The promised Constitutional Review Commission (CRC) was legally constituted today. Acting President of Barbados Reverend Jeffrey Gibson administered the oath in the absence of President Sandra Mason. Some will say it is better late then never. Prime Minister Mottley promised before the last general election that a review of the Barbados Constitution was high on the agenda should her political party be returned to office. The former government attracted criticism in some quarters by moving the country to a republic in November last year without substantive change to the Constitution.

The country awaits the opportunity to submit feedback to the CRC. We live in hope the opportunity will be grasped by ordinary Barbadians who have shown themselves to be increasingly apathetic and cynical to governance issues.

The blogmaster is disappointed the decision was not made for members of the CRC to come from a non political background. It is also unfortunate the calibre of some members appointed to the CRC do not command this blogmaster’s support. How ecstatic some of us would have been if Judge Jefferson Cumberbatch was seconded to the CRC.

See Related Link:

214 responses to “Constitutional Review Commission Established”

1. A not too gentle reminder to Prime Minister Mottley of another promise that has been simmering on the back burner, integrity in public life legislation aka integrity legislation.

https://www.nationnews.com/2022/02/05/integrity-bill-high-agenda/

2. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Pacha…i just don’t get how they blinded themselves to the outcome…it’s like a mystery that they just could not help the self implosion…

apparently no one was concerned with risk assessment…and even if they did, their analysis was left wanting..

3. Waru

Can’t remember the term currently but this happens all the time.

You should experience the ecosystem which is Washington, DC. Where you have a number of forces driving these decisions , almost on automation.

All the people within, who just talk to themselves in the echo chamber convince each other that these things make sense.

And of course the media whores and a largely ignorant global public too busy trying to make a living to think believe this tried story all the time.

Of course the new constitution will have no remedy when idiots are pedantic. Or for war criminals

4. Why can’t integrity legislation principles be included in the new Constitution for Government and Public Service
    although it should be a given that Corruption is illegal it should be made an explicit term in a contract of employment and job duties

5. Group-think

6. Power corrupts, absolute power corrupts absolutely
    There should be prohibitions on Government overreach and extra-judicial process as the powers that be can be one sided and bloody minded in dealing with public in breach of basic rights, in matters such as policing, courts, social services, ignoring complaints etc

7. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ 555 at 3.48 pm
    There are many things that cannot be legislated into being and one of them is integrity. Legislating penalties does not bring it into existence. That is a role that religion used to fulfill in our culture.Religion is being undermined and nothing as effective is filling the gap.

8. @Vincent

Seriously?

What is integrity legislation meant to achieve?

When you were an employee did you acknowledge a code of conduct?

9. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“And of course the media whores and a largely ignorant global public too busy trying to make a living to think believe this tried story all the time.”

that’s how they have gotten away with this war machine for the last 100 years, people are so busy just trying to survive, trying to raise families which carry many levels of fear, and keep their heads above water globally… that they accepted and believed everything they said.

The cockup came in sequestering everyone inside for so long and giving them time to match stories and figure out plays…which was impossible in 1914, 1918, 1944 etc

then they screwed up royally with the Ukraine war, feeding on each other’s refusal to run risk assessments…toppling their own economies…and who knows what other fall out from all of this is about to show up.

hope the whole world, people who had no part in the war, don’t end up paying dearly for this…

10. “There are many things that cannot be legislated into being and one of them is integrity.”

are you a Judge or Jury that can determine whether standards of integrity have been breached and broken the law way
    money money is the root of all evil

For the love of money is the root of all of evil: which while some coveted after, they have erred from the faith, and pierced themselves through with many sorrows.

11. I think Ezra Alleyne, attorney at law, would have been a quite useful member of this committee. Although the committee begins with a template, there are issues that can be illuminated by his scholarship and maturity. Is the Bill of rights going to be expanded to envisage rights not contemplated in 1966. Unilateral or bicameral legislature and the mode of its creation and costs. What are to be the restraints on local government. Is the Executive going to be separate from the Legislature in fact as opposed to fiction. How will our Courts contribute to the emerging Bajan jurisprudence. Does the current structure help or hinder the articulation of the judicial philosophy of the Court of Appeal judges. Or does the Constitution remain silent.

