Some ‘insane’ Barbadians are asking the question again – is the standard of living we have become accustomed tosustainable. Is it sensible for us `a net importer and purchaser of foreign currency to promote and implement policies that guarantee we must BORROW billions in foreign and local dollars to fund the short fall not covered from taxes collected in the case of domestic and foreign earnings?

Many years ago, ironically at the tail end of the last economic boom which Barbados never recovered, former Prime Minister Owen Arthur warned Barbadians about dark clouds on the horizon and the urgent need to make adjustments. To be expected we continued to engage in immature partisan political ranting as the walls of our society cracked are now tumbling around us.

We are a tiny island with zilch natural resources having to depend mainly on the fickle invisible export of tourism to generate foreign exchange to pay for our conspicuous consumption habits. We continue to build oversized homes, purchase fossil burning expensive SUVs, travel to distant lands to fulfil manufactured aspirations , aspire to study at elite universities, select exotic foods from supermarket shelves, the benefits sold to us on foreign cable beamed into our homes 24/7. To any sensible and educated person the dinosauric economic model could not and does not sustain the level of expenditure we have to incur. There is a good reason why Barbados’ economy has been described as open and susceptible to what economists fondly refer to as exogenous shocks.

On top of the obvious challenge of managing a minuscule 6-8 billion dollar economy largely dependent on a fickle tourism product, there is sufficient evidence – see Auditor General Reports outlining a litany of public sector malfeasance (private sector is always complicit) AND corruption to conclude we make a challenging situation more difficult. With revelations coming out of the arrest of former government minister Donville Inniss et al, there is evidence a culture exist that feeds corrupt behaviour. Although not a unique circumstance to Barbados, Barbadians must hold ourselves accountable for the kind of country we want to build for our children.

Many in this space lived through the 2007/8 global crisis and the oil crisis of the 70s. It is evident from the experiences of the two episodes we have not learned enough to commit to implementing resilient ‘fit for purpose’ policies. WE have allowed ourselves to buy into the ‘good life’ of consumption fuelled by an economy built on beach ground. Even in the face of the obvious, we have to listen daily to bull pucky discussions designed to take us no where. Unfortunately with the multiplicity of agendas to satisfy, with social media a ready purveyor of the inane the blame culture has taken deep root.

It is 2022, according to establishment analysts were are on the precipice of another global recession, one that should it occur given our fragile open economy will again wreak havoc on the lives of Barbadians, decimating a debt ridden middleclass and moving the poverty line north. Our visionless leaders combined with a level of disengagement from Barbadians – who the blogmaster has always contended ceded entitlements under our democracy to the political class – will have to suffer again for it until we learn to do better. The reference to a people getting governments they deserve has been recorded countless times in this space.

To the immediate matter at hand summarised in the article shared by a BU family member:

Rising food prices are changing the way we eat and shop

Emily Peck

https://datawrapper.dwcdn.net/U5xvN/1/Data: Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis; Chart: Thomas Oide/Axios Visuals

Skyrocketing food prices in the U.S. are changing the way Americans eat and grocery shop — they’re buying more store brands, and less costly meat and produce. Some are now just making do with less.

• Meanwhile, food manufacturers continue to “shrinkflate” — putting less potato chips or cereal in the bags and boxes that we buy.

Why it matters: This is inflation hitting home, contributing to the overall bummed-out mood of the nation.

• Once upon a time, grocery shopping mainly fell to women, but these days 92% of adults do it. That means most everyone’s noticed rising food prices — and many have adjusted in ways both minor and potentially devastating.

Driving the news: The cost of “food at home” is up 11.9% from last year, the largest increase since April 1979, according to the scorching hot inflation numbers released Friday. Nearly every category of food the government tracks saw accelerating price growth. The most inflationary categories, as highlighted in a note from JPMorgan on Friday:

• Egg prices up 32% year over year, thanks in part to a January bird flu outbreak that killed about 6% of commercial egg-laying chickens, as Axios’ Hope King explained last month.
  • Fats and oils were next on the list at 16.9%, partly due to the war in Ukraine, followed by poultry (16.6%) and milk (15.9%).

Unusual trend: The increases in prices for food at home are outpacing food-away-from-home, which is up *only* 7.4%.

• This is “historically unusual,”JP Morgan notes. The growth differential is the widest since 1974, they said.

