The reaction by Barbadians to two more murders on the weekend evoked a predictable response – the AG should resign, what has gone wrong with our young people blah blah blah. The confirmation from the Barbados Police Service one of the men murdered was out on bail for 3 separate murders and the other well known to the ‘system’ added to the tongue wagging. The defense lawyers will argue a key tenet of jurisprudence is the presumption of innocence.

Two important considerations that are always consumed by predictable narratives at this time are parental delinquency and rehabilitation of incarcerated citizens . From where the blogmaster is perched there are no adequate mechanisms to support the two concerns which are at the root of what is causing young men and an increasing number of girls to fall through the cracks. The result is an unacceptable rate of recidivism. If there is a breakdown in the home and family unit, and the problem is made more acute by a system that pays lip service to rehabilitation of victims then society must take blame. A disproportionate focus on enforcement – which is important – will not move the needle to prevent crime in Barbados. A dysfunctional society will always be the root of the problem.

Barbados Murder Statistics 2017 to 2022

Attorney General Dale Marshall (Image Source: nationnews.com)

The recent surge in gun play in Barbados has been featured prominently in the media over the last few days (see hereherehereherehereherehere and here). 

On July 8, the Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs, The Honourable Dale Marshall, addressed this, and related matters, during a press conference (see here). During the presser, the AG also shared some statistics relating to murders and firearms between 2017 and present day:

“In 2017, of those 30 murders, 16 have been solved so far. In 2018, of the 28 murders, 19 have been solved, that 19 amounts to 68 per cent. In 2019, 27 of the 48 murders reported were solved; that’s 56 per cent. Of the 41 murders committed in 2020, 26 or 63 per cent have been solved [and] in 2021, 23 or 72 per cent of the 32 murders were solved. And for this year, of the 17 murders thus far, 10 have been cleared up and some of those have only happened in the last few weeks,” the Attorney General disclosed. 

Source: Barbados Government Information Service

As a Barbadian citizen and resident, the topic of crime and violence (especially gun related) is of great importance and a worry to me. However, the majority – if not all of my posts – rarely deal with my personal views and opinions. As a data analyst on the other hand, I try to focus on what is being reported (in terms of facts, figures, et cetera), and collecting, compiling and analyzing said data and information. I was therefore excited when the AG shared some statistics which I will now look at below.

Read more @caribbeansignal.com

165 responses to “How Many More Must Die…We Are to Blame”

1. It is about morality and values, has nothing to do with depressed or marginalized communities.

If those two basic tenets are not passed down to children from whoever is responsible for raising them, that’s how gangs arise.

Just so happens that in Black Communities, the family has degraded quicker than in other communities.

So values and morality are not passed on as they are in Asian, White and Hispanic families.

But all families are under pressure from the brainwashing that comes their way..

All you have to do when you look at the faces of the young offenders, regardless of color is to look at the expressions of malice and discontent etched all over those faces.

It is how they have been conditioned to think not by society but by having no role models to follow.

They can’t hide it in their faces.

2. Killers are not all the same. So one size prevention, rehabilitation etc.does not fit all.
    It can be alcohol
    It can be drugs
    It can be money
    It can be mental illness.
    The first killer lived in his community for more than 50 years since his release and never re-offended even in a minor way. The 2nd has been living in the community for nearly 40 years now and has not re-offended either.

P.S. And now I remember a 5th, long since departed since he served several years for the manslaughter of his drinking buddy. But apart from that not a scary person at all. Returned to the community and never re-offended. As gentle as a lamb once not drunk.

3. This one is interesting!!

4. What do alcohol, drugs and money all have in common?

…. you forgot women!!

So what do alcohol, drugs, money and women all have in common?

5. John,

Of course marginalisation does breed despair and crime. Any suggestion otherwise is absurd.

And as for family breakdown, what about crime families, from the New York Italian mob to the ghetto drug activity. Families, some close knit, involved.

Opportunity and hope are two drivers of positive change. Without these, the void will be filled by negativity. No amount of motal guidance can save a community that is void of these.

Hence my remarks above on opening doors to opportunities.

Of course, there is the money aspect, those who will craft a strategy to push drugs on a community, for profit.

