The latest chatter on the local newsfeed is about Barbados’ scheduled repayment of $928 million dollars by end of 2029. To avoid attracting the wrath of government’s senior economic advisor Dr. Kevin Greenidge, Barbados borrowed $870 million since 2018, the difference of $58 million is interest due supporting Greenidge’s argument that IMF money is the cheapest in town if compared to what is available on the open capital market. 

The blogmaster is happy to observe the concern being expressed by all and sundry about the accumulation of the public debt- foreign and local- by the BLP government since 2018. However, we should not forget how we got here.

Successive governments have been responsible for our current debt level which is reported to be about $13 billion. Barbadians have been reassured by Greenidge the $870 millions borrowed from the IMF represents a small 6.4% of total debt. Wonderful. The government has stoutly defended the borrowing by reminding the debt level was 18 billion when the Mottley government took office in 2018. Ideally if the pay down was from earnings, we could be satisfied the country was positively addressing repayment BUT it was largely due to a debt restructure.

We read retired professor UWI Michael Howard skepticism presented in the press this week and Dr. Robinson had his say in today’s Nation. The debt is too high. However given the design and current state of the local economy it is a problem we will have to tolerate for a generation or two IF corrective measures are taken now. 

A more immediate concern is protecting the health of the foreign reserves. The longer the conflict between Ukraine and Russia continues and serves to undermine the global financial market and disrupt global supplies to small island developing states, there is a chance of foreign reserves being compromised. It was reported the increase in import cost of fuel for Q1’22 compared to last year was significant. The the root of the debt accumulated is successive governments lazily satisfying the conspicuous consumption behaviour of citizens. Citizens have skin in this game.

The crisis that is unfolding in Sri Lanka should remind small developing countries like Barbados what is possible. This week the government of Sri Lanka banned the sale of fuel for two weeks. A person does not have to be ‘smart’ to understand the implications of making such a drastic decision. 

Sri Lanka suspends fuel sales for two weeks as economic crisis worsens

Ban on sales to everything except essential services comes as nation tries to conserve fuel supplies that are barely enough to last a single day

A Sri Lankan security official stands guard outside a fuel station that ran out of petrol in Colombo, Sri Lanka on Monday.

A Sri Lankan security official stands guard outside a fuel station that ran out of petrol in Colombo, Sri Lanka on Monday. Photograph: AFP/Getty Images

Agence France-PresseTue 28 Jun 2022 01.30 BSTLast modified on Wed 29 Jun 2022 05.10 BST

Cash-strapped Sri Lanka has announced a two-week halt to all fuel sales except for essential services and called for a partial shutdown as its unprecedented economic crisis deepened.

The south Asian nation is facing its worst economic meltdown since gaining independence from Britain in 1948, and has been unable to finance even the imports of essentials since late last year.

As fuel reserves hit rock bottom with supplies barely enough for just one more day, government spokesperson Bandula Gunawardana said the sales ban was to save petrol and diesel for emergencies.

Long queues at the Department of Immigration and Emigration in Battaramulla, Sri Lanka.

Read more

He urged the private sector to let employees work from home as public transport ground to a halt.

“From midnight today, no fuel will be sold except for essential services like the health sector, because we want to conserve the little reserves we have,” Gunawardana said in a prerecorded statement.

He apologised to consumers for the shortages: “We regret the inconvenience caused to the people.”

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2022/jun/28/sri-lanka-suspends-fuel-sales-for-two-weeks-as-economic-crisis-worsens

329 responses to “Barbados: Debt Warning, Foreign Reserves Watch”

1. @Pacha

Would the pandemic have reduced the size of the economy? If you pay more of the dollar to service debt where is the wiggle room to do other things?

Make yourself clear!

2. Pacha
    Help muh here! So “countries [with[ vast resources” and diversified economies had to borrow to deal with the health, social and economic trauma of covid but not Bdos? I am not convinced. Less we forget, the IMF loan was initially in response to the 5-week foreign exchange cover inherited in May 2018. But tell me what you would have done instead of borrowing cheap money? Spend way the forex with tourism shut down for 2 years? Or you like some, saying through one side of yuh mout the government borrowing to prop up reserves then thru the next they can’t see where the money spending?🤣

3. David

From the first time you scolded this writer, all out efforts were made to be pellucid. That was 14 years ago.

