Some ‘insane’ Barbadians are asking the question again – is the standard of living we have become accustomed tosustainable. Is it sensible for us `a net importer and purchaser of foreign currency to promote and implement policies that guarantee we must BORROW billions in foreign and local dollars to fund the short fall not covered from taxes collected in the case of domestic and foreign earnings?

Many years ago, ironically at the tail end of the last economic boom which Barbados never recovered, former Prime Minister Owen Arthur warned Barbadians about dark clouds on the horizon and the urgent need to make adjustments. To be expected we continued to engage in immature partisan political ranting as the walls of our society cracked are now tumbling around us.

We are a tiny island with zilch natural resources having to depend mainly on the fickle invisible export of tourism to generate foreign exchange to pay for our conspicuous consumption habits. We continue to build oversized homes, purchase fossil burning expensive SUVs, travel to distant lands to fulfil manufactured aspirations , aspire to study at elite universities, select exotic foods from supermarket shelves, the benefits sold to us on foreign cable beamed into our homes 24/7. To any sensible and educated person the dinosauric economic model could not and does not sustain the level of expenditure we have to incur. There is a good reason why Barbados’ economy has been described as open and susceptible to what economists fondly refer to as exogenous shocks.

On top of the obvious challenge of managing a minuscule 6-8 billion dollar economy largely dependent on a fickle tourism product, there is sufficient evidence – see Auditor General Reports outlining a litany of public sector malfeasance (private sector is always complicit) AND corruption to conclude we make a challenging situation more difficult. With revelations coming out of the arrest of former government minister Donville Inniss et al, there is evidence a culture exist that feeds corrupt behaviour. Although not a unique circumstance to Barbados, Barbadians must hold ourselves accountable for the kind of country we want to build for our children.

Many in this space lived through the 2007/8 global crisis and the oil crisis of the 70s. It is evident from the experiences of the two episodes we have not learned enough to commit to implementing resilient ‘fit for purpose’ policies. WE have allowed ourselves to buy into the ‘good life’ of consumption fuelled by an economy built on beach ground. Even in the face of the obvious, we have to listen daily to bull pucky discussions designed to take us no where. Unfortunately with the multiplicity of agendas to satisfy, with social media a ready purveyor of the inane the blame culture has taken deep root.

It is 2022, according to establishment analysts were are on the precipice of another global recession, one that should it occur given our fragile open economy will again wreak havoc on the lives of Barbadians, decimating a debt ridden middleclass and moving the poverty line north. Our visionless leaders combined with a level of disengagement from Barbadians – who the blogmaster has always contended ceded entitlements under our democracy to the political class – will have to suffer again for it until we learn to do better. The reference to a people getting governments they deserve has been recorded countless times in this space.

To the immediate matter at hand summarised in the article shared by a BU family member:

Rising food prices are changing the way we eat and shop

Emily Peck

https://datawrapper.dwcdn.net/U5xvN/1/Data: Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis; Chart: Thomas Oide/Axios Visuals

Skyrocketing food prices in the U.S. are changing the way Americans eat and grocery shop — they’re buying more store brands, and less costly meat and produce. Some are now just making do with less.

• Meanwhile, food manufacturers continue to “shrinkflate” — putting less potato chips or cereal in the bags and boxes that we buy.

Why it matters: This is inflation hitting home, contributing to the overall bummed-out mood of the nation.

• Once upon a time, grocery shopping mainly fell to women, but these days 92% of adults do it. That means most everyone’s noticed rising food prices — and many have adjusted in ways both minor and potentially devastating.

Driving the news: The cost of “food at home” is up 11.9% from last year, the largest increase since April 1979, according to the scorching hot inflation numbers released Friday. Nearly every category of food the government tracks saw accelerating price growth. The most inflationary categories, as highlighted in a note from JPMorgan on Friday:

• Egg prices up 32% year over year, thanks in part to a January bird flu outbreak that killed about 6% of commercial egg-laying chickens, as Axios’ Hope King explained last month.
  • Fats and oils were next on the list at 16.9%, partly due to the war in Ukraine, followed by poultry (16.6%) and milk (15.9%).

Unusual trend: The increases in prices for food at home are outpacing food-away-from-home, which is up *only* 7.4%.

• This is “historically unusual,”JP Morgan notes. The growth differential is the widest since 1974, they said.

