Some ‘insane’ Barbadians are asking the question again – is the standard of living we have become accustomed tosustainable. Is it sensible for us `a net importer and purchaser of foreign currency to promote and implement policies that guarantee we must BORROW billions in foreign and local dollars to fund the short fall not covered from taxes collected in the case of domestic and foreign earnings?

Many years ago, ironically at the tail end of the last economic boom which Barbados never recovered, former Prime Minister Owen Arthur warned Barbadians about dark clouds on the horizon and the urgent need to make adjustments. To be expected we continued to engage in immature partisan political ranting as the walls of our society cracked are now tumbling around us.

We are a tiny island with zilch natural resources having to depend mainly on the fickle invisible export of tourism to generate foreign exchange to pay for our conspicuous consumption habits. We continue to build oversized homes, purchase fossil burning expensive SUVs, travel to distant lands to fulfil manufactured aspirations , aspire to study at elite universities, select exotic foods from supermarket shelves, the benefits sold to us on foreign cable beamed into our homes 24/7. To any sensible and educated person the dinosauric economic model could not and does not sustain the level of expenditure we have to incur. There is a good reason why Barbados’ economy has been described as open and susceptible to what economists fondly refer to as exogenous shocks.

On top of the obvious challenge of managing a minuscule 6-8 billion dollar economy largely dependent on a fickle tourism product, there is sufficient evidence – see Auditor General Reports outlining a litany of public sector malfeasance (private sector is always complicit) AND corruption to conclude we make a challenging situation more difficult. With revelations coming out of the arrest of former government minister Donville Inniss et al, there is evidence a culture exist that feeds corrupt behaviour. Although not a unique circumstance to Barbados, Barbadians must hold ourselves accountable for the kind of country we want to build for our children.

Many in this space lived through the 2007/8 global crisis and the oil crisis of the 70s. It is evident from the experiences of the two episodes we have not learned enough to commit to implementing resilient ‘fit for purpose’ policies. WE have allowed ourselves to buy into the ‘good life’ of consumption fuelled by an economy built on beach ground. Even in the face of the obvious, we have to listen daily to bull pucky discussions designed to take us no where. Unfortunately with the multiplicity of agendas to satisfy, with social media a ready purveyor of the inane the blame culture has taken deep root.

It is 2022, according to establishment analysts were are on the precipice of another global recession, one that should it occur given our fragile open economy will again wreak havoc on the lives of Barbadians, decimating a debt ridden middleclass and moving the poverty line north. Our visionless leaders combined with a level of disengagement from Barbadians – who the blogmaster has always contended ceded entitlements under our democracy to the political class – will have to suffer again for it until we learn to do better. The reference to a people getting governments they deserve has been recorded countless times in this space.

To the immediate matter at hand summarised in the article shared by a BU family member:

Rising food prices are changing the way we eat and shop

Emily Peck

https://datawrapper.dwcdn.net/U5xvN/1/Data: Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis; Chart: Thomas Oide/Axios Visuals

Skyrocketing food prices in the U.S. are changing the way Americans eat and grocery shop — they’re buying more store brands, and less costly meat and produce. Some are now just making do with less.

• Meanwhile, food manufacturers continue to “shrinkflate” — putting less potato chips or cereal in the bags and boxes that we buy.

Why it matters: This is inflation hitting home, contributing to the overall bummed-out mood of the nation.

• Once upon a time, grocery shopping mainly fell to women, but these days 92% of adults do it. That means most everyone’s noticed rising food prices — and many have adjusted in ways both minor and potentially devastating.

Driving the news: The cost of “food at home” is up 11.9% from last year, the largest increase since April 1979, according to the scorching hot inflation numbers released Friday. Nearly every category of food the government tracks saw accelerating price growth. The most inflationary categories, as highlighted in a note from JPMorgan on Friday:

• Egg prices up 32% year over year, thanks in part to a January bird flu outbreak that killed about 6% of commercial egg-laying chickens, as Axios’ Hope King explained last month.
  • Fats and oils were next on the list at 16.9%, partly due to the war in Ukraine, followed by poultry (16.6%) and milk (15.9%).

Unusual trend: The increases in prices for food at home are outpacing food-away-from-home, which is up *only* 7.4%.

• This is “historically unusual,”JP Morgan notes. The growth differential is the widest since 1974, they said.

