As with all issues, this emotional issue has two sides. Based on the reactions of both sides, they are not listening to each-other. Insulting those with whom you disagree has become common, but there is a better way to resolve contrary opinions on any issue – the way of discussion.

Why do mothers choose Abortion? They are essentially three categories of reasons.

REASONS FOR CHOOSING ABORTION.

The first, and most common category, is for the convenience of the mother at the time of pregnancy. Inconvenient reasons include the mother’s: age, education, poverty, physical state, mental state, emotional state, etc.

The second category is that the baby is wanted, but the mother’s life is in danger if the baby continues to live during the pregnancy. Therefore, a difficult choice must be made between saving the mother’s life or saving the child’s. The third category is that the baby will not be able to survive independently as an adult.

THE OTHER SIDE OF THE ISSUE.

The other side of this issue is the belief that each person has an eternal soul from the moment of conception. That soul cannot be destroyed. To those who believe this, abortion for convenience is the murder of their fellow human beings.

We are normally concerned when we hear about students being killed in a school shooting in the US, or the slaughter of civilians in the war in Ukraine. We are concerned because we see the victims as our fellow human beings. Slavery worked across generations because our fore-parents were perceived as less than human – and not the victims.

LISTENING TO EACH OTHER.

Both sides of this issue may feel the trauma of a mother, who is faced with the decision of aborting her baby so that she may live. Anyone may express an opinion on this matter. But only the mother has the right to make the final decision – which should never be judged by another human being. In Florida (where such statistics are measured), this amounted to 0.2% of abortions in 2020.

If a woman is raped, then again, while anyone may express an opinion on this matter, only the mother has the right to make the final decision. In Florida, rape and incest amounted to 0.16% of abortions in 2020.

If a baby is unable to develop to live independently, then the community must decide whether they will materially support those children from the cradle to the grave. That decision should help the mother make her decision. In Florida, serious abnormality of the baby amounted to 0.98% of abortions in 2020. Abortion for convenience consists of over 95% of the abortions in the US.

BARBADOS AND THE USA.

In Barbados, abortion for convenience is illegal [1]. Abortion is only allowed: (i) if the mother may die or be gravely injured by continuing the pregnancy, (ii) for rape or incest, or (iii) if the child were born, he/she would be seriously handicapped.

Barbados materially supports the disabled community. Barbados has also determined that a person has the right to life from the moment of conception, and no person can be arbitrarily deprived of that right [2].

Regardless of your opinion on abortion, we should pause to remember the over 60 million babies in the US, that were aborted for convenience since 1973 – when abortion for convenience was made legal. It was easy for adults to justify those abortions, once they convinced themselves that children still in their mothers’ wombs had no right to live.

Grenville Phillips II is a Chartered Structural Engineer. He can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

[1] Medical Termination of Pregnancy Act, Section 4.
[2] American Convention on Human Rights, Article 4.

126 responses to “The Abortion Issue”

1. Cuhdear Bajan,

Even somewhat later miscarriages that are quietly mourned tend not to have funerals. The hospital incinerator is the resting place, I believe, for most. The parents don’t even want to look at the lizard looking thing. They’d probably be horrified.

Now, if it looked like a human being, they would want to see.

Bingo!

My mother had a miscarriage after she was visibly showing. I remember it well, though I could not have been more than ten years old.

We never mourned. We never even spoke of it again. I only just remembered it.

Mind these controllers!

2. Treasures Of The World
    My Nocturne (Treasures Of The World Version)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qJb6fX4BiQ8

3. Skinner
    What you call the new sexual norms are anything but. Merely a political ploy designed by massa as they run out of gimmicks. You shall soon see!

Still, not a question answered.

4. @Magnificent a.k.a Magno etc. “why do woman shave their pussies?”

Women do this???

I’ve never heard of such a thing.

SMH

5. When my eldest child was born only pregnancies which were more than 20 weeks old needed to be reported to the authorities and recorded on a certificate of live birth. The authorities had ZERO interest in any other pregnancy outcomes. There was no state agency to which I had to or could report to that I had aborted, or miscarried etc. before 20 weeks along.

6. @Donna June 29, 2022 11:04 AM “My mother had a miscarriage after she was visibly showing. I remember it well, though I could not have been more than ten years old. We never mourned. We never even spoke of it again.”

So did my mother. She was in her late 40’s [in my family menopause tends to occur mid to late 50’s] and already a mother to 9 living children. That pregnancy was not mourned, was never mentioned again. It is probably that the thing was never born. Other mum might have spent the rest of her life into her old age looking after a severely disabled scarcely human.

Do I mourn that “sibling”

NO.

7. @Critical Analyzer June 29, 2022 7:09 AM “…poor male selection skills…”

Maybe the males are a piss poor collection?

Lol!

Can’t make a silk purse out of an old boar’s ear.

