The following discussion with a Nate Hagen was interesting for the blogmaster and exposes a huge gap in the local space of new perspectives to solving problems and generating scenarios for consideration to use Hagen;s thought process. A shocking observation given the level of investment in education post independence.

It is obvious the social and political prattle we continue to hear – more of the same with minimal attempt to engage in needle changing interventions.

Here is the discussion the blogmaster thoroughly enjoyed compliments of BU family member Bentley.

As Ursula K. LeGuin the amazing author said “We live in capitalism. Its power seems inescapable. So did the divine right of kings. Any human power can be resisted and changed by human beings. Resistance and change often begin in art, and very often in our art, the art of words.”

Melanda Schmid-Ochieng

340 responses to “Thought Leadership Urgently Needed”

1. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

William, Pacha, TLSN and others, you may want to REVISE YOUR VISION for the island and the region.

This has succeeded in making up my mind for me, we knew it was bad, but it’s even worse than we thought. Don’t know if yall had known, but Garvey tried in 1937 with these class, status and title hungry negros and what did he get for his hard work in thanks, they robbed him of his plans and plagiarized his work…..he saw first hand and felt: The Enemy Within – Marcus Garvey

it could not stay hidden forever…and Who Feels It, Knows It – Rita Marley

they can invoke Bob Marley as much as they want and with every LYING OPPORTUNITY….but the truth is finally out there for everyone to read, their fake pan afrikan movement was a fraud all along as we intuited.

It is as plain as day that what we have today is an extension of the 1930s and has to DISINTEGRATE…given how it started….it MUST END WRONG….cannot go any further…

“In 1928 Garvey had been expected to visit (Barbados) and there was much official talk of banning him. “

“The WMAs and UNIAs manifestos, platform and programmes, their Barbados Association and its officers maneuvered out – sent to Coventry – and Garvey, Garveyites and Garveyism disowned. Three organizationa usurped: agendas, ideas and plans, even the beginnings of what could be called a bank stolen shrewedly and craftily plagiarized.

“In the West Indies. the Negro bourgeoisie and upper middle class is the most bribable strata of the population. Throughout the West Indies and British Guiana the greatest ambition of the average middle-class Negro is to play the role of the King’s monkeys and strutting about as “honourable” members of Legislative or municipal Councils.”

“The British overlords have been able to resort to an artificial method of splitting up the population and thereby prevent the crystallization of any dangerous anti-imperialist united front. This is done through the Coloured Caste System. This is wide spread in the West Indies, especially in Jamaica, Barbados and the Windward Islands. The authorities see to it that the mulattoes are put against the blacks and vice versa. Says that most power is in the hands of whites/Europeans, who give mulattoes lower positions, and “use the mulattoes as overseers to keep the Black masses in subjection. Thus the mulattoes shelter the real policy makers.”

2. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

William…did not realize that the BU roadkill is still harassing you….

tell them to check the evidence above and REFUTE IT…leh me put evating else out dey…and not only for this continent..but for the WHOLE WORLD to digest…..lol

ah got REACH like that..

3. “thought-leadership-urgently-needed”

can morons be Gurus?
    You may say “No”
    but as they are grannies and grandpas taking shite people should step down and let them be

4. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Wait… sumbody corn get hurt….murdahhh!!

5. mindless retorts from the self professed world renown author subject matter expert on Africa will never die they shall just

FADE AWAY

6. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

aww!!! cuddear….and here we thought you hated imperalists so much…kinda fraudulent, don’t you think….hypocrite even…

7. “2 Screws Loose Intellectual Dummies for Dummies” the Title of my next Book

8. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

right…am the one with the loose screws, but you are the one post blank videos all day long..

.blame it on me..

9. There is no movement without the rhythm
    Black African Music for the Soul is the Remedy for the Agony for the Pickney

“The beauty of African music is that it uplifts even as it tells a sad tale. You may be poor, you may have only a ramshackle house, you may have lost your job, but that song gives you hope…” Nelson Mandela.

The griot profession is hereditary and has long been a part of West African culture. The griots’ role has traditionally been to preserve the genealogies, historical narratives, and oral traditions of their people

While playing the Kora, Sibo sang a traditional West African song, Nan Fulie, about the importance of the Griot people – the West African musicians, storytellers, custodians and teachers of tradition through music and dance.

He finishes with an improvisation on the Djembe.

10. William Skinner
    Wey de facts? For you to call me intellectually dishonest but tag team with fe Salemite is proof enough. Bring the facts nuh?🤣🤣

11. I have been giving BU some serious thought and I am beginning to wonder what we are trying to do here in this space.

Regardless of the topic we get the same cast of characters and the same divide. What some support one day, they would criticize the next day. Ideas are examined not for their soundness but by who is proposing the idea.

