Tennyson Joseph, UWI lecturer and political scientist shared a personal experience in his recent weekly column. While it is a personal experience, it scrutinises and exposes decision making at the highest level by education planners in the region. We must do better if we are to compete on the world stage, especially being able to cover-off rudimentary decisions.

See article reproduced from Nationnews.com.

Another CXC mis-step 

I WRITE IN MY capacity as a concerned and frustrated parent, in response to an incident which occurred during the conduct of the CSEC English B (English Literature) multiple choice exam on Friday May 27, 2022.

Originally intended to be a two-hour exam (from 1 p.m. to 3 p.m), my daughter exited the exam room at 5:30 p.m., with other students having streamed out a few minutes before, this is on a day when they had already had a morning paper from 9 a.m. to 11:15 a.m. Essentially, therefore, the affected students were kept under examinations conditions for seven hours.

What was the issue? It appears that a decision was taken to conduct all CXC multiple-choice examinations online without ensuring that the necessary IT infrastructure to support such examinations was in place. Given that English B is compulsory for all students at my daughter’s school, the demand overload proved overwhelming, and many students had to sit for hours waiting, without success, for the exam App to open. Some were successful at various periods after the start, while others’ systems crashed mid-exam.

My daughter was one of the unfortunate ones whose apps failed to open, and she reported to me that after two hours of waiting, and going through a range of negative emotions, a decision was taken to allow the examination to be done in the old fashioned, but reliable way.

My aim is not to question the judgement of the onsite invigilators and decision-makers. What is concerning is the poor judgment of CXC decision makers, who, by insisting on online multiplechoice examinations, appear to be operating on the assumption that “man is made for technology rather than technology made for man”.

Two issues are of concern here. The first is that, after the loud public outcry and loss of goodwill experienced by CXC over the conduct of examinations during the 2019 COVID period, that CXC did not consider it prudent to put a pause on all “experimentation” to allow for a period of cooling off period and a return to normalcy.

Secondly, given the importance of assessments as measurements of student quality and as a determinant of life chances, great care should be taken to ensure that there is nothing intrinsic to an examination environment that can negatively affect student performance. CXC ought to have assured itself of near 100 per cent success prior to utilising new technology in examinations.

CXC is too important to allow these constant hints of weakness. It should be airtight and the least problematic of our institutions. My recommendation to CXC is that it should perfect the basic aspects of its mandate, before venturing off into new territory, especially at a time when the stench of recent failures still pollute the atmosphere. For the sake of our children and the educational “ecosystem”, let us get it right.

Tennyson Joseph is a political scientist at The University of the West Indies, Cave Hill Campus, specialising in regional affairs. Email tjoe2008@live.com

131 responses to “CXC- Time to Get it Right!”

1. Waru

No. We have not had the time to study this issue and as such are far from the requirements of due diligence. And therefore must demure from propagating same.

However, should a point of scientific certainty be reached only then will war be declared.

2. I know several Barbadians who took CXC examinations who are very much able to compete in the world arena.

Steupse! “Fallacious” indeed!

And it’s back to a blasted ALLEGORY, made up by MEN to guilt women into standing behind them. Unfortunately it worked with some weak-minded women and look how well the world has turned out with the men in front!

“Lotta shiite!”

Tick tock goes the old fart’s clock!

3. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“However, should a point of scientific certainty be reached only then will war be declared.”

all in progress…but now SCRUTINY and monitoriing must be APPLIED….especially to the treacherous NEGROS….

the WHO scenario did not help allay suspicions…the pivoting…even less so…

in saying that….investigations are under way, we don’t have to wait for anyone to do it for us….we are quite capable….as time moves forward, we can exchange findings…

4. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Bushman gets great fun from pushing that “Eve” fairy tale and biblical lie….highlight of his life..,,lol.