State of play: For a good snapshot of how rising food prices are changing behavior, we checked the most recent Beige Book — where the 12 regional Federal Reserve banks report on economic conditions in their area (h/t Planet Money’s Indicator podcast on this one):

Read full article https://www.axios.com/2022/06/13/rising-food-prices-are-changing-the-way-we-eat-and-shop

451 responses to “Cost of Living Matter (2) – A Time to Remain Unborn”

1. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“Instead of going after an easy target like the Salemite why don’t you, the sniffer dog-in-chief, try to locate MAM’s big red handbag and tell us here on BU what you find other than a red tissue ‘blackened’ lies?”

lol…so they love to project their criminality on to me, but cannot show ANY PROOF that i scammed some anonymous person on an anonymous blog…

…when all the scammers, THEIR NAMES, what they have done and still doing …is PUBLIC KNOWLEDGE…now on the INTERNATIONAL STAGE where everyone is reading and waiting to see what happens next……..lawd..

“After all, you have been her bagman for many years along with Lorenzo the handy yard-boy.”

puke worthy, they are Fruendels blind boys in a dark room filled with cats….or something like that, it’s been years, ah forgot how it went…..and ya done know bagboys have to LAUNDER MONEY to be on the outside looking in at any cabal..

they don’t get yet that am SO HAPPY not to be any part of their families, friends, fowls or whoever else they reel…my name can’t call in a thing…other than the Lost in Cyberspace who believe they can pin their criminal MASTER’S CRIMES ON ME..

.the set up FAILED….and guess who is going to PRISON….long time in coming…let’s see how well they hold up in the coming year or two..

2. @ 555dubstreet June 17, 2022 3:06 PM
    “Instead of going after an easy target like the Salemite why don’t you”
    The Salemite from the Salem Witch Trials is not an easy target.

Did you know, Kiki, that the real obey woman in that event was a slave taken from Barbadoes called Tituba?

Maybe your nemesis is a reincarnation of Tituba and Enuff that of the Puritan priest Rev. Parris who kept her as his bed wrench.

3. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Now i remember….it was a blind man in a dark room with a black cat…

so ya got a gaggle of blind fowls in a dark room, with one or a bunch of black cats….

.they can thank Fruendel later…

4. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“Maybe your nemesis is a reincarnation of Tituba and Enuff that of the Puritan priest Rev. Parris who kept her as his bed wrench.”

could you imagine bedding a fowl….that is the true definition of a step down, a fowl that boasts of being a billioniare errand boy… an d who.. loves his status as .fowl for corrupt politicians…i can see all kinds of moral and ethical things very, very wrong with that…

5. @ Miller June 17, 2022 3:27 PM
    “Maybe your nemesis is a reincarnation of Tituba and Enuff that of the Puritan priest Rev. Parris who kept her as his bed wrench.”

Kiki, you should note the miller used the noun “bed wrench” instead of ‘wench’.

For it takes a real wrench to ‘screw’ the nuts off Enuff’s fowl-cock head.

6. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“For our BU bushman knows full well there is No way a ‘nation’ of albinos could ever last 400 years as slaves building pyramids in Kemet and Kush under the daily rays of Ra.

The Abrahamic/Israelite version of One God (Monotheism or Sunworship) is a mere plagiarized version of that initiated by the rebellious revolutionary Egyptian Pharaoh called Akhenaten and culturally (mis) appropriated by the Jews-like many other Egyptian figures- in the character of Moses.”

those plagiarists can’t even stand the sun today, they are getting cancer at an astronomical rate and dropping like flies…short life span……..

can’t handle Ra after the 3,000 YEARS OF LIES THEY TOLD…and still trying to keep it up…although they lost track of what they stole and did not get everything…

7. The Miller

We destroyed Bushie and Terrance this week about their eponymous Yeshua.

See the thread below by Terrence.

Bushie felt that truth was going to be reviled but his intervention was too late.😄

8. @ Hants June 16, 2022 11:32 AM
    Major share of renewable energy pie for Bajans

At the same time, she put the country on notice that Government would be stepping away from the sugar business, making way for a private sector-led industry, buttressed by renewable energy.
    (Unquote).

Blogmaster, how come you missed the obituary ‘for’ the death of the Bajan sugarcane industry as announced by the PM in the above statement?

The IMF has finally gotten its way by putting the final nail in the coffin to bury the heavily-subsidized Bajan sugar-producing business.

No future balance of payments support unless that industry goes belly up!

Time for a change in the name of the country’s biggest cultural event from Cropover to reflect the new economic gods of Growing medicinal marijuana, the Marching to windmills while g(r)azing on Solar panels.

9. Miller

Oh dear! I go after all who come after me, including you with your nauseating verbosity. The Salemite is a scam and scammer. Wuh even the fair Artax sey so.