State of play: For a good snapshot of how rising food prices are changing behavior, we checked the most recent Beige Book — where the 12 regional Federal Reserve banks report on economic conditions in their area (h/t Planet Money’s Indicator podcast on this one):

Read full article https://www.axios.com/2022/06/13/rising-food-prices-are-changing-the-way-we-eat-and-shop

451 responses to “Cost of Living Matter (2) – A Time to Remain Unborn”

1. The IMF chief warns barbadians that things gonna get worse
    Yet those in goverance continues to rely on a fickle.one nest basket
    The vision less that controls the economy seems less likely to find light at the end of this dark tunnel

2. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Pacha…it’s on, watch the scams escalate…

And ya see that “renewable energy ” scam yall playing the stage for minorities with…ya shoulda done the MATH first….pulling percentages out of thin air is for amateurs like yaselves….but real mathematicians know what to expect…..

it’s been YEARS info was circulating to STOP LISTENING to anything coming out of that fraudulently CORRUPT, haunted house of a slave master parliament…..that is only reserved for Slave membership…..

..and STOP LISTENING to or FOLLOWING the black face LIARS from Beggars Alley and others who are scamming their way through EVERYTHING…

..especially in the last year, people were SHOWN PROOF to stay away from THEM ALLand create your own destiny…YA BEING LIED TO DAILY…and the robberies WILL CONTINUE once you play in their nasty pool of corruption..

the intelligent ones have listened and ARE BETTER OFF FOR IT…

the fools/fowls/pimp followers are still stuck and awe struck wondering what is REALLY GOING ON…….and looking so good ah gotta write another book..

have yall tried to ROB AFRIKA LATELY…i have not heard anything yet….when i do you will be the first to know…..with ANOTHER BOOK TITLE…

3. Magnificent a.k.a Magno – Yu Heard Formula: C₂₁H₃₀O₂ IUPAC ID: (−)-(6aR,10aR)-6,6,9-trimethyl- 3-pentyl-6a,7,8,10a-tetrahydro- 6H-benzo[c]chromen-1-ol Avatar
    Magnificent a.k.a Magno – Yu Heard Formula: C₂₁H₃₀O₂ IUPAC ID: (−)-(6aR,10aR)-6,6,9-trimethyl- 3-pentyl-6a,7,8,10a-tetrahydro- 6H-benzo[c]chromen-1-ol

“Russia maybe winning the battle but the G7 is gearing for the long game.”

USA’s attitude to any other country that does well is:
    “Let them do well, we will just take it all back again”

4. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

William…wuhloss…these don’t know if they are coming or going…

just stay FAR FAR AWAY thousands of miles from the POSSESSED and CURSED…and whatever you do….DON’T FOLLOW THEM ANYWHERE…

slave membership only for that journey..

5. John A June 16, 2022 7:09 AM

Disagree

If Government had done only rudimentary PLANNING and implemented even a BASIC amount of a realistic PLAN then the majority of the present day consequences could have been avoided. Once again the PRIMARY FAULT lies with GOVERNMENT INACTION.

6. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

When ya only scheming to RUN SCAMS on the majority population with minorities…will get ya right there…..nowhere…lol

and just imagine they wanted the world to FOLLOW THEIR BLIGHTED ASSES, like if the world is FOOLISH LIKE THEIR FOWLS and followers……murdahhh!!

7. William Skinner Avatar

The underbelly has been exposed. Hop scotching will change nothing; photo ops with those who keep us in poverty mean nothing.
    Suggested reading : Today’s Nation editorial. We are in the Shark’’s guts.

Peace

8. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“photo ops with those who keep us in poverty mean nothing.”

someone pointed out to me yesterday that POVERTY is the NEW WORLD ORDER.

..better way to control the Slave minded only

the signs and warnings HAVE ALWAYS BEEN THERE…for those who were watching…

my peeps are prepared.

..the rest are on their own…

9. David

Again, cutching at shadows! Nobody is afraid of the G7. NATO or G7 the same game, only different name.

The Shanghai Cooperation Council and the Eurasian Economic Union got more PPP that them. In any event Russia alone or China alone can defeat these fascist regardless of length of battle, war.

And the number military strategy has not even been deployed as yet.

David your West is dead. Lay down nuh!

10. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

That it managed to reach to this point, tells us everything……roadkill…

ya should see the interactions on other forums.

11. Move Ya
    Rockers Takeover

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JcgfO2XAYvo

12. Away with your Tribal (aka Bitch Narratives)

You Must Be Mad

Tribal War Dub

13. A Version I Can Feel Dub

In the Ghetto

Satta Massagana

14. A Seasoning in the Reasoning
    There are those negative mindsets types who will always pounce on difficulties problems and hardships as proof that they were right and others were wrong. But, when and if premises are wrong faulty and deluded, then all derived logical steps will also be wrong faulty and deluded.

