First it was the Queen Elizabeth Hospital, and now some heartless Barbadians have found a new dumping facility for their elderly relatives at the Harrison Point COVID-19 Isolation Facility in St Lucy. They are dropping off the senior citizens infected with COVID-19 but are not returning for them after they have recovered…

Emblazoned on the front page of the recent Sunday Sun was the embarrassing news some Barbadians are abandoning elderly family members at healthcare facilities. The latest being the newly outfitted Harrison’s Point. What caught the blogmaster’s attention was the cookie cutter quote attributed to Minister of Elder Affairs Kirk Humphrey – he described the development as concerning, pointing out that the situation was indicative of the work that was needed at the level of the family and government to ensure greater provisions for the elderly within a context of an ageing population …blah blah blah. Is this the same Humphrey who was to lead the new Blue Economy? 

Minister Kirk Humphrey this is a message for you. Have you ever been in the area of Top Rock gas station or Dover, and spotted an old lady with short grey hair, a slight stoop, and seeming confused wandering around talking to herself? If you have, then you would have seen Theresa Castro. 

It was brought to the blogmaster’s attention the elderly lady spends most of the day by Top Rock gas station. From reports, she sleeps in the gallery of her former home (where her daughter currently lives). There is a good Barbadian giving her food and has been trying to source assistance from several if not all of the social services for her. To no avail. It seems she has a mental challenge and is showing signs of dementia. It was reported to the blogmaster the plight of the elderly lady was reported to Minister Kirk Humphrey’s secretary. Up to the time of posting this blog there was no intervention from a single government agency to assist Theresa Castro.

Do you know Minister Kirk Humphrey was quoted in the 19 June 2022 edition of the Nation newspaper he has engaged the Barbados Police Service to assist with those who continue to abuse the elderly? …Blah Blah Blah
Is there any surprise Barbadians have become cynical and apathetic towards politicians?

The blogmaster further understands the plight of Theresa Castro was brought to the attention of the Nation and Barbados Today newspapers, Psychiatric hospital, George Griffith, family members et al- so far there has been no assistance forthcoming for Theresa Castro.

Have we become a soulless a society to ignore a senior citizen in her twilight years in need of assistance? What does it say about the society? What does it say about the good use of tax dollars funding Minister Humphrey’s Elder Affairs ministry?

347 responses to “Minister Kirk Humphrey and Theresa Castro”

1. Waru
    I have a agency website, but I’m on pause because I couldn’t find the type of workers I needed.. The type of people I needed I couldn’t find in the interviews. After my mother got sick and died, the desire to stay was no more. Until I make my mind up about what I’m doing, I might either press reset or power out. I’m thinking a more physical space will work for here, so I’ve been checking into it.

2. John2
    I don’t know how your friend arrived at thinking someone is here to scam individuals. Active imaginations can be put to good use if the person has the ability to use that talent for good. Nowhere would any person see how asking for help for Theresa benefits me, but some people like to say things for the sake of attention.

3. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“I have a agency website, but I’m on pause because I couldn’t find the type of workers I needed.. “.

it does require a lot of input, but a good educational tool…can’t be beat for information sharing and reaching target audience.

check for which would work best…you may be able to incorporate both..

4. Yes, I’ve been thinking about that. The physical space is for community outreach, and the idea is to focus on mental health and support services for those in need of them.

5. Down to Brasstacks Tel: 434-1790

6. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“and the idea is to focus on mental health and support services for those in need of them.”

excellent idea…

7. Hants
    David told me to call them as well. Thanks for the number. My problem is having to chase people each and everyday to do their jobs. Theresa is a nobody to them, so there is no real urgency.

8. Lisa stY focused u have a plan or idea don’t you
    Now put a physical appearance to that plan for assuming minds like mine
    Just for good measure u can include a photo of the old lady surely would like to see her by any way necessary within my internet space

9. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“My problem is having to chase people each and everyday to do their jobs. ”

that’s where a website is essential to expose their sloth……make them famous, show them up..

they have had a very long run of doing nothing to help their people … but collect salaries……that is theft..

10. AC
    Nothing I do is for minds like yours. You clearly don’t understand what respecting the dignity of others look like. I leave photos for the print and online media to produce, maybe they never got back to run her story because this island isn’t free in many ways. Put yourself in someone else’s position for once.. you really are an exhausting personality type.