Those are scoundrels and of course Bim has its share of those.

Let us hope that the US authorities gets their hands on them.

Thankfully, as long as money clears through a US bank, the US authorities can put a hand on any criminal whereever they are.

I guess that is why so muvh money is parked in Dubai instead.

But even one transaction is enough. One slip.

6. John,

Your question and statement on drugs, alcohol, money and….women, is interesting.

Tell us, what do they have in common?

7. ladies and gentlemen boys and gurrrrllllls
    come and listen to all de BU rum shop psycologists
    bare mirth in de rum shop
    THE BU RUM SHOP BETZPAENICS KNOW EVATING BOUT EVATING

8. Can it all be changed?

Yes. But it requires the political and societal will to do it.

Starting point is the money. And those who control it. With help from international enforcement, work them.

Second, you need opportunity. Training and bases of work.

Thirdly, break up those areas that were heavy depressed, new, smaller communities, away from those places.

Urban renewal in the former heavy depressed areas. Bulldoze and start fresh. Do not build as dense in new or renewed areas.

Five, a sports and creativity drive including a new main facility and community facilities.

Six, mentor, lecture, coach, guide. Message, message, message.

9. WHAT A LOAD
    NONE UH WUNNAH THAT BULL SHITTING HEY AINT HAD NONE OF THEM TINGS
    I SURE THAT MOST UH WUNNAH HAD A PARTICULAR TING THAT WORKED VERY WELL
    NONE OF MY PEERS FROM A CERTAIN PLACE AINT FALL THROUGH NO CRACKS ALL OF THEM HAVE COME OUT OF POVERTY AND DEM BETTER OFF THAN DEM WAS 60 YEARS AGO
    WUNNAH NEED TO GET BACK TO BASICS

10. The Bonnano FAMILY.

The Genovese FAMILY.

The Gambino FAMILY.

Yes, family breakdown is the major cause of crime, right?

11. And all of them were devout churchgoing people.

Bwahahahahaa.

DOMINO!

BARE Sport in de BU Rumshop!

12. David August 4, 2022 7:30 AM #: “You cannot be so naïve to post the above comment.”

After reading the incoherent gibberish, I believe ‘appallingly ignorant semi-literate buffoon’ is much more appropriate than “naïve.”

13. Black Is Black White Is White
    In other Dimensions that ain’t right
    It ain’t like that

If Cash Rules Everything
    Then I’m simply lost

Black Is Black White Is White (Other Dimensions?)

If Cash Rules Everything? (The Lost Mix)

14. CrusoeAugust 5, 2022 1:35 AM

The Bonnano FAMILY.

The Genovese FAMILY.

The Gambino FAMILY.

Yes, family breakdown is the major cause of crime, right?

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

These crime families were successful ONLY because they were families with all the family values that make other strong+ families function for the benefit of members.

Just that the family was directed to crime as others were directed towards business.

Anything good can be used for evil, just how life is.

But success at crime is the result of strong family values.

All of the crime families of which you speak have been taken down, they don’t have much chance of lasting over generations unless they figure out how to get into clean businesses … and then they are no longer crime families!!!!!!!!!!!!!!.

15. CrusoeAugust 5, 2022 1:40 AM

And all of them were devout churchgoing people.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

So if you see all families, including crime families, getting success by becoming “church going” people, then wouldn’t you try the same strategy and see if it work for you?

16. CrusoeAugust 5, 2022 12:38 AM

John,

Your question and statement on drugs, alcohol, money and….women, is interesting.

Tell us, what do they have in common?

If you were afflicted by addiction to drugs, alcohol, money and women and the addiction was leading you into trouble, where would you go to find a solution for all?

How come some crime families were able to get clean?

17. Values and morality are transferred within families, quite possible for the good to be transferred with the evil.

… and as the saying goes, Good triumphs over evil.

But the change comes from within, no society can make it happen.

18. Cuhdear Bajan,

You do know about exceptions and rules, don’t you?

There are numerous comprehensive and in-depth studies by criminologists that overrule the small sample of FOUR upon which you base your position.

STEUPSE!