Habour Shark

Some A Halla

15. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Pacha…a sample for Bushman, we gotta change the fake history that they marinated him in……Miller is already well acquainted..

Les Koushites constituaient l’épine dorsale des armées dans les premiers âges. L’Égyptien n’a pas de qualités guerrières. C’est le Koushite qui fut le cerveau des conquêtes étrangères. C’est l’élément koushite de l’Ancien Empire qui a étendu la colonisation vers l’est et l’ouest. Dans toute l’Arabie et le sud-ouest de l’Asie, jusqu’aux hauts plateaux centraux, des inscriptions et des images massives dans la pierre témoignent qu’ils étaient les commandants des armées égyptiennes et que les masses éthiopiennes accompagnaient les soldats comme des alliés de confiance et non comme des esclaves forcés. Nous devons nous rappeler qu’aux premiers âges, ils n’étaient pas une race soumise, mais que leur puissance en tant que grand empire était à son zénith.

16. Healer
    BU is warming up to the African mindset way of thinking thing and is now open to ideas about the roots of blacks.
    I remember circa 10 years back when the BU talking heads were highly critical and negatory towards it,
    some even said that they were glad slavery took their descendants away so they could live in the west.

Sickness

17. slavery took their ancestors away

18. Exactly photo ops means nothing after more than three years under the IMF control poverty and crime levels increase
    I am reminded of a PM Manley statement when he says that while under an IMF program the issue of crime and poverty was brought to the attention of the IMF chiefs the answer which he received still boggles one lacking of empathy and deep concern
    Having a response that was jaw dropping and a definite WTF moment
    Two days ago while the new chief was being given a guided tour of Barbados
    The new chief in similar tones pointed out to the PM that the world was undergoing similar problems
    The problem.with small island nations lies in the fact that none of them have found a path by which self powerment can be achieved …the carribbean basin is awashed with education and knowledge of all varieties yet the goverance of these countries rather stay connected to a slave mentality holding on to the white man coat tails which forever keep them in debt and increase of poverty and crime

19. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“some even said that they were glad slavery took their ancestors away so they could live in the west.”

that’s the Slave mind in full CODE..trying to impress slave masters and still ended up as roadkill..

20. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“the carribbean basin is awashed with education and knowledge of all varieties yet the goverance of these countries rather stay connected to a slave mentality holding on to the white man coat tails which forever keep them in debt and increase of poverty and crime.”

All EXCEPT for ANCESTRAL KNOWLEDGE…why do you think ya TRAITOR governments don’t want Afrikan people to have it…

21. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

The best opportunity in 400 years to RESIST THEM and get the black TRAITORS out of Afrikan lives PERMANENTLY..

of course the Slaves are welcome to stay…too much heavy baggage…nuhbody cahn carry dem..

22. I always thought that statement to be illogical because we in the Caribbean wouldn’t even have been born without the slave trade. Our parents would not have met. Different people would have been born altogether.

And Africa would have been a different and better place without the drain of slavery and colonisation interrupting its natural developmental process.

These people need the help of Walter Rodney book, How Europe Underdeveloped Africa.

People need to think logically before they speak.

23. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Just saw where Ecuadorians are HUNTING DOWN lying politicians, who now got them BROKE with their crypto scam..

…..can’t think of a better gang of criminals to take down..

24. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“How Europe underdeveloped Africa Walter Rodney summary?
    How Europe Underdeveloped Africa is a 1972 book written by Walter Rodney that describes how Africa was deliberately exploited and underdeveloped by European colonial regimes. One of his main arguments throughout the book is that Africa developed Europe at the same rate as Europe underdeveloped Africa.”

25. “slavery took their descendants away”

How can you just leave me standing?
    Prince – When Doves Cry (Official Music Video)

How can you just leave me standing?
    Alone in a world that’s so cold
    Maybe I’m just too demanding
    Maybe I’m just like my father too bold
    Maybe you’re just like my mother
    She’s never satisfied
    Why do we scream at each other
    This is what it sounds like when doves cry.

26. I believe the African diaspora and multiculturalism is a good thing for the diversity of human race
    although white Anglo-Americans have an aversion thing about mixing with melanin rich people of colour

Half-time & Presidential Inauguration
    Jennifer Lopez J-Lo a Puerto Rican 🇵🇷 American 🇺🇸 form the Bronx has been laughed at because of her money making big curvy backside mixed dna heritage but regardless has taken the hard knocks and put in the hard work to promote Latino Men Women and Children who are mistreated separated and caged in Trumpland

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ojw6f6EgFaQ

27. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Mixded up Equador with El Salvador but more than happy to see lying tiefing politicians hunted down…seems like it’s becoming a trend…to hunt them down, burn them out..

