There is the saying often posted in this space that the price of freedom (democracy) is eternal vigilance. A necessary component to safeguarding our freedom (democracy) is a relevant media. An extract from The Role of Media in Democracy: A Strategic Approach authored by the US Agency for International Development (USAID) states:-

A free, objective, skilled media is an essential component of any democratic society. On the one hand, it provides the information which the polity require to make responsible, informed decisions. On the other, it performs a “checking function” ensuring that elected officials uphold their oaths of office and campaign promises and that they carry out the wishes of the electorate.

The blogmaster is reminded everyday since March 2007 when Barbados Underground (BU) went live on the WordPress platform the importance of a relevant media. We recall the VOB Sunday Brasstacks show when social commentator and retired hotelier Adrian Loveridge was forced to contribute to the program from a separate studio because it was the condition for the participation of former Minister of Tourism Noel Lynch.

During one of last week’s VOB’s Brasstacks shows the blogmaster was again reminded of the naked manipulation of traditional media by a caller (was it you William?) who questioned the Nation Publishing company’s decision to anoint Khaleel Kothdiwala a columnist to replace Dr. Kristina Hinds. The caller’s simple and well articulated logic was – with the BLP in total control of the Lower House, why select Khaleel who is a BLP card carrying member. It does not mean Khaleel lacks the capacity to share a perspective on a myriad topics, however, making Khaleel a columnist ensured the leading publishing house in the country slammed the door on an opportunity to improve vigilance in our democracy.

This is not a personal attack on Khaleel, he obviously is an intelligent young man who is committed to be a BLP sponsored politician. And it is his right, to align with a political party of his choice. This is an attack on the Nation Publishing for allowing itself to be manipulated directly or indirectly into making Khaleel a columnist. We may speculate this is the Nation Publishing being opportunistic by contracting a young man whose star is rising or that ‘someone’ made a telephone call.

The price of freedom is eternal vigilance.

119 responses to “Nation Publishing MUST Do Better”

1. Bajans should lead change
    In Barbados, the official celebration of the Season of Emancipation runs from April 14, which is the anniversary of the Bussa Rebellion, until August 23, which is the International Day For The Remembrance Of The Slave Trade And Its abolition.
    In between, we have National Heroes Day, Africa Day, the Day Of National Significance, Emancipation Day and Marcus Garvey’s birthday. One of these days we are going to be so fully emancipated from mental slavery that a four-month season of emancipation would seem unnecessary because emancipation would be like breadfruits, pretty much in season all year long.
    We are the people of the first black slave society. This is where modern-day slavery was invented and perfected. Barbados is a pioneer in systems and methods of human bondage and subjugation. So it makes sense that we should be pioneers in systems and methods of human emancipation.
    Reflecting the dreams
    The Barbadian mission should be to lead the transformation of this world, which is made in the image and likeness of men like Christopher Columbus and Cecil Rhodes, into a world reflecting the dreams some of our ancestors may not have dared to dream. Because to dream of something which seems like it could never be is to invite suffering. After centuries of enslavement, emancipation must have seemed to some like more of a fantasy than a dream.
    And yet, so many of our ancestors did dare to dream. And, more than dream, they dared to attempt to build.
    It doesn’t seem enough to say that they pushed against the odds. They pushed against reality. The reality is that the world system as we know it is based on systems of slavery and colonisation. Does the first black slave society dare to dream to be the first society in history, black or otherwise, to transcend this foundation?
    Attempt to build
    Barbados produced sugar and humans as slaves. It is the place where slavery was made. It is poetic justice that Barbados becomes the place where freedom is saved. With the sugar industry ailing, all we have to fall back on is the human element.
    Instead of pioneering the most inhumane methods to break the spirit and will of human beings, Barbados must pioneer the most humane methods to rebuild the spirit and will of human beings.
    Instead of the world looking to Barbados to learn how to make a slave, as is chronicled in the myth of Willie Lynch, the world should look to Barbados to learn how to emancipate self from slavery, as is chronicled in the hymns of Bob Marley.
    Seasoned with colonialism
    We need a season of emancipation because of how deeply we are seasoned with colonialism. We’ve marinated so long in the slave master’s sauce that even when the skins of the overseers change, the original essence still runs deep. But there is an essence that runs even deeper, which slowly seeps to the surface. It is the essence of all human beings regardless of race or class to seek liberation in some form. It so happens that most of our ancestors have an African form to that essence.
    This essence kept our ancestors pushing against their current reality even when centuries of experience said that bondage was our eternal lot. Under the dark rule of those who would fool you into believing that their ruling is by divine right, our ancestors saw light. Not at the end of a tunnel.
    But in their own minds and spirits and kept going towards it. And it grew brighter. Now it is up to us to carry the torch. Even as the rulers of the global plantation, by acting in their usual manner, threaten to leave the Earth scorched.
    Once upon a time, to be Barbadosed meant to be sent to the place where all dreams and hope were meant to die.
    Can a new generation of Barbadians transform this island into a place where the Barbadosed form and essence of our ancestors are brought back to life and light?