12. off topic i wish PM Mia Amor Mottley a speedy recovery.May god, s blessing be with your family and yourself.Stay strong as we bajans need you more now than ever.I gone.

13. Also is there to be compromise on the recognition of our Christian heritage

14. “is there to be compromise on the recognition of our Christian heritage”

a scan of the current constitution for the word “Christian” says “phrase not found”

https://www.oas.org/dil/the_constitution_of_barbados.pdf

15. Try a search for “God” and tell us what yo find.

16. Magnificent a.k.a Magno – Yu Heard Formula: C₂₁H₃₀O₂ IUPAC ID: (−)-(6aR,10aR)-6,6,9-trimethyl- 3-pentyl-6a,7,8,10a-tetrahydro- 6H-benzo[c]chromen-1-ol Avatar
    Magnificent a.k.a Magno – Yu Heard Formula: C₂₁H₃₀O₂ IUPAC ID: (−)-(6aR,10aR)-6,6,9-trimethyl- 3-pentyl-6a,7,8,10a-tetrahydro- 6H-benzo[c]chromen-1-ol

John Troll Knox’s logic looks for outliers to make his arguments

God is mentioned once in preamble and 6 times in oaths.

God has a Big lingam, (Sanskrit: “sign” or “distinguishing symbol”) which physically symbolizes the male and the female reproductive organs in a state of bliss

God is used for swearing in Oaths and can be omitted in affirmations instead

Breaking oaths means facing God, but Politicians must be Unbelievers as they often break their oaths.

Armor of the Goddess: Devi Kavacham Guided Meditation (Become Fearless)

17. Why doesn’t John Knox go and search “electoral college” in the US Constitution and see what he finds?!

FAKE electors are the words for today, spoken from the mouths of numerous Trump staffers.

Last week’s word was “BULLSHIT” spoken straight from the horse’s mouth of Trump loyalist Bill Barr, who finally found some stinky water, he could not be led to drink.

I wonder if John Knox saw him rear up and NEIGH at the mention of the “2000 mules”.

More like The Three JACKASSES – our own Looney Tunes Trio of BU who drank what Bill Barr did not drink!

John Knox should stop flogging (or dry humping) the DEAD HORSE of a few “ambiguous” grammatical interpretations in our Constitution and quit making an ASS of himself!

Just a few equinine thoughts in yuh donkey for today!

18. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“Sri Lankan economy has ‘COLLAPSED,’ unable to buy oil – PM Ranil Wickremesinghe”

one collapse Pacha…..the beginning..

19. So, what happened when you searched for God?

Obviously, whatever you found, upset you greatly!!

20. “Stunningly ignorant” is how D’Souza describes Bill Bar.

Kind of obvious.

https://www.newsweek.com/dinesh-dsouza-bill-barr-2000-mules-criticism-january-6-house-select-committee-1715356

21. I see CNN has its knickers in a twist as reality sets in!!

22. Only a complete idiot would believe Biden is a legitimate president.

I could understand cheating to get a good president but cheating to get Biden was completely idiotic.

It’s going to come out and Biden’s incompetence will make it alot worser for the cheaters.

23. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Mr Blogmaster It is remarkable that fanatics of ALL types resort to the SAME personal attacks when basic facts of evidence completely belie their assertions…

It happens when facts dismiss the Russian leader and his contrived war and also when the carefully developed absurdities made by the former US leader are shown to be patently illegal and untrue.

As one essayist noted, the Jan 6th US attack “was the manifestation of the underlying disease of misinformation, and the hearings help demonstrate how sick the nation has become.”

These various multiple falsehoods by the rabid fans also show how sick we as citizens always were … as our body and soul were very susceptible to this disease.

