Submitted by Plain&Simple

So it came to pass that some land was advertised for sale in the newspaper
Clement Gill and Earl Carlisle both submit sealed tenders as this what was
required of those Interested in purchasing the land. Is my understanding
only a few people did submit.

So de tenders were unsealed by de board Clement Gills offer was
considerably higher. Board tells Clement Gill that his offer was the
highest but the land is really worth more so they want a million more.
Clement Gill agreed and Agreement for sale was done and deposit paid. All
above board.

Some very strange things transpired after deposit was paid…. Board kept
delaying until court case has to be filed. Clement Gill got a few calls one
that told him Earl Carlisle’s son seems to have been at a party where he had
some “kill devil” but it did not seem to have effect or perhaps it did…
Anyhow it turns out Earl Carlisle’s son decides he is going to tell a body
very close to Clement Gill that they will soon own the land being sold and deposit already paid on….
Well now yah know that a phone call was quickly made. Next thing not to
many weeks later Elephantas Gorganous a local contractor (don’t let yah mind
go wild because I am sure it’s not who you think) calls Clement Gill and
says Gilly man I though you were buying that land but Earl Carlisle contact
me with some plans for what he wants built there…..

Anyhow time does pass as time always does and the sleeping giant was no more
and there was great hope because fair is fair and was believed to be …
One more for now and then a rest…. So yah know Babadas small and BabBajan is
be far and wide and it does mek yah feel everyone connected to Babbadus
somehow well is like that yah see … so one fine day a body is come from
yonder and tell a story about a board that try to sell to the lowest bidder
on a government tender… them did want to sell dis land to Earl Carlisle even
though Clement Gills bid was higher so a particular body on dat board did
stand up as an Honest body and say no it can not be. De body said the land
worth more and Clement Gills bid higher than Earl Carlisle so that can not
fly… so dis is how a extra million get ask…. I doan think they thought
Clement Gill would pay it but he did… as for Earl Carlisle I hear something
bout him renting land from government for free….. yes there is more in that Mortar indeed there is much more. Lord have mercy on us all if it all spill out

145 responses to “Carlisle Bay Matter – What’s in the Mortar”

1. Frank
    If only they did their research. But I partisan, a fowl, a pimp a tief, hypocrite, silly all manner of tings.

2. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

A very VICIOUS LIAR..

3. @enuff

As a long standing member of the BU family you are free to share what you know to enlighten us. For as long as people exist with different interests there will be differences of opinion. You more than others should know how business is done in small societies.

4. Salemite
    Given your ego, I am not surprised you have a HUGE mirror and often look at yourself while talking.🤣🤣

5. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Only when i see a political groupie…

6. @David… Blogmaster

BU is your house, there is an invitation to… “JOIN THE DISCUSSION, YOU NEVER KNOW HOW EXPRESSING YOUR VIEW MAY MAKE A DIFFERENCE”. Please advise, how does that work?

This thread here speaks to certain questionable transactions relating to sale of crown lands. I just noticed last week’s thread “Businessman Frustrated by Government”. Again crown land is being disposed of, in questionable circumstances.

Incredibly the BU participants were immersed in speculation about the land value, how much it was actually sold to Kinch for…etc.. After all, it is public land, the sale is of public interest, therefore the information must be made public! The government should not be selling off beachfront land anyway, and especially not Carlise Bay.

You people are so afraid… No one would dare to ask the PM some very sharp questions.

7. Bushie

We’re long past that. No level of understanding about finance can help. Understand that those people have not a clue
    That’s an expert’s opinion.

8. @Pacha

Our local people attended the same unis with your people.

9. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Pacha..what was the excuse for a finance portfolio holder knowing LITTLE TO NOTHING ABOUT FINANCE…

paraphrasing: “they are only experts with words”….ya mean talking shite..

so why are holding a portfolio when they know NOTHING about finance.

10. Bushie

Yes. Of course, but have the local people ever shown any significant deviations from established norms.

