Source info compiled @caribbeansignal.com

Barbados Murder Statistics January to April 2022

After a long hiatus (due in part to my spending time tracking and posting data on Covid-19 and the 2022 General Elections), it’s time to catch up on tracking murders across Barbados.

Data presented below is from January to April 2022 (I will post 2021 numbers in the near future). The steps involved in the analysis essentially remain the same from those carried out in the 2020 analysis.

Barbados 2022 murders table - Jan to April
Table 1 – Murders in Barbados 2022 (click to enlarge)

Note to Table 1: Data extracted from The Nation’s website.

Murders by Month (2022)
Chart 1 – Murders by Month (2022)
Murders by Parish (2022)
Chart 2 – Murders by Parish (2022)
Murders by Method (2022)
Chart 3 – Murders by Method (2022)

Read full text@caribbeansignal.com

79 responses to “Keeping an Eye on the Murder Rate”

1. @ Cuhdear
    When you reach the stage where Dompey has to put you right – you know it is time to change back to your REAL pseudonym.

In MANY stable societies, the role of the men is primarily to provide the MATERIAL needs of the family. This often means being away from home for extended periods. Seamen, soldiers, and MANY other occupations come to mind.
    It has ALWAYS been the women who took responsibility for raising children and keeping the family meaningful.

Up comes the lotta present-day shiite women who want to be ‘men’… work for big money, flaunt nuff bling, and check nuff fellows..
    THEY now go to work, go after material goods, ignore the children …and are mostly miserable as shiite too boot.

ANY normal man would leave such a mess -even if he have to go live in a damn DESERT.
    Do you REALLY think that so many men leave their house, children and money and SCRAM because they looking for some OTHER shiite woman? …NAH…
    Generally, they just hope to find some PEACE AND QUIET…. even in some mount gay…

So when ‘miss MISERABLE’ chase the damn man away, only to find that she cannot handle the situation, and things fall apart – you surmise that the ‘problem’ is that the man gone..?
    Steupsss!!!

@ Dompey
    Hush do!!
    Youn aint no role model…
    You is a HOT mess…. better don’t let Bushie talk yuh business… 🙂

2. Who the ass is you to decide what a woman’s aspirations should be? What do you know of what women need for fulfilment?

But there are many women out there who would have been happy to be housewives if the men were not busting their asses with blows because they were financially dependent and unable to leave.

All old farts want to do is control women!

3. A whole lotta generalisations and sexist tropes.

Lotta shiite!

4. @ Cuhdear Bajan May 28, 2022 12:22 PM
    (Quote).
    Nope. I am not bashing men.
    I am simply pointing out to delinquent fathers that if you do not mentor your sons, some bad boy on the block [or in the house] will be only too happy to do it for you.
    Are you satisfied that nearly 900 young men are imprisoned? I am not. Those imprisoned men are ALL the sons of their fathers.
    Fathers have to do their duty by their sons, regardless of how “miserable” the mothers are. And if the father chooses to live in a desert then he should take his beloved son with him.
    (Unquote).

So what words of advice would you give to the mothers of those daughters who ‘find themselves performing’ in prostitution, porn videos, shoplifting activities and wilful neglect and abuse of their own children?

Are you prepared to blame also their fathers who have failed to “do their duty” by their daughters or are their mothers solely to blame?

Why not blame the male priests, pastors and teachers?

Isn’t the committing of so-called criminal acts endemic to society in order to keep thousands of people employed including those making up the political establishment?

Now what would your world be like if your concocted Adam had not disobeyed your god, or Eve not put a horn in Adam with Satan and Cain not killed Abel?

The world has always been the way it is and there is Nothing under the Sun you or anyone else can do to change the moral nature of Man.

5. RE All old farts want to do is control women!
    ARE THERE FEMALE OLD FARTS TOO?
    LOTS OF WOMEN LIKE TO CONTROL MEN TOO—–ESPECIALLY THEIR MONEY. UH LIE?
    NO BALANCE ON BU
    ON BU ONE MUST JUST FOLLOW THE NARRATIVE WITHOUT THINKING OR HAVING THE ABILITY TO THINK.
    HILARIOUS.

6. @ Dompey May 28, 2022 2:27 PM

Fenty boy, why don’t you regale the BU audience with a rehash of those sessions of indoctrination and breaking-in ‘broke-back mountaineering’ you experienced at the hands of those ‘only-to-eager to service’ members of the constabulary behind those Chinese whispering walls of District A?

Maybe we should re-christen you ;Dompey the Bajan American; with the Rose-shaped bottom.