19. Why is it that on BU some people insist on shooting blank shots
    Blank shots are words meant to demean and insult
    If these shooters don’t understand a comment then simply move on
    Not every word said is meant to incorporate every one level of understanding
    Some people think or belive that they are so smart
    Huh another slow moving ball outside the off stump
    Watch some brilliant batsman tries to take a swipe at hit

20. DonnaAugust 5, 2022 8:00 AM

Cuhdear Bajan,

You do know about exceptions and rules, don’t you?

There are numerous comprehensive and in-depth studies by criminologists that overrule the small sample of FOUR upon which you base your position.

STEUPSE!

Who would you listen to, criminologists in their towers of ivory or a bona fide member of a crime family specialising in killing people?

21. Yesterday rain stop play
    The covers have been removed off the pitch
    The batting lineup remains the same
    The bowler arm is strong and steady
    Looks like it is going to be a glorious day for the bowler

22. Yesterday a young man committed suicide leaving behind three small children
    Another heartbreaking story that pulls and thugs the heartstrings of family members looking for answers as to why
    Mental issues in Barbados are not welcomed in mainstream Barbadian society
    Many families keep a silence as for the want of not being stigmatized
    Only God and the victim knows what issues drove him to take his own life by hanging
    These issues are deep and warrants givt to do indepth research and clinical analysis
    Too many black men are dying by self inflicted wounds or at the hands of vigilante justice

23. Whilst we may scream on action by governemt, we should bear in mind … No government on earth can stop all crime or suicides.

24. John Knox,

Post me something on water and I will watch and listen. Post me your warped, racist views from the mouth of a deliberately chosen Uncle Tom, I watch them not.

As Bajans say, I know what you gives. And I en tekin’ it.

Had to put one of your kind in her place in the supermarket yesterday. My cart was bloking her for about a second and a half and she thought she could intimidate me. Only “white” bitch in the place and she had to get on pissy for something the rest of us smile and apologise and crack jokes over in the supermarket EACH AND EVERY VISIT. Thousands and thousands of black people I have encountered in our supermarkets over decades and probably one a couple hundred white people and SHE is the first person ever to make it an issue.

I had to remind her that we were in Barbados and not up north. Uh rinse the piss outta the ugly, dumpy, mangy-looking, splotchy skin bitch. She is obviously used to the bowing and scraping but she soon stfu when she saw what she had stepped into. No loud noise just a quiet dressing down.

I realise from driving on our roads, and in fact, only an hour prior to that incident we had a demonstration, that your kind consider it an affront to have to wait behind black people.

My friend and I had only just commented on it about one hour before when the spotted frump proved the point.

I see you and I see them. And I wunnuh so cyan tell me one thing about behaviour!

25. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“No government on earth can stop all crime or suicides.”

but they can STOP TIEFING and redirect those billions of dollars toward treating mental health AND POVERTY which they maliciously create consistently as PAID EMPLOYEES of the people whose VOTES THEY BEG…but no, the asholes love to run around pretending to be elite while TIEFING THE RESOURCES of the population they beg, lie to and cajole to vote for them just to make it into the parliament….

26. I see it. I love it

AC at cricket

Yesterday rain stopped play
    But today the game is underway
    The covers have been removed and the batsmen takes their place
    Knwing after a night’s rest that ac is refreshed and at full pace
    The shaky batting lineup remains the same
    J2, Lorenzo, enuff what a shame
    D blogmaster trying his best to hide
    The fact that he has chosen the ‘other’ side
    But the bowler arm is strong and steady
    An this morning the bowler is ready
    With a good line, length and superb accuracy
    Looks like it is going to be a glorious day for ac.
    —————-x——————-
    Have a great day Barbados.
    Poke in jest and do not fight.

27. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“Thirdly, break up those areas that were heavy depressed, new, smaller communities, away from those places.”

can only do that by taking AWAY THE OPPORTUNITIES TO STEAL from the fraudulent pretend elites, the vile unethical immoral tainted politicians……they pauperize these communities so they can run around everywhere pretending to be millionaires….common class thieves..

…once everyone STOPS ADMIRING, SUPPORTING AND MAKING EXCUSES FOR THEM and their evil corruption…expose them DAY AND NIGHT…they will have no choice but to stop using vulnerable neighborhoods to rob resources to promote THEMSELVES..