5. I fully agree that it is time to get things right. The trial and error approach is frustrating and time wasting.

It would appear that CXC is indecisive where it should stand firm (changing grades) and decisive where it should be flexible. Implementing technological changes and then having the system crash indicates that necessary testing (load, stress, user acceptance .
    … ) was not performed or that the testing was flawed.

Perhaps CXC need to have an independent body maps it processes from end to end and hire truly qualified staff.

I fun.

6. Bushie
    Tennyson Joseph as a UWI lecturer in political science should have made it his business to have known that none of the general demands of peoples anywhere, almost, where socalled political democracy rules does any public have first call on any socalled democratic government for the guaranteed efficiency of any service.

Whether that service is to be delivered at the accident and emergency department or by CXC.

The fundamental truism has long been that only corporate interests have been demanding such governmental guarantees and consistently receiving such. The role of the citizen is merely to act to present something which makes no sense once every five years.

This is what neoliberal capitalism has come to mean. Those who are waxing lyrical, including Joseph, that some illusive standard should be expected in his child’s case speaks to how disassociated most are from what is real and what is not, what average people struggle with every day.

And after decades or centuries on this same trajectory Joseph should find it necessary to awake from his slumber and face the essential political realities.

7. There was a time we had
    June too soon
    July stand by
    August a must
    September remember
    October all is over

Now we have
    https://barbadostoday.bb/2022/06/02/barbadians-warned-as-hurricane-season-gets-under-way/
    From BT
    Read ePaper
    “Barbados is in the firing line for more tropical cyclones, with predictions that the country will likely be impacted every year going forward, as systems move closer to the island.

Director of the Barbados Meteorological Services, Sabu Best, is therefore urging residents to be ready, as predictions also indicate the possibility of more storms and more intense hurricanes which intensify rapidly.”

8. NorthernObserver Avatar

An aside….the Ontario election produced a seat count total almost identical to 2018, few changes, with a 43% voter turnout down from 57% in ’18. Sound familiar?

9. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Bottomline….CXC is useless and not fit to set tests or curruli for Afrikan children…it’s a colonial entity and will eventually go the way of all other such CURSED enterprises…as time passes.

10. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

*not fit to set tests or curricula for Afrikan children.

11. I know you black folks like to talk about books you have not read, but here is a PDF book about Pedagogy which is a very big word for you and is worth looking into if you want to wake up and become enlightened like a child of god, but you can store it away in your archives without looking at it as per usual and is par for the course.
    https://peacelearner.files.wordpress.com/2010/01/freire-pedagogyoftheoppressed1.pdf

12. “I know you black folks like to talk about books you have not read”

I hope you black folks read this …
    A great morning to everyone. A great morning to all.

13. The decision to go with the electronic administration of the CXC paper ones was made by the government of Barbados. Trinidad, Guyana and Jamaica are still having paper based exams.

14. Is CXC responsible for oversight of the examination by its members?

15. @Bush Tea

The blogmaster takes note you avoided answering the 2 questions posed to you at the top of the blog, oversight?

16. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“The decision to go with the electronic administration of the CXC paper ones was made by the government of Barbados. ”

so who is surprised, they are no less DUMBER than the clowns at CXC and are in the same lodges..

17. @ Ping Pong
    You have perfectly highlighted the problem with creating ‘local’ standards in the face of global competitiveness.

When such critical decisions can be made by political players, it is inevitable that quality will be compromised on the alter of political expediency.
    Have you wondered what else is being ‘decided’ by the people who appoint and bankroll these CXC functionaries?
    Common sense (and the involvement of Sir Cave Hilary) tells us that CXC is merely a ‘front’ that allows the politicians to play PR games with education.

But if Bajans cannot even see how they are being ripped off by the banks, the utilities, and by Trini supermarkets, how the Hell can we appreciate more complex deceptions such as CXC?