State of play: For a good snapshot of how rising food prices are changing behavior, we checked the most recent Beige Book — where the 12 regional Federal Reserve banks report on economic conditions in their area (h/t Planet Money’s Indicator podcast on this one):

Read full article https://www.axios.com/2022/06/13/rising-food-prices-are-changing-the-way-we-eat-and-shop

451 responses to “Cost of Living Matter (2) – A Time to Remain Unborn”

1. It’s not too difficult to understand why some on BU mock Yearwood and African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved. It helps them not to focus their limited mindset on the real issues affecting their country and the utter impotence of their leader. The limits of their ambition is clear to see. One can only pity these poor miserable sods.

2. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

TLSN…let them mock away…am free as a bird and NOT TRAPPED LIKE THEM…that’s the big difference.

am on the outside watching the zoo parade…

People with REAL AFRIKAN MINDSETS JUST TOOK THE LEAD, and the movement is likely to SPREAD ALL ACROSS THE CARIBBEAN region and SPILL into the wider diaspora…….and they could not even see it coming, so where does that LEAVE THEM…..

and THEY COULD DO NOTHING TO SABOTAGE OR PREVENT IT….

3. TLSN
    Name them and shame them.

4. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Afrikan minded people are already building empires, something they can’t fathom…let alone imagine and DEFINITELY don’t know how to make the FIRST STEPS TO START…they should feel sorry for themselves right about now..

..the REGION is moving right along and LEAVING THEM BEHIND…

5. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Pacha…here comes the transformation…..spreading throughout the Caribbean, a phenomenal time to be a witness…

….who gets left behind….that’s on them.

..they MADE THEIR BURNING BEDS…

6. Waru
    We are in deep shiiiite. It’s even a challenge to perceive the magnitude of our problems. Far less craft solutions.

In circumstances where there are no low hanging fruit. A largely feckless population. A misleadership class centered on that class’s interests. And tectonic shifts rocking the earth but largely ignored by the political-,managerial elites.

Any set of people who can’t look into Yearwood’s eyes and tell that he’s joker but still elevate him as an alternative to what is should worry all the rest of us.

7. @Pachamama,

We all know the members of the BU mottley crew. No pun intended.

It’s impossible to shame these people as they have no sense of shame. The blogmaster has emboldened them over these last three-and-a-half years. This was the period when you, Bush Tea and Piece more or less took flight.

The depressed state of the country goes unnoticed by that mob. There sole purpose is to deflect, bully and police this blog for their empress.

8. TSLNnobody is on this blog more than Waru your tag team partner everyday 24 hours a day.I suppose you conveniently forgot that.Nobody talks more shite and hog the blog more than her.The point is no one who lives here takes Pacha, Waru, Bush Tea or Baje too seriously.That is your problem.We know that problems exist.We know these problems exist all over the world.We also know the hard work that Ms Mottley and the government continues to do.We also know the dems from 2008 under Mr Thompson till 2018 under Mr Stuart were mostly incompetent and most bajans do not wish to see them again in under 15 years minimum..Put that in ya pipe amd smoke it.No oversea dem can tell us who should lead us .Will not happen.Barbados has passed all of its IMF test to date tells us we are heading in the right direction instead of downgrade after downgrade.Therefore go take a flying leap with ypur advice.Most of us do not want it.I gone.

9. Looking or not looking into Yearwood eyes does not take away the truthfulness of the realities that are staring all in the eyes
    What u are doing is using Yearwood to whip u most needed angst to help the blp footsoldiers
    Yearwood did not create these many years of problems
    His appearance now has help to shine more light of govt issues which are affecting Barbadian households a shinning light which is absolutely necessary as Barbados tilts further into a path of total control buy a one-sided govt

10. Lorenzo.what u seem to be conveniently ignoring is a fact by which and how and why the bajanhouseholds are being downgraded to the level of below poverty
    Alright for you to spin and spin the word downgrade so as to.polish and make it shine like a badge of honor to hold and prop up in a pretense of govt success
    Alright fuh to to live in a make belive world
    However not Alright for u or govt to continue to ask of the people monthly weekly and yearly but when people ask for genuine help
    The people must wait

11. Inquiring minds want to know how many committes has govt ushered in the three years and the total cost

12. “The only scammers i see on BU are those HIDING behind anonymous monikers and demonizing people THEY DON’T EVEN KNOW……”

I can’t believe the above comment was made by someone who previously posted anonymously to demonize people such as Peter Harris…… or accuse someone of making an unsuccessful attempt to sabotage their book and websites…….people they don’t even know.
    The same individual the brilliant one described as he/she/it…… copy and paste artist.