It is doubtful if this site can become and agent of transformation for our small island. All of us are aware that there are pressing issues that need to be addressed; that some issues can be considered as low hanging fruit, but explanation and apologies are given as solutions.

Then, there are the laundry lists. Identify a deficiency in this or a past government and someone can point to a similar activity that happened earlier.

With both sides locked into positions and determined to be adversarial it is doubtful if Barbados can escape from the position it find itself in.

One blogger use to refer to Barbados as a failed state; my refrain was ‘not failed, but failing’. Given the behavior of all involved… It seems as if we are determined to fail

What are we doing here?

12. “ It is doubtful if this site can become and agent of transformation for our small island”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    LOL … Murdah!!!
    Get a life TheO…
    RU4 real?

The ‘transformation stage’ passed by about ten years ago…. You were probably fast asleep.
    …around the time that Owen got temporarily sober and spoke about the NEED to live WITHIN our means.
    Unfortunately he fell off the wagon immediately after the speech.

All that David and BU can do now, is help us to book our final burial plots, and to pre-write our obits.
    …and of course, give Bushie a platform to explain ‘Brassbowlery’ and its role in our imminent fate…. 🙂

13. @Bush Tea

The signs are with us and for those constantly taking pot shots at Barbados, it is global.

14. I have decided to up my game…
    No potshots but pepper shots occasionally.
    No more ‘I see it poetry from ac’
    No more fighting with anyone…
    Barbados first…

15. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“For you to call me intellectually dishonest but tag team with fe Salemite is proof enough.”

it’s you calling a private sector initiative government…with all the billions missing you must know something we don’t…is it echoes of the vaccine scam….? still fresh in ya mind..

16. skinner your fall back position is for us to provide evidence to the contrary.YOU ARE THE ONE MAKING THE WILD STATEMENTS.Therefore produce the evidence.Cslling on the loose canon and proven liar on this blog Waru ain, t going to help you.My conclusion you are a damn liar and hyprocrite who have a clesr agenda against Ms Mottley and this government.Although you have given a little support from time to time because it was the honest thing to do by and large your agenda along with your tag team is as clear as day.I gone.

17. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

The roadkill will soon have some handcuffs snapped on to them, they believe they will always have somewhere to perform their monkey antics….and don’t get reeled into what they endorse and support…pure corruption…

..if law enforcement lands tomorrow, they will all run and hide…don’t mind the big talk…

18. William Skinner Avatar

@ Lorenzo
    Kindly read what I wrote. Calling me a liar and a hypocrite is your right. Accusing me of having an agenda against Ms. Mottley is also your right.
    All you have to do is counter what I have written. You obviously cannot do that.
    If you had written anything and I had accused you of lying and or hypocrisy, I would bring my evidence to prove that you are a liar and or a hypocrite.
    In the event that I am proven wrong, I would then retract and or apologise to you and the blog.
    I stand firmly by what I wrote in that piece.
    Until you or anybody else can counter that , I would have to make this my last response to you.

19. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

fowls don’t get tired looking foolish, everyone got their number and can tell us what they will do or say next….

20. WS

In the last 12 months you have become the biggest liar on BU. Its all in the archives

Lorenzo.

I believe the beef is with Lisa
    Maybe it jealousy that she never contested a seat and is leading one of the most iimportant ministries in Barbados at this time while he contested one on Richie coattail and lost his deposit

21. Amm hear is some good news
    Corey Layne sent a message to the business community telling them to give back….or else
    Awaiting to see how that works out
    😆 🤣 😂 😹

22. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

William…while these believe they are making head way on a blog….all the names of their idols whom they blindly follow are blasted across cyberspace daily as the unethical and decidedly dangerous who should have LOOOONNNGGG prison terms..,,,and avoided like the plague..

23. William Skinner Avatar

@ John 2
    You are entitled to call me whatever you like. I have also been called a racist , who does not like Indians.
    I wrote a critical piece and you jumped on it without reading it properly. You questioned it and then asked me to produce evidence. I said to you that if you are calling me a liar or distrust my position, you need to bring an opposing position or evidence to prove that I was lying.
    Having failed to do so , you now come with childish innuendoes.
    As I said to @ Enuff and @ Lorenzo , just bring an opposing or counter position. And we can have a mature discussion.
    And I now say to you that until you can do so, I have no further response to you.

24. I want to.hesr out if Corey lane mouth what method of punishment would he undergo if the business community does not react positively for his call to.action helping the community

25. “I have also been called a racist , who does not like Indians.”

