We continue our focus on elder abuse in Barbados – Blogmaster
Submitted by Cheurfleur

Pensions are paid to old people from the NIS Fund which is financed by contributions from the employed. That group of able persons ages 18 to 60, originally, i.e 42 years by 52 weeks plus  plus 7 years by 52 weeks, i.e 67 years now.  

With a population of 1000 able bodied persons paying $100 for 42 years or 49, using annuities calculation the pot makes X to support Y in 1900s but Z currently.

I shall leave the actual calculations to Mr Annuity.  I am only concerned with elder abuse.

https://www.ssa.gov/history/pre1935.html

At its inception there weren’t that many people living far beyond 60 years of age. What we had was more contributors and less gobblers.  By the turn of the 19th century with better health services, vaccinations and greater production and higher income people began living longer.  No problem.

Then came the 20th century with women’s lib and all the other ‘liberations’ and fewer children were born ) per woman/family) thus fewer worker/contributors 20 years later vis  a vis elders migrating out of the system plus more more men on the ‘block’. (It’s worse in Japan).

There is a dilemma now.  How to balance this imbalance?  Have governments done anything constructive to balance it? 

They have raised contributions and extended the age of retirement by 7 years.  

But contributors are actually living until retirement (originally 60s) and surviving way beyond 80s (not the prayer request) at time of conceptualizing the ‘scheme’.  With the ‘rich man diseases’ prevalent, the plight of the fund managers is grave and great.  This was not how it was supposed to be.  You aren’t supposed to be there to get back 40 years of contributions.  Never mind the presumption of interest gained from your investments.  Ask Rockefeller or Rothschild.

Mr Annuity can tell you that there isn’t enough money to do business for these long-life, now  ‘good-for-nothing’, ‘resource sucking’ retirees.  Albeit some have worked and put aside extras in private pensions and endowments to make a better nest but they still have to give back what they took earlier.  Mathematicians nor Actuaries can fix this.

Every man for himself and God for us all.  Stay clear of hospitals

Forget your children and relatives who will prey pon yuh fuh yuh li’le pension and other valuables.  The real abusers are the vultures who first took the contributions and are taking again.  Notice how many of the aged population died during 2019 to 2020 and are still the most vulnerable.

What goes?

I have to ask questions from here on.

• What profit it is to anyone faced with this quandary to put policies in place to protect you – old work horses?
  • Why fight to save a life that is costing you on the down side when there is no income from the up side to make it feasible?
  • Why expend resources on a population that is not giving any returns (at point) when the resource can be invested on a population to bring up resources?

If it would save some lives, won’t someone just propose that those who can fend for themselves, economically, do so and relieve the burden so that no one would want to move them out of the way, earlier?

It is not only family and the nearby public that are abusing the elderly.  

174 responses to “The Ageing and Elder Abuse…relationship between social security – Pensions”

1. Bushie

What are you talking about. The anti prosperity gospel aimed at William Skinner.

You must certainly know that 90 percent of the wealth in the world is owned or controlled by 10 percent of the people.

This writer curses your rasssoul god every day for he has no power or perceived power over us. These perceptions are merely eponymous. A madness Skinner, unlike you, is not known to suffer from.

That 10 percent are the most wicked by far, in fact your devil himself. When compared, William Skinner is a morally wealthier man than all of them.

These cheap shots about losing rassouuuul elections, as the lotteries they have been, should be beneath you. We demand an immediate withdrawal of those rasssoul dirty .comments

2. Pacha
    you been drinking…?
    What the Hell you talking about?

3. William Skinner Avatar

@ Pacha @ Bushie
    Bushie , please explain in clear english:
    “ by the sweat of a man’s brow should he eat bread “
    Please identify the “ bread “ our ancestors got for their sweat.
    You talk about alms.
    These “‘alms” were earned. Nothing was given to those who survived the Middle Passage and that debt can never be repaid in full. Quite frankly we should not only be seeking reparations; we should be taking all the ill gotten lands and other wealth that we created and sweated for.
    So when you get a chance just explain what the hell you are saying.

4. Theo that is pure gold,

5. Bushie

You have descended so deep into a book of lies that you are now irretrievable.

You unjustly criticized William Skinner on the basis of him not being a misguided Christian that you well cloaked yourself as.

And went onto to commend that such a position was causal of what you perceived to be his failures. This is rasssoul foolishness!

It is you who insist that the same slave master’s book of lies should be central in our lives is the one worthy of failures, not Skinner. And such an underlying position represents exactly that.

