It is 148 days since the last general election in Barbados. The result returned the Mia Mottley led Barbados Labour Party (BLP) the office in unprecedented manner and forced the DLP to jettison Verla De Peiza as President- replaced by Dr. Ronnie Yearwood who has been in seat for 49 days. Is it too soon some are asking for a coherent policy position to be emanating from George Street?

The saying goes that extraordinary times require extraordinary people, there is no denying we are living in extraordinary times. That said, it is a reasonable expectation by Barbadians to expect those presenting themselves for public office to hit the ground running. The system of democracy- even if a parody of the Westminster system practised by Barbados- requires a strident dissenting voice. In Yearwood’s defence he is president of a private entity and his first obligation is try to infuse a DLP suffering near political coma.

President Dr. Ronnie Yearwood recently made a statement challenging government’s ‘proposed plan’ to tackle cost of living. The blogmaster’s position has always been it is a difficult undertaking for a party in opposition without full grasp of the public purse to offer constructive alternatives. Yearwood is understandably trying to piggyback on issues resonating with the public. On the other side of the issue, Mottley has the task of managing an economy still spluttering from the shock of 2008 global meltdown and the so-called ‘lost decade’ which followed. 

ASTOR B.WATTS LUNCHTIME LECTURE SERIES

BU’s Artax analyzed Yearwood’s recent cost of living recommendations. It was not complimentary.

Yearwood isn’t proposing anything NEW.

From economists, political scientists, members of special interest groups, contributors to social media platforms, former DLP president DePeiza, Lynette Eastmond, Joseph Atherley, Grenville Phillips II, aspiring politicians…… to the ‘average man and woman on the streets,’ criticised the size of Mottley’s Cabinet and the number of consultants, almost immediately after she announced them, following the May 24, 2018 and January 19, 2022 general elections…….and have been calling on her to reduce the number since then.

The 1% levy on persons earning $6,250 per month was also heavily criticised. But, I can’t understand how its removal would help poor people.
Perhaps Yearwood could offer further explanations.

From the inception of VAT in 1998, the DLP and BLP while in Opposition, have asked and promised to expand the ‘basket of goods,’ only to reneged on their promises after ‘taking up the reins of government.’

“Remove the excise tax on fuel by 40 cents per litre and to offer relief to pensioners,” has also been previously suggested.

“Calling on Government to bring forward the reverse tax credit of $1300 for people earning below $25,000 per annum,” also requires further explanation, especially when one takes into consideration that the DEMS reduced the reverse tax credit to $650 during the recession.
How does he plan to finance $1,300 to be paid to an increase in the number of persons who would become eligible?

Artax

Who are the members of DLP’s economic team? Under former president De peiza it was not clear. In the current challenging economic times, compounded by the perilous state of the economy, quality people, quality decisions must form part of a DLP looking to be perceived as competent by an apathetic and cynical electorate, especially in the area of finance.

75 responses to “DLP on Political Warning”

1. Lift every voice and sing
    In smoking sensimillia you gotta give thanks and praise to the almighty God jahovia

They ship me from the wonderful land of Africa
    Fi slave fi dih plantation owner
    They tek wey wi name, jah man, they call we nigga
    the only word we know is “isa coming massa”

Them tell we say we ignorant and inferior
    and how them intelligent and superior
    through the complexion of them skin colour
    but I as a yout born as a super
    me badda than deh bite from a tarantula

You hear fi mi a voice a come through the speaker
    but it sound sweeter with the echo chamber
    R fi di roots
    C fi di culture
    S fi Selassie earth rightful ruler

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6Dtk9h1gZOI

2. A fake govt
    A fake republic
    Cart before horse policies
    A stream of brekneck.legislation
    No transparency no accountability
    No opposition
    A fake democracy
    A rock star leader
    Crime and poverty order of the day
    No frigging light at the end of the problem
    Wunna got problems
    Nufff long talk
    No solutions