7. Miller aka balla

Balla, I know you love dem stories bout behind District Wall, but I in hear tah send yah imagination wild, causing I hear talkin bout minor girls, and you switched de top tah little boy, man I sah where yah predilection lies.

8. Miller aka balla

I only knew two Ballas in the Force back in the day and they were Corporal Beckles who died of a heart attack in the early 70s, and Boville, whom was tried convicted and sentenced to prison for Buggery in the early 80s. And by the way, Corporal Beckles never hid his sexuality because he was openly gay, when being openly gay was a taboo in Bim.

9. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@Miler at 5:49 PM “So what words of advice would you give to the mothers of those daughters who ‘find themselves performing’ in prostitution, porn videos, shoplifting activities and wilful neglect and abuse of their own children?”

EXACTLY the same advice that I would give to the men. If you do not nurture/mentor you children, somebody else is only too happy to do it for you. Except that you will not like it when your son or daughter becomes a murderer, prostitute, etc.

10. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@Miller “Isn’t the committing of so-called criminal acts…”

This blog post is about the murder rate.

I would not call murder a “so-called criminal act.”

Would you?

11. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@GP May 28, 2022 5:51 PM “LOTS OF WOMEN LIKE TO CONTROL MEN TOO—–ESPECIALLY THEIR MONEY. UH LIE?”

I don’t know whether you lie or not, as I do not know what sort of women yoo have CHOSEN to associate with.

How can a woman control a man’s money?
    Are you foolish enough to you share your banking information with an untrustworthy woman?
    Are you stupid that you would share your PIN number with strange women?

12. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

Sons and daughters who are loved and nurtured by their PARENTS tend to turn out well.

Does anybody on BU disagree with that statement?

13. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

I don’t know why the BU men are so antsy and defensive.

I trust that none of them have been abusive, negligent or absent fathers.

Goodnight all.

14. @ Cuhdear
    “I don’t know why the BU men are so antsy and defensive.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Bushie can tell you why the men are so….
    But ONLY if you explain why most women are so miserable and bitchy…

Of course if you did that, you would get the Noble Prize, since no one has been able to explain it before.

15. @ Miller

What is a “balla?”

16. Balance is when old farts pull out some old allegory and blame all the sins of the world on women!

STEUPSE!

Of course there are controlling women, wicked women, MISERABLE women!

The big difference is that we women haven’t written a religious book of indoctrination and concocted a whole philosophy of control of men based on a blasted allegory to justify our bad behaviour.

Controlling women, wicked women, MISERABLE women need to check themselves!

Upon these things the women of BU would ALL agree! WE are not looking for excuses. We are not trying to restrict the ambitions of men simply because WE DON’T WANT TO PLAY OUR PART.

Some women are capable of calculating equations that can send a man to the moon! Yet, with this “GOD-GIVEN” brain capacity, some “sage” (who cannot reach the heights of mathematics that they can) believes that such women should be satisfied to cook, wash, iron and clean, change shitty diapers and talk baby babble all day.

This is the dream of some women and there is absolutely NOTHING wrong with that choice. But to insult all other women who NEED the challenge of maximising the use of their academic and other capabilities as “women who want to be men” is ridiculous. These women did not DECIDE that they wanted to be men. They had a NATURAL DESIRE to use their abilities. This natural desire for interesting pursuits and challenges was crushed in earlier patriarchal societies, just as the Taliban still does today. But who cares about the frustrations of women, huh? Not old farts! They, never having inhabited the body and mind of a woman, remain convinced that THEY can determine their essence. THEY can determine what a woman was made for and should desire. What would a woman know about what she needs for fulfilment, after all?!! Her wish should be to be an obedient sex supplier for her husband (with convincing fake orgasms for his ego), a great homemaker for his creature comforts, a baby machine for his manly image and a dutiful mother to produce children of which he can boast, “A chip off the old block!”

Of course, the blasted old allegory does take convenient pains to relay that woman was created for man, not man for woman.

With a little help from the fathers of their children WOMEN can fulfil their dreams outside of the home and still raise children who will be assets to society.

But some old fart wants to tell women where they should find their fulfilment!

Or else they are not “real women”.

And yes, igrunt old farts of that opinion do make me want to scream!

But you old farts label that as being miserable, absolving yourselves, AS USUAL, of any part in creating the “misery”.

Is this what “real men” do?

Pathetic!

17. A beautiful day to all of Barbados, but especially to my favorite group of Barbadians.

You make my day interesting, providing both food for thought and at times a smile.

Stay strong, stay beautiful.

