The death of the Lovell family formerly of Breezy Hill, St. Philip continues to be a talking point. The event as reported is unusual for Barbados not accustomed to a family that included young children perishing in questionable circumstances. The blogmaster will resist speculating about how the event occurred.

However, it is interesting to note one of the deceased persons was lawyer Allison Alexander-Lovell who was sanctioned by the Disciplinary Committee for withholding $160,000 of client’s monies in 2016. It is reported she was due to reappear in Court this week on the matter.

The blogmaster as a human being joins the majority of Barbadians who are sorry the Lovell family met untimely deaths. However, it has not gone unnoticed the ire many Barbadians have taken the opportunity to direct at lawyers. For many years lawyers have been known to sit on clients funds and important legal documents for unreasonably lengthy periods; sometimes for always without fear of being sanctioned by the Barbados Bar Association and Disciplinary Committee. 

The fact that successive governments have been composed of members of the legal profession has stoked public cynicism that this is a profession that is about preserving the establishment and the way it does business at any cost. The blogmaster has cited too many examples since its inception in 2006. One of the more blatant examples is a sitting Speaker of the House Michael Carrington who had to be ordered by the high court to surrender monies to a septuagenarian former client without having to step down from serving as Speaker of the House of Assembly AND with the blessing of then prime minister Freundel Stuart. You cannot make this stuff up.

Members of the legal profession in Barbados should be aware of what is referred to as the ‘tipping point’ – ‘defined as the point at which a series of small changes or incidents become significant enough to cause a larger, more important change’. Let it not be stated this blogmaster is stoking ‘insurrection’ against the legal fraternity, the blogmaster has friends and family who are members. Notwithstanding the affinity, rising anti-lawyer sentiment in the country is real and will not take many more changes to set the cat amongst the pigeons. 

We are living in harsh economic times, citizens will not continue to be docile while access to money and property are withheld from them by greedy, corrupt lawyers. The time has long past for the Barbados Bar Association and Disciplinary Committee to switch from PR mode to one of policing its members in the interest of the public it serves. There is also a role for government as policy maker to protect the public it swore to serve.

184 responses to “Death of Lawyer Sparks Wrath!”

1. For personal injury judgments and settlements, two cheques can be issued, one for the attorney’s fees and the other to the client. That already happens in a few cases.

There is absolutely no reason for it to be done in any other way.

2. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Pacha….seems like someone assassinated the former Japanese PM…dropped him dead..

“This thievery of client funds will only stop when the politicians pass a law requiring all proceeds from sales and settlements can only be disbursed to the client.

Lawyers can then invoice the client for their fees and expenses.”

It’s the clients have to DEMAND THEIR CHECK….in their name…from the lawyers…politicians WILL NEVER DO IT…..most are lawyers themselves and handle personal injury cases….and have BAD TRACK RECORDS with client’s funds..

if the lawyer THINKS that the clients don’t know this, that they can DEMAND THE CHECK IN THEIR NAMES…. they will arrange for the check to go in their names instead…….and TIEF THE MONEY..

YOU HAVE TO KNOW YOUR RIGHTS AS A CLIENT….i keep telling people tak some legal courses..

3. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Still makes you wonder why they did not ride it out, they had an option to move to Trinidad.

there are lawyers in Barbados accused of STEALING billion dollar properties AND TENS OF MILLIONS of client’s money…been going on for DECADES..

“But the killing of the two children leads me more to believing some outside party perpetrated the crime.”

if the family can afford a private autopsy….but there is a track record of HIDING/DISPOSING OF BODY ORGANS to hide crimes……….which would easily tell if they were all dead before the fire…if they get the organs back and can have an independent autopsy, then we will know..

if they dispose of the organs….we will know something else happened…

4. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

*YOU DO KNOW THAT THE BARBADOS ARCHIVES EXIST RIGHT

can’t believe some of you have lived on the island for 70 and 80 YEARS and don’t know shit that goes on in it…
    maybe too busy GOSSIPING ABOUT EACH OTHER’S BUSINESS…

but then again, ya ate the black belly sheep for 400 YEARS…and never knew it was part Afrikan and part English….so nothing will surprise anyone about ya lack of knowledge…

5. Detective Colombo Avatar
    Detective Colombo

@Donna, the old car was giving some trouble. My good friend religion and the belief in the afterlife is a very plausible factor in why I concluded murder suicide. No parent who really love their children will kill them. The act was selfish and cruel. Me hope their were given sleeping pills and not the horrible portion of poison.

6. Detective Colombo Avatar
    Detective Colombo

To all in Barbados, my findings have confirmed fraud in very widespread in Barbados and not only junior lawyers are guilty but Senior Counsels formerly QCs. I am concerned that if an independent body of citizens do not put pressure on lawyers… something more drastic may happen.

Sadly, I have also uncovered a link between gun related crimes in America and reactionary murders among the youth in Barbados. About to work on a file on a major corruption in government tendering process and have a coffee.