And of course the massive problem is that no amount of vaccines or other corrective intervention can now get the ‘body politic’ back to health and reason!

24. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Donna, I don’t want to take the blog off it’s local moorings but your earlier 4:44 AM note strikes a cord … of people making ASSES of themselves.

The remarkable aspect of the hearings thus far is the extent to which a very comprehensive illegal usurpation of the US electoral process was organized by the sitting US president and despite the definitive remarks from his Attorney General that the man was ‘detached from reality’, or from White House counsel that the legal theories re ‘fake electors’ were completely unconstitutional and thus illegal there is absolutely no clear indication that this man Trump is being investigated for a crime against his nation!

If his very direct action then and his continued insistence now despite all the losing court cases and other evidence is not a clear indication of a criminal mental state then what the hell is!!!

But just as remarkable … the entire leadership of the Republican Senate and of course the House have accepted this treasonous behavior in order to enjoy political power and thus in short are willing to sit with lit cigar in hand atop the combustible power keg of this man’s narcissistic selfishness and pretend (rather, hope foolishly) they can contain the impending explosion!

He must be indicted in Georgia … the US cannot be allowed to play ‘electoral good guy’ around the world and yet have a former leader deliberately and continually usurping the basics of democracy. That’s BS!

Sadly, we too are adopting the very same remarkable mental lapses and playing to the whims of our own narcissistic leader and just as evident we have many local @John Fellows who readily play the ‘expert’ John Eastman role to support lies and dishonesty !

25. Can get back to the subject matter? Any of you with so much to say have a contribution to make about enhancing the Constitution?

26. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Mr Blogmaster, in my lifetime this is the second (actually third) iteration of a Constitution Review … in a nation just over 50 years old! What pray tell can we REVIEW that will so decisively ENHANCE our Constitution brother, other than how best we can wastefully expend tax revenue

I distinctly recall Chairman Forde and fellow members going far and wide across BIm and to Bajans overseas to get ideas in order to craft a set of updated principles for a new constitution … WHAT exactly is this new dispensation expected to originate that will invigorate and ENHANCE our governance principles, sir???

I referenced the narcissistic US leadership and compared it to our woes because at the core it’s the same absurd political games of appeasement and providing ‘make-work’ income for the select few…. As @Vincent asked earlier with a bit a facetious temperament: What is the remit of the CRC?

But to answer your question directly and specifically re: What “contribution to make about enhancing the Constitution.’

‘COMMISSIONS or POLICY REVIEW committees which are mandated to seek extensive input from Barbadians via all available public methods that shall be comprised of no more then THREE eminent individuals and a fourth member designated as Commission secretary.’ … That’s MY contribution.

It is an ABSURD boondoggle of uproarious proportions that less than 35 years after an extensive review document was produced that we are here debating who would be best suited to sit and ‘FULMINATE’ endlessly about how a clause should be phrased or whether LGBT issues should be included or how the word “God” will be included ALTHOUGH all of that will be ‘FULMINATED’ in several public gatherings over the next year or so.! BS, total BS.

The chairman and two others and a secretary (and a few staff) reduces the BS expenditure of all these unnecessary commissioners and is all that’s needed to review prior docs, collate new data from public meetings, papers submitted by interest group and all the other public input that will be received and then COMPLETE a report….. WHICH will then be submitted to parliament for possibly FURTHER comment.

I am too old and much too cynical to look at all the various manure spread across the political sphere and smell anything but fragrant cow dung … some is fresh and obviously fragrant ; some dry and quite organically agreeable actually … but all is still BS!

27. @Dee Word

Ok

28. Vincent Codrington Avatar

The constitution needs little or no enhancement . It needs to be enforced in spirit and in deed. It is in the implementation that we have the deficit. We have a tendency to want to tamper with it for apparently short term political reasons. That sets dangerous precedents.

29. @ Vincent

What is the Constitution described as a living breathing document?