I guess when they share similar philosophical and ideological similarities with others, those idiosyncrasies are purposely ignored.

13. @ David

Yes, I agree ‘Yearwood just landed and he has a lot of work to do.’
    But, I don’t believe this work includes regurgitating proposals that were made previously and presenting them as though they are new and innovative.

But, it seems as though you’re trying to shield the goodly lecturer from criticism.
    I posted a contribution in response to a comment made by a particular individual, which you removed, even though it was not derogatory or vilified the gentleman.

14. Cuhdear Bajanc Avatar

@David “We continue to build oversized homes, purchase fossil burning expensive SUVs, travel to distant lands to fulfil manufactured aspirations , aspire to study at elite universities, select exotic foods from supermarket shelves, the benefits sold to us on foreign cable beamed into our homes 24/7.”

But who is making us do these things?
    Modest home.
    Haven’t owned any kind of motor vehicle for 23 years.
    Exotic foods? What is exotic anyhow? I had breadfruit today and yesterday and will have it again tomorrow as my carbohydrate [some butternut squash, and some homegrown spinach and some chicken and I am good] Do you know that in climes in the far north breadfruit is an exotic? The breadfruit trees in my natal village are LADEN, LADEN, talk about breadfruits hanging low? These are so law than in about 6 weeks or so we will have to lay on the ground in order to pick them. They are literally touching the ground. Mangoes so plentiful I hardly know what to do with the surplus. The ackees will be read y in about 2 months [I checked the tree today] and then the dunks will be ready from October to about January, so will the avocadoes All exotic foods. I haven’t eaten a grape, strawberry, peach etc. literally in decades.

15. Visited many social media platforms and no one no one has stated that Dr. Ronnie Yearwood proposals were stated by govt firstly in an manner shape or form
    If it be that other economist has stated such doesn’t mean Dr. Yearwood have no right of stating or openly making comment or stance on such proposals
    The danger many is going to face when setting out to attack or trap Dr. Yearwood might be a danger of setting traps for the govts to fall into
    Dr. Yearwood is a well accomplished scholar and in setting out to bring govt to task would fully understand the course of action blp foot soldiers would take to keep present govt messages and policies in the forefront in spite of the pain and suffering the people are undergoing
    The proposals Dr. Year wood proposed were clear and concise set out to do exactly placing govt to fire
    Mia responds with a half as.ss response cunning in attitude and weak in action

16. NorthernObserver June 17, 2022 12:03 AM “But I am amused. When I first went to Cuba in 92, it was called Período Especial, Special Period. Both the US and Russia plus others have Special Forces, which undertake that which is neither spoken of, nor admitted. Now this war, and it’s a war, is called a Special Operation. It seems whenever we wish to avoid calling a spade, a spade, we call it Special?”

When I was at elementary school, latr 50’s early 60’s the children who were very slow learners were in classes called “Special”

17. @Artax

The blogmaster deleted nothing.

18. @Cuhdear Bajan,
    You used the term laden to explain the over abundance of exotic fruits such as breadfruit and mangoes when they are in season. It comes as a shocker when Barbadians from the diaspora visit your sun-kissed island and witness the tonnes of fallen fruit rotting away on the ground. The price of such foods are astronomical in western Europe. They are valued and are now recognised as super foods.

We often hear how monkeys are destroying food crops. Surely they cannot be responsible for your country men’s innate inability to pick low hanging fruit. They are indifferent towards planting something as simple as a fruit bearing tree. Yet, they delight in driving their car to there nearest local Massy’s to purchase overpriced inferior foreign sourced food. Is it any wander why your country is so heavily indebted.

19. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Will the little slave fowl lorenzo STOP LYING…i rarely come on BU before 6 am like to day because i have such good news to share …. and gone before 7 or 8-pm EVERYDAY …LIAR…..were i on here 24hrs per day, i would have no time for my two sites..