18. But would agree that devoid of the Temple, Mosque and Church, when we look at the Animal Kingdom ( even though the Animal Kingdom isn’t the place to search for morality), we see females with the different habits playing the nurturing and mentoring role to their offspring? Now devoid of the Command Devine Theory, I do believe that Nature ( not man) has designed the specific roles for the male and the female based on their congenital attributes.

19. It is evident that a lot of the female and male behaviour is shaped, and conditioned by the culture or society in which the male and female is raised, because when we look at the seven emotional states( laughter, sadness, hatred, joy etc), we see both male and female possessing these seven emotional states, but we also see how society has conditioned the way in which these seven emotional states are expressed by both the male and the female.
    For example, society has taught the female how to embraced her emotions, while on the hand, the male is taught that any outward showing of emotions in public or private is viewed as a sign of weakness.

20. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@Bush Tea May 28, 2022 10:50 PM “Bushie can tell you why the men are so….
    But ONLY if you explain why most women are so miserable and bitchy…”

In my 70 years I’ve only met 2 women who may be described as “miserable and bitchy” the behavior of one can be explained by the fact that her father was murdered by another MAN when she was at elementary school, so we can call her behavior Post Traumatic Stress Disorder. The other was a “foreigner” a no-Bajan woman. I think that maybe she was WARU’s sister.

P.S. Apologies to all BU men who are married too lovely foreign women. You know that I don’t mean your beautiful wives.

21. In my 70 years I’ve only met 2 women who may be described as “miserable and bitchy”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~
    Yuh LIE!!

22. @cuhdear
    “P.S. Apologies to all BU men who are married to lovely foreign women.”

Rewriting

P.S. Apologies to all BU men who are married or are in a relationship with lovely women.