Adrian Green is a communications specialist. Email: Adriangreen14 @gmail.com

2. African Diaspora
    We call it Infamy
    I have not seen a definitive breakdown in total numbers of slaves from shipping to breeding of mothering slaves for over 20 generations
    A back calculation could be determined from slave descendants birth records

Reparations Plan
    https://reparationscomm.org/reparations-plan/

3. Kingdom Rise Kingdom Fall / The Wailing Souls
    Yes! Whoa now, whoa now, whoa now!

Kingdom rise an’ kingdom fall
    Whoa yeah, now, now!
    Babylon back is against the wall
    Babylon trying to find a solution

Whoa yeah, now, now!
    Yeah!

Economics has got them in desperation
    Dis ya modern famine
    And poverty is causing dangerous political tension
    Dis ya modern famine
    Depression is down in the land
    Dis ya modern famine
    And inflation is holding down strong, strong, strong
    Shi dup, shi dup

Whoa yeah, now, now!

Yeah!

False rulers, we know them
    Dis ya modern famine
    Speaking about human rights
    Dis ya modern famine
    Yet they deal with pure dishonesty
    Dis ya modern famine
    And the people, they still can’t walk the streets as they like
    Shi dup, shi dup

Whoa yeah, now, now!

Yeah! Whoa yeah, now, now!
    Oh yeah, oh yeah!

Economics has got them in desperation
    Dis ya modern famine
    And poverty is causing dangerous political tension
    Dis ya modern famine
    Depression is down in the land
    Dis ya modern famine
    And inflation is holding down strong, strong, strong
    Shi dup, shi dup

Whoa yeah, now, now!

4. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

KK wrote on BU even though it was clear he was being misled by political pimps, by deceitful politicians. I was very concerned from the beginning that the poison he was indoctrinated to spew would taint young minds….no one else was bothered by this..

i take it the replacement of the other writer is the real issue here. Nation has always been known to be a mouthpiece for whichever government of the day was usurping the people’s elective power to mislead voters and cover multiple political and minority crimes against said people………no different to the BLP mouthpieces found on BU…

5. “It does not mean Khaleel lacks the capacity to share a perspective on a myriad topics, however, making Khaleel a columnist ensured the leading publishing house in the country slammed the door on an opportunity to improve vigilance in our democracy.”

Khaleel was offered a position in the Senate, which the Senate squashed a necessary constitutional amendment for him to represent. Giving the youthman a voice in a newspaper would be a baptism of fire to prove whether the Senate was ignorant backward and regressive or justified in it’s rejection. To be a mixed race minority or muslim is not a crime. Shallow minded thinking is sipping the cup of ignorance.

Fire Focus Meditation Full Experience With Performance Coach Damon Damato

6. Why must some of you always do the predictable? The focus of the posting is to highlight the important role of media in Barbados and elsewhere.

7. It is common knowledge that the Nation is the BLP mouthpiece but what better way to curry favor with the PM than to give her blue eyed baby a regular gig as a columnist thus what we missed in the Senate we can read in the daily rag.
    As for Dr. Hinds you were a tad too critical of the powers that be and your wings had to be clipped, remember the PM said that they will provide the Opposition and that’s the way it is.