“Is it any wander why your country is so heavily indebted.”

leave them, i recently injured myself planting a super food, and would do it again in a second…let them stay INDEBTED….they look good..

anyway, here are the good, better and BEST NEWS:

The good news is: the traditional TRAITOR Slaves are not invited, welcomed or involved in any movement side by side with the Afrikan minded….music to my ears…no one is seeking to DISRUPT their comfort zones to inhale their poisons. Stay in ya lanes…

The better news is: information is only distributed on Afrikan CENTRED educational sites…and ya done know many of them are MULTILINGUAL, so don’t waste ya time…….BUs Fowl Blog was never such and will moderae heavily anyway….so there goes information sharing….what a ting…

The BEST NEWS IS: any traitors seeking to infiltrate or spy to disrupt and sabotage to strengthen the Slave system, if they make it past LANGUAGE BARRIERS, which is doubtful…opens up themselves for HUNTING…Stay in ya lanes. This is not the 1930s, ya will meet those with my mindset and some even more BRUTAL…can’t say ya did not know, am doing a public service, screw with this and i can only wish you good luck cause ya don’t even want to FACE ME…..

20. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

*and will moderae heavily anyway

“When I was at elementary school, latr 50’s early 60’s the children who were very slow learners were in classes called “Special”

still called special in progressive countries….special needs…

“Will not happen.Barbados has passed all of its IMF test to date ”

this is all the little 11 plus Slaves live for….

.TLSN…ya should no longer have to ask HOW THEY GOT WHERE THEY ARE…or why that’s where they will STAY….

“someone who previously posted anonymously to demonize people such as Peter Harris”

saw Peter Harris’ name while scrolling and WHAT DO YOU THINK CALLING HIS NAME WILL GET YOU…other than NOTHING….i already GOT PAID…it was not my choice to be anonymous on an anonymous blog…..but it was MY CHOICE TO END IT…

21. The Church’s slave plantation
    Heart and Soul
    What are the consequences of the Church of England’s historic slave plantations in Barbados today?

https://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/w3ct423c

22. Some of you are intent of allowing every blog to devolve into vacuous BS. What some of you should do is add the time it takes to craft your many empty comments and multiple by time of dayxweekxmonthxyear. The result is the time in your lifes gone forever. Tell us what credibility anyone of you can have calling for change if all you do is what you do. Get a rh life!

23. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“In circumstances where there are no low-hanging fruit. A largely feckless population. A misleadership class centered on that class’s interests. And tectonic shifts rocking the earth but largely ignored by the political-,managerial elites.”

The Afrikan minded WILL abandon it as preordained and let the Slaves HAPPILY, LOYALLY and PROUDLY collapse with it….i got me a BAD GIRL CAMERA for the occasion…just know when to jump out of the way…give them room…

“This was the period when you, Bush Tea and Piece more or less took flight.”

good catch….although Pacha takes sabbaticals, Piece may have health issue, and not sure why Bushman had to go, but their obscene certainly unmasked what the blog was about….along with other unforeseen inputs.

*and will MODERATE heavily anyway

24. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

*Piece may have health issues…

*but their ABSENCE certainly unmasked what the blog was about….along with other unforeseen inputs.

TLSN…..thanks for that link…dude on the left looks like a young Evander Holyfield..

nice to finally understand that i have not wasted a minute of my time on any site at any time….ah wonder who has….never mind, not worth even thinking about..

25. Magnificent a.k.a Magno – Yu Heard Formula: C₂₁H₃₀O₂ IUPAC ID: (−)-(6aR,10aR)-6,6,9-trimethyl- 3-pentyl-6a,7,8,10a-tetrahydro- 6H-benzo[c]chromen-1-ol Avatar
    Magnificent a.k.a Magno – Yu Heard Formula: C₂₁H₃₀O₂ IUPAC ID: (−)-(6aR,10aR)-6,6,9-trimethyl- 3-pentyl-6a,7,8,10a-tetrahydro- 6H-benzo[c]chromen-1-ol

Separating Wheat from Chaff.
    There are good people and bad people.
    There are positive people and negative people.

Twisted Politics of Twisted Soundbites By Insincere Weak Heart Snakes in Grass
    Bad and negative people will take good and positive concepts and corrupt them.

A Black Nationalist Racist Populist narrative is evil in same way as a White Nationalist Racist Populist narrative.

Can We Talk (Radio Edit)

Complicated (Richard Earnshaw Remixes) (Richard Earnshaw Revision)

26. Pacha

Buff licks from who? Do not fall into the category of the fairytale tellers on BU.🤣🤣🤣

27. Salemite the Mighty Warner I clearly live rent free in your peabrain. No sane person on BU is jealous of, concerned by or interested in you. The ones who lick you, do so because you serve their purpose. They all know you’re a stranger to the truth..
    This TLSN sounds very much like Hal Austin. But I’d be shocked if the champion of “using your real name” is now a mere moniker.🤣🤣🤣🤣

28. Steupse!

NTSH. I gone.