Precisely our argument. Because the pandemic would have drastically reduced the revenues, 30 cents out of a dollar of revenues payable towards debt might have been more onerous or not significantly different than 60 cent pre Covid, in relative terms.

PreCovid government costs of operations were relatively stable, we assume. Whereas during Covid all kinds of unanticipated expenditures were incurred while revenues were collapsing.

Hope that this clear enough.

4. @ Pacha

Funny you should mention further defaults because it could well be a possibility where we heading.

Also I wish people would Stop saying ” we good we got X billion in reserves.” No sir what you have is X billion in reserves less Y billion in borrowed FX that must be repaid in hard currency, leaving a net reserve balance we will call Z. What you need to ask, which no one will ever answer is what are our net reserves less loan balances, in other words what is the value of Z? If they frighten to answer that then try this. Over the last 12 months what was the net FX SURPLUS GENERATED by our economy after loan payments and imports ?

In other words in real terms how much fx we lost pun de balance sheet in the last 12 months boss man after we deposit the few tourist dollars and other Fx flows, then buy food, cars, clothes and Henessay, plus pay we Fx loan cost ?

Tell us how much Fx did Bim genuinely generate in surplus of lose in shortfall? I waiting pun the answer, but I ain’t holding my breath for it so don’t get wunna hopes up!

5. Magnificent a.k.a Magno – Yu Heard Formula: C₂₁H₃₀O₂ IUPAC ID: (−)-(6aR,10aR)-6,6,9-trimethyl- 3-pentyl-6a,7,8,10a-tetrahydro- 6H-benzo[c]chromen-1-ol Avatar
    Magnificent a.k.a Magno – Yu Heard Formula: C₂₁H₃₀O₂ IUPAC ID: (−)-(6aR,10aR)-6,6,9-trimethyl- 3-pentyl-6a,7,8,10a-tetrahydro- 6H-benzo[c]chromen-1-ol

“You point about the need to plant new initiatives to fuel growth is taken.”

Sankalpa is the Sanskrit word for intention. San means “to become one with” and kalpa means “time” and “subconscious mind.” In Yoga, we use sankalpa as a way to set an intention, to connect with your heart’s deepest desire.

Another way of looking at “sankalpa” is a vow.
    You repeat your intention in the present tense as if it real 3 times such as
    “I am financially solvent” (having assets in excess of liabilities; able to pay one’s debts.)
    and keep repeating it 3 times every day while meditating until it is true

Moulding a Version (Live)

Moulding Dub Three

6. I believe Miller made the claim that our water resources could be used as a bargaining tool to satisfy the demands of our creditors. Another common bargaining tool used by discredited governments is to hand over vast tracts of their country’s land mass. It was rumoured that an American business man on a visit to Barbados was dumbfounded by the presence of hordes of negroes enjoying themselves on an astonishing beautiful beach. I believe the beach was the one located in Bridgetown. He believed that such a beach was a major asset which needed to be commercialised. Perhaps code for the banning of Barbados black population to this particular gem of a beach.

This government along with others have been illegally selling off people’s land. I had sent a link to Waru in another thread which she probably has not seen: https://whereismyland.org/our-mission/

7. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Don’t know why they love to compare a tiny island with 14W x 21L…285 THOUSAND people with LARGE COUNTRIES carrying 350 MILLION people…..67 MILLION people….37 MILLION people….and VAST RESOUCES AND LAND MASS…

the more people, the BIGGER the problems….

small populations = LESS PROBLEMS…

so imagine how much EASIER it SHOULD BE….as Obama said when in Trinidad, for governments on SMALL ATOLLS…yet they make it seem SO HARD……like it’s rocket science..