3. Post Mortem Analysis

DLP did not step up in the 2022 election, they stepped down and flopped again

They were dead on arrival

Rest in Peace DLP

Political Revolutions need a Soundtrack like this
    Somethings Happening Here / Buffalo Springfield
    There’s something happening here

What it is ain’t exactly clear

There’s a man with a gun over there

Telling me I got to beware

I think it’s time we stop, children, what’s that sound

Everybody look what’s going down

There’s battle lines being drawn

Nobody’s right if everybody’s wrong

Young people speaking their minds

Getting so much resistance from behind

I think it’s time we stop, hey, what’s that sound

What a field-day for the heat

A thousand people in the street

Singing songs and carrying signs

Mostly say, hooray for our side

It’s time we stop, hey, what’s that sound

Paranoia strikes deep

Into your life it will creep

It starts when you’re always afraid

You step out of line, the man come and take you away

We better stop, hey, what’s that sound

Stop, hey, what’s that sound

Stop, now, what’s that sound

Stop, children, what’s that sound

Buffalo Springfield – For What It’s Worth

4. Public Enemy – He Got Game ft. Stephen Stills

He Got Game / Public Enemy
    Yeah that’s right, this cut goes out to all y’all
    That’s been missin’ us for mad years
    One love, yo, yeah that’s right
    He’s got game, PE 1998

If man is the father, the son is the center of the earth
    In the middle of the universe
    Then why is this verse comin’ six times rehearsed?
    Don’t freestyle much but I write ’em like such (Word)
    Amongst the fiends, controlled by the screens
    What does it all mean all this shit I’m seein’?
    Human beings screamin’ vocal javelins
    Signs of a local nigga unravelin’ (Uh-huh)

My wandering, got my ass wondering
    Where Christ is in all this crisis
    Hatin’ Satan never knew what nice is
    Check the papers while I bet on Isis
    More than your eye can see and ears can hear
    Year by year, all the sense disappears
    Nonsense perseveres prayers laced with fear
    Beware 2 triple O is near

It might feel good, it might sound a lil’ somethin’
    But damn the game if it don’t mean nuttin’
    What is game, who got game, where’s the game in life?
    Behind the game, behind the game
    I got game, she’s got game
    We got game, they got game, he got game
    But fuck the game if it ain’t sayin nuttin’

Damn was it somethin’ I said?
    Pretend you don’t see so you turn your head
    Race scared of it’s shadow, does it matter?
    Thought of reperations got ’em playin’ wit the population
    Nothing to lose, everything’s approved
    People used even murders excused
    White men in suits don’t have to jump
    Still a thousand and one ways to lose with the shoes

God takes care of ol’ folks and fools (Uh)
    While the Devil takes care of makin’ all the rules
    Folks don’t even own themselves
    Payin’ mental rent to corporate presidents
    One out of one million residents
    Being dissident, who ain’t kissin’ it?
    The politics of chains and whips
    Got the sick missin’ chips and all the championships

What’s love got to do with what you got?
    Don’t let a win get to your head or a loss to your heart
    Nonsense perseveres prayers laced with fear
    Beware 2 triple O is near

But damn the game if it don’t mean nuttin’
    What is game, who got game, where’s the game in life?
    Behind the game, behind the game
    I got game, she’s got game
    We got game, they got game, he got game
    But fuck the game if it ain’t sayin’ nuttin’

Yeah, that’s right everybody got game
    We just here to let you all know
    That PE is in full effect from right now
    ‘Til the year 2000
    Ah yo my man sing it

There’s something happenin’ here
    What it is ain’t exactly clear
    There’s a man with a gun over there
    (Yeah that’s right, haha)
    Telling me that I got to beware
    It’s time we stopped children
    What’s that sound everybody look
    What’s going down

Hey yo, I don’t think they heard ya Stephen
    Kick it to them again, one more time

It’s time we stopped children
    What’s that sound? Everybody look
    What’s going down

That’s right boy PE in full effect boy
    ‘Til the year 2000, yo

Stop, look what’s that sound? (C’mon, sing)
    Everybody knows what’s going down (Sing it again y’all, c’mon)
    Stop, look what’s that sound (Hey, ha-hey!)
    Everybody knows what’s going down

Hey yo
    These are some serious times that we livin’ in G
    And our new world order is about to begin
    You know what I’m sayin’, now the question is
    Are you ready for the real revolution
    Which is the evolution of the mind?