11. Waru
    It is theft, but unfortunately they don’t view it that way. For years you hear the govt got money, so they must have

12. John2
    I don’t know how your friend arrived at thinking someone is here to scam individuals. Active imaginations can be put to good use if the person has the ability to use that talent for good. Nowhere would any person see how asking for help for Theresa benefits me, but some people like to say things for the sake of attention

Xxxxxxxxxx

SHE ARRIVED AT THAT UNFORTUNATELY BECAUSE THE POLITICAL PARTY SHE SUPPORTS BLINDLY ALL THEY DO IS CORRUPTION AND DECEPTION SAME AS THE OTHER SIDE.

YET SHE FINDS NO FAULT WITH THEM AND IS SCEPTICAL ABOUT YOUR INTENTIONS.

LIVING ON THE 2X3 ISLAND HAS WAY TOO MANY TWISTED MINDS

13. Lisa putting your face as a physical appearance to those with whom u want to connect should not b e seen as frustrating
    What I see is an appearance of transparency

14. I have spoken to Lisa at length. This woman is simply trying to do what she thinks is right.

There is nothing to be gained. In fact, she is using her resources EVERY DAY.

PLEASE STOP THIS NONSENSE!

I just spoke to the NAB staffer. I will be reporting to Lisa what I learned.

15. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“It is theft, but unfortunately they don’t view it that way.”

They always tend to view things from an upside down perspective….

I attribute that to them for far too long following and listening to politicians who carry that same mindset….a warped sense of reality…..who don’t believe that corruption and bribery are crimes…and most of them are lawyers, but see nothing wrong with what they do..

..imagine a former minister of government telling a federal judge…..”dah iz how we does do bizness in Barbados”…and with a straight face too…apparently they can’t connect, or pretending not to, their actions with consequences and pretending they do not know right from wrong….but can only judge when it’s someone else doing the same thing….

Angela ..these things take a lot of time to put together….8 months later am still working on mine….it’s not an overnight thing….takes competent planning to get the right outcomes…

can’t just take someone’s photo and drop it in cyberspace either, need permission…no matter their circumstances.

16. @Lisa
    “AC
    Nothing I do is for minds like yours. ”

You have been unusually harsh with our resident poet.

@J2
    “AC
    My fellow yardfowl don’t you know when to back off? ”

Be gentle with yourself.
    can imagine how painful it was when you realized that you and AC are birds of a feather but in different yards.
    —-x—-
    Catching up. I am here now.

17. DonnaJuly 1, 2022 1:56 PM

I have spoken to Lisa at length. This woman is simply trying to do what she thinks is right.

There is nothing to be gained. In fact, she is using her resources EVERY DAY.

PLEASE STOP THIS NONSENSE
    Xxxxcccc

Now I understand hmmm
    Thinking what is right and understanding what is right two different ball games
    Xxxxcc
    Not criticizing for doing right
    However right also comes with a load of transparency and accountability
    Saying that an individual is requesting help but only says so but does not provide relevant and critical information. for the cause is not right

18. William Skinner Avatar

@ Lisa; @ Donna
    Just do what you intend to do. Quite frankly, this is a great positive for BU. Two people linking up to act and assist a fellow citizen.
    Can’t possibly imagine anybody even questioning such a positive and humane development.

19. William SkinnerJuly 1, 2022 4:46 PM

@ Lisa; @ Donna

Can’t possibly imagine anybody even questioning such a positive and humane development.
    Xcccccccc
    I did and with justifiable reasons

20. I did and with justifiable reasons

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

????

21. William Skinner

YOUR BAJAN FOLKS ON THE LITTLE ISLAND ARE INTERESTING ANIMALS THEY WOULD VOTE FOR CORRUPTION, THIEVERY OF MANY MILLIONS AND DECEPTION BY BOTH POLITICAL PARTIES OF THEIR CHOICE LEADING TO HIGHER TAXES AND LOWER STANDARD OF LIVING.

LISA HAS NOT ASKED ANYONE FOR A FINANCIAL CONTRIBUTION ON ANY SUBMISSION THAT WOULD LEAD TO QUESTION HER INTEGRITY.