7. “formerly QCs”
    Who dem? Even disbarment doesn’t guarantee loss of QC

8. Society in general would like this sad event to be a muder-suicide executed by one of the family adults.
    If only because the alternatives are far less palatable.

9. William Skinner Avatar

A man once told me that the majority of young lawyers he knows in the USA drive second hand economy cars trying hard to pay back their student loans and hang out in the courts daily trying to get a case or two to pay their rent.
    He told me young lawyers called to the bar in Bim want to own a luxury car plantation house and mansion six months after graduation. They don’t even have to worry about student loans.
    I told him he talking bear shite.
    Interesting………….

10. Frank,

I don’t wish it to be anything at all. There are hitmen in Barbados. Sometimes a Jamaican one passes through. That is well known. As to the lawyer being killed to hush her up – why would anyone think she was about to blab on anybody or anything?

The women’s section at Dodds is quite comfortable, I imagine. Not crowded. Not many murderers or violent women. Feuding gang members – zilch.

Even so…. she has Vonda the Deacon’s Brave for protection. And the Parris girl for pleasant company.

What would she have to gain by blabbing? Do we do sentence reductions for blabbing on non-related matters?

Nothing to gain and one’s life to lose.

More likely that somebody cracked under the strain. They couldn’t see the light at the end of the tunnel.

Detective Columbo,

Miss Marple perceives that you do not understand that desperate persons often enter a state where their thought processes are not normal.

Yes, in these circumstances, one can kill one’s child out of TRUE LOVE, when one’s thinking is unhinged.

What is selfish about it? What would be his gain?

And yes, I did say his. It is most likely.

We shall see what we shall see.

11. Detective Colombo Avatar
    Detective Colombo

@Donna, are you questioning my expertise?

12. Detective Columbo,

That’s Miss Marple to you.

In defining “true love” and the things desperate people can do for true love’s sake – YUP!

There is nothing to suggest that these children were not truly loved. Quite the contrary. They were “neatly” and my guess is LOVINGLY arranged on the bed. ALL TOGETHER IN DEATH AS IN LIFE.

No more suffering. No more pain.

But…..we shall see what we shall see.

13. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“He told me young lawyers called to the bar in Bim want to own a luxury car plantation house and mansion six months after graduation. ”

slave master wannabes, bunch of liars frauds and thieves, it’s like a disease..

..is not one currently sitting at Dodds waiting sentencing for theft….and the big plantation he got sitting where it has always been from the 1700s or thereabout…and if evabody he tief from come and litigate cases against him…. ALL AT THE SAME TIME…that one will never get out of prison..

the other one sitting there gotta watch herself too, there is a congoline of aggrieved clients.

…that’s their only goals in life,,,tief, buy a plantation, or steal it…AND PRETEND…

they took the slave master criminality too seriously as the only career available..

14. @ CA
    This thievery of client funds will only stop when the politicians pass a law requiring all proceeds from sales and settlements can only be disbursed to the client.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Boss… It is TOO far gone to be stopped…

..Too many people would have to be charged…
    ..There would NOT be Enuff lawyers, judges, or other legal officials left back to do the cases
    …and we don’t have that sorta space at Dodds anyhow, so they would have to be on bail…
    …and BY LAW, lawyers MUST be employed in CRITICAL AGENCIES, so they would have to judge themselves
    …plus, only lawyers (and Caswell) can interpret the shiite laws we have bout here – they are not written in normal English

So after all the chaos, we would be back to square one, with the Foxes running the chicken coop…

We may as well just accept that we have been screwed….and that lawyers MUST have their mortgage and BMWs funded by clients who have NO CHOICE but to hand them our $$$$….

It is too far gone for brass bowls….
    BUT it will all come crashing down just now, …in the coming chaos.

15. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

William….don’t worry, the Brits will clean up themselves quite nicely and the new Negros will be the ones left in the steaming, HOT PILE of 100 YEAR OLD crimes….holding the bag…..as Negro criminals….🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

hope they are still not salivating on the reparations SCAM…

16. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

holding the bag

i certainly hope it’s a BIG RED BAG…

17. William Skinner Avatar

@ WARU
    The real problem here is politics. There is no mature leadership on either side. What these new colonialists can’t do is to understand that crisis in education and crime , cannot be successfully handle by blaming each other . And that’s what has been happening in these areas.
    We can get here and pontificate but unless we remove the bread and fish politics out of the equation , the problems in education and crime will , to a large extent, remain unsolved and unresolved.
    There are really no adults in the room.
    Topless and bottom out.
    Party time.

18. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“What these new colonialists can’t do is to understand that crisis in education and crime , ”

apparently they don’t understand the crisis CAUSED by those who FUND THE POVERTY, GUNS AND DRUGS on the island either and have from the 1980s…..a cartel curse wreaking HAVOC on the island..

