The keynote of Governor of the Central Bank Cleviston Haynes’ latest review of the performance of the economy was about growth for 5 consecutive quarters. The blogmaster is happy we are seeing an uptick in economic performance. Who does not want to see growth EXCEPT the ignorant and those rabid political partisans. Oftentimes we forget an economy is about how people in a country efficiently utilize resources with a goal of supporting a reasonable standard of living. 

However, five consecutive months of growth in the local economy, if one considers that in 2019 the global economy was significantly impacted by the pandemic should not be waved as a pretext that it will be business as usual. It is known by all and sundry our economy has a structural problem. The blogmaster recalls Dr. Frank Alleyne in 2008 – at the time serving as financial adviser to late Prime Minister David Thompson’s adminsitration- making the point there was an urgent need to address a tired economic model inherited from Barrow. It is 15 years later and the conclusion any fair minded commentator can make is that there has been negligible change to the structure of the local economy. We continue to be over reliant on tourism. It is understandable given the natural beauty of the Caribbean people will want to visit for a price BUT too far east is west.

Of mighty concern is the average Barbadian seems blissfully unaware the challenge the island is currently facing because we are a price taker in a global economy that is seeing a spike in inflation for commodity and services. It is fashionable of recent to blame the disruption to global supplies because of COVID-19 and Ukrainian Russian conflict or a slow down in the US economy which is forecast to enter a recession soon with the Fed intervening for a second time to raise interest rates. The performance of the US economy is important for Barbadians to take note given the parity of the Barbados dollar to the US dollar. Through it all too many Bajans continue to expect a broke government to be able to fund conspicuous consumption habits, giving credence to the adage – a people with champagne taste and mauby pockets.

Where do we go from here?

To a simple way of thinking, we have a people comfortably living a lifestyle that is unsustainable and has to be continually supported by debt financing. We have also the situation of successive governments, in order to maintain popularity, fueling the addiction of citizens to conspicuous consumption by borrowing. And thirdly Barbados is plugged into a capitalist system which will drag us along with it IF…We are truly in a pickle. A situation which older folk describes as one not being able to tell the other comeback. 

Your guess is as good as this lowly blogmaster where we are headed. We may agree that if we continue to buyin to the notion that our borrowing is within our capacity to repay without factoring the inherent risks of a small developing state, we should sit back, buckle up and enjoy the ride to the Economic Cliff.

Central Bank of Barbados Governor Cleviston Haynes delivered the Bank’s review of Barbados’ economic performance in the first half of 2022 and took questions from the media and online audience.

328 responses to “Buckle Up – Central Bank Economic Review About the Numbers”

1. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“If we come down from the pseudo mountain, we will discover that socio economic planning without a purposeful
    Educational system, will flop.”

someone(s) more intellectually.sound competent and Afrikanized than what you have now will have to take on that challenge….you don’t have any of those offerings in the parliament, ministry, schools or university who can buck the status quo to deliver..

2. Thanks Artax, no surprise that’s Browne’s position. The idea is that LIAT must operate out of Antigua because of what it represents as a symbol and the political considerations that is attached.

3. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

small-minded pigeonholed quasi-leaders….Afrikans have controlled huge airlines for how long all across the continent….

these can’t keep a puddle jumper im the air, have no money, can’t pay the pilots their severance…but fronting like if they can do anything except FAIL….again.

4. “The growth has to be understood given where the economy was in 2019. There was little to no activity…….”

Agreed. If so, then, the economy has essentially returned to a previous position, which, at that time, did not support an increase in salaries and wages.

As such, ‘Ronnie Obama’ is the ‘spin doctor’ in this scenario…… or, he does understand economic growth in its particular context.

5. Telling the most economically vulnerable to the negatives factors of an economy about growth not going wash
    Telling society how great the economy is growing while their pockets are being plummeted by high prices not going to wash
    What will wash is how govt dispensed its financial resources so that jobs are created and people have spending power
    All other being said is political hogwash being fed to those who keep waiting for crumbs to fall into their laps

6. TheOGazertsJuly 29, 2022 12:00 PM

@enuff
    Not really interested in your

Given the phenomenal growth can a wage increase be placed on the table. Give reasons why or why not
    Xxxxxxxx
    There is where the inconsistency sticks out like a sore thumb
    Govt uses a PR message to send glorious message
    However when those messages are put to the test of reality
    The result is miserable failure
    So let’s look at what was driving the economy
    A meager increased of Tourism whereby much of the financial windfall fell in the laps of corporate Barbados but not enough to say the govt revenue expanded sufficient and enough to give govt workers an increase
    So what is the moral of the story belive it when u see it

7. @Donna

Had hope one of the heavy weights would have volunteered to answer your question.