At the time he was wishing he had a small island to manage instead of the behemoth of USA…..and voiced what i thought all along……i always sensed that small island leaders tend to make it MUCH HARDER THAN IT SEEMS…part of their BAIT and SWITCH PLOTS….

8. We love semantics in Barbados. I have never heard the words “Cheap Money” used to explain a life changing debt crisis.

9. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

TLSN…saw it, a story followed for a few years now, glad they returned the land to the Bruce family ……since 1912 these people were robbed, their descendants 3 generations removed from that time period now get to enjoy it and the proceeds from renting or sale….

hope it becomes a trend in the USA., they picked up a lot of land owned by Afrikan people based entirely on skin color…some areas and whole developments were covered over and now being found or flooded and still under water…

Barbados owes a lot of descendants the return of their estates, inheritances, bank accounts etc…a hundred years of WORTH OF THEFTS IS WAY TOO LONG…

10. Oh no, Marsha! I cannot listen to anymore of this Sinckler-bashing. Did I not see your boss lady hobnobbing and smiling with her buddy overseas just the other day?

So no, we do not distrust you only because of Sinckler’s “deficiencies”, it is because of bullshit like this.

It is because of lost red bags, “demons” hired as vaccine saviours and Sinkers now thrown a lifeline while the average Bajan is left clutching at straws.

Woman, shut up! Nobody wants to hear you!

Steupse!

11. David,

Man, listening to Marsha Caddle lick any kind of hope that these people can change outta me!

12. I always thought that a small country’s problems should be easier to solve myself.

But… everything in life has its advantages and disadvantages, I suppose.

13. @ Wargeneral June 30, 2022 4:56 PM

“The country currently has about $3b in foreing reserves.”

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

$3b in foreign reserves? How about adding the adjective ‘BORROWED’; and which must be repaid, with interest?

If those forex reserves were made up of genuine surpluses on the country’s foreign exchange account(s) your argument would have been on solid ground.

Our simple shopkeeper friend John A sums up the Bajan predicament quite well @ June 30, 2022 5:54 PM.

How can tourism be the lifesaver for the Bajan economy?

Weren’t tourist arrivals skyrocketing prior to Covid yet Barbados was in a deep financial shi*thole?

Barbadians must be forced to live within their forex earnings means through greater productivity and the export of goods and services (including tourism) or go the way of the dodo bird à la Sri Lanka.
    Yes, Sri Lanka now being dubbed the canary in the coal mine for poor-ass countries with lifestyles like Barbados.

14. John A
    At least it will take a number of year to get back the levels of pre covid flows.

Then the covid and post covid losses will never be recouped.

These losses singly or together cannot be ignored.

In addition, the war in Ukraine and Western responses will have more profound and negative effects on the Barbados economy than anything else, we fear

In the best of times these kinds of interventions, SDs, seem to have a cascading cycle.

15. Now 3B in borrowed money is a badge of honor for a small economy
    Such regurgitating mouthing should be punishable with laughter
    Hard to imagine a woman who was a failure implementing The world Cricket fiasco and Eductech in charge of Barbados economy
    Another teachable moment and lesson learned

16. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

TLSN…this is the story of the land theft from the Bruce family….it’s nearly 100 years ago… All over the US they were stealing land from Afrikan people.

“US Returns $20mn Land to Black Family after Nearly 100 Years

LA County has finally returned land belonging to a black family whose ancestors had used it to set up the West Coast’s first blacks-only resort before California officials seized it in the 1920s.

Willa and Charles Bruce bought the land – now worth $20mn – in Manhattan Beach for $1,225 in 1912. It is now formally owned by their great-great-grandsons, who will now lease it back to the county for an annual rent of $413,000.

The legal heirs hit out at the historical prejudice aimed at their family, claiming “it destroyed them financially. It destroyed their chance at the American dream.”

17. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Pacha…these prefer stay the course – the DEPEND on tourism only trajectory

…don’t look for any improvements…

they will tell you they have no choice,

they don’t know how to do otherwise,

they will have to HIRE more consultants…

.the excuses will be endless..all the while, no thought will be given to how it is destroying the population’s future…when their presence is seen only useful for paying down the islands debts CREATED BY nuisance management and their friends…with their 2nd economy and PENCHANT FOR STEALING FROM THE 1st…

18. @ Enuff
    “Help muh here! So “countries [with[ vast resources” and diversified economies had to borrow to deal with the health, social and economic trauma of covid but not Bdos? I am not convinced.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Don’t let Bushie down AGAIN here…
    So you REALLY don’t see a difference between a fella who own a big plantation borrowing some money from his bank to tide over the Covid plandemic …
    ….and a poor, unemployed, brass bowl who already have a credit union loan to pay back, and whose donkey is headed well up the debt creek?
    SMH

19. Bushie

Enuff is blinded by his devotion to party, above all else. Even logic.

20. @BT
    That is almost like a parable.

21. @ TheO
    You is a gallows bait…? 🙂 …no bible similes!!!
    You looking to mek Pacha cuss the bushman AGAIN..?

But cussing a bushman is like throwing water on a duck…… ha

22. Interesting article in today’s Nation, blogmaster highlighted interesting parts.

Cummins clears air on loans

Government Senator Lisa Cummins says that the Democratic Labour Party administration signed a loan contract with the Chinese government that would see them claiming ownership of a port and airport if there was a default in repayment.

Cummins was wrapping up debate on the resolution Special Loans Act Cap 105 Scotland District Road Rehabilitation in the Senate Wednesday on the borrowing of $256 million from Export/ Import Bank of China.

Her comments, which came as she lauded her Government’s advisory team, were also in response to remarks made earlier by Independent Senator Kevin Boyce in relation to the said loan.

“In the last Parliament this administration came under heavy, heavy fire for recruiting and retaining an economic advisory team . . . and they were roundly vilified in this country.

I would like to take this opportunity to say where Barbados is now is a significant credit to the public officials who have worked on that team in the Ministry of Finance and Economic Affairs,” Cummins said.

“I want to respond to Senator Boyce. I am sorry he has spoken and ran away without having the benefit of a response . . . . Mr President, in 2016 the Government of Barbados – the previous Democratic Labour Party administration, did borrow [US] $170 million from the same bank at two and a half per cent.

Mr President, there is a provision within this loan agreement that this administration spent a lot of time navigating because of that 2016 loan, under the Democratic Labour Party administration, that put Barbados in a position – and I wantpeople to hear me clearly – where sovereign assets owned by the state were liable to be picked and owned by a foreign entity if there was a default on the loan,” Cummins said as she repeated her statement and noted that the assets included “a port, an airport . . . anything to be picked”.

State assets

She said the current BarbadosLabour Party agreement for the Scotland District Loan had ensured there was a clause that guaranteed“sovereign immunity for all state assets and . . . therefore when Senator Boyce went down the lineabout general reserves and assets of Barbados and charges to the Consolidated

Fund, this loan is charged to the Consolidated Fund because it is not charged to our ports or airport or any of our sovereign assets”.

Speaking earlier during the debate, Boyce had noted that China had become the biggest lender of credit in the world through its Export/Import bank, a government development bank.

“And I think that persons who have concerns should be reminded that we had previously borrowed from this entity in a form and fashion $170 million for the Sam Lord’s Project – a project that is nearing its climax, and I am sure to see all members in attendance as we celebrate.

“And I think it is a sign of a mature and reasonable Government that whence it was in the past that projects started by one administration were not as easily embraced, that we see the Sam Lord’s project taken within the development of Government policy.

And that is to be commended,” Boyce said.

He said there was commentary regarding “the rate that is now two per cent and we must think about the confidence that is had in the economy and commend the economic advisors. And I think I would like to echo those sentiments. However, when we borrowed the $170 million dollars back in 2017 or was it 2016, the rate was two and ahalf per cent”. Boyce said on examination of the Special Loans Act “and how it has moved over the years we see that the money borrowed is charged on the general reserves and assets of Barbados . . . which would understandably make someone raise a query”.