6. Comment

7. Pachamama you and the rest must be doing okay financially if you can be on the computer mid morning

8. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“You must certainly know that 90 percent of the wealth in the world is owned or controlled by 10 percent of the people.”

who sweat for nothing and TIEF EVERYTHING…enslave others, pauperize others…all manner of evil…

AND

who don’t believe in any god….they believe themselves the gods….sheer lunacy but it worked for 500 years…until the REAL GODS are now waking up…having been put to sleep for 3,000 years…

9. Lawson
    Have done.

10. So you would agree if you work hard or smart opportunity is there to get ahead

11. Both

12. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Lawson…we are mostly 50s, 60s, 70s etc….like yaself, are comfortable and don’t have to be out there or some may have multiple businesses and doing just fine…

..opportunity is always available as long as it’s not generationally STOLEN and SUPPRESSED…which is known to happen in these colonial traps with small-minded politicians…

13. Africa all I am saying is if you keep telling people they have a reason not to try or excel and give them excuses for not even putting an effort in ..human nature will tell them why bother its somebody elses fault I cant make it. Negativity is only good if you want to create beggars. Please stop it ..use you skills to promote positivity for a while and let see what happens

14. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Lawson….tell that to the greedy, and explain it in ways they can understand..

“”In straight or happy times wealth grows because of spreading it.”-AnkhsheshonqExplanation: It is optimal for a society for wealth to be broadly distributed.”

15. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

I think ya missed the STOLEN and SUPPRESSED part…although they were in ALL CAPS…

16. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Anyway, i just saw a clip with this UBI dividend….which is really a stimulus check to jumpstart spending in the economy….it’s nothing new, the wheel was not invented although they are acting like they did…..these things have been around for DECADES…call it dividend call it what ya want….but don’t pretend like if no one ever did it before or heard about it, that they are claiming it’s the FIRST IN THE WORLD it’s happening and everyone should follow….that is DISHONEST….

i got one from Afrika year before or last year..or something so…

17. @ William
    You want Bushie to explain the ‘obvious’ in plain English…?

It is generally intended that people stand on their own feet, and not only look after their own needs, but indeed, be in a position to support family, neighbors and their wider community.
    This is as opposed to sitting around looking to see what they can beg, borrow or steal with minimal effort.
    Those who therefore ENCOURAGE persons to sit around awaiting handouts are doing them no damn favor. Best to teach them to fish.

Your continued references to slavery and how black people were treated are totally irrelevant -except for the emotional milage that you clearly seek. The reality is that the only damn difference between the slavery of which you harp and the current status quo is that the criminals and the victims are no longer clearly black and white.

Just like the former had their house niggers and sweet girls who did their bidding and dirty work, we now have the yard fowls and political hangers-on doing the same shiite.

Bottom line.
    The way to incentive BBs to grow up and become MEN and WOMEN is NOT to hand out minimum survival necessities, but to teach them to fish.
    If then they refuse to fish, or (like Hants) they can’t catch a sprat, then hunger would become their best teacher….

@ Pacha
    Your bible paranoia is your Achilles heel.
    Be careful of Priam’s son Paris, whose arrows are guided by Apollo……

18. Bushie

This writer can never be made to be afraid of hell fire or any other threat from your wickedly false, White man’s god and bible.

That shiiiiite has been long rejected and shall forever be.

You can never be free, as you pretend to be, while still tethered to a book of lies.

We going to the death with this total rejection of it and all that so flows.

We know that you believe in provable lies.

19. Bush Tea poor fella you sound bitter and angry over Ms Mottley, s latest alcolade.I know how you dems operate i hear them everyday nitpicking on brasstacks.it is a pity your golden boy Mr Thompson never got to those heights as he never displayed any quality as a Prime Minister in my view.This would be a bitter pill for you to swallow poor fellow keep nitpicking.I gone.

20. Man wait!! don’t go nowhere Lorenzo..
    Bushie is neither ‘poor’ nor ‘bitter’ … a bit angry perhaps, but only because we can do SOOO much better.

All Bushie is asking is for you and/or Enuff to share wunna vast inside knowledge pf the extensive ‘influencing’ that your supreme leader has been busy doing. We want to join in the celebrations too.. but we need DATA!!
    Help the bushman nuh !!!!

21. bajanfreeparty Avatar
    bajanfreeparty

All groups are abused in Barbados, only poor people they call Elderly! Abused by Courts, Police, Schools, Doctors, GIS, Black Rock, Child care board, DODDS, Anything run by the government and banking are also abused! BFP

22. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“but we need DATA!!
    Help the bushman nuh !!!!”

🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 so many hours passed, it’s soon 24 hours later, and they still can’t get back to you…wuhloss…

23. Humphrey: It’s heartbreaking
    Minister of People Empowerment Kirk Humphrey described the way the disabled community was still being treated in Barbados as heartbreaking.
    On Wednesday, Government made the first major step to improve the lives of the disabled in Barbados, in what Humphrey said was the most important work in which he had ever taken part.
    An advisory committee was launched on Wednesday in the Warrens Office Complex in St Michael with the purpose of guiding the establishment of a special commission with the role of finding ways to improve the lives of people with disabilities.
    “I have been involved in social care and transformation for a long time and the greatest deficit is in the lives of those with disabilities. What we are about to do is so important, because even in this year of 2022, many Barbadians still don’t fully appreciate the challenges naturally embedded in our society and the impersonal way people convey certain biases and discriminations against those with disabilities, which really breaks my heart. “I feel this committee has the opportunity to transform, not only legislation, but the lives of those with disabilities and society as a whole. The task before me is very difficult but timely, we have set very strict deadlines – six months, until November 30 – to achieve some of the most important work of Government,” said Humphrey.
    The minister said some of the work of the committee would include preparing a national policy on disabilities; drafting a bill which would offer protection for people with disabilities; reviewing the existing draft legislation to see how it could be improved and developing the terms of reference for the upcoming commission. He said this process would have the assistance of Sir David Simmons QC and Professor Velma Newton.
    He also spoke about the proposed merger of the National Disabilities
    Unit, the Welfare Department, the Child Care Board and the National Assistance Board into the Department of Family Services, scheduled to be completed by year end.
    “Unless we offer a cohesive, seamless delivery of services, we will not be able to do what we are supposed to do. During these times, people who are exposed are becoming even more vulnerable, so unless we get this right, we will be adding to the burden of those with disabilities.
    “Seemingly simple things like going to town, going to the beach, getting a parking space, [having challenges with] these things aren’t right in a mature society. I also want to plead to the private sector and Government as well, to hire people who are capable of doing the job but are being denied on the basis of discrimination, which has nothing to do with the disability, and as we establish the Department of Family Services, that is what we must do as we can’t be talking the talk but not walking the walk,” he said. (CA) The chairman of the committee is parliamentarian Edmund Hinkson. He said people with disabilities and their issues needed to be brought further into the mainstream as they had the right to be involved in all aspects of Barbadian life. (CA)

24. Call for tougher laws to fight elder abuse
    MORE EFFECTIVE LEGISLATION is needed to prosecute people who engage in elder abuse.
    This was one of the recommendations coming out of Brasstacks Sunday on Starcom Network yesterday where the issue was examined prior to World Elder Abuse Awareness Day on Wednesday.
    The panel featured acting director of the National Assistance Board (NAB) Colleen Walcott, president of the Barbados Association of Retired Persons, Marilyn Rice-Bowen, attorney and convenor of the Bar Association’s human rights committee Nailah Robinson, and a relative of a victim of elder abuse referred to as “Maggie”. The moderator was Glyne Murray.
    Robinson said there was a need to empower the elderly by making it easier to bring before the courts persons “engaging in exploitation and financial abuse” of that group, and to further empower social workers who have to deal with those situations.
    She also wanted to see more statistics and data, a shortcoming noted earlier by Walcott, who said “there is a dearth of information as it relates to elder abuse and therefore we do not have a true sense of the prevalence of the abuse”.
    The acting director said the information at NAB was based on what was seen in the community and referrals, while adding
    that elder abuse was “very underreported”.
    Rice-Bowen also expressed concern about the lack of data. She said BARP would “make plans to address the needs of the seniors” based on a poll which showed many of them were lonely, depressed and felt a “high level of anxiety and some were experiencing abandonment”.
    “Maggie” also supported the call for stronger legislation to deal with those who abused the elderly, and encouraged families to be supportive of efforts to eradicate the scourge.
    The issue of the Garbage and Sewage Contribution on water bills was raised by a caller who thought that was a case of elder abuse for some seniors.
    Walcott said there was provision for relief.
    She explained that at the Barbados Water Authority there was a Garbage and Sewage Relief Board on which the NAB had a seat, and those eligible for a waiver of the levy included the elderly and those with disabilities.
    “Each month I know there are application forms available at the National Assistance Board [and] at the Welfare Department where you can apply as an elderly person, where you can get a waiver after the assessment has been done – not on the water but the Garbage and Sewage Contribution.” (JS)