.100 years is a very long time to oppress and SUPPRESS one cross-section of the population for 4 GENERATIONS……

28. JOHN KNOX
    I AGREE WID YOU MAN
    WhY would you listen to, criminologists in their towers of ivory or a bona fide member of a crime family specialising in killing people?
    BUT LOOK WUH YUH GONE AND DO NOW?
    YUH GONE AND STIR UP MAHY PATIENT LOL MURDER
    WHY YOU HAD TO STIR UP DAT MAD WOMAN SO THAT WE HAD TO HEAR BOUT HER ENCOUNTER YESTERDUH AND HOW SHE rinse the piss outta AN ugly, dumpy, mangy-looking, splotchy skin bitch.
    SHAME ON YOU JOHN KNOX
    ALTHOUGH I CANT SEE WUH YOU WRITE GOT TO DO WID DAT
    JOHN KNOX PLEASE KINDLY DONT STIR UP MAHY PTIENT AGAIN
    AND PUT SOME NUGGET OR KIWI PUB YUH SKIN AND STOP LOKING LIKE A dumpy, mangy-looking, splotchy skin bitch.
    MAHY PATIENT DONT LIKE WHITE PEOPLE

29. So you would listen to white criminologists from over and away before you would listen to a person who has first hand knowledge!!!

To add to the SS’s knowledge of multiple murderers, I know of one murderer who served time in jail, brother of a guy I grew up with in the plantation yard playing cricket, operating equipment and spending time talking.

The guy was perhaps 10 years older than I was and had worked with my uncle from the tile he was old enough to work.

The murder was associated with a crime of passion, the brother of the guy I grew up with just lost his temper … some guy just pushed the right buttons to send him off.

Maybe alcohol was involved, maybe a woman but I just heard temper.

Sometimes I would meet the two brothers together.

The brother who committed the murder worked with some family so I knew both.

Both seemed pretty level headed but after the murder, I started to realise that the brother I thought I knew so well from daily interactions around the plantation perhaps had also shown signs when I was alot younger of being violent.

One early morning betimes my mother had to resolve an argument between he and his wife which could have turned violent. He was ready to kill her!!

Find me a few criminologists (the blacker the better) who agree with what you are saying and convince us that you are not all mout.

Do you actually know or have had some sort of interaction with a murderer or just being your usual wind baggy self with nothing of substance to contribute!!

30. Times change, societies change, people change and we cannot analyse situations using a 1950s mindset.

When almost all black people were deprived, when only white people had money, when we looked left and right and everybody was in the same boat, nobody felt marginalised. This was accepted as just the way things were.

I find some people’s understanding of human beings is simplistic, whereas human beings are complex emotionally.

All you have to do is listen to people really and you will learn much.

About twenty years ago, I was late and taking a short cut through Church Village on my way to court one morning to keep an eye on a case involving my workplace. Since I was representing my workplace, I was wearing a nice suit.

Sitting on one of the steps of a dilapidated miniature house was a man in his early thirties. He looked beat up and hopeless.

“Look at you! Dress up an’ steppin’, goin’ wuk! Feel you is somebody, nuh! Mussee drivin’ a nice car too!”

I was shocked at the malevolent envy in his tone and the way he looked at me.

It was as though I had done him something by being so employed and hustling because I had somewhere I had to be.

I was shaken but when I thought about what he said I realised that he envied me THE WORK FIRST, the fact that society would therefore count me as “somebody” AND THEN the fact that it would afford me nice things!

31. After doing his time the guy was released and became a normal everyday member of society.

Look at the faces on some of these criminals who routinely kill and you will quickly realise they are not going to change.

Probably some of the most important values/morals that is passed down in the family is hope and the ability to change.

32. DonnaAugust 5, 2022 9:17 AM

I was shaken but when I thought about what he said I realised that he envied me THE WORK FIRST, the fact that society would therefore count me as “somebody” AND THEN the fact that it would afford me nice things!

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Hasn’t it ever dawned on you that he was trying to teach you a life lesson.

Now, let’s see if you can figure it out for yourself!!