Barring the elimination of ALL debt, it’s just a matter of time as Bushie rightly argues. Household, corporate, national debt. ALL

11. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Dex
    With all respect, the threadS were really about ‘permissions to develop land’.
    Specifics re: permissions were never directly articulated, so as occurs on BU, and I accept some blame, for I posted the land is/was for sale. This contributed to the discussion spiralling into questions about the land sale by the BTII.
    Understand. The sale occured in 2015 as the Blogmaster reminded us, but due to “delays” was not finalized until some years later.
    If you go to the BTII site, you will find several GoB owned parcels, some in this area, which are targeted for “development”. And this was the case before the 2018 election.
    Your concerns are likely best addressed directly to the BTII.

12. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“but have the local people ever shown any significant deviations from established norms.”

extremely difficult when you were NEVER educated to think outside the conventional nonsense forced on them generationally.

13. William Skinner Avatar

@ WARU; @ Pacha
    We are comedians. Having sold off almost all the prime beach front land, we are now scrambling over the piece on Bay Street.
    For nearly fifty years we were begging successive governments to leave the open windows and proper access for our people to enjoy but we , for a few pieces of silver , were selling out literally and figuratively.
    Now we want to move the poor senior citizens from Beckles Road, so that Chelsea and all the surrounding areas can be “ developed” for de tourists.
    Who do o they think they fooling?

14. Skinner

Now those are the kinds of things for which there can be no easy fix, correction, absent “unusual measures”

You’re quite right. We have and continue to commit national suicide.

15. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“Now we want to move the poor senior citizens from Beckles Road,”

they will pick up every last piece and sell out, cause that is all they have ever known, DONE and don’t have the requisite intelligence skill set to do any better…

Pacha has the correct word for it…”national suicide.”

they were warned YEARS AGO…to free up the land to the majority who NEEDS IT THE MOST….are the MOST ENTITLED to it as descendants of the ENSLAVED who BUILT THE ISLAND with their FREE LABOR..

..but no, that is too good for Afrikan people while they continue to keep their 1927 SQUATTERS SCAM and landlessness for Afrikans in place..into ANOTHER CENTURY….

they all have a lot to pay for AND WILL..

16. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

William….all over the island there are areas of land JUST GROWING BUSH and cow itch…..while they have squatters everywhere, struggling through the long term scam that stretches over a 4 generation timeline.

..then they will get on a stage and LIE and PRETEND……but….refuse to free up the land, refuse to free up the marijuana they are INTENTIONALLY PAUPERIZING and socially reducing the people..

17. William Skinner Avatar

@ Pacha; @ WARU
    I don’t know how you two do it. Every day trying to lift the consciousness of people who have no intention of leaving the confines of Roebuck and George Streets.
    Peace

18. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Let’s see how much longer they can continue pretending for before it all IMPLODES ON THEM..

19. Salemite

“Only when i see a political groupie…”

More importantly the real VICIOUS LIAR staring back at you

20. “I don’t know how you two do it. Every day trying to lift the consciousness of people who have no intention of leaving the confines of Roebuck and George Streets.”

Whaaaaat? No wonder quality over quantity continues to be celebrated on this blog

21. Sorry, quantity over quality.

22. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

They can stay in the confines of Roebuck and George St….no one has any use for them….they have nothing to offer and don’t take very long to run out of steam……are on one trajectory only yadda, yadda, yadda….kiss politicians’ corrupt ass….am a fowl only…

..it’s the OTHERS and the young generation, the target groups, we have always tried to reach based entirely on what was seen on BU…where it was just a yardfowl masquerade….going nowhere, still not having the right level of strength to UPLIFT our people…pandering to the wrong crowd…..remaining immersed in some delusional fantasy…waiting for things to get better in a SLAVE SYSTEM….while doing very little to actually make it happen..

an INJUSTICE to those who want to end the colonial cycle of Afrikan destruction…for the next generation and others who are incoming….that none of them seem ot even THINK ABOUT..

23. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“More importantly the real VICIOUS LIAR staring back at you”

i int tief nubody VAT, TREASURY MONEY, or PENSION FUND…..

i int try to SKIM 48 million from the treasury in no vaccine scam…wit the maloney husband…

i int tief no 6 million dollars in VAT…

so much i did not do and THEN LIE TO THE PEOPLE ABOUT IT..

so therefore, there are NO RECEIPTS to prove i LIED to be ELECTED..

told you dummy fowls already am NOT and never will be a public figure…and i don’t do SCUMMY POLITICS..

