Submitted by Steven Kaszab

The news cycle has centered upon issues of inflation, cost of living, transportation and housing costs. Are we living far beyond our financial capabilities? Are our expectations too demanding?

The true inflation levels are nearing 8.9-10%, something our governments tried to hide in an effort to bring our attention to levels they wish to achieve nearing 2-3%. Gas has reached levels never seen in our nation. Housing, both rental or owned is out of reach for most citizens. Everything from the food we eat, to what cloths us or entertains us has risen drastically.

Our expectations have brought upon us a feared financial apocalypse, and we need to revise our expectations and life styles if we are to survive and possible prosper.

Energy costs demand that we stop driving gas guzzlers, and move to smaller vehicle’s or perhaps even electric vehicles. Has the time come that an average person cannot afford to drive a sports car or large SUV?

Can we move away from costly food items to local nourishing foods that are less costly.  Steak, lobster can be  perhaps substituted with  poultry, shrimp and pork. Eating healthier while saving on your costs works for me. Purchase intelligently, communicating with the grocer what you want and what your willing to pay. They can be persuaded to compete more effectively.

Housing has been a magnet drawing many of our friends into costly mortgages and excessive debt. Perhaps it is time that we strive for less costly options like renting. In many large urban centers you can find people who have been renting happily for decades. The problem is finding rental units. Is it not time for you to pressure public officials to move their revenue expectations from large housing units towards town homes, well built  apartment buildings and large building lofts. If you make it known that that is what is needed, some developer will build them. And when you rent or buy such a unit don’t play the blind bidding game, but strive to pay what the product is truly worth. Make the housing game yours, not the real estate agents and developers. 

Even our governments may need to review the public’s expectation, and bring their spending under control. A assessment of what is truly needed vs what the public would like to see.

The time of passive immediate purchasing must end. Your expectations need to mature and evolve, just as you do daily. It can be said we have entered a period of recession, and depending  on what the World Economic Czars do about it, can develop into a horrid situation for many of us. Think 2009 but worse and perhaps lasting longer. Yah the horror, the horror.

Do you have a grandma, grandpa who lived through the Great Depression? There is a source of inspiration and advice you can tape. Make things last longer, learn how to repair, reuse and recycle. As long as your car works, use it, and conserve gas by not wasting your fuel. Manage your time, expenses and expectations that would make your elders proud. Vacation locally, and don’t go to the airport to travel far away, it is a place of stagnation, stress and anger, especially Toronto International Airport 🙁

“Well done, is better than well said. The more I expect, the more unhappy I am going to be”(Ben Franklin). The stress you are all feeling, going to work for pay, while paying more to go there, and your payroll remains the same. This is a feeling that will be with you a long time unfortunately. We are not going forward financially, but rather hopefully remaining where we previously were, only to fall into debt and despair. Two feet forward, three feet back. 

The only way you can change your predicament, is by changing your ways. Expect less, but expect better. Look for quality over quantity and revise your expectations.

80 responses to “Curb Expectations – Cost of Living Matter”

1. echo chamber has nobody have something worth anything to say

2. Enuf words like ” encouraging” and “expressing interest in greenhouses” bla bla bla is what politicians and mouth pieces do well DEM DOES TALK SWEET TALK. Unfortunately you can’t cook nor eat the sweet talk so em worthless. That is the difference between those that do and those that TALK bout doing. We real good at talking and using words like “diversifying the economy” and ” moving towards greater food security ” bla bla bla, but when it come to doing and not talking we is a dam joke. Anyhow the Guyanese coming to feed we now so all should be well, don’t mind every rainy season I going still have to eat imported lettuce and tomatoes.

Good I done talk too. Lol

3. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David, I was just browsing one of the online rags originally outta Moscow and realized that Russia is holding one of their spectacular international trade shows.

With the angst that Biden just experienced with his Summit of the Americas it was exciting to see that the Russian St. Petersburg International Economic Forum -SPIEF (or Russian Davos, I believe they label it) was well received by the Taliban,. Belarus leader Lukashenko and several others like that!🤦‍♂️

Of course there were no delegations from those listed as “unfriendly countries” so that was a bit of a drag but lots of interesting tech and robotics on display… And not a word on any war!

Life is grand out East. And the US preparing for possible civil war … what a thing!

4. @Vincent Codrington
    Another good reason to disallow non residents the vote to determine the GoB. They are usually not fully apprised of the fundamental issues nor workings of the local political and economic systems.
    ++++++++++++++++
    Of course, all the local residents are fully apprised of the fundamental issues and workings of the local political and economic systems.

5. NorthernObserver Avatar

“Even our governments may need to review the public’s expectation, and bring their spending under control. A assessment of what is truly needed vs what the public would like to see.”
    Good luck.
    The pandemic unlocked more debt in 2 years, than the prior 10. JT returned from LA promising more aid, in fact, I see the deputy PM will join MAM and IMF chief this week in Barbados.
    Yet we still cannot fund our own Canadian problems.
    JT is gunning for an international job post his PM role. And it will cost taxpayers dearly.

