Women in Action (WIA) network of organizations and individuals advocating for the closure of the Government Industrial School (GIS) Barrows facility and the reform of the juvenile justice system, emphatically rejects the suggestion made in an interviewed aired on the CBC Evening News on 16th May, 2022 that claims of physical, sexual and psychological abuse made by current and former wards of the Government Industrial School (GIS) are ‘simply rumours’.

WIA is saddened by the shameful attempt by the Barbados Government to marginalize the voices of the girls crying out for help by handpicking two former wards to glorify their incarceration and to justify the abusive environment in the GIS that has existed for the past thirty-two years. In choosing to promote only positive experiences while ignoring the trauma of other girls who are crying out for help, the authorities are indicating that they do not care about all of the girls, and this is unacceptable.

We are making our position clear, if one child is abused it is one child too many and should be of concern to every one of us. Ultimately a society is judged by how it treats its most vulnerable citizens. We expect that our children, though being reprimanded, be treated with dignity and afforded the opportunity to be rehabilitated. The two former wards interviewed are not cases that we are overly concerned about because by their recollection, they did not experience or witness any abuse.

It is however the first time we have heard a young woman who was incarcerated as a child recount the experience of being placed in a cell in solitary confinement with such smiles, laughter and gaiety, and yet with no mention of an activities that she enjoyed in passing the time incarcerated. The sentence of three to five years for wandering is so normalized that going from a three weeks sentence to a three year sentence was accepted in the adult mind of this young lady as fair and deserving. That is the impact of systemic abuse.

As a signatory to the Convention on the Rights of the Child, the Government’s handling of juveniles is governed by the UN Standard Minimum Rules for the Administration of Juvenile Justice and the UN Guidelines for the Prevention of Juvenile Delinquency which provide that no child should be placed in solitary confinement. We are well aware that this International Convention has not been incorporated into domestic law and is therefore limited in its application in our domestic courts but that failure to follow through and commit ourselves to a standard of care for children speaks volumes about our Government’s true intentions for the nation’s children.

It is an insult to the intelligence of Barbadians and to our sense of dignity to attempt to drown out the cries of our youngest citizens calling for help. We recognize the desperate attempt to vindicate the Government by trivializing and ignoring the complaints of the abuse meted out at GIS. We stand firm in our position, the authorities will not make these girls and young women invisible, they will not be allowed to trivialize the pain, shame, nightmares and suffering that still plagues them.

Women in Action (WIA)

Spokesperson: Tempu Nefertari
Email: womeninaction.bb@gmail.com

https://www.facebook.com/groups/299248284518812

146 responses to “Women in Action (WIA) – GIS Issue”

1. @ David,
    Her silence spoke volumes. The international sisterhood will not take too kindly to it.

Barbados requires international intervention to safeguard Barbados majority population.

2. What would you have wanted her to say with an investigation in progress?

3. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

what investigation…a handpicked political operative investigating the crimes of his compadres…..yall really aint ready yet…

TLSN…the ladies are taking the correct route, Barbados is signatory to this and those international human rights laws, all of which are routinely VIOLATED…and totally IGNORED…because they believe they are too powerful to observe any of them signed in the name of the people..

were i a different person, i too would have fallen victim to their hands on violations…then they would laugh that they got away with another one….while coming after me for even trying to have my rights recognized…and respected..

4. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

I will say it again, the island needs to be taken away from them…these negros need a HEAVILY INVOLVED WAKE UP CALL…and that stench from the 1930s has no place in a majority Black Afrikan taxpayer funded parliament…

5. DavidMay 18, 2022 1:41 PM

For your information the PM made a statement on the matter today to the effect, minister responsible should have report in hand in a few weeks and this will trigger much needed reform at the GIS.

Xxxc
    Wow the PM broke silence on this human rights
    Need to hear what she said
    After a year of silence she must have said plenty

6. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Angela…i don’t think it has dawned on them that this has been going on while i was writing in 2020..

………the first instance after we found out they are using Slave Codes from the 1800s on these children at the reformatory, which was very carefully hidden….i heavily outlined and published that information in the same book, complete with the Convention on the Rights of the Child

not one word from any of them except a fast talking sweaty explanation from the one who claime they found no wrongdoing, an outright LIE, since he then quickly reversed that position when caught, walked back the lie to have another FRAUD OF AN INVESTIGATION by someone who they just gave a pension to…..

that is why this has to be taken to the highest international level…

7. Look at how things have changed.

Is this the same individual who spent seven (7) years and seven (7) months on BU, DEFENDING former PM, Fruendel ‘The Sleeping Giant’ Stuart’s ‘DEAFENING SILENCE’ on all issues?