8. The Nation is a Trini Trojan horse, whose role is to keep Bajans foolish and subservient with slave-minded propaganda…
    They have done a great job in fooling 99.9% of the brass bowls 100% of the time..
    ..BUT NOT stinking Bushie.

9. Why must some of you always do the predictable?
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Bushie was wondering if your delete button break off…..

10. @Sargeant

There is something else you could have mentioned.

When Caswell was appointed to the Senate he was forced to resign as columnist of the Nation. Apparently the Nation has a policy of now allowing members of the house of assembly to be columnists. It is interesting the explanation given by Dr. Hinds for giving up being a Nation columnist.

We live in interesting times.

11. @Bush Tea

As you are aware the blogmaster is lazy to delete comments but will do when necessary.

12. “Why must some of you always do the predictable?”

Jah Give Us Life [Don’t Feel No Way] (12″ Mix)

13. @ Sargeant
    The Nation (One Caribbean Network) don’t support the BLP per se…
    They support ANYTHING that promotes THEIR Trini agenda.

It happens that the stupid BLP policies since Tom Adams, of borrowing and looking OUTSIDE for every shiite is EXACTY in line with their agenda to destroy Barbados…or rather brassbadians..
    OCM promotes ANYTHING that downgrades Barbadian pride. This is why they LOVE Petra Wicky, and why the moderators on brass tacks all sound so paipsy… Just the thought that their ‘go to cuntsultant’ spends the nights under French dictatorship makes Bushie shame as shiite..
    …and Walter could REALLY stay in Atlanta too, someone obviously had a chat with him about his initial dig into radical vaccine accountability. He has been doing himself NO Favors since then…. it is like he needs the couple dollars…

Steupsss
    Caswell is a MAN among brass bowls in Barbados. He is the same when poor, rich, senatorial or unlettered.

Why the hell don’t you ask Caswell to do a regular column on BU?
    He won’t pay Bushie any mind (cause the bushman knows too much of his business 🙂 ) but he will listen to you…
    BU can be even BIGGER than the shiite Nation…

14. @Bush Tea

Caswell is not an idiot and he know he is always welcome to post to BU and other mediums.

15. @555
    I was not planning to mention KK in any comment on this post, but I was expecting you to bring his race into it and you did. On that matter, you are predictable and known.

It is sad how your view of him is so limited. For that comment you can have the last word.

16. Journey to Golden

Just Checkin’

Just Checkin’ Re-WERC

17. The first thing that jumped out in this article was mention of USAID. One must bear in mind that the US or its sponsored agencies will say one thing and do another.

There can be truth and value in what is stated, but, from the US outlook these are sweet nothings that must be whispered in our ears.

18. Working my way down to paragraph 2.
    Those who would tell you of the ‘Role of Media in a Democracy’ supports the most brutal dictators when it suits their purpose. Needless to say, brutal dictators do not support a democracy or a free press.

19. Caswell is not an idiot
    ~~~~~~~
    In that regard, he stands out in Brassbados.
    HOWEVER, he HAS to be fed up and FRUSTRATED… having to deal with such BBs.
    Recall a fella called Moses was so pissed that he smashed the commandments?

Just have a likkle chat with the fella near to a ‘burning bush’ nuh man….

20. ((Your)) Heart is worn inside
    ((But)) Love can change your mind
    When you sing this song

Love will sing along

DA DA′n DA, DA DA’n DA
    DA DA’n DA, DA DA′n DA
    DA DA′n DA

Ease your pain, be light
    End all of your strife
    When you sing this song
    Love will sing along

DA DA’n DA, DA DA′n DA
    DA DA’n DA, DA DA DA DA
    “Da Da’n Da” is a medicinal melody that simply speaks to the heart healing power of MUSIC. When life’s ailments get you down, sing a little diddy and turn things around!
    DA DA’n DA, DA DA′n DA
    DA DA′n DA, DA DA DA DA

OOH OOH OOH OOH OOH OOH OOH OOH
    OOH OOH OOH OOH OOH OOH OOH OOH OOH OOH

DA DA’n DA, DA DA′n DA
    DA DA’n DA, DA DA DA DA

Snarky Puppy feat Chantae Cann – Free Your Dreams (Family Dinner – Volume One)

21. My one KK comment.

If it wasn’t KK, then it would have been some other lackey who have hidden his flag and party card.