BTW
    You are much too scarce Ping..
    What happen? global situation too scary for yuh..? 🙂

18. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

More proof beyond a doubt that other Caribbean islands, or no one else, should follow Barbados into anything or to anywhere..do so at your own risk…

the way it was explained to me after they had parents rush to buy new computers UNNECESSARILY, is that they they were planning to try that same experiment last year despite the chaos and had to abandon it, COULD NOT GET IT OFF THE GROUND…

.they never told the people they were going to try it again this year and prepare them, they just rushed out last minute with their little scam….without proper testing or giving the students the time needed to familiarize themselves with the new program AS I WARNED THEM…turned out they did not do any proper testing and COCKED THAT UP TOO…

19. @Bush Tea

The blogmaster is not convinced such a decision could have been made arbitrarily by a CXC member and if it was the buck still stops with CXC.

20. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

If they could, they would try to pin the blame on the students the same way they tried to with their bad grading cockup….public nuisances, both them and the jokers in the parliament….who only their fowls, pimps and Slaves listen to or defend nowadays.

same fools rattle on and on about how educated they are and how many useless degrees they got…steupppss

and got the nerve to claim the world should follow them in giving out stimulus checks that have been a big country routine for DECADES…they are just as obsessed with everyone following them into OBLIVION as they are with the world stage…wannabes.

21. LOL @ David
    “The blogmaster takes note you avoided answering the 2 questions posed to you at the top of the blog, oversight?”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Apologies Boss, Bushie thought this was a blog. Did not realize it was a Court of Law and that Bushie was under oath…. 🙂

1 – Accreditation (after all the glowing definitions) is a fancy term that means VERY LITTLE.
    All ‘accreditation’ says is that the accrediting body confirms that the institution essentially does what it said it would do, and meets some basic minimum qualifying standards. Like all ‘exams’ institutions can PREPARE for, and pass these ‘tests’, and then revert to their normal modus operandi until next review.
    However is does ‘sound’ very impressive – as if the institution is world class.

2 – The endemic lack of quality in practically all areas of regional life is associated with brassbowlery…. ie – the mindset that we cannot expect to do any better, and that, in fact, we should be lucky to be not much worse off…
    It is the ULTIMATE form of slavery – where OUR OWN MINDS have conditioned us to be mediocre…and NOT EXPECT excellence.
    (Think ‘dribbling’ if you need a practical example of this mentality).

So instead of requiring a SYSTEMIC review of the ATTITUDES that cause such failures, we just look for some poor idiot to blame and then we continue along the same mediocre path….
    This is why we have a society where ALL LEADERSHIP is essentially about ‘covering your own donkeys’.

22. The blogmaster is not convinced such a decision could have been made arbitrarily by a CXC member and if it was the buck still stops with CXC.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Blogmaster … you need to check with the original ‘David’ who actually understood these things…

For example…
    About 90% of EVERYTHING that is decided in Barbados, for example, is decided by the PM. Whether she likes it or not.
    90%of those decisions are based on off the cuff comments that she make, or conclusions that she arrived at, even in the absence of INFORMED analysis.
    This has been so since Barrow….

This is because 99.9% of our ‘leaders’ are SIMPLY seeking to be able to ‘pass the buck’ onto somebody else if things fowls up…(CYA)
    Note that even SENIOR ministers NEVER make any decisions, unless they start with ‘As the PM has said…’ or ‘PM Mia Amor Mottley (code for ‘I have been instructed to say…’)…
    The Public service is even worse…. They make no decisions PERIOD…. that way, you make no ‘mistakes’…

The CXC is completely dependent on politicians funding their salaries and keeping their jobs and the CXC Board reflects the TRADITIONAL methodology by which our politicians have exercised their control on such institutions….

23. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Am sure most are not aware especially their rabidly staunch supporters, but what they have so competently achieved, only competence outside of corruption they have, is making themselves PARIAHS everywhere with all these side to side ANTICS……

what did Angela say Owen called them….gimmickry?

thankfully the fallout is all on them, they did a very good job of advertising it…….that way, the world’s people everywhere can protect themselves FROM THEM….and watch their every move, reject their EVERY LIE…

it’s SICKENING, but that’s WHO THEY ARE…suffering with bouts of self-delusion instead of doing the jobs taxpayers pay them so handsomely for…

24. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“90%of those decisions are based on off the cuff comments that she make, or conclusions that she arrived at, even in the absence of INFORMED analysis.
    This has been so since Barrow….”

now you see why i don’t like under educated colonial politicians or their supporters…..all they do is talk out of their ass, with no formal expertise on …not even the most simple…they believe shite titles from the colonial slave framework makes them exceptional experts…their only claim to fame..

25. @Bush Tea

What does your comment have to do with the fact a decision was taken by Barbados to do online exams under a CXC oversight? Leave the emotional argument at the door Bush Tea.

26. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David BU at 9:05 AM
    Everything. Somebody did not do his/her job properly or the job was unimplementable. Optics can carry this country only so far; but no farther.

27. @Vincent

Agreed.

28. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Bushman….have you heard if the people in St. Peter got access to water yet, there were complaints up to yesterday that they had none.

29. Thing is though, that I do not know ONE Bajan who does not know that they are being ripped off by the banks, the utilities and the supermarket

30. I do not know ONE Bajan who does not know that they are being ripped off by the banks, the utilities and the supermarket
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Nor Bushie nor…
    So can anyone come up with a description of such a people, (without using REAL CUSS WORDS,) that is more acceptable than ‘brass bowls’…?

31. So can anyone come up with a description of such a people, (without using REAL CUSS WORDS,) that is more acceptable than ‘brass bowls’…?

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

THE SAME BRAIN DEAD THAT KEEPS VOTING FOR EITHER BLP OR DLP WHO DO THE SAME SHITE EVERY 5 YEARS WHILST EXPECTING DIFFERENT RESULTS

32. To address these issues the media team will start a competition open to all students, they must go and find a BTMI postcard location and take a picture once they have finished their exams and post it online with the following hashtags #CXC #worldclass #barbados #littlecountrybigbarbados and whoever gets the most likes will get a scholarship regardless of their CXC results. Problem solved!!

33. @Redguard
    You may just have thrown a spanner in the CXC works Boss…
    Given recent history with the School Based Assessments, a very similar ‘solution’ to your’s may well have been on the table,
    Of course now it will be back to the drawing board … perhaps in another 5 years we may hear of another brain wave …much like 11+

34. @Bush Tea

How have our CXC/CAPE graduates been performing on entering foreign universities?

35. How have our CXC/CAPE graduates been performing on entering foreign universities?
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    This is a typical irrelevant red herring David.

Foreign universities of ANY worth are DESIGNED refine the cream of their crop of youth, to become the LEADERS and “exploiters of the rest of the world”.
    Typically, Caribbean students who are admitted, adapt to THAT mentality and more often than not, redefine themselves in the image of the host country.
    Most don’t ever return to brassbados to contribute here.

On the other hand, Sir Cave Hilary came with the stupid philosophy of ‘graduates a dime apiece in every home’.
    In short, the institutionalization of mediocrity in education.
    Now every brass bowl bout here is a ‘doctor’ or ‘masters’, ….and not a SINGLE one is worth shit where it REALLY matters. They are ALL scrambling for ‘employment’ from unlettered Trinis, Jamaicans and the usual albino occupiers…. or they are robbing the very brass bowls who ‘educated’ them, as lawyers … while our legal system remains an international joke…

The PROBLEM therefore is not with the students. It is with our institutions’ FAILURE to focus on HIGH-PERFORMANCE individuals who SHOULD be channelled towards becoming LOCALLY FOCUSSED world beaters.
    GP is always talking about this, (but he does cuss and complain a bit too brass bowl much LOL )

Our failures are therefore SYSTEMIC boss.
    No one is blaming the students. They are unwitting VICTIMS….as we can ALL see now.