29. “Some of you are intent of allowing every blog to devolve into vacuous BS.”

And I am here to call it out, even if I appear petty. Accounts for over 30% of posts on most threads, now accused of being a blog hog trying to say-‘I am.hardly here before 6am, so I don’t hog the blog’. A scam and scammer.🤣🤣🤣

30. But before I go, my sour sop tree is laden. The mango tree was recently laden. Waiting for the coconuts to drop. Mango drink, sour sop punch, coconut punch.

And when I do drink alcohol it is rum punch or wine from local fruit.

Had soup made from local ground provisions, cousin reared chicken and local cassava dumplings yesterday.

Breadfruit in the freezer waiting to make cou cou. A locally caught “dolphin” in my cousin’s freezer waiting to accompany it.

And it’s out to the kitchen garden to reap!

P.S. Drove a modest, energy efficient car for years. Gave it up when I retired early.

House was considered big in 1982. Now modest.

And globe trotting was never my thing.

And yet…….

31. @ Donna,
    When it comes to all things food related you and Cudhear Bajan rest in a class of your own.

32. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

TLSN…quite the broadcast, shows the beastly two-facedness of dead criminals and the dangerous indoctrination that clouds the judgement of those who regurgitate the poisons long after they are dead and gone. and somehow neglect to mention in detail, their many criminal acts..

.The fact that an earth trapped demon after kidnapping, selling, torturing people and killing Afrikanity in the worlds original indigenous is heralded by the descendants of the enslaved as some progressive, is a crime in and of itself. ..and shows how evil lives on unless destroyed permanently, instead of talking shite about making a slave master a national hero, everything touched by such animals should be STRIPPED AND BURNT……

no religions DERIVED from 300-400 years of enslavement, horrible mistreatment and THEFTS of labor…should EVER be followed or PRACTICED….the “bad effect” will continue unless IT’S ALL ABANDONED by the Afrikan conscious.

Young people should MOVE AWAY FROM IT ALL PERMANENTLY…ya done know some stage performer(s) regurgitating shite from the negro slave bible will NEVER IMPRESS ME..

..the stage performers turned me right off..but some of the people interviewed were really on point and know that something is VERY WRONG…and they saw the arrogant impositions and now it’s time to SHED IT…kill it….let the Slaves live in it generationally and permanently….they will all die out soon enuff, and only then will everything be set STRAIGHT.

33. Dubwise Version Excursions
    Chosen Brothers Vs Rhythm & Sound

Mango Walk

Mango Drive

34. @ African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved,
    I tuned into the programme late with ten minutes left. I will listen to it later on when I have finished all my daily tasks.

35. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

TLSN..yes, it’s worth a listen, found some nuggets in it..

36. Barbadians are being warned to prepare for some “tough times” ahead as commodity prices continue to soar, even as measures are implemented to stave off any further major fallout.

37. Word on the ground says that some of the govt houses being built are so small that more than one person occupying at the same time have to be the size of a twig to pass side by side
    Govt promised houses but some seems to be slave hut sizes
    Also the fairchild street 2×4 tenantry stalls after four and half years not completed also omitted from these stalls are attached bathrooms
    Such addition is said to be outside a stationary placement for those who are given permission to ply trade in the stalls
    Seems as if no proper thought of weather conditions were taken into consideration when those stalls were being built
    Priorities seems to be a missing link in this govt thinking process
    Advisors consultants and committees yet nothing done right

38. @Hants

Barbadians are an intelligent people, why would we have to be reminded? This is what the blogmaster always refer to regarding the importance of citizen awareness and advocacy.

39. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Since it’s the IMF doing the “reminding” and wunnah already owe them close to one BILLION DOLLARS….and they and ALL OF US…know those WHO have to propensity to have light fingers….aka TIEF WHAT IS NOT THEIRS….

me thinks the “reminder” comes in handy..

40. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

know those WHO have the propensity to have light fingers….aka TIEF WHAT IS NOT THEIRS….by the BILLIONS OF DOLLARS.

41. David,

I saw yesterday an article quoting some Brits as starting to grow their own food, some skipping meals and some eating smaller meals.

I feel we should forget the political mouthings and do it ourselves. I have started to conserve more and told my son to do the same. I can pay my bills in BDS but the country pays in USD.