24. “Now we want to move the poor senior citizens from Beckles Road, so that Chelsea and all the surrounding areas can be “ developed” for de tourists.
    Who do o they think they fooling?”

Anyone with a lil commonsense and genuinely concerned about our senior cutizens would not advocate for them to stay on Beckles Road. A cramped, inadequate building that lacks appropriate access and modern standard features, located right onto a street and therefore exposed to high levels of noise and air pollution, and insufficient outdoor space to provide for example a sensory garden etc. Contrast this to the salubrious Waterford. Transient users v old aged residents. A no brainer! Leff the elderly there and a BU post appears criticising the facility, the same characters would have a different story. Egofowlism on steroids. David I am only trying to save BU from the looney wing.🤣

25. All kinds to make the world spin Enuff. The blogmaster has perfected the art of scrolling.

26. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

@William @Pacha

what should be of VERY GRAVE concern to ALL OF US is that over these MANY, MANY YEARS there have been SO MANY obviously mentally unstable, low intelligence, morally BANKRUPT fowls on the blog RABIDLY attacking everyone in defense of KNOWN CORRUPT GOVERNMENTS…

no one in their right minds would even think of doing that..

can’t have that going into another generation……it’s ugly, retrogressive and distinctly subhuman…

27. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

William…. that same Beckles Rd building has it not been RUN DOWN and an eyesore for HOW MANY DECADES……even worse in the last 4 YEARS…..so could the seniors not have been moved to BETTER accommodations before…LIKE 25 YEARS AGO DURING THE HEIGHT OF TIEFING 1 BILLION DOLLARS WORTH OF VAT THAT COULD HAVE BUILT 50 senior facilities and some for the younger people too…

…they gotta wait for some event or foreign body to buy the property for them to make that decision……long after BILLIONS HAVE BEEN STOLEN…

they want pissing on..

28. William Skinner Avatar

@ WARU
    That property and the area has been there forever and there have been no complaints about noise pollution. The building itself is centrally located and is an institution.
    Do not pay attention to the jokers. The plan is to use the entire area including the current government headquarters on Bay Street.
    Hundreds of people have enjoyed their golden years at that institution. All of a sudden, they pretend they thinking about making life better for seniors by moving them . All they want is that prime piece of real estate.
    Ignore the apologists.

Peace

29. @William

The property is in the worst location for a seniors home.

30. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

” All they want is that prime piece of real estate.”

the 1930s all over again…

.land thieves selling, selling selling….not good for anything else..

31. William Skinner Avatar

How long did it take you to realise that ?

32. Have you ever watched cricket from the YMPC ground?

Have you ever observed the traffic flow 24/7 on Beckles Road?

Have you ever observed the flow of locals in the area?

Does it matter when there was the realization? Things happen with time based on current state of play.

Anyway, you are free to run with your opinion.

33. @NorthernObserver

Thank you for providing clarification on the matter. I looked on the BTII site as suggested to gather further information. I understand the distinction you’re making between, land sale and permission to develop.

Notwithstanding the above.. The matter of permitted development on beachfront land is a particularly troubling issue. What is the purpose and remit of T&C Planning? They permit the best beaches to being lined with hotels and villas, up to the high water mark! In addition, why is the prime minister the arbiter of granting permission, thus making beachfront development a political issue?

Carlise Bay is an area of outstanding natural beauty. It should meticulously landscaped and preserved. there should be no further building development on that beach. None whatsoever!

I think the proposed Hyatt multi-storey eyesore, and the proposed vision of hotel corridor along Bay Street an obscenity. Mr Comissiong has walked away, and the developers are moving in. What is the hell is Mia doing? And why are Bjans not trying to preserve their precious heritage?