10. A human walks into a bar and informs the bartender he is reading a book about Evolution.
    The bartender asks would you recommend it.
    The human says “Yes, it is not great in the beginning, but it does get better and better”
    Boom Boom, its the way I tell ’em

11. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

There is much more to that article, you will see it when i publish…the nerve on these beasts..

12. When overcome with fear, even atheists will make up Gods to pray to, but I assure you their prayers will go unanswered.
    Plat the game, that’s how you survive.

13. Play* the game, that’s how you survive.

14. @ Miller,

Leading supermarkets in Toronto selling Sugar Cane. 3 ft long piece for CAD $1.99 ( product of Costa rica }

There are also juice bars and street vendors selling the juice.

https://www.tastetoronto.com/news/grab-freshly-juiced-sugar-cane-and-orange-juice-right-around-the-corner-from-christie-pits-park

15. Enuff

The Miller is right. Stop picking on the woman. Been going on toooooo long.

You seemed to be a woman beater. Enough, why don’t you pick on your big.woman who is man enough to cut yuh tail?😄

16. @ Enuff June 17, 2022 4:20 PM

There is absolutely no difference between you the red bag carrying boy and the Salemite, right!

After all it takes one liar to know another scamming liar.

Not even a smidgen of light can pass between the two of you ‘lying’ in the same cocoon of duplicity!

But we shall leave you to “BAJE” for he certainly has your ‘pimper’s number.

Which skyscraper building is that again we can locate you in on our next trip to Manhattan?

Or should we just imagine it all like some big ‘Enuff’ mirage and take a trip up or down Roebuck Street to meet you on your island of fantasy?

PS: The “verbose” miller is so pleased to ‘see’ that you can still read his contributions in order to appreciate the truth.

At least you get to ‘learn’ a lot about your lying scamming self right, red bag man?

17. Enuff

The Miller is right. Stop picking on the woman. Been going on toooooo long.

You seemed to be a woman beater. Enough, why don’t you pick on your big.woman who is man enough to cut yuh tail?😄😅

18. @ Hants June 17, 2022 4:36 PM
    (Quote).
    @ Miller,
    Leading supermarkets in Toronto selling Sugar Cane. 3 ft long piece for CAD $1.99 ( product of Costa rica }
    There are also juice bars and street vendors selling the juice.
    (Unquote).

Absolutely nothing ‘bad’ about sugar cane in its natural or even ‘semi-refined’ state!

Sugar only becomes a problem to human health when it is overly refined.

Natural cane juice and molasses have great health benefits when taken in moderation and is a quick source of energy for the human body in the tropics or semi-tropics.

Natural Sugarcane juice is one of the best refreshing drinks (full of energy) any hardworking man or woman can ever consume.

So too is mauby without the refined sugar but ‘sweetened’ with a little Bajan syrup.

Have you ever tasted tamarinds soaked in Bajan-made syrup?

The Miller and Hill families made a living shipping tamarinds and syrup to Canada.

19. William Skinner Avatar

@ WARU
    Ignore them. The family jewels will be all sold and they can’t say a word. Imagine over one billion given to the sugar industry , in the last fifteen years, and just so an announcement that we dun wid dat. Those “ fields and hills beyond recall are not our very own “
    A mockery of the national anthem.
    Let them bray. They are a shameless lot, a pack of comedians.
    Look for more sales of national assets. A A drowning man will clutch at a stray.
    Fire go bun dem………….ignore them.

20. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

The only scammers i see on BU are those HIDING behind anonymous monikers and demonizing people THEY DON’T EVEN KNOW, all for politicians. …primarily BECAUSE THEY LOST A CASE that was NEVER THEIRS TO WIN…..

…and LOST EVERYTHING ELSE when all their corruption got exposed in the INTERNATIONAL ARENA and not even by me…………..but even worse……THEY CAN’T turn me into a FOWL or a POLITICAL PIMP…..

they can’t stand that i have 2 websites and magazines NONE OF WHICH THEY CAN CONTROL as they control BU…

CAN’T STAND that am such a nice woman and have not put any more out there that can lock them away for 100 YEARS…but keep pushing…and see how nice can turn to nasty…

so if wunnah want to keep going there…BRING IT ON…

Pacha…there was always a lot going on in the background that i never speak about…

21. @ Miller,

tamarinds soaked in syrup from the factory was one of the staples of my childhood in Barbados. lol

22. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

” Imagine over one billion given to the sugar industry , in the last fifteen years, and just so an announcement that we dun wid dat. Those “ fields and hills beyond recall are not our very own “”

ah got an article about them and that in my next Kush Quarterly issue…all of that got them beside themselves, cause they KNOW..IT’S COMING…