30. The Constitution was proven to have a flaw when BLP thrashed DLP 30 nuffing
    and the Parliament and Supreme Court could not process the empty data set as opposition and got stuck in a loop
    a youthman was selected to stand as a Senator in Supreme Court which was rejected by the old farts in office
    a change in Constitution could be tabled by the same youthman to accommodate a seat for the next generation

31. Is this necessary? Another puerile exchange between anonymous people?

32. It is not “puerile” if you think promoting talents of young ones is important
    dennis brown started his singing career at nine
    delroy wilson stated at thirteen
    average age was 19 in vietnam war
    you can dispute this if you desire

33. No Man Is An Island

Created By The Father

34. @Vincent

DIGNITY IS NOT NEGOTIABLE

One morning at a
    Law College, when a new teacher for “Introduction to Rights” entered the classroom, the first thing he did was to ask the name of a student who was seated on the first bench: “What is your name?”

“My name is Juan, Sir.”

“Leave the classroom and I don’t want to ever see you in my class ever!” screamed the unpleasant teacher.

Juan was bewildered. When he got hold of his senses, he got up quickly, collected his belongings and left the classroom.

All were scared and angry; however nobody spoke anything.

“Well, let’s start the class,” said the new teacher. “What purpose do the enacted laws serve?”

We were afraid, but slowly gained confidence and we began to answer his questions.

“So that there is order in our society.”

“No!” the teacher shouted.

“So that people pay for their wrong actions?”

“No! Doesn’t anybody here have enough brains to know the answer to this question?!” asked the teacher, sarcastically.

“So that there is justice,” said a girl timidly.

“At last! One person who is not a complete moron! That’s correct…. so that there is justice. And now, what is the use of justice?”

All of us were extremely uneasy with his rude attitude. However, we continued trying to answer….

“To safeguard human rights.”

“Well, what more?” asked the teacher.

“To differentiate right from wrong and to reward the good.”

“Ok, that’s not bad. However, answer this question: Did I act correctly when expelling Juan from the classroom?”

All were quiet, nobody answered.

“I want a decisive and unanimous answer!” he shouted.

“No!” we all replied in unison.

“Then could you say I committed an injustice?”

“Yes!”

Then his voice softened and he asked, “And why did nobody do anything in that respect? So why do we need rules and laws if we don’t have the necessary will to practice them? Each one of you has an obligation to do something when you witness an injustice. ALL of you! Do not stay quiet, never again! Go and call Juan,” he said staring at me.

On that day, I received the most practical lesson in my course of Law.

When we don’t defend our rights, we lose our dignity, and dignity is not negotiable.“

35. Teenager’s Letter Of Promises, I’m So Glad You Love Me, Juanita Rogers

36. DavidJune 22, 2022 10:45 AM

Can get back to the subject matter? Any of you with so much to say have a contribution to make about enhancing the Constitution?

If big able lawyers cannot figure out that there must be an opposition for there to be a parliament and proceed regardless to form a parliament and commit our country to needless expenditure, what is the point of having any constitution at all?

37. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David BU at 2:31 PM

I have a difficulty connecting your anecdote with the moot that the constitution needs enhancement. What has the parable on ‘negotiating dignity” has to do with the review/ enhancement of the Barbados Constitution? I ask again. : Where has the constitution failed in ensuring our democratic system of governance?
    Is it that we are not agreed as to what constitute democracy?

38. @Vincent

Ok

39. LGBTQ2S

40. Vincent CodringtonJune 22, 2022 4:18 PM

@ David BU at 2:31 PM

I have a difficulty connecting your anecdote with the moot that the constitution needs enhancement. What has the parable on ‘negotiating dignity” has to do with the review/ enhancement of the Barbados Constitution? I ask again. : Where has the constitution failed in ensuring our democratic system of governance?
    Is it that we are not agreed as to what constitute democracy?

Can the word “dignity” be found within the Constitution?

41. Yup

Only once

Just after God!!