36. @Bush Tea

Whatever spin you put on it our CXC/CAPE students perform in top universities across the globe read they possess the technical skills.

37. But your argument was that if they do not know that they were being so ripped off then they could not be expected to know other less obvious things.

I don’t know who is being fooled by your attempted sleight-of-hand, but I SEE YOU.

“LOTTA SHIITE!”

38. Of course, your argument re CXC is also nonsense.

You try to switch when someone points out your inconsistencies.

Our entire educational system certainly needs reform in accordance with new understandings regarding what our society needs to move forward.

We are attempting to come to terms with a realigning of our identity to produce persons of who will uplift their own. Long overdue, of course.

But I fail to see how taking examinations from Oxford and Cambridge could be better in doing so than our own homegrown examinations that relate more to our culture.

Seems to me that Oxford and Cambridge syllabuses with Eurocentic biases would be even better at producing Bajans with a disconnect and a fly the coop and never come back attitude than CXC ever could.

Your argument was that students who take CXC cannot compete on the world stage. When it is pointed out that they do rather well at overseas universities, the world stage, we have a new argument about their not coming home to contribute to the benefit of Barbados.

More sleight of hand!

Your form, though quite impressive, cannot blind me to your specious arguments that seem to evolve as needed.

Very entertaining yes, but leave the pretzel contortions to John Knox, will ya?

39. Correction – persons who, omit “of”

40. David
    Whatever spin you put on it our CXC/CAPE students perform in top universities across the globe read they possess the technical skills.
    ~~~~~~~
    Read Bushie’s lips slowly…
    It is NOT about the student’s ability to perform.
    It is about a SYSTEM OF MEDIOCRITY that settles for mock ‘certification’ rather than effective PERFORMANCE.

Obviously, when placed in a REAL academic environment, students’ mindset CHANGES…. or they get dumped.

Any jackass can bray
    Just listen to ‘brass tacks’ and you hear volleys of poor, helpless brass bowls who mostly don’t even have jobs, pontificating on how complex national problems should be addressed.
    Ask any of them what THEY have ever achieved successfully…except school? ….notta shiite!!

Again
    The problem is not students, it is the national mind-set of mediocrity.
    Obviously, the RESULTING ‘graduates’ from a mediocre system are bound to be…
    …’brassy..’ …even where they had the POTENTIAL to be DIAMONDS.
    Same with LIFE.
    Lack of TRUE knowledge and understanding will condemn EVEN THE MOST TALENTED among us to brassbowlery and failure in life.

41. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@Bush Tea June 3, 2022 3:33 PM “On the other hand, Sir Cave Hilary came with the stupid philosophy of ‘graduates a dime apiece in every home’.”

I wish people would stop misinterpreting what was Barbados government [not UWI] policy of a graduate in every home. The intention was that if there are 80,000 households, Barbados should have alive at any time 80,000 university grafuates. These graduates woould include those who graduated 50 years ago, and those who graduated last month. It was never the intentionog government to order 111 year old men who live alone back to university.

That is assuming that our total population is 280,000 people, the intention was/is that about 29 to 30% of the population would have graduated from tertiary institutions including UWI, BCC, Polytechnic Erdiston.

At the time statements about this were made only about 12% of Barbados’ population were college graduates. 12% is not good enough in the 21st century.

Am I the only person who thinks that having about 30% of the population having graduated from colleges and universities is a good thing?

42. @Simple minded Simon
    So why not have 100% of Bajans be university graduates then? is THIS not even better than 30%..?
    ..and what is so hard about that?
    All you would have to do is charge the Government $100,000 per year per student …and let the happy lot lime down at Cave Hill talking shiite and taking ‘polls’ for three years.
    PRESTO… you have 370,000 ‘graduates’….for only 4 billion borrowed dollars.
    Steupsss..