6. John A,

Pity about the imported lettuce and tomatoes.

I am here struggling to eat all of mine before they spoil. Gave away some and yet….

So damn easy to grow lettuce and tomatoes for yourself! SO DAMN EASY!

As a matter of fact I am picking okras, spinach, chinese greens, TOO MANY SWEET PEPPERS, eggplant, beets, carrots, string beans, celery and even sour sop and pomegranate at present. And of course, all the herbs I need.

Cucumbers, cabbage, radish, squash, cucumber and pumpkin, water melon soon come.

Chinese cabbage, cassava and sweet potato also in progress.

Mangoes just finished. Other fruit trees coming along slowly.

Waiting on Bush Tea’s coconuts to drop and watching my cousin’s breadfruit tree on the “abandoned lot” next door. In the meantime, I get sweet yellow meat from my garden helper cousin.

Much of my meal comes out of my garden and meat, eggs, fish from two of my nearby cousins.

We are making this thing harder than it is.

7. Oh dear, I forgot that I have too many scotch bonnet peppers as well!

Too many food crops. Can’t eat all!

Can’t even REMEMBER all!

8. Oh, by the way, I understand that some white man from overseas is going to set up to grind cassava into flour. The BADMC was trying for years and years to get some monied Bajan to do it. Small timers try but the products is too expensive for the average person.

BADMC made an agreement to purchase all the cassava the farmers could grow and ended up with a cold storage full, unable to keep up, with their small scale processing. Price therefore remained too high for the average person.

Cassava is soooooo easy to grow and requires little watering. How the hell hard could it be dry it and grind it into flour.

But noooooooooooo, we prefer to depend on wheat from Ukraine and cry crocodile tears about soaring bread prices.

Cassava flour sometimes needs a pinch of wheat flour to hold it together but it makes delicious bread.

I made cassava pancakes yesterday. Much better than the wheat ones.

Going to make cassava dumplings for my soup tomorrow.

Had breadfruit pie day before yesterday. Got breadfruit flour in my cupboard and sweet potato flour too.

“No woman, no cry!”

9. No, Sarge! But we pay for our ignorance, as well we should.

We don’t wish to pay for yours. You will not pay for it up there. And that wouldn’t be fair now, WOULD IT?

10. “Oh, by the way, I understand that some white man from overseas is going to set up to grind cassava into flour.”

The New World Order soon come, (this means Top Global / Corporate American Brand / Food markets will buy up businesses and industries and sell it’s expired out of date products at premium mark ups). Mergers and Acquisitions is the name of the Game.

11. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“Of course, all the local residents are fully apprised of the fundamental issues and workings of the local political and economic systems.”

a 14W x 21L 166 sq mile island with CORRUPT managers from the 1930s, that’s all they have ever had… and it would be difficult to understand the dynamics at play, for those living in the diaspora WHO KNOW MORE ABOUT WHAT GOES ON IN BARBADOS..than the average citizen living on the island……how complex can it be when there has only ever been MISMANAGEMENT and TIEFING….

nothing complex about that at all….

12. @ Donna

Good for you ! The sad thing is that back in world War 2 when little came here, I understand from the old folks that Barbados was able to feed itself. My grandfather told me the inovativeness of the bajans then, from stuffing car tires with cane trash to people growing food even in window sills. He used to go in the market on a Saturday and said we as a people were so productive in those years, that you could even buy locally made cheese and so on there. They hardly missed the lack of imports.

Fast forward 80 years and we are so dependant on imported food it’s embarrassing. I guess that’s the price of progress one could argue.

13. @John A

That was a different time, a different culture, different lifestyle, different attitude, different home training.

14. @Donna
    Where did I ever indicate that I was interested in overseas voting? In fact I was very explicit in another segment that I wasn’t interested in voting unless I resided in Barbados.
    I responded to VC because his assumption didn’t pass the logic test.

15. By “yours” I meant those who DO have an interest and are arguing for it.

16. John A,

Cynthia Wilson wrote about it in her book “Whispering of the Trees”.

Seems her Philippian grandmother grew everything they needed and had a cellar for storage just up the road from here. Ground her own corn flour etc and processed other products for extended shelf life. Made most things from scratch.

From the time I read it I became fascinated by the lifestyle. I thought how very USEFUL she was. Something like Dame Bajans and Cuhdear Bajan.

I always admired people like Carmeta Fraser and Marion Harte but Cynthia Wilson’s book made it seem magical.

17. Vincent Codrington Avatar

Donna at 11:4 6 AM
    Whispering of the Trees is one of my favourite Barbadian novels/ autobiographies. It is a mirror whose reflection informed us how we reached where we are at. Some of the stories took place in the neighboring parish where I was born and reflected quite closely the characters that I recognized. It is very insightful book.

