citizens have of reporting crimes. Gang members can be killed for attempting to leave a gang and many businesses are forced to pay “war taxes” for protection.”

just recently there was a whole discussion on this…

can only try to protect the continent for our grands, great grands, great great into many generations….right now trying to make sure fences are mended to create a joining of forces a cohesion……….because apparently some believe that better could and should be done regarding cousins and what happened before….

…so we gotta watch the low-crawling political scam artists from the west LIKE HAWKS…taking up all the time and energy….so the above will definitely slip through, no one wants that baggage or burden..and i definitely don’t want to have to deal with any of it…plate too full…..too exhausted, had to deal with too much already..

10. Finally,

We have enough gun crime. We surely do not need more.

I wonder what the goodly Comm of Police thinls about this one.

11. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

I take it since the colombians got outted., new horizons must now be explored..

….what a life..,,anything, NOT TO DO THE RIGHT THING by Afrikan people……

they are on their own..

12. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

It’s clear the people are now sitting ducks, but they are the ones have to GET UP AND ACT in their and their family’s best interest…or just sit and continue with the talk-a-ton…

first they came for…..then they came for….then they came for…

13. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

I see the argument can be said ya have dealt with certain hegemony groups for 100 years, but those are the satans ya know and genuflect to…….wait on, depend on all this time……..because that is what you and ya judas gang wanted……ya don’t even know ya local satans well or ya will NEVER SUPPORT them and would GET THEM GONE ASAP IF YA DID……

..but these new groups that you KNOW NOTHING AT ALL ABOUT…..we can only wish you the best of luck..

14. Stupseee!

15. David
    NIS Actuarial Review?

16. Barbados Tourism Soup.

Book a hotel room. Get on a plane. Fly to Barbados. Eat, drink,go to the beach, sleep.

Add other available ingriedents.

17. @ David
    Bush Tea…You are fully aware more weight is given to foreign exchange creation opportunities
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Of course.
    Presumably this is why we have extended the “National Business” well beyond Bush Hill.

But how do you plan to address this issue where the pimps are absconding with the greater portion of the ‘takings’?

Boss, you done know that the ‘Johns’ are paying by credit card – DIRECTLY into the overseas accounts of the ‘Pimps’….leaving locals to fight each other over the small change…
    …so exactly what forex are you speaking of?

18. @Bush Tea

Isn’t this the model that is ensconced in our way of doing things?

#emera
    #massy
    #banks
    #??????

19. Isn’t this the model that is ensconced in our way of doing things?
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Absolutely!!!
    So Bushie is waiting on ‘the ultimate optimist’ to explain how so called intelligent people could POSSIBLY be so chupid.
    …unless of course you agree with the brass bowl theory of CURSES.

20. Bushie,

And that point on the location of forex is why the tourism VAT special rate was an insult that should never have been entertained, far less by people who presented at having a modicum of economic understanding.

Effectively they were not putting in a fair share to the pot, for resources that they were using, without bringing anything substantial to the table.

21. Wunna feel local gangs bad.

Should have seen glimpses of what the overseas ones are capable of by now.

Remember the fellow found in a car boot?

Y’all playing with fire.

And ya tink anyone untouchable wid dem?

Stupse, doan mek mock sport.

Dem Hondurans etc goin mek wunna hair grow where hair never grow before.

22. Bushie,

But your main point on the prostration of the family jewels is not lost.

I can only surmise that those culpable only saw self interest, above the greater good.

Them wud sell dem granmurrah.

23. All,

With all of that in mind, nothing precludes a future admin from nationalising resources, sych as energy, in the national interest.

Rationale can be easily drafted, although maybe at that point, ad a matter of national security, much can also be redacted. Some things should not be shared. I am sure you understand.

Wuhloss, bare sport in de RUMSHOP.

24. You are not understanding Crusoe, the visa waiver has to do with promoting business facilitation.

25. Oh, I understand. How do you distinguish good from bad?

Gangsters wear suits too. Criminality in some of those countries is endemic.

The only protection is a robust visa assessment system.

But waive all you like.

26. Open the Gate
    Let them in

Hip Hop Legends, from Strong Island

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4M2SaESmp_U

27. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

these empty schooled vessels don’t ever know what to do, simply because they NEVER WANT TO DO RIGHT BY THE Afrikan population…

“Common Entrance Examination likely in 2023Article by
    Anesta HenryPublished on
    August 10, 2022
    There is likely to be an 11-plus exam again next year, despite Government’s plans to abolish the annual test.”

Crusoe…i did hint that pursuing any discourse where the topic of the corrupt is concerned is a complete waste of time and energy, just protect yourself and family……let the supporters and enablers of their own demise and the corrupt… experience it for themselves…

“Them wud sell dem granmurrah.”

and that’s why some of us are working overtime to protect the continent from this generational criminal trash…

28. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“NIS Actuarial Review?”

really, how many more reviews that go nowhere…was there not one under the mirror image government done by the company owned by the dude who is or was an MP in the Canadian government…

…so wuh happen wid dah one…since then MORE TIEFING, MORE BILLIONS DISAPPEARED….last we heard 6 MILLION MORE DOLLARS on top of all the missing billions UNACCOUNTED FOR…

so who is the actuary conducting another fake review…

29. Africano Massive (Rock Steady Mixx)

30. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

William….they are STILL GOING NOWHERE….

but at least the most vulnerable in the population are now aware…

and will have to act to save themselves from these generational frauds…..so who is the actuary conducting another fake review……and how many more MILLIONS of tax dollars are they being paid for basically DOING NOTHING…

31. ☎️ WAKE UP AND SHAKE UP WILLIAM! HELP ME! LORD HAVE MERCY!
    AFRICANS ARE KILLING AFRICANS LIKE THE BRITISH AND EUROPEANS WHEN THEY MASSACRED AFRICA
    MAD BITCHES

traditional calls made using a landline telephone.

