August 2 signals another Emancipation Day, another public holiday for the masses to revel in the carnival season and engage other leisure activities – a few may reflect on what the day is intended. Emphasis on a few if one measures public participation at events arranged to celebrate the day.

In her Emancipation Day message Prime Minister implores Bajans to not just commemorate the emancipation of our forefathers from chattel slavery but “celebrate the lives and efforts of our African forefathers to end slavery. In remembering these things, let us understand that while the seas may get rough and while the struggle may be long, together we can and will see these challenges through. That is to say that egos, matters of self-interest and tribalism must give way to the way of thinking and the lifestyle that saw communities raise children and societies raise the bar”.

The blogmaster finds no fault with the message by prime minister Mottley asking us to be inspired to overcome the challenges before us by what our forefathers had to achieve breaking the chains of physical slavery. Maya Angelou in her inimitable style encapsulates the importance of the past with a practical definition- “I have great respect for the past. If you don’t know where you’ve come from, you don’t know where you’re going, but I’m a person of the moment. I’m here, and I do my best to be completely centered at the place I’m at, then I go forward to the next place“. 

We have to do better to help Barbadians sustain the awareness around the struggle of Blacks for liberation. The blogmaster is satisfied our children are given sufficient exposure at the primary and secondary level to be aware of the struggle. Where we continue to fail as a society is our inability to feed a culture to support our people being energized by the heroic achievement of our forefathers. Instead we have allow edourselves to become overwhelmed by the miasma of popular foreign culture which by and large continues to lock our people into another form of bondage- economic and mental slavery.

To Prime Minister Mia Mottley again we say, a nice sounding message, a message that will tick the box on the checklist for the day, however, inquiring minds wonder- what about the need to find practical approaches to assist citizens translate your nice sounding message to relevant daily activities? We have become a people characterized by revelry, indolence and lawlessness, antithetical to the traditional value set that underpinned the behaviour of our forefathers.

So Prime Minister Mottley, your message will be received as empty by a majority of the population because the discrete actions required to invoke meaning for the general population is MIA.

120 responses to “Prime Minister MIA Mottley Delivers An Empty Emancipation Day Message”

1. Crafting our future means govt expanding the wealth gap to include the forgotten 99percent

2. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“She probably has a pathological dislike for her own black people and is embarrassed at having to “celebrate” emancipation day with the lowly masses.”

the quintessential empty politician….vote beggars on display…cahn get anywhere near a parliament without begging for Afrikan votes…

3. Where we continue to fail as a society is our inability to feed a culture to support our people being energized by the heroic achievement of our forefathers. Instead we have allow edourselves to become overwhelmed by the miasma of popular foreign culture which by and large continues to lock our people into another form of bondage- economic and mental slavery.

Xxxxxxxxx

SOMEONE WAS SMOKING WEED WHEN WRITING THIS NONSENSE.

PEOPLE MAKE CHOICES UNFORTUNATELY MANY BLACKS ON THE 2 X3 ISLAND CONTINUE TO LIVE IN A BACKWARD BUBBLE.

WHEN ONE DOESN’T LOOK IN THE MIRROR AND SORT ONE SELF OUT ONE WILL FIND ALL KIND OF EXCUSES FOR FAILURE AND LACK OF PROGRESS

4. The shooting gallery was out in full force while everybody was having a gran kadoment day
    Two.bodies found dead at Long Beach with gun shot wounds

5. 6 people shot in early morning shooting outside Ajax restaurant

https://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/toronto/ajax-shooting-six-people-shot-1.6537944

6. “Children would try on the shoes that most likely fit their parents pocket book cost wise
    Those shoes not always were comfortable because they were tight somewhat……”

Children would always make sacrifices to assist their parents and siblings. Some would deny themselves or would prefer to suffer so that family funds could be stretched farther.

Same thing, but no example that could easily be dismantled

7. You have to anticipate the responses. Some will swipe at everything and will miss a few balls. Some are more cautious and will wait for the loose ball.

8. “Children would always make sacrifices to assist their parents and siblings.
    Some would deny themselves by ‘doing without,’ or when their parents go to buy shoes, they would choose tight, uncomfortable pairs and prefer to suffer so that the funds could be stretched farther.”

🤣 😂 🤣 😂 😃

In a ‘real life’ scenario, parents “always make” household financial decisions…… not their children.
    Parents would choose and purchase shoes that are within their budgets, while ensuring those shoes are comfortable as well.