Boyce said the money was being borrowed for development for the roads in the Scotland District and “I don’t think anyone would say this project is not to move forward”. (JS)

23. The importance of this matter the blogmaster will avoid updating the blog today.

24. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

When you have NO VISION……you sign a contract that is KNOWN there will be DEFAULT…oh well…..

2 more entities gone IF THEY CANNOT PAY…they claim they can so we wait them out..

are their anymore left?

and fowls and pimps still put their confidence, lives and wellbeing of their families in these frauds and liars hands….go right ahead.

“Enuff is blinded by his devotion to party, above all else. Even logic.”

as are all those who have for the last hundred years sniffed around political parties…and signed on to be the dumbest people alive…

25. Are u aware that ur bu bestfriend was once a member of a political party and ran for office ?

26. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

If you are talking about William…it’s no secret…but at least he is GROUNDED MENTALLY…and THINKS INDEPENDENTLY ….

27. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

yall don’t have any viable ideas outside of the negative?

…i just gave Lisa one, at least try to match it..

.if she can get it off the ground, it reduces the chances of more problems developing for the elderly and their families going forward…..and ELIMINATES at least 75% of the current ones…

28. Drum roll please
    Yuh heard it first on bu

Prime Minister Mia Mottley has dismissed concerns raised over the country’s ability to repay a massive International Monetary Fund (IMF) debt in a seven-yeartime span, saying the country had the capacity to fulfil its obligation.

29. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

No one in their right minds would believe LIVING IN DEBT PERMANENTLY is natural……no, it’s NOT…

Pacha and William….can’t understand why none of the uppity can see what this is….it’s a PERMANENT DEBT TRAP…no getting out of it….unless you remove yourself…

much prefer LEAVE those in the parliament and their minority friends to ROT IN IT…right where they belong for creating it…

30. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Well…if we were in doubt before that ALL CRYPTO CURRENCIES are SCAMS, unless backed by something tangible or you will LOSE ALL YOUR MONEY without recovery……..not anymore….the hackers are picking up everything…

“North Korean Hackers Suspected of $100mn Crypto Heist

Multiple security firms have raised suspicions that North Korea was behind the theft of around $100mn in cryptocurrency from a US firm last week based on how the thieves have apparently attempted to launder the money.

If true, it would be the eighth crypto theft attributed to Pyongyang this year and would take their total of stolen funds over $1bn, more than 60% of all global cases in 2022.

The US Treasury has blamed the DPRK govt for one of the largest crypto heists in history in March – when $615mn was taken.”

31. Waru

You should forgive them about notions of eternsl debt bandage for it is just a 21st century system of slavery.

Only slaves talk that way. Slaves who would presume that paying more money to get out of debt faster is worse than paying less on more debt to stay in longer. This ignorance, double-speak about “fiscal space” as delivered from Washington. And we walk around with “pride” no industry, saying that Bajans smarter than the rest.

Anybody making that argument, and this writer knows not who it is, is a slave. And a mindless female rabbit.

On crypto
    It was already on the ropes. This robbery delivers a near death blow. Real money, backed by real resources, will plane its coffin board.

At least Mottley did not let Adams do any shiiiiite with that foolishness, it appears.

32. Bondage

33. Every month Senator Cummins reimagines our tourism product. First it was the terrible slogan, then the less terrible slogan, then it was the bookbarbados website (that had the highest prices of all the booking sites), then it was challenging hoteliers to build a brand like Sandals, then it was the visit barbados post card. All useless initiatives. In the private sector we call someone who jumps from idea to idea with no evidence of success a grifter. But let’s be fair, all the other ministers are in the same boat as Lisa, problem is Lisa is always on TV

34. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“You should forgive them about notions of eternal debt bondage for it is just a 21st century system of slavery.

Only slaves talk that way.”

yep…ya keep telling them, and they keep pretending they are offended WHILE DEEPLY ENTRENCHED IN A SLAVE SYSTEM….that they are so proud of..

“”As long as you are dependent on other people solely for your jobs, your house, the cleaning of your streets, the education of your children, the image you see on television, or the image of God in your Church, you can cut it any way you want to, you are a slave.”