YET TO HELP THEIR OWN IN DESTITITUE (extremely poor and lacking the means to provide for oneself) SITUATIONS AND SOMEONE TRYING TO ASSIST THEY ASSIGNED ULTERIOR MOTIVES ( An alternative or extrinsic reason for doing something, especially when concealed or when differing from the stated or apparent reason).

IF THIS IS NOT SOME FORM OF MENTAL SICKNESS OR BACKWARD THINKING.

HAPPY I MOVED OUT OF SUCH A TOXIC ENVIRONMENT AS WHAT GOES ON THE 2 X 3 ISLAND.

LISA KEEP FOCUSED AND POSITIVE.

22. William Skinner Avatar

@ Baje
    They will never admit it but this toxic environment was heavily promoted pre 2018 . It was always there but we had a real display of toxic politics leading up to the last elections and it boiled over during that election.
    It was a vicious campaign on both sides and it has left the country in a state of paralysis.
    The polarization permeates everything and everywhere.. it’s going to take a new collective leadership both public and private to rescue us from this dangerous approach to national affairs.
    It means that even genuine people who try to assist will be viewed with suspicion.
    Topless and bottom out.(Seranader)

23. Two jokers

24. @Baje

AC is just a very toxic person on this blog and maybe in her everyday life. Some can’t help who they’re..
    I’ve decided never to respond to anything else she post, because engaging with her is a pointless exercise. Not everyone in life will like or appreciate you, and it is ok to question things, but something seems unbalanced about her. The issues with this one seem to run deep, so its best to ignore her.

25. Questions asked regulate the individual as being toxic
    If there is nothing to hide Then questions asked would be easily answered
    Don’t expect me to go along with the crowd blindly as I said I asked with justifiable reason
    I never toot my horn those who I have helped individuals or groups and continue to help can do so
    This approach of seeking help but no one should question the one asking is madness especially in a world where self interest can be cloaked with varying truths
    I asked I seek and I confirm for information

26. To support the bajan condition here is a case and a typical example of where the terms are set by those who are asking and the giver shouldn’t asked any questions
    Responses like what yuh asking for are often the reply
    A bajan condition rooted in self interest

27. I am at a loss here. Lisa has asked for no money, nothing material at all. That would be the only reason I could think of that would require her to publish a photo of herself. The woman does not wish to promote herself. She wants to bring attention to those she believes need help.

She has offered to take me to meet Theresa YESTERDAY. She is not hiding herself. She is not hiding Teresa. She has been very, very open with me.

AC is barking up the wrong tree. In doing so, she may discourage others who are willing to step forward to do their civic duty.

Imagine, a woman who is willing to give so much of herself being raked over the coals in this manner. The only thing I am concerned about here is that Lisa might not be capable of switching off for a while, as is necessary to preserve one’s physical and mental health.

One can only do so much.

28. Yuh see how hit dogs bark
    Never once did I say no one should help as a matters of fact i made reference of seeking help from the homeless alliance and that was shot down by Lisa
    Saying that Lisa did not ask for anything’ means nothing
    One would think that centred at the issue and bringing it to BU attention would be the purpose of seeking assistance by the reader
    If not so then what other purpose would there be

29. Exactly who is the dog and with what was the dog hit?

SMH.

30. ac,

The NAB officer is well aware of the situation and Lisa’s efforts. She had nothing bad to say about Lisa and her efforts.

I beg you, let this matter rest.

31. Stop feeding the animals?

32. Donna
    Leave that woman to her own brand of dysfunction. She clearly lacks the ability to comprehend anything. She continues to miss the fact Theresa’s plight was highlighted for the agencies (who have ignored her and the calls to them about her) to be shamed enough to follow through on her matter. I told the woman to think before she post, but she needs to read and comprehend first.

33. David,

I find it hard to accept that when presented with reasonable positions that even ac cannot be made to see sense.

Thanks for the reminder.