…they only “done wid dat” because they got caught trying to jump start slavery sugar plantation and Beckles told them to plant food instead, but if they think because they WALKED IT BACK hurriedly FEARING THE BACKLASH…and ..that the damage was not already done…they can read my article…

AND…dey cahn stop nutten;

“Readers from Barbados, as well as expats, are welcome to call in to BajanVibesRadio tomorrow, Saturday, at 0900 Eastern and Atlantic Times, or 1400 hrs BST, for our lecture on how victims of land fraud can obtain not only justice, but compensation for their loss. There will be call-ins allowed, and you are encouraged to reach out to tell your story.

We will be discussing actual solutions, so tune in online atl https://246bajanvibesradion.com

23. Skinner

Is there anything left to be sold providing re-enslavement is not an option. As chattel.

24. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Imagine i got injured…..12 YEARS LATER am still trying to heal…and 10 out of those 12 years was spent FIGHTING THESE DEMONS IN A CORRUPT COURT….do you know how many people told me they will try to kill me if i try to win MY CASE….

Do yall have any idea what it takes to fight these CRIMINALS and WIN…

i left people with personal injury cases from 12-32 years old still moving through the system….so imagine how many years they TORMENT AFRIKAN PEOPLE for their basic human rights…and there have always been accusations of them KILLING PEOPLE SO THEY DO NOT GET COMPENSATED…

so if that mangy little nimble ridden fowl knows what’s good for him he would carry his fowl ass and go hook up with someone else of his ilk and intellect…, because am not the person he wants to meet in a dark alley when no one else is around…

25. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“Is there anything left to be sold providing re-enslavement is not an option. As chattel”

they are telling themselves they will get away with it….desperate to reenslave their own people to look good on the world stage……but…..they would more than likely GO TO PRISON FIRST….ALL OF THEM…

and that little scam their criminal minorities tried and GOT BLOCKED on the continent……got them sending out their fowls to attack because they know they can get away with it on BU….until I UPEND THEM…

..i remember one approaching me about 3 years ago telling me i should play solitaire, well that MF croaked about 2 or 3 months later so i hope he is playing solitaire where he is, the tiefing crook…

26. If ever Barbados needs an oppostion voice it is now
    Today Dr. Ronnie Yearwood in the Astor B Watts afternoon lecture provided the whole of Barbados with solutions for the Barbados economy

27. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“You seemed to be a woman beater. Enough, why don’t you pick on your big.woman who is man enough to cut yuh tail?”

but we know the ones who attack women….men would do the same things on BU but it’s the women who get attacked by these anonymous cowards…

thing is, they can’t even go one on one with me….not even in my present condition…there are tons of people WOULD WARN THEM…they would be carried out on stretchers….i don’t take prisoners and only gotta smell ya stench of bad intent…and ya gone….so let them continue playing, until one day…

but fowl enuff is doing the dirty work of politicians…the eternal errand boy…doubt he is being paid for it given certain information i have…

28. five point plan to rescue barbadian household

https://youtu.be/vEE2eBXinkY?t=1703

29. AC

This is not the historical moment for children, speaking politically.

To presume that your puerile misleadership class member could have any facile five point plan to rescue Barbados or Mars requires a level of magical thinking best associated with religion.

The DLP is dead. Let the dead bury the dead!

30. Pacha
    Well tell de Salemite rest me. You ain’t see a setta de coven always out fuh me? Milluh, the insufferable William Skinnuh, confused Theo and 3degree. Once they come for me I will nyam dem raw wid salt. BU is but comedy for me, not a soapbox to grandstand Salemite the Mighty Warner is still a scam and scammer. Ah lie?🤣🤣

31. Btw Pachaman
    There was a time when I thought your were dead also
    Maybe u ought to make good use of those words and apply them to yourself
    Cheerio

32. @ Pacha
    “We destroyed Bushie and Terrance this week about their eponymous Yeshua.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~
    Bushie is ‘shocked’ that you would so blatantly misrepresent the truth to the Miller, when it can so easily be checked that, when the bushman applied the ‘grig’ in your donkey, (in place of the old whacker dat get tek way..) you hightailed from the thread, exclaiming that you were ‘done did dat…’

A reminder…
    The only two issues are…
    1 – Is there a Creator?
    2 – What is that Creator’s Intent?

Whenever you are ready to resume, Bushie awaits…

33. Further, the notion of 5-point or 10-point or any number of points is a jaded tradition located within the American cultural setting.