John Henrik Clarke

35. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“At least Mottley did not let Adams do any shiiiiite with that foolishness, it appears.”

it’s just that no one paid attention to them so it did not get off the ground then, but recently, about a month ago, they were gushing all over the news about another crypto scam involving the central bank…..same questionable players that ya can’t trust…

36. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Imagine getting involved with any of them….and losing every penny you have…in these times…

first thing Nigeria did was BAN all digital currencies, save for the one they launched….can’t give new age thieves any foothold…

37. @Redguard

You left out the fix for Regional transportation by creating a model similar to Singapore Airlines

About the frequent appearances on TV, you have to admit that she is photogenic.

38. Are we suggesting Lisa Cummins is the equivalent to DLP’s former poster girl Esther Byer-Suckoo?

39. @ Sargeant,

BarbadosToday online pages 26 to 44.

40. @Hants

Wuh you and “David” want to put me in? I know you have an eye for the ladies but every young person in Barbados calls me “Daddy” now, I take as a term of endearment but really they mean “you old fossil”.

41. @Sargeant

The use of old and fossil is overkill.

42. Bushie + Pachamama
    So only people in big countries experienced unemoyment brought on by covid? Only peeps in big countries needed oxygen, hospital care etc? Only people in big countries needed governments’ direct assistance to cope with reduced household incomes? Well the evidence suggests otherwise. At the end of December 2020, the IMF had loaned $1.9B to SIDS. Trinidad, Jamaica, Antigua, Suriname, Belize Grenada, SVG, Dominica and St.Lucia all borrowed. Small islands in the Pacific borrowed. Many SIDS, already near the brink prior to Covid, are now facing liquidity issues. Notably, nobody still can’t tell me what alternative approach they would have employed. Don’t borrow and lick out the dwindling reserves or starve?

43. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Pacha…i thought these had ALL THE ANSWERS….

“we got this”

“many hands make light work”

they can move the sun and the moon into various positions. and pay consultants tens of MILLION OF DOLLARS to do it for them too…

now we hear bout “reserves could get lick out and people could starve”

what a difference 4 YEARS MAKES….

44. @enuff

We received 235million in covid support. How does it sway the concern about debt load?

45. Enuff

You are an expert in dealing with one side of the macroeconomic equation. You either have no understanding that that side must also be accompanied by, hopefully, a countervailing arithmetic.

That arithmetic must be based on economic actions capable of at least balancing the equation.

You should tell us, given all the tales of woe constantly being exhibited by you and your government, what has Mottley done differently to balance the macroeconomic equation, given all these knowns.

We already know all the problems. Your preoccupation with they regurgitation, as if to rest on the sympathies of a misguided public, is staid and wins not any conception of the future, except one characterized by cultural death, dystopia!

46. Waru

Within a political culture where people like Enuff are always willing to give excessive adulation to the maximum leader those kinds of throw away lines, well rehearsed, will always be able to get his kind to avoid reason or engage critical thinking. This writer has no intention of trying to solve their problem, even if we could.😎

47. But let’s be fair, all the other ministers are in the same boat as Lisa, problem is Lisa is always on TV
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Excellent summary by Redguard.
    What a bunch of clowns. Even animals learn from previous mistakes and try a different approach…. yuh would think that MINISTERS would seek a new approach – preferable one rooted in intelligent thought.

@ Enuff
    You need to go back to your VERY short posts.. least you expose your hand….

As Pacha explains, people don’t get to eat because they are HUNGRY, they get to eat because SOMEBODY sweated and put in the work. You keep parroting your supreme leader in your thinking that Bajans MUST eat at ANY cost. But the REALITY of life is that the REAL challenge is to get Bajans PRODUCTIVE.
    Unfortunately this requires competence, vision, hard work, HONESTY, and GETTING RESULTS.

Alternatively, you have to BORROW….and borrow….and borrow….like us…

48. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Pacha…they better solve their OWN problems THAT THEY CREATED….lol

Leave a Reply to TheOGazertsCancel reply