For the record
    Do you like Indians

26. Black man sound like white man who speak in fork tongue Kemo Sabe

27. In the matter of Arbitration, on review of a response we can possibly make a decision whether to downgrade the Skinner from a category A racist who hates Indians to a category B ignorant cunt who talks shit if it makes him feel good

28. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“As I said to @ Enuff and @ Lorenzo , just bring an opposing or counter position. And we can have a mature discussion.”

you already know they can’t…..hot air blowhards…..i so want to see all of them in handcuffs FIRST..want to see them crying on TV…to capture some video for my websites….

29. WS

I can dispute ur “ rampantant lie about a rebound in tourism “. Or ur “ statistics that proved it. Because u have not provided any info that I can dispute or agree with

However about two days ago I provide a link that provided the statistics for stay over arrivals at the airport (as a conter to blantant lie that there is no bounce back).

Since u seem to need help let me break it down a little for u

2021 arrivals Q1 = 7196
    2022. = 152 455
    This is bounce of approx 145 259 visitors off the low of last year Q1. Or an increase / bounce of approx 2018.6%

It is down on 2019 total of 272,138. But is approx a 55% bounce back towards that total

The above info is provided by the Barbados statistical services / CBB

Once again. I await you “blantant lies” and statistics to prove the lies

30. William Skinner Avatar

@ John 2
    You are so far out to sea. You are cutting and pasting statistics that if read correctly cements what I opined. You need to read what I wrote.
    Go back and read what I wrote rather than try to drag me into bull shit. I made a statement ,in a piece , that was critical of how we are going about our current state of economic management.
    It’s my opinion and if it is nobody else’s that is fine.
    No further responses from me to you on this topic.
    I gone!

31. WS. June 13th. 259pn
    The outright lies told about the rebirth of tourism , have now been brutally denied by recent statistics , emerging from some quarters.

————————

William Skinner June 13, 2022 6:09 PM

@ John 2
    The frequent reports about tourism gallantly bouncing back have not been truthful and or accurate.
    Kindly read carefully what recent reports in the press have stated.
    I can do more.

Peace

32. William Skinner June 14, 2022 10:13 AM

John 2
    I never said I cannot . I simply implied that you go and find the sources. I recall , I made a statement about a super market chain being owned by the workers. You pretended you did not know. Some joker joined you and then you threw him under the bus by admitting that you actually knew I was correct but you were only being funny or whatever.
    You are free to interpret what Comrade Austin meant when he talked about the Bajan condition. I have my interpretation; you gave yours.
    All you have to do is bring evidence that contradicts what I have said and then we can have a mature discussion.
    In other words , rather than ask me for evidence bring evidence to disprove and or contradict what I have said.

33. WS

Where is the mature discussion???

Running with ur tail between your legs like the WuSS u are?

34. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

William…don’t mind them…the BIG HUFF of properties they carried out in the 90s….and THEFT of a bigly, bigly bank account …..they had the AUDACITY on them, went and INVOLVED INNOCENT PEOPLE AND guess who THEY NEVER SHOULD HAVE…….in their grand schemes…..has finally BLOWN UP ON THEM and following them around….

it’s now online for anyone to READ, complete with NAMES…….can’t wait for the FALLOUT…

you and i can sleep well at night, trust me THEY CAN’T..

.when Karma catches up, it’s a hell of a thing..

35. The BU is about thoughts for input
    but moronic Clowns here are in competitions, copying others, calling for others in their cliques and are unoriginal repetitive fools

36. The Leadership

37. I definitely would call it a “blantant lie” and agree that Lisa Cummings “ dint have a clue”. IF…… I thought her seating capacity numbers were projections for actually tourist arrivals. And the frigging recent statistics would have proven it 🤣🤣

http://caribpix.net/barbados-projected-tourism-arrival-figures-looking-healthy/#:~:text=Minister%20of%20Tourism%20and%20International%20Transport%2C%20Senator%20Lisa,bulk%20coming%20from%20the%20United%20States%20market.%20%28BTMI%29

38. We project a healthy 2022 for Barbados in terms of ***our estimated seat capacity *** with a projected total of 846,413. We expect that the United States will continue to be our biggest producer with 279,714; followed by the United Kingdom with a seat capacity of 258,106,” Minister Cummins said.

39. John 2 you have presented the pronouncements as i recall as well.You have like Michael Holding scattered Boycott, s stumps all over the place done likewise to Mr Skinner.Trust me you will hear nothing further from him on this topic.This shows he is a liar trying to throw a spanner on the works to cause confusion.This is what these dems are good at, majoring in minors.I believe it was Mr Tom Adams who once said never give a lie a headstart as it will be difficult to pull it back.John 2 thank you for reporting the true story.Mr Skinner has to do better.I gone.