9. ‘At the end of the’….. and as exemplified by the “example,” ‘it all comes down’ to THINKING.

Once a young man came to Socrates to be instructed in oratory. The moment he arrived and was introduced he began to talk an incessant stream (shiite).
    This went on for some time. When the great philosopher could finally get a word in, he said, “Young man, I will have to charge you a double fee.” “A double fee, why is that?”
    Socrates replied, “First, I will have to teach you how to hold your tongue, then how to use it!”

Proverbs 29:20 NLT: “There is more hope for a fool than for someone who speaks without thinking.”

Always remember to put thy brain in gear, before engaging thy mouth (or the keyboard).

🤣 🤣 🤣 🤣 🤣

10. ARTAX
    RE Always remember to put thy brain in gear, before engaging thy mouth (or the keyboard).

YOU ARE ASKING FOR THE IMPOSSIBLE FOR MOST OF THE BU RUM SHOP CREW

11. @Artax August 2, 2022 9:30 AM “The most popular complaint is usually ‘the bedrooms are too small for a ‘king or queen sized’ bed.’”

I’ve never slept in a king or queen sized bed in my whole life. Presuming that the person is an average sized human being, a woman of less than 200 pounds, and a man of less than 280 pounds why is a king or queen sized necessary?

12. Haile Selassie Music

Working the Angles
    AC wants to talk about the poor to stir it up for political leverage but has run out of poor peoples anecdotes for proverbs, so give her a helping hand with another poor man story.

Poor people live in shacks and patch up the holes in their roof and have to sleep on a door on the floor for a mattress.

Haile Selassie is the Micro Chip

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q6IVksG2abk

Politicians grant favours to the rich to get in power. Low taxes help the richest with highest income. Higher taxes would distribute wealth to the bottom tier.

13. And there are those who would never understand what the word sacrifice means
    When I first wrote that example I was speaking about myself and words which I were told on some occasion by my mother
    I remove myself and the word mother from.the story intentionally for reason not to have the Minister of provocation reigned down hell and fire on my mother goodly name
    Yes the example mentioned was one which I lived
    Children who knew and understand their parents struggles of taking a penny and having to stretch it to.make a dime would go to the extreme out of love to help their parents
    Likewise parents would do.the same for children with a hope that the child would understand
    Many times when speaking of dignity for the poor I speak with an understanding that poor people are not always poor by choice but circumstance being placed in their way gives them no.other choice
    Here on BU there is a level of some type of understanding that poor people should take what ever is offered akin to something is better than nothing
    Now await the Minister of provacation to tell me what I don’t understand

14. Build a Solid Foundation

Art of Storytelling
    Building comments from the bottom up adding explanation to make sound points

Bajans are F’ed up Africans, who try to follow tradition of African Storytelling, but do not have their spiritual energy channels open in tune with the universe and only know about English American Canadian culture, so they talk nonsense and are boring

My F’ed up mixer

African storytelling: A Communal Participatory Experience It is a shared communal event where people congregate together, listening, and participating in accounts and stories of past deeds, beliefs, wisdom, counsel, morals, taboos, and myths

15. The Forced Force is Not the
    True Force

Meditative State (mantra)

Meditative State (refelective)

16. Take a Dub
    and Mix It Up

Lights (G’s Out Dub)

Lights (G’s Out Dub) (Mixed)

17. The Greats are always with us….

Salute to Winnie

18. Now everyone can see and understand how the Minister can say words to.the effect.that ten thousand houses can be built in a year
    Namely the 2×4 all pushed together side by side like rubbing soldiers would suffice the land space
    How in God’s name can a govt be so.politically inclined with a political reason to build houses that building houses for the poor cannot be founded on dignity and govt sacrifice sufficient that those houses gives the look of placing an individual money into.a home and not a house taking up space
    This govt have made sacrifices for big businesses in manner which took away revenue from the treasury
    Now only to hand out shoe box size houses and expect the poor to tighten their belts and make other sacrifices inorder for the house to fit their standard of living some where down the road

19. “Now only to hand out shoe box size houses and expect the poor to tighten their belts and make other sacrifices inorder for the house to fit their standard of living some where down the road”

Are these houses mortgage free rent free?