NTSH

22. CHANTAE CANN
    Craters Lyrics (feat. PJ Morton)

Verse I:

Like craters on the moon
    Your love has made its mark
    When ya crashed into my heart
    You hit me like a shooting star

I’m crazy over you
    Can’t you see it in the sparks
    Shines brightly in the dark
    The universe knows who we are

Chorus:

I can’t get away from you
    Can’t keep me away from you
    We belong together like craters on the moon
    Craters on the moon

Verse II:

You must be from Mars
    Somewhere beyond the sky
    When I’m with you I can fly high
    Just one look into your eyes

I can see the stars
    Blazing like a fire
    Your beautiful inspires
    Me to be right where you are

Chorus:

Craters on the moon

Vamp:

I can see the stars
    With you (repeat)

23. @Bush Tea

Again the follow through- in our system of democracy there is a big role for the people read John Citizens.

24. “There is a big role for the people read John Citizens.”

Do the papes need to consult the raggedly unwashed lumpenproletariat when they recruit their staff

For the Children

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Fc8cY4LLXu0

25. “our system of democracy’
    LOL ha ha ha
    Boss, sometime you are SO funny!!
    The ‘role for the people’ is to pay taxes and keep their donkeys quiet.
    They are also useful consumers – although this has to be weighed against the lotta excrement produced… both literally and verbally.
    John Citizen shiite!!! …yuh mean Jack Sheep. 🙂

26. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“If it wasn’t KK, then it would have been some other lackey who have hidden his flag and party card.

NTSH”

my point exactly, and that can be said of EVERY LOCAL MEDIA except mine…i don’t do coverups…..so we can’t overlook any other platform that does, you don’t get to cherry-pick what you want to keep hidden from the people because of political inbreeding and then claim ya educating them….ya either in OR YA OUT…

27. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David BU

Is it not undemocratic for the opening post to suggest that the Nation Newspaper seeks the approval of its author in selecting its columnists?All columnists have cognitive biases. It is a column. The personal view of the writer. Are we trying a new version of dictatorship ? Khalid writes clearly and intelligently. Can one ask more of a newspaper columnist. ?

28. William Skinner Avatar

It was not me who called Brasstacks. Lol.
    @WURA
    “no different to the BLP mouthpieces found on BU…”
    You are more than correct !
    A few weeks ago , on this same BU, I mentioned that the media was sucking up to Mia. Apologizing before asking her serious questions.
    I was told that I should have checked the Advocate’s bias to the DLP.
    Like I often say: tell a Bajan ,the roads bad ;he would ask yuh if yuh evah went to some other island and see dey bad words.
    @ David again
    I don’t care if Mia amends the Constitution and make Mr. Kothdiwala the next president . Won’t surprise me one bit.. And if Ronnie does it one day with one of his faithfuls, it won’t surprise me either.
    Same bs different day.
    All I do these days is laugh at the apologists , who come here with more egg on their faces and trying their best to pretend that they ain’t embarrassed by the pure shite that going on.
    And if it were the Dees it would be the same thing.
    And @. Bushie makes that clear every day. Just a frigging pony show.
    The same paper the Blogmaster criticizing,is the very same paper , that the columns and columnists , being promoted on BU.
    Why buy the Nation, when you can read all its columns on BU ???

29. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“The same paper the Blogmaster criticizing,is the very same paper , that the columns and columnists , being promoted on BU.
    Why buy the Nation, when you can read all its columns on BU ???”

i didn’t even want to highlight that, people might tink i pickin pon dem bozie….lol

although I beat up on Nationnews myself, this time, outside of replacing someone more experienced with someone now learning the ropes, unless we are not being told everything….i did not see the need for the finger pointing..

These will never like AOP, i never practice being a suck up artist, there is no integrity in that, and in the international world, despite all the warts out there…people tend to respect integrity..

noticed that politicians are treated as though they will break if you ask hard questions, they depend on cowardly reporters and journalists, am still waiting for Barbados local media to grow some balls..

ya done know not a fella int coming to be interviewed by me….

….