8. I know of an infant who was discovered to have spina bifida.

I see the burial marker where the infant was buried by their parents every time I am in the churchyard.

Different strokes for different folks.

9. People should stop having sex for fun and only perform the deed for procreation.

10. @Critical Analyzer June 29, 2022 7:09 AM “Pregnancy always takes both man and woman consenting unless there is rape or the woman goes to a sperm bank.”

Clearly you have never heard of stealthing?

What is stealthing?? “Non-consensual condom removal, or “stealthing”, is the practice of a man removing a condom during sexual intercourse without consent, when his sex partner has only consented to condom-protected sex. Victims are exposed to potential sexually transmitted infections such as HIV/AIDS, or unwanted pregnancy?
    Source: Wikipedia

11. @Critical Analyzer June 29, 2022 7:21 AM “Here is an article on abortion reasons. It is from a pro-life site but the statistics are good statistics.”

How do you reason that statistics taken from an admittedly biased site are “good statistics”?

12. Employees and Employers
    Some Employers in Red States have announced that they will cover the costs for their female Employees to travel to Blue States to obtain Abortions.
    Their Accounting Departments calculated it would be more cost effective than paying for unproductive Maternity Leave.

13. William Skinner Avatar

You are correct. Your comment about misogyny was obviously not intended for me. Kindly accept my apology.

14. Cuhdear BajanJune 29, 2022 11:48 AM

@Critical Analyzer June 29, 2022 7:09 AM “Pregnancy always takes both man and woman consenting unless there is rape or the woman goes to a sperm bank.”

What is stealthing?? “Non-consensual condom removal, or “stealthing”, is the practice of a man removing a condom during sexual intercourse without consent, when his sex partner has only consented to condom-protected sex. Victims are exposed to potential sexually transmitted infections such as HIV/AIDS, or unwanted pregnancy?

Good idea for you to keep up to date on the various nefarious deeds of men.

You never know when one will pull off a stunt like that on you!!

15. @John June 29, 2022 8:40 AM “0.98% for rape or about 600,000 out of the 60,000,000. 0.16% for incest or about 100,000 out of the 60,0000,000.”

I am glad that those 600,000 + 100,000 were NEVER born. Half of them would probably have been violent and wufless just like their daddies who thought that rape and fooping their own teenage daughter are fun activities.

No country needs hundreds of thousands more potential violent sex offenders.

16. @Miller at 9:18 “They fought against Midian, as the LORD commanded Moses, and killed every man…Now kill all the boys [innocent kids]. And kill every woman who has slept with a man, but save for yourselves every girl who has never slept with a man. (Numbers 31:7,17-18)”

Why is it that musty, stinking, unwashed men always looking for 12 year old girls to foop without consent?

Tell me why?

17. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“Merely a political ploy designed by massa as they run out of gimmicks. You shall soon see!”

lots of ploys and games playing over our heads…..as has been for centuries…better GRAB HOLD OF YOUR OWN DESTINY don’t let it go and REJECT any planned for you without your knowledge and CONSENT….another rape….

Pach….am sure you noticed the recent goings on….for want of a better word……..everything is coming to a head though…

18. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

re abortion…ya know when the ladies take off their shirts and bras….they MEAN BUSINESS….everywhere they are like….get out of our bodies and ABORT the court.

..a bunch of sexless looking retarded men CANNOT decide what we do with our bodies…time to put an end to that…..their arrogance and man made power is consuming them…

19. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

*Pacha

been correcting all morning, before a clown jumps out..lol

20. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@Donna June 29, 2022 10:51 AM “So that what I THINK about modern sexuality and what I FEEL are not yet aligned.”

There is no modern sexuality. There has always been gay men, lesbains, and people as we used to say ac/dc, bi-sexuals. There has always been men who behave “womanish” and women who behave “mannish” In Barbados the term “she-she” was often used.

Although I read a case in the UK media last week where a fellow after “thinking” about it for TWO YEARS decided to have his testicles and penis removed and an artificial vagina created. He said that immediately after the surgery he regretted it. He said that he did not truly understand beforehand that such surgery is life altering. He is now blaming the British National Health Service. He has now returned to living as a man. Yes he is a modern man. One of a kind. If modern humans are homo sapiens sapiens. Clearly this fellow is missing at least one sapiens.

21. What a ting, nuh! The bible and “God” at their best!

Keep the virgins whose whole families you have slaughtered for yourself!

A woman loves to have sex with a man who has brutally butchered her mother, her father and all her siblings before her very eyes!

I am sure the sex was consensual!