It’s Like (Radio Edit)

It’s Like (Detroit Love Mix) (Mixed)

20. Time Million

If time is currency i’m a milionaire, i gain
    24/7 is a measure in vain
    i count a heart beat, i breath
    as follows me, future is a step ahead
    come to rock in my embrace before you run away
    as follows me, future is a step ahead
    how you’ll win a race with me
    i am time

if time is currency i’m a milionere, i gain
    as follows me, future is a step ahead
    come to rock in my embrace before you run away
    as follows me, future is a step ahead
    how you’ll win a race with me
    i am time

if time is a nation of mood
    am a dictator, insane , suffireing
    if time is currency i am mother teresa am a milionare
    i count a heart beat, i breath

come rock in my embrace

come to rock in my embrace

i’m rocking my embrace

21. “AC wants to talk about the poor to stir it up for political leverage but has run out of poor peoples anecdotes for proverbs, so give her a helping hand with another poor man story.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~

There is a level of hypocrisy exhibited on BU that’s simply amazing.
    I know there will be subtle accusations of ‘defending the status quo,’ but, I’m amazed some persons conveniently care about poor only when the political party they support is ‘not in office.’
    I remember when the same individuals, using different pseudonyms, were defending the 2×2 houses the former administration built at Lancaster Phase 1, Lancaster, St. James.
    And, they DID NOT express any CONCERN poor people were being DENIED of housing solutions when the hundred and twenty (120) 2×2 houses built at Parish Land, Christ Church REMAINED UNOCCUPIED, overrun by vines, rotting and deteriorating for over SEVEN (7) YEARS.
    Now, they want to come with ‘heart wrenching’ stories about poverty and growing up under poor circumstances, to give the impression they empathize with poor people.

22. Artax,

She is simply using the poor as a political weapon.

They will be discarded immediately as the DLP wins at the polls.

23. “How in God’s name can a govt be so.politically inclined with a political reason to build houses that building houses for the poor cannot be founded on dignity and govt sacrifice sufficient that those houses gives the look of placing an individual money into.a home and not a house taking up space…..”
    ~~~~~~~~~~

After former Housing Minister Kellman bragged about people paying their mortgage down-payments and were ready to occupy the houses……

DAILY NATION May 13, 2016

All’s not well at Lancaster

Article by: RANDY BENNETT, randybennett@nationnews.com

THE HOUSING PROJECT AT LANCASTER, St James has come under fire from several occupants, just two years after it was completed.

Broken tiles, electrical problems and smelly wells are but a few of the problems which people living in the development have reported encountering shortly after moving into their new houses.

Back in 2010, the Ministry of Housing, along with the National Housing Corporation (NHC), began construction of 87 houses at Lancaster Phase One and Lancaster Phase Two, St James.

The project entitled Housing Every Last Person (HELP) targeted LOW-INCOME EARNERS.

24. So Folks, the moral for today’s discussion about Emancipation is..
    Barbadians have to become better Africans
    Be a Good Rootsy like a Rasta
    Move with the Spirit
    Movements of Jah
    Rasta House: That Deep Groove (Another Bad Production)
    The Prince of Dance Music

25. Since past govt presented broken promises and lies
    Should society accepts same broken promises from a govt who promised better
    Looking back and see what was presented before
    One should pressed for differences which are presented on things which are dignified acceptable to uplift not building on political hat tricks but pathways design for the betterment of all of society

26. Another story worth mentioning is the kadooment route change which is said to have cut against the pockets of the small business person who plys their trade on the roadside of the kadooment route a route change headed towards the Botanical garden
    Previously the now Mighty Grynner highway was known to have been profitable area for those selling their good on the roadside

27. Someone should write a Slave Bible

Deeper Consciousness (The Good Book Tale)

Deepest Consciousness (Subconscious Mixx)

28. Some people purposely ignore the salient point of this ‘discussion,’ which does not have anything to do with “looking back and see what was presented before” or “past govt presented broken promises and lies.”

It is the blatant hypocrisy that is being focused upon.
    We have a situation in Barbados where, over the years, successive BLP and DLP administrations have FAILED to FORMULATE progressive housing policies for Barbadians.

There aren’t any significant differences, for example, between the DLP’s ‘Estates at Coverley’ and the BLP’s ‘Atlantic Breeze’ housing projects……
    …..and the SIZE of houses built under the DLP’s ‘Housings Every Last Person’ (H.E.L.P) and the BLP’s ‘Home Ownership Providing Energy’ (H.O.P.E) programs.

It is when those same persons, mainly for reasons of political expediency, decide to purposely ignore those similarities……
    …… and choose to disingenuously become social activists, pretending they’re concerned about people living in impecunious households…… ONLY when their political party is ‘NOT in power.’