Well, well, well. Wonders will never end.

8. @Artax, Me Stuart is not the Prime Minister of Barbados. 2 Investigations regarding abuse of minors at the GIS did not occur under his watch and his Minister of Home Affairs did not report to the taxpayers and John public that all was well when this was a lie.

9. @Artax trying to throw shade will not work on this matter.

10. It would have been better for the PM to keep her silence instead of offering the pandemic as an excuse. Was she not able to change Barbados to a Republic, transform a former Naval base to a hospital for Covid-19 victims, conduct a general election as well enact emergence laws and Covid -19 Protocols? If all of this could be done, why not reform to the GIS? The preference was to ignore. Do not blame Covid-19!

11. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Nothing can walk back what they have done for over 80 years, selling Black people’s children to the highest bidder, selling them into prostitution, drugging then criminalizing them, all of this their well known stock-in-trade…

…instances are shown where they actively and allegedly murdered Black people, especially elderly women, as far back as the 1930s to steal their estates or to get them off their own land, rob their beneficiaries steal their money from the banks….all of this still happening.

.2022 – 1930 = 92 years of this cursed criminal legacy..time for it and them to go…

12. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Don’t know why they are telling themselves that no one knew THE WHOLE SORDID DISGUSTING STORY about them and can have it published everywhere..

they always have a handy excuse about why they can’t bring HUMAN RIGHTS FOR THE BLACK POPULATION ON-STREAM…..

13. African Online,
    let us not pretend that White folks were solely perpetrators of the Evil Institution of European Chattel Slavery because Black folks were complicit as well, and this is well documented in a book authored by a Black writer called the Great Slave Revolts in America, which the author explicitly articulates the reason why there were no successful Revolts in America due to the betrayal of the House Slave.

14. Baje unlike you and your gloom and doom oversea knowall brigade, i do not comment on things i have no evidence about.This is a highly sensitive matter which is under investigation and i am not about to get into no idle speculation or emotional rantings like i hear on brasstacks or on here.Every story has two sides and thus far i have heard Ms Hinds and i have also heard from two former inmates who has rubbished a lot pf what has been stated by Ms Hinds.Therefore i will await the results of tje probe

15. Lorenzo, every story has three sides: (1) Your side (2) My side (3) And the right side…

16. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Those dirty fowls/pimps/house negros were around during and before the 1930s, there was even one mentioned in Lamming’s book whose name was “Slime” and he was a teacher around people’s children.

17. Well….my son, like his mother, has a knack of talking across “class” lines. I mentioned this PR stunt to him and he let out one long steupse.

He knows several children who went to the GIS and they long told him of their experiences.

He says he would certainly believe these children over the damage control crap.

So…. our government had better understand that we will brook no opposition to this cause.

The people have spoken!

18. Nah, Heather…. I’m not attempting to “throw shade” on anything.

Just highlighting hypocrisy.

Child abuse, whether it is in the home, school or a correctional institution, is a serious matter and should be investigated thoroughly, with the perpetrators being arrested and charged.

But, unlike you, I don’t jump on ‘bandwagons’ to make accusations based on hearsay, gossip or information that confirms my particular biases.

I realized whenever a controversial issue comes to the fore, you and some others have a penchant for presenting to BU, information you read on other social media platforms that is related to that issue and comment on it as though it is fact, without first verifying its authenticity or credibility of the source.

I’ve been trained to look at issues rationally, while examining and analyzing all the available evidence before making informed conclusions.

19. @ Artax, exactly what have I reposted from Social media? If wanting to end abuse of minors is a bias then, I am proud to be biased.

20. Heather May 18, 2022 8:58 PM

Last/last

WHERE in my contribution did I mentioned anything to suggest you don’t “want to end abuse of minors?”

21. Baje unlike you and your gloom and doom oversea knowall brigade, i do not comment on things i have no evidence about.This is a highly sensitive matter which is under investigation
    Xxxxxxxx

LORENZO THE HYPOCRITE AND LIAR

THIS MATTER WAS IN THE NEWSPAPER AND BU BEFORE YOUR RED PARTY MINISTER THOUGHT ABOUT THIS BOGUS INVESTIGATION.

PEOPLE OF YOUR ILK ONLY COME ON BU TO DEFEND YOUR BLP PARTY.