“Wazir Mohammed
    Jun 16, 2016
    The renowned radical scholar-activist was murdered 36 years ago because he did not fit into the old political mold, where leaders accepted the colonial structure and wallowed in its fineries, especially the misuse of the machineries of state to silence dissent. His death reminds all progressive people of their responsibility to organize and resist the abuse of state power.”

[These remarks were delivered at a forum on June 15, 2016 specially organized by the University of the West Indies to examine the theme, “The Assassination of Walter Rodney in Guyana: Reflections on the Commission of Inquiry Report.””

“especially the misuse of the machineries of state to silence dissent. ”

AND TIEF…which they are allowed to do..

Same as today, no different…the TRAITOR colonial negro in parliaments “wallowing in colonial refinery” so as to continue SELLING THEIR SOULS and their PEOPLE to keep in play, prancing around like they are important or someone should be impressed by them and their begging selves………..the house negro hugh shearer took it one step further and banned Rodney from Jamaica…

can’t for the life of me understand WHY AFRIKAN people in the Caribbean want anything to do with this trash, still follow them around, still elect them…they will be the end of Afrikans if you don’t GET AWAY FROM THEM…

28. And we are off and running.

29. Northern Observer

You do the econometrics. 9 percent or 11 percent is marginal, two different sources.

Before you were quoting Reuters which said 17 percent.

This is insignificant, our overarching arguments are based on mega trends.

You talked about “special” while postering familial connections to Russia.

And it is precisely because of familial relationships between Russians and Ukrainians which makes the operation special.

Let your people in the West fcuk around Russia and they will see the differences between a special operation and full scale war.

That you were unable to see this speaks to your innate racist disposition.

30. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Kept telling them from the beginning that Ukrainians and Russians are CLOSE BLOODLINE relatives.

..this war that was DESTINED to take place because no one did the Math…..really should not have happened, it is a familial war…only bloodshed of intertwined bloodlines….indeed special…

.when they figure out that it will cull generations of same families…wonder who they will blame it on..

Pacha…me thinks the BUers are speechless….lol

31. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Pacha…there is a live stream of the International forum…hope you tune in…

32. Waru

Been watching the SPIEF.

On the question of bloodlines. There are Mongols and others therein. That’s the problem of the Anglo Saxons in the West. The fascists Stephan Bandierists

Unless Russia can be a colony it must be destroyed has always been their attitude. Including Churchill.

33. Shit you won’t find on the spring summer autumn or winternet and is classified and won’t be declassified
    is USA, CIA and NGOs were responsible for fall of Soviet Union circa 1990
    and also have been supporting Ukraine since 1991 independence in the spat in 2014 and in current war games
    People like Putin and Oligarchs were CIA assets in the fall of the Soviet

34. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“There are Mongols and others therein. ”

i don’t think people take kindly to having entire generations culled..

35. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

i don’t want to laugh because a lot of suffering can clearly be seen in the future of multiple populations across the globe.

..partly due to those still not understanding HOW DIRE this situation has become..

this is not about “losing face” this is about saving lives even of the GREEDY…who will probably die from hard times before everyone else…

36. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

So…globalization is officially over,,,,

and apparently still a secret.

37. 555dubs

Don’t know for sure but yours is a likelihood. In fact those agencies and more were all over the inners of Russia during that time, under Yelsin.

38. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Gotta repeat:

that forum touched on renewable energy that i see the usual suspects in Barbados trying to shove down people’s throat like it’s some savior….no it’s not…IT’S A SCAM……and the easiest way to SKIM from the treasury…..it requires very heavy FUNDING….and of course ya need the current oil and gas energy output to transition to renewable energy….a very long process and not sustainable in this current or any environment…

but none ah dat int stopping de scammers…

39. Culture Vulture
    Someone who steals traits, language and/or fashion from another ethnic or social group in order to create their own identity.

A Culture Vulture is a practitioner of cultural appropriation. A Culture Vulture is an inauthentic individual who attempts to identify with aspects of another culture and claim it as their own. They do this by mimicking aspects of culture that belong to another group of people and not giving credit where credit is due, which creates the illusion that the aspect of culture they are mimicking is authentic to them

40. Salemite de Mighty Warner you’re the biggest scam and scammer! Only yesterday or Thursday you boldly declared your were too busy these days to indulge on BU; yet so far you’ve made nearly 35% of the 90 posts on this thread. 🤣🤣

41. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Thanks for counting the posts, glad my post counter is still around…….

ah know fowls don’t understand the concept of walking and chewing gum at the same time so i won’t bother you with the details on how it’s done, might hurt ya empty brainn…..but am still very busy, got a magazine issue to publish for July

…and the book and websites are doing just fine, ah know ya love to ask….how are yours doing?