They were designed for a society of simpletons for whom titular leaderships presumed ‘reading and writing’ had to be done for them.

A,B,C. Is the Bajan population now to relive the American mediocre experience of a man clearly out of depth?

It’s wholly impossible to reduce our current perilous conditions to any 5-point plan as delivered by an uninspiring voice which is unconvincing that all the complexities are thusly considered.

34. Bushie

We thought we could hide and put some lashes in yuh tail. But like the all seeing one yuh got Muh😵

Let The Miller make the judgement nuh. Or you want to be judge, jury and executioner🥵

35. Dr. Ronnie Obama Yearwood not expecting support from a Pach-ah -manure so u can save your comments for those with whom u engaged here on BU
    Dr. Yearwood is an educated person however he can relate with the needs of the most forgotten in this country those whose backs are being pressed against a wall of poverty daily

36. Enuff

Yuh got to stop cussing the woman man! Not dealing wid anybody else now. One at a time please.

A man of your ilk should be able yuh teh some licks without committing to this unending cycle.

This is years now. Enough is Enuff!

37. AC

Ok, very well. But your once Great party seems to be no more than a pressure group with the inbreeding able to accommodate only the truest, most fervent, of believers.

Political parties, like any other organisms, die. Sometimes slowly, sometimes suddenly. We fear the former awaits. Can’t you hear the political undertakers making the coffin.,

38. AC

The original Obama was a shite hound

And this one ain’t no Obama. Much worse!

Any bet yuh get another 0 -30😨

39. ” Business mogul Ralph Williams and President of the Energy Store Clinton Belle have partnered to build entirely solar powered homes.

Speaking at the Valley Resource Centre, the Valley in St George, Williams disclosed details of a design for a house that can be powered entirely from the sun. “

40. @Patches
    Don’t expect nothing better coming out yuh mouth
    You cuss God so Far. Ronnie Yearwood would be no exception
    Fact being you have yet to say any anything of substance that can reignite the Barbados economy
    One can bet your daily salvo would be predicatble

41. So.what 30 – 0
    What has that result done to help.the Bajan household 0
    Here is another 0 to think about and that 0 is defined by pain and suffering

42. Dr. Ronnie Obama Yearwood
    Mia is yet to present one
    The IMF showed up of Barbados doors to remind Barbados the whole world is suffering
    How is that for good news

43. AC
    We have long been. It requires the dismantlement of the current internation financial architecture along with the cancellation of all debts.

To us these are the only set of circumstances within which a rescue of the Bajan economy can be approached.

Of course, charlatans lacking courage will otherwise seek to mislead the blind.

Yell him Pacha say that.

44. Agree that he old play book has no value
    But until something new takes foothold no sense in spitting golf balls into the atmosphere cause they all fall down anyway
    I applaud Dr. Yearwood for seeking to find solutions for the Barbadian
    Anything else less that what he has said he would have been consider a failure
    Also by his coming clean it forces govt to dig it’s heals in the ground
    There is no turning back going into the past
    Dr. Ronnie Yearwood has a big task ahead with all the support he is getting he would perform admirably to save Barbados from itself

45. AC
    Dream on!
    If you can’t look into his face and see vacuousness or are so committed to party in a way where critical thinking is suspended. Well, mind gone, party gone, all gone.

46. LOL @ Pacha
    Wait Boss… You ask Enuff to stop abusing ac …and you take up the baton yourself?
    Be warned that Bushie holds the patent for ‘ac-abuse’ here on BU.
    The Bushman was just biding time with Enuff to give him enuff rope to get in a good noose….
    Anyhow…
    Wunna probably figured by now that ac is ‘abuse-proof’…. Dat woman is a special piece of work hear??!!
    Bushie almost burn out the whacker on her a few years back yuh!!… it was like cutting flint with nylon.. LOL

When you hear her refer to ‘the ole bore hog’…. that is our special code…. it is ac’s interpretation of the bushman at wok… LOL

47. @enuff
    Is there a rule that you must link some names together?

48. @enuff
    Is there a rule that you must link some names together?

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

ENUFF IS THE IDENTICAL TWIN BROTHER OF LORENZO SO YOU CAN’T EXPECT ANY DIFFERENCE.

49. William Skinner Avatar

@ Pacha
    A critical reading of some of their apologists on BU suggest that their minds have already been bought. The next sale will be their bodies .
    The real family jewels of any country is its people. They , or should I say we, will be sold into economic slavery.
    The sale is well it’s way.

Leave a Reply to African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights ReservedCancel reply