As soon as their ‘party’ wins the elections, their voices suddenly become SILENT on poverty related matters, while becoming increasingly vocal in supporting similar issues under the the new administration they previously opposed.

29. When one look back there must be lessons learned
    Never too old to learn

Next

30. Dubplates
    Hello my friends I am the Prince of Dance Music
    What we are going to do here is go back way back into time
    Sounds Underground
    Underground Music
    Underground Underground Underground
    The True Story of House Music!

The True Story of House Music (I’m So Alone) (Mixed)

31. Going to keep it simple
    “In a ‘real life’ scenario, parents “always make” household financial decisions…… not their children.”

*** Can we agree that there will be some discussion with the children. The final decision need not be a fiat.

“Parents would choose and purchase shoes that are within their budgets, while ensuring those shoes are comfortable as well.”

*** Even here some discussion is necessary. Comfortable may only be one factor. I have bought my son new stuff which he refused to wear. I am not talking second hand or cheap.

32. It is quite possible that I could search and find some wrong that was done in BC 55.

We acknowledge wrongs were committed in the past and moved on.
    Then, as it is now, it is wrong, but we will not put wrongs of the past and current wrongs on scales and try to balance them.

We wish to keep the focus on those who are currently suffering or being made to suffer.

33. @ac
    “When one look back there must be lessons learned”

Excellent. Indeed what others are pointing by pairing current events with those of the ‘lost decade’ is that we learnt nothing from lessons of the past.

You go, girl.

34. I see now that you have already driven a few balls well past the boundary.

“Since past govt presented broken promises and lies
    Should society accepts same broken promises from a govt who promised better
    Look… back and see what was presented before”

Excellent. You are seeing the ball as big as a breadfruit and despatching it with ease.

I noticed that you have a penchant for trying to overkill. Keep your cool and provide measured responses.

You go girl.

35. @All- Have a great day
    @ac- You go girl
    Bye for now.
    https://youtu.be/nOwPr6kGHRE

36. One would notice that on BU when measuring the poor against the rich
    The rich always right and the poor always wrong on matters that reference the word dignity
    Personally I don’t get it

37. I concur
    AC should Go

Cloud Swings

38. On the issue of the Botanical gardens and the kadooment change to that area
    Mia might have decided that killing two birds with one stone was a brilliant idea
    In that the Botanical gardens would get world wide showcasing along with the crop over event
    However as usual absent of proper planning a plan which should have include a financial and profitable route for small businesses
    Also a planned route which should have take into consideration people being accustomed to seeing the bands and crowd excitement on Crop over day
    Mia once again along with planners put cart before horse not only shutting out vendors but the excitement once shared by others

39. How many parks does Barbados have
    Queens Park
    Freedom Park
    Farley Hill Park
    Those are the big ones
    Yet yuh tell.me that with all.that spend on building and maintaining of these parks
    Govt could not have allocated a govt sponsored program where individuals could borrow money to build their own home as they see fit
    Now the purchaser of these 2×4 must accept what govt is providing
    Self empowerment breeds self esteem resulting in pride

40. “Then, as it is now, it is wrong, but we will not put wrongs of the past and current wrongs on scales and try to balance them.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~

Hmmmm…… the ‘spokesman’ is either being ridiculous or is an extremely poor ‘spin doctor.’
    There hasn’t been any attempt made to ‘balance past and current wrongs.’

The salient point being purposely overlooked is the fact that angela cox has a penchant for conveniently becoming a ‘self appointed social activist’ and disingenuously showing concern for people living in impecunious households……

…… ONLY when the political party she supports ‘is NOT in power.’

All I’m ‘saying’ is that both DLP and BLP administrations have EQUALLY FAILED to formulate any progressive housing policies for Barbadians.
    In other words, where all other variables are kept equal, (ceteris paribus), there hasn’t been any significant differences in housing policies under both administrations.
    And, I simply provided the forum with examples that would adequately substantiate my claims.

BU’s archives would clearly indicate that, using the name, ‘angela Skeete,’ ac DEFENDED houses of SIMILAR SIZE, that were built in Lancaster Phase 1, St. James, by the former administration, while admonishing those persons who criticised them.

The current houses are now being referred to as “2×4 shoe boxes,’…… and poor people have suddenly become a matter of concern.