33. Bustin’ yuh bag……YES! A man that my father used to send to pick up my mother from work when he was caught up playing whist or draughts. A man from whom my father took a knife at a dance months earlier. A man from whom my grandfather took a cutlass weeks earlier, killed a former minister of government and a recent senator’s uncle. They were the only two people who could have stopped the murder. My grandfather was too slow.

We could not believe what he had done! Nobody wanted to give evidence against him. Even the victim’s brother with whom he had been fighting, causing the victim to intervene, begged for leniency for the man.

But…. murders fall into different categories. We are speaking about gang related murders, not crimes of passion, madness, temporary insanity, drunkenness etc.

Different kettle of fish. A few sessions such as I HAD with two criminologists would help.

A few conversations with some youths from a depressed area, SUCH AS I HAD, would help.

You could teach for a few years some pupils from a troubled area, AS I HAVE. You could listen to numerous teachers who cared enough to share their stories, AS I HAVE.

A few sessions with the police service SUCH AS I HAD, would help

I could go on and on about sessions with other professionals in the field but I will leave you to pull from your bag of crap and “contribute”.

34. Blasted idiot! He was expressing his emotions. THAT’S ALL! I FELT THEM!

I passed, smiled and spoke to him out of habit, being a St. Philip country girl. There was nothing to suggest that I needed any lesson.

What life lesson, what!

You are going to tell me about an experience I HAD when you weren’t even there?

STEUPSE!

35. Sancho PanzaAugust 5, 2022 8:31 AM

Whilst we may scream on action by governemt, we should bear in mind … No government on earth can stop all crime or suicides.
    Xxxx
    No one can stop suicidal thoughts or intentions
    However where are govt programs set up like counseling hotlines where people having mental problems triggering negative thoughts can be heard and counsel
    The social sides of govt programs are not providing enough help for people having to go through the negative stresses of today

36. Why you looking at me?
    Bitch Bitch Bitch Bitch Bitch
    Why the fuck you looking at me?
    Don’t look at me, why you looking at me?

Don’t Look At Me

GP + John = 2 Bitches

37. Worldwide Shades of Racism
    Rightwing Conservatives are Racists and use each other for examples of racism
    Australians pick up on US and UK racism and open their big fat mouths on Fox TV
    UK and USA use Australians as excellent examples of ideas (people) to follow and circulate the racist news

Is It All in My Head? (Big Mouth Vocals)

Just Don’t Stop the Dance (Non Gaiatic Reworkz)

38. William Skinner Avatar

Sometimes it is difficult to understand that we seem not to believe that societies do not deteriorate overnight.
    Anybody , who is not bent , on making their addiction to partisan nonsense , their prime purpose for being on BU , will be honest and say that there is nothing going on in crime , at this point in time, that could not and would not have been predicted .
    When former Commissioner of Police Orville Durant (1982-1995)said that his hands were tied , that was the capitulation to the criminal element.
    Like it or lump it , we collectively buried our heads in the sand.
    We never addressed the root causes of the crime and we are now into pure buffoonery because the main purveyors of heinous crimes know that the elements that had Durant’s hands tied have not gone anywhere.

39. Sancho Panza August 5, 2022 8:31 AM #: “Whilst we may scream on action by governemt, we should bear in mind … No government on earth can stop all crime or suicides.”

@ Sancho

You are correct.

For example, there aren’t any policies that can be implemented to prevent ‘crimes of passion’ or ‘spur of the moment’ crime.

But, we must also bear in mind counseling services for mental health issues are available at the Psychiatric Hospital.

While some people prefer to live in denial, refusing to seek help where and when it is available, others routinely admit themselves or they are admitted by relatives….. to the Psychiatric Hospital for psychiatric evaluation or counseling.

40. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Donna
    “I had to remind her that we were in Barbados and not up north.”
    Thinking I need to remind others similarly, up north…..guess the term “you people” leaves it to be interpreted any which way 😂😂
    Unsure where ‘we are’ makes any difference how we should treat others.

41. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“When former Commissioner of Police Orville Durant (1982-1995)said that his hands were tied , that was the capitulation to the criminal element.”