Debt assumed by government whether central or SOE is debt although economists get creative about how it will impact government’s finances.

In the case of NIS given it is a fund that by design should guarantee a certain rate of return to cover pension expense, the restructuring of local debt was particularly severe to NIS’s capacity to meet its future pension obligations. The government in good times was happy for the NIS to buy government bonds in excessive volumes but when the shit hit the fan this is where we are today, a NIS fund in sputter mode. Don’t get us started on the NIF’s inability to produce audited financials.

8. Answer by lightweights or heavyweights are both an exercise in nothingness. The sad truth is the government must get money from any place or anyone it can get it from.

It is more a case of survival by your wits than of economic planning.

How can you force a man to have his head shaved when it suits you and then be surprise when he doesn’t volunteer for a second clean shaving.

From BT
    “Since the disclosure that Government was seeking to expand its BOSS programmme, some economists have noted that it will be a difficult sell, given that investors were still licking their wounds from the 2018 national debt restructuring in which they were made to take a haircut.”

A fact is a fact.

9. We like to powder up a sick pig, slap on some lipstick, put it in a dress and then discuss it’s fine points.

It’s still a pig.

Wishing we had someone of the same caliber as the citizen who said the “the king has no clothes”.

If you can’t preach like Peter, if you cannot pray like Paul then keep it simple.. just tell the truth

10. Welcome back David my brother/sister! We all need that time from time to time.

RE. Central Bank here we go again. Only the blind won’t want to see the reality of our short term prospects at both the macro and micro level. Owen Arthur was a genius as fudging figures to make a pretty picture. More of the same.

11. A MEAGER rise in tourism causing a FINANCIAL WINDFALL

I wonder in those years of record after record arrivals where were the financial windfalls/ tornadoes when to

@ David. Welcome back

12. David
    And the man ain’t lie about the need for productivity neither. But some of us just intend to oppose no matter what. I gine buy some of the BOSS Plus tuh, rather than let the bank give me less than 1% and still tek out service fees.

13. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“We like to powder up a sick pig, slap on some lipstick, put it in a dress and then discuss it’s fine points.

It’s still a pig.”

you will be saying the same thing in 5 years…just press replay….and stay far away from the FAKE BOSS…

14. @Hants
    Crop over and Toronto Caribbean carnival. I will be watching on tv and You Tube.
    +++++
    Good plan, keeps you out of trouble that way, I still miss University Ave but I will be following your viewing example

15. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“I still miss University Ave”

a really wide avenue for a party…

16. @Observing

Didn’t OSA made below the line accounting entries popular? He also created an estate of Statutory Agencies and a bevy of consultants to circumvent parliament. He is regarded as one of our best PMs. Time to get serious.

17. @enuff

Given the yield the blogmaster is tempted to purchase a few but once bitten twice shy.

18. @David

Any luck retrieving the post?

19. Enuff
    “But some of us just intend to oppose no matter what. I gine buy some of the BOSS Plus tuh,…”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Stop trying to fool de public Enuff.
    Bushie is betting that you don’t buy more than ten bonds MAX … cause you done know that all that money dead.

If the Central Bank man could got the gall to brag about a 10% ‘growth’, KNOWING FULL WELL THAT WE ARE BEARLY NOW TRYING TO CLINB BACK OUTTA THE DEEP COVID WELL…’
    Why the hell can’t his OPPONENTS also’ demand’ a 10 % wage increase?

If we talking shiite, we talking shitte …ent it?

Of course it should be beneath a University lecturer to get into such exchanges,(leave that to Caswell) but now that he is a ‘politician’ it must be par for the course…

Bushie notes that EVEN a mugguffi like Enuff is not immune from talking such shiite….
    (You going buy what BOSS Bonds What??!!)
    LOLha ha ha

20. Sorry Sarge, the comment is not in spam. Have you tried using the back arrow in your browser to see if you get back to when you were writing the comment?