GROW SOME BALLS AND SPEAK THE TRUTH

22. Heather ignore Artax he is very confrontational I think he gets a high from acting out his narcissism.on women
    A Day wouldnt go by without him taking a position that displays resentment and passive hostility against women on BU there is a narcissist on the loose on BU
    Watch him attack me under the guise he is defending himself
    Oh he also knows what an individual mindset is thinking as they put finger to key board
    Be warned

23. I have got no issue with GIS PR exercise of positive spin in light of accusations (although I did not bother to read these articles).

But, this does not deflect from the issues and problems raised.

The first part of problem solving is to investigate and understand the problems.
    A Government Inquiry with teeth will need to define and formalise the problems and plan the course of action solution to remedy all the shortcomings.

All children in the institution will have some form of mental health issues to a lesser or greater extent due to their family backgrounds and harsh conditions in the school. Children have a lot of energy and need to given a healthy regime of physical exercise, good diet, schooling, life education skills, vocational training, counseling and stimulation. Punishment and isolation of unruly children must be performed by due process which is documented and signed off by persons in senior authority who are accountable for all allegations of abuse which are to be investigated. There should be trained psychiatrists and social workers evaluating the children problems and needs. Abuse is criminal and staff should be charged if found guilty whether mental, emotional, physical or sexual. Male staff should not be left alone with any girl in a position where they can molest them and should be supervised by another female or have security cameras to monitor all movements in the institution.

24. angela cox May 19, 2022 12:27 AM

“Heather ignore Artax he is very confrontational I think he gets a high from acting out his narcissism.on women
    A Day wouldnt go by without him taking a position that displays resentment and passive hostility against women on BU.”resentment and passive hostility against women on BU.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~

YES, I will defend myself.

But, first, based on the coherent structure of the sentences of this contribution, its author is NOT the ORIGINAL angela cox.
    Certain words used comes directly from the playbook of a particular individual.

Secondly, please LIST the NAMES of the women I “display resentment and passive hostility against women on BU?”

Then again, you’re known to be a notorious liar who “gets a high on” manipulating the truth.

25. Narcissist number one ammo calling people liars
    Keep it up I always knew something about you fell into the category of mental illness

26. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Well…one thing that cannot be stopped is the FLOW OF ACCURATE HISTORICAL INFORMATION which will be shared from one end of the world to the other…so let the dirty fowls/pimps/HOUSE NEGROS READ AND WEEP…mfs..

27. Abuse of minors had been part and parcel of my childhood, and I am quite sure many others here as well, however, I am thankful that they are those that are beginning to shine the floodlights on this sick and perverted behaviour, which continue to exact a psychological and emotional impact on the victims in adulthood. Now with that being said, I cannot recalled being molested by anyone as a child, but I know of those with whom I had been closest to that had been victims of this egregious and atrocious behaviour inflicted upon them by persons whom ought to have known better.
    Nevertheless, I think the way victims of the unspeakable act of violation heals, is to speak out or speak about it in an effort to deter those whom are entertaining the thought of harming an innocent child.

28. William Skinner Avatar

Is this the same Heather Cole ?
    It is indeed strange that when the same @ Heather Cole was lashing the Dees , left , right and centre on BU, not once did I read her credibility being brought into question.
    Some of the longest and most telling accusations of corruption in the Dees were written by the same Heather Cole on this BU.
    However , I noticed and I commented ,that she was also keeping that style going after the current administration. In other words, she is continuing in the same vein to point out what she perceives to be wrong with this administration. The same thing she did to the Dees. The archives are there.
    She therefore should now do exactly what she did , before and that is ignore the noise and write what she pleases.
    The damn Bees and Dees are a frigging Siamese twin.
    Lick them up Heather they are , both Bees and Dees , systematically destroying our country.

29. Last/last

My friend, it’s clear you don’t know anything about narcissism.

What you should do, is LIST the NAMES of the WOMEN I “display resentment and passive hostility against on BU.”

However, when your only means of defense was to ‘say’ a contribution I POSTED on FEBRUARY 26, 2022 “was a political response” to a contribution you posted SIX (6) DAYS AFTER, on MARCH 4, 2022…..

…… is definitely not only a sign of “mental illness,” but proof you’re a liar as well.

According to the blogmaster, ‘you may have the last word.’

Then again, you always do.

30. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“The damn Bees and Dees are a frigging Siamese twin.
    Lick them up Heather they are , both Bees and Dees , systematically destroying our country.”

they are a generational blight and curse on the lives of Black Afrikan people for the last 92 YEARS and ALWAYS WILL BE….even more so than colonizers because we know exactly what to expect from them, but these vile, black – faced traitors are TOO DANGEROUS to have around….let alone have them as the fake leaders that they all are…everyone near and far must be warned about them and their CRIMINAL LEGACY…that extends everywhere.

31. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

William…they are all unraveling, much sooner than they thought..

as for their stinking fowls/pimps/house negro look-a-likes…their turn is right around the corner….SOON COME..

32. Last/ last my back side u don’t know the meaning of the word last
    In true form u would be back swinging with yuh usual diatribe and calling people liars narcissist
    Will be waiting and watching

33. Even intelligent woman are emotional illogical creatures who will listen to the quieter voices of their heart and yoni vaj overriding their brains and can be extremists on social media calling for death sentence or castration for all men accused of rape, but that is only because they are programmed to be protective mothers.

34. William Skinner Avatar

@ WURA
    All we do here is kill messengers. All through the pandemic Mottley was overshadowing the substantive minister. Even made decisions and took action of which he knew nothing. ( vaccine thing)
    She never misses an opportunity to grab the microphone at press conferences , often directing who is to speak and when, so that she can have the last word.
    This morning she is in Guyana discussing agriculture .. Sometime back a cricket match turned in our favor. She was upfront ; the cover story next day. In the introduction yesterday, she has more ministries directly or indirectly under her portfolio than any other PM.
    She is not camera shy , but for weeks refused to say a word about the GIS . And
    then says what we all know: there is an investigation and then says what will be done before the investigation is finished and findings known.
    And then these clowns come here pretending that some earth shattering intervention took place on Brasstacks yesterday. And now we are supposed to wait until some investigation to say what is known:,the shot at GIS stinks.
    Pure BS.
    Peace

35. William Skinner Avatar

The shit not shot smells……..

36. Artex, if I were you, I would give it up because a women would only disagree with another woman, if she is competing for the same man, but otherwise, when it comes to issues between men and women they close ranks.

37. Bu and their little cliques is more about decompression than fact finding truth missions.

Decompress means to release or reduce pressure.

This literal meaning of decompress can be used in several contexts. Divers who’ve spent time in deep water decompress by coming up slowly. Divers and other underwater workers sometimes decompress by using a decompression chamber. The goal of these processes is to return the body to normal atmospheric pressure in order to avoid decompression sickness.

In a medical context, to decompress is to release pressure in the body, such as from inside the skull through surgery.

Decompress can also be used in a figurative way meaning to relax or unwind. This sense of the word likens stress to pressure within the body that needs to be released. A close synonym is destress. An even more informal way of saying this is blow off steam.

In all senses of the word, the process of decompressing is called decompression.

Example: Yoga really helps me to decompress after a stressful day at work.

38. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“the shit at GIS stinks.
    Pure BS.”

someone shared some info last night where the building is being renovated….and attributed it to cleaning up THE CRIME SCENE…

but it’s the Slave Code laws need removing off the statute books, they prefer cosmetic changes to cover up their anti-Black children CRIMES…..they will PAY DEARLY for the continuation of this evil..

BU and its imps/pimps/and fowls…lost any credibility they had…and continuously show up who and what they really are….but they are free to believe otherwise, no one will stop them..but are very aware.

39. Bees Dees Tories Labour Republicans Democrats- what is the point?

These people are from Mars.

Such simplistic reasoning.

40. Bu therapy session is in full effect. Check out the Bu for non-stop moaning streaming in real time for several years repeatedly with same non-points embedded deep within posters regardless of subject matter.

Let It Out

41. African Online,

You obviously know very little, about a Crime Scene because there is not such thing as cleaning up a Crime Scene. Because you either leave, semen, hair, foot, finger prints, blood spatter, DNA etc, so in essence, you either take something from the Crime Scene or leave something at the Crime Scene.

42. Dompey May 19, 2022 7:39 AM

It isn’t a matter of “women closing ranks.”

It is people should be ‘man and woman’ (or mature enough,)’ to ‘say what they have to say…… upfront,’ rather than childishly hide behind ‘dropping snide remarks.’

What I can ‘say’ in all honesty, is that by providing the forum with examples, explanations and possible solutions to the ongoing problems at GIS, which are worthy of further discussion…….

……….. you’ve presented a different and refreshing perspective on the issue that was far removed from the usual rhetoric, the usual suspects present to EVERY discussion.