#godorderedrape

22. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“He said that immediately after the surgery he regretted it. ”

same thing happening to teenagers…..in metropolis countries, they are getting these gender reassignment surgeries promoted by government departments that are paying……for underage boys and girls to switch sexes……and don’t see that IS SO MUCH WORSE and MORE DESTRUCTIVE THAN ABORTION….of a spot of blood with two eyes…

that’s what they have promoted in the schools and on questionable websites with all these confused CRAZIES misleading people’s children for the last 5-10 years….and of course it’s coming to a copycat island near you…

they are destroying your ALREADY CONFUSED teenagers, but they know what they are doing…

23. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

No…the parents did not know their children were being SET UP in the schools and ONLINE, it’s been ongoing for YEARS…a teacher recently got caught somewhere, can’t remember right now, but parents called for her firing……the first sign that something was going on was when a lot of celebrity kids who are now young adults decided that they wanted to switch sexes….when they were 6 a nd 7 years old…

some parents enabled them in that crap like the bored and empty-headed usually do….some did not reassign their sex and outgrew the crazy, resumed their original identities, but some cut out sex organs and breasts, are now just what they wanted to be as misguided….and REGRET IT..

when the state and schools target your children, they do not stand a chance…that is why Jamaica took the lead and said straight up…not bout hey…

24. Skinner 10 16

There is no evolving or evolutionary process here, given etymology. It’s a mere imperial project not dissimilar to neoliberslism.

A political project buttressed by economy and a large number of sheeple willing to drink the servings of Jim Jones. Indeed, not unlike religion with its doctrinal pretense

25. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

So far…tons of white kids fell into that trap,..they lost a whole generation to that already, collateral damage….

am sure there are others in minority groups, the wannabes…

, have not seen any Afrikan descended fall into that yet, not saying that there were none because i saw a bunch of celebrity males running around in dresses, high heels and doing all kinds of strange things…and ya done know that has a trickle down effect for Afrikan youths who are watching..

26. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved June 29, 2022 1:25 PM ”
    “same thing happening to teenagers…”

The British chappie was 25.

27. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

This from WebMD:

“March 22, 2022 — People who had transitioned to the opposite gender and later decided to reverse their transition shared about how they felt the medical establishment had failed them in a unique Zoom conference earlier this month.”

This from National Library of Medicine
    “Background:
    There is an unknown percentage of transgender and gender non-confirming individuals who undergo gender-affirmation surgeries (GAS) that experience regret. Regret could lead to physical and mental morbidity and questions the appropriateness of these procedures in selected patients. The aim of this study was to evaluate the prevalence of regret in transgender individuals who underwent GAS and evaluate associated factors.”

This from mailonline:

“Hundreds of transgender youths who had gender reassignment surgery wish they hadn’t and want to transition back, says trans rights champion”

so if yall really want to do something for the Afrikan children in Barbados…..don’t care how many gay pride flags they are flying everywhere and are so proud….just remember ……Barbados cannot pay its debts nor feed the people, meaning they cannot pay for reassignment surgery for young people….make sure you speak to parents before that crap ends up in the schools…some idiot funds it…and you can’t get it out of the schools…..

28. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Cuddear…all ages….because you are 25, 28, 30 years old…does not mean you understand what you are doing when you are a follower, not a leader, and following MENTALLY SICK PEOPLE…and those with ulterior motives…

if you check out the articles you will see there are teenagers but also many adults…

29. Waru
    We see that everybody in the world is the same age today – 2022.

Year of birth plus age, equals 2022. A once in a 1000 year event, numerical equation.

If our main man Bushie were here he would have had some metaphysical meaning to so ascribe.

But the lowly Obeah man down the street could only suggest that cosmogeny, of the Ancient conceptual frame, maybe sending a reminder.

30. Age during the year

31. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Yes Pacha….does not happen often but it does happen..

should show them that they are out of control like those who follow them….

……Ra has to haul them in at some time…

32. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

add a year signifying your next birthday…and see…

33. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

I have my opinions about that….

.need to speak to those dudes in the Congo……or the Malian Dogon…

34. William Skinner Avatar

@ Pacha
    You are missing my position all the time. Regardless of whether it is being pushed by the left , the right or those in between it’s upon us and therefore it forms part of the conversation.
    Whether we oppose or embrace it is terribly unimportant to the current discourse.
    I have already read in the local papers that some people are warning us not to sign on to certain trends in schools that are promoting this no gender preference.
    So, while you and I maybe on the same page it does not mean it does not exsist.
    And you ought to know that our leaders will tend to be in the forefront for several different reasons.
    But that’s a discussion that will soon arise anyhow and you know very well why it will be supported.

35. I stand firm in my belief that a person should do with their body whatsoever they wish as long as it does not infringe on another person’s rights. I am yet to determine what rights are taken away from me specifically by virtue of a person being lbgtq.

As such, I am prepared to afford them the same rights I wish to be afforded to control my body and my sexuality. I do not promote lbgtq. I simply advocate for their right to live as they please.