32. 45TH SAID AFRICA IS A SHITHOLE
    BUT THEY HAD THE LAST THE LAST LAUGH
    AS THEY HAVE RARE EARTH RESOURCES
    REQUIRED FOR IT TECHNOLOGY
    The TRUE STORY OF HOUSE MUSIC Preachapella eL.B.ee BAD

33. PUTTING UNWANTED EMOTIONS IN A BOX..
    MAMA MIA SEES THE BIGGER PICTURE LEADING BAJANS TO THEIR FUTURE
    TELEPHONE TROUBLES!

34. I always say our “bad boys” play like children when compared to others.

HONDURAS????????????

Say WHAT???????

When I said we need to help our young entrepreneurs to get to the next level, I was not thinking of the drug dealers and HITMEN!

35. Wuhlaus! I forgot the human traffickers.

The good Hondurans are running from Honduras EVERY DAMN DAY!

HONDURAS IS A MESS! What were the criteria upon which this visa waiver was based??????????

36. Bajans are the timid Africans who need to be woke

Ooh Shit! The Film by eLBee BaD

37. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Miller….looks like ya still gine get ya hyatt erection but under another name in another country……the treasury, NIS, Vat are all now broke, but there is always Guyana……who money dey using doh???…tell me it’s not IMF/IADB/IDB/CDB etc …….the alphabet loans taken in the people’s names…

https://www.stabroeknews.com/2022/08/10/news/guyana/barbados-developer-partnering-with-local-businessmen-for-186-room-embassy-suites/

“Barbados developer, Mark Maloney is partnering with local businessmen for the 186-room Embassy Suites by Hilton which will be constructed on the Liliendaal Railway Embankment, Greater Georgetown.”

38. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

For those who still hold to the belief that the crypto scam is a savior…

about a week or two ago i saw where people were breaking into all those databases and tiefing from bitcoin and evating else that was not nailed down, even the blockchain ledgers were looking iffy..

“Coinbase posts $1.1 BILLION LOSS, revenue drops 60% in Q2”

39. Can our tourism gurus respond to this???
    TLSN must be asleep.

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/travel/travel_news/article-11291765/The-best-value-long-haul-winter-sun-destinations-Britons-Vietnam-thats-cheapest.html
    ” Hoi An in Vietnam that’s number one in the ranking.”

It’s here where their pound will stretch the furthest, followed by Cape Town in South Africa (second), Mombasa in Kenya (third), and Tokyo, Japan (fourth).

“Meanwhile, Bridgetown in Barbados has been deemed the worst-value long-haul winter sun destination for British holidaymakers.”

40. Bajans not commenting but the Brits are

https://barbadostoday.bb/2022/10/19/vacationing-brits-watch-spending-as-currency-hits-new-low/

take a good look at the picture … four young tourists sharing one beer… Things tough.

(As I wrote the last line, I was laughing.)

41. Read this. Nothing new. Lots of cliches..
    Hopefully, Barbados is sourcing ideas from elsewhere.
    https://barbadostoday.bb/2022/10/20/btcolumn-positioning-a-caribbean-tourism-destination/

42. https://barbadostoday.bb/2022/10/21/marshall-predicts-no-immediate-tourism-fallout-from-uk-crisis/
    I thought it was difficult, but it seems as if talking out of both sides of your mouth is the new normal
    From BT
    “The British traveller is not your normal, typical holiday traveller. If you know about British people, they are normally the rank and file, the middle class, they normally invest in their holidays a year, sometimes two years, in advance. So, a number of them would have already made their commitment to travel ever since the post-lockdown period to travel to places like ours in the region,” the SALISES head said.

“There is no real fallout in the immediate circumstance of the coming winter, short of a run on the British pound that would precipitate a cancellation of holidays…. Short of something like that, I expect that everything would run as smoothly as possible.”

The social and economic researcher noted, however, that while arrival numbers might not be down, spending might.

“…. Because with the hit on the British pound, it will take much, much more pounds to convert into local currency or into US currency. You might see an immediate reaction in terms of expenditure,” he said.

Contending that Barbados has been “saddled” with high visitor traffic but low visitor spend for some time, Professor Marshall observed that this has been more acute among cruise passengers than tourists arriving by air.

-x-
    I am becoming afraid of our intellectuals.

43. Please allow me to say a few words on the bitcoin industry, even though I’m aware that it could violate the rule on your website that comments unrelated to an article aren’t allowed.
    I’m quite unhappy with how badly transaction security and safety have been assured by banks and computer security technologies. I have experienced financial losses as a result of my relationships with shady binary option companies.
    I had lost more than $85,650, but thanks to Adrian Lamo, I was glad to be able to get it back. I’m still baffled by how he manages to balance all he does with delivering work on schedule. It was the finest thing I’ve ever done, in my opinion, to get in touch with Adrian via his Gmail account (HACK WITH ADRIAN LAMO (@) Gmail . com), and I have no doubt that he can help someone retrieve their lost monies, whether they were given as cash or cryptocurrency to unauthorized parties (scammers)

44. I’m really happy to see assessments about Adrian Lamo because, if I had to judge by myself, I’d say that he was either underestimated or too private to enjoy the kind of fame he deserved.
    He once assisted me in remotely hacking and spying on my husband’s gadgets, and I’m still unsure how he manages to do it all; it all seems quite bizarre to me. Nevertheless, I’m grateful to have received excellent hacking services from him.

Leave a Reply to African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights ReservedCancel reply