23. When the courts break
    By Garth Patterson

Lady Justice sat on a wall, Lady Justice had a great fall, All the Queen’s Counsel and all the President’s men, Couldn’t put Justice together again.
    As citizens of this country, as in most civilised societies, we have certain basic, legitimate, inalienable rights and expectations. Among these are the rights to life, to liberty, to own property and to the protection of law. These fundamental rights are enshrined in our Constitution, the preamble to which declares that “the people of Barbados . . . proclaim their unshakeable faith in fundamental human rights and freedoms . . . and affirm their belief that men and institutions remain free only when freedom is founded upon respect for moral and spiritual values and the rule of law.”
    Section 18 of the Constitution contains provisions that are intended to secure unto every citizen the protection of law; and section 24 provides the mechanisms for the enforcement of the fundamental rights provisions by means of an application to the High Court for redress. For without the institutional framework to enforce the rule of law, and to safeguard the fundamental rights enshrined in the Constitution, the proclamation of those rights would be nothing more than sterile aspirations in a meaningless document.
    Our courts, therefore, play a central, indispensable role in the organisation of civilised society in accordance with the modern precepts of justice and the rule of law. In the discharge of their constitutional remit, the courts are mandated to afford every accused person and civil litigant “a fair hearing within a reasonable time”. This is a hallowed, immutable principle that undergirds any reputable system of justice. From it springs the trite, much-weathered, truism: justice delayed is justice denied. But those words are rendered threadbare and hollow in the absence of an effective mechanism to provide redress when the court system breaks down and is no longer capable of ensuring unto the citizenry a fair trial within a reasonable time.
    Numerous cases
    A cursory review of the civil cause list will reveal that the Barbados High Court is, in 2022, still routinely dealing with numerous cases filed over a decade ago, many filed over 20 years ago and even some cases filed in the 1980’s. (Full disclosure: my own matrimonial cause has been clogged in the system for 15 years and counting). The same picture emerges in respect of the criminal docket, where matters languish within the criminal justice system for several years. These inordinate delays in dispensing justice have clear and unmistakable adverse implications for fair hearing and the notion of justice and unquestionably engage the provisions of the constitution that are designed to secure the protection of law. But is access to those provisions more illusory than real when, in order to seek redress, a litigant must turn to the same courts against which the complaints of unreasonable delays are being levelled? We face an intractable crisis, and the real prospect of anarchy, when we cannot depend on the courts to adjudicate matters within a reasonable time and have no recourse, other than to the same courts, when the system breaks down.
    In one Jamaican case, the Privy Council said that in considering whether a reasonable time has elapsed, consideration must be given to the past and current problems which affect the administration of justice. It said that in giving effect to the rights granted by the Constitution, the courts must balance the fundamental right of the individual to a fair trial within a reasonable time against the public interest in the attainment of justice in the context of the prevailing system of legal administration and the prevailing economic, social and cultural conditions.
    The complex problems that affect the administration of justice in Barbados cannot be adequately covered in a short article, and
    I can attempt only a precis of some of the more obvious and prevalent issues. They include: (i) inadequate State resources to ensure that accused persons are provided legal representation; (ii) inadequate State resources to properly staff the public prosecution office and the Solicitor General’s department; (iii) inadequate State resources to properly staff the courts and the judiciary; (iv) judges and magistrates who are frustrated, demotivated and disillusioned due to poor working conditions, inadequate support, low salaries, heavy caseloads and too few judicial officers; (v) the absence of effective legal mechanisms to hold judges and magistrates to account for habitual bad performance; (vi) lax enforcement of the procedural rules designed to secure the prompt disposition of matters and (vii) the all-too-frequent zeal of some unscrupulous lawyers in “gaming the system”.
    Excessive delay
    The existence of these problems has been the subject of frequent comment by the Caribbean Court of Justice, which in the 2015 case of Walsh v Ward, where the period of delay was 17 years, said: “Regretfully, we are forced to comment once more on the excessive delay that characterises many cases coming to us from Barbados . . . . This type of delay imposes hardship on the litigants. This is a case where the hardship is obvious. The delay also reflects adversely on the reputation and credibility of the civil justice system as a whole, and reinforces the negative images which the public can have of the way judges and lawyers perform their roles.”
    Lamenting that the delays were systemic, the CCJ said: “The consistent need for the repetition of this disapproval, and over such a long period, of the delays in the system accompanied by calls for remedial action makes the situation extremely deplorable. Reaction can no longer be put off. This is an aspect of the judicial role for which there should be accountability. We urge the judiciary to take steps to address the problem of delay in the judicial process and ensure that citizens enjoy the benefit of the constitutional promise of a fair and expeditious resolution of disputes.”
    Endemic problems
    In 2019, recognising the endemic problems being caused by delays in judges delivering decisions, Parliament amended the Constitution to include a provision that, in addition to misbehaviour, a judge could be removed from office for delay of more than six months in delivering a judgment. Sadly, however, in the three years since that amendment, the systemic problems of delay, not only in the delivery of decisions, but also in bringing matters to hearing or trial, remain endemic. Practitioners, like myself, daily find ourselves in the invidious position of advising clients that the system is hopelessly broken, and that we can give no meaningful estimate as to when their matter is likely to be heard and decided.
    Dereliction in duty, in failing to bring matters on for trial, or deciding them, within a reasonable time arguably amounts to misbehaviour. Yet no judge in Barbados has ever been sanctioned for misbehaviour or delay.
    To be sure, the fault cannot, and should not, be laid at the feet of the judiciary alone. Those at the highest echelons of power who are charged with the administration of justice are equally to blame. Moreover, it takes two hands to clap, and lawyers (and their clients) must also play their part in supporting the due administration of justice by eschewing the unsavory practices that promote delays. But, in the courtroom, the buck stops with the judge or magistrate, and he or she must shoulder a good deal of the responsibility for delays. In the end, the accused persons and civil litigants are the ones who must pick up the mangled and bloody pieces of their lives after being chewed up and spat out of the woodchipper that presently passes as our judicial system. It is a completely unsatisfactory situation, and we can, and must, do better.
    Garth Patterson is a Queen’s Counsel.
    PART 2

24. I like Garth’s (GP3) article, but it documents what we are already aware of and mentioned previously.

At some stage we have to move beyond recycling a laundry list and start working on putting solutions in place.

TheO’s rating: Taking your girlfriend to the zoo a second time. You like the animals but there is nothing new. A good article by GP3, but nothing new.

25. The article spelled out the basic rights which every person in a democracy ought to enjoy, but I felt a little disappointed when the article failed to make mention of what I consider the fundamental of all Rights, and that is the Right to Vote.

26. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@GP “(Full disclosure: my own matrimonial cause has been clogged in the system for 15 years and counting). ”

Good Lord!!! Does this mean that the couple is in legal limbo, not married and yet not divorced for 15 years?

Ridiculous. In 15 years I have raised children from birth to 5th form/CXC. In 15 years Little Susie went from an 8 pound swaddled new born in hospital to having earned 8 CXC’s, while at HC. The 16th birthday occurred after the CXC results came back.

How can it take 15 years for a matrimonial matter to be settled? I would have though that settling a matrimonial matter was far simpler that raising a child almost to adulthood.

27. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

Just 3+ years? Fairly light sentences.

28. Hello David et al,

Stats have been updated to include May 2022.

https://www.caribbeansignal.com/2022/06/08/barbados-murder-statistics-january-to-may-2022/

Kind regards,
    Amit Uttamchandani
    http://www.caribbeansignal.com

Leave a Reply to DompeyCancel reply