30. Scratch & His Rainbow Throne
    Although Lee Perry never released a solo album in the 1970s other than Roast Fish Collie Weed And Cornbread, his work as a singer from this era can be very heavy. Mick Sleeper selects some of the best tunes with Scratch behind the microphone.
    Scratch & His Rainbow Throne
    Death Before Dishonour – Lee Perry & The Black Disciples
    Justice To The People – Lee Perry
    Black Man Time – Lee Perry
    Ghetto Sidewalk – Lee Perry
    Nuh Fe Run It Down – Lee Perry
    Standing On The Hill – Lee Perry
    Rainbow Throne – Lee Perry
    Babylon A Fall – Lee Perry
    In This Iwa – Lee Perry
    Disco Devil – Lee Perry & Full Experience
    Chase Them – Lee Perry
    Happy Birthday Jamaica – Lee Perry
    Eradication Squad – Lee Perry & The Majestics
    Upsetting Version Galore
    As any reggae fan knows, it is common practice in Jamaican music for producers to use the same rhythm track more than once. Lee Perry did this perhaps better than any other producer, creating something new and fresh with his versions instead of just a carbon copy. This episode features some killer rhythm showers featuring some of Scratch’s best-known rhythms including “Beat Down Babylon”, “Words Of My Mouth”, “Tighten Up” and more.
    Upsetting Version Galore
    Tighten Up – Inspirations
    Tighten Up Skank – Dillinger
    Cane River Rock – Upsetters
    Riverside Rock – Upsetters
    Beat Down Babylon – Junior Byles
    Informer Men – Junior Byles & Jah T
    Tribal War – U Roy Junior
    Freedom Fighter – Bunny & Ricky
    Iron Wolf – Upsetters
    Bet You Don’t Know – Chenley Duffus
    Philistines On The Land – Junior Murvin
    Bingo Kid – Upsetters
    Soldier And Police War – Jah Lion
    Bad Weed – Junior Murvin
    Grumbling Dub – Upsetters
    Babylon Thief Dub – Upsetters
    Fire Fe De Vatican – Max Romeo
    Earth Is The Lord – Jah Lion
    Stop The War Ina Babylon – James Booms
    Black Vest – Upsetters
    Words Of My Mouth – Gatherers
    Words – Lee Perry
    Wisdom – Jah Lion
    Little Flute Chant – Upsetters

31. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

I really don’t see the point in attending schools of journalism and then BARRED from asking journalistic questions….or BROWBEATEN into LYING TO and misleading the public…or blacklisted and set up when you don’t comply with the demonic political games…

32. Why buy the Nation, when you can read all its columns on BU ???
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    William …thanks for that perspective.
    Cause here was Bushie gloating that, with BU printing the columns …AND with the opportunity to have full and frank discussion on them here, David was juckking the Trojan horse in the eye (or the other end…) for a change.

All we need now is for WISE advertisers to choose to advertise on BU… 🙂
    …and for David to figure out how to take the money and pay Caswell and Baffy… for their contributions.

33. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

William….btw….in George Lammings book there is this character “Slime”…well, would you know it, it was recently revealed WHO this real life character descents in the parliament are…..real “SLIME”……yall got generations of slime.

they keep electing the same families with a vicious legacy and then complain how dirty they are….how could they be any different…it’s in their DNA..stop electing them….now that you know the parliament is CURSED with revolving family trees..

did i not tell them that place was haunted, first with the ghosts of demonic slave masters and then with the dregs of the earth from the negro tree…

34. Greeting Music Lover
    This is Upsetting
    OK OK Lets Take It From Here

Tighten Up

Tighten Up Skank

35. “Why buy the Nation, when you can read all its columns on BU ???”

It is nice to know what you are going read in advance in your daily news
    Like the Afrikan Duopoly for Morons

36. I did not make this up…

On Thursday, at London’s ThundCrit cycling event, two biological males identifying as women took first and second place and then celebrated their “achievement” by kissing on the podium as the third-place winner, an actual female, held her baby.