If you seek then you shall find that we all come from the Divine
    You dig what I’m sayin? Now if you take heed to the words of wisdom
    That are written on the walls of life then universally we will stand
    And divided we will fall ’cause love conquers all
    You understand what I’m sayin’?

This is a call to all you sleepin’ souls
    Wake up and take control of your own cycle
    And be on the lookout for those spirits tonight trying to steal your light
    You know what I’m sayin’, look what’s inside yourself for
    Peace, give thanks, live life and release, you dig me, you got me?

Stop, look what’s that sound?

5. Milluh
    The usual response–attack me and call me a liar. One week I am a lying marketer performing fellatio on white men in NYC, next week I am a lying project manager, another week a lying lawyer, now a lying town planner and advisor to Hyatt. There is something wrong with an individual who repeatedly says different things about another with not a single shred of evidence to support their accusations. Why don’t you just give up, can’t you see your attacks achieve nothing? More rent free status for me. My point stands tho–all RH talk. Some ah wunna can’t even set up a meeting turn but convinced unna have the solution to everything. The best contributors to this space tend to keep quiet.

6. Oh my heavens!!

Another Doctor who can’t figure out 30-0 is a nullity.

What’s it with these Doctors?

7. Why so many committees
    Soon as a problem ignites fire and damnation on this govt Mia response is committee
    Still don’t understand the necessity could it be that Mia doesn’t trust the opinions of the ministers and try to shield them from public humiliation as with the GIS issue
    These committees taking on a mirror image of a scammittees have yet to hear any one of these committes forward reliable information with purpose to achieve formidable results

Another concern
    Missing in action is Caswell Franklin hope Mia didn’t buy him a double locked muzzle

8. Bushie
    If you can’t find a single good policy decision of the government given where we were in 2018 v now, I can’t help you.

I seldom mention the DLP or comment on AC’s ramblings. I mostly question the misinformed, emotive-based (often disingenuous) contributions of others. You should also realise that there are some anti-Enuff characters on BU and once I sneeze dem duz be ready. They call me a yardfowl and I call them egofowls. Mi nuh fraid dem weaklings.

9. Hi Enuff,
    Do you mind providing a solid example or two to Bush Tea?

Thanks kindly.

10. Dullard
    Pearls before swines seems quite apt as a response.

11. @ Enuff June 20, 2022 6:34 AM

Now you know how it feels to ingest some of your own nasty medicine.

Isn’t that the same thing you do incessantly to people like your Salemite?

Aren’t you the ‘know-it-all’ lawyer who argued that there was absolutely nothing illegal about having two DCoPs without an amendment to the then existing Police Act?

You really don’t anyone to ‘reference’ the town-planning expertise you demonstrated in your informative contributions regarding the Hyatt erection or even your ‘unique’ knowledge on the UNESCO’s criteria on Bridgetown’s World Heritage Site designation, do you now, Mr. Name-Dropper?

So why don’t you set the record straight and tell us ‘what’ you are really good at other than being a red-eye yard-bird ensconced in a pen on Roebuck Street?

Now when are we going to see something out of you regarding the ‘conceptualising and implementing’ one piece ah public policy?

At least we know the Salemite is a writer on all things African and who goes by the pen name Yolande Grant.

For the record, here is what you said to the Salemite way back in December 2020.