“because the main purveyors of heinous crimes know that the elements that had Durant’s hands tied have not gone anywhere.”

we have come to learn that he actually meant the CRIMINAL ELEMENT WITHIN THE POWER STRUCTURE…easy to kill and imprison a bunch of block boys who have no power within the society, only over each other in their immediate surroundings, but a whole other ball game when trying to reel in the corrupt who have total control within levels of government, judiciary etc…

yep…he said it then and being part of it himself knew that it could go nowhere but get steadily and consistently worse…and it has….because the revolving door keeping all these socio-economic crimes alive and well is still wide open..

42. Northern Observer,

You playing dumb or wuh? Up in Amurka her intimidation plays better than down heh!

I doan have to gih one rh ’bout she.

I know you are white but not all of you are the same. What I say here need not apply to you.

Let me elaborate solely for your benefit!

I was alone in the aisle of a supermarket when something on a shelf caught my eye. No-one else in sight, I abandoned my cart for just a few seconds in just the position it was in. Around the corner came a white woman probably in her early sixties. As she approached I was about to return to my cart. She got there first and rudely ordered me to move the cart as though I had committed a cardinal sin. “Give me a second!” I said, as I walked around her, anticipating that she would step back a bit for me to reach the cart.

While I was standing behind her, she exclaimed and in an exaggerated huff pushed the cart away as though I was taking too long.

“I was coming to move it!” I said, whereupon she who was in such a hurry, found time to berate and lecture me, in harsh tones, on supermarket etiquette and lack of consideration for others.

I cannot count the number of times I have been blocked or have blocked others and NEVER was the response as this woman’s. Based on what I have observed from Bajan whites, in close proximity for eight years at QC, I am 100% sure that she would not have responded like that if I had been one of them.

And based on observation on our roads. If you are caught at a junction at rush hour, from which you could never get out unless somebody lets you out, don’t look for a white driver to help you out. In fact, if you see a little opening and attempt to squeeze out, they typically speed up so you cannot make it. I thought I was imagining this until somebody else mentioned it to me years ago.

I could say more but the blog is not about that.

But suffice it to say that I agree that we should treat each other kindly and respectfully both in Barbados AND America. Demographics however, usually make a difference.

43. John Knox,

The crimiologists were BLACK AND BAJAN, FOOL!

44. To the Physician,

Heal thyself!

Signed,
    Mahy’s patient.

P.S. Or you could talk to yourself because I am done.

45. john knox yuh fool
    yuh gone and start up dr mahy patient NOW?
    she is also pshychologist criminologist expert teacher and knower of all tings and mad as shite
    bare mock sport in de rum shop
    gih muh a banks malt bar tender and a ham cutter

I REMEMBER DE DAYS AT HC WHEN YUH WOULD HEAR FIGHT FIGHT FIGHT FIGHT LOL

46. People can have suicidial.thoughts long term or short term at any time
    Having to go to an outside clinic doesn’t always address the immediacy of resolution
    24 hours help if available can help those whose reactions of self destruction are preferable to calm down rethink and put off actions of suicide
    Some are not understanding the measures built in to the suicide program including precaution and preventative measures
    Expecting a sucidial person in the middle of night to go to a physchiatric hospital all by self seeking help is intellectual madness

Xxxxxx
    Oops I think that fast ball knock over all stumps
    Umpire your call please
    Waiting for the batsman to ask to have the tape replay
    Lunchtime break
    After which play would resume