Pots, pans and old bathtubs should be full of dirt in every backyard space. The idea is not necessarily to grow all one’s food but to make up the difference due to inflation.

We Bajans need to size down, change our eating habits, get up off the couch, turn off the tv and hit the road for exercise. Carpooling and roundtripping work well also. I always practised one all encompassing trip to do my errands. Still do.

There is much that we can do. Better habits we can cultivate that will serve us well physically and financially AND serve the country as well.

Or we could sit and wait on politicians, gnashing teeth and wailing all the while.

I feel only those who have no room for down sizing should be helped.

42. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Can’t remember seeing this news on BU.

“it happens everywhere”, the BU mantra…does not mean you sit and take it…people are RESISTING and PROTESTING everywhere…we know ya never had any real trade unions on the island in recent times, say 40 years, still don’t mean you sit and accept..

“Rising cost of living sparks massive protests in UK and Ireland

Thousands of protesters marched in London on Saturday, accusing the government of failing to tackle the rapidly rising cost of living in the UK. Similar marches took place in multiple Irish cities, where citizens are facing the same struggles.

Demonstrators marched from Portland Place to Parliament Square in the British capital, where Trade Unions Congress (TUC) leader Frances O’Grady blamed decades of austerity policies for rising costs and wage stagnation.

“Prices are skyrocketing, yet boardroom bonuses are back to bumper levels,” she told the crowd. “Everyone who works for a living deserves to earn a decent living, but UK workers are suffering the longest and harshest squeeze on their earnings in modern history.”

43. @Donna

Conceptually there is nothing wrong with your suggestion, has the horse left the gate as far as forcing the attitudinal change required? We have another crisis in the horizon to force the change. Instead we can predict what our talking heads will say- government must dish out handouts?

44. Some of you are intent of allowing every blog to devolve into vacuous BS. What some of you should do is add the time it takes to craft your many empty comments and multiple by time of dayxweekxmonthxyear. The result is the time in your lifes gone forever. Tell us what credibility anyone of you can have calling for change if all you do is what you do. Get a rh life!

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

IS THAT NOT THE JOB OF THE HIGH PAYING GOVERNMENT CONSULTANTS INCLUDING AVINASH PERSAUD AND CLYDE MASCOLL ETC.

WASN’T AWARE THAT BU A BLOG IS PAYING BLOGGERS FOR THEIR SUGGESTIONS OR RECOMMENDATIONS.

STEUPSE

45. William Skinner Avatar

Example is better than precept. What sacrifices are those who lord over us making ?
    There is nothing in our political culture that gives the slightest evidence that there is any example of sacrifice.
    You can call for all the citizens to do this and that. We have a culture that exploits poverty and constantly reduces the poor and most vulnerable to mendicancy.
    Let’s be honest here and cut out the BS and nonsense.
    Example is always better than precept but it all comes down to bashing those who speak the truth and elevating those , who come here giving people that are barely surviving a lot of pie in the sky advice.
    It simply will not work until the people believe and see that the leadership both public and private are prepared to lead by example.
    Until then, like it or lump it we are all being screwed.

46. Pots, pans and old bathtubs should be full of dirt in every backyard space. The idea is not necessarily to grow all one’s food

XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

GOOD IDEA

ADD OLD TYRES THAT CAN BE PAINTED ON THE OUTSIDE FOR DECORATION

47. Waru

How hast the mighty UK so fallen? That there could have elected a clear asshole like Boris Johnson and many more before him including the war criminal Tony Blair who has made tens of millions in graft since leaving office.

Then yuh got problems in Scotland, Ireland and Brexit means nothing but grief as business as usual is the main.

The dysfunction in both the Labour Party and the Conservatives cannot rid themselves of Bojo, regardless of his many crimes, and Starmer is as empty a suit as any in Marx & Spencer.

Absent Angela Merkel, Xi and Putin we seem to have all assholes running the world. Even Merkel was replaced by an obvious ass, a Sargent Scholz. And once these kakistocrats set in we should expect unending political decadence.

Unfortunately, Barbados is as bad as it gets, as well.

We see violence coming in Western capitals and possibly the balkanization of some states, especially the USA, given recent economic history, the elevation of massive wealth distortions, the centrality of the war economy and Western decentering.

Maybe Bushie is right. Spiritual forces are at work😇

48. @William

Mottley will tell you given the poor state of the economy she inherited, many hands make light world.

Leave a Reply to John ACancel reply