I think people should think loooong and hard before they attempt a major change such as a transition and parents should allow their children to dress and be whatever gender they feel comfortable with but they should not sign off on any irreversible medical procedure.

This decision should be made by the person at the adult stage.

To each his or her own must be good for everyone.

Cuhdear Bajan,

True. Only transgendering is new. What I meant was a modern inclusive approach to sexuality.

36. Skinns

De way yuh write dah ………… gotta reinstate your knighthood.😎

Has it not been always part of the ‘conversation’?

The real question is why now, at this auspicious historical moment?

Has it not always ‘exist’ – Ed?

37. JohnJune 29, 2022 12:16 PM

Cuhdear BajanJune 29, 2022 11:48 AM

@Critical Analyzer June 29, 2022 7:09 AM “Pregnancy always takes both man and woman consenting unless there is rape or the woman goes to a sperm bank.”

Good idea for you to keep up to date on the various nefarious deeds of men.

You never know when one will pull off a stunt like that on you!!

I seem to remember you expressed an interest in certain methods a while back to improve worn out body parts.

Came across this and I would urge caution.

Of course, if you listen to Wendy’s sister, it is your body and you can do with it as you please but sometimes, things can go wrong.

38. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Only minority women seem to have such problems…

.healthy Afrikan women don’t…

have never ever heard an Afrikan woman say she had to rejuvenate her vagina..

….what have these been doing and getting up to with theirs that it needs rejuvenation…it’s not an elastic band…

am in my 60s, someone will have to explain to me the reason…where did this come from….

39. Off message:
    R. Kelly given 30 years prison sentence. His wings have been clipped.

40. You can’t roast old duck, it has to be fresh.

Take Back Your Duck

41. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

bad skin that stretches like elastic can be the only answer..

..Afrikan women have no such problem…never heard of it…

42. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

TLSN…..good for him, he has been a pest in women’s lives for his whole life,…..let those big bad dudes in prison pester him for the rest of his…he is now 55 years old and will be someone’s betch…..

saw the other predator got 20 years yesterday for grooming young girls for celebrity rape and got a one way ticket to Danbury…….that one too had a very long run….

43. William Skinner Avatar

@ Pacha
    Do you realise that after 94 years Lamming could not get us to move forward.
    How are we going to move forward if we ignore how the society is evolving.
    We now have the mammoth job of stopping these jokers from using the class room to indoctrinate our young kids into the emerging lifestyles.
    We ignore these things at our own peril.
    This struggle had to be fought on many fronts.

44. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Something has to give William….things just cannot remain the same. imposing what THEY WANT on other people has to end….

45. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

And as for those with their slave plantations and nasty plans for Afrikan people……well, as long as they know that i made the topic an editorial for this month’s Kush Quarterly issue, and that magazine is READ WORLDWIDE……..so let us see any plans that got a WHIFF of enslavement and slave wages for the majority population, and they will see..

totally exhausted from that publication but worth it, i especially wanted to get that article paying tribute to George Lamming out there…….

Pacha….check it out when you have the time..

46. On both these subjects. The denial of the woman’s divine right to control Her body and our world.

And this manufacture of a sexual multipolarity as a political project to mislead by wokeists are the works of White people.

The exceptional Whites often cited here by those who elevate the exception and deny the truth about the general tendencies as historically proven.

Louis Farrakhan, Elijah Mohammad and Malcolm X called the White man The Drvil. And they were and are right.

47. The Church is responsible for the fear that surrounds the subject of sex, which has been a legacy for many generations since Industrial Revolution. It wasn’t always like that before, people enjoyed it, without understanding it as much as they do now, it was considered natural and people would even do it outside of their bedrooms closed doors and out in nature, there wasn’t guilt or dirt associated with it.

48. Queue jumping
    Gay rights is a means of avoiding the more ticklish issue of black rights where both are classified minorities.
    When Brits go to Africa and Commonwealth they will whitesplain prejudice against gays as white noise whataboutery to drown out and cancel black voices arguing about white supremacy and associated crimes.

49. 555

We love White people’s agendas.

This week tens of Afrikans were murdered fleeing starvation on the border of Morocco,

Starvation caused by climate change fueled by the industrial revolution in the West.

Moroccan Arab racists paid for, officially and unofficially, by the Spanish government.

A Spanish regime which has just accepted 110,000 Ukrainians and their families.

But the privations imposed on Afrika cannot be remedied by refugees as legitimized by various conventions.

Not BU. Not any other media in any country known would cover this.

Black lives have never mattered.

50. Pachamama

One thing or two things you forgot when you said Russia was beating Ukraine and it’s Shadow West was:

Whenever Brits lose they will change the rules

Anything America loses they take back again

They have reversed their “non-involvement” and are ganging up and gearing up on Russia (and China) for World War III

Leave a Reply to 555dubstreetCancel reply