21. @ David

People like to focus on anything else other than facts. The like the gloss and fluff. Here is the reality summed up in 3 points.

A. We have not returned to an economy equal to that of 2019 pre covid as yet nor have we culled our spending to suite our reduced income.

B. We still need to print money in some form don’t mind how you dress it up.

C. When we do print money the main client is always a state entity be it NIS or Central Bank.

To me they are the salient points so the .5% here and the fluff there do not change our sad reality. Plus let me state here I am neither a pessimist or optimistic but a realist.

22. All of us are used to these dull, meaningless economic reviews which always represents the papering over of truths.

Are there no journalists in Barbados who can interrogate the governor of Barbados? H.A where art thou!

@ Waru,
    Here is an example of a journalist carrying out his brief: Andrew Neil interviews or should I say interrogates the next Prime Minister of the UK – Rushi Sunak?

https://www.theguardian.com/politics/live/2022/jul/29/tory-leadership-rishi-sunak-liz-truss-keir-starmer-uk-politics-live?filterKeyEvents=false

23. NorthernObserver Avatar

The last set of TBill holders haven’t got their money yet (now Bond holders), what was there to test?
    What level of transparency have they seen to suggest their ‘investment’ in GoB paper is any safer today than it was 4 years ago? The promised updating of financial reporting? The explanation of CBL? The White Oaks update?
    I told wunnah before the last election the O in BOSS would become a C.
    And oh rassoul, @enuff playing the Alvin Cummins role, suggesting he/she gine buy Bonds. LMAO.
    Don’t worry they soon going to be dipping into savings, the CNIB, known in Canada as the Cdn National Institute for the Blind, but in Barbados, the Compulsory National Investment Bond.
    And somebody going to rewrite Boots, to Bonds, Bonds, Bonds and more Bonds, shackles round the legs of all Bajan pawns.
    @David…glad all is well with you. @ac miss yuh too bad 😂😂

24. @David

Here we go

Thanks for explaining that your absence was due to attending other priorities in your life and I hope that all is well, although I thought that you were biding time to see how far the slagging would go on the other page.

I’m sure that your attention has been drawn to the excellent article in NYT magazine about the PM’s actions to stabilize the Barbados economy after the 2018 election. Some may find it very informative although folks like “NO” may have been aware of the discussions from the get-go, it is behind a paywall but the publishers do allow a few “free” articles each month.

Happy reading

https://nyti.ms/3Q0bLUw

25. https://barbadostoday.bb/2022/07/29/govt-losing-millions-from-not-legalising-sex-trade/

Every now and then someone whispers… It is not all pretty, tourism has an ugly side.

26. @David
    Thanks for explaining that your absence was due to attending other priorities in your life and I hope that all is well, although I thought that you were biding time to see how far the slagging would go on the other page.

I’m sure that your attention has been drawn to the excellent article in NYT magazine detailing the PM’s strategy to stabilize the Barbados economy after the 2018 election. It includes some behind the scenes discussions with the IMF and other lenders. Some may find it very informative although folks like “NO” may have been aware of the discussions from the get-go, it is behind a paywall, but the publishers do allow a few “free” articles each month.

Happy reading

https://www.nytimes.com/interactive/2022/07/27/magazine/barbados-climate-debt-mia-mottley.html?te=1&nl=the-new-york-times-magazine&emc=edit_ma_20220729

27. @Sargeant

Found the second comment.

28. @Sargeant

Mottley has a PR machinery like no other leader in this part of the world. The others will struggle to compete until she vacated the space.

NB. Time is precious. If sone commenters would do the equation- Time to live on planet – Time to write/post comments
    = ?