34. William Skinner Avatar

Man, that is all baloney. I know that area like the palm of my hand. There were never any complaints about cricket or any activity at YMPC. I know the areas most of the people that occupied that facility came from. I know it is an integral part of the community. I know people who spent their last years there.
    Never heard the kind of trump up nonsense you posited above.
    Just accept that when all the spin is over ,
    this is just about getting the piece of real estate.
    And by the way, next time you want to frame an argument; don’t bring the crap you just asked me.
    Asking me about that area is like asking me about my back yard !
    Pitiful bull shit.
    Move them if you want to but state the reason. The damn land is wanted for development. Just say that and move to hell on.
    Peace

35. Thanks to Lisa here are some CLEARWATER Bay links:

About : Clearwater Bay, St. Michael,St. Michael

Clearwater Bay presents a unique development opportunity on the west coast of Barbados. It occupies 4.5 acres of prime beachfront land just north of the Four Seasons Hotel and Private Villas site and within walking distance to the trendy La Cabane Beach Bar. This prime building site has planning approval for an outstanding development of up to 10 residences, all with views of the blue pristine Caribbean Sea as well as easy access to the beach below. This inviting beach is perfect for long, quiet walks, paddle boarding, swimming, fishing and an array of activities.

The planning approval allows up to seven tri-level townhouses with uninterrupted, breathtaking sea views along with three villas with garden views. This development is surrounded by mature trees and unmatched landscape. Outline plans can be provided. There is a dedicated access to this site and its natural sloping terrain makes for stunning views. This site is one of exceptional quality and presents a once in a lifetime investment opportunity.

https://www.cariblist.com/property_detail?id=106459&for=sale&CCode=BB&address=Clearwater%20Bay,%20St.%20Michael,St.%20Michael,Barbados

About : Clearwater Bay, Batts Rock ,St. Michael

Clearwater Bay presents a unique development opportunity, occupying 4.5 acres of the prime beachfront site just north of the Four Seasons Hotel and Private Villas site. The site has planning approval for outstanding development of up to 10 residences, all with easy access to one of the best Barbados beaches. The planning approval allows up to seven tri-level townhouses with stunning sea views and three villas with garden views. Outline plans can be provided. There is dedicated access to this site and its natural sloping terrain makes for stunning views. This site is one of exceptional quality and presents a unique investment opportunity. Sign – To be cleaned Agent – Anna Lee Directions: Travelling north on Highway 1 keeps left through the Spring Garden roundabout. After the petrol station takes the next left on the new road to Batts Rock. At the bottom of this road, Clearwater Bay is on the right.

https://www.cariblist.com/property_detail?id=104960&for=sale&CCode=BB&address=Clearwater%20Bay,%20Batts%20Rock%20,St.%20Michael,Barbados

36. re All they want is that prime piece of real estate.
    THEY ALSO WANT ALL THE CORAL STONE BLOCKS TOO
    JUST AS THEY TOOK THOSE FROM THE CH CH ALMSHOUSE AT OISTINS AND FROM ST LEONARDS SCHOOL IN 1996
    BARE BOBOL GOING ON IN BRIDGETOWN
    WILL THEY PULL DOWN ST PAUL’S CHURCH TOO? MURDAAH
    WE DEALING WITH SOME SERIOUS ANTIOCHI EPIMANES
    SUCH FOLK ALWAYS DEAL WITH STEALTH

37. @William

This is in the 70s?

38. NorthernObserver Avatar

Those CB listings have been around for years. Is it the same property?
    It always seemed to me, at least early construction, was more opp the round about at the top of Spring Garden Rd, and not where the old Paradise hotel used to be.
    In fact, one day I parked by the Rum Refinery, and walked the beach, and it appeared most of the old Paradise buildings were derelict, and the new construction was beyond them.

39. NorthernObserver Avatar

Similar happened at Sam Lord’s. The newest construction seemed to have missed the area of the old castle, and the blocks of rooms Marriots built, and gone to the northernmost land which was previously unoccupied.

40. @NO

Thanks, simply shared the links sent by Lisa.

41. Who are / were the directors and lawyers of these entities?
    ..Paradise ClearWater 88
    ..Pharticiple
    ..Four Seasons etc
    Are these people known and knowable?

42. @Bush Tea

This was an earlier blog you probably missed during your hiatus.

Four Seasons Project: Public Servants Must Serve Taxpayers NOT Politicians

43. Thanks David.

Shiite!!
    It is even worse than Bushie thought!!
    ONLY in brassbados.
    Even the Shri Lankan brothers were not as BLATANT in stealing their people’s money.

Well, we will see how it plays out in coming months when we follow the Shri Lanka path…. when there is no fuel, food or water for the voting masses…

People ALWAYS get exactly what they deserve, Basic Karma…

We owe a debt of gratitude to Northern Observer forsake…!!