…..teets was having a good old laugh at it while pretending he knows nothing…

19. @ WARU
    The real problem here is politics. There is no mature leadership on either side. What these new colonialists can’t do is to understand that crisis in education and crime , cannot be successfully handle by blaming each other .

XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

WILLIAM

STOP DAMN COMPLAINING AS A BLACK PERSON YOU LIVE IN THE US WHERE EVERYTHING IS HORRIBLE WHEN COMPARED TO THE PARADISE FOR BLACK PEOPLE ON THE 2 X 3 ISLAND.

20. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

These are the same FRAUDS had us believing since we were young that it was UK doing all of this, and they were being FORCED….

BUT…now all their dirty fingerprints were FOUND ALL OVER THE POVERTY, GUNS AND DRUGS CRIME SCENES…they still believe they can slither, joke and LIE THEIR WAY OUT OF IT..

21. William Skinner Avatar

@ BAJE
    Ah jus’ trying to get dem to accept muh. So ah trying de lil complaining ting. Next ting yuh hear is dat I get deported and ah bring back de crime wid muh or dat being a St Michael man, ah responsible fuh de crime.
    Baje, lef muh and leh muh get accepted in me own country nuh.
    Tanks.

22. @Wiliiam

Sometimes less is more. At your age and experience you should try to lift the debate instead of these irrelevant interventions. Time is precious. Has the blogmaster asked you if you wear a bullet proof vest when visiting the Mall?

Steuspe

23. William Skinner Avatar

I actually do . Especially at Sheraton lol

24. Baje, lef muh and leh muh get accepted in me own country nuh.

XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

WILLIAM

YOU ARE DOING A GREAT JOB.

DON’T LET THE SHORT SIGHTED PEOPLE DISSUADE YOU FROM TELLING THE TRUTH.

25. @Sarge
    “I haven’t seen any instances of the Courts ordering restitution to victims of lawyer theft, which essentially means that when lawyers are convicted, they will serve their time and on release, they get to enjoy the fruits of their ill-gotten gains.”

This is why I wonder if these trials are not one big charade; if this is how the .money is washed and shared. The crooked lawyer’s legal representative (really an accomplice) receives his share of the spoil as legal fees..

Still puzzled about the role of the judge

26. By the way, who is the “we” forced to fund the lawyers’ excessive lifestyle?

Not Stinking Donna!

“High win’ know weh ole house live an’ duppy know who tuh frighten.”

27. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

More and more info is coming out about that explosion..

.let’s see if the official version is the same..

28. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@Donna July 8, 2022 5:55 AM “But why is it hard to believe that parents would kill their children when they consider the future that the children would face? Such desperate parents would rather close their eyes knowing that the children would not be suffering without their protection.”

None of us can see around a corner.

Who says that children raised by other than their parents suffer? Don’t we know that some foster and/or adoptive parents are better parents than biological parents?

If the children were murdered by their parents [and I don’t know the facts] before another child dies parents should know that they can surrender their children to the Child Care Board. Both my sister and I have long term fostered. Two of my cousins worked with the Child Care Board for decades, looking after children who come to daycare, and looking after children who came to live in a children’s homes.

Perhaps it is hubris which would lead biological parents to believe that they are the only people capable of providing excellent care for their children.

That belief is false.

29. Cuhdear Bajan,

Did you miss the part where I spoke about desperate people not thinking clearly?

30. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

Donna

Nope. I missed nothing. I rarely miss anything.

But people rarely reach a state of desperation in a moment.

All too often hubris prevents us from reaching out for help when we first realise that things are beginning to fall apart.

I this world we are rarely alone, unless we choose to be alone.

31. The following extracted from Nation columnist Michelle Russell’s column.

Finally, Barbados was rocked by a tragedy this week which shocked us all. I was particularly shaken as it involved two of my close friends of over 20 years and their children. Due to the circumstances surrounding their untimely demise and the allegations of professional misconduct that preceded, I understand why some who mourn them have sought to do so quietly. It’s neither a simple nor easy situation. It has been a confusing time and I have experienced a whirlwind of emotions. Even if I didn’t agree with everything they did in their lifetimes, I will still hold them fondly in my heart.
    They were with me through some of my darkest times and they helped me when I was too broken to help myself and when no one else would. There’s so much about them many don’t know, except the sole narrative that is promoted in the media. But that is not all they were. I also understand why that is all some can see and why some are enraged. As I often say, we must remember that more than one seemingly opposite thing can be true at the same time. Nevertheless, I mourn their loss and send my condolences to those they left behind, and for matters left unresolved. Goodbye my dear friends.

Michelle M. Russell is an attorney with a passion for employment law and labour matters and is a social activist. Email: mrussell.ja@icloud.com.

32. Whatever became of the murders of suspended attorney-at-law Allison Lovell and her family?

33. Adrian the matter appears to be unsolved to this point.