29. Theo
    Sir, it is your dear Ronnie that spinning not me. Plus you’re never interested in me anyway, your focus is on the serial no-baller who can’t finish an over and near 10 innings done. You soon get cramp in dem bleachers cheering.. 61-0.🤣🤣🤣

30. Cheering 61-0 and nothing to show for it
    What a let down
    So.much a let down that children from poor families are encouraged to stand on line for govt free meals and yes the cheering goes on 61-0 and away we go
    Where our hills and fields once they belonged
    But now in distance we weep and stare hoping for that glorious day

31. Also Grenada had a Pr. Machine a machine stronger than Goliath and his army of thousands but was crushed with defeat with a sling shot at the hands of a newbie

32. No Grenada didn’t.

33. NorthernObserverJuly 29, 2022 4:50 PM
    @David…glad all is well with you. @ac miss yuh too bad 😂😂
    Xxxccc
    My human nature is one of concern about people leaving politics behind when circumstances warrants a need to be

34. DavidJuly 29, 2022 7:48 PM

No Grenada didn’t.

Xccccc
    How many years was the PM in power compared to the newbie
    The former PM on the political landscape should have outpaced outrun and in political terms crushed the newbie without or without a viable PRMachine

35. Nice tune wins

36. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“Here is an example of a journalist carrying out his brief: Andrew Neil interviews or should I say interrogates the next Prime Minister of the UK – Rushi Sunak?’

worlds apart, with all their warts, the bigger countries practice a form of transparency, something you will never get from dictator wannabes on dependent islands who believe that they should not be questioned regarding the people’s business as the people’s employees, they placed themselves on these lofty heights where they think they are above it all, above the law…..and untouchable.. …..pretenders…

37. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“(You going buy what BOSS Bonds What??!!)”

trying to set up those who know no better…good luck with that…they are too notorious…evabody on to dem…here, there, and everywhere.

38. SargeantJuly 29, 2022 6:26 PM

I’m sure that your attention has been drawn to the excellent article in NYT magazine detailing the PM’s strategy to stabilize the Barbados economy after the 2018 election. It includes some behind the scenes discussions with the IMF and other lenders. Some may find it very informative although folks like “NO” may have been aware of the discussions from the get-go, it is behind a paywall, but the publishers do allow a few “free” articles each month.

I hope Ms. Mockley’s strategy doesn’t cause Barbados to end up like Sri Lanka which followed the crap talk about Climate Change causing evating to fall down bup on de ground.

39. Double Digit growth!!!!!!!!!!

https://www.investbarbados.org/news/barbados-records-double-digit-growth-for-first-half-of-2022/

If it used to operate at say 1000 units and it fell to 100 units, then 110.5 units is 10.5% growth!! ….. not even close to the original.

God to know we are not in decline!!!

40. Good!!

41. Another political narrative from our good friend Kemar Stuart.

GSC ease needed – economist – Barbados Today

https://barbadostoday.bb/2022/07/30/gsc-ease-needed-economist/

42. When govt speaks of growth that only affects a few
    The growth all by itself only translate to numbers which transfers wealth to a few
    Transferring wealth to a few cannot sustain an economy when factors that related to growth which are sustainable to the overall development of a socioeconomy are dormant
    Talking about growth relative to transferring of wealth to a 1percent bracket is tantamount to a govt stealing from.the poor and giving to the rich
    Whereby the spending power of the working stiff however small ends up in the hands of big business and corporations and added to that the burden of taxation by govt which deplets or take away more money from the peoples pockets mostly those who can least afford it

43. You should spend some time trying to understand the difference between macro and micro economics speak.

44. As crop over flood the air big business are reporting a bumper crop of financial expectations
    Govt too will be a benefactor to receiving
    Tourist spend hopefully would help plug a govt hole or two
    But the end game when all is said and done relates to how govt resources can help those taking a nose dive into poverty from doing so

45. If unemployment number was say 20% in 2019, affected by the pandemic and it is down to about 9% today- would you say this is one good indicator that the touted growth in the economy has helped some Barbadians?

Think!

46. DavidJuly 30, 2022 6:11 AM

You should spend some time trying to understand the difference between macro and micro economics speak.
    Xxcccx
    I spend time listening to what is being said by those at the end of the economic barrel
    Many who have worked hard and now what little savings they have are being depleted by high prices and taxation
    Maybe u ought to.listen to the realities of a society burden in economic stranglehold

47. The challenge for Barbados and almost all countries at this time is to implement policies to protect the most vulnerable. It is impossible impractical to support everyone who is struggling.

48. You spend too much time wrapped in the garb of the partisan political.

Leave a Reply to angela coxCancel reply