44. BTW David
    Asking for a friend…

Would these be the SAME ‘William Layne’, and ‘Margaret Sivers’ of Barbados Revenue Authority fame…?
    …in company with ‘Mr failure’ himself Ian C…
    Appointed to this HIGH MONEY agency Board… after such PISS POOR and SHADY performance on Clearwater and otherwise?

Do you see the ‘rewards’ that our governments hand out for compliance by senior civil servants?
    What does this tell intelligent people about the DUOPOLY?

No doubt they will soon be made ‘Most honorable’ in keeping with recent Radical outcomes.

The place has been FOUND WANTING BY THE CREATOR ….and the writing is on the wall….

Not because of the lotta CROOKS in high places, …BUT because of the HOARDS of brass bowls who are turning a blind eye to this CLEAR WICKEDNESS IN HIGH PLACES.

Mene, mene, tekel, upharsin….

45. @Bush Tea

If the blogmaster is correct Layne and Sivers were considered star performers. It seems IC is similarly regarded.

46. Bushie’s point exactly.
    Who do you think Al Capone or The Godfather would consider ‘star performers’?

Tells us EXACTLY where we are….

47. “That property and the area has been there forever and there have been no complaints about noise pollution.”

Whaaaat? I dun!🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

48. William Skinner Avatar

Members of the Barbados Defence Force (BDF) today began a five-month assignment at the Geriatric Hospital, Beckles Road, St. Michael, which will significantly upgrade the physical conditions for the 286 residents.
    Hospital Manager, Heather Payne-Drakes, said that the BDF’s involvement in the project was facilitated by Minister of Health and Wellness, Lt. Col. Jeffrey Bostic, who is a former member of the BDF.
    The rehabilitation work, she explained, was being carried throughout the hospital and would be done on a phased basis. The initial areas being impacted are Units 5A, 6B, 7B, 8B and the day care unit.
    Mrs. Payne-Drakes welcomed “the fantastic partnership” between the hospital and the BDF, noting: “As you can see, the facility is quite dated. Right now we have some leakage, some windows that are out and some doors that are not functioning. We expect that at the end of the renovations the entire ambiance of the hospital will be transformed.
    “We expect that it will be a lot more pleasant for the patients and staff; the colours will be changed and we will not have those environmental issues that accompany the deterioration of the plant,” she said.
    Mrs. Payne-Drakes disclosed that to facilitate the work, some patients have had to be relocated to other sections of the hospital. She advised family and friends wishing to visit to contact the Nursing Administration Unit at 228-2597 so that they could be directed to the appropriate ward.
    Major Lubin Maxwell, the BDF’s Building Rehabilitation Project Manager, is in charge of the work on site. He said his team of 18, including masons, plumbers, electricians, painters and general workers, was working with a team of artisans from the Ministry of Health and Wellness.
    “The scope of work is to renovate and rehabilitate the wards, both internally and externally, with work on each block scheduled to last 20 weeks.”
    Major Maxwell said that while the BDF officers would take a break to facilitate their involvement in the upcoming Remembrance Day and Independence Day Parades, the work will continue during that period with the artisans from the Ministry of Health and Wellness.
    He said that the BDF officers were very appreciative of the contribution made to Barbados in the past by the elderly population and were honoured to be part of a project to improve their quality of life.
    joy.springer@barbados.gov.bb

Now this extensive work was done starting sometime in August 2018
    However a short three years later or even less than three years, we were told the patients will get a new facility.
    What will happen to one of the most beautiful buildings constructed in the 1900s.
    Who will really benefit from this decision.
    Note that at no time was there any mention about noise pollution or any other issues now being raised.

49. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Willim;….one BILLION DOLLARS OF STOLEN VAT….could have built SEVERAL MORE INSTITUTIONS for the aging population…with new age facilities..

who TIEF IT…….ask the fowl brigade, could only be the SCAMMERS SCAMMING…as ususal.

Northern…the whole thing is one big dump, people cry when they see the condition..

.ask the LAWYER FOR THE CROOKS…what happened.

William…apparently they don’t know that’s your stomping ground..

Leave a Reply to African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights ReservedCancel reply