The REAL POINT of a university is to filter out, and REFINE to world class standards, the TRULY talented LEADERS with which the society is BLESSED. Without these LEADERS, the society is doomed to outside domination.

This is typically about 1% of any random sample.
    A university can ADDITIONALLY be commissioned to prepare ordinary ‘graduates’ to fill specialists roles needed by the society that are not necessarily at the cutting edge of global competition. (professionals, specialists etc) in specific, needed roles in the successful society.

A scheme to churn out ‘graduates’, just to meet designated quotas, DEVALUES and DILUTES the university’s key role which is about putting the society in a position to compete GLOBALLY against the cut-throat competition…(like the Trinis)
    When you have 8000 ‘graduate masters’ churned out, how can you discern the 1% TRUE leaders from the other 7200 jokers?
    ALSO, any ‘curriculum’ that will ENABLE the 8000 to ‘pass’, can never be stringent enough to get the TRULY talented to really EXERT themselves and prepare thereby for TRUE global competition.

See if you can work out what is wrong with CXC making it ‘easier’ for students to ’succeed’ because of COVID.

You can bet your last dollar that many students in other societies, found ways to use the covid period to prepare EVEN MORE intensely to succeed in THEIR exams…while we seek shortcuts for ours…
    Guess which ‘graduates’ will be owners of our LOCAL asse(t)s down the road….

43. Take a music pill and enjoy

44. I admire BushTea’s stamina. To go back and forth with those who don’t get it is something to behold.

BT calls it the “institutionalisation of mediocrity. l call it the “mediocritisation of institutions”.

There is so much mediocrity everywhere that what should be passing for business as usual is hailed as great success.

If the education system – including CXC – is not providing the country the human capital it needs to compete effectively in any sphere of endeavour, isn’t that a sign of failure?

But apologists will say not and point to the relatively small group of high achievers and highly motivated students who go on to “success”, not realising that they will mostly succeed wherever they go. Their success is IN SPITE OF not BECAUSE OF, the broken system.

Don’t look at students from HC, QC, etc. How effective is the Ministry of education in equipping the average student from say Parkinson or Princess Margaret for the next stage?

45. @Dullard

BU welcomes all views (within the boundary of common sense)- those thought to be dullards and intelligent have a say.

46. These are all deficiencies that have been acknowledged. A fix is supposed to be in the works.

What is so hard to understand?????

Barbados was founded on colonialism and slavery. The savages took away our names, our culture, therefore our very identity! Our ancestors were indoctrinated in the philosophy of white supremacy, This horrific and very intentional act was done over centuries and is a worldwide phenomenon. The beasts were successful in destroying many peoples sense of self most everywhere they went. This generational trauma is still in evidence. Barbadians are no exception. Many people are only now waking up to the extent of the trauma and even the full knowledge of what was recently done and still being done to perpetuate it.

Healing is a process. It would be folly to expect fifty odd years to undo what centuries have done.

We are on a journey….. one that has only just begun!

Cussing the traumatised people is not going to make them walk any faster. It is too reminicient of massa’s demeaning tactics. They close their minds and get defensive.

Strangely enough, it was Lawson who pointed this out many months ago. What is required is patient coaching.

47. Barbados was founded on colonialism and slavery. The savages took away our names, our culture, therefore our very identity! Our ancestors were indoctrinated in the philosophy of white supremacy, This horrific and very intentional act was done over centuries and is a worldwide phenomenon. The beasts were successful in destroying many peoples sense of self most everywhere they went. This generational trauma is still in evidence. Barbadians are no exception. Many people are only now waking up to the extent of the trauma and even the full knowledge of what was recently done and still being done to perpetuate it.

Healing is a process. It would be folly to expect fifty odd years to undo what centuries have done.

XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

EXCUSES EXCUSES EXCUSES.