If my examples have been misconstrued as an attempt to ‘balance past and current wrongs,’ then, it clearly indicates the batsmen are not students of the game and have misread the pitch and the balls being bowled.
    Perhaps that’s why they’re always ‘clean bowled’ while swiping at the ‘slower deliveries,’ forgetting the bowler usually bowls meticulously.

They should probably ‘stick to playing marble cricket.’

41. Artax @ac

BU’s archives would clearly indicate that, using the name, ‘angela Skeete,’ ac DEFENDED houses of SIMILAR SIZE, that were built in Lancaster Phase 1, St. James, by the former administration, while admonishing those persons who criticised them.

Xxxcxx
    Please point me in that direction

42. “Hmmmm…… the ‘spokesman’ is either being ridiculous or is an extremely poor ‘spin doctor.’ If my examples have been misconstrued as an attempt to ‘balance past and current wrongs,’ then, it clearly indicates the batsmen are not students of the game and have misread the pitch and the balls being bowled.”

**I had to scroll upwards to see if this was “The A guy”. Indeed, what follows is such good spin that Rumpelstiltskin would be envious of hi.
    😃

I will not comment on the middle but have filed it under Repeat History Lesson

[Perhaps that’s why they’re always ‘clean bowled’ while swiping at the ‘slower deliveries,’ forgetting the bowler usually bowls meticulously.

They should probably ‘stick to playing marble cricket.’]
    😃😄

We conceded some of the points made earlier are quite valid. However, we see ac as having a Damascene moment where she rejects the wrong done by both sides. Too late to right PAST wrongs, she brings all her guns to bear on the current administration.

She may have some difficulty convincing others of her change of heart, but she is deserving of a second chance. I will not cast any stones at her.

43. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

meanwhile in the real world…bad news for nuff, nuff crooks……real, real bad news…

“From today, any foreign company wishing to buy UK property will have to identify its beneficial owner and present verified information to Companies House before any application to the UK’s land registries can be made. Those overseas entities that already own land in the UK that is in scope will have a 6-month transitional period, starting today, to register their beneficial owners or managing officers.

To ensure criminals are targeted effectively, the register applies retrospectively to property bought since January 1999 in England and Wales, and since December 2014 in Scotland. Those foreign companies that do not comply with the new obligations could face severe criminal sanctions, including fines of up to £2,500 per day or a prison sentence of up to 5 years.”

“The strict new regulation in the United Kingdom, regarding the mandatory disclosure of the Beneficial Owners of corporate entities that hold real property, could have a severe impact upon what has been a very lucrative business in offshore companies in the British Virgin Islands. the penalties, which include restrictions upon the transfer of real estate whose owners have not been publicly named, and even a five-year prison sentence of offenders, will probably spell the end of the opaque practise of placing valuable land purchases in the name of BVI companies, since the primary goal of the buyers was to deny anyone and everyone the identities of the true owners of their asset.

Of course, any and all corporate owners of UK realty are subject to the same what foreign purchasers now regard as severe restrictions, but BVI companies are far and away the first choice of international lawyers and other professionals intent upon hiding their clients’ ownership of expensive London property, and that is most likely where this British counter-move will have the most impact. Outside of tourism, the BVI has little outside sources of income, to support its population. Its leaders may now be forced to diversify its economy into other fields, which would generate cash through taxation, to meet its domestic budgetary requirements.”

44. @ac
    I have to go.
    You are that brave young Dutch lad, who put his fingers in the dike and stop the land from flooding.
    ——-x——–
    On hearing this story Lawson went to a gay bar, talked of putting his fingers in a Dyke and got the hell slapped out of him

LAWSON

45. Oh weeee oh my

Xcccccccc

If revenge killings become an acceptable norm in Barbados families would be.wiped out
    Too small a rock for this to happen
    Also I read recently where govt officials were boasting or revealing that 60.or so guns were confiscated recently
    Which brought my mind to thinking that the guns used recently in the executions were not any of them
    Too bad

46. William Skinner Avatar

One brought HELP
    The other one brought HOPE
    Somebody please bring the HOUSE

47. NorthernObserver Avatar

@WS
    Thx for the laff

48. @African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved

You have a tendency to spot significant news stories. This story was announced at least a couple of day’s ago in the British media.

The UK has been awashed in dirty money ever since the days of slavery whilst The BVI has become a text book model for other corrupt Caribbean islands. The gravy train of corruption will soon be derailed in the Caribbean.

https://tcweeklynews.com/sir-elliott-mottley-retires-from-tci-appellate-court-p11228-127.htm

Leave a Reply to HantsCancel reply