18. There can be an upside right now depending on position your in . I have a mortgage on a rental at 2% for another 3years, I had never put any money in a tax free savings account so as a couple I can put 162000 in a 3 year gic at 4 % my mortgage is paid for the next 3 years. There are ways of saving money by just shifting things around ,

19. @ Donna

Will search for that and give it a read. Recently been reading up on the minimalist movement in the USA. it is amazing when you read some of the bloggers on those sites how their life’s changed when they radically cut back on the materialism of life and its excesses. The clearly have learnt how to separate wants from needs. Thing is too some of these minimalist were dam wealthy people too who just decided to hell with it I am cutting way back and just living life.

20. NorthernObserver Avatar

so as a couple…..wait, is this your coming out party?

21. John A,

It is a really good read.

Vincent,

Cynthia and her siblings grew up knowing my father and his siblings. I grew up hearing about them. Had some interactions with her through NIFCA. So I rushed out to buy her book immediately. I was not disappointed.

22. MORE BIG DECKIE IN DEY CRUTCH!

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

YOUR MAKING REFERENCE TO LORENZO

23. @NO
    That’s a good one.
    Thought he was in Canada, but it looks as if he in a NJ prison pretending to be transexual… He gave up being a lesbian….

https://www.nj.com/news/2022/04/two-women-at-nj-prison-are-pregnant-after-consensual-sex-between-inmates-doc-says.html

24. I googled with the intention of buying the book. Not certain that I am seeing the right price….

25. Yes NO I have been trying to hide it but it is true I am a capitalist

26. TheO,

If you mean Whispering of the Trees, it wasn’t expensive when I bought it years ago.

It is a very good read. Grabbed me from the first paragraph.

27. Theo really a book? Didnt you say a while back that people call you illiterate , but your positive your parents were married.

28. Harm of obstacles to making decisions
    The Prime Minister’s language was direct. It needed to be.
    “We have been waiting for investments to be able to get started purely because we can’t get the FTC (Fair Trading Commission) to do and act fast enough with respect to issues relating to feed-in-tariffs,” she declared.
    “At the end of the day when the directive (from the FTC) comes, what use is it going to be? You are going to hear that we have waited so long that we can’t access the panels or you can’t access this material because of the supply chain disruption.”
    The Prime Minister was taking part in a panel including managing director of the International Monetary Fund (IMF) discussing the Barbados economic landscape last Thursday night.
    In an earlier Editorial, we asked why FTC permission granted to Barbados Light & Power (BL& P) to hedge fuel prices by signing future contracts was not given sooner.
    We ascribed no blame then. But current high fuel prices have justified the effort in 2020 by the BL& P to bind its suppliers to a fixed lower price for fossil fuels needed to produce electric power for sale to consumers.
    We were acutely aware then, as we are now, of our duty to protect the public interest. Hence, we asked our question. We also knew that approving the hedging request was not simply a matter of rubber stamping and that the FTC had to seriously consider a number of concerns in order to protect consumers’ interests.
    But the Prime Minister’s statement raises issues which have knock-on consequences. As it turned out, the FTC decision giving the go-ahead with hedging contracts led to the kind of result spoken of in the second half of the Prime Minister’s point.
    When the FTC go-ahead decision came, it was too late. It was no longer possible to lock in lower prices in the volatile global fossil fuel market. The changed circumstances mean that the rapid increase in fuel prices is now causing the kind of financial pain from which BL& P was trying to protect itself and its customers.
    The issue here is not simply a matter of the FTC getting the decision made. Rather, it is one of making regulatory decisions in a timely manner. This objective means removing obstacles militating against sensible, well-reasoned, but timely decisions in matters which are always complex but made more so by the turbulent economic environments.
    It is no easy task for Fair Trade Commissioners anywhere, but the demands of these times mean that the interests of this country may be harmed if tardy decision-making kills proposed investment. In the BL& P hedging decision, the chance of locking in cheaper fuel prices for the benefit of consumers was lost.
    Turbulent economic climates call for quick decision-making. The Prime Minister’s view that we must adjust our shot-making (to use cricketing analogy) to suit a changed environment is sound.
    Regulation predates Independence as part of our democratic process. That the Public Utilities Board got the job done and rendered fair and timely decisions is well known. Entrepreneurs could make investment decisions and the economy benefited.
    But as the Prime Minister said, “when regulation is not effective or takes too long, it is a drag on the economy”.
    In our opinion, it is a drag we certainly cannot afford at any time.

29. Quadruple???? Why set unrealistic targets???? Who can take such mouthings seriously????

Wuh yuh wan bet muh dat we will do no such thing?

Not even close!

Steupse!

Leave a Reply to DavidCancel reply