43. Mottley all for GIS reform

PM willing to be guided by inquiry’s recommendations
    PRIME MINISTER MIA AMOR MOTTLEY is all for complete reform of the child justice system and remains impatient and unhappy about the controversy surrounding the Government Industrial School (GIS).
    But she’s willing to let a review of the current environment at the girls’ section in Barrows, St Lucy be complete and whatever recommendations made be the start of such reform.
    Speaking on Starcom Network’s Down To Brass Tacks yesterday, Mottley addressed the matter publicly for the first time while a special guest on the call-in programme.
    In response to a question from moderator Sade Jemmont about her silence on the issue up to this point, the Prime Minister said there was a fundamental need for reform, but trying to do so in the middle of a public health crisis had not been the easiest thing.
    “It has taken much longer than I’m happy with and we have asked for the departmental inquiry to be done within a four to six-week period so there is independent evidence, but we’ve also been waiting for the redrafting of child protection legislation and the Child Justice Act. I’m impatient for these to be done, but at the same time I’m conscious that people have not had it easy for the last 18 months.”
    Mottley said the whole idea of how Barbadians treat young people has to change, and had she a blank cheque, a residential institution to deal with wards of the state would be immediately built.
    “It would allow us to
    help young people, not who have breached the law, but who are having difficulties and need social and emotional support and guidance. We have to balance that with the outlay that we are doing with other social solutions. But I’m going to make sure that growth takes place in the economy before we create a number of new institutions,” she said.
    The Prime Minister added she has told Minister of Home Affairs Wilfred Abrahams there must be urgent reform in the system, and once he gets the report from the investigation, Barbadians would start to see some changes coming to the GIS.
    She said it was fortunate that fewer than ten girls were currently being housed at the GIS, but that her administration wants to give them access to all the social services they may need in the future. She added that Government has to be fair not just to the children at the school, but also the staff employed at the facility and parents involved.
    “I’m satisfied the arrangements being put in place will, hopefully, not only see the reform needed, but also the skill set to support the emotional and transformational needs that are needed for those kids,” Mottley said.
    The environment at the GIS has been a national issue of late, and last week, High Court judge Justice Barbara Cooke-Alleyne ruled against a request from an attorney seeking to have two girls who escaped from the facility, removed and placed in a different institution.
    Also, a recently formed activist group has called for the GIS to be shut down, while rejecting recent claims in the media by two former wards that physical, sexual and psychological abuse were not commonplace at the facility.
    (BA)

44. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

William….i understood the mentalities of SLEAZINESS LONG TIME, as long as child trafficking, rape, pedophilia, drugging, prostituting and selling children to the highest bidder, THEFT of land/estates, money from the elderly and their beneficiaries, and WHOLESALE disenfranchisement of Black people….and all other crimes against humanity continue in colonizer countries, it’s also fit for the descents in Black majority Barbados so that the animals for politicians who use their 1930s criminal playbook as a legacy benefits…

Apparently, when colonizer countries stop, so will they…and these expect sensible people to take any of them seriously…when that’s their LOW LEVEL AND LACK OF ANY REAL INTELLIGENCE..

45. Look at that piggy backing on Dompey comments a person who also has shown signs of knowing all another trait of narcissistic behavior
    But as they say birds of feather flocks together
    Next now I have two to wrestle to the ground

46. During all that is being said and done in the public domain it would also be of interest if the PM had visited the school
    All well and good to wait and wait However it would have been in the PM best interest to take a surprise visit and have a birds eye view of the environment along with taking notes and pictures
    Such evidence which could be used to inclufe and missing problems during the investigation

47. I see the PM mentioned financial constraints in the context of solving the issues with our troubled juveniles and those who need a safe haven wrt accommodations.

But we found the hundreds of millions to build the prison at Dodds to house the problems after they got too big, didn’t we?

“An ounce of prevention is worth a pound of cure.”

“A stitch in time saves nine.”

The truth of these simple sayings has been proven by me every time I failed to heed them.

Make our children a priority, invest the time, effort and money up front and you will reap the savings at the back end.

I do not understand how our governments get it ass backwards all the time and ends up trying to put useless plaster on gaping wounds.

We will soon hear that we have to find money to expand the prison.

48. END UP

49. Artax,

Man, what needs to be done for our children is no secret. It does not take much to figure it out.

Our problem is implementation, implementation, inplementation.

It takes time and effort.

Leave a Reply to TheOGazertsCancel reply