34. LisaJuly 2, 2022 7:30 AM

Donna
    Leave that woman to her own brand of dysfunction. She clearly lacks the ability to comprehend anything. She continues to miss the fact Theresa’s plight was highlighted for the agencies (who have ignored her and the calls to them about her) to be shamed enough to follow through on her matter. I told the woman to think before she post, but she needs to read and comprehend first

Xxxxxx
    Your problem is that you now set out to attack my position
    A position which I rightfully have asked for answer
    Rather than answer u lashed out
    As for my emotional position I see an old lady left to roam the streets by family members and for whatever reason only known to themselves
    The old lady is not for the want of a home
    Social services as u have stated intervene
    The mystery of this issue lays at the hands of those closest to here to get the required mental treatment she needs
    A question that requires all and every answer as to why the family is not helping
    Meanwhile the most that can be done out of food to help the lady is most that outsiders can do
    The story has a beginning that starts with a family environment and requires their help in ending the plight of this person
    Stone throwing my way is not the answer

35. “I told the woman to think before she post, but she needs to read and comprehend first.”
    🙂 Think before you post? Why do you want to silence ac?

Perhaps, this blog reached the point where contributions cannot move the needle to any great degree, The end result is now extended personal exchanges.

It is a beautiful day where I am. I am hoping that you can say the same wherever you are.
    Have a great day.

36. Crop over festivities started yesterday fun music and masquerading top of the list
    Meanwhile the most vulnerable keeps asking
    What about us
    Another sign and example of the bajan condition in full flight

37. What a dry run
    Seems like the show is over
    Yawn

38. When a person’s family doesn’t care for an elderly person whose mental state has deteriorated, there should be a way for state authorities to intervene at the request of concerned citizens.

If not, then WE ARE ALL at the mercy of our relatives who may not care.

I do not think that I would be in such a position. My family takes care of their own. But suppose I outlive those who would care?

This is not a matter to be taken lightly.

39. If u outlived those of family members u will become a ward of the state
    Right now govt cannot ride rough shot over the law as family members while alive remain legal guardian of the elderly and that is a truth

40. Personally I having to deal with that issue
    I would shame the family along with seeking alternative help
    My personnel opinion states that the old lady family concern lies with her financial situation rather it be benefits or other resources
    This story does not fall in the category of an elderly left out on the streets
    Apparently this old lady has a history of family members able to get her the help.necessary but refuses to do so
    Lisa heart might be in the right place but she is up against a heartless bunch of family members who doesn’t seem to have a heart

41. Hmmmm……

In the initial stages of this ‘discussion,’ SOME persons seemed to be of the opinion that Lisa had an ulterior motive for helping Thersa.

42. ArtaxJuly 4, 2022 8:38 AM

Hmmmm……

In the initial stages of this ‘discussion,’ SOME persons seemed to be of the opinion that Lisa had an ulterior motive for helping Thersa
    Xxxxxc
    There are a lot sick minds out there and yours seems to be one

43. angela cox July 4, 2022 10:24 AM

Please be reminded, I ‘said’ “SOME people.”

NEVER made any reference to ‘angela cox,’ ‘ac’ or any other particular individual. Yet, you responded with pejorative remarks.

Remember, “HIT DOGS BARK.”

44. ArtaxJuly 4, 2022 11:41 AM

angela cox July 4, 2022 10:24 AM

Please be reminded, I ‘said’ “SOME people.”

NEVER made any reference to ‘angela cox,’ ‘ac’ or any other particular individual. Yet, you responded with pejorative remarks.

Remember, “HIT DOGS BARK
    Xxxxcccx
    Yeah right
    JOKER

🃏 🤡 🃏 🤡 🃏 🤡

45. I said family members WHO CARE. Obviously I was referring to a situation such as the one highlighted where there are family members WHO DO NOT CARE. WE ALL CAN OUTLIVE OUR FAMILY MEMBERS WHO CARE AND BE LEFT TO THE MERCIES OF FAMILY MEMBERS WHO DON’T CARE.

If a child has parents who do not care does not the State step in regardless of the fact that the child has parents who should be caring?

What is the difference between a child and an adult apparently suffering from mental deterioration with a daughter who is not legally responsible for her mother?

Stupid argument.

46. What some doest want to understand or confidently refuse to understand that if the legal guardian does not give the state permission the state can be held liable in circumstances if the individual becomes hurt or life is endangered while under the protection of state
    However there are cases which the mentally ill person becomes a harm or danger to society whereby the state can pursue legal action against the guardian if they refuse to allow govt to take steps to safe guard the mentally ill person as well that being a protective measure for the safety of society
    Theresa case does not fall into such category
    The family members holds all the rights while tying govt hands and frustrating those who wants to help the old lady