42. Now, therefore, the people of Barbados
    (a) proclaim that they are a sovereign nation founded upon
    principles that acknowledge the supremacy of God, the
    dignity of the human person, their unshakeable faith in
    fundamental human rights and freedoms and the position of
    the family in a society of free men and free institutions;

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

The people of Barbados acknowledge the supremacy of God.

So, the Constitution does not apply to anyone who does not acknowledge the supremacy of God.

How many on the panel acknowledge the supremacy of God?

That’s really the acid test!!

43. A nation cannot acknowledge the supremacy of God, it is an individual mindset and belief.
    A nation and it’s individuals cannot discriminate against race, creed, sex or sexual orientation.
    This primitive nonsense will be struck out.

44. That’s why it is the people of Barbados with which the Constitution begins.

If you are one of the people who happen to be in Barbados or outside who does not acknowledge the Supremacy of God, then the Constitution does not apply to you.

You can therefore keep quiet tour a** quiet and leave those people who do recognise the supremacy of God to benefit from the Constitution.

45. Those who cannot time travel may not get this.
    The past is what didn’t kill you.
    The future definitely will.
    The present is the only thing that matters.

46. “If you are one of the people who happen to be in Barbados or outside who does not acknowledge the Supremacy of God, then the Constitution does not apply to you.”

the constitution is not worth paper it is written on with idiots like you
    the constitution is for all of barbados’ citizens
    if you feel your religion is threatened by some other peoples beliefs then it cannot be much of a religion

47. So what you are saying is the Constitution should be rewritten to apply to the “people of Barbados who do and do not recognize the sovereignty of God”

You should let the panel know that the wording needs to be more inclusive.

Personally, I really don’t see the need for a change and would oppose the suggestion.

It has worked perfectly well all this time.

48. Your God is up in the sky and is a figment of your imagination, the concept was handed down to people who were carried away from Africa to be slaves by criminals who said negroes were sub-human animals in the biggest crime in history of humankind.

49. If there is no God in the Constitution would that mean there is no God
    if there was no God mentioned would that mean that there was no valid Constitution

Jah

No White God / Sizzla

I have no white god
    Don’t teach me anything wrong
    Could u white god
    Save me from white man oppression
    I have no white god
    Is just ah blackness i ah
    If u white god ah bless u
    Him no bless sizzla
    [Repeat once]

i want what is rightfully mine
    so me nah stay mute
    your system is design
    to distract me from d truth
    but it will come to pass
    and known unto d youths
    in d process of time
    we will know d truth
    u give we white god to praise his slavery
    d doctrine——— in d black community
    d blackness i have u try to shield with fantasy
    but we nah go make u destroy d love with luxury
    that’s why
    have to touch home
    i have no place in babylon
    as i go dey make me victim———
    oh god i won’t be conqured in this region
    oh yes i have to stand and go strong

i have no white god
    don’t teach me anything wrong
    could u white god
    save me from white man oppression
    i have no white god
    is just ah blackness i ah
    if u white god ah bless u
    him no bless sizzla
    [Repeat once]

oo me face — with anger
    cause that no right
    how could all things
    good and valuable must be white
    what about d black—–d most in life
    u and u white supremacy
    waan trick me as u like
    u change d version of d bible
    who u ah trick
    memba all who do evil
    won’t go unpunish
    bear u iniquity u have no wisdom nor witt
    all evilous people shall sink inna ah pit

i have no white god
    could u white god
    i have no white god
    him no bless sizzla
    [Repeat once]

cause when i n i ah trodd
    is like moses with d rodd
    with one strong—– invole mighty father god
    he’s d only second party that sizzla have
    fi guide me tru d darkness
    where d heathen dodge
    there wasn’t any doubt
    but d voice was made to shout
    behold jah jah youth
    accomplish d route

i have no white god
    could u white god
    i have no white god
    him no bless sizzla
    [Repeat once]

Leave a Reply to JohnCancel reply