42. Culture Whats Bitches

43. @ Pachamama June 17, 2022 7:14 AM
    Again, cutching at shadows! Nobody is afraid of the G7. NATO or G7 the same game, only different name.

The Shanghai Cooperation Council and the Eurasian Economic Union got more PPP that them. In any event Russia alone or China alone can defeat these fascist regardless of length of battle, war.

And the number military strategy has not even been deployed as yet.

David your West is dead. Lay down nuh!
    (Unquote).

Pacha, the clairvoyant, now that the ‘West’ has sold (out) Ukraine down the military river in a leaking moses marked ‘No to the EU’ what next are you seeing on the geo-political horizon?

A takeover of the rebellious Taiwan by the PRoC before the end of the year of the Chinese tiger?

What can ‘America’ do other than invade poor Cuba or Venezuela in retaliation!

For any moves to defend Taiwan, militarily speaking, would result only in either another Pearl Harbour or, as you fear most, another Hiroshima in reverse called Karma.

44. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

so did i expose ya latest scam, cuddear…….BUT…everyone got a laundry list of SCAMS stretching backward over the last 50 PLUS YEARS.with ALL YA NAMES ON IT…all the top crooks well represented…

.all except MINE….i don’t run in yall circles…bozie

…it is on a RADIO SHOW, it is an INVESTIGATION(S)….it is an EXTENDED BLOG review….

but YOU cannot show where i scammed YOU or anyone on BU out of anything……only exposed ya STUPIDITY…it was out there anyway…

new name for you….Lost in Cyberspace….murdahhh!!

45. Round 1
    Culture Vultures Vs Vulture Cultures

Straight to Prince Jazzbo’s Head

It a Go Dread

46. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Miller…i dropped a pearl on Bushman….

it’s posted in French above….he should figure out that ONE LIE about egyptian slaves that NEVER existed in FAKE EGYPT….,,but .found .in his slave bible opens up the floodgates for the other 75% of pure lies in that contradictive mad house with pages…….written by criminals..

47. @ Enuff June 17, 2022 1:58 PM
    (Quote).
    Salemite de Mighty Warner you’re the biggest scam and scammer! Only yesterday or Thursday you boldly declared your were too busy these days to indulge on BU; yet so far you’ve made nearly 35% of the 90 posts on this thread. 🤣🤣
    (Unquote).

Instead of going after an easy target like the Salemite why don’t you, the sniffer dog-in-chief, try to locate MAM’s big red handbag and tell us here on BU what you find other than a red tissue ‘blackened’ lies?

After all, you have been her bagman for many years along with Lorenzo the handy yard-boy.

But then again, why would a totally blind boy from the fowl pen wearing red blinkers look for a red bag full of blackened lies in a dark room painted by Fumble?

Or has that same red bag disappeared in Sinckler’s overweight luggage of incompetence while he was packing to go on his WB assignment?

There was absolutely no need to drive a vampire stake through the political heart of an already dying DLP only to invite the moral swords of Damocles and Maloney to hover over MAM like an Achilles heel.

48. “Instead of going after an easy target like the Salemite why don’t you”

The Salemite from the Salem Witch Trials is not an easy target.

49. @ African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights ReservedJune 17, 2022 2:38 PM

Miller…i dropped a pearl on Bushman….
    it’s posted in French above….he should figure out that ONE LIE about egyptian slaves that NEVER existed in FAKE EGYPT….,,but .found .in his slave bible opens up the floodgates for the other 75% of pure lies in that contradictive mad house with pages…….written by criminals..
    (Unquote).

I read it (as written)!

The Bushman doesn’t really fall for the BS as written in that book of fairy tales but looks for the universally relevant moral stories behind them.

For our BU bushman knows full well there is No way a ‘nation’ of albinos could ever last 400 years as slaves building pyramids in Kemet and Kush under the daily rays of Ra.

The Abrahamic/Israelite version of One God (Monotheism or Sunworship) is a mere plagiarized version of that initiated by the rebellious revolutionary Egyptian Pharaoh called Akhenaten and culturally (mis) appropriated by the Jews-like many other Egyptian figures- in the character of Moses.

Leave a Reply to African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights ReservedCancel reply