“Salemite
    You can’t because you don’t have a [fcuking] clue. Tell the blog what is the current framework and what it ought to be and why. BU gangstas good at talking eh…talk pretty as RH. I have often asked who here has had any involvement in the formulation, implementation and or management of one single public policy?”
    (Unquote).

12. Wishing the PM a safe and speedy recovery
    Also to those she was having close contact be mindful

13. @ angela cox June 20, 2022 9:44 AM

That’s rather magnanimous of you, ac!

As a show of gratitude, maybe, (y)our new-man Ronnie Y will find himself a senatorial seat in Parliament to be the Voice of Opposition.

14. Milluh

Maybe you should focus more on comprehension rather than words when you’re reading, then you’ll be able to do more than spout pretty words. Don’t blame me. I feel for you. Rent free in your head. I looooove it. Imagine, my oneself stir up so much bile in you and others. I sleep comfortably daily knowing I am causing indigestion in you and your ilk.

15. How many persons attended the Zoom?

16. @ Enuff June 20, 2022 10:41 AM

So do you pay rent to the Salemite or even to BAJE?

Any person who dares to be opposed to your red ‘can-do-no-wrong’ administration immediately comes into your crosshairs of vileness.

Poor Willie Skinner and Walter Blackman both all the way in Atlanta!

Why don’t you be man ‘Enuff’ by standing for Truth and Justice especially when you have been bitch-slapped down by your own MAM?

Now where is your long-promised version of that much needed and costly tourism slogan for Barbados?

That would be a convincing case of you being knowledgeable about how to design and implement good public policy in order to get the Milluh evicted from your empty house.

Now here is the deal, Brother Enuff the king of Bluffers!

Stop attacking WARU the Salemite and the Milluh will be ‘generous’ with you!

Let her tell her own ‘stories’ the same way you want others to let you promote your own fabrications.

17. Milluh

Unlike you, who once I say blah you jump out, I only respond to 3degree/Salemite/WS etc when they come after me. The fact that you have to conjure fantasy and reference a government to attempt to challenge the veracity of comments, show you’re clearly struggling and will continue to get indigestion from my posts. Do I ever call your name? No! But you always bong out to get catspraddle. You carry on. Waste of time. LMBAO.

18. Pearls before swines seems quite apt as a response.
    +++++++++

@Enuff
    So in other words, there is not one single policy that you can point out. Just say so and keep it moving.

PS: Pumping shiiite in the Atlantic or over paying for buses/ garbage trucks is not a “policy”.

19. The Miller is in such fine form that I must pronounce him as fully recovered.

He did not inform us of any malady,but a sudden decline in his volume of contributions was an indication that the Miller was ‘under the weather’. Now, his line and length are those of a bowler in peak condition.

It is doubtful that they are enuff batsmen who can master his delightful deliveries. Delicacies to one who enjoys the game of cricket.

Oops.. I just figured out why I make some lists.

20. Theo
    Nothing surprising from you, confused as usual.

21. Democratic Labour Party President Dr Ronnie Yearwood has extended get well soon wishes to Prime Minister Mia Mottley.

Mottley has tested positive for COVID-19. A Government statement said “it is a mild case and she has indicated that she is doing well.”

https://barbadostoday.bb/2022/06/20/dlp-president-wishes-pm-mottley-a-speedy-recovery/

22. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“So in other words, there is not one single policy that you can point out. Just say so and keep it moving.”

MURDAHHHH!!!

“But overall Pachamama is running out of time and She will eventually do what She has always done for five billions years – bring back right order of things.”

Long overdue…..when the lady drops the REAL NEW WORLD ORDER on all these frauds…watch them SCATTER..

“Talk about doing in church and chapel too. Last week in the US – cap in hand. Next week in VenezuelA – oil can in hand.

I hope VenezuelA fills the cans with p#ss”

🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

23. @ David,

I have been following the Coroners inquest into the death of Warren Mottley.

Looking forward to the conclusion.

24. @Hants

Yes, the outcome should help others.