Nor knowing

47. Suicide alarm
    EXPERT URGES STAKEHOLDERS TO DO MORE TO HELP PEOPLE COPE WITH TOUGH TIMES
    By Anesta Henry
    Concerned that Barbados seems to be recording at least one suicide per month recently, psychologist Shawn Clarke is calling on the state to pay urgent attention to the mental health and emotional wellbeing of citizens.
    He said that while he is aware that the Government is working around-the-clock to achieve and maintain economic growth, it is time that resources be put towards dealing with the psychological challenges that young people, particularly young males, are facing.
    “Youth and community organisations need to come out and play their part as well in terms of putting on other social activities, workshops, seminars, whatever, at the community level.
    “We need to get back our community centres vibrant again, not only in terms of cultural activities, but in terms of activities sharing information with the populace about suicide, about mental health, about self-esteem building, about being able to cope with the pressures of today,” he said during an interview with Barbados TODAY.
    His comments came as police continue to investigate the suspected suicide of 30-year-old Jonathan Forte of Ashdeane Village, Black Rock St Michael. Lawmen received a report around 11:30 p.m on Wednesday at the Black Rock Police Station that a man used a bedsheet to hang himself from a door frame while at his residence at the same location. Forte, a father of three, was identified by members of his family.
    On July 21, the close-knit Allen View, St Thomas community was thrown into a state of shock when the body of 21-yearold Keshawn Bartlett was discovered hanging from a pear tree a short distance from his home.
    In a July 7 story carried by Barbados TODAY family members of 32-yearold Andrew Cumberbatch were seeking answers about how he was able to leave the Queen Elizabeth Hospital (QEH) where he had been on suicide watch. His body was discovered on the beach behind Pirate’s Cove on Lower Bay Street, St Michael, around 5:24 a.m. It is suspected that Cumberbatch committed suicide.
    Clarke suggested that while churches also have a major role to play in tackling the issue of suicide on the island, the private sector must also extend a helping hand to Government and provide necessary funding for programmes.
    He insisted that such assistance is needed soon considering that there is not much public discourse regarding persons who attempt suicide.
    “The ones that reach the airwaves are the ones that unfortunately succeed in committing suicide. But I know that there are a lot of persons with suicidal ideas, or suicidal thoughts, or suicidal attempts, that would not necessarily reach the airwaves.
    “I think it is time that we pay close attention to it. We cannot afford to allow suicide to become the norm. We really need to put systems in place, put initiatives in place. We need to stop crying down everything that people are doing and come together and build avenues that can help young people to be able to stand on their feet and to be able to deal with some of the situations that they face,” he said.
    Clarke, who is the founder and director of Supreme Counselling for Personal Development, said his organisation is currently seeking financial assistance to take counselling clinics to communities to reach those who may be unable to pay for such services.
    “We are going to go into the community and we are going to decentralise our counselling. We also have plans to take our Project Rescue programme where we go into schools, and decentralise that project in community centres on Saturday mornings and do things like self-esteem building. We want to be able to work with our young people because we realise that we also have a role to play in developing the social fibre of Barbados,” Clarke said.
    anestahenry@barbadostoday.bb

48. I see it. I love it.
    AC at Kesington
    Oops I think that fast ball knock down three stumps
    The batsman swiped and landed on his rump
    Your call to the umpire was loud and clear
    But you know they will claim the umpire ain’t fair
    Waiting for the batsman to ask to have the tape replay
    Waiting to hear what the umpire say
    Coming up is the lunchtime break
    AC bowling fine; score is 0 for eight

Girl, I hope you got good afternoon ‘stuff’
    For soon coming up is Lorenzo and enuff
    Keep it tight and you have to bowl faster
    For scheduled to bat next is the blogmaster
    Watch him try to hook and to slash
    But his shots are played after the ball has gone pass
    Ac thinking that she is Wes Hall
    I in the stand shouting ‘good ball’

(Pass or past — losing it)

49. RE To the Physician,
    Heal thyself!
    HAVE ALWAYS DONE THAT FOR ALMOST 40 YEARS NOW AND VERY GOOD AT IT TOO

RE Or you could talk to yourself because I am done.

I LEARNING DAT VERY WELL FROM LOOKING IN THE RUM SHOP FROM TIME TO TIME
    THAT IS NOW DE NORM…LOL
    Signed,
    Mahy’s patient.
    OPEN CONFESSION IS GOOD FOR THE SOUL
    MAHY TAUGHT ME SO I KNOW WUH KINDA PEOPLE DOES GO TO MAHY

50. @Donna
    “I was shaken but when I thought about what he said I realised that he envied me THE WORK FIRST, the fact that society would therefore count me as “somebody” AND THEN the fact that it would afford me nice things!”

I get that story. Sometimes the envy and the ‘bad mind’ can hit you like a ton of bricks. But it does not end there, if they can they would sabotage your effort at self improvement.

Leave a Reply to angela coxCancel reply