37. I get all the news I need from the Weather Report

38. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Theo…it’s all a pappyshow, do you remember the female athlete from South Africa Semenya that the olympic committee has TERRORIZED for years because of her appearance…they even claimed she is a hermaphrodite, although she offered to show them her feminine parts, and they refused….because they don’t want the narrative to change…

but you see what they are doing….allowing males PRETENDING TO BE FEMALES to compete with real women…

39. @Vincent

Is this what the blogmaster suggested.

40. @William

You are saying because the blogmaster share views of a few columnist on BU it means what?

41. @William

The same newspaper you subscribe and sometimes quote from?

42. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David Bu at 11;18 AM

I read the caption which suggest that the Nation should do better , And the reference to an appointment as a columnist. I am happy to learn that i was mistaken about the intent of the post.

43. David
    Senator Hinds is in the senate and a moderator on Brasstacks, which is carried on VoB–a sister company of the Nation. How does replacing her with KK a threat to democracy? I always thought democracy thrived where ALL opinions contend. Walter Blackman is also on Brasstacks, a man that according this same BU Blog declared an interest in contesting SME for the DLP in 2018. Michelle Russell has a column in the Nation’s Sunday Sun, she’s currently on the legal team representing Adriel Brathwaite and the Constitutional motion he filed. Her lead Garth Patterson regularly now has columns he both newspapers. In a healthy democracy should only those oppose/not aligned to government have columns or moderate talk shows? The argument about controlling the Lower House is also flawed. Firstly, parliamentary debates, Brasstacks and a newspaper column ain’t the same, as it is a known fact that more people listen to Brasstacks and read the Nation than listen to parliament. Secondly, in the context of public access there’s no difference between the Upper and Lower houses, So one can therefore similarly argue that if Senator Hinds is in the Upper House, why does she need a column? A mature society accepts rather than constantly frowns on a talk show host, columnist or BU poster’s political affiliation. Is it not better to know a columnist’ agenda if we’re preaching objectivity and transparency? Giving KK, who is 18 and a known member of the BLP is democracy at work. Ah bet yuh these people that talking love MSNBC or Fox. We need to grow up!

44. @Bush Tea

You do have your moments.

45. @Vincent

After reading the caption added to the content, what was your conclusion?

46. @enuff

Seriously?

47. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David Bu
    I expected the content to elaborate on the caption. I take your word that the caption does not reflect your intent.
    My personal conclusion is confusion. But maybe it is not one of my better days for comprehending.

48. Nation Publishing MUST Do Better
    Barbados Underground MUST Do Better
    Publishers write any damn thing they want
    Bob Marley & The Wailers – Brain Washing

Ooh-ooh
    Old Mr. Joe, he build a house away
    On top of some hill
    Old Mr. Joe knew he had to go, so he
    He got right down and wrote bank will
    He say now, here’s to mother hen
    And her chicken, Lord have mercy now
    Master, will you take a roll in the mud
    Like you know you should?
    The old barnyard, the old barnyard
    Birds and the chick, ooh-wee
    Who’s got to watch out for brother mongoose
    With his top hap and walking-stick?

It’s just the poor’s brain washing
    (Poor’s ..) They told me a long time ago,
    It’s just the poor’s brain washing, ooh-wee
    (Poor’s brain washing) Now look at a thing like this

Cinderella and her long lost fellow
    In the midnight hour, she lost her silver slipper
    Humpty Dumpty sat on a wall
    While Jack and Jill had themselves a fall

It’s just the poor’s (.. brain washing)
    And I don’t need it no longer (.. washing)
    Coming through to a poor man’s child, ooh-wee, look at this

Little Miss Muffet she sat on a tuffet
    While Little Red Riding Hood delivered her grandmom’s food
    Ooh-wee ooh-wee
    Ooh-wee, look at one more thing like this
    The cow jumping over the moon
    While the dish got jealous, he grabbed the handy spoon

And I don’t need it no longer, I don’t want it no longer
    I don’t need it no longer (.. washing)
    And I don’t care for no more brain washing (.. washing)

49. “I was not planning to mention KK in any comment on this post, but I was expecting you to bring his race into it and you did. On that matter, you are predictable and known.

It is sad how your view of him is so limited. For that comment you can have the last word.”

Nigger Please
    Black Bastards Deluxe Edition

Leave a Reply to 555dubstreetCancel reply