BLACKS HAVE BEEN THE LEADERS ON THE 2 X 3 ISLAND FOR OVER HALF A CENTURY AND HAVE DONE NOTHING TO EMPOWER ITS PEOPLE WHILST MAINTAINING WHITE ECONOMIC DOMINANCE ALLOWING THEM TO ENRICH THEMSELVES ALONG WITH SOME OF THEIR FELLOW BLACK CRONIES THROUGH KICKBACKS AND BRIBES VIA VOTE BUYING AND MULTIMILLION $ CONTRACTS.

THE EDUCATION SYSTEM DOES NOT TEACH CREATIVITY OR CREATE LEADERS BUT MAINTAIN THE STATUS QUO.

THIS IS NOT ABOUT TRAUMA BULLSHIT.

HAVING COME OUT OF ONE OF THE POOREST GHETTOS STLL WITH ONE OF THE HIGHEST MURDER RATES IN 2022 ON THE 2X3 ISLAND AND HAVING LIVED IN ABJECT POVERTY, SAW ABUSE DAILY, FIGHTS, ALCOHOLISM, DRUGS ETC ALL AROUND IT COMES DOWN TO CHOICES AND A DESIRE TO NOT BECOME A PART OF THE QUAMIRE DESPITE OBSTACLES REAL OR IMAGINE.

48. I REMEMBERED TEACHING AT UWI AND BEFORE I WAS TO RECEIVE MY FIRST SET OF STUDENTS IN THE MANAGEMENT DIVISION I WAS GIVEN A TEXT BOOK WHICH SAID CARIBBEAN MANAGEMENT.

ON THE FIRST DAY I TOLD MY STUDENTS INCLUDING PROFESSOR DEVONISH CURRENTLY AT UWI WAS THAT THERE WAS NO SUCH THING AS CARIBBEAN MANAGEMENT, AND THAT MANAGEMENT PRINCIPLES WHEN PUT IN PRACTICES WERE THE SAME WHETHER IN THE US, UK OR ELSEWHERE.

I ALSO TOLD THEM THAT MY CLASS WOULD BE DIFFERENT AS I WOULD USE THE CARIBBEAN MANGEMENT TEXTBOOK NOT AS A PRIMARY SOURCE WHILST TEACHING THEM REAL WORLD PRACTICAL KNOWLEDGE UNLIKE MOST OTHERS WHO TAUGHT THERE USING THEORY AND SAME INFORMATION OVER MANY YEARS EVEN THOUGH THE WORLD HAD CHANGED.

I WENT AS FAR AS GETTING MY STUDENTS TEMPORARY WORK PLACEMENTS IN BUSINESSES LOCALLY ON THE 2 X 3 ISLAND TO HELP THEIR PRACTICAL KNOWLEDGE SOMETHING NO ONE HAD UWI HAD EVER DONE.

I WAS THE ONE WHO HELPED WHEN A UWI BUSINESS BREAKFAST CLUB WAS STARTED AND DONATED MY UWI CHECK AT THE END OF THE SEMESTER TO ASSIST WITH ITS STARTUP.

I HAD A REGIONAL BUSINESS SO HAD LITTLE IMPACT ON MY FINANCES BUT WANTED TO SHARE MY KNOWLEDGE GAINED AT THE TIME FROM BOTH THE US AND UK TO STUDENTS.

MOST MAKE EXCUSES WHILST FEW ARE DOERS.

49. So….you have made the common mistake of judging everyone by your standards.

50. So….you have made the common mistake of judging everyone by your standards.

Xxxxxx

NOT JUDGING ANYONE.

YOU WERE BORN IN ENGLAND AND THEN BROUGHT TO THE 2X3 ISLAND AT A YOUNG AGE AS YOU HAVE TOLD IT.

I COULD BE WRONG YOU WEREN’T RAISED IN ANYONE OF THE MAIN GHETTO AREAS ON THE 2X3 ISLAND.

I WAS AND SPEAK FROM FACTS NOT SPECULATIONS.

Leave a Reply to TheoGazertsCancel reply